## REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Mary Murphy, Chair of the Committee on Redistricting, called the virtual meeting to order at 2:05 PM on October 14th, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## **Members present:**

Murphy, Mary, CHAIR Klevorn, Ginny, VC Torkelson, Paul, Lead Bahner, Kristin Greenman, Emma Igo, Spencer Lee, Fue Long, Jamie Munson, Jeremy Neu Brindley, Anne O'Driscoll, Tim Sandstede, Julie Schultz, Jennifer Stephenson, Zack Vang, Samantha West, Nolan

## Member excused:

Garofalo, Pat Nash, Jim Olson, Liz

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Klevorn moved to approve the minutes from September 20<sup>th</sup>, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Announcements from Chair Murphy.

Vice Chair Klevorn presented bill draft MG052-2.

Testimonies on bill draft MG052-2

- Katina Mortensen, Public Policy Director, MN Council on Foundations
- Annastacia Belladonna-Carrera, Executive Director, Common Cause Minnesota

Rep. Torkelson moved the MG052-2A6 amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Torkelson moved the MG052-2A1 amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Torkelson moved the MG052-2A2 amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Torkelson moved the MG052-2A3 amendment. After the discussion, Rep. Torkelson withdrew the proposed amendment.

Rep. Torkelson moved the MG052-2A4 amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Munson moved the MG052-2A7 amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Vice Chair Klevorn moved that the committee instruct the revisor to draft MG052-2 as a committee bill for introduction under House Rule 1.13. A roll call was taken: AYES:

Murphy

Klevorn

Bahner

Greenman

Lee

Long

Sandstede

Schultz

Stephenson

Vang

NAYS:

Torkelson

Munson

Neu Brindley

O'Driscoll

West

ABSTAIN:

Igo

EXCUSED:

Garofalo

Nash

Olson

There being 10 ayes, 5 nays, 1 abstention, and 3 excused. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Discussion and final comments.

The committee adjourned at 4:02 PM.

Representative Mary Murphy, Chair

Mick Borsari, Committee Legislative Assistant