## STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 9, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Poston moved the minutes from the committee meeting on March 7, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Richardson moved HF3260 be referred to the General Register.

Chair Richardson moved Amendment H3260A1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF3260, as amended: The Honorable Jess Hanson, State Representative

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3260, as amended, to the General Register.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather

## MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BOE, Greg DRAZKOWSKI, Steve MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

ABSENT **BENNETT**, Peggy

With a vote of 11 AYES, 7 NAYS, AND 1 ABSENT, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hassan moved HF3554 to be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3554: Dustin Steenblock, CTE/Agriculture/WBL Teacher, Ashby Public Schools Matha Moriarty, Executive Director, Learning Disabilities Association of Minnesota James Barnett, Executive Director, Teach Minnesota

Vice Chair Hassan renewed the motion to refer HF3554 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 18 AYES and 1 NAY, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Keeler moved HF2856 be referred to the Committee on State Government Finance and Elections.

The following testified on HF2856:

Shelley Buck, Tribal Council Vice President, Prairie Island Indian Community Robert Larsen, President, Lower Sioux Indian Community in the State of Minnesota Delores Gabbard, Lead Home School Liaison, Moorhead Area Public Schools, Moorhead Indian **Education Program** 

Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education

Representative Urdahl moved Amendment H2856A1.

Representative Urdahl requested a roll call vote.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg DRAZKOWSKI, Steve MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

NAYS RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

EXCUSED EDELSON, Heather

With a vote of 8 AYES, 10 NAYS, and 1 EXCUSED, <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Keeler renewed the motion to refer HF2856 to the Committee on State Government Finance & Elections.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg DRAZKOWSKI, Steve MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy With a vote of 11 AYES, 7 NAYS, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson moved HF2920 to be referred to the General Register.

The following testified on HF2920: The Honorable Michael Howard, State Representative Mia Olson, School Board Treasurer, Bloomington Public Schools Randy Bruer, Superintendent, Win-E-Mac Schools Suzie Rauch, School Board Member, Lynd Public Schools

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF2950 to the General Register.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

EXCUSED EDELSON, Heather

With a vote of 17 AYES, 1 NAY, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 2:10pm.

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair

Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant