STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 25, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie EKLINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Rep. Petersburg moved to adopt the minutes from the March 23 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 2169 (Richardson) Rondo Land Bridge project development funding provided, and money appropriated.

Rep. Richardson gave an overview of HF 2169.

Public Testimony on HF 2169

Marvin Anderson, Board Chair, ReConnect Rondo Keith Baker, Managing Director, ReConnect Rondo

Vice Chair Koegel assumed the gavel at 1:24pm.

HF 2213 (Hornstein) – Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board permitted to reduce speed limits on parkways under its jurisdiction, and local approval required.

Rep. Hornstein gave an overview of HF 2213.

Public Testimony on HF 2213

Jono Cowgill, President, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board

The Sustainable Transportation Act (Hornstein)

Rep. Hornstein gave an overview of the Sustainable Transportation Act.

Public Testimony on the Sustainable Transportation Act

Tim Sexton, Assistant Commissioner, Chief Sustainability Officer, MnDOT Sam Rockwell, Executive Director, Move Minnesota Ann Koller Emily Neuharth Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter

The Hazardous Substances Transportation Safety Act (Hornstein)

Rep. Hornstein gave an overview of the Hazardous Substances Transportation Act.

Public Testimony on the Hazardous Substances Transportation Act

Claire Ruebeck, Citizens Acting for Rail Safety Mark Nichols Jim Smith, Minnesota State Fire Marshal Peter Dahlberg, Rail Safety Inspection Supervisor, Rail Service Improvement Program Manager John Apitz, Minnesota Regional Railroads Association

Chair Koegel adjourned the meeting at 2:30pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant