ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY AND FINANCE MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:00 P.M. on Tuesday, February 14, 2023, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead)
BRAND, Jeff
BURKEL, John
FINKE, Leigh
FISCHER, Peter
GILLMAN, Dawn
JACOB, Steven
LEE, Fue
LISLEGARD, Dave
PURSELL, Kristi
SCHULTZ, Isaac
SKRABA, Roger
VANG, Samantha

Members Excused:

EDELSON, Heather

A quorum was present.

Representative FISCHER moved to approve the minutes from Wednesday, February 8, 2023. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1423 (Kozlowski); Elk reintroduction funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Hansen moved that HF1423 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Finance omnibus bill.

Representative Kozlowski presented HF1423.

Testifying on the bill:

- Kevin DuPuis Sr., Chairman, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
- Ryan Bronson, Director of Government Affairs, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation
- Mark Abrahamson, Director, Minnesota Department of Agriculture Plant Protection Division

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF1423 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Finance omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF921 (Finke); Use of insecticides on state lands prohibited.

Representative Finke moved that HF921 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Finance omnibus bill.

Representative Finke presented HF921.

Testifying on the bill:

- Chris Cowen, Lobbyist, Pesticide Action Network
- Greg Larson, Minnesota Environmental Partnership Pollinator Cluster; Pollinator Friendly Alliance
- Dr. Kelly Straka, Wildlife Section Manager, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Representative Finke renewed the motion that HF921 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Finance omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF1000 (Brand); PFAS prohibited in certain products, disclosure required, and rulemaking authorized.

Representative Brand moved that HF1000 be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

Representative Brand moved to adopt the DE2 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Brand presented HF1000, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Amara Strande, Resident of Woodbury, Minnesota
- Michael Strande, Resident of Woodbury, Minnesota
- Derek Lowen, Resident of Cottage Grove, Minnesota
- Avonna Starck, State Director, Clean Water Action
- Dr. Roger Ruan, Ph.D., Professor and Director of Center for Biorefining, University of Minnesota
- Jay Eidsness, Staff Attorney, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
- David Pelikan, Policy Associate, Conservation Minnesota
- Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Tom Johnson, Director of Governmental Affairs, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF1000, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF1315 (Pursell); Requirements for labeling items as biodegradable or compostable modified.

Representative Pursell moved that HF1315 be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

Representative Pursell moved to adopt the A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Pursell presented HF1315, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Kellie Kish, Chair, Minnesota Composting Council
- Chuck Joswiak, Sales & Marketing Development, Specialized Environmental Technologies
- Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce

Representative Pursell renewed the motion that HF1315, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 P.M.

Representative Rick Hansen,	Chair

Samuel O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant