# HOUSE ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY AND FINANCE COMMITTEE & SENATE ENVIRONMENT, CLIMATE, AND LEGACY COMMITTEE

Joint Hearing on Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) Efforts in Minnesota

Representative Hansen, Chair of the House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting of the joint committees to order at 3:31 P.M. on Tuesday, January 10<sup>th</sup>, 2023, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

#### House Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BRAND, Jeff BURKEL, John EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LEE, Fue LISLEGARD, Dave PURSELL, Kristi SCHULTZ, Isaac SKRABA, Roger VANG, Samantha

#### Senate Members Present:

HAWJ, Foung (Chair)
MCEWEN, Jennifer (Vice-Chair)
EICHORN, Justin (GOP Lead)
GREEN, Steve
HAUSCHILD, Grant
HOFFMAN, John
KUNESH, Mary
LANG, Andrew
MORRISON, Kelly
WESENBERG, Nathan

A quorum was present.

Emerald Ash Borer overview from Department of Agriculture, Department of Natural Resources, and Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

#### Presenting:

- Mark Abrahamson, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Valerie McClannahan, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Dave Benke, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Presentation from Minnesota Shade Tree Advisory Committee and League of Minnesota Cities.

# Presenting:

- Karen Zumach, President, Minnesota Shade Tree Advisory Committee
- Craig Johnson, League of Minnesota Cities

Emerald Ash Borer research presentation from the University of Minnesota MN Invasive Terrestrial Plans and Pests Center.

### Presenting:

• Robert Venette, USDA Forest Service & Minnesota Invasive Terrestrial Plants and Pests Center

Presentation on wood waste and biomass energy challenges and opportunities

## Presenting:

- Ken Smith, St. Paul District Energy
- Rick Evans, Xcel Energy
- Al Krug, Xcel Energy

Representative Hansen adjourned the meeting at 4:39 P.M.

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair
Samuel O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant