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Overview

This bill makes changes to the evictions statutes by adding a notice requirement
in evictions for nonpayment of rent. This bill also adds additional mandatory
expungement provisions for eviction expungements, and adds protections for
individuals receiving public assistance in the Minnesota Human Rights Act related
to housing.

Summary

Section Description

1

Real property interests; action by owner, lessee, and others.

Prohibits discrimination in housing, including a home purchase or residential rental,
against an individual who is receiving public assistance.

Real property interest; action by brokers, agents, and others.

Prohibits discrimination in housing by a real estate broker, salesperson, or agent
against an individual who is receiving public assistance.

Definition; public assistance program.

Provides a definition for the term “public assistance program” in the Minnesota
Human Rights Act.

Discretionary expungement.

Provides new guidelines on when the court may order a discretionary expungement
of an eviction action.

Mandatory expungement.

Provides additional situations where the court must grant a mandatory expungement
including: when the tenant prevailed on the merits of the case; when the court
dismissed the landlord’s petition; when the parties have agreed to an expungement;
when the court finds an eviction is more than three years old; and when a tenant
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Section Description

brings an action and requests an expungement after settlement and the terms of the
settlement have been fulfilled.

6 Terminating tenancy at will.

Removes a provision from existing law that allows a tenancy at will to be terminated
with 14 days’ notice. A tenancy at will is most often a tenancy without a written lease
agreement, and a tenancy at will would then require the notice to terminate be at
least as long as the period of the periodic rent payments, or three months, whichever
is less.

7 Complaint and summons.

Provides that prior to an eviction for nonpayment of rent a landlord must provide a
notice to the tenant that provides the amount due and information about how to get
assistance to pay the rent and legal assistance.

Requires the landlord give the tenant 14 days after the notice to pay the amount
owed or vacate the rental unit, and if the tenant does not do either of those, then
the landlord may bring an eviction action.

Provides that a notice provided under this section is a qualifying event for emergency
assistance.

Provides that an eviction action is not accessible to the public until the court has
entered a final judgment in the case.
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