TAX COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Tax Committee meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on Thursday, February 18, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MARQUART, Paul CHAIR LISLEGARD, Dave VC DAVIDS, Greg Lead AGBAJE, Esther CARLSON, Andrew DETTMER, Bob GAROFALO, Pat GOMEZ, Aisha HER, Kaohly HERTAUS, Jerry HOWARD, Michael MCDONALD, Joe MILLER, Tim MORAN, Rena MORTENSON, Erik ROBBINS, Kristin SANDELL, Steve SCHULTZ, Jennifer STEPHENSON, Zack SWEDZINSKI, Chris YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Representative Lislegard moved the approval of the February 16, 2021 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 991 (Marquart) COVID-19; recovery budget revenue raising proposed for strategic investments in economy, working family support, and combating youth smoking and nicotine addiction; and various taxes and tax provisions modified.

Representative Marquart moved that HF 991 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Providing testimony:

Christopher Kleman, House Research
Sean Williams, House Research
Alexandra Haigler, House Research
Jared Swanson, House Research
Deb Howze, Personal Care Attendant
Charles Washington, Skilled Construction Laborer
Amy Aho, Speech Language Pathologist
Nan Madden, Minnesota Budget Project
Dominic McQuerry, Amherst H. Wilder Foundation
Dr. Ryan Greiner, North Memorial Health Hospital
Beth Kadoun, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce

Jill Larson, Minnesota Business Partnership Gay Canseco, Lake Harriet Montessori Jessica Young, Medical Alley Association Angela Larson, Family Services Director at United Community Action Melissa Hysing, AFL-CIO Eric Harris Bernstein, We Make Minnesota Bharti Wahi, Children's Defense Fund-Minnesota Tim Gross, Minnesota Petroleum Marketers Association Anna Grace Hottinger, High School Senior Jonathan Rose, Association for Smoke Free Minnesota Mike Smith, Granite City Jobbing Cap O'Rourke, Midwest Vapor Coalition Guy Bentley, Reason Foundation Thomas Briant, Minnesota Wholesale Marketers Association Lance Klatt, Minnesota Service Station & Convenience Store Association Monte Williams, Altria/Philip Morris/US Smokeless Tobacco Company Karen Gerlach, Womble Bond Dickinson Gregory Conley, American Vaping Association

Representative Marquart renewed his motion that HF 991 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:27 P.M.

Molly Moilanen, ClearWay Minnesota

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair
Urszula Gryska,
Committee Legislative Assistant