### TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

#### **MINUTES**

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 15, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

Members excused:

MUPRHY, Mary

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the March 10 minutes be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2771 (Becker-Finn) County speed limits authorized

Chair Hornstein moved to lay over HF 2771 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Chair Hornstein moved that the H2771DE1 be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Becker-Finn gave an overview of HF 2771, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 2771, as amended

Ben Sley

Ramsey County Commissioner Nicole Frethem
Betty Wheeler, Transportation Committee of the St. Anthony Park Community Council
Darin Mielke, Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers
Joe Gustafson, Traffic Engineer, Washington County
Tarryl Clark, Stearns County Commissioner
Brian Sorenson, State Traffic Engineer, MnDOT

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 2771, as amended.

HF4035 (Klevorn) Special registration plates and restricted license issuance modified

Chair Hornstein moved to refer HF 4035 to the General Register.

Rep. Klevorn gave an overview of HF 4035.

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion to refer HF 4035 to the General Register. The results were as follows:

### AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie

ELKINS, Steve

FREDERICK, Luke

HAUSMAN, Alice

HEINRICH, John

KOZNICK, Jon

MASIN, Sandra

NELSON, Michael

OLSON, Bjorn

RICHARDSON, Ruth

TORKELSON, Paul

WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None

There being 16 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3805 (Nash) Capitol Area Security Advisory Committee sunset removed

Chair Hornstein moved to refer HF 3805 to the General Register.

Rep. Nash gave an overview of HF 3805.

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion to refer HF 3805 to the General Register. The results were as follows:

# **AYES:**

HORNSTEIN, Frank

KOEGEL, Erin

PETERSBURG, John

BAHR, Cal

BERNARDY, Connie

ELKINS, Steve

FREDERICK, Luke

HAUSMAN, Alice

HEINRICH, John

KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra

NELSON, Michael

OLSON, Bjorn

RICHARDSON, Ruth

TORKELSON, Paul

WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None

There being 16 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3216 (Frederick) - Local road improvement program advice committee membership amended

Chair Hornstein moved to rerefer HF 3216 to the General Register.

Chair Hornstein moved to adopt the H3216A1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Frederick gave an overview of HF 3216, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 3216, as amended

Jeff Krueger, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Townships

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion to rerefer HF 3216, as amended, to the General Register. The results were as follows:

## AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None

There being 16 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:11pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant