
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2215 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license​

1.5 for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, or adult​

1.6 foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter​

1.7 for a physical location that will not be the primary residence of the license holder for the​

1.8 entire period of licensure. If a family child foster care home or family adult foster care home​

1.9 license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's​

1.10 primary residence away from the physical location of the foster care license, the​

1.11 commissioner shall revoke the license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner​

1.12 shall not issue an initial license for a community residential setting licensed under chapter​

1.13 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consider​

1.14 the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of foster care​

1.15 licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee seeks to operate, the results of a​

1.16 person's choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the​

1.17 recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner is final​

1.18 and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:​

1.19 (1) foster care settings where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or​

1.20 older;​

1.21 (2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or​

1.22 community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on​

1.23 December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph​

1.24 (b);​
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2.1 (3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be​

2.2 needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD,​

2.3 or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity​

2.4 of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no​

2.5 longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section​

2.6 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;​

2.7 (4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be​

2.8 needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care;​

2.9 or​

2.10 (5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving​

2.11 customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community​

2.12 access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 or elderly waiver plan​

2.13 under chapter 256S and residing in the customized living setting before July 1, 2022, for​

2.14 which a license is required. A customized living service provider subject to this exception​

2.15 may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration of the​

2.16 commissioner's determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for​

2.17 reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available​

2.18 until June 30 December 31, 2023. This exception is available when:​

2.19 (i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service​

2.20 setting serving four or fewer people under the brain injury or community access for disability​

2.21 inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 in a single-family home operational on or​

2.22 before June 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;​

2.23 (ii) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of​

2.24 service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help​

2.25 the person make an informed choice; and​

2.26 (iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential​

2.27 setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized​

2.28 living setting as determined by the lead agency.​

2.29 (b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or​

2.30 community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination,​

2.31 the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which​

2.32 the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The​

2.33 determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required​

2.34 for a change in ownership at the same address.​

2​Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH DP/MV H2215DE1​03/20/23 09:21 am ​



3.1 (c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not​

3.2 the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15,​

3.3 paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately​

3.4 inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease​

3.5 the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.​

3.6 (d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity​

3.7 established in paragraph (c) shall be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by​

3.8 residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under​

3.9 the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.​

3.10 (e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available​

3.11 data required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to determine​

3.12 where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be implemented. The​

3.13 commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section 144A.351, and employ​

3.14 a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the informed decisions of those​

3.15 people who want to move out of corporate foster care or community residential settings,​

3.16 long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including seeking proposals from service​

3.17 providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, or location to improve services,​

3.18 increase the independence of residents, and better meet needs identified by the long-term​

3.19 services and supports reports and statewide data and information.​

3.20 (f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license​

3.21 holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are​

3.22 required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care​

3.23 will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period​

3.24 of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant​

3.25 or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print​

3.26 on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary​

3.27 residence of the license holder.​

3.28 (g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the​

3.29 primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home​

3.30 that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as​

3.31 authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human​

3.32 services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these​

3.33 waiver-funded services.​

3​Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH DP/MV H2215DE1​03/20/23 09:21 am ​



4.1 (h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section​

4.2 144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or​

4.3 delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process​

4.4 identified in section 256B.493.​

4.5 (i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or​

4.6 community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of​

4.7 reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified​

4.8 mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must​

4.9 inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The​

4.10 license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for​

4.11 reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days​

4.12 after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for​

4.13 reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within​

4.14 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.​

4.15 (j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment​

4.16 services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter​

4.17 for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution​

4.18 for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the​

4.19 moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage​

4.20 existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the​

4.21 moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the​

4.22 initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment​

4.23 services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.​

4.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.25 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.2101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.26 Subdivision 1. Phase-in for disability waiver customized living rates. All rates and​

4.27 rate components for community access for disability inclusion customized living and brain​

4.28 injury customized living under section 256B.4914 shall be the sum of ten 21.6 percent of​

4.29 the rates calculated under sections 256S.211 to 256S.215 and 90 78.4 percent of the rates​

4.30 calculated using the rate methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017.​

4.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024."​

4.32 Amend the title accordingly​
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