1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS
1.5	Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.
1.6	The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
1.7	and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway
1.8	fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
1.9	Amounts for "Total Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked
1.10	"Appropriations by Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified
1.11	otherwise, the amounts in the second year under "Appropriations by Fund" show the base
1.12	within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The
1.13	figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them
1.14	are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The
1.15	first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is
1.16	fiscal years 2022 and 2023. "C.S.A.H." is the county state-aid highway fund. "M.S.A.S."
1.17	is the municipal state-aid street fund. "H.U.T.D." is the highway user tax distribution fund.
1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21	APPROPRIATIONS Available for the Year Ending June 30 2022 2023
1.22 1.23	Sec. 2. <u>DEPARTMENT OF</u> <u>TRANSPORTATION</u>
1.24	<u>Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation</u> <u>\$ 3,171,025,000 \$ 3,081,789,000</u>
1.25	Appropriations by Fund
1.26	<u>2022</u> <u>2023</u>

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1684 as follows:

	04/05/21 09:41 am		HOUSE RESEARC	H MB/RK	H1684DE2
2.1	General	33,121,000	19,565,000		
2.2	Airports	25,360,000	25,368,000		
2.3	C.S.A.H.	866,395,000	907,941,000		
2.4	M.S.A.S.	216,841,000	227,688,000		
2.5	Special Revenue	11,937,000	20,006,000		
2.6	Trunk Highway	2,017,371,000	1,881,221,000		
2.7	The appropriations in	this section are to	o the		
2.8	commissioner of tran	sportation.			
2.9	The amounts that ma	y be spent for each	<u>h</u>		
2.10	purpose are specified	in the following			
2.11	subdivisions.				
2.12	Subd. 2. Multimoda	1 Systems			
2.13	(a) Aeronautics				
2.14	(1) Airport Develop	ment and Assista	nnce	18,598,000	18,598,000
2.15	This appropriation is	from the state air	ports		
2.16	fund and must be spe	ent according to			
2.17	Minnesota Statutes, s	section 360.305,			
2.18	subdivision 4.				
2.19	Notwithstanding Mir	nnesota Statutes, se	ection		
2.20	16A.28, subdivision	6, this appropriation	on is		
2.21	available for five year	rs after appropriat	ion. If		
2.22	the appropriation for o	either year is insuff	ficient,		
2.23	the appropriation for t	he other year is ava	ailable		
2.24	for it.				
2.25	If the commissioner	of transportation			
2.26	determines that a bala	ance remains in th	e state		
2.27	airports fund followi	ng the appropriation	ons		
2.28	made in this article ar	d that the appropri	iations		
2.29	made are insufficient	for advancing air	port		
2.30	development and ass	istance projects, a	<u>n</u>		
2.31	amount necessary to	advance the projec	ets, not		
2.32	to exceed the balance	in the state airports	s fund,		
2.33	is appropriated in each	ch year to the			
2.34	commissioner and m	ust be spent accord	ling to		

3.1	Minnesota Statutes, section	on 360.305,			
3.2	subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a				
3.3	determination under this	contingent			
3.4	appropriation, the commi	ssioner of			
3.5	transportation must notify	y the commiss	<u>ioner</u>		
3.6	of management and budge	et and the chai	rs and		
3.7	ranking minority member	rs of the legisl	ative		
3.8	committees with jurisdict	ion over			
3.9	transportation finance con	ncerning fund	<u>S</u>		
3.10	appropriated. Funds appr	opriated under	: this		
3.11	contingent appropriation d	lo not adjust th	e base		
3.12	for fiscal years 2024 and	2025.			
3.13	(2) Aviation Support Se	rvices		8,332,000	8,340,000
3.14	Appropriat	ions by Fund			
3.15		2022	2023		
3.16	Airports	6,682,000	6,690,000		
3.17	Trunk Highway	1,650,000	1,650,000		
3.18	(3) Civil Air Patrol			80,000	80,000
3.19	This appropriation is from	n the state air	<u>ports</u>		
3.20	fund for the Civil Air Pat	rol.			
3.21	(b) Transit and Active T	<u>ransportatio</u>	<u>n</u>	21,601,000	18,201,000
3.22	Appropriati	ions by Fund			
3.23		2022	2023		
3.24	General 2	20,649,000	17,249,000		
3.25	Trunk Highway	952,000	952,000		
3.26	\$3,400,000 in fiscal year	2022 from the	2		
3.27	general fund is for the act	tive transporta	<u>tion</u>		
3.28	program under Minnesota	a Statutes, sec	tion_		
3.29	<u>174.38.</u>				
3.30				2 000 000	500,000
	(c) Safe Routes to School	<u>ol</u>		2,000,000	200,000
3.31	(c) Safe Routes to School This appropriation is from	_	<u>fund</u>	<u>2,000,000</u>	200,000
3.31 3.32		n the general		<u>2,000,000</u>	200,000

MB/RK

H1684DE2

	0 4 /03/21 07.41 am		HOUSE RESEAR	CII WIB/KK	11100+DL2
4.1	(d) Passenger Rail			3,000,000	500,000
4.2	This appropriation is from the general fund				
4.3	for passenger rail activit	ies under Minne	esota		
4.4	Statutes, sections 174.63	2 to 174.636.			
4.5	\$2,500,000 in fiscal year	2022 is for fina	al		
4.6	design and construction				
4.7	second daily Amtrak tra				
4.8	Minneapolis and St. Pau	l and Chicago.			
4.9	(e) Freight	_		6,992,000	7,036,000
4.9	(c) Preight			0,772,000	7,030,000
4.10	<u>Appropria</u>	tions by Fund			
4.11		<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>		
4.12	General	1,114,000	1,158,000		
4.13	Trunk Highway	5,878,000	5,878,000		
4.14	(f) Electric Vehicle Infi	astructure		2,470,000	344,000
4.15	This appropriation is from	m the electric ve	ehicle		
4.16	infrastructure account in	the special reve	<u>enue</u>		
4.17	fund under section 174.48, subdivision 3, for				
4.18	the electric vehicle infrastructure development				
4.19	program under that secti	on.			
4.20	The base is \$340,000 in	fiscal year 2024	l and		
4.21	\$537,000 in fiscal year 2	2025.			
4.22	Subd. 3. State Roads				
4.23	(a) Operations and Ma	<u>intenance</u>		389,478,000	399,645,000
4.24	The base is \$392,533,00	0 in fiscal year	2024		
4.25	and \$405,602,000 in fisc	cal year 2025.			
4.26	(b) Program Planning	and Delivery			
4.27	(1) Planning and Resea	<u>arch</u>		37,890,000	31,190,000
4.28	Appropria	tions by Fund			
4.29		<u>2022</u>	2023		
4.30	General	6,200,000	<u>0</u>		
4.31	Trunk Highway	31,690,000	31,190,000		

HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK

H1684DE2

5.1	If a balance remains of this appropriation, the
5.2	commissioner may transfer up to that amount
5.3	for program delivery under clause (2).
5.4	\$6,200,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the
5.5	general fund is for a grant to ReConnect
5.6	Rondo for project development of the Rondo
5.7	Land Bridge freeway lid over marked
5.8	Interstate Highway 94 in a portion of the
5.9	segment from Lexington Avenue to Rice
5.10	Street in St. Paul. Eligible uses of funds
5.11	include but are not limited to project
5.12	management, area planning and design, project
5.13	assessment and analysis, market research,
5.14	financial evaluation, community outreach,
5.15	fund-raising, redevelopment programming,
5.16	and organizational capacity activities. This is
5.17	a onetime appropriation and is available until
5.18	June 30, 2023. The commissioner must not
5.19	require an expenditure prior to making grant
5.20	funds available.
5.21	Up to \$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 from the
5.22	trunk highway fund is for safety improvements
5.23	in Department of Transportation District 1, to
5.24	perform cost estimating, environmental
5.25	permitting, and preliminary engineering on
5.26	trunk highway segments with a continuous
5.27	freeway or expressway gap.
5.28	\$130,000 in each year from the trunk highway
5.29	fund is available for administrative costs of
5.30	the targeted group business program.
5.31	\$266,000 in each year from the trunk highway
5.32	fund is available for grants to metropolitan
5.33	planning organizations outside the
5.34	seven-county metropolitan area.

\$900,000 in each year from the trunk highway		
fund is available for grants for transportation		
studies outside the metropolitan area to		
identify critical concerns, problems, and		
issues. These grants are available: (1) to		
regional development commissions; (2) in		
regions where no regional development		
commission is functioning, to joint powers		
boards established under agreement of two or		
more political subdivisions in the region to		
exercise the planning functions of a regional		
development commission; and (3) in regions		
where no regional development commission		
or joint powers board is functioning, to the		
Department of Transportation district office		
for that region.		
(2) Program Delivery	244,480,000	251,476,000
This appropriation includes use of consultants		
to support development and management of		
projects.		
\$1,000,000 in each year is available for		
management of contaminated and regulated		
material on property owned by the Department		
of Transportation, including mitigation of		
property conveyances, facility acquisition or		
expansion, chemical release at maintenance		
facilities, and spills on the trunk highway		
system where there is no known responsible		
party. If the appropriation for either year is		
insufficient, the appropriation for the other		
year is available for it.		
The base is \$247,209,000 in fiscal year 2024		
and \$255,050,000 in fiscal year 2025.		
(c) State Road Construction	1,207,689,000	1.054.676.000

MB/RK

H1684DE2

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
7.1	This appropriation is for the actual			
7.2	construction, reconstruction, and improv	rement		
7.3	of trunk highways, including design-bu	<u>iild</u>		
7.4	contracts, internal department costs asso	ociated		
7.5	with delivering the construction progra	<u>m,</u>		
7.6	consultant usage to support these activi	ities,		
7.7	and the cost of eatual payments to lande	Min org		

- The commissioner of transportation must 7.11
- notify the chairs and ranking minority 7.12

relocation expenses.

- members of the legislative committees with 7.13
- jurisdiction over transportation finance of any 7.14
- significant events that should cause the 7.15
- estimate of federal aid to change. 7.16
- This appropriation includes federal highway 7.17
- aid. 7.18

7.10

- The commissioner may expend up to one-half 7.19
- of one percent of the federal appropriations 7.20
- under this paragraph as grants to opportunity 7.21
- industrialization centers and other nonprofit 7.22
- job training centers for job training programs 7.23
- related to highway construction. 7.24
- The commissioner may transfer up to 7.25
- \$15,000,000 in each year to the transportation 7.26
- revolving loan fund. 7.27
- 7.28 The commissioner may receive money
- covering other shares of the cost of partnership 7.29
- projects. These receipts are appropriated to 7.30
- 7.31 the commissioner for these projects.
- The base is \$1,004,607,000 in fiscal year 2024 7.32
- 7.33 and \$1,035,972,000 in fiscal year 2025.

(d) Corridors of Commerce 7.34

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	I MB/KK	H1684DE2
8.1	This appropriation is for the corridors of	•		
8.2	commerce program under Minnesota Stat	utes,		
8.3	section 161.088. The commissioner may	use		
8.4	up to 17 percent of the amount in each y	<u>ear</u>		
8.5	for program delivery.			
8.6	(e) Highway Debt Service	<u>22</u>	5,773,000	259,735,000
8.7	\$222,773,000 in fiscal year 2022 and			
8.8	\$256,735,000 in fiscal year 2023 are for			
8.9	transfer to the state bond fund. If this			
8.10	appropriation is insufficient to make all			
8.11	transfers required in the year for which i	t is		
8.12	made, the commissioner of management	and		
8.13	budget must transfer the deficiency amo	<u>unt</u>		
8.14	under the statutory open appropriation as	<u>nd</u>		
8.15	notify the chairs, ranking minority members	bers,		
8.16	and staff of the legislative committees w	<u>ith</u>		
8.17	jurisdiction over transportation finance a	and		
8.18	the chairs of the senate Finance Commit	<u>tee</u>		
8.19	and the house of representatives Ways an	<u>nd</u>		
8.20	Means Committee of the amount of the			
8.21	deficiency. Any excess appropriation can	<u>ncels</u>		
8.22	to the trunk highway fund.			
8.23	(f) Statewide Radio Communications		6,236,000	6,236,000
8.24	(g) Roosevelt Signal Tower		3,000	3,000
8.25	This appropriation is from the general fur	nd to		
8.26	equip and operate the Roosevelt signal to	<u>ower</u>		
8.27	for Lake of the Woods weather broadcas	ting.		
8.28	Subd. 4. Local Roads			
8.29	(a) County State-Aid Highways	<u>86</u>	6,395,000	907,941,000
8.30	This appropriation is from the county state	e-aid		
8.31	highway fund under Minnesota Statutes,			
8.32	section 161.081, and Minnesota Statutes	<u>.</u>		
8.33	chapter 162, and is available until June 3	<u>80,</u>		
8.34	<u>2031.</u>			

MB/RK

H1684DE2

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
9.1	If the commissioner of transportation			
9.2	determines that a balance remains in th	e		
9.3	county state-aid highway fund following	ng the		
9.4	appropriations and transfers made in th	is		
9.5	paragraph and that the appropriations n	nade		
9.6	are insufficient for advancing county sta	nte-aid		
9.7	highway projects, an amount necessary	<u>to</u>		
9.8	advance the projects, not to exceed the ba	alance		
9.9	in the county state-aid highway fund, is	<u>5</u>		
9.10	appropriated in each year to the commiss	sioner.		
9.11	Within two weeks of a determination u	<u>nder</u>		
9.12	this contingent appropriation, the			
9.13	commissioner of transportation must no	otify		
9.14	the commissioner of management and b	oudget		
9.15	and the chairs, ranking minority member	rs, and		
9.16	staff of the legislative committees with			
9.17	jurisdiction over transportation finance			
9.18	concerning funds appropriated. The			
9.19	commissioner must identify in the next b	oudget		
9.20	submission to the legislature under Mini	nesota		
9.21	Statutes, section 16A.11, any amount the	nat is		
9.22	appropriated under this paragraph.			
9.23	(b) Municipal State-Aid Streets	<u>216</u> ,	,841,000	227,688,000
9.24	This appropriation is from the municipal	a <u>l</u>		
9.25	state-aid street fund under Minnesota Sta	atutes,		
9.26	chapter 162, and is available until June	30,		
9.27	<u>2031.</u>			
9.28	If the commissioner of transportation			
9.29	determines that a balance remains in th	<u>e</u>		
9.30	municipal state-aid street fund followir	ng the		
9.31	appropriations and transfers made in th	<u>is</u>		
9.32	paragraph and that the appropriations n	nade		

9.33

9.34

9.35

are insufficient for advancing municipal

to advance the projects, not to exceed the

state-aid street projects, an amount necessary

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARC	CH MB/RK	H1684DE2
10.1	balance in the municipal state-aid street	fund,		
10.2	is appropriated in each year to the			
10.3	commissioner. Within two weeks of a			
10.4	determination under this contingent			
10.5	appropriation, the commissioner of			
10.6	transportation must notify the commissi	ioner_		
10.7	of management and budget and the char	irs,		
10.8	ranking minority members, and staff of	the		
10.9	legislative committees with jurisdiction	over		
10.10	transportation finance concerning funds	<u> </u>		
10.11	appropriated. The commissioner must id	entify		
10.12	in the next budget submission to the legis	<u>lature</u>		
10.13	under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.1	<u>1, any</u>		
10.14	amount that is appropriated under this			
10.15	paragraph.			
10.16	(c) Small Cities Assistance		9,467,000	19,662,000
10.17	This appropriation is from the small cit	ies		
10.18	assistance account in the special revenue	e fund		
10.19	under Minnesota Statutes, section 162.1	45,		
10.20	subdivision 2, for the small cities assist	ance		
10.21	program under that section.			
10.22	Subd. 5. Agency Management			
10.23	(a) Agency Services		63,599,000	63,599,000
10.24	Appropriations by Fund			
10.25	<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>		
10.26	<u>General</u> <u>100,000</u>	100,000		
10.27	<u>Trunk Highway</u> <u>63,499,000</u>	63,499,000		
10.28	\$100,000 in each year from the general	fund		
10.29	is for facilitation of tribal training for st	ate		
10.30	agencies.			

Appropriations by Fund 10.32 2022 10.33

(b) Buildings

10.31

<u>2023</u>

40,274,000

40,474,000

11.1	General	55,000	55,000		
11.1	Trunk Highway	40,219,000	40,419,000		
11.2					
11.3	Any money appropriat	ed to the commiss	sioner_		
11.4	of transportation for bu	-			
11.5	any fiscal year before	fiscal year 2022 i	<u>S</u>		
11.6	available to the comm	issioner during th	<u>e</u>		
11.7	biennium to the extent	that the commiss	sioner_		
11.8	spends the money on the	e building constru	<u>action</u>		
11.9	projects for which the	money was origin	<u>nally</u>		
11.10	encumbered during the	e fiscal year for w	<u>hich</u>		
11.11	it was appropriated. If	the appropriation	<u>n for</u>		
11.12	either year is insufficie	ent, the appropria	<u>tion</u>		
11.13	for the other year is av	ailable for it.			
11.14	(c) Tort Claims			600,000	600,000
11.15	If the appropriation for	r either year is			
11.16	insufficient, the approp	oriation for the ot	<u>her</u>		
11.17	year is available for it.				
11.18	Subd. 6. Transfers				
11.19	(a) With the approval	of the commission	ner of		
11.20	management and budg	get, the commission	oner		
11.21	of transportation may	transfer unencum	<u>bered</u>		
11.22	balances among the ap	propriations fron	n the		
11.23	trunk highway fund an	d the state airports	s fund		
11.24	made in this section. T	ransfers under th	<u>is</u>		
11.25	paragraph must not be	made: (1) between	<u>en</u>		
11.26	funds; (2) from the app	propriations for s	tate		
11.27	road construction or de	ebt service; or (3)	from		
11.28	the appropriations for	operations and			
11.29	maintenance or progra	m delivery, excep	ot for		
11.30	a transfer to state road	construction or c	<u>lebt</u>		
11.31	service.				
11.32	(b) The commissioner	of transportation	must		
11.33	immediately report tra	nsfers under para	graph_		
11.34	(a) to the chairs, ranking	ng minority mem	bers,		

MB/RK

H1684DE2

12.1	and staff of the legislative committees with
12.2	jurisdiction over transportation finance. The
12.3	authority for the commissioner of
12.4	transportation to make transfers under
12.5	Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.285, is
12.6	superseded by the authority and requirements
12.7	under this paragraph.
12.8	(c) The commissioner shall transfer from the
12.9	flexible highway account in the county
12.10	state-aid highway fund: (1) \$10,000,000 in
12.11	fiscal year 2022 to the trunk highway fund;
12.12	(2) \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 to the
12.13	municipal turnback account in the municipal
12.14	state-aid street fund; and (3) the remainder in
12.15	fiscal year 2022 to the county turnback
12.16	account in the county state-aid highway fund.
12.17	The funds transferred are for highway
12.18	turnback purposes as provided under
12.19	Minnesota Statutes, section 161.081,
12.20	subdivision 3.
12.21	Subd. 7. Contingent Appropriations
12.22	The commissioner of transportation, with the
12.23	approval of the governor and the written
12.24	approval of at least five members of a group
12.25	consisting of the members of the Legislative
12.26	Advisory Commission under Minnesota
12.27	Statutes, section 3.30, and the ranking minority
12.28	members of the legislative committees with
12.29	jurisdiction over transportation finance, may
12.30	transfer all or part of the unappropriated
12.31	balance in the trunk highway fund to an
12.32	appropriation: (1) for trunk highway design,
12.33	construction, or inspection in order to take
12.34	advantage of an unanticipated receipt of
12.35	income to the trunk highway fund or to take

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEAR	CH MB/R	K H1684DE2		
13.1	advantage of federal advanced construction	ion				
13.2	funding; (2) for trunk highway maintena	nce				
13.3	in order to meet an emergency; or (3) to	pay				
13.4	tort or environmental claims. Nothing in	this				
13.5	subdivision authorizes the commissioner	to				
13.6	increase the use of federal advanced					
13.7	construction funding beyond amounts					
13.8	specifically authorized. Any transfer as a result					
13.9	of the use of federal advanced construction	<u>on</u>				
13.10	funding must include an analysis of the ef	<u>fects</u>				
13.11	on the long-term trunk highway fund bala	nce.				
13.12	The amount transferred is appropriated fo	r the				
13.13	purpose of the account to which it is					
13.14	transferred.					
13.15	Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL					
13.16	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	90,152,000 \$	88,662,000		
13.17	The appropriations in this section are from	n the				
13.18	general fund to the Metropolitan Council	l <u>.</u>				
13.19	The amounts that may be spent for each					
13.20	purpose are specified in the following					
13.21	subdivisions.					
13.22	Subd. 2. Transit		33,736,000	32,686,000		
13.23	This appropriation is for transit system					
13.24	operations under Minnesota Statutes, sect	<u>cions</u>				
13.25	473.371 to 473.449.					
13.26	\$32,000 in each year is for the bus deploys	<u>nent</u>				
13.27	analysis requirements under Minnesota					
13.28	Statutes, section 473.391, subdivision 3.					
13.29	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for the					
13.30	zero-emission transit vehicle transition p	<u>lan</u>				
13.31	under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.39	927.				
13.32	\$250,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for an ana	lysis				

13.33

of transit service improvements in the marked

14.1	Trunk Highway 55 corridor from Medina to			
14.2	downtown Minneapolis. At a minimum, the			
14.3	analysis must include options for highway bus			
14.4	rapid transit service. The council must ensure			
14.5	that the analysis is performed in a manner that			
14.6	does not conflict with requirements for federal			
14.7	transit or transitway grants. The council may			
14.8	provide a grant to a local unit of government			
14.9	to perform the analysis. This appropriation is			
14.10	not available until the council determines that			
14.11	at least an equal amount is committed from			
14.12	nonstate sources.			
14.13	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a grant to			
14.14	transportation management organizations that			
14.15	provide services exclusively or primarily in			
14.16	the city located along the marked Interstate			
14.17	Highway 494 corridor having the highest			
14.18	population as of July 1, 2021. The council			
14.19	must not retain any portion of the funds under			
14.20	this rider and must make grant payments in			
14.21	full by July 31, 2021. Funds under this grant			
14.22	are for programming and service expansion			
14.23	to assist companies and commuters in			
14.24	telecommuting efforts and promotion of best			
14.25	practices. A grant recipient must provide			
14.26	telework resources, assistance, information,			
14.27	and related activities on a statewide basis.			
14.28	Subd. 3. Metro Mobility		56,416,000	55,976,000
14.29	This appropriation is for Metro Mobility under			
14.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 473.386.			
14.31	Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY	7 - <u>-</u>		
14.32	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>254,460,000</u> §	236,926,000
14.33	Appropriations by Fund			
14.34	<u>2021</u> <u>2022</u>		<u>2023</u>	

	04/05/21 09:41 am HOUSE RESE.		EARCH ME	B/RK H1684DE2		
15.1	General	1,512,000	30,067,000	22,969,000		
15.2	H.U.T.D.	11,000	9,304,000	9,300,000		
15.3	Special Revenue	0	75,280,000	66,865,000		
15.4	Trunk Highway	1,166,000	139,809,000	137,792,000		
15.5	The appropriations in this	is section are	to the			
15.6	commissioner of public	safety.				
15.7	The amounts that may be	e spent for ea	ch			
15.8	purpose are specified in the following					
15.9	subdivisions.					
15.10	Subd. 2. Administration and Related Services					
15.11	(a) Office of Communic	cations		575,000	575,000	
15.12	Appropria	tions by Fund	d			
15.13		2022	2023			
15.14	General	130,000	130,000			
15.15	Trunk Highway	445,000	445,000			
15.16	(b) Public Safety Suppo	<u>ort</u>		5,809,000	5,846,000	
15.17	Appropria	tions by Fund	<u>1</u>			
15.18		<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>			
15.19	General	1,418,000	1,455,000			
15.20	Trunk Highway	4,391,000	4,391,000			
15.21	(c) Public Safety Office	er Benefits		640,000	640,000	
15.22	This appropriation is fro	m the general	l fund			
15.23	for payment of public sa	fety officer si	<u>urvivor</u>			
15.24	benefits under Minnesot	a Statutes, see	ction			
15.25	299A.44. If the appropri	ation for eith	er year			
15.26	is insufficient, the appro-	priation for th	ne other			
15.27	year is available for it.					
15.28	(d) Public Safety Office	er Reimburse	<u>ements</u>	1,367,000	1,367,000	
15.29	This appropriation is fro	m the general	l fund			
15.30	for transfer to the public s	safety officer's	s benefit			
15.31	account. This money is a	available for				
15.32	reimbursements under M	Innesota Stat	tutes,			
15.33	section 299A.465.					

	0 1/ 05/21 05:11 dill		TIO OSE TESE		11100.1512
16.1	(e) Soft Body Armor Re	imbursements	<u> </u>	745,000	745,000
16.2	<u>Appropriati</u>	ons by Fund			
16.3		2022	<u>2023</u>		
16.4	General	645,000	645,000		
16.5	Trunk Highway	100,000	100,000		
16.6	This appropriation is for s	soft body armo	<u>r</u>		
16.7	reimbursements under Mi	nnesota Statut	es,		
16.8	section 299A.38.				
16.9	(f) Technology and Supp	ort Services		6,299,000	6,299,000
16.10	Appropriati	ons by Fund			
16.11		<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>		
16.12	General	1,365,000	1,365,000		
16.13	H.U.T.D.	19,000	<u>19,000</u>		
16.14	Trunk Highway	4,915,000	4,915,000		
16.15	Subd. 3. State Patrol				
16.16	(a) Patrolling Highways			119,045,000	117,162,000
16.17	App	propriations by	Fund		
16.18		2021	2022	<u>2023</u>	
16.19	General	<u>0</u>	37,000	<u>37,000</u>	
16.20	H.U.T.D.	<u>0</u>	92,000	92,000	
16.21	Trunk Highway	1,166,000	118,916,000	117,033,000	
16.22	\$1,166,000 in fiscal year 2	2021 is appropr	riated		
16.23	from the trunk highway for	and to the			
16.24	commissioner of public sa	afety for patrol	ling		
16.25	highways. This amount is	in addition to	the		
16.26	appropriation under Laws	2019, First Sp	<u>ecial</u>		
16.27	Session chapter 3, article	1, section 4,			
16.28	subdivision 3, paragraph	(a).			
16.29	(b) Commercial Vehicle	Enforcement		10,548,000	10,414,000
16.30	(c) Capitol Security			20,795,000	16,852,000
16.31	This appropriation is from	the general fu	ınd.		
16.32	\$1,512,000 in fiscal year 2	2021 is appropr	riated		
16.33	from the general fund to t	he commission	ner of		

MB/RK

H1684DE2

17.1	public safety for capitol security. This amount		
17.2	is in addition to the appropriation under Laws		
17.3	2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article		
17.4	1, section 4, subdivision 3, paragraph (c).		
17.5	The commissioner must not (1) spend any		
17.6	money from the trunk highway fund for		
17.7	capitol security, or (2) permanently transfer		
17.8	any state trooper from the patrolling highways		
17.9	activity to capitol security.		
17.10	(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit	957,000	953,000
17.11	This appropriation is from the highway user		
17.12	tax distribution fund for the vehicle crimes		
17.13	unit to investigate:		
17.14	(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sales tax		
17.15	liabilities from individuals and businesses that		
17.16	currently do not pay all taxes owed; and		
17.17	(2) illegal or improper activity related to the		
17.18	sale, transfer, titling, and registration of motor		
17.19	vehicles.		
17.20	\$11,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated		
17.21	from the highway user tax distribution fund		
17.22	to the commissioner of public safety for the		
17.23	vehicle crimes unit.		
17.24	Subd. 4. Driver and Vehicle Services		
17.25	(a) Driver Services	42,414,000	38,140,000
17.26	This appropriation is from the driver services		
17.27	operating account in the special revenue fund		
17.28	under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,		
17.29	subdivision 2.		
17.30	\$750,000 in each year is for implementation		
17.31	of the requirements under article 4.		

MB/RK

H1684DE2

	0 1/ 05/21 09:11 um		110 0 0 2 1 1 2 2 1		11100.522		
18.1	The commissioner mus	st maintain drive	<u>r's</u>				
18.2	license examination sta	ations so that, at	<u>a</u>				
18.3	minimum, an exam sta	minimum, an exam station is located:					
18.4	(1) in each county or a	n adjacent count	y; and				
18.5	(2) no farther than 60 r	niles of travel av	vay				
18.6	from each city in the st	ate.					
18.7	The base is \$37,964,000	0 in each of fiscal	years				
18.8	2024 and 2025.						
18.9	(b) Vehicle Services			37,259,000	35,518,000		
				31,237,000	33,310,000		
18.10	Appropr	iations by Fund					
18.11		<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>				
18.12	Special Revenue	29,023,000	27,282,000				
18.13	H.U.T.D.	8,236,000	8,236,000				
18.14	The special revenue fun	d appropriation is	s from				
18.15	the vehicle services operating account under						
18.16	Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.705,						
18.17	subdivision 1.						
18.18	(c) Temporary Staffin	<u>ıg</u>		2,400,000	<u>-0-</u>		
18.19	This appropriation is fro	om the vehicle se	rvices				
18.20	operating account in th	e special revenue	e fund				
18.21	for staff and operating	costs to hire temp	orar <u>y</u>				
18.22	or contract employees	to process and is	sue				
18.23	drivers' licenses and M	innesota identifi	cation				
18.24	cards. This appropriati	on must not be s	pent				
18.25	for permanent state em	ployees.					
18.26	Subd. 5. Traffic Safety	<u>Y</u>		969,000	972,000		
18.27	Appropr	iations by Fund					
18.28		<u>2022</u>	<u>2023</u>				
18.29	General	475,000	478,000				
18.30	Trunk Highway	494,000	<u>494,000</u>				
18.31	The appropriation from	n the general fund	d each				
18.32	year is for maintenance	e of the crash rec	ord				
18.33	system.						

MB/RK

H1684DE2

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCE	1 MB/KK	H1684DE2	
19.1	Subd. 6. Pipeline Safety		1,443,000	1,443,000	
19.2	This appropriation is from the pipeline se	afet <u>y</u>			
19.3	account in the special revenue fund.				
19.4 19.5	Subd. 7. Hazardous Substances Transported Preparedness	<u>oortation</u>	3,195,000	<u>-0-</u>	
19.6	This appropriation is from the general fu	<u>ınd</u>			
19.7	for hazardous substances transportation				
19.8	incident response preparedness under				
19.9	Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.55,				
19.10	subdivisions 3 and 3a.				
19.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective July 1, 2	021, except that s	ubdivision 3	
19.12	is effective the day following final enact	ment.			
19.13	Sec. 5. TRANSFERS.				
19.14	Subdivision 1. Transfer to driver ser	rvices account. The	e commissioner of	public safety	
19.15	must transfer \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 from the vehicle services operating account in				
19.16	the special revenue fund to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund.				
19.17	Subd. 2. Transfer to electric vehicle	e infrastructure ac	count. The comm	nissioner of	
19.18	transportation must transfer \$2,195,000	in fiscal year 2022	from the general t	fund to the	
19.19	electric vehicle infrastructure account und	ler Minnesota Statu	tes, section 174.48	3, subdivision	
19.20	<u>1.</u>				
19.21	Subd. 3. Transfer to general fund.	The commissioner of	of public safety m	ust transfer	
19.22	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 from the	vehicle services op	erating account in	the special	
19.23	revenue fund to the general fund.				
19.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivision 1	is effective the day	following final e	nactment.	
19.25	Subdivisions 2 and 3 are effective July 1	, 2021.			
19.26	Sec. 6. ADMINISTRATIVE HOLDI	BACK CANCELL	ATIONS; FISCA	AL YEAR	
19.27	<u>2021.</u>				
19.28	(a) \$271,000 of the fiscal year 2021 g	general fund approp	oriation under Law	vs 2019, First	
19.29	Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section	ion 2, is canceled.			
19.30	(b) \$220,000 of the fiscal year 2021 g	general fund approp	oriation under Lav	vs 2019, First	
19.31	Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section	on 4, subdivision 2	, paragraph (b), is	s canceled.	

MB/RK

H1684DE2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. APPROPRIATIONS BUDGET.

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

(a) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, for fiscal years 2024 and 2025, the commissioner of transportation, and the commissioner of public safety with respect to the transportation portion of the public safety budget, must present budget narratives and proposed appropriations for each appropriation established in sections 2 and 4.

(b) In the budget submission to the legislature under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, for fiscal years 2024 and 2025, the Metropolitan Council must present budget narratives and the proposed appropriations for each appropriation established in section 3, and proposed appropriations, if any, for each of the following categories: metro mobility, contracted bus service, regular route bus service, light rail transit, commuter rail, transportation planning, and allocation to the regional administration.

Sec. 8. Laws 2019, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 4, subdivision 3, is

20.16 Subd. 3. State Patrol

amended to read:

20.17 (a) Patrolling Highways

95,252,000 96,083,000

20.18	Appro	priations by Fund			
20.19		2020	2021		
20.20	General	37,000	37,000		
20.21	H.U.T.D.	92,000	92,000		
20.22	Trunk Highway	95,123,000	95,954,000		
20.23	To account for base adjustments provided in				
20.24	Laws 2018, chapter 2	211, article 21, sect	tion 2,		
20.25	paragraph (a), the base from the trunk highway				
20.26	fund for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is				
20.27	\$96,784,000.				
20.28	Of the appropriation	from the trunk hig	hway		
20.29	fund in fiscal year 2021, up to \$1,718,000 is				
20.30	available until December 30, 2021, for costs				
20.31	associated with the 20	021 State Patrol Tr	rooper_		
20.32	Academy.				

	04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	I MB/RK	H1684DE2
21.1	(b) Commercial Vehicle Enforcement		8,948,000	8,993,000
21.2	To account for base adjustments provide	d in		
21.3	Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section	on 2,		
21.4	paragraph (a), the base from the trunk high	nway		
21.5	fund for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is			
21.6	\$9,038,000.			
21.7	(c) Capitol Security		9,164,000	9,207,000
21.8	This appropriation is from the general fu	ınd.		
21.9	To account for base adjustments provide	d in		
21.10	Laws 2018, chapter 211, article 21, section	on 2,		
21.11	paragraph (a), the base from the general	fund		
21.12	for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 is \$9,250	,000.		
21.13	The commissioner must not:			
21.14	(1) spend any money from the trunk high	nway		
21.15	fund for capitol security; or			
21.16	(2) permanently transfer any state trooper	from		
21.17	the patrolling highways activity to capito	ol		
21.18	security.			
21.19	The commissioner must not transfer any			
21.20	money appropriated to the commissioner u	ınder		
21.21	this section:			
21.22	(1) to capitol security; or			
21.23	(2) from capitol security.			
21.24	(d) Vehicle Crimes Unit		832,000	866,000
21.25	This appropriation is from the highway	ıser		
21.26	tax distribution fund to investigate:			
21.27	(1) registration tax and motor vehicle sale	es tax		
21.28	liabilities from individuals and businesses	s that		
21.29	currently do not pay all taxes owed; and			
21.30	(2) illegal or improper activity related to	the		
21.31	sale, transfer, titling, and registration of n	notor		
21.32	vehicles.			

MB/RK

H1684DE2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 22.1 ARTICLE 2 22.2 TRUNK HIGHWAY BONDS 22.3 22.4 Section 1. **BOND APPROPRIATIONS.** The sums shown in the column under "Appropriations" are appropriated from the bond 22.5 proceeds account in the trunk highway fund to the state agencies or officials indicated to 22.6 be spent for public purposes. Appropriations of bond proceeds must be spent as authorized 22.7 by the Minnesota Constitution, articles XI and XIV. Unless otherwise specified, money 22.8 appropriated in this article for a capital program or project may be used to pay state agency 22.9 staff costs that are attributed directly to the capital program or project in accordance with 22.10 accounting policies adopted by the commissioner of management and budget. 22.11 22.12 **SUMMARY** Department of Transportation \$ 400,000,000 22.13 22.14 Department of Management and Budget 400,000 22.15 **TOTAL** \$ 400,400,000 **APPROPRIATIONS** 22.16 Sec. 2. **DEPARTMENT OF** 22.17 **TRANSPORTATION** 22.18 **Subdivision 1. Corridors of Commerce** 175,000,000 22.19 \$ (a) This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to 22.20 22.21 the commissioner of transportation for the 22.22 corridors of commerce program under Minnesota Statutes, section 161.088. 22.23 22.24 (b) The commissioner may use up to 17 percent of the amount for program delivery. 22.25 Subd. 2. State Road Construction 225,000,000 22.26 (a) This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to 22.27 the commissioner of transportation for 22.28 22.29 construction, reconstruction, and improvement of trunk highways, including design-build 22.30 contracts and use of consultants to support 22.31 these activities. This includes the cost of actual 22.32 payment to landowners for lands acquired for 22.33

23.1	highway rights-of-way, payment to lessees,		
23.2	interest subsidies, and relocation expenses.		
23.3	(b) The commissioner may use up to 17		
23.4	percent of the amount for program delivery.		
23.5	Sec. 3. BOND SALE EXPENSES	<u>\$</u>	400,000
23.6	This appropriation is in fiscal year 2024 to the		
23.7	commissioner of management and budget for		
23.8	bond sale expenses under Minnesota Statutes,		
23.9	sections 16A.641, subdivision 8, and 167.50,		
23.10	subdivision 4.		
23.11	Sec. 4. BOND SALE AUTHORIZATION.		
23.12	To provide the money appropriated in this article from the bond pro-	oceeds acco	ount in the
23.13	trunk highway fund, the commissioner of management and budget shal	l sell and is	sue bonds
23.14	of the state in an amount up to \$400,400,000 in the manner, upon the	terms, and	with the
23.15	effect prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 167.50 to 167.52, ar	nd by the M	Iinnesota
23.16	Constitution, article XIV, section 11, at the times and in the amounts in	requested by	y the
23.17	commissioner of transportation. The proceeds of the bonds, except acc	rued interes	st and any
23.18	premium received from the sale of the bonds, must be deposited in the bo	ond proceed	ls account
23.19	in the trunk highway fund.		
23.20	ARTICLE 3		
23.21	TRANSPORTATION-RELATED TAXES		
23.22	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.055, subdivision 2	, is amende	ed to read:
23.23	Subd. 2. Receipts. The commissioner of management and budget	shall credit	to the
23.24	game and fish fund all money received under the game and fish laws	and all inco	ome from
23.25	state lands acquired by purchase or gift for game or fish purposes, incl	luding recei	ipts from:
23.26	(1) licenses and permits issued;		
23.27	(2) fines and forfeited bail;		
23.28	(3) sales of contraband, wild animals, and other property under the co	ontrol of the	e division,
23.29	except as provided in section 97A.225, subdivision 8, clause (2);		
23.30	(4) fees from advanced education courses for hunters and trappers	;	
23.31	(5) reimbursements of expenditures by the division;		

MB/RK

H1684DE2

HOUSE RESEARCH

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	I ID DIZ	H1684DE
		MB/RK	

24.1	(6)	contributions	to	the	division:	and

- 24.2 (7) revenue credited to the game and fish fund under section 297A.94, subdivision 2, paragraph (h), clause (1).
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **First year of life.** "First year of life" or "first year of vehicle life" means the year of model designation of the vehicle, or, if there be no year of model designation, it shall mean means the year of manufacture.
- 24.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Passenger automobile; hearse.** (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the registration tax is calculated as \$10 plus:
- 24.13 (1) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020, 1.25 24.14 percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination charge, 24.15 subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g); or
 - (2) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota on or after November 16, 2020, 1.285 percent a percentage of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle as follows, subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g):
- 24.19 (i) 1.285 percent; plus

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

- 24.20 (ii) 0.5 percent, for a vehicle with a manufacturer's suggested retail price that is at least
 24.21 200 percent of the average price for the vehicle's first year of vehicle life, as determined in
 24.22 paragraph (h).
- 24.23 (b) The registration tax calculation must not include the cost of each accessory or item
 24.24 of optional equipment separately added to the vehicle and the manufacturer's suggested
 24.25 retail price. The registration tax calculation must not include a destination charge, except
 24.26 for a vehicle previously registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020.
 - (c) In the case of the first registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer, the dealer may elect to individually determine the registration tax on the vehicle using manufacturer's suggested retail price information provided by the manufacturer. The registrar must use the manufacturer's suggested retail price determined by the dealer as provided in paragraph (d). A dealer that elects to make the determination must retain a copy of the

manufacturer's suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200.

- (d) The registrar must determine the manufacturer's suggested retail price:
- (1) using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry;
- (2) if the list price information is unavailable, using the amount determined by a licensed dealer under paragraph (c);
- 25.8 (3) if a dealer does not determine the amount, using the retail price label as provided by
 the manufacturer under United States Code, title 15, section 1232; or
- (4) if the retail price label is not available, using the actual sales price of the vehicle.
 If the registrar is unable to ascertain the manufacturer's suggested retail price of any registered

vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any other available source or method.

- (e) The registrar must calculate the registration tax using information available to dealers and deputy registrars at the time the initial application for registration is submitted.
- (f) The amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be calculated based on a percentage of the manufacturer's suggested retail price, as follows: during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the price; for the second year, 90 95 percent of the price; for the third year, 80 90 percent of the price; for the fourth year, 70 84 percent of the price; for the fifth year, 60 68 percent of the price; for the sixth year, 50 percent of the price; for the seventh year, 40 percent of the price; for the eighth year, 30 percent of the price; for the ninth year, 20 percent of the price; and for the tenth year, ten percent of the price.
- (g) For the 11th and each succeeding year, the amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be calculated as \$25.
- (h) After July 1 but before August 31 annually, the commissioner must determine average prices, calculated separately for each model year. Each average price must be calculated based on the manufacturer's suggested retail prices of new motor vehicles that are registered in the fiscal year prior to the first year of vehicle life, and are subject to the registration tax under this subdivision. Except as provided in subdivision 23, the commissioner must not adjust the average price following its determination under this paragraph. An average price first determined in a fiscal year is effective for a registration period starting on or after October 1 in that fiscal year.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

26.1	(i) Except as provided in subdivision 23, for any vehicle previously registered in
26.2	Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership, the total amount due under this subdivision
26.3	and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest total amount previously paid or due on
26.4	the vehicle.
26.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, and
26.6	applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after October 1, 2021.
26.7	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.013, subdivision 1m, is amended to read:
26.8	Subd. 1m. Electric vehicle. In addition to the tax under subdivision 1a, a surcharge of
26.9	\$75 is imposed for an all-electric vehicle, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 1a.
26.10	Notwithstanding subdivision 8, revenue from the fee imposed under this subdivision must
26.11	be deposited:
26.12	(1) the lesser of 50 percent or \$1,000,000, in the electric vehicle infrastructure account
26.13	under section 174.48; and
26.14	(2) the remainder in the highway user tax distribution fund.
26.15	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
26.16	Subd. 3. Rate of tax. (a) The gasoline excise tax is imposed at the following rates:
26.17	(1) E85 is taxed at the rate of 17.75 cents per gallon;
26.18	(2) M85 is taxed at the rate of 14.25 cents per gallon; and
26.19	(3) all other gasoline is taxed at the rate of 25 cents per gallon.
26.20	(b) On or before September 1 annually, the commissioner must determine the tax rate
26.21	applicable to the sale of E85, M85, and all other gasoline subject to tax under this section
26.22	for the upcoming 12-month period, beginning October 1, by adding to the current fiscal
26.23	year tax rate the percentage increase, if any, in the National Highway Construction Cost
26.24	Index for the previous calendar year. The tax rate must be rounded to the nearest tenth of
26.25	a cent. The tax rates for E85, M85, and all other gasoline must not be lower than the
26.26	respective rates specified in paragraph (a).
26.27	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, the National Highway Construction Cost Index is
26.28	as determined by the United States Department of Transportation.
26.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies for tax imposed
26.30	on or after October 1, 2021.

27.1	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
27.2	Subd. 2. Rate of tax. (a) The special fuel excise tax is imposed at the following rates:
27.3	(a) (1) liquefied petroleum gas or propane is taxed at the rate of 18.75 cents per gallon-
27.4	(b) (2) liquefied natural gas is taxed at the rate of 15 cents per gallon-;
27.5	(e) (3) compressed natural gas is taxed at the rate of \$1.974 per thousand cubic feet; or
27.6	25 cents per gasoline equivalent. For purposes of this paragraph, "gasoline equivalent," as
27.7	defined by the National Conference on Weights and Measures, is 5.66 pounds of natural
27.8	gas or 126.67 cubic feet.; and
27.9	(d) (4) all other special fuel is taxed at the same rate as the gasoline excise tax as specified
27.10	in section 296A.07, subdivision 2.
27.11	(b) On or before September 1 annually, the commissioner must determine the tax rate
27.12	applicable to the sale of special fuels subject to tax under this section for the upcoming
27.13	12-month period, beginning October 1, by adding to the current fiscal year tax rate the
27.14	percentage increase, if any, calculated under section 296A.07, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
27.15	The tax rate must be rounded to the nearest tenth of a cent. The tax rates for liquefied natural
27.16	gas or propane, liquefied natural gas, compressed natural gas, and all other special fuel must
27.17	not be lower than the respective rates specified in paragraph (a).
27.18	(c) The tax is payable in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.
27.19	(d) For purposes of this paragraph, "gasoline equivalent," as defined by the National
27.20	Conference on Weights and Measures, is 5.66 pounds of natural gas or 126.67 cubic feet.
27.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies for tax imposed
27.22	on or after October 1, 2021.
27.23	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
27.24	297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.
27.25	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, "motor vehicle repair and
27.26	replacement parts" includes: (1) all parts, tires, accessories, and equipment incorporated
27.27	into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance and repair;
27.28	and (2) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor vehicle as part of the motor
27.29	vehicle maintenance or repair.
27.30	(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section
27.31	297B.01, subdivision 11; and "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles,

if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.

- <u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>**Deposits.**</u> (a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state treasury and credit them to the general fund.
- (b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic account in the special revenue fund if:
- (1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and
- 28.10 (2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.
 - The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.
 - (c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3, paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:
 - (1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and
 - (2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.
- 28.22 (d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution fund.
 - (e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.
 - (f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).

- (g) Starting after July 1, 2017, The commissioner shall deposit an amount of the remittances monthly into the state treasury and credit them to the highway user tax distribution fund as a portion of an amount related to the estimated amount of taxes collected from the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and replacement parts in that month. For the remittances Between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2019, the monthly deposit amount is \$2,628,000. For remittances In each subsequent fiscal year, the monthly deposit amount is \$12,137,000, which must be credited:
- 29.13 (1) 74 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

- 29.14 (2) 13.5 percent to the small cities assistance account under section 162.145, subdivision 29.15 2;
- 29.16 (3) 7.5 percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund under section 162.081; and
- 29.18 (4) 5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account in the transit assistance fund under section 16A.88.
 - For purposes of this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01, subdivision 11, and "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires, accessories, and equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this paragraph, "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.
 - (h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state treasury as follows:
- 29.30 (1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in 29.31 the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect 29.32 fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land, 29.33 water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may be spent only for state parks and trails;

- (3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;
- (4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may be spent only on local trail grants; and
- (5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory, and the Duluth Zoo.
- (i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.
- (j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:
- 30.23 (1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section 88.068;
- 30.25 (2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 297I.06, subdivision 30.26 3; and
- 30.27 (3) the remainder to the general fund.
 - For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 1, article 3, section 39.

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

Subd. 3. Application. (k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) this section do not include the revenues, including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 15.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.99, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Authorization; scope.** (a) A political subdivision of this state may impose a general sales tax (1) under section 297A.992, (2) <u>under section 297A.9925, (3)</u> under section 297A.993, (3) (4) if permitted by special law, or (4) (5) if the political subdivision enacted and imposed the tax before January 1, 1982, and its predecessor provision.
- 31.10 (b) This section governs the imposition of a general sales tax by the political subdivision.
 31.11 The provisions of this section preempt the provisions of any special law:
- 31.12 (1) enacted before June 2, 1997, or

31.1

31.2

31.3

- 31.13 (2) enacted on or after June 2, 1997, that does not explicitly exempt the special law provision from this section's rules by reference.
- 31.15 (c) This section does not apply to or preempt a sales tax on motor vehicles. Beginning July 1, 2019, no political subdivision may impose a special excise tax on motor vehicles unless it is imposed under section 297A.993.
- (d) A political subdivision may not advertise or expend funds for the promotion of a referendum to support imposing a local sales tax and may only spend funds related to imposing a local sales tax to:
- 31.21 (1) conduct the referendum;
- (2) disseminate information included in the resolution adopted under subdivision 2, but only if the disseminated information includes a list of specific projects and the cost of each individual project;
- 31.25 (3) provide notice of, and conduct public forums at which proponents and opponents on 31.26 the merits of the referendum are given equal time to express their opinions on the merits of 31.27 the referendum;
- 31.28 (4) provide facts and data on the impact of the proposed local sales tax on consumer purchases; and
- 31.30 (5) provide facts and data related to the individual programs and projects to be funded 31.31 with the local sales tax.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 32.1 Sec. 9. [297A.9925] TRANSIT SALES AND USE TAX. 32.2 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 32.3 the meanings given. 32.4 (b) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in section 473.121, subdivision 2. 32.5 (c) "Metropolitan Council" or "council" means the Metropolitan Council established 32.6 under section 473.123. 32.7 32.8 (d) "Transit sales tax" means the sales and use tax imposed under this section. (e) "Transit taxing district" means the transit taxing district as determined under sections 32.9 32.10 473.446, subdivision 2, and 473.4461. Subd. 2. Sales and use tax imposition; rate. (a) Notwithstanding sections 297A.99, 32.11 subdivisions 2 and 3, and 477A.016, or any other law to the contrary, the Metropolitan 32.12 Council must impose a transit sales and use tax at a rate of one-half of one percent on retail 32.13 sales and uses taxable under this chapter occurring within the transit taxing district. 32.14 (b) The tax imposed under this section is not included in determining if the total tax on 32.15 lodging in the city of Minneapolis exceeds the maximum allowed tax under Laws 1986, 32.16 32.17 chapter 396, section 5, as amended by Laws 2001, First Special Session chapter 5, article 12, section 87, and Laws 2012, chapter 299, article 3, section 3, or in determining a tax that 32.18 may be imposed under any other limitations. 32.19 Subd. 3. Tax administration; collection; enforcement. Except as otherwise provided 32.20 in this section, the provisions of section 297A.99, subdivisions 4, and 6 to 12a, govern the 32.21 administration, collection, and enforcement of the tax imposed under this section. 32.22 Subd. 4. Use of funds. (a) The council may use the transit sales tax proceeds for transit 32.23 system operations, maintenance, development, and improvements, including but not limited 32.24 to expansion of arterial bus rapid transit. 32.25 (b) Transit operations and projects funded with transit sales tax proceeds must be 32.26 consistent with the long-range transportation policy plan under section 473.146 and the 32.27 32.28 transit capital improvement program under section 473.39. Subd. 5. Administrative requirements. (a) The council must establish policies that 32.29

32.30

govern allocation of a portion of transit sales tax revenue to replacement service providers.

(b) The council must maintain an overview of the transit sales tax on an Internet website,

33.2	including information that identifies annual transit sales tax revenue, details on uses of
33.3	funds, and the policies under paragraph (a).
33.4	Subd. 6. Revenue bonds. (a) Notwithstanding section 473.39, subdivision 7, or any
33.5	other law to the contrary, the council may, by resolution, authorize the sale and issuance of
33.6	revenue bonds, notes, or other obligations to provide funds (1) for the purposes specified
33.7	in subdivision 4, and (2) to refund bonds issued under this subdivision.
33.8	(b) The bonds are payable from and secured by a pledge of the revenues received under
33.9	this section, and associated investment earnings on debt proceeds. The council may, by
33.10	resolution, authorize the issuance of the bonds as general obligations of the council. The
33.11	bonds must be sold, issued, and secured in the manner provided in chapter 475, and the
33.12	council has the same powers and duties as a municipality and its governing body in issuing
33.13	bonds under chapter 475, except that no election is required and the net debt limitations in
33.14	chapter 475 do not apply to such bonds. The proceeds of the bonds may also be used to
33.15	fund necessary reserves and to pay credit enhancement fees, issuance costs, and other
33.16	financing costs during the life of the debt.
33.17	(c) The bonds may be secured by a bond resolution, or a trust indenture entered into by
33.18	the council with a corporate trustee within or outside the state, which must define the
33.19	revenues and bond proceeds pledged for the payment and security of the bonds. The pledge
33.20	must be a valid charge on the revenues received under section 297A.99, subdivision 11.
33.21	Neither the state, nor any municipality or political subdivision except the council, nor any
33.22	member or officer or employee of the council, is liable on the obligations. No mortgage or
33.23	security interest in any tangible real or personal property is granted to the bondholders or
33.24	the trustee, but they shall have a valid security interest in the revenues and bond proceeds
33.25	received by the council and pledged to the payment of the bonds. In the bond resolution or
33.26	trust indenture, the council may make such covenants as it determines to be reasonable for
33.27	the protection of the bondholders.
33.28	EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
33.29	final enactment for sales and purchases made on or after January 1, 2022, and applies in
33.30	the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.
33.31	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
33.32	Subdivision 1. Rate. There is imposed an excise tax of $6.5 \underline{6.875}$ percent on the purchase
33.33	price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of
33.34	Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.

The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or 34.1 acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor 34.2 vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota. 34.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for sales and purchases on or after January 34.4 34.5 1, 2022. Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 34.6 to read: 34.7 Subd. 1a. Luxury vehicle surcharge. (a) A luxury vehicle surcharge is imposed at a 34.8 rate of four percent on the luxury increment of any motor vehicle that is subject to (1) the 34.9 tax imposed under subdivision 1, and (2) registration under chapter 168 as a passenger 34.10 automobile, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 24; a noncommercial vehicle, as 34.11 defined in section 168.002, subdivision 21a; or a recreational vehicle, as defined in section 34.12 168.002, subdivision 27. The surcharge is in addition to the tax imposed under subdivision 34.13 1. 34.14 (b) The "luxury increment" is the greater of zero or the amount calculated as follows: 34.15 (1) the purchase price of the motor vehicle; minus 34.16 34.17 (2) 200 percent of the average purchase price for the applicable vehicle classification, as determined in paragraph (c). 34.18 (c) After July 1 but before August 31 annually, the commissioner must revise average 34.19 purchase prices, calculated separately for the vehicle classifications of passenger automobile, 34.20 noncommercial vehicle, and recreational vehicle. Each average purchase price must be 34.21 calculated for the new motor vehicles that are purchased or acquired in the prior fiscal year, 34.22 and are subject to registration under chapter 168 in the applicable vehicle classification. 34.23 Each revised average purchase price is effective for sales and purchases made on or after 34.24 October 1 in that year. 34.25 (d) For purposes of this chapter, a reference to the tax under subdivision 1 is inclusive 34.26 of the luxury vehicle surcharge. 34.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, for sales and purchases on 34.28 34.29 or after October 1, 2021.

35.1	Sec. 12. GENERAL SALES TAX REALLOCATION PHASE-IN.
35.2	Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, subdivision 2, paragraph (g), the
35.3	monthly deposit under that paragraph is as follows:
35.4	(1) from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022:
35.5	(i) 91 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;
35.6	(ii) 6.5 percent to the small cities assistance account under Minnesota Statutes, section
35.7	<u>162.145</u> , subdivision 2;
35.8	(iii) 2 percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund under
35.9	Minnesota Statutes, section 162.081; and
35.10	(iv) 0.5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account in the transit assistance fund
35.11	under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.88; and
35.12	(2) from July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023:
35.13	(i) 80.5 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;
35.14	(ii) 13.5 percent to the small cities assistance account;
35.15	(iii) 5.5 percent to the town road account; and
35.16	(iv) 0.5 percent to the greater Minnesota transit account.
35.17	ARTICLE 4
35.18	DRIVER'S LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS
35.19	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.6905, is amended by adding a subdivision
35.20	to read:
35.21	Subd. 36. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. Data on certain
35.22	noncompliant drivers' licenses or identification cards are governed by section 171.12,
35.23	subdivision 11.
35.24	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
35.25	Subd. 5. Temporary lawful admission. The commissioner is prohibited from issuing
35.26	a driver's license or Minnesota identification card to an applicant whose having a lawful
35.27	temporary admission period, as demonstrated under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph
35.28	(b), clause (2), that expires within 30 days of the date of the application.

36.1	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
36.2	Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:
36.3	(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
36.4	applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;
36.5	(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
36.6	any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
36.7	applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;
36.8	(3) state:
36.9	(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or
36.10	(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
36.11	Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
36.12	that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;
36.13	(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
36.14	directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and
36.15	(5) include a method for the applicant to:
36.16	(i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
36.17	and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;
36.18	(ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph (d);
36.19	(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
36.20	subdivision 3c; and
36.21	(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.
36.22	(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
36.23	(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and
36.24	(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
36.25	the REAL ID Act:
36.26	(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
36.27	unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;
36.28	(ii) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
36.29	(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

37.1	(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
37.2	be accompanied by:
37.3	(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
37.4	citizenship; and
37.5	(2) a photographic identity document.
37.6	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
37.7	read:
37.8	Subd. 7. Noncompliant license or identification card; lawful status. (a) A person is
37.9	not required to demonstrate United States citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
37.10	in order to obtain a noncompliant driver's license or identification card.
37.11	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0410, or any successor rule, does not apply for a
37.12	noncompliant driver's license or identification card.
37.13	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
37.14	read:
37.15	Subd. 8. Noncompliant license or identification card; general requirements. (a) A
37.16	document submitted under this subdivision or subdivision 9 or 10 must include the applicant's
37.17	name and must be:
37.18	(1) issued to or provided for the applicant;
37.19	(2) legible and unaltered;
37.20	(3) an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency; and
37.21	(4) accompanied by a certified translation or an affidavit of translation into English, if
37.22	the document is not in English.
37.23	(b) If the applicant's current legal name is different from the name on a document
37.24	submitted under subdivision 9 or 10, the applicant must submit:
37.25	(1) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;
37.26	(2) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;
37.27	(3) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
37.28	applicant's name change, issued by a court; or
37.29	(4) similar documentation of a lawful change of name, as determined by the
37.30	commissioner.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

38.1	(c) The commissioner must establish a process to grant a waiver from the requirements
38.2	under this subdivision and subdivisions 9 and 10.
38.3	(d) The same document must not be submitted as both a primary document under
38.4	subdivision 9 and a secondary document under subdivision 10.
20.5	See 6 Minnesete Statutes 2020 seetien 171 06 is amended by adding a subdivision to
38.5 38.6	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
38.7	Subd. 9. Noncompliant license or identification card; primary documents. (a) For
38.8	a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, primary documents under Minnesota
38.9	Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 2, or successor rules, include the following:
38.10	(1) a noncompliant driver's license or identification card that is current or has been
38.11	expired for five years or less;
38.12	(2) an unexpired foreign passport or a foreign consular identification document that
38.13	bears a photograph of the applicant; and
38.14	(3) a certified birth certificate issued by a foreign jurisdiction.
38.15	(b) A document submitted under this subdivision must contain security features that
38.16	make the document as impervious to alteration as is reasonably practicable in its design and
38.17	quality of material and technology.
38.18	(c) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 10, "foreign" means a jurisdiction
38.19	that is not, and is not within, the United States, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana
38.20	Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the United States Virgin Islands, or a
38.21	territory of the United States.
38.22	(d) Submission of more than one primary document is not required under this subdivision.
38.23	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
38.24	read:
38.25	Subd. 10. Noncompliant license or identification card; secondary documents. (a)
38.26	For a noncompliant driver's license or identification card, secondary documents under
38.27	Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0400, subpart 3, or successor rules, include the following:
38.28	(1) a second document listed under subdivision 9, paragraph (a);
38.29	(2) a notice of action on or proof of submission of a completed Application for Asylum
38.30	and for Withholding of Removal issued by the United States Department of Homeland
38.31	Security, Form I-589;

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
0 1/05/21 05.11 dill	HOUSE RESEARCH	IVID/ ICIX	1110010

39.1	(3) a Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status issued by the United
39.2	States Department of Homeland Security, Form I-20;
39.3	(4) a Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor Status issued by the United States
39.4	Department of State, Form DS-2019;
39.5	(5) a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival approval notice issued by the United States
39.6	Department of Homeland Security;
39.7	(6) an employment authorization document issued by the United States Department of
39.8	Homeland Security, Form I-688, Form I-688A, Form I-688B, or Form I-766;
39.9	(7) a document issued by the Social Security Administration with an individual taxpayer
39.10	identification number;
39.11	(8) mortgage documents for the applicant's residence;
39.12	(9) a filed property deed or title for the applicant's residence;
39.13	(10) a United States high school student identification card with a certified transcript
39.14	from the school;
39.15	(11) a Minnesota college or university identification card with a certified transcript from
39.16	the college or university;
39.17	(12) a Social Security card;
39.18	(13) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 90
39.19	days before the application;
39.20	(14) a valid identification card for health benefits or an assistance or social services
39.21	program;
39.22	(15) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title issued no more than 12 months before the
39.23	application;
39.24	(16) an unexpired Selective Service card;
39.25	(17) military orders that are still in effect at the time of application;
39.26	(18) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;
39.27	(19) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;
39.28	(20) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the
39.29	applicant's name change, issued by a court;
39.30	(21) any of the following documents issued by a foreign jurisdiction:

40.1	(i) a driver's license that is current or has been expired for five years or less;
40.2	(ii) a high school, college, or university student identification card with a certified
40.3	transcript from the school;
40.4	(iii) an official high school, college, or university transcript that includes the applicant's
40.5	date of birth and a photograph of the applicant at the age the record was issued; and
40.6	(iv) a federal electoral photographic card issued on or after January 1, 1991; and
40.7	(22) additional documents as determined by the commissioner.
40.8	(b) Submission of more than one secondary document is not required under this
40.9	subdivision.
40.10	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
40.11	Subdivision 1. License; contents and design. (a) Upon the payment of the required fee,
40.12	the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a license designating the type or
40.13	class of vehicles the applicant is authorized to drive as applied for. This license must bear:
40.14	(1) a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee; (2) the licensee's full name and date
40.15	of birth; (3) either (i) the licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under
40.16	section 5B.05; (4) a description of the licensee in a manner as the commissioner deems
40.17	necessary; (5) the usual signature of the licensee; and (6) designations and markings as
40.18	provided in this section. No license is valid unless it bears the usual signature of the licensee.
40.19	Every license must bear a colored photograph or an electronically produced image of the
40.20	licensee.
40.21	(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence
40.22	address as listed on the license, then the applicant shall provide verification from the United
40.23	States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the applicant's residence address and
40.24	that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing address. When an applicant
40.25	provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision, the commissioner shall use
40.26	the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence address for all notices and
40.27	mailings to the applicant.
40.28	(c) Every license issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a distinguishing
40.29	color and plainly marked "Under-21."
40.30	(d) A license issued to an applicant age 65 or over must be plainly marked "senior" if
40.31	requested by the applicant.

(e) Except for a noncompliant license, a license must bear a distinguishing indicator for 41.1 compliance with requirements of the REAL ID Act. 41.2 41.3 (f) A noncompliant license must: (1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable 41.4 41.5 portion; and (2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act. 41.6 41.7 (g) A license must be marked "not for federal purposes or voting" on the front side in a manner commensurate with other text, if it is issued under any of the following 41.8 circumstances: 41.9 (1) the application is for first-time issuance of a license in Minnesota, and the applicant 41.10 has not demonstrated United States citizenship; 41.11 (2) the applicant's most recently issued license or Minnesota identification card is marked 41.12 as required under this paragraph or subdivision 3, paragraph (g), and the applicant has not 41.13 demonstrated United States citizenship; or 41.14 (3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission 41.15 period. 41.16 (h) A REAL ID compliant license issued to a person with temporary lawful status or 41.17 admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the machine-readable 41.18 portion. 41.19 (h) (i) A license must display the licensee's full name or no fewer than 39 characters of 41.20 the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last character of the middle name 41.21 and proceed through the second letter of the middle name, followed by the last character of 41.22 the first name and proceeding through the second letter of the first name. 41.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 41.24 Subd. 3. Identification card; content and design; fee. (a) Upon payment of the required 41.25 fee, the department shall issue to every qualifying applicant a Minnesota identification card. 41.26 The department may not issue a Minnesota identification card to an individual who has a 41.27 driver's license, other than a limited license. The department may not issue an enhanced 41.28 identification card to an individual who is under 16 years of age, not a resident of this state, 41.29 or not a citizen of the United States of America. The card must bear: (1) a distinguishing 41.30 number assigned to the applicant; (2) a colored photograph or an electronically produced 41.31

41.32

image of the applicant; (3) the applicant's full name and date of birth; (4) either (i) the

licensee's residence address, or (ii) the designated address under section 5B.05; (5) a
description of the applicant in the manner as the commissioner deems necessary; (6) the
usual signature of the applicant; and (7) designations and markings provided under this
section.
(b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence

- (b) If the United States Postal Service will not deliver mail to the applicant's residence address as listed on the Minnesota identification card, then the applicant shall provide verification from the United States Postal Service that mail will not be delivered to the applicant's residence address and that mail will be delivered to a specified alternate mailing address. When an applicant provides an alternate mailing address under this subdivision, the commissioner shall use the alternate mailing address in lieu of the applicant's residence address for all notices and mailings to the applicant.
- 42.12 (c) Each identification card issued to an applicant under the age of 21 must be of a
 42.13 distinguishing color and plainly marked "Under-21."
- 42.14 (d) Each Minnesota identification card must be plainly marked "Minnesota identification card not a driver's license."
- 42.16 (e) Except for a noncompliant identification card, a Minnesota identification card must 42.17 bear a distinguishing indicator for compliance with requirements of the REAL ID Act.
- 42.18 (f) A noncompliant identification card must:

42.1

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

- 42.19 (1) be marked "not for federal identification" on the face and in the machine-readable portion; and
- 42.21 (2) have a unique design or color indicator for purposes of the REAL ID Act.
- 42.22 (g) A Minnesota identification card must be marked "not for federal purposes or voting"

 42.23 on the front side in a manner commensurate with other text, if it is issued under any of the

 42.24 following circumstances:
- 42.25 (1) the application is for first-time issuance of a Minnesota identification card, and the applicant has not demonstrated United States citizenship;
- 42.27 (2) the applicant's most recently issued noncompliant license or identification card is

 42.28 marked as required under this paragraph or subdivision 1, paragraph (g), and the applicant

 42.29 has not demonstrated United States citizenship; or
- 42.30 (3) the applicant submits a document that identifies a temporary lawful status or admission
 42.31 period.

(h) A Minnesota REAL ID compliant identification card issued to a person with temporary 43.1 lawful status or admission period must be marked "temporary" on the face and in the 43.2 machine-readable portion. 43.3 (h) (i) A Minnesota identification card must display the cardholder's full name or no 43.4 fewer than 39 characters of the name. Any necessary truncation must begin with the last 43.5 character of the middle name and proceed through the second letter of the middle name, 43.6 followed by the last character of the first name and proceeding through the second letter of 43.7 the first name. 43.8 (i) The fee for a Minnesota identification card is 50 cents when issued to a person 43.9 who is developmentally disabled, as defined in section 252A.02, subdivision 2; a physically 43.10 disabled person, as defined in section 169.345, subdivision 2; or, a person with mental 43.11 illness, as described in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c). 43.12 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 7a, is amended to read: 43.13 Subd. 7a. **Disclosure of personal information.** (a) The commissioner shall disclose 43.14 personal information where the use is related to the operation of a motor vehicle or to public 43.15 43.16 safety. The use of personal information is related to public safety if it concerns the physical safety or security of drivers, vehicles, pedestrians, or property. The commissioner may 43.17 refuse to disclose data under this subdivision when the commissioner concludes that the 43.18 requester is likely to use the data for illegal, improper, or noninvestigative purposes. Nothing 43.19 in this paragraph authorizes disclosure of data restricted under subdivision 11. 43.20 (b) The commissioner shall disclose personal information to the secretary of state for 43.21 the purpose of increasing voter registration and improving the accuracy of voter registration 43.22 records in the statewide voter registration system. The secretary of state may not retain data 43.23 provided by the commissioner under this subdivision for more than 60 days. 43.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 43.25 Subd. 9. Driving record disclosure to law enforcement. Except as restricted under 43.26 subdivision 11, the commissioner shall also furnish driving records, without charge, to 43.27 chiefs of police, county sheriffs, prosecuting attorneys, and other law enforcement agencies 43.28 with the power to arrest. 43.29

44.1	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to
44.2	read:
44.3	Subd. 11. Certain data on noncompliant license or identification card; department
44.4	and agents. (a) The commissioner must not share or disseminate outside of the division of
44.5	the department administering driver licensing any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
44.6	having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
44.7	noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
44.8	citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.
44.9	(b) A driver's license agent must not share or disseminate, other than to the division of
44.10	the department administering driver licensing, any data on individuals indicating or otherwise
44.11	having the effect of identifying that the individual applied for, was denied, or was issued a
44.12	noncompliant driver's license or identification card without demonstrating United States
44.13	citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.
44.14	(c) Data under paragraphs (a) and (b) include but are not limited to information related
44.15	to documents submitted under section 171.06, subdivision 8, 9, or 10.
44.16	(d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, this subdivision prohibits the commissioner
44.17	and a driver's license agent from sharing or disseminating the data described in paragraphs
44.18	(a) to (c) with any entity otherwise authorized to obtain data under subdivision 7; any
44.19	political subdivision; any state agency as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 17; or any
44.20	federal entity.
44.21	Sec. 13. <u>REPEALER.</u>
44.22	Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.015, subdivision 7, is repealed.
44.23	Sec. 14. EFFECTIVE DATE.
44.24	Unless provided otherwise, this article is effective October 1, 2021, for driver's license
44.25	and Minnesota identification card applications and issuance on or after that date.
44.26	ARTICLE 5
44.27	ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION
44.28	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.787, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
44.29	Subd. 7. Off-highway motorcycle. (a) "Off-highway motorcycle" means a motorized,
44.30	off-highway vehicle traveling on two wheels and having a seat or saddle designed to be
44.31	straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control, including a vehicle that is

registered under chapter 168 for highway use if it is also used for off-highway operation on trails or unimproved terrain.

- (b) Off-highway motorcycle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.797, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Off-road vehicle.** (a) "Off-road vehicle" or "vehicle" means a motor-driven recreational vehicle capable of cross-country travel on natural terrain without benefit of a road or trail.
 - (b) Off-road vehicle does not include a snowmobile; an all-terrain vehicle; a motorcycle; an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27; a watercraft; a farm vehicle being used for farming; a vehicle used for military, fire, emergency, or law enforcement purposes; a construction or logging vehicle used in the performance of its common function; a motor vehicle owned by or operated under contract with a utility, whether publicly or privately owned, when used for work on utilities; a commercial vehicle being used for its intended purpose; snow-grooming equipment when used for its intended purpose; or an aircraft.
- 45.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.92, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **All-terrain vehicle or vehicle.** (a) "All-terrain vehicle" or "vehicle" means a motorized vehicle with: (1) not less than three, but not more than six low pressure or non-pneumatic tires; (2) a total dry weight of 2,000 pounds or less; and (3) a total width from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim that is 65 inches or less. All-terrain vehicle includes a class 1 all-terrain vehicle and class 2 all-terrain vehicle.
- (b) All-terrain vehicle does not include a an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section

 45.24 169.011, subdivision 27, golf cart, mini-truck, dune buggy, or go-cart or a vehicle designed

 45.25 and used specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, or mining purposes.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.02, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Bikeway.** "Bikeway" means a bicycle lane, bicycle path, shared use path,
 bicycle route, or similar bicycle facility, regardless of whether designed for the exclusive
 use of bicycles or for shared use with other transportation modes has the meaning given in
 section 169.011, subdivision 9.

45.1

45.2

45.3

45.4

45.9

45.10

45.11

45.12

45.13

45.14

45.15

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.262, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 46.1 Subd. 3. Cooperation among agencies and governments. (a) The departments and 46.2 agencies on the active transportation advisory committee identified in section 174.375 must 46.3 provide information and advice for the bikeway design guidelines maintained by the 46.4 46.5 commissioner. (b) The commissioner must provide technical assistance to local units of government 46.6 46.7in: (1) local planning and development of bikeways; 46.8 (2) establishing connections to state bicycle routes; and 46.9 (3) implementing statewide bicycle plans maintained by the commissioner. 46.10 (c) The commissioner may cooperate with and enter into agreements with the United 46.11 States government, any department of the state of Minnesota, any unit of local government, 46.12 any tribal government, or any public or private corporation in order to effect the purposes 46.13 of this section. 46.14 46.15 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, subdivision 1b, is amended to read: Subd. 1b. State bicycle routes. The commissioner of transportation must identify state 46.16 46.17 bicycle routes primarily on existing road right-of-way and trails. State bicycle routes must be identified in cooperation with road and trail authorities, including the commissioner of 46.18 natural resources, and with the advice of the active transportation advisory committee under 46.19 section 174.375. In a metropolitan area, state bicycle routes must be identified in coordination 46.20 with the plans and priorities established by metropolitan planning organizations, as defined 46.21 in United States Code, title 23, section 134. 46.22 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 46.23 Subd. 6. Mississippi River Trail. The Mississippi River Trail bikeway is designated as 46.24 a state bicycle route. It must originate at Itasca State Park in Clearwater, Beltrami, and 46.25 Hubbard Counties, then generally parallel the Mississippi River through the cities of Bemidji 46.26 in Beltrami County, Grand Rapids in Itasca County, Brainerd in Crow Wing County, Little 46.27 Falls in Morrison County, Sauk Rapids in Benton County, St. Cloud in Stearns County, 46.28 Minneapolis in Hennepin County, St. Paul in Ramsey County, Hastings in Dakota County, 46.29 Red Wing in Goodhue County, Wabasha in Wabasha County, Winona in Winona County, 46.30 and La Crescent in Houston County to Minnesota's boundary with Iowa and there terminate. 46.31

Where opportunities exist, the bikeway may be designated on both sides of the Mississippi River.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 160.266, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 7. Jim Oberstar Bikeway. The Jim Oberstar Bikeway is designated as a state
 bicycle route. It must originate in the city of St. Paul in Ramsey County, then proceed north
 and east to Duluth in St. Louis County, then proceed north and east along the shore of Lake
 Superior through Grand Marais in Cook County to Minnesota's boundary with Canada, and
 there terminate.
- 47.10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 18. **Motor vehicle.** (a) "Motor vehicle" means any self-propelled vehicle designed and originally manufactured to operate primarily on highways, and not operated exclusively upon railroad tracks. It includes any vehicle propelled or drawn by a self-propelled vehicle and includes vehicles known as trackless trolleys that are propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires but not operated upon rails. It does not include snowmobiles, manufactured homes, or park trailers.
 - (b) "Motor vehicle" includes an all-terrain vehicle only if the all-terrain vehicle (1) has at least four wheels, (2) is owned and operated by a physically disabled person, and (3) displays both disability plates and a physically disabled certificate issued under section 169.345.
 - (c) "Motor vehicle" does not include an all-terrain vehicle except (1) an all-terrain vehicle described in paragraph (b), or (2) an all-terrain vehicle licensed as a motor vehicle before August 1, 1985. The owner may continue to license an all-terrain vehicle described in clause (2) as a motor vehicle until it is conveyed or otherwise transferred to another owner, is destroyed, or fails to comply with the registration and licensing requirements of this chapter.
- 47.26 (d) "Motor vehicle" does not include a snowmobile; a manufactured home; a park trailer; 47.27 an electric personal assistive mobility device as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 26-;
- (e) "Motor vehicle" does not include a motorized foot scooter as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 46; or an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 27.
- 47.31 (f) (e) "Motor vehicle" includes an off-highway motorcycle modified to meet the requirements of chapter 169 according to section 84.788, subdivision 12.

47.11

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.15

47.16

47.17

47.18

47.19

47.20

47.21

47.22

47.23

47.24

48.1	Sec. 10. [168.1285] PEDAL MINNESOTA PLATES.
48.2	Subdivision 1. Issuance. The commissioner must issue Pedal Minnesota special plates
48.3	or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:
48.4	(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
48.5	truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;
48.6	(2) pays an additional fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5,
48.7	for each set of plates;
48.8	(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013, along with any other fees
48.9	required by this chapter;
48.10	(4) contributes a minimum of \$20 annually to the active transportation account; and
48.11	(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
48.12	licensing of drivers.
48.13	Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with interested groups, the commissioner must adopt
48.14	a suitable plate design that includes the inscription "Pedal Minnesota."
48.15	Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
48.16	fee of \$5, special plates under this section may be transferred to another qualified motor
48.17	vehicle that is registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally
48.18	issued.
48.19	Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
48.20	<u>168.1293</u> , subdivision 2.
48.21	Subd. 5. Contribution; appropriation. (a) The application for a special plate under
48.22	this section must indicate that the contribution specified under subdivision 1, clause (4), is
48.23	a minimum annual contribution to receive the plates and that the applicant may make
48.24	additional contributions.
48.25	(b) Funds from the contribution under subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in
48.26	the active transportation account in section 174.38, subdivision 3.
48.27	(c) The amount necessary for costs of administering the special plate is annually
48.28	appropriated from the active transportation account to the commissioner.
48.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Pedal Minnesota

48.30

special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Bicycle lane.** "Bicycle lane" means a portion of a roadway or shoulder designed for exclusive or preferential use by persons using bicycles. Bicycle lanes are to be distinguished from the portion of the roadway or shoulder used for motor vehicle traffic by

49.5 physical barrier, striping, marking, or other similar device.

49.2

49.3

- 49.6 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Bikeway.** "Bikeway" means a bicycle lane, bicycle path, or bicycle route, <u>shared</u>
 use path, or similar bicycle facility, regardless of whether it is designed for the exclusive
- 49.9 use of bicycles or is to be for shared use with other transportation modes.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 15a. Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 1 electric-assisted bicycle" means
 an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
 when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
 speed of 20 miles per hour.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 15b. Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 2 electric-assisted bicycle" means
 an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that is capable of propelling the
 bicycle without the rider pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches
 the speed of 20 miles per hour.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 15c. Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle. "Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle" means
 an electric-assisted bicycle equipped with an electric motor that provides assistance only
 when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches the
 speed of 28 miles per hour.
- 49.28 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
- Subd. 27. **Electric-assisted bicycle.** "Electric-assisted bicycle" means a bicycle with two or three wheels that:

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
07/03/21 07.71 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	1/11/1/1/1/	IIIUUTDL2

50.1	(1) has a saddle and fully operable pedals for human propulsion;
50.2	(2) meets the requirements:
50.3	(i) of federal motor vehicle safety standards for a motor-driven cycle in Code of Federal
50.4	Regulations, title 49, sections 571.1 et seq.; or
50.5	(ii) for bicycles under Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, part 1512, or successor
50.6	requirements; and
50.7	(3) has is equipped with an electric motor that (i) has a power output of not more than
50.8	1,000 750 watts, (ii) is incapable of propelling the vehicle at a speed of more than 20 miles
50.9	per hour, (iii) is incapable of further increasing the speed of the device when human power
50.10	alone is used to propel the vehicle at a speed of more than 20 miles per hour, and (iv)
50.11	disengages or ceases to function when the vehicle's brakes are applied; and
50.12	(4) meets the requirements of a class 1, class 2, or class 3 electric-assisted bicycle.
50.13	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, subdivision 42, is amended to read:
50.14	Subd. 42. Motor vehicle. (a) "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled
50.15	and every vehicle which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires.
50.16	(b) Motor vehicle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle; an electric personal
50.17	assistive mobility device; or a vehicle moved solely by human power.
50.18	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.011, is amended by adding a subdivision
50.19	to read:
50.20	Subd. 46b. Narrow-width lane. "Narrow-width lane" means a traffic lane that is too
50.21	narrow to allow persons operating a bicycle and persons operating a motor vehicle within
50.22	the same lane to operate side-by-side in compliance with the minimum safe passing clearance
50.23	set forth in section 169.18.
50.24	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.18, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
50.25	Subd. 3. Passing. The following rules shall govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles
50.26	proceeding in the same direction, subject to the limitations, exceptions, and special rules
50.27	hereinafter stated:
50.28	(1) (a) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
50.29	shall must pass to the left thereof of the other vehicle at a safe distance and shall not again

drive is prohibited from returning to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the 51.1 overtaken vehicle; 51.2 (2) (b) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an 51.3 overtaken vehicle shall must give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle on 51.4 audible warning, and shall must not increase the speed of the overtaken vehicle until 51.5 completely passed by the overtaking vehicle; and. 51.6 (3) (c) The operator of a motor vehicle overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in 51.7 the same direction on the roadway shall leave or shoulder must: 51.8 (1) either: 51.9 (i) maintain a safe clearance distance while passing, but in no case less than which must 51.10 be at least the greater of three feet elearance, when passing the bicycle or individual or 51.11 one-half the width of the motor vehicle; or 51.12 (ii) completely enter another lane of the roadway while passing; and shall 51.13 (2) maintain clearance until the motor vehicle has safely past passed the overtaken bicycle 51.14 or individual. 51.15 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 51.16 51.17 Subdivision 1. **Traffic laws apply.** (a) Every person operating a bicycle shall have has all of the rights and duties applicable to the driver of any other vehicle by this chapter, 51.18 except in respect to those provisions in this chapter relating expressly to bicycles and in 51.19 respect to those provisions of this chapter which by their nature cannot reasonably be applied 51.20 to bicycles. This subdivision applies to a bicycle operating on the shoulder of a roadway. 51.21 (b) A person lawfully operating a bicycle (1) on a sidewalk, or (2) across a roadway or 51.22 shoulder while using a crosswalk, has all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian 51.23 51.24 under the same circumstances. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 51.25 Subd. 4. Riding rules. (a) Every person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall on a 51.26 road must ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway except 51.27 under any of the following situations road as the bicycle operator determines is safe. A 51.28 person operating a bicycle is not required to ride as close to the right-hand curb or edge 51.29 51.30 when: (1) when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction; 51.31

(2) when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

- (3) when reasonably necessary to avoid conditions that make it unsafe to continue along the right-hand curb or edge, including fixed or moving objects, vehicles, pedestrians, animals, surface hazards, or narrow width narrow-width lanes, that make it unsafe to continue along the right-hand curb or edge; or;
 - (4) when operating on the shoulder of a roadway or in a bicycle lane.; or
- (5) operating in a right-hand turn lane before entering an intersection.
- 52.8 (b) If a bicycle is traveling on a shoulder of a roadway, the bicycle shall operator must 52.9 travel in the same direction as adjacent vehicular traffic.
 - (c) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway or shoulder shall must not ride more than two abreast and shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a laned roadway, shall ride within a single lane.
 - (d) A person operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder on a crosswalk, shall must yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shall give an audible signal when necessary before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. No A person shall must not ride a bicycle upon a sidewalk within a business district unless permitted by local authorities. Local authorities may prohibit the operation of bicycles on any sidewalk or crosswalk under their jurisdiction.
 - (e) An individual operating a bicycle or other vehicle on a bikeway shall must (1) give an audible signal a safe distance prior to overtaking a bicycle or individual, (2) leave a safe clearance distance when overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction on the bikeway, and shall (3) maintain clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or individual.
 - (f) A person lawfully operating a bicycle on a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder on a crosswalk, shall have all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian under the same circumstances. Notwithstanding section 169.06, subdivision 4, a bicycle operator may cross an intersection proceeding from the leftmost one-third of a dedicated right-hand turn lane without turning right.
- (g) A person may operate an electric-assisted bicycle on the shoulder of a roadway, on a bikeway, or on a bicycle trail if not otherwise prohibited under section 85.015, subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), as applicable.

52.1

52.2

52.3

52.4

52.5

52.6

52.7

52.10

52.11

52.12

52.13

52.14

52.15

52.16

52.17

52.18

52.19

52.20

52.21

52.22

52.23

52.24

52.25

52.26

52.27

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, subdivision 6a, is amended to read: 53.1 Subd. 6a. Operator age Electric-assisted bicycle; riding rules. (a) A person may 53.2 operate an electric-assisted bicycle in the same manner as provided for operation of other 53.3 bicycles, including but not limited to operation on the shoulder of a roadway, a bicycle lane, 53.4 53.5 and a bicycle route, and operation without the motor engaged on a bikeway or bicycle trail. (b) A person may operate a class 1 or class 2 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor 53.6 engaged on a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless prohibited under section 53.7 85.015, subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2, 53.8 paragraph (b), as applicable. 53.9 (c) A person may operate a class 3 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor engaged on 53.10 a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless the local authority or state agency 53.11 having jurisdiction over the bicycle path or trail prohibits the operation. 53.12 (d) The local authority or state agency having jurisdiction over a trail that is designated 53.13 as nonmotorized, and that has a natural surface tread made by clearing and grading the 53.14 native soil with no added surfacing materials, may regulate the operation of an 53.15 53.16 electric-assisted bicycle. (e) No person under the age of 15 shall operate an electric-assisted bicycle. 53.17 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.222, is amended by adding a subdivision 53.18 to read: 53.19 Subd. 6b. Electric-assisted bicycle; equipment. (a) The manufacturer or distributor of 53.20 an electric-assisted bicycle must apply a label to the bicycle that is permanently affixed in 53.21 a prominent location. The label must contain the classification number, top assisted speed, 53.22 and motor wattage of the electric-assisted bicycle, and must be printed in a legible font with 53.23 at least 9-point type. 53.24 (b) A person must not modify an electric-assisted bicycle to change the motor-powered 53.25 speed capability or motor engagement unless the person replaces the label required in 53.26paragraph (a) with revised information. 53.27 (c) An electric-assisted bicycle must operate in a manner so that the electric motor is 53.28 53.29 disengaged or ceases to function when the rider stops pedaling or when the brakes are applied. 53.30 53.31 (d) A class 3 electric-assisted bicycle must be equipped with a speedometer that displays the speed at which the bicycle is traveling in miles per hour. 53.32

	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2022. Paragraphs (b) to (d)
<u> </u>	are effective August 1, 2021.
	Sec. 24. [174.375] ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE.
	Subdivision 1. Committee established; duties. (a) The commissioner of transportation
1	must establish an active transportation advisory committee. The advisory committee must
1	make recommendations to the commissioner on items related to:
	(1) active transportation, including safety, education, and development programs;
	(2) the active transportation program under section 174.38; and
	(3) the safe routes to school program under section 174.40.
	(b) The committee must review and analyze issues and needs relating to active
<u>t</u>	ransportation on public rights-of-way and identify solutions and goals for addressing
<u>i</u>	dentified issues and needs.
	(c) For purposes of this section, "active transportation" includes bicycling, pedestrian
2	activities, and other forms of nonmotorized transportation.
	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory committee consists of the members specified
<u>i</u>	n this subdivision.
	(b) The commissioner of transportation must appoint up to 18 public members, as follows:
(one member from each of the department's seven greater Minnesota districts; four members
1	from the department's metropolitan district; and no more than seven members at large. Each
(of the members at large must represent nonmotorized interests or organizations.
	(c) The commissioners of each of the following state agencies must appoint an employee
(of the agency to serve as a member: administration, education, health, natural resources,
1	public safety, transportation, and pollution control. The chair of the Metropolitan Council
1	must appoint an employee of the council to serve as a member. The director of Explore
1	Minnesota Tourism must appoint an employee of the agency to serve as a member.
	(d) The division administrator of the Federal Highway Administration may appoint an
-	employee of the agency to serve as a member.
	(e) Each member of the committee serves a four-year term at the pleasure of the
2	appointing authority.
	(f) The committee must select a chair from its membership.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
04/03/21 09.41 alli	HOUSE RESEARCH	IVID/ IVIX	D1004DE2

55.1	Subd. 3. Meetings; staffing. (a) The advisory committee must establish a meeting
55.2	schedule and meet at least annually.
55.3	(b) The commissioner of transportation must provide department staff support to the
55.4	advisory committee.
55.5	Subd. 4. Expenses. (a) Members of the advisory committee serve without compensation,
55.6	but members who are not employees of government agencies must be reimbursed for
55.7	expenses in the same manner and amount as authorized by the commissioner's plan adopted
55.8	under section 43A.18, subdivision 2.
55.9	(b) To provide compensation under paragraph (a), the commissioner of transportation
55.10	may expend the amount necessary from general fund appropriations.
55.11	Subd. 5. Reports. The advisory committee must submit an annual report to the
55.12	commissioner of transportation.
55.13	Subd. 6. Expiration. The advisory committee expires June 30, 2031.
55.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. The
55.15	commissioner of transportation must convene the first meeting by October 15, 2021.
55.16	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.42, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
55.17	Subd. 2. Funding requirement. In each federal fiscal year, the commissioner shall
55.18	obtain a total amount in federal authorizations for reimbursement on transportation
55.19	alternatives projects that is equal to or greater than 110 percent of the annual average of
55.20	federal authorizations on transportation alternatives projects calculated over federal fiscal
55.21	years 2010 to 2012 <u>2017 to 2020</u> .
55.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2022.
55.23	Sec. 26. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
55.24	The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 160.02, subdivision
55.25	27a, as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011, subdivision 73a. The revisor must correct any
55.26	cross-references made necessary by this renumbering.
55.27	Sec. 27. EFFECTIVE DATE.
55.28	Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective August 1, 2021.

56.1 **ARTICLE 6**

56.3

56.4

56.5

56.6

56.7

56.8

56.9

56.10

56.11

56.12

56.13

56.14

56.15

56.16

56.17

56.18

56.20

56.21

56.22

56.23

56.24

56.25

56.26

56.27

56.28

56.29

56.30

56.2 TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16A.88, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. **Greater Minnesota transit account.** The greater Minnesota transit account is established within the transit assistance fund in the state treasury. Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for assistance to transit systems outside the metropolitan area under section 174.24. The commissioner may use up to \$408,000 in fiscal year 2008 and \$416,000 in fiscal year 2009 and thereafter two percent of the available revenues in the account in each fiscal year for administration of the transit program. The commissioner shall use the account for transit operations as provided in section 174.24 and related program administration.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Appoint commissioners for damages.** (a) If the proposed taking shall appear to be necessary and such as is authorized by law, the court by an order shall appoint three disinterested commissioners, and at least two alternates, to ascertain and report the amount of damages that will be sustained by the several owners on account of such taking.
 - (b) All disinterested commissioners or alternates appointed under this subdivision must reside in Minnesota.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 117.075, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. Commissioner qualifications. Before appointing a commissioner, The court shall inquire whether each prospective commissioner has any relationship, business or otherwise, to any of the parties in the proceeding, or any interest in the proceeding which may constitute a conflict of interest, or which may create the appearance of impropriety should that person be appointed. Responses to this inquiry must be either written or on the record and made available by the court to any party in the proceeding before and after appointment. No person who might have difficulty in rendering an unbiased decision may be appointed to serve. The court, in its discretion, may appoint one registered, practicing attorney to the commission who is knowledgeable in eminent domain matters. All other commissioners appointed must be persons actively engaged in the occupation of real estate sales or real estate appraising or persons knowledgeable in real estate values.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.115, subdivision 27, is amended to read: 57.1 Subd. 27. **Route No. 96.** Beginning at a point on Route No. 95 244 as herein established 57.2 at or near Stillwater Dellwood City, thence extending in a westerly direction to a point on 57.3 Route No. 63 1 at or near New Brighton White Bear Lake. 57.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day after the commissioner of 57.5 transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the commissioner and the governing 57.6 body of Washington County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative Route No. 96 and after 57.7 the commissioner sends notice to the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing that the 57.8 conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied. 57.9 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to 57.10 57.11 read: Subd. 97. Corporal Caleb L. Erickson Memorial Highway. That segment of marked 57.12 Trunk Highway 13 in Waseca County from the southern border of Woodville Township to 57.13 the northern border of Blooming Grove Township is designated as "Corporal Caleb L. 57.14 Erickson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a 57.15 57.16 suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs. Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to 57.17 read: 57.18 Subd. 98. Private Joseph Marthaler Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S. 57.19 Highway 52 over Dakota County State-Aid Highway 8, known as Wentworth Avenue, in 57.20 the city of West Saint Paul, is designated as "Private Joseph Marthaler Memorial Bridge." 57.21 Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark the 57.22 bridge and erect appropriate signs. 57.23 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to 57.24 read: 57.25 Subd. 99. Patrol Inspector Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway. The segment of 57.26 marked Trunk Highway 11 from Roseau to Warroad is designated as "Patrol Inspector 57.27

57.28

57.29

Robert H. Lobdell Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must

adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to 58.1 read: 58.2

- Subd. 100. Deputy Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway. The segment of marked Trunk Highway 310 from Roseau to the border with Canada is designated as "Deputy Richard K. Magnuson Memorial Highway." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must adopt a suitable design to mark this highway and erect appropriate signs.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Conveyance of excess. (a) On acquiring real estate in excess of what is needed for trunk highway purposes as authorized in subdivision 1, the commissioner of transportation shall, within one year after the completion of the construction, reconstruction, or improvement of the highway for which a portion of the real estate was needed and required, convey and quitclaim the excess real estate.
- (b) The excess real estate may be sold and conveyed to the owner of the land abutting upon the excess real estate in the same manner and under the same terms provided under section 161.44, subdivision 2, or to the highest responsible bidder, after receipt of sealed bids following mailed notice to adjacent landowners and published notice of the sale for three successive weeks in a newspaper or trade journal of general circulation in the territory from which bids are likely to be received. All bids may be rejected and new bids received upon like advertisement.
- (c) If the lands remain unsold after being offered for sale, the commissioner may offer the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay the minimum bid established for the public sale. The sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner withdraws the remaining lands from the sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the department's unsold property inventory list.
- (d) The deed may contain restrictive clauses limiting the use of such real estate in the interests of safety and convenient public travel when the commissioner finds that the restrictions are reasonably necessary.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.23, subdivision 2a, is amended to read: 58.28
- Subd. 2a. Services of licensed real estate broker. If the lands remain unsold after being 58.29 offered for sale to the highest bidder, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed 58.30 real estate broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must not be less than 90 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the 58.32

58.3

58.4

58.5

58.6

58.7

58.8

58.9

58.10

58.11

58.12

58.13

58.14

58.15

58.16

58.17

58.18

58.19

58.20

58.21

58.22

58.23

58.24

58.25

58.26

58.27

commissioner. The broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the commissioner and the broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of \$10,000 or more. The broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.

Sec. 11. [161.369] INDIAN EMPLOYMENT PREFERENCE.

59.1

59.2

59.3

59.4

59.5

59.6

59.7

59.8

59.10

59.11

59.12

59.13

59.14

59.15

59.16

59.18

59.19

59.20

59.21

59.22

59.23

- As authorized by United States Code, title 23, section 104, paragraph (d), the commissioner may implement an Indian employment preference for members of federally recognized Tribes on projects carried out under United States Code, title 23, within 60 miles of an Indian reservation.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 6a. **Services of licensed real estate broker.** If the lands are withdrawn from sale under subdivision 6b, the commissioner may retain the services of a licensed real estate broker to find a buyer. The sale price may be negotiated by the broker, but must not be less than 90 80 percent of the appraised market value as determined by the commissioner. The broker's fee must be established by prior agreement between the commissioner and the broker, and must not exceed ten percent of the sale price for sales of \$10,000 or more. The broker's fee must be paid to the broker from the proceeds of the sale.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.44, subdivision 6b, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 6b. **Unsold lands.** If lands remain unsold after being offered for sale to the highest bidder, the commissioner may offer the remaining lands to any person who agrees to pay at least 80 percent of the minimum bid established for the public sale. Any offers less than 100 percent of the minimum bid must be approved by the commissioner prior to a sale. The sale must continue until all eligible lands have been sold or the commissioner withdraws the remaining lands from sale. The lands to be sold must be listed on the department's Unsold Property Inventory list.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 162.145, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Administration.** (a) Subject to funds made available by law, the commissioner shall allocate all funds as provided in subdivision 4 and shall, by June 1, certify to the commissioner of revenue the amounts to be paid.
- (b) Following certification from the commissioner, the commissioner of revenue shall distribute the specified funds to cities in the same manner as local government aid under

chapter 477A. An appropriation to the commissioner under this section is available to the commissioner of revenue for the purposes specified in this paragraph.

- (c) Notwithstanding other law to the contrary, in order to receive distributions under this section, a city must conform to the standards in section 477A.017, subdivision 2. A city that receives funds under this section must make and preserve records necessary to show that the funds are spent in compliance with subdivision 4 5.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 163.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Qualifications, salary, and term.** The county highway engineer shall be a registered highway or civil engineer, registered under the laws of the state of Minnesota. The county board may appoint a new county engineer for a term of only one year. All reappointments shall be for a term of four years, and shall be made in May of the year in which the term expires. The county highway engineer shall be a citizen and resident of this state. The county highway engineer's salary shall be fixed by the county board and shall be payable the same as other county officers are paid. The salary shall not be reduced during the county highway engineer's term of office.

Sec. 16. [168.0135] MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION SELF-SERVICE KIOSKS.

- Subdivision 1. Authorization. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with deputy registrars, must establish a process to implement and install self-service kiosks that may be used for motor vehicle registration renewals. The commissioner must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and financial standards to approve a vendor. Self-service kiosks authorized by this section must:
- (1) allow a customer to renew a motor vehicle registration pursuant to section 168.013, without assistance of a deputy registrar;
- 60.24 (2) dispense license plate tabs to the applicant at the time of the application; and
- 60.25 (3) display the contact phone number and e-mail address of the deputy registrar's office that is responsible for the self-service kiosk.
- 60.27 (b) This section only applies to deputy registrars appointed pursuant to section 168.33, subdivision 2.
- Subd. 2. Administration. (a) The commissioner must contract with a vendor to provide
 the hardware and software necessary to implement the self-service kiosk program. The
 commissioner must provide fair and reasonable access to department facilities, staff, and
 technology. The vendor is responsible for the maintenance and installation of all self-service

60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.8

60.9

60.10

60.11

60.12

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

61.1	kiosks. The vendor must provide training to deputy registrars on how to operate and
61.2	troubleshoot issues with a self-service kiosk.
61.3	(b) A deputy registrar may make a request to the commissioner to have a self-service
61.4	kiosk placed in the deputy registrar's service area. The commissioner may approve the
61.5	placement.
61.6	(c) The deputy registrar that requested the placement of the self-service kiosk is
61.7	responsible for the kiosk. The deputy registrar may coordinate with the vendor for
61.8	administration and to ensure that all registration materials contained within the self-service
61.9	kiosks are properly handled and accounted for.
61.10	Subd. 3. Fees. (a) The commissioner may assess a convenience fee of \$5 or less for each
61.11	transaction completed using a self-service kiosk. The vendor must retain the revenue from
61.12	any convenience fee that is assessed.
61.13	(b) The filing fees in section 168.33, subdivision 7, apply to transactions conducted at
61.14	a self-service kiosk. The deputy registrar must retain the filing fees.
61.15	(c) The fees authorized in this subdivision are in addition to any transaction fees,
61.16	convenience fees, or other fees charged by a financial institution for use of a debit or credit
61.17	<u>card.</u>
61.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
61.19	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
61.20	Subdivision 1. Plates; design, visibility, periods of issuance. (a) The commissioner,
61.21	upon approval and payment, shall issue to the applicant the plates required by this chapter,
61.22	bearing the state name and an assigned vehicle registration number. The number assigned
61.23	by the commissioner may be a combination of a letter or sign with figures. The color of the
61.24	plates and the color of the abbreviation of the state name and the number assigned must be
61.25	in marked contrast. The plates must be lettered, spaced, or distinguished to suitably indicate
61.26	the registration of the vehicle according to the rules of the commissioner.
61.27	(b) When a vehicle is registered on the basis of total gross weight, the plates issued must
61.28	clearly indicate by letters or other suitable insignia the maximum gross weight for which
61.29	the tax has been paid.
61.30	(c) Plates issued to a noncommercial vehicle must bear the inscription "noncommercial"
61.31	unless the vehicle is displaying a special plate authorized and issued under this chapter.

(d) A one-ton pickup truck that is used for commercial purposes and is subject to section 168.185, is eligible to display special plates as authorized and issued under this chapter.

- (e) The plates must be so treated as to be at least 100 times brighter than the conventional painted number plates. When properly mounted on an unlighted vehicle, the plates, when viewed from a vehicle equipped with standard headlights, must be visible for a distance of not less than 1,500 feet and readable for a distance of not less than 110 feet.
 - (f) The commissioner shall issue plates for the following periods:
- (1) New plates issued pursuant to section 168.012, subdivision 1, must be issued to a vehicle for as long as the vehicle is owned by the exempt agency and the plate shall not be transferable from one vehicle to another but the plate may be transferred with the vehicle from one tax-exempt agency to another.
- (2) Plates issued for passenger automobiles must be issued for a seven-year period. All plates issued under this paragraph must be replaced if they are seven years old or older at the time of registration renewal or will become so during the registration period.
- (3) Plates issued under sections 168.053 and 168.27, subdivisions 16 and 17, must be for a seven-year period.
- (4) Plates issued under subdivisions 2c and 2d and section sections 168.123, 168.1235, and 168.1255 must be issued for the life of the veteran under section 169.79.
 - (5) Plates for any vehicle not specified in clauses (1) to (3) must be issued for the life of the vehicle.
 - (g) In a year in which plates are not issued, the commissioner shall issue for each registration a sticker to designate the year of registration. This sticker must show the year or years for which the sticker is issued, and is valid only for that period. The plates and stickers issued for a vehicle may not be transferred to another vehicle during the period for which the sticker is issued, except when issued for a vehicle registered under section 168.187.
 - (h) Despite any other provision of this subdivision, plates issued to a vehicle used for behind-the-wheel instruction in a driver education course in a public school may be transferred to another vehicle used for the same purpose without payment of any additional fee. The public school shall notify the commissioner of each transfer of plates under this paragraph. The commissioner may prescribe a format for notification.

62.1

62.2

62.3

62.4

62.5

62.6

62.7

62.8

62.9

62.10

62.11

62.12

62.13

62.14

62.15

62.16

62.19

62.20

62.21

62.22

62.23

62.24

62.25

62.26

62.27

62.28

62.29

63.1	Sec. 18. [168.1284] MINNESOTA 100 CLUB PLATES.
63.2	Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota 100 Club
63.3	special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:
63.4	(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
63.5	truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;
63.6	(2) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;
63.7	(3) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each sec
63.8	of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;
63.9	(4) contributes a minimum of \$40 annually to the Minnesota 100 Club account; and
63.10	(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
63.11	licensing of drivers.
63.12	Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable design for the plate, in
63.13	consultation with representatives from the Minnesota 100 Club.
63.14	Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
63.15	fee of \$5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
63.16	if the subsequent vehicle is:
63.17	(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and
63.18	(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued
63.19	Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
63.20	168.1293, subdivision 2.
63.21	Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
63.22	subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota 100 Club account, which is
63.23	established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is annually appropriated to
63.24	the commissioner. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering the account
63.25	funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to the Minnesota 100 Club to further the
63.26	organization's mission and purpose of providing charitable gifts and contributions.
63.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Minnesota 100 Club
63.28	special plates issued on or after that date.
63.29	Sec. 19. [168.1285] MINNESOTA AGRICULTURE PLATES.
63.30	Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Minnesota agriculture

63.31

special plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:

64.1	(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
64.2	truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;
64.3	(2) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set
64.4	of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;
64.5	(3) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;
64.6	(4) contributes a minimum of \$20 annually to the Minnesota agriculture account; and
64.7	(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
64.8	licensing of drivers.
64.9	Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner
64.10	must adopt a suitable plate design that includes a depiction of lands and activity related to
64.11	agriculture.
64.12	Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
64.13	fee of \$5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
64.14	if the subsequent vehicle is:
64.15	(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and
64.16	(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.
64.17	Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
64.18	168.1293, subdivision 2.
64.19	Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
64.20	subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Minnesota agriculture account, which is
64.21	established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the
64.22	commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual cost of administering
64.23	the account funds, and the remaining funds are for distribution to (1) the Minnesota FFA
64.24	Foundation to support the mission of the foundation, and (2) the University of Minnesota
64.25	Extension Service to support Minnesota 4-H programming and activities. The commissioner
64.26	must annually consult with the Minnesota FFA Foundation and the University of Minnesota
64.27	Extension Service for recommendations regarding how to allocate funds.
64.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for Minnesota agriculture
64.29	special plates issued on or after that date.

65.1	Sec. 20. [168.1286] HONORARY CONSUL PLATES.
65.2	Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue honorary consul specia
65.3	plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:
65.4	(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
65.5	truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle;
65.6	(2) is recognized as an honorary consular official appointed by the respective government
65.7	to serve in Minnesota, and who provides a letter from the Minnesota Consular Corps;
65.8	(3) pays a fee in the amount specified for special plates under section 168.12, subdivision
65.9	5, for each set of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;
65.10	(4) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013; and
65.11	(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
65.12	licensing of drivers.
65.13	Subd. 2. Design. In consultation with the Minnesota Consular Corps, the commissioner
65.14	must adopt a suitable plate design that includes an emblem and the inscription "Honorary
65.15	Consul." The unique registration number for each set of special plates issued must contain
65.16	the International Olympic Committee three-letter country code for the represented country
65.17	followed by the lowest available sequential number.
65.18	Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
65.19	fee of \$5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another motor vehicle
65.20	if the subsequent vehicle is:
65.21	(1) qualified under subdivision 1, clause (1), to bear the special plates; and
65.22	(2) registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued
65.23	Subd. 4. Plates surrender. A person must return to the commissioner special plates
65.24	issued under this section if (1) the plates are no longer in use, or (2) the person is no longer
65.25	recognized as an honorary consular official by the appointing government.
65.26	Subd. 5. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
65.27	168.1293, subdivision 2.
65.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, for honorary consul
65.29	special plates issued on or after that date.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.183, is amended to read:

66.1

66.2

66.3

66.4

66.5

66.6

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.12

66.13

66.14

66.15

66.16

66.17

66.18

66.19

66.20

66.21

168.183 MOTOR VEHICLES OF CERTAIN NONRESIDENTS.

Subdivision 1. **Payment of taxes.** All trucks, truck-tractors, trucks using combination, and buses which comply with all of the provisions of section 168.181, subdivision 1, clause (6), but are excluded from the exemptions solely because of the temporary nature of their movement in this state, shall be required to comply with all laws and rules as to the payment of taxes applicable to like vehicles owned by Minnesota residents, except that nonresidents may make application to pay the tax for each vehicle proportionate to the number of months or fraction thereof the vehicles are in this state. For the purposes of this subdivision, buses do not include charter buses that are considered proratable vehicles under section 168.187, subdivision 4. Fees are determined by section 168.013, subdivision 1e.

- Subd. 2. **Contents of application.** The application shall contain such information and shall be executed in such manner as the registrar may require and shall include a complete itinerary of the applicant and shall be accompanied by such evidence of ownership as the registrar shall deem necessary.
- Subd. 3. **Permit.** Upon payment of the required tax the registrar shall issue, in lieu of registration plates, a permit for each vehicle so taxed. The permit shall contain the name and address of the owner, the make, type, serial number and year model of the vehicle, the expiration date and any other information deemed necessary by the registrar. The permit must be earried in the vehicle at all times available in a format prescribed by the registrar while the vehicle is being operated in this state.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Surrender plates and credit tax paid.** (a) On transferring a motor vehicle, the transferor shall surrender the registration plates and assign the registration tax paid to the credit of the transferee.
- (b) As specified in section 115A.908, the commissioner must impose a \$10 fee on each
 transfer of title within the state, other than transfers for resale purposes, of every motor
 vehicle weighing more than 1,000 pounds.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.31, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Installments; registration generally.** (a) If the tax for a vehicle assessed under section 168.013, subdivision 1c, 1d, 1e, or 1g, amounts to more than \$400, the owner may pay the tax by installments.

(b) The owner shall tender with the application for registration one-third of the annual tax due or \$400, whichever is greater, plus any penalties or arrears, plus a fee of \$10. Instead of this fee, the applicant may furnish a bond, bank letter of credit, or certificate of deposit approved by the registrar of motor vehicles, for the total of the tax still due. The amount of the bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit may include any penalties assessed. The bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit must be for the benefit of the state for monetary loss caused by failure of the vehicle owner to pay delinquent license fees and penalties.

- (c) The remainder of the tax due must be paid in two equal installments. The due date of the first installment is the first day of the fifth month of the registration period for which the tax is assessed July 1, and the second installment is due on the first day of the ninth month of the registration period for which the tax is assessed November 1.
- (d) When the applicant elects to pay the administrative fee, the registrar shall issue to the applicant validation stickers indicating the expiration date of a registration. When the applicant elects to furnish a bond, bank letter, or letter of deposit, the registrar shall issue regular validation stickers for the registration year.
- (e) If an owner of a vehicle fails to pay an installment on or before its due date, the vehicle must not be used on the public streets or highways in this state until the installment or installments of the tax remaining due on the vehicle have been paid in full for the licensed year together with a penalty at the rate of \$1 per day for the remainder of the month in which the balance of the tax becomes due and \$4 a month for each succeeding month or fraction of a month during which the balance of the tax remains unpaid. Upon the payment of the balance of the tax and the penalties, the registrar shall issue a registration certificate to the owner of the vehicle in the manner provided by law. The registrar shall deny installment payment privileges provided in this subdivision in the subsequent year to any owner on any or all vehicles of the owner who during the current year fails to pay any installment due within one month after the due date.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Records and fees.** (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section, the commissioner shall furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.
 - (b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5 5b, and other than accident records governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall pay a fee of \$10 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not certified.

67.1

67.2

67.3

67.4

67.5

67.6

67.7

67.8

67.9

67.10

67.11

67.12

67.13

67.14

67.15

67.16

67.17

67.18

67.19

67.20

67.21

67.22

67.23

67.24

67.25

67.26

67.32

67.33

68.1	(c) Except as provided in subdivisions $4, 5a,$ and $5, 5b,$ in addition to the record fee in
68.2	paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format
68.3	is \$1 for each page of the historical record.
68.4	(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and
68.5	Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of
68.6	each fee credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected must be credited
68.7	to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
68.8	(e) Fees collected under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records
68.9	must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund.
68.10	The remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the vehicle services operating account
68.11	in the special revenue fund specified in section 299A.705.
68.12	(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5 5b, the commissioner shall permit a
68.13	person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of \$4.50 for
68.14	each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the
68.15	data.(1) Of the \$4.50 fee;:
68.16	(1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund-;
68.17	(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the
68.18	remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue
68.19	fund under section 299A.705-; and
68.20	(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle
68.21	services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
68.22	(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by
68.23	section 169.09, subdivision 13.
68.24	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
68.25	to read:
68.26	Subd. 5a. Vehicle records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement
68.27	a vehicle records subscription service to provide information concerning access to motor
68.28	vehicle records, including regular notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:
68.29	(1) pay applicable fees; and
68.30	(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with section 168.346 and United
68.31	States Code, title 18, section 2721.

69.1	(b) If a vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner must
69.2	establish a fee that does not exceed \$3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees
69.3	collected under this paragraph must be credited to the vehicle services operating account
69.4	under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and are appropriated to the commissioner for the
69.5	purposes in this paragraph and paragraph (a).
69.6	(c) If a motor vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner
69.7	must charge a fee of \$0.02 per motor vehicle record requested. Of the fees collected, 20
69.8	percent must be credited to the vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705,
69.9	subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision;
69.10	30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund under
69.11	section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle
69.12	services technology account under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.
69.13	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision
69.14	to read:
69.15	Subd. 5b. Custom data request record fees. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,
69.16	"custom data request records" means a total of 1,000 or more (1) vehicle title records, (2)
69.17	vehicle registration records, or (3) driver's license records.
69.18	(b) The commissioner must charge a fee of \$0.02 per record for custom data request
69.19	records.
69.20	(c) Of the fees collected for custom data request records:
69.21	(1) 20 percent must be credited:
69.22	(i) for vehicle title or registration records, to the vehicle services operating account under
69.23	section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes
69.24	of this subdivision; and
69.25	(ii) driver's license records, to the driver services operating account under section
69.26	299A.705, subdivision 2, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this
69.27	subdivision;
69.28	(2) 30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund
69.29	under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and
69.30	(3) 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account
69.31	under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.

(d) The commissioner may impose an additional fee for technical staff to create a custom set of data under this subdivision.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

- Subd. 6. Review and audit of purchases of bulk driver and motor vehicle records subscription services. Each subscriber and each requester of bulk vehicle records shall under subdivision 4 or 5a must annually engage an independent professional organization to audit its uses of bulk data and its information technology security procedures, including the methods and practices employed in the processing and use of driver and vehicle services data. Within 30 days of the date of the audit report, each subscriber and requester must submit each report to the legislative auditor and the commissioner.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. Requirements upon subsequent transfer; service fee. (a) A dealer who buys a vehicle and holds it for resale need not apply for a certificate of title. Upon transferring the vehicle to another person, other than by the creation of a security interest, the dealer shall promptly execute the assignment and warranty of title by a dealer, showing the names and addresses of the transferee and of any secured party holding a security interest created or reserved at the time of the resale, and the date of the security agreement in the spaces provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment.
 - (b) If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the dealer need not register the vehicle but shall pay one month's registration tax. If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the department shall not place any legend on the title that no motor vehicle sales tax was paid by the dealer, but may indicate on the title whether the vehicle is a new or used vehicle.
 - (c) With respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the dealer shall also, in the space provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment, state the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the exact mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true mileage.
 - (d) The transferee shall complete the application for title section on the certificate of title or separate title application form prescribed by the department. The dealer shall mail or deliver the certificate to the registrar or deputy registrar with the transferee's application for a new certificate and appropriate taxes and fees, within ten business days.

70.1

70.2

70.3

70.4

70.5

70.6

70.7

70.8

70.9

70.10

70.12

70.13

70.14

70.15

70.16

70.17

70.18

70.19

70.20

70.21

70.22

70.23

70.24

70.25

70.26

70.27

70.28

70.29

70.30

70.31

(e) With respect to vehicles sold to buyers who will remove the vehicle from this state, the dealer shall remove any license plates from the vehicle, issue a 31-day temporary permit pursuant to section 168.091, and notify the registrar within 48 hours of the sale that the vehicle has been removed from this state. The notification must be made in an electronic format prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract with a deputy registrar for the notification of sale to an out-of-state buyer. The deputy registrar may charge a fee not to exceed of \$7 per transaction to provide this service.

- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Notification on vehicle held for resale; service fee.** Within 48 hours of acquiring a vehicle titled and registered in Minnesota, a dealer shall notify the registrar that the dealership is holding the vehicle for resale. The notification must be made electronically as prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract this service to a deputy registrar and the registrar may charge a fee not to exceed of \$7 per transaction to provide this service.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.035, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Transportation by animal.** Every (a) A person riding an animal or driving any animal drawing a operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shall be is subject to the provisions of this chapter applicable to the driver of a vehicle, except those provisions which by their nature can have no application.
- 71.19 (b) A person operating an animal-drawn vehicle must comply with sections 169.18, subdivision 10; 169.522; and 169.58, subdivision 6.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation.** (a) All reports and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:
- 71.26 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety or any law enforcement 71.27 agency shall disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:
- 71.28 (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate, 71.29 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under 71.30 section 573.02;

71.1

71.2

71.3

71.4

71.5

71.6

71.7

71.9

71.10

71.11

71.12

(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs 72.1 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident; 72.2 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii); or 72.3 (iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or 72.4 (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent 72.5 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result 72.6 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement; 72.7 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver 72.8 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver; 72.9 (3) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle 72.10 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797; 72.11 (4) the commissioner of public safety shall provide the commissioner of transportation 72.12 the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle, 72.13 for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations; 72.14 (5) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall provide the 72.15 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident 72.16 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection 72.17 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and 72.18 (6) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of 72.19 Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant 72.20 programs relating to safety. 72.21 (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any 72.22 provision of law or rule of court. No report shall be used as evidence in any trial, civil or 72.23 criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident. 72.24 However, the commissioner of public safety shall furnish, upon the demand of any person 72.25 who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing 72.26

(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render

that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove

compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the

commissioner.

72.27

72.28

72.29

72.30

72.31

72.32

privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which the reports relate.

- (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. The commissioner may also furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision 3.
- (f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law enforcement agencies shall charge commercial users who request access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund.
- (g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the commissioner shall include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees that the agency:
 - (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
- (2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
 - (3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.

73.1

73.2

73.3

73.4

73.5

73.6

73.7

73.8

73.9

73.10

73.11

73.12

73.13

73.14

73.15

73.16

73.17

73.18

73.19

73.20

73.21

73.22

73.23

73.24

73.25

73.26

73.27

73.28

73.29

73.30

73.31

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.18, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 74.1 Subd. 10. Slower vehicles. (a) Upon a roadway with one lane in the direction of travel, 74.2 a person proceeding at a speed that is sufficiently low as to create a traffic hazard, including 74.3 when operating an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway or shoulder of a roadway, must 74.4 operate the vehicle as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway. 74.5 (b) Upon a roadway with more than one lane in the same direction of travel, a person 74.6 must move out of the left-most lane to allow another vehicle to pass, when practicable under 74.7 existing conditions. A left-most lane under this paragraph is the lane adjacent to one 74.8 designated and posted for a specific type of traffic, including as provided under section 74.9 74.10 160.93. This paragraph does not apply when: (1) overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction; 74.11 (2) preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway; 74.12 (3) preparing to exit a controlled-access highway on the left side of the road; 74.13 (4) the lane is designated and posted for a specific type of traffic; or 74.14 (5) the vehicle is an authorized emergency vehicle. 74.15 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.451, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 74.16 74.17 Subd. 3. Rules of commissioner Inspection criteria. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall provide by rule for the issuance and display of distinctive inspection certificates. 74.18 74.19 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall provide by rule a point system for evaluating the effect on safety operation of any variance from law detected during inspections conducted 74.20 pursuant to subdivision 1. 74.21 (a) The commissioner of public safety must inspect school buses in accordance with the 74.22 School Bus Inspection Manual as prescribed in section 169.4501, subdivision 3. Upon 74.23 completion of an inspection, the commissioner must provide a printed or electronic vehicle 74.24

(b) A school bus displaying a defect as defined in the "School Bus Recommended Out-of-Service Criteria" in the most recent edition of the "National School Transportation Specification and Procedures" adopted by the National Congress on School Transportation is deemed unsafe for student transportation. A member of the State Patrol must affix a rejection sticker to the lower left corner of the windshield. A person may remove the rejection sticker only upon authorization from a member of the State Patrol who has determined that all defects have been corrected. Pending reinspection and certification of the vehicle by a

examination report to the carrier or school district.

74.25

74.26

74.27

74.28

74.29

74.30

74.31

member of the State Patrol, a bus bearing a rejection sticker may be used to transport students 75.1 if the defects have been corrected and the vehicle examination report is signed by the owner 75.2 75.3 or a designee certifying that all defects have been corrected. The signed report must be carried in the first aid kit on the bus. 75.4 (c) A school bus that has had an inspection completed in which no out-of-service defects 75.5 were identified has passed the inspection and a member of the State Patrol must affix an 75.6 inspection certificate to the lower left corner of the windshield. All defects identified must 75.7 75.8 be repaired within 14 days of the inspection. The person completing the repairs must sign and date the inspection report indicating the repairs were made. The inspection report must 75.9 be retained at the principle place of business of the carrier or school district for 12 months 75.10 following the inspection and must be available for review by a representative of the 75.11 commissioner of public safety. 75.12 (d) A defect discovered during an inspection that was identified by a member of the 75.13 State Patrol during a previous inspection but has not been corrected results in a failed 75.14 inspection. A member of the State Patrol must affix a rejection sticker to the lower left 75.15 corner of the windshield. 75.16 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.451, is amended by adding a subdivision 75.17 to read: 75.18 Subd. 6. Member of the State Patrol. For purposes of this section, a member of the 75.19 State Patrol includes an employee of the Department of Public Safety described in section 75.20 299D.06. 75.21 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.522, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 75.22 Subdivision 1. Displaying emblem; rules. (a) All animal-drawn vehicles, motorized 75.23 golf carts when operated on designated roadways pursuant to section 169.045, implements 75.24 of husbandry, and other machinery, including all road construction machinery, which are 75.25 designed for operation at a speed of 30 miles per hour or less, must display a triangular 75.26 75.27 slow-moving vehicle emblem, except (1) when being used in actual construction and maintenance work and traveling within the limits of a construction area marked in accordance 75.28 with the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, as set forth in section 169.06, or (2) 75.29 for a towed implement of husbandry that is empty and that is not self-propelled, in which 75.30 case it may be towed at lawful speeds greater than 30 miles per hour without removing the 75.31 slow-moving vehicle emblem. The emblem must consist of a fluorescent or illuminated 75.32 red-orange triangle with a dark red reflective border and be mounted so as to be visible from 75.33

a distance of not less than 600 feet to the rear. When a primary power unit towing an implement of husbandry or other machinery displays a slow-moving vehicle emblem visible from a distance of 600 feet to the rear, it is not necessary to display a similar emblem on the secondary unit. All slow-moving vehicle emblems sold in this state must be so designed that when properly mounted they are visible from a distance of not less than 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beam of headlamps on a motor vehicle. The commissioner of public safety shall adopt standards and specifications for the design and position of mounting the slow-moving vehicle emblem. Such standards and specifications must be adopted by rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

- (b) An alternate slow-moving vehicle emblem consisting of a dull black triangle with a white reflective border may be used after obtaining a permit from the commissioner under rules of the commissioner. A person with a permit to use an alternate slow-moving vehicle emblem must:
- (1) carry in the vehicle a regular slow-moving vehicle emblem and display the emblem when operating a vehicle between sunset and sunrise, and at any other time when visibility is impaired by weather, smoke, fog, or other conditions; and
 - (2) permanently affix to the rear of the slow-moving vehicle at least 72 square inches of reflective tape that reflects the color red.
- 76.19 (c) In addition to the emblem requirement under this subdivision, an animal-drawn vehicle must comply with section 169.58, subdivision 6.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.58, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 6. Animal-drawn vehicles. (a) An animal-drawn vehicle must be equipped with
 an identification lamp or lamps that indicate the vehicle's presence and are visible from a
 distance of at least 500 feet from both the front and the rear. The lighting requirement under
 this subdivision may be met using a lamp powered by energy generated from the vehicle's
 movement.
- (b) This subdivision does not apply to an animal-drawn vehicle that: (1) operates
 exclusively between the hours of sunrise and sunset and never during periods of reduced
 visibility, inclement weather, or insufficient light; or (2) never operates on a public roadway.

76.1

76.2

76.3

76.4

76.5

76.6

76.7

76.8

76.9

76.10

76.11

76.12

76.13

76.17

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Escort vehicles required; width.** (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (d) and (e), no escort vehicle is required if the width of an overdimensional load is 15 feet or less as measured at the bottom of the load or is 16 feet or less as measured at the top of the load.
- (b) Only one rear escort vehicle is required on a multilane divided roadway if the width of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the bottom of the load or is more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.
- (c) Only one lead escort vehicle and one rear escort vehicle is required on any undivided roadway if the width of an overdimensional load is more than 15 feet as measured at the bottom of the load or is more than 16 feet as measured at the top of the load.
- (d) Only One lead escort vehicle, one rear escort vehicle, and one lead licensed peace officer is required when any part of an overdimensional load or a vehicle transporting an overdimensional load extends beyond the left of the centerline on an undivided roadway.
- (e) The commissioner may require additional escorts when deemed necessary to protect public safety or to ensure against undue damage to the road foundations, surfaces, or structures. The commissioner must specify in the permit (1) the number of additional escorts required; and (2) whether the operators of the escort vehicles must be licensed peace officers or may be escort drivers, as defined in subdivision 1.
- 77.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 77.20 Sec. 38. [169.8665] SPECIAL SOYBEAN MEAL-HAULING VEHICLE PERMIT.
- 77.21 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Special three-unit vehicle permit.** The commissioner may issue a permit for a vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:
- (1) is a combination of vehicles, including a truck-tractor and a semitrailer drawing one additional semitrailer, and no semitrailer used in the three-vehicle combination has an overall length in excess of 28-1/2 feet;
- 77.26 (2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and
- 77.27 (3) is operated only in this state on marked U.S. Highway 75 in Crookston to marked
- 77.28 U.S. Highway 2, and on marked U.S. Highway 2 from Crookston to the North Dakota
- 77.29 border.

77.2

77.3

77.4

77.5

77.6

77.7

77.8

77.9

77.10

77.11

77.12

77.13

77.14

77.15

77.16

77.17

77.18

77.30 Subd. 2. Special two-unit vehicle permit. The commissioner may issue a permit for a vehicle that transports soybean meal and meets the following requirements:

78.1	(1) is a combination of vehicles consisting of a truck-tractor and a single semitrailer that
78.2	may exceed 48 feet, but not 53 feet, if the distance from the kingpin to the centerline of the
78.3	rear axle group of the semitrailer does not exceed 43 feet;
78.4	(2) does not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight of 106,000 pounds; and
78.5	(3) is operated only on the highways specified in subdivision 1, clause (3).
78.6	Subd. 3. Restrictions. (a) A vehicle issued a permit under subdivision 1 or 2:
78.7	(1) is subject to the axle weight limits in section 169.824;
78.8	(2) is subject to bridge load limits posted pursuant to section 169.84;
78.9	(3) is subject to seasonal load restrictions under section 169.87;
78.10	(4) may not be operated with a load that exceeds the tire manufacturer's recommended
78.11	load under section 169.823, the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating as affixed to the
78.12	vehicle, or other certification of gross weight rating under Code of Federal Regulations,
78.13	title 49, sections 567.4 to 567.7;
78.14	(5) may not be operated on the interstate highway system; and
78.15	(6) may be operated on streets or highways under the control of a local authority only
78.16	upon the approval of the local authority. However, vehicles may have reasonable access to
78.17	terminals and facilities for food, fuel, repairs, and rest, and for continuity of route within
78.18	one mile of the national network as provided by section 169.81, subdivision 3, and Code
78.19	of Federal Regulations, title 23, section 658.19.
78.20	(b) The seasonal weight increases authorized under section 169.829 do not apply to
78.21	permits issued under this section.
78.22	Subd. 4. Permit fee; appropriation. Vehicle permits issued under subdivision 1 must
78.23	be annual permits. The fee is \$850 for each vehicle, or a proportional amount as provided
78.24	in section 169.86, subdivision 5, and must be deposited in the trunk highway fund. An
78.25	amount sufficient to administer the permit program is appropriated from the trunk highway
78.26	fund to the commissioner for the costs of administering the permit program.
78.27	Subd. 5. Expiration date. Upon request of the permit applicant, the expiration date for
78.28	a permit issued under this section must be the same as the expiration date of the permitted
78.29	vehicle's registration.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.92, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Suspension of driver's license Failure to appear. (a) Upon receiving a report from the court, or from the driver licensing authority of a state, district, territory, or possession of the United States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement in effect with this state pursuant to section 169.91, that a resident of this state or a person licensed as a driver in this state did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a citation, the commissioner of public safety shall notify the driver that the driver's license will be suspended unless the commissioner receives notice within 30 days that the driver has appeared in the appropriate court or, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor for which a guilty plea was entered under section 609.491, that the person has paid any fine imposed by the court. If the commissioner does not receive notice of the appearance in the appropriate court or payment of the fine within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's notice to the driver, the commissioner may suspend the driver's license, subject to the notice requirements of section 171.18, subdivision 2. Notwithstanding the requirements in this subdivision, the commissioner is prohibited from suspending the driver's license of a person based solely on the fact that the person did not appear in court (1) in compliance with the terms of a citation for a petty misdemeanor, or (2) for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision 1.

- (b) The order of suspension shall indicate the reason for the order and shall notify the driver that the driver's license shall remain remains suspended until the driver has furnished evidence, satisfactory to the commissioner, of compliance with any order entered by the court.
- (c) Suspension shall be ordered under this subdivision only when the report clearly identifies the person arrested; describes the violation, specifying the section of the traffic law, ordinance or rule violated; indicates the location and date of the offense; and describes the vehicle involved and its registration number.
- 79.26 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. **Two-wheeled vehicle endorsement fee.** (a) <u>In addition to the appropriate fee</u>

 79.28 <u>under subdivision 2,</u> the fee for any duplicate driver's license obtained for the purpose of

 79.29 <u>adding</u> a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement on a driver's license is increased by \$18.50:
- 79.30 (1) \$26.50 for each first such an initial endorsement or a duplicate license obtained for 79.31 the purpose of adding the endorsement; and
- 79.32 \$13 (2) \$17 for each license renewal thereof with the endorsement.
- 79.33 (b) The additional fee must be paid into the state treasury and credited as follows:

79.1

79.2

79.3

79.4

79.5

79.6

79.7

79.8

79.9

79.10

79.11

79.12

79.13

79.14

79.15

79.16

79.17

79.18

79.19

79.20

79.21

79.22

79.23

79.24

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
UT/UJ/Z1 UJ.T1 alli	HOUSE RESEARCH	IVID/IXIX	11100702

80.1	(1) \$11 \$19 of the additional fee for each first duplicate license under paragraph (a),
80.2	clause (1), and \$7 \$11 of the additional fee for each renewal under paragraph (a), clause
80.3	(2), must be credited to the motorcycle safety fund, which is hereby created; and
80.4	(2) the remainder of the additional fee must be credited to the general fund.
80.5	(b) (c) All application forms prepared by the commissioner for two-wheeled vehicle
80.6	endorsements must clearly state the amount of the total fee that is dedicated to the motorcycle
80.7	safety fund.
80.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license
80.9	application and issuance on or after that date.
80.10	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
80.11	Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:
80.12	(1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the
80.13	applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;
80.14	(2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and
80.15	any other facts pertaining to the applicant, the applicant's driving privileges, and the
80.16	applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;
80.17	(3) state:
80.18	(i) the applicant's Social Security number; or
80.19	(ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a
80.20	Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,
80.21	that the applicant certifies that the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number;
80.22	(4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care
80.23	directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7; and
80.24	(5) include a method for the applicant to:
80.25	(i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,
80.26	and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;
80.27	(ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under paragraph (d) subdivision 3b,
80.28	paragraph (e);
80.29	(iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,
80.30	subdivision 3c; and

81.1	(iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b.
81.2	(b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:
81.3	(1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and
81.4	(2) for driver's licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all requirements of
81.5	the REAL ID Act:
81.6	(i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,
81.7	unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;
81.8	(ii) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and
81.9	(iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.
81.10	(c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must
81.11	be accompanied by:
81.12	(1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States
81.13	citizenship; and
81.14	(2) a photographic identity document.
81.15	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
81.16	read:
81.17	Subd. 11. Remote application. (a) The commissioner must establish a process for a
81.18	person to apply remotely for a driver's license or Minnesota identification card, whether
81.19	through a website or other means, as provided in this subdivision.
81.20	(b) The commissioner may issue or reinstate an expired driver's license or Minnesota
81.21	identification card and may renew a driver's license or Minnesota identification card for a
81.22	person who does not apply in-person if:
81.23	(1) the applicant submits documentation, as prescribed by the commissioner, that an
81.24	eligible family member is an employee of a federal department or agency who is assigned
81.25	to foreign service outside of the United States;
81.26	(2) there is not a material change to the applicant's name, date of birth, signature, and
81.27	driver's license or identification number since the most recent driver's license or Minnesota
81.28	identification card issuance;
81.29	(3) the application is not for a different type or class of driver's license or Minnesota
81.30	identification card, as identified in sections 171.019, subdivision 2, and 171.02, subdivision
81.31	<u>2;</u>

82.1	(4) one of the following requirements is met:
82.2	(i) the commissioner has a previous photograph of the applicant on file that was taken
82.3	within the last five years or in conjunction with the most recent issuance; or
82.4	(ii) for a noncompliant license or identification card, the applicant submits a photograph
82.5	that meets the requirements of sections 171.07 and 171.071, Minnesota Rules, part
82.6	7410.1810, subpart 1, and any other technical requirements established by the commissioner,
82.7	which may include but are not limited to background color, lighting and visibility standards,
82.8	and electronic file size;
82.9	(5) for a driver's license, the commissioner has a record that the applicant has undergone
82.10	an examination of the applicant's eyesight within the last two years, or the applicant submits
82.11	a vision examination certificate that:
82.12	(i) has been completed within the last two years;
82.13	(ii) is signed by a licensed physician or an optometrist, including one who holds a similar
82.14	license in a jurisdiction outside the United States; and
82.15	(iii) is in a form as prescribed by the commissioner;
82.16	(6) for an expired driver's license or Minnesota identification card:
82.17	(i) expiration was within the past five years;
82.18	(ii) expiration was due to driver's license or identification card issuance by another
82.19	jurisdiction; and
82.20	(iii) the application includes surrender or invalidation of a valid driver's license or
82.21	identification card issued by another jurisdiction; and
82.22	(7) the most recent issuance, reinstatement, or renewal was not performed under this
82.23	subdivision.
82.24	(c) A person who applies for a driver's license or Minnesota identification card under
82.25	this subdivision is not required to:
82.26	(1) take a knowledge examination;
82.27	(2) take a road examination to demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable
82.28	control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
82.29	(3) appear in-person for an updated photograph upon return to Minnesota.
82.30	(d) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible family member" means the applicant for
82.31	a driver's license or Minnesota identification card under this subdivision, the applicant's

83.1	spouse or domestic partner, and the applicant's parent or guardian if the applicant is a
83.2	dependent under age 26.
83.3	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
83.4	Subd. 15. Veteran designation. (a) At the request of an eligible applicant and on payment
83.5	of the required fee, the department shall issue, renew, or reissue to the applicant a driver's
83.6	license or Minnesota identification card bearing a graphic or written designation of:
83.7	(1) Veteran; or
83.8	(2) Veteran 100% T&P.
83.9	(b) At the time of the initial application for the designation provided under this
83.10	subdivision, the applicant must:
83.11	(1) either:
83.12	(i) be a veteran, as defined in section 197.447;
83.13	(2) have, who provides a certified copy of the veteran's federal form DD-214 or other
83.14	official discharge papers that describes the honorable service of the veteran; or
83.15	(ii) be a current or former member of the National Guard or a reserve component of the
83.16	United States armed forces, who provides a certified copy of the person's federal form
83.17	DD-214, form NGB-22, or official orders, showing that the person has honorably completed
83.18	the first full term of service; and
83.19	(3) (2) if the applicant is seeking the disability designation under paragraph (a), clause
83.20	(2), provide satisfactory evidence of a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected
83.21	disability as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
83.22	(c) The commissioner of public safety is required to issue drivers' licenses and Minnesota
83.23	identification cards with the veteran designation only after entering a new contract or in
83.24	coordination with producing a new card design with modifications made as required by
83.25	law. A driver's license or Minnesota identification card bearing the graphic or written
83.26	designation under paragraph (a) does not entitle the license or identification card holder to
83.27	state benefits not otherwise afforded under section 197.447.
83.28	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.071, is amended by adding a subdivision
83.29	to read:
83.30	Subd. 4. Variance for homebound individuals. (a) Notwithstanding section 171.07 or
83.31	Minnesota Rules, part 7410.1810, the commissioner may grant a variance from the

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2

84.1	photograph requirements for a honcomphant identification card if (1) the individual is
84.2	homebound as defined in paragraph (b); (2) the individual has submitted proof of homebound
84.3	status; and (3) the department has a photograph of the applicant on file that was taken within
84.4	the last four years or during the most recent renewal cycle or the applicant has submitted a
84.5	photograph to the department that meets the requirements of section 171.07, Minnesota
84.6	Rules, part 7410.1810, subpart 1, and other technical requirements established by the
84.7	commissioner such as background color and electronic file size to ensure the image can be
84.8	used on a credential and conforms with images taken by the department. Applicants granted
84.9	a photograph variance under this subdivision are not required to appear in person to have
84.10	a new photograph taken.
84.11	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "homebound" means the individual is unable to
84.12	leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical, or mental health condition or
84.13	infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker, or social worker.
84.14	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 7b, is amended to read:
84.15	Subd. 7b. Data privacy; noncompliant license or identification card. (a) With respect
84.16	to noncompliant licenses or identification cards, the commissioner is prohibited from:
84.17	(1) electronically disseminating outside the state data that is not disseminated as of May
84.18	19, 2017; or
84.19	(2) utilizing any electronic validation or verification system accessible from or maintained
84.20	outside the state that is not in use as of May 19, 2017.
84.21	(b) The limitations in paragraph (a) do not apply to the extent necessary to: (1) maintain
84.22	compliance with the driver's license compact under section 171.50 and applicable federal
84.23	law governing commercial driver's licenses; and (2) perform identity verification as part of
84.24	an application for a replacement Social Security card issued by the Social Security
84.25	Administration.
84.26	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "outside the state" includes federal agencies, states
84.27	other than Minnesota, organizations operating under agreement among the states, and private
84.28	entities.
84.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
84.30	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
84.31	Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,
94.22	disabled veterans (a) Expant as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall

examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner directs.

This examination must include:

85.1

85.2

85.3

85.4

85.5

85.6

85.7

85.8

85.9

85.10

85.11

85.12

85.13

85.14

85.15

85.16

85.17

85.18

85.19

85.20

85.21

85.22

85.23

85.24

85.25

85.26

85.27

85.28

- (1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;
- (2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic;
- (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;
- (4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
- (5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), no driver's license may be denied an applicant on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception. War veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.
- (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant.
- (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the applicant is eligible to take the examination.
- Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. <u>Initial motorcycle Two-wheeled vehicle</u> endorsement examination fee. A person applying for an initial motorcycle two-wheeled vehicle endorsement on a driver's

examination fee and, an endorsement fee, but does not include the fee for a duplicate driver's license as prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2a, and the appropriate driver's license fee as prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2. Of this amount, \$11 must be credited as provided in section 171.06, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1), \$2.50 must be credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund specified under section 299A.705, and the remainder must be credited to the general fund.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021, for driver's license application and issuance on or after that date.
- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 9. **Online driver's license knowledge testing authorization.** (a) The commissioner must implement online knowledge testing as provided in this subdivision. The commissioner must not charge a fee to a driver education program or an authorized entity for access to the online knowledge testing system or for administering the online knowledge test. The commissioner must administer the fourth or subsequent knowledge test for a person.
 - (b) Upon written request from a driver education program licensed by the department, the commissioner must grant access to the department's web-based knowledge testing system to the driver education program. Once granted access to the online knowledge testing system, a driver education program may administer the online knowledge test to a student of the program.
 - (c) An entity other than a driver education program may apply to the commissioner for authority to administer online knowledge tests. The commissioner may approve or disapprove an application for administering the online knowledge tests under this paragraph. Upon approving an application of an entity, the commissioner must grant access to the department's web-based knowledge testing system to that authorized entity. Once granted access to the online knowledge testing system, the authorized entity may administer the online knowledge test.
 - (d) A driver education program or authorized entity:
- (1) must provide all computers and equipment for persons that take the online knowledge test;
- 86.31 (2) must provide appropriate proctors to monitor persons taking the online knowledge 86.32 test; and
- 86.33 (3) may charge a fee of no more than \$10 for administering the online knowledge test.

86.1

86.2

86.3

86.4

86.5

86.6

86.7

86.8

86.9

86.11

86.12

86.13

86.14

86.15

86.16

86.17

86.18

86.19

86.20

86.21

86.22

86.23

86.24

86.25

86.26

86.27

87.1 (e) For purposes of paragraph (d), clause (2), a proctor must be an employee of the driver education program, authorized entity, a school, a charter school, or a state or local 87.2 government. The proctor must be physically present at the location where the test is being 87.3 administered. A proctor must not be a relative of the person taking the test. For purposes 87.4 of this paragraph, a relative is a spouse, fiance, fiance, grandparent, parent, child, sibling, 87.5 or legal guardian, including adoptive, half, step, and in-law relationships. 87.6 87.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 87.8 87.9 Subd. 2. Commissioner shall suspend Suspension on conviction. (a) The court may recommend the suspension of the driver's license of the person so convicted, and, subject 87.10 to the limitations in this section, the commissioner shall suspend such license as 87.11 recommended by the court, without a hearing as provided herein. 87.12 (b) The commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license if the 87.13 person was convicted only under section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2. 87.14 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 87.15 Subd. 3. Suspension for Failure to pay fine. When any court reports to The 87.16 commissioner is prohibited from suspending a person's driver's license based solely on the 87.17 fact that a person: (1) has been convicted of violating a law of this state or an ordinance of 87.18 a political subdivision which regulates the operation or parking of motor vehicles, (2) has 87.19 been sentenced to the payment of a fine or had a surcharge levied against that person, or 87.20 sentenced to a fine upon which a surcharge was levied, and (3) has refused or failed to 87.21 comply with that sentence or to pay the surcharge, notwithstanding the fact that the court 87.22 has determined that the person has the ability to pay the fine or surcharge, the commissioner 87.23 shall suspend the driver's license of such person for 30 days for a refusal or failure to pay 87.24 or until notified by the court that the fine or surcharge, or both if a fine and surcharge were 87.25 not paid, has been paid. 87.26 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, is amended by adding a subdivision to 87.27 read: 87.28 Subd. 7. **Suspension under reciprocal agreement.** (a) For purposes of this subdivision: 87.29 (1) "issuing jurisdiction" means a state, district, territory, or possession of the United 87.30 States or a province of a foreign country which has an agreement in effect with this state 87.31 pursuant to the nonresident violator compact; and 87.32

04/05/21 09:41 am HOU	SE RESEARCH ME	3/RK H1684DE2
-----------------------	----------------	---------------

88.1	(2) "traffic violation" means a violation of a traffic regulation relating to the operation
88.2	of a motor vehicle and excludes a parking, vehicle equipment, or vehicle weight limit
88.3	violation.
88.4	(b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 3 and 3a, the commissioner may suspend the driver's
88.5	license of a person licensed in this state upon receiving a report from an issuing jurisdiction
88.6	that the person:
88.7	(1) did not appear in court in compliance with the terms of a citation for a traffic violation
88.8	that, if committed in this state, is a petty misdemeanor or a violation under section 171.24,
88.9	subdivision 1; or
88.10	(2) is convicted of a traffic violation, is subject to a fine or surcharge, and has failed to
88.11	pay the fine or surcharge.
88.12	(c) A suspension is authorized under this subdivision only as necessary to conform with
88.13	the requirements of the nonresident violator compact.
88.14	(d) A suspension under this subdivision is subject to the notice requirements under
88.15	section 171.18, subdivision 2.
88.16	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
88.17	Subdivision 1. Offenses. (a) <u>Subject to section 171.16,</u> the commissioner may suspend
88.18	the license of a driver without preliminary hearing upon a showing by department records
88.19	or other sufficient evidence that the licensee:
88.20	(1) has committed an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required upon
88.21	conviction;
88.22	(2) has been convicted by a court for violating a provision of chapter 169 or an ordinance
88.23	regulating traffic, other than a conviction for a petty misdemeanor, and department records
88.24	show that the violation contributed in causing an accident resulting in the death or personal
88.25	injury of another, or serious property damage;
88.26	(3) is an habitually reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle;
88.27	(4) is an habitual violator of the traffic laws;
88.28	(5) is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle as determined in a judicial proceeding;
88.29	(6) has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license;
88.30	(7) has committed an offense in another state that, if committed in this state, would be
88.31	grounds for suspension;

89.1	(8) has committed a violation of section 169.444, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), within
89.2	five years of a prior conviction under that section;
89.3	(9) has committed a violation of section 171.22, except that the commissioner may not
89.4	suspend a person's driver's license based solely on the fact that the person possessed a
89.5	fictitious or fraudulently altered Minnesota identification card;
89.6	(10) has failed to appear in court as provided in section 169.92, subdivision 4;
89.7	(11) has failed to report a medical condition that, if reported, would have resulted in
89.8	cancellation of driving privileges;
89.9	(12) has been found to have committed an offense under section 169A.33; or
89.10	(13) has paid or attempted to pay a fee required under this chapter for a license or permit
89.11	by means of a dishonored check issued to the state or a driver's license agent, which must
89.12	be continued until the registrar determines or is informed by the agent that the dishonored
89.13	check has been paid in full.
89.14	However, an action taken by the commissioner under clause (2) or (5) must conform to the
89.15	recommendation of the court when made in connection with the prosecution of the licensee.
89.16	(b) The commissioner may not suspend is prohibited from suspending the driver's license
89.17	of an individual under paragraph (a) who was convicted of who meets any of the conditions
89.18	described in paragraph (a) due to a conviction for a violation of section 171.24, subdivision
89.19	1, whose license was under suspension at the time solely because of the individual's failure
89.20	to appear in court or failure to pay a fine or 2.
89.21	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.20, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
89.22	Subd. 4. Reinstatement fee. (a) Before the license is reinstated, a single \$20 reinstatement
89.23	fee is imposed for:
89.24	(1) an individual whose driver's license has been suspended under section 171.16,
89.25	subdivisions subdivision 2 and 3; 171.175; 171.18; or 171.182, or who has been disqualified
89.26	from holding a commercial driver's license under section 171.165, and:
89.27	(2) an individual whose driver's license has been suspended under section 171.186 and

under sections 169.791 to 169.798 must pay a \$20 reinstatement fee.

who is not exempt from such a fee, must pay a fee of \$20.; and

89.28

89.29

(b) Before the license is reinstated, (3) an individual whose license has been suspended

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
07/03/21 07.71 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	1/11/1/1/1/	IIIUUTDL2

90.1	(b) An individual whose driver's license is subject to more than one suspension and who
90.2	is otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a single reinstatement fee and a single filing
90.3	fee. An individual whose driver's license has been suspended and revoked and who is
90.4	otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a single reinstatement fee as provided in
90.5	section 171.29.
90.6	(c) When fees are collected by a licensing driver's license agent appointed under section
90.7	171.061, a handling charge filing fee is imposed in the amount specified under section
90.8	171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fee and surcharge filing fee must be deposited
90.9	in an approved state depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.
90.10	(d) Reinstatement fees collected under paragraph (a) for suspensions under sections
90.11	171.16, subdivision 3, and section 171.18, subdivision 1, clause (10), must be deposited in
90.12	the general fund.
90.13	(e) A suspension may be rescinded without fee for good cause.
90.14	Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.27, is amended to read:
90.15	171,27 EXPIRATION OF LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL; MILITARY
90.16	EXCEPTION EXCEPTIONS.
90.17	Subdivision 1. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration
90.18	date for each driver's license is the birthday of the driver in the fourth year following the
90.19	date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the driver shall be as indicated on the
90.20	application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or within
90.21	one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing the
90.22	examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be extended or
90.23	renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the
90.24	commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
90.25	(b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the licensee.
90.26	Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required
90.27	fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall
90.28	be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a
90.29	driver.
90.30	(c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of

90.31

application for the provisional license.

91.1	(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license issued to a
91.2	person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United
91.3	States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.
91.4	Subd. 2. Extension of expiration. (e) Any valid Minnesota driver's license issued to (a)
91.5	For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible individual" means:
91.6	(1) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service,
91.7	as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the
91.8	United States-;
91.9	(2) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota as a volunteer in the Peace
91.10	Corps;
91.11	(3) a person who is an employee of a federal department or agency and is assigned to
91.12	foreign service outside of the United States; or
91.13	(4) the person's spouse, shall continue domestic partner, or dependent under age 26 of
91.14	a person in clause (1), (2) or (3).
91.15	(b) A valid Minnesota driver's license issued to an eligible individual continues in full
91.16	force and effect without requirement for renewal until the date one year following the service
91.17	member's person's separation or discharge from active military or volunteer service, or
91.18	following the conclusion of assignment to foreign service outside the United States, and
91.19	until the license holder's birthday in the fourth full year following the person's most recent
91.20	license renewal or, in the case of a provisional license, until the person's birthday in the
91.21	third full year following the renewal.
91.22	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.29, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
91.23	Subd. 2. Reinstatement fees and surcharges allocated and appropriated. (a) An
91.24	individual whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1, except
91.25	under section 169A.52, 169A.54, 171.177, 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114, or Minnesota
91.26	Statutes 2012, section 609.21, by reason of one or more convictions, pleas of guilty,
91.27	forfeitures of bail not vacated, or mandatory revocations under section 169.791, 169.792,
91.28	169.797, 171.17, or 171.172, and who is otherwise eligible for reinstatement must pay a
91.29	single \$30 fee before the driver's license is reinstated. An individual whose driver's license
91.30	has been revoked under provisions specified in both this paragraph and paragraph (b) must
91.31	pay a single reinstatement fee as provided in paragraph (b).
91.32	(b) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under
91.33	one or more provisions of section 169A.52, 169A.54, 171.177, 609.2112, 609.2113, or

609.2114, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21, must pay a <u>single</u> \$250 fee plus a <u>single</u> \$430 surcharge before the driver's license is reinstated, except as provided in paragraph (f). The \$250 fee is to must be credited as follows:

- (1) twenty percent must be credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund as specified in section 299A.705-;
 - (2) sixty-seven percent must be credited to the general fund-;

92.1

92.2

92.3

92.4

92.5

92.6

92.7

92.8

92.9

92.10

92.11

92.12

92.13

92.14

92.15

92.16

92.17

92.18

92.19

92.20

92.21

92.22

92.23

92.24

92.25

92.26

92.27

92.28

- (3) eight percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension account. Money in this account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety and the appropriated amount must be apportioned 80 percent for laboratory costs and 20 percent for carrying out the provisions of section 299C.065-; and
- (4) five percent must be credited to a separate account to be known as the vehicle forfeiture account, which is created in the special revenue fund. The money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for costs of handling vehicle forfeitures.
- (c) The revenue from \$50 of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be known as the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The revenue from \$50 of the surcharge on a reinstatement under paragraph (f) is credited from the first installment payment to the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account. The money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of health to be used as follows: 83 percent for contracts with a qualified community-based organization to provide information, resources, and support to assist persons with traumatic brain injury and their families to access services, and 17 percent to maintain the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury registry created in section 144.662. For the purposes of this paragraph, a "qualified community-based organization" is a private, not-for-profit organization of consumers of traumatic brain injury services and their family members. The organization must be registered with the United States Internal Revenue Service under section 501(c)(3) as a tax-exempt organization and must have as its purposes:
- (1) the promotion of public, family, survivor, and professional awareness of the incidence and consequences of traumatic brain injury;
- 92.30 (2) the provision of a network of support for persons with traumatic brain injury, their 92.31 families, and friends;
- 92.32 (3) the development and support of programs and services to prevent traumatic brain 92.33 injury;

(4) the establishment of education programs for persons with traumatic brain injury; and

(5) the empowerment of persons with traumatic brain injury through participation in its governance.

- A patient's name, identifying information, or identifiable medical data must not be disclosed to the organization without the informed voluntary written consent of the patient or patient's guardian or, if the patient is a minor, of the parent or guardian of the patient.
- (d) The remainder of the surcharge must be credited to a separate account to be known as the remote electronic alcohol-monitoring program account. The commissioner shall transfer the balance of this account to the commissioner of management and budget on a monthly basis for deposit in the general fund.
- (e) When these fees are collected by a <u>licensing driver's license</u> agent, appointed under section 171.061, a <u>handling charge filing fee</u> is imposed in the amount specified under section 171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fees <u>and</u>, surcharge, and filing fee must be deposited in an approved depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.
- (f) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as provided in subdivision 1 under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177 and who the court certifies as being financially eligible for a public defender under section 611.17, may choose to pay 50 percent and an additional \$25 of the total amount of the surcharge and 50 percent of the fee required under paragraph (b) to reinstate the person's driver's license, provided the person meets all other requirements of reinstatement. If a person chooses to pay 50 percent of the total and an additional \$25, the driver's license must expire after two years. The person must pay an additional 50 percent less \$25 of the total to extend the license for an additional two years, provided the person is otherwise still eligible for the license. After this final payment of the surcharge and fee, the license may be renewed on a standard schedule, as provided under section 171.27. A handling charge filing fee may be imposed for each installment payment. Revenue from the handling charge filing fee is credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner.
- (g) Any person making installment payments under paragraph (f), whose driver's license subsequently expires, or is canceled, revoked, or suspended before payment of 100 percent of the surcharge and fee, must pay the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement before the driver's license is subsequently reinstated. Upon payment of the outstanding balance due for the initial reinstatement, the person may pay any new surcharge and fee imposed under paragraph (b) in installment payments as provided under paragraph (f).

93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4

93.5

93.6

93.7

93.8

93.9

93.10

93.11

93.12

93.13

93.14

93.15

93.16

93.17

93.18

93.19

93.20

93.21

93.22

93.23

93.24

93.25

93.26

93.27

93.28

93.29

93.30

93.31

93.32

94.1	Sec. 56. [171.325] DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS;
94.2	REPORTS.
94.3	Subdivision 1. Issuance, suspensions, and revocations. (a) Annually by February 15,
94.4	the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members
94.5	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety and transportation on the
94.6	status of drivers' licenses issued, suspended, and revoked. The commissioner must make
94.7	the report available on the department's website.
94.8	(b) At a minimum, the report must include:
94.9	(1) the total number of drivers' licenses issued, suspended, and revoked as of January 1
94.10	of the year the report is submitted, broken down by county;
94.11	(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of drivers' licenses
94.12	suspended and the number of suspended licenses reinstated; and
94.13	(3) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the total number of drivers' licenses
94.14	revoked and the number of revoked licenses reinstated.
94.15	(c) For purposes of paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), and (3), the report must identify each
94.16	type of suspension or revocation authorized by statute or rule and include the number of
94.17	licenses suspended or revoked for each type.
94.18	Subd. 2. Charges, convictions, and fines. (a) Annually by February 15, the state court
94.19	administrator must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
94.20	committees with jurisdiction over public safety and transportation on (1) charges and
94.21	convictions for driving after suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations
94.22	related to operation of a motor vehicle. The administrator must make the report available
94.23	on the state court's website.
94.24	(b) At a minimum, the report must include:
94.25	(1) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of charges under section
94.26	171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the charges for each subdivision and indicating
94.27	whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant;
94.28	(2) for each of the previous eight calendar years, the number of convictions under section
94.29	171.24, subdivisions 1 and 2, broken down by the convictions for each subdivision and
94.30	indicating whether the court appointed the public defender to represent the defendant; and
94.31	(3) for the past calendar year, for all charges on violations related to the operation of a
94.32	motor vehicle and included on the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101,

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

95.1	subdivision 4, the percentage of fines, broken down by whether the court appointed the
95.2	public defender to represent the defendant, that:
95.3	(i) were paid in full by the due date on the citation;
95.4	(ii) were paid in full through a payment plan;
95.5	(iii) accrued late charges;
95.6	(iv) were sent to court collections; and
95.7	(v) were sent to the Department of Revenue for collection.
95.8	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
95.9	read:
95.10	Subd. 3. Vehicle miles traveled reduction goal. (a) It is the goal of the state to reduce
95.11	vehicle miles traveled by at least 20 percent by 2050, on a statewide basis.
95.12	(b) For the goal specified in paragraph (a), the commissioner must:
95.13	(1) establish a baseline amount or year;
95.14	(2) establish separate goals for metropolitan and rural areas of the state, in a manner that
95.15	accounts for differences in transportation options and patterns;
95.16	(3) analyze establishment of goal components for regions of the state, per capita vehicle
95.17	milestraveled, interim years, or a combination;
95.18	(4) incorporate the goal as appropriate into the department's planning and project
95.19	development activities;
95.20	(5) perform annual tracking and analysis; and
95.21	(6) provide information to the general public regarding each of the requirements specified
95.22	in this subdivision, which may be in the form of reporting on sustainability, inclusion in the
95.23	statewide multimodal transportation plan under section 174.03, subdivision 1a, or other
95.24	means.
95.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
95.26	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
95.27	Subd. 1c. Statewide Minnesota state highway investment plan. Within one year of
95.28	each revision of the statewide multimodal transportation plan under subdivision 1a, the

commissioner must prepare a 20-year statewide Minnesota state highway investment plan that:

- (1) incorporates performance measures and targets for assessing progress and achievement of the state's transportation goals, objectives, and policies identified in this chapter for the state trunk highway system, and those goals, objectives, and policies established in the statewide multimodal transportation plan. Performance targets must be based on objectively verifiable measures, and address, at a minimum₅:
- (i) preservation and maintenance of the structural condition of state highway <u>roadways</u>, bridges, and pavements, roadside infrastructure, and traveler related facilities;
- 96.10 (ii) safety;; and

96.1

96.2

96.3

96.4

96.5

96.6

96.7

96.8

96.9

96.18

96.19

96.20

- 96.11 (iii) mobility;
- 96.12 (2) summarizes trends and impacts for each performance target over the past five years;
- 96.13 (3) summarizes the amount and analyzes the impact of the department's capital investments and priorities over the past five years on each performance target, including a comparison of prior plan projected costs with actual costs;
- 96.16 (4) identifies the investments required to meet the established performance targets over 96.17 the next 20-year period;
 - (5) projects available state and federal funding over the 20-year period, including any unique, competitive, time-limited, or focused funding opportunities;
 - (6) identifies strategies to ensure the most efficient use of existing transportation infrastructure, and to maximize the performance benefits of projected available funding;
- 96.22 (7) establishes investment priorities for projected funding, including which must:
- (i) provide for cost-effective preservation, maintenance, and repair to address the goal under section 174.01, subdivision 2, clause (9), in a manner that aligns with other goals in that section;
- 96.26 (ii) as appropriate, provide a schedule of major projects or improvement programs for 96.27 the 20-year period together with; and
- 96.28 (iii) identify resulting projected costs and impact on performance targets; and
- (8) identifies those performance targets identified under clause (1) not expected to meet the target outcome over the 20-year period together with alternative strategies that could be implemented to meet the targets.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

97.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, and
97.2	applies starting with the next update to the plan under this section.
97.3	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.03, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
97.4	Subd. 12. Asset management Trunk highway performance, resiliency, and
97.5	sustainability. (a) The commissioner must maintain implement performance measures and
97.6	annual targets for the trunk highway system in order to construct resilient infrastructure,
97.7	enhance the project selection for all transportation modes, improve economic security, and
97.8	achieve the state transportation goals established in section 174.01.
97.9	(b) At a minimum, the transportation planning process must include:
97.10	(1) an inventory of transportation assets, including but not limited to bridge, pavement,
97.11	geotechnical, pedestrian, bicycle, and transit asset categories;
97.12	(2) lag (resulting), and where practicable lead (predictive), performance measures and
97.13	annual targets that are:
97.14	(i) statewide and district-specific;
97.15	(ii) for assets in each asset category specified in clause (1) for a period of up to 60 years;
97.16	<u>and</u>
97.17	(iii) identified in collaboration with the public;
97.18	(3) gap identification and an explanation of the difference between performance targets
97.19	and current status; and
97.20	(4) life cycle assessment and corridor risk assessment as part of asset management
97.21	programs in each district of the department.
97.22	(c) At a minimum, the ten-year capital highway investment plan in each district of the
97.23	department must:
97.24	(1) be based on expected funding during the plan period;
97.25	(2) identify investments within each of the asset categories specified in paragraph (b),
97.26	<u>clause (1);</u>
97.27	(3) recommend specific trunk highway segments to be removed from the trunk highway
97.28	system; and
97.29	(4) deliver annual progress toward achieving the state transportation goals established
97.30	<u>in section 174.01.</u>

(d) Annually by December 15, the commissioner must report trunk highway performance 98.1 measures and annual targets and identify gaps, including information detailing the 98.2 98.3 department's progress on achieving the state transportation goals, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over transportation 98.4 policy and finance. The report must be signed by the department's chief engineer. 98.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021. The initial performance 98.6 implementation report under this section is due December 15, 2022. 98.7 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.185, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 98.8 Subd. 3. **Report.** The commissioner shall report annually to the chairs and ranking 98.9 minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction 98.10 over transportation finance beginning on January 1, 2012, the results of the analyses required 98.11 in subdivision 2. 98.12 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.24, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 98.13 Subd. 7. Transit service for disabled veterans. On and after July 1, 2009, An eligible 98.14 recipient of operating assistance under this section, who contracts or has contracted to 98.15 provide fixed route public transit, shall provide fixed route public transit service free of 98.16 charge for veterans, as defined in section 197.447, certified as disabled. For purposes of 98.17 this section, "certified as disabled" means certified in writing by the United States Department 98.18 of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans affairs as having a permanent 98.19 service-connected disability. 98.20 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.285, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 98.21 Subd. 5. **Report.** By January 15 of each year, beginning in 2012, the council shall report 98.22 its findings, recommendations, and activities to the governor's office and to the chairs and 98.23 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation, 98.24 health, and human services, and to the legislature as provided under section 3.195. 98.25 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 98.26 Subd. 5. **Program administration.** (a) The commissioner shall establish general program 98.27 requirements and a competitive process for financial assistance, including but not limited 98.28 to eligibility requirements for grant recipients and projects; procedures for solicitation of 98.29 grants; application requirements; procedures for payment of financial assistance awards; 98.30 and a schedule for application, evaluation, and award of financial assistance. 98.31

/1			1			
/h	1 An	01010	lication	muct	1110	באנו
(0	ιдш	avv.	lication	musi	\mathbf{H}	luuc.
(-	,	-				

99.1

99.2

99.5

99.6

99.7

99.8

99.9

- (1) a detailed and specific description of the project;
- 99.3 (2) an estimate, along with necessary supporting evidence, of the total costs for the project and the allocation of identified and proposed funding sources for the project;
 - (3) an assessment of the need for and benefits of the project;
 - (4) a resolution adopted by the governing body of the school for which a safe routes to school grant is requested, certifying that: (i) the governing body of the school supports the project; and (ii) funds, if any, required to be supplied by the school to complete the project are available and committed;
- 99.10 (5) a timeline indicating the major milestones of the project and their anticipated 99.11 completion dates; and
- 99.12 (6) any additional information or material the commissioner prescribes.
- 99.13 (c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to (1) publicize each solicitation 99.14 for applications among all eligible recipients, and (2) provide technical and informational 99.15 assistance in creating and submitting applications.
- (d) By January 1, 2013, The commissioner of transportation shall publish and maintain a manual on the safe routes to school program that assists applicants for and recipients of financial assistance. The manual must include a list of eligibility and general program requirements, an explanation of the application process, and a review of the criteria used to evaluate projects.

99.21 Sec. 64. [174.48] ELECTRIC VEHICLE INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT

99.22 **PROGRAM.**

- 99.23 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given them.
- 99.25 (b) "Battery exchange station" means infrastructure that enables a used electric vehicle
 99.26 battery to be removed and exchanged for a fresh electric vehicle battery.
- 99.27 (c) "Charging station" means infrastructure that (1) transfers electricity to an electric vehicle battery; or (2) dispenses hydrogen into an electric vehicle that uses a fuel cell to convert the chemical energy of hydrogen directly into electricity through electrochemical reactions.
- 99.31 (d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

100.1	(e) "Electric vehicle" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 26a.
100.2	(f) "Electric vehicle infrastructure" means charging stations, battery exchange stations,
100.3	and any associated equipment and infrastructure necessary to support the operation of electric
100.4	vehicles and to make electricity available to the charging station or battery exchange station.
100.5	(g) "Financial assistance" includes authorization to expend funds on a Department of
100.6	Transportation project.
100.7	(h) "Program" means the electric vehicle infrastructure development program established
100.8	in this section.
100.9	Subd. 2. Program established. Subject to available funds, the commissioner must
100.10	implement a program that provides financial assistance to expand electric vehicle
100.11	infrastructure and electric vehicle adoption statewide on a geographically balanced basis.
100.12	In implementing the program, the commissioner must consult with the commissioners of
100.13	the Pollution Control Agency and commerce.
100.14	Subd. 3. Electric vehicle infrastructure account. An electric vehicle infrastructure
100.15	account is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided
100.16	by law and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the
100.17	account. Money in the account must be expended only for the program under this section.
100.18	Subd. 4. Program administration. (a) The commissioner must establish program
100.19	requirements, including but not limited to: eligibility of recipients and projects, subject to
100.20	subdivisions 5 and 8; solicitation procedures; application requirements that minimize
100.21	applicant burdens; procedures for awards and payment of financial assistance; and a schedule
100.22	for application, evaluation, and award of financial assistance.
100.23	(b) The commissioner may provide grants or other financial assistance for a project, at
100.24	the commissioner's discretion.
100.25	(c) The commissioner must maintain, on an Internet website, information regarding the
100.26	program, including an overview of the program, application requirements, project evaluation
100.27	criteria, and historical details on annual awards of financial assistance.
100.28	(d) The commissioner may use up to two percent of expended funds in a fiscal year for
100.29	administrative costs of the program.
100.30	Subd. 5. Eligibility. Eligible recipients of financial assistance under this section are:
100.31	(1) a state agency, including the Department of Transportation;
100.32	(2) a political subdivision; and

101.1	(3) a tribal government of a tribe recognized by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, United
101.2	States Department of the Interior.
101.3	Subd. 6. Project selection; criteria and priorities. The commissioner must establish
101.4	a competitive project evaluation and selection process. The process must include criteria
101.5	and prioritization of projects based on:
101.6	(1) extent to which the project addresses gaps, deficiencies, or barriers in a statewide
101.7	electric vehicle network or in electric vehicle adoption, including but not limited to:
101.8	(i) highway corridors that provide connections between rural communities and from
101.9	rural communities to metropolitan areas; and
101.10	(ii) key destinations within a community;
101.11	(2) extent of predicted use of the electric vehicle infrastructure or electric vehicles;
101.12	(3) partnerships with private entities;
101.13	(4) commitment of funds or in-kind assistance for the project, or for a directly related
101.14	project, from private sources;
101.15	(5) for an electric vehicle infrastructure project, coordination with other anticipated
101.16	private electric vehicle infrastructure development;
101.17	(6) benefits to communities that are:
101.18	(i) historically or currently underrepresented in transportation planning or infrastructure
101.19	development and maintenance; or
101.20	(ii) disproportionately impacted by environmental impacts from the transportation sector;
101.21	(7) geographic balance as required under subdivision 7, paragraph (b);
101.22	(8) alignment with industry technical standards and protocols; and
101.23	(9) criteria as determined by the commissioner.
101.24	Subd. 7. Award requirements. (a) A financial assistance award may not exceed 80
101.25	percent of a project's total estimated costs.
101.26	(b) The commissioner must ensure that financial assistance is provided in a manner that
101.27	is balanced and equitable throughout the state, including with respect to (1) the number of
101.28	projects funded in a particular geographic location or region of the state, and (2) the total
101.29	amount of financial assistance provided for projects in a particular geographic location or
101.30	region of the state.

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
07/03/21 07.71 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	1/11/1/1/1/	IIIUUTDL2

102.1	Subd. 8. Use of funds. (a) Permissible uses of financial assistance awarded under the
102.2	program are:
102.3	(1) planning, market assessment, and other analysis activities related to electric vehicle
102.4	infrastructure or electric vehicles;
102.5	(2) project development, environmental analysis, property acquisition, construction, and
102.6	capital maintenance of electric vehicle infrastructure; and
102.7	(3) incremental costs for passenger and light-duty electric vehicles, including procurement
102.8	and ongoing maintenance.
102.9	(b) Electric vehicle infrastructure and electric vehicles for which financial assistance is
102.10	awarded must be owned by an eligible recipient under the program, support an electric
102.11	vehicle fleet of an eligible recipient, or support publicly available charging stations or battery
102.12	exchange stations.
102.13	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 6d, is amended to read:
102.14	Subd. 6d. Major local bridges. For an appropriation made specifically for purposes of
102.15	this subdivision, (a) The commissioner may make grants pursuant to this subdivision only
102.16	if an enacted appropriation specifically references this specific subdivision. The commissioner
102.17	must not make grants pursuant to this subdivision if an enacted appropriation references
102.18	this section generally.
102.19	(b) When authorized as provided in paragraph (a), the commissioner may make a grant
102.20	under this section to any political subdivision for replacement or rehabilitation of a major
102.21	local bridge in which the grant award is with a total project cost estimate of \$7,000,000 or
102.22	more. If in any year money appropriated for local bridge replacement and rehabilitation
102.23	projects under this subdivision remains available after all identified and eligible projects
102.24	under this subdivision have been funded, the commissioner may use remaining funds to
102.25	make grants under this section for replacement or rehabilitation projects with a total project
102.26	cost estimate of less than \$7,000,000.
102.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made
102.28	on or after that date.
102.29	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.50, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
102.30	Subd. 7. Bridge grant program; rulemaking. (a) The commissioner of transportation
102.31	shall develop rules, procedures for application for grants, conditions of grant administration,
102.32	standards, and criteria as provided under subdivision 6, including bridge specifications, in

cooperation with road authorities of political subdivisions, for use in the administration of funds appropriated to the commissioner and for the administration of grants to subdivisions. Grants under this section are subject to the procedures and criteria established in this subdivision and in subdivisions 5 and 6.

- (b) The maximum use of standardized bridges is encouraged. Regardless of the size of the existing bridge, a bridge or replacement bridge is eligible for assistance from the state transportation fund if a hydrological survey indicates that the bridge or replacement bridge must be ten feet or more in length.
- (c) As part of the standards or rules, the commissioner shall, in consultation with local road authorities, establish a minimum distance between any two bridges that cross over the 103.10 same river, stream, or waterway, so that only one of the bridges is eligible for a grant under this section. As appropriate, the commissioner may establish exceptions from the minimum 103.12 distance requirement or procedures for obtaining a variance. 103.13
 - (d) Political subdivisions may use grants made under this section to construct or reconstruct bridges, including but not limited to:
- (1) matching federal aid grants to construct or reconstruct key bridges; 103.16
- (2) paying the costs to abandon an existing bridge that is deficient and in need of 103.17 replacement but where no replacement will be made; and 103.18
 - (3) paying the costs to construct a road or street to facilitate the abandonment of an existing bridge if the commissioner determines that the bridge is deficient, and that construction of the road or street is more economical than replacement of the existing bridge.
- (e) Funds appropriated to the commissioner from the Minnesota state transportation 103.22 fund shall be segregated from the highway tax user distribution fund and other funds created 103.23 by article XIV of the Minnesota Constitution. 103.24
- (f) Except as provided in subdivision 6d, the commissioner is prohibited from awarding 103.25 a grant under this section for a local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project with a total 103.26 103.27 project cost estimate of \$7,000,000 or more. The commissioner must maintain a local bridge project list that includes every project: 103.28
- 103.29 (1) that is a local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project;
- (2) that has approved plans or is in the design process; and 103.30
- (3) for which the county or city has hired a bridge consultant to develop the bridge plans 103.31 for approval by the department.

103.1

103.2

103.3

103.4

103.5

103.6

103.7

103.8

103.9

103.11

103.14

103.15

103.19

103.20

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2

The list must include the total project cost estimate for each project. The commissioner 104.1 must update this list annually. The commissioner must publish the list on the department's 104.2 104.3 website. (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the commissioner may award a grant under this 104.4 104.5 section for a portion of a local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project with a total project cost estimate of \$7,000,000 or more if every other local bridge replacement or 104.6 rehabilitation project on the commissioner's priority list with a total project cost estimate 104.7 104.8 of less than \$7,000,000 has been fully funded. The commissioner is prohibited from awarding a grant of \$7,000,000 or more under this section for a local bridge replacement or 104.9 rehabilitation project, except: 104.10 (1) for major local bridges as provided in subdivision 6d; or 104.11 (2) if every other local bridge replacement or rehabilitation project with a total project 104.12 cost estimate of \$7,000,000 or less on the local bridge project list required in paragraph (f) 104.13 has been fully funded. 104.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to grants made 104.15 104.16 on or after that date. Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 174.56, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 104.17 104.18 Subdivision 1. Report required. (a) The commissioner of transportation shall submit a report by December 15 of each year on (1) the status of major highway projects completed 104.19 during the previous two years or under construction or planned during the year of the report 104.20 and for the ensuing 15 years, (2) trunk highway fund expenditures, and (3) beginning with 104.21 the report due in 2016, efficiencies achieved during the previous two fiscal years. 104.22 (b) For purposes of this section, a "major highway project" is a highway project that has 104.23 a total cost for all segments that the commissioner estimates at the time of the report to be 104.24 at least (1) \$15,000,000 in the metropolitan highway construction district, or (2) \$5,000,000 104.25 in any nonmetropolitan highway construction district. 104.26 Sec. 68. [174.58] STATE ROAD CONSTRUCTION PRIOR APPROPRIATIONS. 104.27 (a) For purposes of this section, "biennium" has the meaning given in section 16A.011, 104.28 subdivision 6. 104.29 (b) An appropriation to the commissioner of transportation for the state road construction 104.30 budget activity in any prior fiscal year is available to the commissioner in the current fiscal 104.31

104.32

year, only to the extent that the commissioner spends the money on the state road construction

project for which the money was first encumbered during the biennium in which it was originally appropriated.

- Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.015, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Positions Program established; inspector powers and duties. (a) The 105.4 commissioner of transportation shall must establish three a state rail safety inspector positions 105.5 in the Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations of the Minnesota Department 105.6 105.7 of Transportation. On or after July 1, 2015, the commissioner may establish a fourth state rail safety inspector position following consultation with railroad companies inspection 105.8 program that may include state rail safety inspectors and supervision as determined by the 105.9 commissioner. The commissioner shall apply to and enter into agreements with the Federal 105.10 Railroad Administration (FRA) of the United States Department of Transportation to 105.11 participate in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program for training and certification of an inspector to train and certify inspectors under authority of United States Code, title 49, sections 20103, 20105, 20106, and 20113, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, 105.14 part 212. 105.15
- 105.16 (b) A state rail safety inspector shall may:
- (1) inspect mainline track, secondary track, and yard and industry track;
- 105.18 (2) inspect railroad right-of-way, including adjacent or intersecting drainage, culverts, bridges, overhead structures, and traffic and other public crossings;
- 105.20 (3) inspect yards and physical plants;
- 105.21 (4) inspect train equipment;

105.1

- 105.22 (5) inspect railroad operations;
- 105.23 (6) inspect railroad-highway grade crossings;
- 105.24 (7) inspect railroad signal and train control systems;
- 105.25 (8) review and enforce safety requirements;
- 105.26 (9) review maintenance and repair records; and
- 105.27 (10) review railroad security measures.
- 105.28 (c) A state rail safety inspector may perform, but is not limited to, the duties described 105.29 in the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program. An inspector may train, be certified, 105.30 and participate in any of the federal State Rail Safety Participation Program disciplines,

including: track, signal and train control, motive power and equipment, operating practices compliance, hazardous materials, and highway-rail grade crossings.

- (d) To the extent delegated by the Federal Railroad Administration and authorized by the commissioner, an inspector may issue citations for violations of this chapter, or to ensure railroad employee and public safety and welfare.
- Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.015, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Railroad company assessment; account; appropriation. (a) As provided in this subdivision, the commissioner shall annually assess railroad companies that are (1) defined as common carriers under section 218.011; (2) classified by federal law or regulation as Class I Railroads, Class I Rail Carriers, Class II Railroads, or Class II Carriers; and (3) 106.10 106.11 operating in this state.
 - (b) The assessment must be by a division of calculated to allocate state rail safety inspector inspection program costs in equal proportion between proportionally among carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota, assessed in equal amounts for 365 days of the calendar year at the time of assessment. The commissioner shall assess must include in the assessment calculation all start-up or re-establishment costs, all related costs of initiating the state rail safety inspector inspection program costs to support up to six rail safety inspector positions, including but not limited to salary, administration, supervision, travel, equipment, training, and ongoing state rail inspector duties.
- (c) The assessments collected under this subdivision must be deposited in a special account in the special revenue fund, to be known as the state rail safety inspection account, 106.21 which is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided by this subdivision and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner for the establishment and ongoing responsibilities of to administer the state rail safety inspector inspection program.
- Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 219.1651, is amended to read: 106.27

219.1651 GRADE CROSSING SAFETY ACCOUNT. 106.28

A Minnesota grade crossing safety account is created in the special revenue fund, 106.29 consisting of money credited to the account by law. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for rail-highway grade crossing safety projects on 106.31 public streets and highways, including engineering costs and other costs associated with 106.32

106.1

106.2

106.3

106.4

106.5

106.6

106.7

106.8

106.9

106.12

106.13

106.15

106.16

106.17

106.18

106.19

106.20

106.22

106.23

106.24

106.25

administration and delivery of grade crossing safety projects. At the discretion of the commissioner of transportation, money in the account at the end of each biennium may cancel to the trunk highway fund.

- Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 296A.083, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Debt service forecast.** On June 30, 2008, and each March 1 thereafter April 1 each year, the commissioner of management and budget shall report to the commissioner of revenue on trunk highway debt service. The report must include the annual amount of revenue from the surcharge previously deposited in the trunk highway fund, and a forecast of the total and annual amounts necessary to pay the remaining debt service.
- Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.64, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Payment of excess fees.** (a) On the first sales tax return due following the end of a calendar year during which a lessor has imposed a fee under subdivision 2, the lessor shall report to the commissioner of revenue, in the form required by the commissioner, the amount of the fee collected during the previous year and the amount of motor vehicle registration taxes paid during the previous year by the lessor under chapter 168 on vehicles subject to the fee under this section.
- 107.17 (b) If the amount of the fees collected exceeds the amount of motor vehicle registration taxes paid, the lessor shall remit the excess to the commissioner of revenue at the time the report is submitted.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), for fee collections in calendar years 2021 through

 2025, the lessor may retain any excess fees collected such that the total retained under this

 paragraph does not exceed the shortfall amount. For purposes of this paragraph, "shortfall

 amount" means the greater of (1) zero, or (2) the total motor vehicle registration taxes paid

 in calendar year 2020, less the total collected by the lessor in 2020 from the fee imposed

 under subdivision 2.
- Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.55, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Allocation of funds.** (a) Subject to funding appropriated for this subdivision, the commissioner shall provide funds for training and response preparedness related to (1) derailments, discharge incidents, or spills involving trains carrying oil or other hazardous substances, and (2) pipeline discharge incidents or spills involving oil or other hazardous substances.
- (b) The commissioner shall allocate available funds as follows:

107.1

107.2

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
07/03/21 07.71 am	11005L KESL/MC11	11110/1112	111007012

108.1	(1) \$100,000 annually for emergency response teams; and
108.2	(2) the remaining amount to the Board of Firefighter Training and Education under
108.3	section 299N.02 and the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management.
108.4	(c) Prior to making allocations under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall consult with
108.5	the Fire Service Advisory Committee under section 299F.012, subdivision 2.
108.6	(d) The commissioner and the entities identified in paragraph (b), clause (2), shall
108.7	prioritize uses of funds based on:
108.8	(1) firefighter training needs;
108.9	(2) community risk from discharge incidents or spills;
108.10	(3) geographic balance; and
108.11	(4) risks to the general public; and
108.12	(5) recommendations of the Fire Service Advisory Committee.
108.13	(e) The following are permissible uses of funds provided under this subdivision:
108.14	(1) training costs, which may include, but are not limited to, training curriculum, trainers
108.15	trainee overtime salary, other personnel overtime salary, and tuition;
108.16	(2) costs of gear and equipment related to hazardous materials readiness, response, and
108.17	management, which may include, but are not limited to, original purchase, maintenance,
108.18	and replacement;
108.19	(3) supplies related to the uses under clauses (1) and (2); and
108.20	(4) emergency preparedness planning and coordination;
108.21	(5) grants to local community organizations as provided in subdivision 3a; and
108.22	(6) community education and outreach.
108.23	(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), clause (2), from funds in the railroad and pipeline
108.24	safety account provided for the purposes under this subdivision, the commissioner may
108.25	retain a balance in the account for budgeting in subsequent fiscal years.
108.26	Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.55, is amended by adding a subdivision

Article 6 Sec. 75.

108.27 to read:

108.28

108.29

however organized, may receive a grant under this section to engage in community-based

Subd. 3a. Community-based preparedness. A local community organization or entity,

emergency preparedness and response planning activities. Eligible uses of the funds include but are not limited to:

- (1) incident response or readiness planning that is community-specific and focused on response actions by the general public;
- 109.5 (2) stakeholder engagement on derailments and hazardous substance discharge incidents; 109.6 and
- 109.7 (3) entering into an agreement with a technical adviser for informational, planning, or other technical assistance to the local community organization or entity.

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299D.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Traffic fines and forfeited bail money. (a) All fines and forfeited bail money collected from persons apprehended or arrested by officers of the State Patrol shall be transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines, forfeited bail money, or installments thereof, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which these moneys were collected, to the commissioner of management and budget. Except where a different disposition is required in this subdivision or section 387.213, or otherwise provided by law, three-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state general fund. The other five-eighths of these receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited as follows: (1) the first \$1,000,000 \$2,500,000 in each fiscal year must be credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account in the special revenue fund, and (2) remaining receipts must be credited to the state trunk highway fund. If, however, the violation occurs within a municipality and the city attorney prosecutes the offense, and a plea of not guilty is entered, one-third of the receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state general fund, one-third of the receipts shall be paid to the municipality prosecuting the offense, and one-third shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the Minnesota grade crossing safety account or the state trunk highway fund as provided in this paragraph. When section 387.213 also is applicable to the fine, section 387.213 shall be applied before this paragraph is applied. All costs of participation in a nationwide police communication system chargeable to the state of Minnesota shall be paid from appropriations for that purpose.

(b) All fines and forfeited bail money from violations of statutes governing the maximum weight of motor vehicles, collected from persons apprehended or arrested by employees of the state of Minnesota, by means of stationary or portable scales operated by these employees, shall be transmitted by the person or officer collecting the fines or forfeited bail money, on or before the tenth day after the last day of the month in which the collections were made,

109.1

109.2

109.3

109.4

109.10

109.11

109.12

109.13

109.14

109.15

109.16

109.17

109.19

109.20

109.21

109.22

109.23

109.25

109.26

109.27

109.28

109.29

109.30

109.31

109.32

109.33

to the commissioner of management and budget. Five-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state highway user tax distribution fund. Three-eighths of these receipts shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state general fund.

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.15, is amended to read:

110.1

110.2

110.3

110.4

110.5

110.6

110.7

110.8

110.9

110.17

325E.15 TRANSFER OF MOTOR VEHICLE; MILEAGE DISCLOSURE.

No person shall transfer a motor vehicle without disclosing in writing to the transferee the true mileage registered on the odometer reading or that the actual mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from the true mileage. The regulations contained in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 580.1 to 580.17, 110.10 as amended through October 1, 1998, implementing title IV of the Federal Motor Vehicle 110.11 Information and Cost Savings Act that implement odometer disclosure requirements and 110.12 prescribe the manner in which electronic or written disclosure must be made in this state 110.13 and, are adopted by reference. No transferor shall violate any regulations adopted under this section or knowingly give a false statement to a transferee in making any disclosure required by the regulations. 110.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 78. [345.16] STATE; UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; DISPOSITION; DUTY OF 110.18 STATE PATROL. 110.19

- Subdivision 1. State Patrol seizure. A State Patrol trooper may seize and retain any 110.20 personal property abandoned upon any public highway right-of-way, other public premises, 110.21 or other state-owned property. 110.22
- 110.23 Subd. 2. **Notice.** Notice by the State Patrol of lost or abandoned property in its possession must be made to the rightful owner, if the owner is known, by certified mail. The rightful 110.24 owner may reclaim the property within 90 days of notice after paying any expenses incurred 110.25 by the agency for processing and retaining such property. 110.26
- 110.27 Subd. 3. Disposal. Unclaimed property may be sold at public sale, disposed of as state surplus property, or destroyed based on the agency's judgment of the property's condition 110.28 and value. 110.29
- 110.30 Subd. 4. Money. All lost or abandoned money and the proceeds from the sale of other abandoned or lost property retained by the State Patrol pursuant to this section must be 110.31 deposited into the general fund. 110.32

Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.012, is amended by adding a subdivision 111.1 to read: 111.2 111.3 Subd. 1a. Ordinances of political subdivisions. A political subdivision must: (1) allow the commissioner to review a proposed ordinance affecting the operation of an unmanned 111.4 111.5 aircraft; and (2) notify the commissioner whenever the political subdivision adopts an ordinance affecting the operation of unmanned aircraft. 111.6 Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision 111.7 to read: 111.8 Subd. 57a. Small unmanned aircraft. "Small unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft, as 111.9 defined in subdivision 37, that weighs less than 55 pounds and is operated without the 111.10 possibility of human intervention from within or on the aircraft. 111.11 Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision 111.12 111.13 to read: Subd. 57b. Small unmanned aircraft system. "Small unmanned aircraft system" means 111.14 a small unmanned aircraft and all of its associated elements, including components and 111.15 communication links, that are required to control and operate the aircraft. 111.16 Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.55, is amended by adding a subdivision to 111 17 111.18 read: 111.19 Subd. 9. Small unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any small unmanned aircraft system in which the unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload 111.20 and anything affixed to the aircraft, either: 111.21 (1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of \$25; or 111.22 111.23 (2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee if the unmanned aircraft system is owned and operated solely for recreational purposes. 111.24 111.25 (b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67. 111.26 Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 360.59, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 111.27 Subd. 10. Certificate of insurance. (a) Every owner of aircraft in this state when applying 111.28 for registration, reregistration, or transfer of ownership shall supply any information the 111.29 commissioner reasonably requires to determine that the aircraft during the period of its 111.30

contemplated operation is covered by an insurance policy with limits of not less than \$100,000 per passenger seat liability both for passenger bodily injury or death and for property damage; not less than \$100,000 for bodily injury or death to each nonpassenger in any one accident; and not less than \$300,000 per occurrence for bodily injury or death to nonpassengers in any one accident. The insurance must comply with section 60A.081, unless that section is inapplicable under section 60A.081, subdivision 3.

The information supplied to the commissioner must include but is not limited to the name and address of the owner, the period of contemplated use or operation, if any, and, if insurance coverage is then presently required, the name of the insurer, the insurance policy number, the term of the coverage, policy limits, and any other data the commissioner requires. No certificate of registration shall be issued pursuant to subdivision 3 in the absence of the information required by this subdivision.

- (b) In the event of cancellation of aircraft insurance by the insurer, the insurer shall notify the Department of Transportation at least ten days prior to the date on which the insurance coverage is to be terminated. Unless proof of a new policy of insurance is filed with the department meeting the requirements of this subdivision during the period of the aircraft's contemplated use or operation, the registration certificate for the aircraft shall be revoked forthwith.
- (c) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to require an owner of aircraft to maintain passenger seat liability coverage on aircraft for which an experimental certificate has been issued by the administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, sections 21.191 to 21.195 and 91.42 91.319, whereunder persons operating the aircraft are prohibited from carrying passengers in the aircraft or for an unmanned aircraft. Whenever the aircraft becomes certificated to carry passengers, passenger seat liability coverage shall be required as provided in this subdivision.
- (d) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to any aircraft built by the original manufacturer prior to December 31, 1939, and owned and operated solely as a collector's item, if the owner files an affidavit with the commissioner. The affidavit shall state the owner's name and address, the name and address of the person from whom the aircraft was purchased, the make, year, and model number of the aircraft, the federal aircraft registration number, the manufacturer's identification number, and that the aircraft is owned and operated solely as a collector's item and not for general transportation purposes.
- (e) A small unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements of section 360.55, subdivision 9, is not subject to the requirements under paragraphs (a) and (b). Owners of

112.1

112.2

112.3

112.4

112.5

112.6

112.7

112.8

112.9

112.10

112.11

112.13

112.14

112.15

112.16

112.17

112.18

112.19

112.20

112.21

112.22

112.23

112.24

112.25

112.26

112.27

112.28

112.29

112.30

112.31

112.32

small unmanned aircraft systems that meet the requirements of section 360.55, subdivision 113.1 9, must, at the time of registration, provide proof of insurability in a form acceptable to the 113.2 113.3 commissioner. Additionally, such operators must maintain records and proof that each flight was insured for the limits established in paragraph (a). 113.4 Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.39, is amended by adding a subdivision to 113.5 read: 113.6 113.7 Subd. 1w. **Obligations.** In addition to other authority in this section, the council may issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations under this section in an amount 113.8 113.9 not exceeding \$98,400,000 for capital expenditures as prescribed in the council's transit capital improvement program and for related costs, including the costs of issuance and sale 113.10 of the obligations. Of this authorization, after July 1, 2021, the council may issue certificates 113.11 of indebtedness, bonds, or other obligations in an amount not exceeding \$48,400,000, and after July 1, 2022, the council may issue certificates of indebtedness, bonds, or other 113.13 113.14 obligations in an additional amount not exceeding \$50,000,000. Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.391, is amended by adding a subdivision 113.15 113.16 to read: Subd. 3. Air quality, emissions, and bus deployment. (a) The council must coordinate 113.17 with the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency to identify locales in the metropolitan 113.18 area with poor air quality. The analysis may use modeling based on air quality monitoring 113.19 data and must use the highest level of detail available. The council must categorize each 113.20 bus in its fleet based on estimated or measured air quality impacts from vehicle emissions. 113.21 113.22 (b) For regular route bus service, excluding arterial or highway bus rapid transit, the council must deploy buses with the lowest emissions on routes that serve locales with poor 113.23 air quality. 113.24 113.25 (c) Analysis under this subdivision must be revised at least once every three years. EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following 113.26 final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, 113.27 Scott, and Washington. 113.28 113.29 Sec. 86. [473.3927] ZERO-EMISSION TRANSIT VEHICLES. Subdivision 1. Transition plan required. (a) The council must develop and maintain 113.30 a zero-emission transit vehicle transition plan that contains a goal of deploying zero-emission 113.31

113.32

vehicles in 100 percent of the council's transit fleet by 2040.

114.1	(b) The council must complete the initial plan by February 15, 2022, and revise the plan
114.2	at least once every five years.
114.3	Subd. 2. Plan development. At a minimum, the plan must:
114.4	(1) establish implementation policies and guidance;
114.5	(2) set transition milestones or performance measures, or both, which may include vehicle
114.6	procurement goals over the transition period;
114.7	(3) identify barriers, constraints, and risks, and determine objectives and strategies to
114.8	address the issues identified;
114.9	(4) consider findings and best practices from other transit agencies;
114.10	(5) analyze zero-emission transit vehicle technology impacts, including cold weather
114.11	operation and emerging technologies;
114.12	(6) provide detailed estimates of implementation costs; and
114.13	(7) summarize updates to the plan from the most recent version.
114.14	Subd. 3. Copy to legislature. Upon completion or revision of the plan, the council must
114.15	provide a copy to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the legislative
114.16	committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.
114.17	EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
114.18	final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
114.19	Scott, and Washington.
114.20	Sec. 87. [473.4075] TRANSIT SAFETY REPORTING.
114.21	(a) By February 15 annually, the council must submit a report on transit safety and
114.22	administrative citations to the members and staff of the legislative committees with
114.23	jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.
114.24	(b) At a minimum, the report must:
114.25	(1) provide an overview of transit safety issues and actions taken by the council to
114.26	improve safety;
114.27	(2) provide an overview of administrative citations under section 609.855, subdivision
114.28	8, including a summary of implementation and analysis of impacts of the program on fare
114.29	compliance and customer experience for riders;
114.30	(3) for each of the previous three calendar years, provide data and statistics on:

115.1	(i) crime rates occurring on public transit vehicles and at transit stops and stations;
115.2	(ii) the number of warnings and criminal citations issued by the Metropolitan Transit
115.3	Police, with a breakout by categorized reasons for a warning or citation; and
115.4	(iii) the number of administrative citations issued, with a breakout by issuance by peace
115.5	officers, community service officers, and other authorized nonsworn personnel;
115.6	(4) for each of the previous three calendar years, state the number of peace officers
115.7	employed by the Metropolitan Transit Police Department;
115.8	(5) state the average number of peace officers employed by the Metropolitan Transit
115.9	Police Department for the previous three calendar years; and
115.10	(6) make recommendations on how to improve safety on public transit and transit stops
115.11	and stations, and for legislative changes, if any.
115.12	Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 480.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to
115.12	read:
115.14	Subd. 8a. Motor vehicle charges and conviction data; report. The court administrator
115.15	shall collect, compile, and report the data on (1) charges and convictions for driving after
115.16	suspension or revocation, and (2) payment of fines for violations related to operation of a
115.17	motor vehicle, as required under section 171.325.
115.18	Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
115.19	Subdivision 1. Unlawfully obtaining services; misdemeanor. (a) A person is guilty
115.20	of a misdemeanor who intentionally obtains or attempts to obtain service for himself, herself,
115.21	or another person from a provider of public transit or from a public conveyance by doing
115.22	any of the following:
115.23	(1) occupies or rides in any public transit vehicle without paying the applicable fare or
115.24	otherwise obtaining the consent of the transit provider including:
115.25	(i) the use of a reduced fare when a person is not eligible for the fare; or
115.26	(ii) the use of a fare medium issued solely for the use of a particular individual by another
115.27	individual;
115.28	(2) presents a falsified, counterfeit, photocopied, or other deceptively manipulated fare
115.29	medium as fare payment or proof of fare payment;

(3) sells, provides, copies, reproduces, or creates any version of any fare medium without the consent of the transit provider; or

- (4) puts or attempts to put any of the following into any fare box, pass reader, ticket vending machine, or other fare collection equipment of a transit provider:
- 116.5 (i) papers, articles, instruments, or items other than fare media or currency; or
- (ii) a fare medium that is not valid for the place or time at, or the manner in, which it is 116.6 116.7 used.
- (b) Where self-service barrier-free fare collection is utilized by a public transit provider, it is a violation of this subdivision to intentionally fail to exhibit proof of fare payment upon the request of an authorized transit representative when entering, riding upon, or leaving a 116.10 transit vehicle or when present in a designated paid fare zone located in a transit facility. 116.11
- Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 116.12
- Subd. 7. **Definitions.** (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply in this section. 116.13
- (b) "Public transit" or "transit" has the meaning given in section 174.22, subdivision 7. 116.14
- (c) "Public transit vehicle" or "transit vehicle" means any vehicle used for the purpose 116.15 of providing public transit, whether or not the vehicle is owned or operated by a public 116.17 entity.
- (d) "Public transit facilities" or "transit facilities" means any vehicles, equipment, 116.18 property, structures, stations, improvements, plants, parking or other facilities, or rights that 116.19 are owned, leased, held, or used for the purpose of providing public transit, whether or not 116.20 the facility is owned or operated by a public entity. 116.21
- (e) "Fare medium" means a ticket, smart card, pass, coupon, token, transfer, or other 116.22 medium sold or distributed by a public transit provider, or its authorized agents, for use in 116.23 gaining entry to or use of the public transit facilities or vehicles of the provider. 116.24
- (f) "Proof of fare payment" means a fare medium valid for the place or time at, or the 116.25 manner in, which it is used. If using a reduced-fare medium, proof of fare payment also 116.26 includes proper identification demonstrating a person's eligibility for the reduced fare. If 116.27 using a fare medium issued solely for the use of a particular individual, proof of fare payment 116.28 also includes an identification document bearing a photographic likeness of the individual 116.29 and demonstrating that the individual is the person to whom the fare medium is issued. 116.30

116.1

116.2

116.3

116.4

116.8

(g) "Authorized transit representative" means the person authorized by the transit provider 117.1 to operate the transit vehicle, a peace officer, or any other person designated by the transit 117.2 provider as an authorized transit provider representative under this section. 117.3 Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.855, is amended by adding a subdivision 117.4 to read: 117.5 Subd. 8. Administrative citations. (a) Subject to requirements established by the 117.6 Metropolitan Council, the council may issue an administrative citation to a person who 117.7 commits a violation under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), if the violation occurs 117.8 117.9 in a council transit vehicle or transit facility in the metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, or, in the case of commuter rail service, the violation occurs in a 117.10 council commuter vehicle or commuter facility in any corridor that is located in whole or 117.11 in part in the metropolitan area. (b) Transit fare compliance may be enforced and administrative citations may be issued 117.13 by peace officers of the council's Metropolitan Transit Police, and by community service 117.14 officers or other nonsworn personnel as authorized by the council. 117.15 117.16 (c) Issuance of an administrative citation prevents imposition of a misdemeanor citation under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1). 117.17 117.18 (d) A person who is issued an administrative citation under this subdivision must, within 90 days of issuance, pay a fine as determined by the council. The council must set the amount 117.19 of the fine at no less than \$35. The council may establish an escalating fine structure for 117.20 persons who fail to pay administrative fines or repeatedly violate subdivision 1, paragraph 117.21 (a), clause (1). 117.22 (e) The council may adopt an alternative resolution procedure under which a person 117.23 may resolve an administrative citation in lieu of paying a fine by complying with terms 117.24 established by the council for community service, prepayment of future transit fares, or 117.25 both. The alternative resolution procedure must be available only to a person who has 117.26 committed a violation under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), for the first time, unless 117.27 the person demonstrates financial hardship under criteria established by the council. 117.28 (f) A person who fails to either pay the fine or contest the citation within the specified 117.29 period is considered to have waived the contested citation process and is subject to 117.30 collections, including collection costs. 117.31 117.32 (g) The council must provide a civil process that allows a person to contest an administrative citation before a neutral third party. The council may employ a person not 117.33

118.1	associated with its transit operations, or enter into an agreement with another unit of
118.2	government, to hear and rule on challenges to administrative citations.
118.3	(h) The council must collect and maintain fines under this subdivision in a separate
118.4	account that is only used to cover costs under this section.
118.5	(i) An administrative citation must include notification that the person has the right to
118.6	contest the citation, basic procedures for contesting the citation, and information on the
118.7	timeline and consequences related to the citation.
118.8	(j) The council must not mandate or suggest a quota for the issuance of administrative
118.9	citations under this section.
110.7	enations under this section.
118.10	EFFECTIVE DATE ; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
118.11	final enactment and applies to violations committed on or after that date. This act applies
118.12	in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, and
118.13	Washington.
118.14	Sec. 92. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 2, the effective date, is amended to
118.15	read:
118.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
118.17	expires one year following the acceptance of ten 20 construction manager/general contractor
118.18	contracts.
118.19	Sec. 93. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 3, the effective date, is amended to
118.20	read:
118.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
118.22	expires one year following the acceptance of ten 20 construction manager/general contractor
118.23	contracts.
118.24	Sec. 94. Laws 2012, chapter 287, article 3, section 4, the effective date, is amended to
118.25	read:
118.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
118.27	expires one year following the acceptance of ten 20 construction manager/general contractor

118.28 contracts.

Sec. 95. Laws 2013, chapter 143, article 9, section 20, is amended to read:

Sec. 20. CITY OF MINNEAPOLIS; STREETCAR TRANSIT PROJECT

119.3 **FINANCING.**

- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
- the meanings given them.
- (b) "City" means the city of Minneapolis.
- (c) "County" means Hennepin County.
- (d) "District" means the areas certified by the city under subdivision 2 for collection of value capture taxes.
- (e) "Project area" means the area including one city block on either side of a streetear transit line designated by the city to serve the downtown and adjacent neighborhoods of the city.
- (f) "Transit line" includes any of the following: a busway and a guideway, as the terms
 are defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.4485, subdivision 1, and regular route bus
 service.
- Subd. 2. **Authority to establish district.** (a) The governing body of the city may, by resolution, establish a value capture district consisting of some or all of the taxable parcels located within one or more of the following areas of the city, as described in the resolution:
- (1) the area bounded by Nicollet Avenue on the west, 16th Street East on the south, First Avenue South on the east, and 14th Street East on the north;
- 119.21 (2) the area bounded by Spruce Place on the west, 14th Street West on the south, LaSalle
 119.22 Avenue on the east, and Grant Street West on the north;
- 119.23 (3) the area bounded by Nicollet Avenue or Mall on the west, Fifth Street South on the south, Marquette Avenue on the east, and Fourth Street South on the north;
- 119.25 (4) the area bounded by First Avenue North on the west, Washington Avenue on the south, Hennepin Avenue on the east, and Second Street North on the north; and
- 119.27 (5) the area bounded by Fifth Street North East on the west, Central Avenue North East on the southeast, Sixth Street North East on the east, Hennepin Avenue East on the south, and First Avenue North East on the north.

(b) The city may establish the district and the project area only after holding a public hearing on its proposed creation after publishing notice of the hearing and the proposal at least once not less than ten days nor more than 30 days before the date of the hearing.

- Subd. 3. Calculation of value capture district; administrative provisions. (a) If the city establishes a value capture district under subdivision 2, the city shall request the county auditor to certify the district for calculation of the district's tax revenues.
- (b) For purposes of calculating the tax revenues of the district, the county auditor shall treat the district as if it were a request for certification of a tax increment financing district under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 469.177, subdivision 1, and shall calculate the tax revenues of the district for each year of its duration under subdivision 5 as equaling 120.10 the amount of tax increment that would be computed by applying the provisions of Minnesota 120.11 Statutes, section 469.177, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, to determine captured tax capacity and 120.12 multiplying by the current tax rate, excluding the state general tax rate. The city shall provide 120.13 the county auditor with the necessary information to certify the district, including the option 120.14 for calculating revenues derived from the areawide tax rate under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 120.15 473F. 120.16
- (c) The county auditor shall pay to the city at the same times provided for settlement of 120.17 taxes and payment of tax increments the tax revenues of the district. The city must use the 120.18 tax revenues as provided under subdivision 4. 120.19
- Subd. 4. Permitted uses of district tax revenues. (a) In addition to paying for reasonable 120.20 administrative costs of the district, the city may spend tax revenues of the district for property 120.21 acquisition, improvements, and equipment to be used for operations within the project area, 120.22 along with related costs, for: 120.23
- (1) planning, design, and engineering services related to the construction of the streetear 120.24 transit line; 120.25
- (2) acquiring property for, constructing, and installing a streetcar the transit line; 120.26
- (3) acquiring and maintaining equipment and rolling stock and related facilities, such 120.27 as maintenance facilities, which need not be located in the project area; 120.28
- (4) acquiring, constructing, or improving transit stations; and 120.29
- (5) acquiring or improving public space, including the construction and installation of 120.30 improvements to streets and sidewalks, decorative lighting and surfaces, and plantings 120.31 related to the streetcar transit line. 120.32

120.1

120.2

120.3

120.4

120.5

120.6

120.7

120.8

121.1	(b) The city may issue bonds or other obligations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
121.2	475, without an election, to fund acquisition or improvement of property of a capital nature
121.3	authorized by this section, including any costs of issuance. The city may also issue bonds
121.4	or other obligations to refund those bonds or obligations. Payment of principal and interest
121.5	on the bonds or other obligations issued under this paragraph is a permitted use of the
121.6	district's tax revenues.
121.7	(c) Tax revenues of the district may not be used for the operation of the streetear transit
121.8	line.
121.9	Subd. 5. Duration of the district. A district established under this section is limited to
121.10	the lesser of (1) 25 years of tax revenues, or (2) the time necessary to collect tax revenues
121.11	equal to the amount of the capital costs permitted under subdivision 4 or the amount needed
121.12	to pay or defease bonds or other obligations issued under subdivision 4, whichever is later.
121.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
121.14	Sec. 96. WORK ZONE SAFETY; ASSESSMENT AND PILOT PROGRAM
121.15	DEVELOPMENT.
121.16	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
121.17	the meanings given.
121.18	(b) "Automated enforcement system" means an electronic system of cameras or other
121.19	sensors that is designed to automatically produce recorded images of a motor vehicle operated
121.20	in violation of traffic regulations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169.
121.21	(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of transportation.
121.22	(d) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of transportation as the lead in coordination
121.23	with the commissioner of public safety.
121.24	(e) "Work zone" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011,
121.25	subdivision 95.
121.26	Subd. 2. Pilot program development. (a) The commissioner of transportation, in
121.27	coordination with the commissioner of public safety, must perform initial development of
121.28	a pilot program to enforce speeding violations through the use of automated enforcement
121.29	systems in work zones and in locations where work is performed within the highway
121.30	right-of-way.
121.31	
	(b) As provided in subdivision 5, the commissioners must submit a pilot program
121.32	implementation proposal for consideration in the 2022 legislative session.

122.1	Subd. 3. Advisory group. (a) The commissioners must establish and collaborate with
122.2	an advisory group to perform the work zone speed management assessment under subdivision
122.3	4 and develop the implementation proposal under subdivision 5.
122.4	(b) The advisory group must include representatives from appropriate labor organizations,
122.5	contractors who operate in highway rights-of-way, law enforcement agencies, traffic safety
122.6	organizations, traffic safety research entities, the League of Minnesota Cities, and the
122.7	Association of Minnesota Counties.
122.8	Subd. 4. Work zone speed management assessment. (a) The commissioners must
122.9	perform a work zone speed management assessment.
122.10	(b) At a minimum, the assessment must:
122.11	(1) evaluate existing legal authority for strategies, practices, and methods to reduce
122.12	vehicle speeds and enhance worker safety in work zones, which may include but is not
122.13	limited to use of traffic control devices, use of barriers, traffic control design modifications,
122.14	and speed enforcement actions;
122.15	(2) propose a process for contractors operating in a work zone that:
122.16	(i) allows contractors to request modifications to a project's traffic control plan, in order
122.17	to reduce vehicle speeds or improve worker safety in a work zone; and
122.18	(ii) establishes standards for further review by another party; and
122.19	(3) make recommendations for immediate changes in work zone safety, to be implemented
122.20	starting with the remainder of the 2021 construction season.
122.21	(c) By July 1, 2021, the commissioners must complete the assessment and submit it to
122.22	the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
122.23	over transportation policy and finance.
122.24	Subd. 5. Implementation proposal. (a) The commissioners must develop an
122.25	implementation proposal for the pilot program.
122.26	(b) At a minimum, the implementation proposal must:
122.27	(1) establish a plan for the pilot program, including program design, requirements, and
122.28	procedures;
122.29	(2) analyze and propose recommendations on implementation, including:
122.30	(i) reviewing legal barriers and authority;

123.1	(ii) proposing a fine or assessment and the disposition of revenue, for violations identified
123.2	by automated enforcement systems;
123.3	(iii) specifying how the general public will be notified about automated speed enforcement
123.4	activities prior to and during use of automated enforcement equipment; and
123.5	(iv) addressing other policy considerations;
123.6	(3) identify resources that are needed and available to implement the pilot program and
123.7	propose methods to address any resource gaps;
123.8	(4) determine how automated enforcement will augment ongoing traffic and speed
123.9	compliance efforts;
123.10	(5) identify and assess locations for automated enforcement, which must include work
123.11	zones and other locations where work is scheduled to be performed within the highway
123.12	right-of-way;
123.13	(6) develop performance measures to evaluate traffic safety impacts;
123.14	(7) identify a pilot program evaluation process as provided in subdivision 6; and
123.15	(8) propose enabling legislation as necessary for pilot program implementation.
123.16	(c) By February 1, 2022, the commissioners must complete the implementation proposal
123.17	and submit it to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
123.18	jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.
123.19	Subd. 6. Evaluation process. (a) As part of implementation proposal under subdivision
123.20	5, the commissioners must prepare for an independent evaluation of pilot program operations
123.21	and impacts. The evaluation must be performed by a nonprofit transportation research entity
123.22	from outside the Departments of Transportation and Public Safety.
123.23	(b) At a minimum, the evaluation must:
123.24	(1) analyze the effectiveness of automated enforcement systems in lowering travel speeds,
123.25	reducing speed differentials, and meeting any other safety or performance measures identified
123.26	in the pilot program plan;
123.27	(2) perform statistical analysis of traffic speeds, intrusions, crashes, near miss incidents,
123.28	injuries, and fatalities;
123.29	(3) identify any changes in traffic congestion attributable to automated enforcement
123.30	systems; and

124.1	(4) analyze financial impacts of (i) the pilot program, and (ii) potential ongoing					
124.2	implementation of automated enforcement systems.					
124.3	(c) If a pilot program is implemented, the commissioner must complete preliminary					
124.4	evaluations by November 1 annually in each year of field operations, and must complete					
124.5	the final evaluation by November 1 in the concluding year of field operations. Upon					
124.6	completion of each preliminary evaluation and the final evaluation, the commissioner must					
124.7	submit a copy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees					
124.8	with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.					
124.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.					
124.10	Sec. 97. SPEED LIMIT ON PARK ROAD.					
124.11	Notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.14, subdivision 5e,					
124.12	or any other law to the contrary, the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board may establish					
124.13	a speed limit on a parkway or road under its jurisdiction that is located within a park. The					
124.14	speed limit must not be lower than 20 miles per hour. A speed limit established under this					
124.15	law is effective on erection of appropriate signs designating the speed limit and indicating					
124.16	the beginning and end of the reduced speed zone. Any speed in excess of the posted speed					
124.17	is unlawful.					
124.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the governing body of the					
124.19	Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board and its chief clerical officer comply with Minnesota					
124.20	Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3.					
124.21	Sec. 98. ANIMAL-DRAWN VEHICLES; SAFETY MANUAL.					
124.22	(a) The commissioner of public safety, in collaboration with the Department of					
124.23	Transportation, State Patrol, traffic safety organizations, and other interested parties, must					
124.24	develop and publish an animal-drawn vehicles safety manual. When developing the manual,					
124.25	the commissioner must evaluate similar manuals already published by other states.					
124.26	(b) At a minimum, the safety manual must discuss and provide specific guidance with					
124.27	respect to:					
124.28	(1) animal-drawn vehicle courtesy and conduct;					
124.29	(2) relevant traffic regulations, including traffic signs, traffic signals, pavement markings,					
124.30	driving rules, and equipment requirements;					

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
07/03/21 07.71 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	1/11/1/1/1/	IIIUUTDL2

125.1	(3) an overview of how other vehicles and motorists interact with animal-drawn vehicles
125.2	on the roadway;
125.3	(4) safety best practices;
125.4	(5) travel information; and
125.5	(6) any other information the commissioner deems necessary.
125.6	(c) The commissioner must publish the manual under this section on or before January
125.7	<u>1, 2022.</u>
125.8	(d) The manual under this section is not an administrative rule under Minnesota Statutes,
125.9	chapter 14, including section 14.386. The commissioner is exempt from provisions of that
125.10	chapter with respect to any activities taken under this section.
125.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
125.12	Sec. 99. RETROACTIVE DRIVER'S LICENSE REINSTATEMENT.
125.13	(a) The commissioner of public safety must make an individual's driver's license eligible
125.14	for reinstatement if the license is solely suspended pursuant to:
125.15	(1) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.92, subdivision 4;
125.16	(2) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person was convicted
125.17	only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;
125.18	(3) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.16, subdivision 3; or
125.19	(4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), and (3).
125.20	(b) By December 1, 2021, the commissioner must provide written notice to an individual
125.21	whose license has been made eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a), addressed to
125.22	the licensee at the licensee's last known address.
125.23	(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, before the license is reinstated, an individual
125.24	whose driver's license is eligible for reinstatement under paragraph (a) must pay a single
125.25	reinstatement fee of \$20.
125.26	(d) The following applies for an individual who is eligible for reinstatement under
125.27	paragraph (a) and whose license was suspended, revoked, or canceled under any other
125.28	provision in Minnesota Statutes:
125.29	(1) the suspension, revocation, or cancellation under any other provision in Minnesota
125.30	Statutes remains in effect;

04/05/21 09:41 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H1684DE2
		11111/1111	111001022

126.1	(2) subject to clause (1), the individual may become eligible for reinstatement under
126.2	paragraph (a); and
126.3	(3) the commissioner is not required to send the notice described in paragraph (b).
126.4	(e) Paragraph (a) applies notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 169.92,
126.5	subdivision 4; 171.16, subdivision 2 or 3; or any other law to the contrary.
126.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.
126.7	Sec. 100. RULEMAKING; MEDICAL PROVIDERS.
126.8	(a) The commissioner of public safety must amend Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.2500
126.9	and 7410.2800, to include a licensed physician assistant and an advanced practice registered
126.10	nurse as among the medical providers authorized to complete any required medical statement
126.11	or report.
126.12	(b) The commissioner may use the expedited rulemaking process under Minnesota
126.13	Statutes, section 14.389, for rulemaking under this section.
126.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
126.15	Sec. 101. <u>LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 263 REMOVED.</u>
126.16	(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 194, is repealed effective the day
126.17	after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
126.18	commissioner and the governing body of Martin County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
126.19	Route No. 263 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).
126.20	(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
126.21	Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
126.22	or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.
126.23	Sec. 102. <u>LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 267 REMOVED.</u>
126.24	(a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 198, is repealed effective the day
126.25	after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
126.26	commissioner and the governing body of Murray County to transfer jurisdiction of Legislative
126.27	Route No. 267 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).
126.28	(b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from Minnesota
126.29	Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor electronically
126.30	or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been satisfied.

127.1	Sec.	103.	VEHICLE	REGISTR	ATION SEI	LF-SER	VICE I	KIOSK	REPORT.
-------	------	------	----------------	---------	-----------	--------	--------	-------	---------

- By December 1, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must submit to the legislative
- committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance a report on self-service
- kiosks authorized in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.0135. At a minimum, the report must
- include the following information:
- (1) the number of completed transactions at self-service kiosks;
- (2) the number of failed or canceled transactions at self-service kiosks;
- 127.8 (3) the location of each self-service kiosk and the name of the business or entity that is
- operating at that address; and
- (4) any recommendations to the legislature to improve the use of self-service kiosks,
- including proposed legislation.
- 127.12 Sec. 104. **REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.**
- The revisor of statutes shall recodify Minnesota Statutes, section 169.92, subdivision 4,
- 127.14 as Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 3a. The revisor shall correct any
- 127.15 cross-references made necessary by this recodification.
- 127.16 Sec. 105. **REPEALER.**
- (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 168.327, subdivision 5; and 169.09, subdivision
- 127.18 7, are repealed.
- (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.2610, subparts 1, 2, 3, 3a, 5a, 5b, and 6; and 7414.1490,
- 127.20 are repealed.
- (c) Minnesota Rules, parts 7470.0300; 7470.0400; 7470.0500; 7470.0600; and 7470.0700,
- 127.22 are repealed."
- 127.23 Amend the title accordingly