
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2249 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, delete section 1 and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 289A.51, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 3. Amount of rebate. (a) The amount of a rebate under this section equals the​

1.5 lesser of:​

1.6 (1) the applicable percentage, multiplied by the amount 75 percent of eligible expenses​

1.7 paid by an eligible individual; or​

1.8 (2) $1,500 $750.​

1.9 (b) The applicable percentage equals 75 percent, but is reduced by one percentage point​

1.10 until the percentage equals 50 percent, for each $4,000 of the eligible individual's adjusted​

1.11 gross income in excess of:​

1.12 (1) $50,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return; and​

1.13 (2) $25,000 for all other filers.​

1.14 (b) Eligibility for a rebate under this section is limited to eligible individuals with adjusted​

1.15 gross incomes that were not more than:​

1.16 (1) $78,000 in the case of a married eligible individual who filed a joint return; or​

1.17 (2) $41,000 for all other individuals.​

1.18 (c) For the purposes of determining the applicable percentage income limit under​

1.19 paragraph (b) and subdivision 4, paragraph (a), the commissioner must use the eligible​

1.20 individual's adjusted gross income for the taxable year ending in the calendar year prior to​

1.21 the year in which the individual applied for a rebate certificate.​

1.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for rebates after December 31, 2024.​
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2.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 289A.51, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 4. Commissioner to issue rebate certificates. (a) To qualify for a rebate under​

2.3 this section, an eligible individual must apply to the commissioner for a rebate certificate​

2.4 in the manner specified by the commissioner prior to purchasing an electric-assisted bicycle.​

2.5 As part of the application, the eligible individual must include proof of the individual's​

2.6 adjusted gross income for the taxable year specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (c). The​

2.7 commissioner must issue a rebate certificate to an eligible individual stating the issuance​

2.8 date, the applicable percentage, and the maximum rebate for which the taxpayer is eligible.​

2.9 For a married taxpayer filing a joint return, each spouse may apply to the commissioner​

2.10 separately, and the commissioner must issue each spouse a separate rebate certificate.​

2.11 (b) The commissioner of revenue may determine the date on which to open applications​

2.12 for a rebate certificate, and applications must not be submitted before the date determined​

2.13 by the commissioner. Beginning July 1, 2024, and July 1 of each subsequent calendar year​

2.14 for which there is an allocation of rebate certificates, the commissioner must allocate rebate​

2.15 certificates on a first-come, first-served basis. The commissioner must reserve 40 percent​

2.16 of the certificates for a married taxpayer filing a joint return with an adjusted gross income​

2.17 of less than $78,000 or any other filer with an adjusted gross income of less than $41,000.​

2.18 Any portion of the reserved amount under this paragraph that is not allocated by September​

2.19 30 is available for allocation to other rebate certificate applications beginning on October​

2.20 1. to eligible applicants. If the number of eligible applicants exceeds the available allocation​

2.21 of rebate certificates, the commissioner must allocate certificates through a random lottery.​

2.22 (c) If a random lottery is used to allocate certificates as provided in paragraph (b), the​

2.23 commissioner must, by August 1, 2025, determine a suitable randomized method to allocate​

2.24 the certificates and must:​

2.25 (1) detail the department's anticipated timeline for the lottery, including when applications​

2.26 for the lottery by an eligible individual must be made and when the commissioner anticipates​

2.27 distributing the certificates;​

2.28 (2) establish a method for an eligible individual to apply for placement into the lottery;​

2.29 and​

2.30 (3) provide the amount of certificates available to be distributed by the department to​

2.31 the public.​

2.32 (d) The commissioner must not issue rebate certificates totaling more than $2,000,000​

2.33 in each of calendar years 2024 and 2025, except any amount authorized but not allocated​

2.34 in any calendar year does not cancel and is added to the allocation for the next calendar​
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3.1 year. When calculating the amount of remaining allocations, the commissioner must assume​

3.2 that each allocated but unclaimed certificate reduces the available allocations by $1,500​

3.3 $750.​

3.4 (d) (e) A rebate certificate that is not assigned to a retailer expires two months after the​

3.5 date the certificate was issued and may not be assigned to a retailer after expiration. The​

3.6 amount of any expired rebate certificates is added to the available allocation under paragraph​

3.7 (c) (d).​

3.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for rebates after December 31, 2024."​

3.9 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

3.10 Amend the title accordingly​
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