03/24/21 11:47 am HOUSE RESEARCH AM/MV H2230A2

1.2	Page 2, after line 25, insert:
1.3	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 4. Eligibility; annual income; calculation. (a) Annual income of the applicant
1.5	family is the current monthly income of the family multiplied by 12 or the income for the
1.6	12-month period immediately preceding the date of application, or income calculated by
1.7	the method which provides the most accurate assessment of income available to the family.
1.8	(b) Self-employment income must be calculated based on gross receipts less operating
1.9	expenses.
1.10	(c) Income changes are processed under section 119B.025, subdivision 4. Included lump
1.11	sums counted as income under section 256P.06, subdivision 3 119B.011, subdivision 15,
1.12	must be annualized over 12 months. Income must be verified with documentary evidence.
1.13	If the applicant does not have sufficient evidence of income, verification must be obtained
1.14	from the source of the income.
1.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2023."
1.16	Page 4, after line 5, insert:
1.17	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
1.18	Subd. 6. Provider payments. (a) A provider shall bill only for services documented
1.19	according to section 119B.125, subdivision 6. The provider shall bill for services provided
1.20	within ten days of the end of the service period. Payments under the child care fund shall
1.21	be made within 21 days of receiving a complete bill from the provider. Counties or the state
1.22	may establish policies that make payments on a more frequent basis.

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2230 as follows:

1.1

Sec. . 1

03/24/21 11:47 am HOUSE RESEARCH AM/MV H2230A2

(b) If a provider has received an authorization of care and been issued a billing form for an eligible family, the bill must be submitted within 60 days of the last date of service on the bill. A bill submitted more than 60 days after the last date of service must be paid if the county determines that the provider has shown good cause why the bill was not submitted within 60 days. Good cause must be defined in the county's child care fund plan under section 119B.08, subdivision 3, and the definition of good cause must include county error. Any bill submitted more than a year after the last date of service on the bill must not be paid.

- (c) If a provider provided care for a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form for an eligible family, payment of child care assistance may only be made retroactively for a maximum of six three months from the date the provider is issued an authorization of care and billing form. For a family at application, if a provider provided child care during a time period without receiving an authorization of care and a billing form, a county may only make child care assistance payments to the provider retroactively from the date that child care began, or from the date that the family's eligibility began under section 119B.09, subdivision 7, or from the date that the family meets authorization requirements, not to exceed six months from the date that the provider is issued an authorization of care and billing form, whichever is later.
- (d) A county or the commissioner may refuse to issue a child care authorization to a licensed or legal nonlicensed provider, revoke an existing child care authorization to a licensed or legal nonlicensed provider, stop payment issued to a licensed or legal nonlicensed provider, or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a licensed or legal nonlicensed provider if:
- (1) the provider admits to intentionally giving the county materially false information on the provider's billing forms;
- (2) a county or the commissioner finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider intentionally gave the county materially false information on the provider's billing forms, or provided false attendance records to a county or the commissioner;
- (3) the provider is in violation of child care assistance program rules, until the agency determines those violations have been corrected;
- 2.30 (4) the provider is operating after:

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

- 2.31 (i) an order of suspension of the provider's license issued by the commissioner;
- 2.32 (ii) an order of revocation of the provider's license; or

Sec. . 2

03/24/21 11:47 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/MV	H2230A2
U3/24/21 11:4 / am	HOUSE RESEARCH	A IVI/ IVI V	HZZJUAZ

(iii) a final order of conditional license issued by the commissioner for as long as the 3.1 conditional license is in effect; 3.2 (5) the provider submits false attendance reports or refuses to provide documentation 3.3 of the child's attendance upon request; 3.4 3.5 (6) the provider gives false child care price information; or (7) the provider fails to report decreases in a child's attendance as required under section 3.6 119B.125, subdivision 9. 3.7 (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clauses (3), (5), (6), and (7), the county or the 3.8 commissioner may withhold the provider's authorization or payment for a period of time 3.9 not to exceed three months beyond the time the condition has been corrected. 3.10 (f) A county's payment policies must be included in the county's child care plan under 3.11 section 119B.08, subdivision 3. If payments are made by the state, in addition to being in 3.12 compliance with this subdivision, the payments must be made in compliance with section 3.13 16A.124. 3.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021." 3.15 Page 14, before line 9, insert: 3.16 3.17 "Sec. .... Laws 2020, chapter 71, article 1, section 2, subdivision 9, is amended to read: Subd. 9. **Appropriation.** (a) \$29,964,000 \$6,374,388 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated 3.18 from the general fund to the commissioner of human services for grants under this section. 3.19 Of this amount, up to \$450,000 is for Child Care Aware to administer the grants in accordance 3.20 with subdivision 1. 3.21 (b) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until December 31, 2020. 3.22 Sec. .... Laws 2020, chapter 71, article 1, section 2, is amended by adding a subdivision 3.23 to read: 3.24 Subd. 10. Coronavirus relief fund appropriation. (a) \$23,589,612 is appropriated 3.25 from the coronavirus relief fund for the same purpose as described in subdivision 9 of this 3.26 section. 3.27 (b) This appropriation is made available only for the commissioner of human services 3.28 to reallocate general fund spending incurred under this section as of December 31, 2020, 3.29

to the coronavirus relief fund. The appropriation cancels upon completion of the reallocation."

Sec. . 3

3.30

03/24/21 11:47 am HOUSE RESEARCH AM/MV H2230A2

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

4.2 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. . 4