1.21	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.457, is amended to read:
1.22	17.457 RESTRICTED SPECIES.
1.23	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
1.24 1.25	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee.
1.26 1.27	(c) "Restricted species" means Eurasian wild pigs and their hybrids (Sus scrofa subspecies and Sus scrofa hybrids), excluding domestic hogs (S. scrofa domesticus).
2.1 2.2	(d) "Release" means an intentional introduction or <u>accidental</u> escape of a species from the control of the owner or responsible party.
2.3 2.4 2.5	Subd. 2. Importation; possession; release of restricted species. It is unlawful for a person to import, possess, propagate, transport, or release restricted species, except as provided unless the person has a permit as described in subdivision 3.
2.6 2.7 2.8 2.9 2.10	Subd. 3. Permits. (a) The commissioner may issue permits for the transportation, possession, purchase, or importation of restricted species for scientific, research, educational, or commercial purposes. A permit issued under this subdivision may be revoked by the commissioner if the conditions of the permit are not met by the permittee or for any unlawful act or omission, including accidental escapes.
2.11 2.12 2.13 2.14 2.15	(b) The commissioner may issue permits for a person to possess and raise a restricted species for commercial purposes if the person was in possession of the restricted species on March 1, 1993. Under the permit, the number of breeding stock of the restricted species in the possession of the person may not increase by more than 25 percent and the person must comply with the certification requirements in subdivision 7.
2.16 2.17	(e) A person may possess a restricted species without a permit for a period not to exceed two days for the purpose of slaughtering the restricted species for human consumption.
2.18 2.19 2.20 2.21	Subd. 4. Notice of escape release of restricted species. In the event of an escape a release of a restricted species, the owner must notify within 24 hours a conservation officer and the Board of Animal Health and is responsible for the recovery of the species. The commissioner may capture or destroy the escaped released animal at the owner's expense.
2.22 2.23	Subd. 5. Enforcement. This section may be enforced by an enforcement officer under sections 97A.205 and 97A.211 and by the commissioner under sections 17.982 to 17.984.
2.24	Subd. 6. Penalty. A person who violates subdivision 2, 4, or 7 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
2.25 2.26 2.27	Subd. 7. Certification and Identification requirements. (a) A person who possesses restricted species on July 1, 1993, must submit certified numbers of restricted species in the person's possession to the Board of Animal Health by June 1, 1993.

2.2	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.457, is amended to read:
2.3	17.457 RESTRICTED SPECIES.
2.4	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
2.5 2.6	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee.
2.7 2.8	(c) "Restricted species" means Eurasian wild pigs and their hybrids (<i>Sus scrofa</i> subspecies and <i>Sus scrofa</i> hybrids), excluding domestic hogs (<i>S. scrofa domesticus</i>).
2.9 2.10	(d) "Release" means an intentional introduction or <u>accidental</u> escape of a species from the control of the owner or responsible party.
2.11 2.12 2.13	Subd. 2. Importation; possession; release of restricted species. It is unlawful for a person to import, possess, propagate, transport, or release restricted species, except as provided unless the person has a permit as described in subdivision 3.
2.14 2.15 2.16 2.17 2.18	Subd. 3. Permits. (a) The commissioner may issue permits for the transportation, possession, purchase, or importation of restricted species for scientific, research, educational, or commercial purposes. A permit issued under this subdivision may be revoked by the commissioner if the conditions of the permit are not met by the permittee or for any unlawful act or omission, including accidental escapes.
2.19 2.20 2.21 2.22 2.23	(b) The commissioner may issue permits for a person to possess and raise a restricted species for commercial purposes if the person was in possession of the restricted species on March 1, 1993. Under the permit, the number of breeding stock of the restricted species in the possession of the person may not increase by more than 25 percent and the person must comply with the certification requirements in subdivision 7.
2.24 2.25	(e) A person may possess a restricted species without a permit for a period not to exceed two days for the purpose of slaughtering the restricted species for human consumption.
2.26 2.27 2.28 2.29	Subd. 4. Notice of escape release of restricted species. In the event of an escape a release of a restricted species, the owner must notify within 24 hours a conservation officer and the Board of Animal Health and is responsible for the recovery of the species. The commissioner may capture or destroy the escaped released animal at the owner's expense.
2.30 2.31	Subd. 5. Enforcement. This section may be enforced by an enforcement officer under sections 97A.205 and 97A.211 and by the commissioner under sections 17.982 to 17.984.
3.1	Subd. 6. Penalty. A person who violates subdivision 2, 4, or 7 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
3.2 3.3	Subd. 7. Certification and Identification requirements. (a) A person who possesses restricted species on July 1, 1993, must submit certified numbers of restricted species in

House Language H1587-2

.28 .29 .30	(b) A restricted species in the possession of a person must be marked in a permanent fashion to identify ownership. The restricted species must be marked as soon as practicable after birth or purchase.
.31 .32 .33	Subd. 8. Containment. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of natural resources, shall develop criteria for approved containment measures for restricted species with the assistance of producers of restricted species.
.1 .2 .3 .4	Subd. 9. Bond; security. A person who possesses restricted species must file a bond or deposit provide proof of insurance or file a security bond with the commissioner security in the form and in the an amount determined by the commissioner to pay for the potential costs and damages that would be caused by an escape the release of a restricted species.
.5 .6 .7	Subd. 10. Fee. The commissioner shall may impose a fee for permits in an amount sufficient to cover the costs of issuing the permits and for facility inspections. The fee may not exceed \$50. Fee receipts must be deposited in the general fund.
.8	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.710, is amended to read:
.9	17.710 AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTION CONTRACTS.
.10 .11 .12	(a) A production contract entered into, renewed, or amended on or after July 1, 1999, between an agricultural producer and a processor of agricultural products must not contain provisions that prohibit the producer from disclosing terms, conditions, and prices contained in the contract. Any provision prohibiting disclosure by the producer is void.
.14 .15 .16 .17	(b) A contract entered into, renewed, or amended on or after July 1, 2023, between an agricultural producer and an entity buying, selling, certifying, or otherwise participating in a market for stored carbon must not contain provisions that prohibit the producer from disclosing terms, conditions, and prices contained in the contract. Any provision prohibiting disclosure by the producer is void.
.19	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.983, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
.20 .21 .22 .23	Subdivision 1. Administrative penalties; citation. If a person has violated a provision of chapter 25, or 31B, or 32D, the commissioner may issue a written citation to the person by personal service or by certified mail. The citation must describe the nature of the violation and the statute or rule alleged to have been violated; state the time for correction, if applicable; and the amount of any proposed fine. The citation must advise the person to
.25 .26	notify the commissioner in writing within 30 days if the person wishes to appeal the citation. If the person fails to appeal the citation, the citation is the final order and not subject to

3.26

further review.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

3.5

3.5 3.6 3.7	(b) A restricted species in the possession of a person must be marked in a permanent fashion to identify ownership. The restricted species must be marked as soon as practicable after birth or purchase.
3.8 3.9 3.10	Subd. 8. Containment. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of natural resources, shall develop criteria for approved containment measures for restricted species with the assistance of producers of restricted species.
3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14	Subd. 9. Bond ; security. A person who possesses restricted species must file a bond or deposit provide proof of insurance or file a security bond with the commissioner security in the form and in the an amount determined by the commissioner to pay for the potential costs and damages that would be caused by an escape the release of a restricted species.
3.15 3.16 3.17	Subd. 10. Fee. The commissioner shall may impose a fee for permits in an amount sufficient to cover the costs of issuing the permits and for facility inspections. The fee may not exceed \$50. Fee receipts must be deposited in the general fund.
3.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
3.19	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.710, is amended to read:
3.20	17.710 AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTION CONTRACTS.
3.21 3.22 3.23 3.24	(a) A production contract entered into, renewed, or amended on or after July 1, 1999, between an agricultural producer and a processor of agricultural products must not contain provisions that prohibit the producer from disclosing terms, conditions, and prices contained in the contract. Any provision prohibiting disclosure by the producer is void.
3.25 3.26 3.27 3.28 3.29	(b) A contract entered into, renewed, or amended on or after July 1, 2023, between an agricultural producer and an entity buying, selling, certifying, or otherwise participating in a market for stored carbon must not contain provisions that prohibit the producer from disclosing terms, conditions, and prices contained in the contract. Any provision prohibiting disclosure by the producer is void.
3.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.
4.1	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.983, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 4.9	Subdivision 1. Administrative penalties; citation. If a person has violated a provision of chapter 25, or 31B, or 32D, the commissioner may issue a written citation to the person by personal service or by certified mail. The citation must describe the nature of the violation and the statute or rule alleged to have been violated; state the time for correction, if applicable; and the amount of any proposed fine. The citation must advise the person to notify the commissioner in writing within 30 days if the person wishes to appeal the citation. If the person fails to appeal the citation, the citation is the final order and not subject to further review.

.28	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18.78, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
.29	Subd. 2. Control of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites. An owner of
.30	nonfederal lands underlying public waters or wetlands designated under section 103G.201
.31	is not required to control or eradicate purple loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites below the
.32	ordinary high water level of the public water or wetland. The commissioner of natural
.1	resources is responsible for control and eradication of purple loosestrife and nonnative
.2	Phragmites on public waters and wetlands designated under section 103G.201, except those
.3	located upon lands owned in fee title or managed by the United States. The officers,
.4	employees, agents, and contractors of the commissioner of natural resources may enter upon
.5	public waters and wetlands designated under section 103G.201 and, after providing
.6	notification to the occupant or owner of the land, may cross adjacent lands as necessary for
.7	the purpose of investigating purple loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites infestations,
.8	formulating methods of eradication, and implementing control and eradication of purple
.9	loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites. The commissioner of natural resources shall, by June
.10	1 of each year, compile a priority list of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites
.11	infestations to be controlled with herbicides in designated public waters. The commissioner
.12	of natural resources must distribute the list to county agricultural inspectors, local weed
.13	inspectors, and their appointed agents. The commissioner of natural resources shall control
.14	listed purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites infestations in priority order within the
.15	limits of funding allocated for that purpose. This procedure shall supersede the other
.16	provisions for control of noxious weeds set forth elsewhere in this chapter. The responsibility
.17	of the commissioner of natural resources to control and eradicate purple loosestrife and
.18	nonnative Phragmites on public waters and wetlands located on private lands and the
.19	authority to enter upon private lands ends ten days after receipt by the commissioner of a
.20	written statement from the landowner that the landowner assumes all responsibility for
.21	control and eradication of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites under sections 18.78
.22	to 18.88. State officers, employees, agents, and contractors of the commissioner of natural
.23	resources are not liable in a civil action for trespass committed in the discharge of their
.24	duties under this section and are not liable to anyone for damages, except for damages
.25	arising from gross negligence.

.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
.11	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18.78, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
.12	Subd. 2. Control of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites. An owner of
.13	nonfederal lands underlying public waters or wetlands designated under section 103G.201
.14	is not required to control or eradicate purple loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites below the
.15	ordinary high water level of the public water or wetland. The commissioner of natural
.16	resources is responsible for control and eradication of purple loosestrife and nonnative
.17	Phragmites on public waters and wetlands designated under section 103G.201, except those
.18	located upon lands owned in fee title or managed by the United States. The officers,
.19	employees, agents, and contractors of the commissioner of natural resources may enter upon
.20	public waters and wetlands designated under section 103G.201 and, after providing
.21	notification to the occupant or owner of the land, may cross adjacent lands as necessary for
.22	the purpose of investigating purple loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites infestations,
.23	formulating methods of eradication, and implementing control and eradication of purple
.24	loosestrife or nonnative Phragmites. The commissioner of natural resources shall, by June
.25	1 of each year, compile a priority list of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites
.26	infestations to be controlled with herbicides in designated public waters. The commissioner
.27	of natural resources must distribute the list to county agricultural inspectors, local weed
.28	inspectors, and their appointed agents. The commissioner of natural resources shall control
.29	listed purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites infestations in priority order within the
.30	limits of funding allocated for that purpose. This procedure shall supersede the other
.31	provisions for control of noxious weeds set forth elsewhere in this chapter. The responsibility
.32	of the commissioner of natural resources to control and eradicate purple loosestrife and
1.33	nonnative Phragmites on public waters and wetlands located on private lands and the
1.34	authority to enter upon private lands ends ten days after receipt by the commissioner of a
5.1	written statement from the landowner that the landowner assumes all responsibility for
5.2	control and eradication of purple loosestrife and nonnative Phragmites under sections 18.78
i.3 i.4	to 18.88. State officers, employees, agents, and contractors of the commissioner of natural
5.5	resources are not liable in a civil action for trespass committed in the discharge of their
5.6	duties under this section and are not liable to anyone for damages, except for damages arising from gross negligence.
0.0	arising from gross negligence.
5.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
5.8	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
5.9	read:
5.10	Subd. 14c. Minimum risk pesticide. "Minimum risk pesticide" means a pesticide or
5.11	class of pesticides that is exempt from the United States Environmental Protection Agency's
5.12	registration requirements under section 25(b) of the federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and
5.13	Rodenticide Act in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 152.25(f).
5.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

4.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.01, is amended to read:

4.27 18F.01 PURPOSE.

- 4.28 The purpose of sections 18F.01 to 18F.13 is to establish permits conditions for the release of certain genetically engineered agriculturally related organisms to protect humans and the 4.29
- environment from the potential for significant adverse effects of those releases.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 5.1
- 5.2 read:
- Subd. 3a. Coordinated Framework. "Coordinated Framework" means the federal 5.3
- Coordinated Framework for the Regulation of Biotechnology set forth in Federal Register, 5.4
- volume 51, pages 23,302 to 23,350 (June 26, 1986), as amended.

5.15	Sec. 6. [18B.091] PESTICIDES ON MEDICAL CANNABIS.
5.16 5.17 5.18	A person working on behalf of an approved medical cannabis manufacturer may apply minimum risk pesticide for growing medical cannabis as defined in section 152.22, subdivision 6, unless:
5.19 5.20	(1) the commissioner determines that the product label prohibits the use of minimum risk pesticide on medical cannabis;
5.21 5.22 5.23	(2) the commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, determines that the continued use of minimum risk pesticide would cause unreasonable adverse effects on human health; or
5.24 5.25	(3) the commissioner determines that the continued use of minimum risk pesticide would cause unreasonable adverse effects on the environment.
5.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
5.27	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18D.321, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
5.28 5.29 5.30	Subdivision 1. Notice of appeal. (a) After service of an order, a person has 45 <u>20</u> days from receipt of the order to notify the commissioner in writing that the person intends to contest the order.
6.1 6.2 6.3	(b) If the person fails to notify the commissioner that the person intends to contest the order, the order is a final order of the commissioner and not subject to further judicial or administrative review.
6.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.5	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.01, is amended to read:
6.6	18F.01 PURPOSE.
6.7 6.8 6.9	The purpose of sections 18F.01 to 18F.13 is to establish permits conditions for the release of certain genetically engineered agriculturally related organisms to protect humans and the environment from the potential for significant adverse effects of those releases.
6.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.11 6.12	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
6.13 6.14 6.15	Subd. 3a. Coordinated Framework. "Coordinated Framework" means the federal Coordinated Framework for the Regulation of Biotechnology set forth in Federal Register, volume 51, pages 23,302 to 23,350 (June 26, 1986), as amended.
6.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Senate Language S2128-1

5.6	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.02, is amended by adding a su	bdivision to
5.7	read:	

- Subd. 7a. Regulated organism. "Regulated organism" means a genetically engineered organism that is not exempt from federal regulations or that is not yet authorized for commercial use by the appropriate federal agency in the Coordinated Framework. 5.10
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.07, is amended to read: 5.11

5.8

5.9

5.14

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.28

5.31

5.32

5.33

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.9

5.12 18F.07 GENETICALLY ENGINEERED AGRICULTURALLY RELATED ORGANISM PERMIT. 5.13

Subdivision 1. **Requirement.** A person may not conduct a release of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism until a permit for the release has been obtained from the eommissioner United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) or Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an agency in the Coordinated Framework has determined that the organism is exempt from regulation. The commissioner may accept a USDA or EPA permit or may review a USDA or EPA permit and add additional requirements to ensure that the proposed release of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism would not create a hazard to the agricultural, forest, or horticultural interests of this state or the state's general environmental quality. Each release of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism requires a new permit until the commissioner USDA or the EPA determines by rule that the proposed use of the genetically engineered agriculturally related organism is no longer subject to regulation under this chapter.

- Subd. 2. Permit application and review. (a) After reviewing a completed application, the commissioner may issue a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit if the commissioner determines that the applicant has adequately demonstrated that the proposed release does not have the potential for unreasonable adverse effects on the environment. If the commissioner reviews a USDA or EPA permit, the commissioner may prescribe recommend terms and conditions, including, but not limited to, the period for the genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit, the amount or number of genetically engineered agriculturally related organisms to be used, monitoring activities, department inspection schedules, reporting of experiment results, and experiment termination procedures. A person may not violate terms or conditions of a permit issued under this section. After a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit is issued, the commissioner may revoke or change the permit at any time must inform the permitting agency if the commissioner finds that its permit terms or conditions are being violated or are inadequate to avoid unreasonable adverse effects on the environment.
- (b) The commissioner may deny issuance of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit if the commissioner determines that the use to be made of the agriculturally related organisms under the proposed terms and conditions may cause unreasonable adverse effects on the environment request that the USDA or EPA not issue

6.17 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 6.18 read:

6.19 Subd. 7a. Regulated organism. "Regulated organism" means a genetically engineered organism that is not exempt from federal regulations or that is not yet authorized for 6.20 commercial use by the appropriate federal agency in the Coordinated Framework. 6.21

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023. 6.22

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.07, is amended to read: 6.23

18F.07 GENETICALLY ENGINEERED AGRICULTURALLY RELATED 6.24 ORGANISM PERMIT. 6.25

6.26 Subdivision 1. Requirement. A person may not conduct a release of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism until a permit for the release has been obtained from the commissioner United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) or Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) unless the organism is exempt from regulation by the applicable 6.29 agency under the Coordinated Framework. The commissioner may accept a USDA or EPA permit or may review a USDA or EPA permit and add additional requirements to ensure 7.1 that the proposed release of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism would 7.2 7.3 not create a hazard to the agricultural, forest, or horticultural interests of this state or the state's general environmental quality. Each release of a genetically engineered agriculturally 7.4 related organism requires a new permit until the commissioner determines by rule that the 7.5 proposed use of the agriculturally related organism is no longer subject to regulation under 7.6 7.7 this chapter.

- Subd. 2. Permit application and review. (a) After reviewing a completed application, 7.8 the commissioner may issue a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit if the commissioner determines that the applicant has adequately demonstrated that the proposed release does not have the potential for unreasonable adverse effects on the 7.11 environment. If the commissioner reviews a USDA or EPA permit, the commissioner may prescribe recommend terms and conditions, including, but not limited to, the period for the genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit, the amount or number of 7.14 7.15 genetically engineered agriculturally related organisms to be used, monitoring activities, department inspection schedules, reporting of experiment results, and experiment termination procedures. A person may not violate terms or conditions of a permit issued under this 7.17 7.18 section. After a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit is issued, the commissioner may revoke or change the permit at any time must inform the permitting 7.19 agency if the commissioner finds that its permit terms or conditions are being violated or are inadequate to avoid unreasonable adverse effects on the environment. 7.21
 - (b) The commissioner may deny issuance of a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit if the commissioner determines that the use to be made of the agriculturally related organisms under the proposed terms and conditions may cause unreasonable adverse effects on the environment request that the USDA or EPA not issue

7.22

7.24

House Language H1587-2	
------------------------	--

5.11 5.12 5.13	a permit if the commissioner determines that the release of the genetically engineered agriculturally related organism would create a hazard to the agricultural, forest, or horticultural interests of this state or the state's general environmental quality.
6.14 6.15 6.16	(c) The commissioner shall publish a notice of the proposed release at the earliest opportunity in the EQB Monitor and shall notify the chair of the county board and, if applicable, the Tribal council of any reservation where the organism will be released.
5.17 5.18 5.19	Subd. 3. Application. A person shall file an application for a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit with the commissioner. The application must include appropriate federal agency in the Coordinated Framework.
5.20	(1) the name and address of the applicant;
5.21 5.22 5.23	(2) any United States Environmental Protection Agency, United States Department of Agriculture, or other federal agency regulatory application or approval document, if require under federal law or rule;
5.24	(3) the purpose or objectives of the agriculturally related organism;
5.25	(4) the name, address, and telephone number of cooperators or participants in this state
6.26 6.27	(5) the amount or number of organisms, materials, cultures, or seeds to be shipped or used in this state; and
5.28	(6) other information requested by the commissioner.
5.29 5.30 5.31	Subd. 4. Application fee. An application for a permit for a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of \$125.
7.1	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.13, is amended to read:
7.2	18F.13 EXEMPTIONS.
7.3 7.4	(a) The commissioner may provide exemptions to the requirements to prepare an environmental assessment worksheet and obtain a permit for release of genetically engineer
7.5	agriculturally related organisms for which substantial evidence, including past releases, has
7.6	shown that the organism can be released without adverse effects on humans and the
7.7 7.8	environment must recognize federal exemptions for the regulation of genetically engineered organisms.
7.9	(b) The commissioner may provide exemptions from the requirements to prepare an
7.10	environmental assessment worksheet and obtain a permit for release of genetically engineer
7.11	agriculturally related organisms for which substantial evidence, including past releases, has

shown that the organism can be released under alternative oversight without adverse effects

7.11

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

7.26 7.27	a permit if the commissioner determines that the release of the genetically engineered agriculturally related organism would create a hazard to the agricultural, forest, or
7.28 7.29	horticultural interests of this state or the state's general environmental quality. (c) The commissioner shall publish a notice of the proposed release at the earliest
7.30 7.31	opportunity in the EQB Monitor and shall notify the chair of the county board and, if applicable, the Tribal council of any reservation where the organism will be released.
7.32 7.33 7.34 7.35	Subd. 3. Application. A person shall file an application for a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism permit with the commissioner. The application must include: appropriate federal agency in the Coordinated Framework, unless exempted as set forth in section 18F.13.
8.1	(1) the name and address of the applicant;
8.2 8.3 8.4	(2) any United States Environmental Protection Agency, United States Department of Agriculture, or other federal agency regulatory application or approval document, if required under federal law or rule;
8.5	(3) the purpose or objectives of the agriculturally related organism;
8.6	(4) the name, address, and telephone number of ecoperators or participants in this state;
8.7 8.8	(5) the amount or number of organisms, materials, cultures, or seeds to be shipped or used in this state; and
8.9	(6) other information requested by the commissioner.
8.10 8.11 8.12	Subd. 4. Application fee. An application for a permit for a genetically engineered agriculturally related organism must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of \$125.
8.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
8.14	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18F.13, is amended to read:
8.15	18F.13 EXEMPTIONS.
8.16 8.17 8.18 8.19 8.20 8.21	(a) The commissioner may provide exemptions to the requirements to prepare an environmental assessment worksheet and obtain a permit for release of genetically engineered agriculturally related organisms for which substantial evidence, including past releases, has shown that the organism can be released without adverse effects on humans and the environment must recognize federal exemptions for the regulation of genetically engineered organisms.
8.22 8.23	(b) The commissioner may provide exemptions from the requirements to prepare an environmental assessment worksheet and obtain a permit for release of genetically engineered

OLICY

AGRICULTURE PO House Language H1587-2
to humans and the environment must allow the commercial use of agriculturally related genetically engineered organisms, pesticides, fertilizers, soil amendments, or plant amendments that have been deregulated by any federal agency.
Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Biological control agent. "Biological control agent" means a parasite parasitoid, predator, pathogen, or competitive organism intentionally released by humans for the purpose of biological control with the intent of causing a reduction of a host or prey population.
Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Compliance agreement. "Compliance agreement" means a written agreement between a person an entity and a regulatory agency to achieve compliance with regulatory requirements.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 7.24 7.25 read:

7.14

7.16

7.17

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

- 7.26 Subd. 12a. Individual. "Individual" means a single human being who is not the sole proprietor of a registered business related to plant protection or export certification.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 8.1
- Subd. 14. **Infested.** "Infested" means a plant has been overrun by that contains an 8.2 8.3 unacceptable level of plant pests, including weeds, or contains or harbors plant pests in a quantity that may threaten other plants. 8.4
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 8.5
- Subd. 15. **Invasive species.** "Invasive species" means an exotic or nonnative species 8.6 whose introduction and establishment causes, or may cause, economic or environmental 8.7 harm or harm to human health. 8.8
- 8.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
- Subd. 16. Mark. "Mark" means an official indicator affixed by the commissioner for 8.10 purposes of identification or separation, to, on, around, or near, plants or plant material 8.11 known or suspected to be infested or infected with a plant pest or that otherwise needs to

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

8.26 8.27	to humans and the environment must allow the commercial use of agriculturally related genetically engineered organisms, pesticides, fertilizers, soil amendments, or plant
8.28	amendments that have been deregulated by any federal agency.
8.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.1	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
9.2 9.3 9.4	Subd. 2. Biological control agent. "Biological control agent" means a parasite parasitoid predator, pathogen, or competitive organism intentionally released by humans for the purpose of biological control with the intent of causing a reduction of a host or prey population.
9.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.6	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
9.7 9.8 9.9	Subd. 6. Compliance agreement. "Compliance agreement" means a written agreement between a person an entity and a regulatory agency to achieve compliance with regulatory requirements.
9.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.11 9.12	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
9.13 9.14	Subd. 12a. Individual. "Individual" means a single human being who is not the sole proprietor of a registered business related to plant protection or export certification.
9.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.16	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
9.17 9.18 9.19	Subd. 14. Infested. "Infested" means a plant has been overrun by that contains an unacceptable level of plant pests, including weeds, or contains or harbors plant pests in a quantity that may threaten other plants.
9.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.21	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
9.22 9.23 9.24	Subd. 15. Invasive species. "Invasive species" means an exotic or nonnative species whose introduction and establishment causes, or may cause, economic or environmental harm or harm to human health.
9.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
9.26	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
9.27 9.28 10.1	Subd. 16. Mark. "Mark" means an official indicator affixed by the commissioner for purposes of identification or separation, to, on, around, or near, plants or plant material known or suspected to be <u>infested or infected</u> with a plant pest <u>or that otherwise needs to</u>

House Language H1587-2

8.13 8.14	<u>be distinguished from other plants or materials</u> . This includes, but is not limited to, paint, markers, tags, seals, stickers, tape, ribbons, signs, or placards.
8.15	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
8.16 8.17 8.18 8.19	Subd. 20. Person Entity. "Person Entity" means an individual, a registered business such as a firm, corporation, partnership, association, trust, joint stock company, or unincorporated organization, or sole proprietorship; the state; a state agency; or a political subdivision.
8.20	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
8.21 8.22 8.23 8.24 8.25	Subd. 22. Phytosanitary certificate or export certificate. "Phytosanitary certificate" or "export certificate" means a document authorized or prepared by a duly authorized federa or state official that affirms, declares, or verifies that an article, nursery stock, plant, plant product, shipment, or any other officially regulated article meets applicable, legally established, plant pest regulations, including this chapter.
8.26	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
8.27 8.28 8.29 8.30 9.1 9.2	Subd. 24. Plant pest. "Plant pest" includes, but is not limited to, an invasive species or any pest of plants, agricultural commodities, horticultural products, nursery stock, or noncultivated plants by organisms such as means any organism determined by the commissioner to be capable of causing harm to terrestrial plants, including but not limited to insects, snails, nematodes, fungi, viruses, bacterium, microorganisms, mycoplasma-like organisms, weeds, plants; and parasitic plants.
9.3	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 30, is amended to read:
9.4 9.5 9.6	Subd. 30. Significant damage or harm. "Significant damage" or "harm" means a level of adverse impact that results in <u>unacceptable</u> economic damage, injury, or loss that exceeds the cost of control for a particular erop <u>plant</u> .
9.7	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
9.8 9.9 9.10	Subdivision 1. Entry and inspection. (a) The commissioner may enter and inspect a public or private place that might harbor plant pests and may require that the owner destroy or treat plant pests, plants, or other material.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

0.2	be distinguished from other plants or materials. This includes, but is not limited to, paint, markers, tags, seals, stickers, tape, ribbons, signs, or placards.
0.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
0.5	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
0.6 0.7 0.8 0.9	Subd. 20. Person Entity. "Person Entity" means an individual, a registered business such as a firm, corporation, partnership, association, trust, joint stock company, or unincorporated organization, or sole proprietorship; the state; a state agency; or a political subdivision.
0.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
0.11	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
0.12 0.13 0.14 0.15 0.16	Subd. 22. Phytosanitary certificate or export certificate. "Phytosanitary certificate" or "export certificate" means a document authorized or prepared by a duly authorized federal or state official that affirms, declares, or verifies that an article, nursery stock, plant, plant product, shipment, or any other officially regulated article meets applicable, legally established, plant pest regulations, including this chapter.
0.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
0.18	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
0.19 0.20 0.21 0.22 0.23 0.24	Subd. 24. Plant pest. "Plant pest" includes, but is not limited to, an invasive species or any pest of plants, agricultural commodities, horticultural products, nursery stock, or noneultivated plants by organisms such as means any organism determined by the commissioner to be capable of causing harm to terrestrial plants, including but not limited to insects, snails, nematodes, fungi, viruses, bacterium, microorganisms, mycoplasma-like organisms, weeds, plants; and parasitic plants.
0.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
0.26	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.02, subdivision 30, is amended to read:
0.27 0.28 0.29	Subd. 30. Significant damage or harm. "Significant damage" or "harm" means a level of adverse impact that results in <u>unacceptable</u> economic damage, injury, or loss that exceeds the cost of control for a particular erop plant.
0.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
1.1	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.2 1.3 1.4	Subdivision 1. Entry and inspection. (a) The commissioner may enter and inspect a public or private place that might harbor plant pests and may require that the owner destroy or treat plant pests, plants, or other material.

House Language H1587-2

(b) If the owner fails to properly comply with a directive of the commissioner, the
commissioner may have any necessary work done at the owner's expense. The commissioner
shall notify the owner of the deadline for paying those expenses. If the owner does not
reimburse the commissioner for an expense within a time specified by the commissioner,
the expense is a charge upon the county as provided in subdivision 4.

- (c) If a harmful plant pest infestation or infection threatens plants of an area in the state, the commissioner may take any measures necessary to eliminate or alleviate the potential significant damage or harm.
- (d) The commissioner may collect fees required by this chapter.

9.11 9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.18

9.19

9.24

9.25

9.27

9.28

9.29

10.4 10.5

10.6

- (e) The commissioner may issue and enforce written or printed "stop-sale" orders,
 compliance agreements, and other directives and requests to the owner or custodian of any
 plants or articles infested or infected with a harmful plant pest.
- 9.23 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Control order.** In order to prevent the introduction or spread of harmful or dangerous plant pests, the commissioner may issue orders for necessary control measures. These orders may indicate the type of specific control to be used, the compound or material, the manner or the time of application, and who is responsible for carrying out the control order. Control orders may include directions to control or abate the plant pest to an acceptable level; eradicate the plant pest; restrict the movement of the plant pest or any material, article, appliance, plant, or means of conveyance suspected to be carrying the plant pest; or destroy plants or plant products infested or infected with a plant pest. Material suspected of being infested or infected with a plant pest may be confiscated by the commissioner.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.05, is amended to read:

18G.05 DISCOVERY OF PLANT PESTS; OFFICIAL MARKING OF INFESTED OR INFECTED ARTICLES.

Upon knowledge of the existence of a dangerous or injurious plant pest or invasive species within the state, the commissioner may conspicuously mark all plants, infested areas, materials, and articles known or suspected to be infected or infested with the plant pest or invasive species. Persons, owners, or tenants An entity or individual in possession of the premises or area in which the existence of the plant pest or invasive species is suspected must be notified by the commissioner with prescribed control measures. A person An entity or individual must comply with the commissioner's control order within the prescribed time. If the commissioner determines that satisfactory control or mitigation of the pest has been achieved, the order must be released.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

11.5 11.6 11.7 11.8 11.9	(b) If the owner fails to properly comply with a directive of the commissioner, the commissioner may have any necessary work done at the owner's expense. The commissioner shall notify the owner of the deadline for paying those expenses. If the owner does not reimburse the commissioner for an expense within a time specified by the commissioner, the expense is a charge upon the county as provided in subdivision 4.
11.10 11.11 11.12	(c) If a harmful plant pest infestation or infection threatens plants of an area in the state, the commissioner may take any measures necessary to eliminate or alleviate the potential significant damage or harm.
11.13	(d) The commissioner may collect fees required by this chapter.
11.14 11.15 11.16	(e) The commissioner may issue and enforce written or printed "stop-sale" orders, compliance agreements, and other directives and requests to the owner or custodian of any plants or articles infested or infected with a harmful plant pest.
11.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
11.18	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 11.23 11.24 11.25 11.26 11.27	Subd. 2. Control order. In order to prevent the introduction or spread of harmful or dangerous plant pests, the commissioner may issue orders for necessary control measures. These orders may indicate the type of specific control to be used, the compound or material, the manner or the time of application, and who is responsible for carrying out the control order. Control orders may include directions to control or abate the plant pest to an acceptable level; eradicate the plant pest; restrict the movement of the plant pest or any material, article, appliance, plant, or means of conveyance suspected to be carrying the plant pest; or destroy plants or plant products infested or infected with a plant pest. Material suspected of being infested or infected with a plant pest may be confiscated by the commissioner.
11.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
12.1	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.05, is amended to read:
12.2 12.3	18G.05 DISCOVERY OF PLANT PESTS; OFFICIAL MARKING OF INFESTED OR INFECTED ARTICLES.
12.4 12.5 12.6 12.7 12.8 12.9 12.10 12.11	Upon knowledge of the existence of a dangerous or injurious plant pest or invasive species within the state, the commissioner may conspicuously mark all plants, infested areas, materials, and articles known or suspected to be infected or infested with the plant pest or invasive species. Persons, owners, or tenants An entity or individual in possession of the premises or area in which the existence of the plant pest or invasive species is suspected must be notified by the commissioner with prescribed control measures. A person An entity or individual must comply with the commissioner's control order within the prescribed time.

10.15	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
10.16 10.17 10.18 10.19 10.20 10.21	Subd. 2. Quarantine notice. (a) The commissioner may issue orders to take prompt regulatory action in plant pest emergencies on regulated articles. If continuing quarantine action is required, a formal quarantine may be imposed. Orders may be issued to retain necessary quarantine action on a few properties if eradication treatments have been applied and continuing quarantine action is no longer necessary for the majority of the regulated area.
10.22 10.23 10.24	(b) The commissioner may place an emergency regulation or quarantine in effect without prior public notice in order to take immediate regulatory action to prevent the introduction or establishment of a plant pest.
10.25 10.26 10.27 10.28 10.29 10.30 10.31	(c) The commissioner may enter into cooperative agreements with the United States Department of Agriculture and other federal, state, city, or county agencies to assist in the enforcement of federal quarantines. The commissioner may adopt a quarantine or regulation against a <u>plant</u> pest or an area not covered by a federal quarantine. The commissioner may seize, destroy, or require treatment of products moved from a federally regulated area if they were not moved in accordance with the federal quarantine regulations or, if certified, they were found to be infested with the pest organism.
11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 11.5 11.6 11.7	(d) The commissioner may impose a quarantine against a plant pest that is not quarantined in other states to prevent the spread of the plant pest within this state. The commissioner may enact a quarantine against a plant pest of regional or national significance even when no federal domestic quarantine has been adopted. These quarantines regulate intrastate movement between quarantined and nonquarantined areas of this state. The commissioner may enact a parallel state quarantine if there is a federal quarantine applied to a portion of the state.
11.8 11.9 11.10 11.11 11.12	(e) The commissioner may impose a state exterior quarantine if the plant pest is not established in this state but is established in other states. State exterior quarantines may be enacted even if no federal domestic quarantine has been adopted. The commissioner may issue control orders at destinations necessary to prevent the introduction or spread of plant pests.
11.13	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Public notification of a state quarantine or emergency regulation. (a) For

(b) If circumstances permit, public notice and a public hearing must be held to solicit

plant pest threats of imminent concern, the commissioner may declare an emergency

comments regarding the proposed state quarantine. If a plant pest threat is of imminent concern and there is insufficient time to allow full public comment on the proposed

quarantine or enact emergency orders.

11.14

11.16

11.17

12.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
12.14	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
12.15 12.16 12.17 12.18 12.19 12.20	Subd. 2. Quarantine notice. (a) The commissioner may issue orders to take prompt regulatory action in plant pest emergencies on regulated articles. If continuing quarantine action is required, a formal quarantine may be imposed. Orders may be issued to retain necessary quarantine action on a few properties if eradication treatments have been applied and continuing quarantine action is no longer necessary for the majority of the regulated area.
12.21 12.22 12.23	(b) The commissioner may place an emergency regulation or quarantine in effect without prior public notice in order to take immediate regulatory action to prevent the introduction or establishment of a plant pest.
12.24 12.25 12.26 12.27 12.28 12.29 12.30	(c) The commissioner may enter into cooperative agreements with the United States Department of Agriculture and other federal, state, city, or county agencies to assist in the enforcement of federal quarantines. The commissioner may adopt a quarantine or regulation against a <u>plant</u> pest or an area not covered by a federal quarantine. The commissioner may seize, destroy, or require treatment of products moved from a federally regulated area if they were not moved in accordance with the federal quarantine regulations or, if certified, they were found to be infested with the pest organism.
12.31 12.32 12.33 13.1 13.2 13.3 13.4	(d) The commissioner may impose a quarantine against a plant pest that is not quarantined in other states to prevent the spread of the plant pest within this state. The commissioner may enact a quarantine against a plant pest of regional or national significance even when no federal domestic quarantine has been adopted. These quarantines regulate intrastate movement between quarantined and nonquarantined areas of this state. The commissioner may enact a parallel state quarantine if there is a federal quarantine applied to a portion of the state.
13.5 13.6 13.7 13.8 13.9	(e) The commissioner may impose a state exterior quarantine if the plant pest is not established in this state but is established in other states. State exterior quarantines may be enacted even if no federal domestic quarantine has been adopted. The commissioner may issue control orders at destinations necessary to prevent the introduction or spread of plant pests.
13.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
13.11	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
13.12 13.13 13.14	Subd. 5. Public notification of a state quarantine or emergency regulation. (a) For <u>plant</u> pest threats of imminent concern, the commissioner may declare an emergency quarantine or enact emergency orders.
13.15 13.16	(b) If circumstances permit, public notice and a public hearing must be held to solicit comments regarding the proposed state quarantine. If a <u>plant</u> pest threat is of imminent

13.17 concern and there is insufficient time to allow full public comment on the proposed

11.20 11.21	quarantine, the commissioner may impose an emergency quarantine until a state quarantine can be implemented.
11.22 11.23 11.24	(c) Upon establishment of a state quarantine, and upon institution of modifications or repeal, notices must be sent to the principal parties of interest, including federal and state authorities, and to organizations representing the public involved in the restrictive measures.
11.25	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
11.26 11.27 11.28 11.29 11.30 11.31 11.32	Subd. 4. Phytosanitary and export certificates. An exporter of plants or plant products desiring to originate shipments from Minnesota to a foreign country requiring a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate must submit an application to the commissioner. Application for phytosanitary certificates or export certificates must be made on forms provided or approved by the commissioner or the USDA. The commissioner may conduct inspections of plants, plant products, or facilities for persons that have applied for or intend to apply for a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate from the commissioner.
12.1 12.2 12.3 12.4	The commissioner may issue a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate if the plants or plant products satisfactorily meet the requirements of the importing state or foreign country and the United States Department of Agriculture requirements. The requirements of the destination states or countries must be met by the applicant.
12.5	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
12.6 12.7 12.8	Subd. 5. Certificate fees. (a) The commissioner shall assess fees sufficient to recover all costs for the inspection, service, and work performed in carrying out the issuance of a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate.
12.9 12.10	(b) If laboratory analysis or other technical analysis is required to issue a certificate, the commissioner must set and collect the fee to recover this additional cost.
12.11 12.12 12.13	(c) The certificate fee is \$75 or a fee amount, not to exceed \$300, that is sufficient to recover all processing costs for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued. The certificate fee is in addition to any mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed.
12.14 12.15 12.16	(d) For services provided for in subdivision 7 that are goods and services provided for the direct and primary use of a private individual, business, or other entity, the commissioner must set and collect the fees to cover the cost of the services provided.
12.17	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
12.18 12.19	Subd. 6. Certificate denial or cancellation. The commissioner may deny or cancel the issuance of a phytosanitary or export certificate for any of the following reasons:

quarantine, the commissioner may impose an emergency quarantine until a state quarantine can be implemented. (c) Upon establishment of a state quarantine, and upon institution of modifications or 13.20 repeal, notices must be sent to the principal parties of interest, including federal and state authorities, and to organizations representing the public involved in the restrictive measures. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023. 13.23 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 13.24 Subd. 4. Phytosanitary and export certificates. An exporter of plants or plant products 13.25 desiring to originate shipments from Minnesota to a foreign country requiring a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate must submit an application to the commissioner. Application for phytosanitary certificates or export certificates must be made on forms provided or approved by the commissioner or the USDA. The commissioner may conduct inspections of plants, plant products, or facilities for persons that have applied for or intend to apply for a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate from the commissioner. The commissioner may issue a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate if the plants 14.1 or plant products satisfactorily meet the requirements of the importing state or foreign country and the United States Department of Agriculture requirements. The requirements 14.3 of the destination states or countries must be met by the applicant. 14.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023. 14.5 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 14.6 14.7 Subd. 5. Certificate fees. (a) The commissioner shall assess fees sufficient to recover all costs for the inspection, service, and work performed in carrying out the issuance of a phytosanitary certificate or export certificate. (b) If laboratory analysis or other technical analysis is required to issue a certificate, the 14.10 commissioner must set and collect the fee to recover this additional cost. 14.12 (c) The certificate fee is \$75 or a fee amount, not to exceed \$300, that is sufficient to recover all processing costs for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued. The certificate fee is in addition to any mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed. (d) For services provided for in subdivision 7 that are goods and services provided for 14.15 the direct and primary use of a private individual, business, or other entity, the commissioner must set and collect the fees to cover the cost of the services provided. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023. 14.18

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

issuance of a phytosanitary or export certificate for any of the following reasons:

Subd. 6. Certificate denial or cancellation. The commissioner may deny or cancel the

14.19

14.20

House Language H1587-2

12.20 12.21 12.22	(1) failure of the plants or plant products to meet quarantine, regulations, and requirements imposed by the country, state, or other jurisdiction for which the phytosanitary or export certificate is being requested;
12.23 12.24	(2) failure to completely or accurately provide the information requested on the application form;
12.25 12.26	(3) failure to ship the exact plants or plant products which were inspected and approved; or
12.27	(4) failure to pay any fees or costs due the commissioner.
12.28	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
12.29 12.30 13.1 13.2 13.3	Subdivision 1. Detection and control agreements. The commissioner may enter into cooperative agreements with organizations, persons entities, civic groups, governmental agencies, or other organizations to adopt and execute plans to detect and control areas infested or infected with harmful plant pests. The cooperative agreements may include provisions of joint funding of any control treatment.
13.4 13.5 13.6 13.7	If a harmful plant pest infestation or infection occurs and cannot be adequately controlled by individual persons individuals, entities, owners, tenants, or local units of government, the commissioner may conduct the necessary control measures independently or on a cooperative basis with federal or other units of government.
13.8	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
13.9 13.10 13.11 13.12	Subdivision 1. Plant pest and invasive species research. The commissioner shall conduct research to prevent the introduction or spread of invasive species and plant pests that are also terrestrial invasive species into the state and to investigate the feasibility of their control or eradication.
13.13	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
13.14 13.15 13.16 13.17	Subd. 2. Statewide program. The commissioner shall establish a statewide program to prevent the introduction and the spread of harmful plant pest and pests that are also terrestrial invasive species. To the extent possible, the program must provide coordination of efforts among governmental entities and private organizations.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

14.22 14.23 14.24	imposed by the country, state, or other jurisdiction for which the phytosanitary or export certificate is being requested;
14.25 14.26	(2) failure to completely or accurately provide the information requested on the application form;
14.27 14.28	(3) failure to ship the exact plants or plant products which were inspected and approved; or
14.29	(4) failure to pay any fees or costs due the commissioner.
14.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
15.1	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
15.2 15.3 15.4 15.5 15.6	Subdivision 1. Detection and control agreements. The commissioner may enter into cooperative agreements with organizations, <u>persons entities</u> , civic groups, governmental agencies, or other organizations to adopt and execute plans to detect and control areas infested or infected with <u>harmful</u> plant pests. The cooperative agreements may include provisions of joint funding of any control treatment.
15.7 15.8 15.9 15.10	If a harmful plant pest infestation or infection occurs and cannot be adequately controlled by individual persons individuals, entities, owners, tenants, or local units of government, the commissioner may conduct the necessary control measures independently or on a cooperative basis with federal or other units of government.
15.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
15.12	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
15.13 15.14 15.15 15.16	Subdivision 1. Plant pest and invasive species research. The commissioner shall conduct research to prevent the introduction or spread of invasive species and plant pests that are also terrestrial invasive species into the state and to investigate the feasibility of their control or eradication.
15.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
15.18	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18G.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
15.19 15.20 15.21 15.22	Subd. 2. Statewide program. The commissioner shall establish a statewide program to prevent the introduction and the spread of harmful plant pest and pests that are also terrestrial invasive species. To the extent possible, the program must provide coordination of efforts among governmental entities and private organizations.
15.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

House Language H1587-2

13.18	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
13.19 13.20 13.21 13.22	Subd. 2. Agent. "Agent" means a person an entity who, on behalf of another person entity, receives on consignment, contracts for, or solicits for sale on commission, a plant product from a producer or supplier of the product or negotiates the consignment or purchas of a plant product on behalf of another person entity.
13.23	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
13.24 13.25	Subd. 3. Annual. "Annual" means a plant growing in Minnesota with a life cycle of les than one year when grown in Minnesota.
13.26	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
13.27 13.28 13.29	Subd. 8. Consignee. "Consignee" means <u>a person</u> <u>an entity</u> to whom a plant, nursery stock, horticultural product, or plant product is shipped for handling, planting, sale, resale, or any other purpose.
14.1	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
14.2 14.3 14.4	Subd. 9. Consignor. "Consignor" means a person an entity who ships or delivers to a consignee a plant, nursery stock, horticultural product, or plant product for handling, plantin sale, resale, or any other purpose.
14.5	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
14.6	Subd. 12. Distribute. "Distribute" means offer for sale, sell, barter, give away, ship,
14.7	deliver for shipment, receive and deliver, offer to deliver, receive on consignment, contract
14.8	for, solicit for sale on commission, or negotiate the consignment or purchase in this state.
14.9	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12b, is amended to read:
14.10	Subd. 12b. Etiolated growth. "Etiolated growth" means bleached and unnatural growth
14.11	resulting from the exclusion of sunlight plant growth with reduced or no chlorophyll
14.12	production due to a lack of sunlight. Etiolated growth is evidenced by pale, vellowish or

white plants and weak, spindly stems.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

5.24	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
5.25 5.26 5.27 5.28	Subd. 2. Agent. "Agent" means a person an entity who, on behalf of another person entity, receives on consignment, contracts for, or solicits for sale on commission, a plant product from a producer or supplier of the product or negotiates the consignment or purchase of a plant product on behalf of another person entity.
5.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.1	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
6.2 6.3	Subd. 3. Annual. "Annual" means a plant growing in Minnesota with a life cycle of less than one year when grown in Minnesota.
6.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.5	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
6.6 6.7 6.8	Subd. 8. Consignee. "Consignee" means a person an entity to whom a plant, nursery stock, horticultural product, or plant product is shipped for handling, planting, sale, resale, or any other purpose.
6.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.10	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
6.11 6.12 6.13	Subd. 9. Consignor. "Consignor" means a person an entity who ships or delivers to a consignee a plant, nursery stock, horticultural product, or plant product for handling, planting sale, resale, or any other purpose.
6.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.15	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
6.16 6.17 6.18	Subd. 12. Distribute. "Distribute" means offer for sale, sell, barter, <u>give away</u> , ship, deliver for shipment, receive and deliver, offer to deliver, receive on consignment, contract for, solicit for sale on commission, or negotiate the consignment or purchase in this state.
6.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
6.20	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12b, is amended to read:
6.21 6.22 6.23 6.24	Subd. 12b. Etiolated growth. "Etiolated growth" means bleached and unnatural growth resulting from the exclusion of sunlight plant growth with reduced or no chlorophyll production due to a lack of sunlight. Etiolated growth is evidenced by pale, yellowish or white plants and weak, spindly stems.
6.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

House Language H1587-2

14.14	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12c, is amended to read:
14.15 14.16	Subd. 12c. Individual. "Individual" means a human being who is not the sole proprietor of a registered business selling plants for planting.
	or a regional or committee or printing.
14.17	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
14.18 14.19	Subd. 14. Infested. "Infested" means a plant has been overrun by that contains an unacceptable level of plant pests, including weeds, or contains or harbors plant pests in a
14.20	quantity that may threaten other plants.
14.21 14.22	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
14.23 14.24	Subd. 15a. Label. "Label" means a legible tag or other signage attached to a specific plant or plant container that provides the identity of the plant and any other required or
14.24	relevant information regarding the plant.
14.26	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
14.27 14.28	Subd. 16. Mark. "Mark" means an official indicator affixed by the commissioner for purposes of identification or separation to, on, around, or near plants or plant material known
14.29	or suspected to be infested or infected with a plant pest or to otherwise distinguish the plants
15.1 15.2	or plant material from other plants or materials. This includes, but is not limited to, paint, markers, tags, seals, stickers, tape, ribbons, signs, or placards.
15.3	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
15.4	Subd. 18. Nursery certificate. "Nursery certificate" means a document issued by the
15.5 15.6	commissioner recognizing that a person an entity is eligible to sell, offer for sale, or distribute certified nursery stock at a particular location under a specified business name.
15.7	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
15.8	Subd. 20. Nursery stock. "Nursery stock" means a plant intended for planting or
15.9 15.10	propagation, including, but not limited to, trees, shrubs, vines, perennials, biennials, grafts, cuttings, and buds that may be sold for propagation, whether cultivated or wild, and all
15.11	viable parts of these plants. Nursery stock does not include:
15.12	(1) field and forage crops or sod;

16.26	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 12c, is amended to read:
16.27 16.28	Subd. 12c. Individual. "Individual" means a human being who is not the sole proprietor of a registered business selling plants for planting.
17.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.2	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
17.3 17.4 17.5	Subd. 14. Infested. "Infested" means a plant has been overrun by that contains an unacceptable level of plant pests, including weeds, or contains or harbors plant pests in a quantity that may threaten other plants.
17.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.7 17.8	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
17.9 17.10 17.11	Subd. 15a. Label. "Label" means a legible tag or other signage attached to a specific plant or plant container that provides the identity of the plant and any other required or relevant information regarding the plant.
17.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.13	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
17.14 17.15 17.16 17.17 17.18	Subd. 16. Mark. "Mark" means an official indicator affixed by the commissioner for purposes of identification or separation to, on, around, or near plants or plant material known or suspected to be <u>infested or</u> infected with a plant pest <u>or to otherwise distinguish the plants or plant material from other plants or materials</u> . This includes, but is not limited to, paint, markers, tags, seals, stickers, tape, ribbons, signs, or placards.
17.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.20	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
17.21 17.22 17.23	Subd. 18. Nursery certificate. "Nursery certificate" means a document issued by the commissioner recognizing that a person an entity is eligible to sell, offer for sale, or distribute certified nursery stock at a particular location under a specified business name.
17.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.25	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
17.26 17.27 17.28 17.29	Subd. 20. Nursery stock. "Nursery stock" means a plant intended for planting or propagation, including, but not limited to, trees, shrubs, vines, perennials, biennials, grafts, cuttings, and buds that may be sold for propagation, whether cultivated or wild, and all viable parts of these plants. Nursery stock does not include:
18.1	(1) field and forage crops or sod;

15.13	(2) seeds;
15.14	(3) vegetable plants, bulbs, or tubers;
15.15 15.16	(4) cut <u>material such as flowers or other herbaceous or woody plants</u> , unless stems or other portions are intended for propagation;
15.17	(5) tropical plants;
15.18	(5) (6) annuals; or
15.19	(6) (7) Christmas trees.
15.20	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
15.21 15.22 15.23 15.24	Subd. 24. Owner. "Owner" includes, but is not limited to, the <u>person_entity</u> with the legal right of possession, proprietorship of, or responsibility for the property or place where any of the articles regulated in this chapter are found, or the <u>person_entity</u> who is in possession of, proprietorship of, or has responsibility for the regulated articles.
15.25	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 24a, is amended to read:
15.26 15.27 15.28	Subd. 24a. Packaged <u>nursery</u> stock. "Packaged <u>nursery</u> stock" means bare root nursery stock packed with the roots in moisture-retaining material encased in plastic film or other material designed to hold the moisture-retaining material in place.
16.1	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 25, is amended to read:
16.2 16.3 16.4 16.5	Subd. 25. Person Entity. "Person" "Entity" means an individual, a registered business such as a firm, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, a joint stock company, an unincorporated organization, or a sole proprietorship; the state; a state agency; or a political subdivision.
16.6	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 26, is amended to read:
16.7 16.8	Subd. 26. Place of origin. "Place of origin" means the county and state where nursery stock was most recently certified or grown for at least one full growing season.
16.9	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 28, is amended to read:
16.10 16.11	Subd. 28. Plant pest. "Plant pest" means a biotic agent that causes or may cause harm to any organism that the commissioner determines is capable of causing harm to terrestrial

18.2	(2) seeds;
18.3	(3) vegetable plants, bulbs, or tubers;
18.4 18.5	(4) cut <u>material such as flowers or other herbaceous or woody plants</u> , unless stems or other portions are intended for propagation;
18.6	(5) tropical plants;
18.7	(5) (6) annuals; or
18.8	$\frac{(6)}{(7)}$ Christmas trees.
18.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
18.10	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
18.11 18.12 18.13 18.14	Subd. 24. Owner. "Owner" includes, but is not limited to, the <u>person entity</u> with the legal right of possession, proprietorship of, or responsibility for the property or place where any of the articles regulated in this chapter are found, or the <u>person entity</u> who is in possession of, proprietorship of, or has responsibility for the regulated articles.
18.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
18.16	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 24a, is amended to read:
18.17 18.18 18.19	Subd. 24a. Packaged <u>nursery</u> stock. "Packaged <u>nursery</u> stock" means bare root nursery stock packed with the roots in moisture-retaining material encased in plastic film or other material designed to hold the moisture-retaining material in place.
18.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
18.21	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 25, is amended to read:
18.22 18.23 18.24 18.25	Subd. 25. Person Entity. "Person" "Entity" means an individual, a registered business such as a firm, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, a joint stock company, an unincorporated organization, or a sole proprietorship; the state; a state agency; or a political subdivision.
18.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
19.1	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 26, is amended to read:
19.2 19.3	Subd. 26. Place of origin. "Place of origin" means the county and state where nursery stock was most recently certified or grown for at least one full growing season.
19.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
19.5	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 28, is amended to read:
19.6 19.7	Subd. 28. Plant pest. "Plant pest" means a biotic agent that causes or may cause harm to any organism that the commissioner determines is capable of causing harm to terrestrial

House Language H1587-2

April 28,	2023	05:53	PM
-----------	------	-------	----

16.12 16.13	plants, including but not limited to insects, snails, nematodes, fungi, viruses, bacteria, microorganisms, mycoplasma-like organisms, weeds, and parasitic plants.	19.8 19.9	plants, including but not limited to insects, snails, nematodes, fungi, viruses, bacteria, microorganisms, mycoplasma-like organisms, weeds, and parasitic plants.
		19.10	
16.14	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 32, is amended to read:	19.11	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 32, is amended to read:
16.15 16.16	Subd. 32. Sales location. "Sales location" means a fixed location from which certified nursery stock is displayed or distributed or displayed with the intent to sell.	19.12 19.13	
		19.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
16.17	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 33, is amended to read:	19.15	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, subdivision 33, is amended to read:
16.18 16.19	Subd. 33. Tree spade . "Tree spade" means a mechanical device or machinery capable of removing nursery stock, root system, and soil from the <u>a</u> planting in one operation.	19.16 19.17	7 1
		19.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
16.20	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:	19.19	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
16.21 16.22 16.23	Subd. 6. Dissemination of information. The commissioner may disseminate information among growers relative to regarding the treatment of nursery stock in both prevention and elimination of to prevent or eliminate the attack by of plant pests and diseases.	19.20 19.21 19.22	among growers relative to regarding the treatment of nursery stock in both prevention and
		19.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
16.24	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.04, is amended to read:	19.24	Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.04, is amended to read:
16.25	18H.04 ADOPTION OF RULES.	19.25	18H.04 ADOPTION OF RULES.
16.26 16.27 16.28 17.1 17.2	The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the purposes of this chapter. The rules may include, but are not limited to, rules in regard to labeling and the maintenance of viability and vigor of nursery stock. Rules of the commissioner that are in effect on July 1, 2003, relating to plant protection, nursery inspection, or the Plant Pest Act remain in effect until they are superseded by new rules.	19.26 19.27 19.28 20.1 20.2	may include, but are not limited to, rules in regard to labeling and the maintenance of
		20.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
17.3	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.05, is amended to read:	20.4	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.05, is amended to read:
17.4	18H.05 NURSERY CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS.	20.5	18H.05 NURSERY CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS.
17.5 17.6 17.7 17.8 17.9	(a) No person may offer for sale or distribute certified nursery stock as a nursery stock grower or dealer without first obtaining the appropriate nursery stock certificate from the commissioner. The commissioner may not issue a certificate to a person an entity who does not sell certified nursery stock. Certificates are issued solely for these purposes and may not be used for other purposes.	20.6 20.7 20.8 20.9 20.10	(a) No person may offer for sale or distribute certified nursery stock as a nursery stock grower or dealer without first obtaining the appropriate nursery stock certificate from the commissioner. The commissioner may not issue a certificate to a person an entity who does not sell certified nursery stock. Certificates are issued solely for these purposes and may not be used for other purposes.
17.10 17.11	(b) A certificate issued by the commissioner expires on December 31 of the year it is issued.	20.11 20.12	(b) A certificate issued by the commissioner expires on December 31 of the year it is issued.

House Language H1587-2

17.12 17.13	(c) A person An entity required to be certified by this section must apply for a certificate or for renewal on a form furnished established by the commissioner which that must contain:
17.14	(1) the name and, address, and contact information of the applicant;
17.15	the number of locations to be operated by the applicant and their addresses, and
17.16	(2) the assumed business name of the applicant;
17.17 17.18	(2) if other than an individual, a statement whether a person is a partnership, corporation, or other organization;
17.19 17.20	(3) the type of business to be operated and, if the applicant is an agent, the principals the applicant represents; and
17.21	(3) the address of the sales location;
17.22 17.23	(4) the address or geographical description of any additional location where nursery stock will be handled, if applicable; and
17.24	(4) (5) the source or sources of purchased nursery stock.
17.25	(d) No person entity may:
17.26	(1) falsely claim to be a certified dealer, grower, broker, or agent;
17.27	(2) make willful false statements when applying for a certificate; or
17.28 17.29	(3) sell or distribute certified nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock dealer who is required to be certified or nursery stock grower.
18.1 18.2	(e) Each application for a certificate must be accompanied by the appropriate certificate fee under section 18H.07.
18.3 18.4	(f) Certificates issued by the commissioner <u>must should</u> be prominently displayed to the public in the place of business where certified nursery stock is sold or distributed.
18.5	(g) The commissioner may refuse to issue a certificate for cause.
18.6	(h) Each grower or dealer is entitled to one sales location under the certificate of the

grower or dealer. Each additional sales location maintained by the <u>person</u> <u>entity</u> requires the payment of the full certificate fee <u>for each additional sales outlet</u>.

whether or not the business name is changed.

(i) A grower who is also a dealer is certified only as a grower for that specific site.

is necessary if the business entity is changed or if the membership of a partnership is changed,

(j) A certificate is personal to the applicant and may not be transferred. A new certificate

18.7 18.8

18.9

18.10

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

20.13 20.14	(c) A person An entity required to be certified by this section must apply for a certificate or for renewal on a form furnished established by the commissioner which that must contain:
20.15 20.16	(1) the name and, address, and contact information of the applicant, the number of locations to be operated by the applicant and their addresses, and;
20.17	(2) the assumed business name of the applicant;
20.18 20.19	$\hbox{$(2)$ if other than an individual, a statement whether a person is a partnership, corporation,} \\ or other organization; \\$
20.20 20.21	(3) the type of business to be operated and, if the applicant is an agent, the principals the applicant represents; and
20.22	(3) the address of the sales location;
20.23 20.24	(4) the address or geographical description of any additional location where nursery stock will be handled, if applicable; and
20.25	(4) (5) the source or sources of purchased nursery stock.
20.26	(d) No person entity may:
20.27	(1) falsely claim to be a certified dealer, grower, broker, or agent;
20.28	(2) make willful false statements when applying for a certificate; or
20.29 20.30	(3) sell or distribute certified nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock dealer who is required to be certified or nursery stock grower.
21.1 21.2	(e) Each application for a certificate must be accompanied by the appropriate certificate fee under section 18H.07.
21.3 21.4	(f) Certificates issued by the commissioner must should be prominently displayed to the public in the place of business where certified nursery stock is sold or distributed.
21.5	(g) The commissioner may refuse to issue a certificate for cause.
21.6 21.7 21.8	(h) Each grower or dealer is entitled to one sales location under the certificate of the grower or dealer. Each additional sales location maintained by the person_entity requires the payment of the full certificate fee for each additional sales outlet .
21.9	(i) A grower who is also a dealer is certified only as a grower for that specific site.
21.10 21.11 21.12	(j) A certificate is personal to the applicant and may not be transferred. A new certificate is necessary if the business entity is changed or if the membership of a partnership is changed, whether or not the business name is changed.

House Language H1587-2

18.13 18.14 18.15 18.16	(k) The certificate issued to a dealer or grower applies to the particular premises named in the certificate. However, if prior approval is obtained from the commissioner, the place of business may be moved to the other premises or location without an additional certificate fee.
18.17 18.18 18.19	(l) A collector of nursery stock from the wild is required to obtain a dealer's certificate from the commissioner and is subject to all the requirements that apply to the inspection of nursery stock. All collected nursery stock must be labeled as "collected from the wild."
18.20	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
18.21 18.22	Subd. 2. Occasional sales. (a) An individual may offer nursery stock for sale and be exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock certificate if:
18.23	(1) the gross sales of all nursery stock in a calendar year do not exceed \$2,000 \(\frac{\$1,000}{} \);
18.24 18.25	(2) all nursery stock sold or distributed by the individual is intended for planting in Minnesota;
18.26 18.27 18.28	(3) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution was grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner sold or distributed was grown by the individual in Minnesota; and
18.29 18.30	(4) the individual conducts sales or distributions of nursery stock on ten or fewer days in a calendar year.
19.1 19.2	(b) A municipality may offer certified nursery stock for sale and be exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock certificate if:
19.3 19.4	(1) all nursery stock offered for sale or distributed is intended for planting by residents of the municipality on public property or public easements within the municipal boundary;
19.5 19.6	(2) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution is grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and
19.7 19.8	(3) the municipality submits to the commissioner before any sale or distribution of nursery stock a list of all suppliers who provide the municipality with nursery stock.
19.9 19.10	(e) (b) The commissioner may prescribe the conditions of the exempt nursery sales under this subdivision and may conduct routine inspections of the nursery stock offered for sale.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16	(k) The certificate issued to a dealer or grower applies to the particular premises named in the certificate. However, if prior approval is obtained from the commissioner, the place of business may be moved to the other premises or location without an additional certificate fee.
1.17 1.18 1.19	(l) A collector of nursery stock from the wild is required to obtain a dealer's certificate from the commissioner and is subject to all the requirements that apply to the inspection of nursery stock. All collected nursery stock must be labeled as "collected from the wild."
1.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
1.21	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.22 1.23	Subd. 2. Occasional sales. (a) An individual may offer nursery stock for sale and be exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock certificate if:
1.24	(1) the gross sales of all nursery stock in a calendar year do not exceed \$2,000 \(\frac{\$1,000}{} \);
1.25 1.26	(2) all nursery stock sold or distributed by the individual is intended for planting in Minnesota;
1.27 1.28 1.29	(3) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution was grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner sold or distributed was grown by the individual in Minnesota; and
1.30 1.31	(4) the individual conducts sales or distributions of nursery stock on ten or fewer days in a calendar year.
2.1 2.2	(b) A municipality may offer certified nursery stock for sale and be exempt from the requirement to obtain a nursery stock certificate if:
2.3 2.4	(1) all nursery stock offered for sale or distributed is intended for planting by residents of the municipality on public property or public easements within the municipal boundary;
2.5 2.6	(2) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution is grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and
2.7 2.8	(3) the municipality submits to the commissioner before any sale or distribution of nursery stock a list of all suppliers who provide the municipality with nursery stock.
2.9 2.10	(e) (b) The commissioner may prescribe the conditions of the exempt nursery sales under this subdivision and may conduct routine inspections of the nursery stock offered for sale.
2.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

House Language H1587-2
Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
Subd. 3a. Waiver of fees. (a) A nonprofit organization or an individual may offer for sale certified nursery stock and be exempt from the requirement to pay certificate fees if the nonprofit organization or individual:
(1) sells or distributes certified nursery stock on ten or fewer days in a calendar year;
(2) uses the proceeds from certified nursery stock sales or distributions for nonprofit purposes; and
(3) obtains a nursery stock certificate.
(b) A municipality may offer for sale certified nursery stock and be exempt from the requirement to pay certificate fees if:
(1) all nursery stock offered for sale or distributed is intended for planting by residents of the municipality on public property or public easements in the municipality;
(2) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution is grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and
(3) the municipality obtains a live plant dealer certificate.
(c) The commissioner may prescribe the conditions of nursery fee waivers and may conduct routine inspections of nursery stock offered for sale.
Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Reinspection; additional or optional inspection fees. If <u>a reinspection an irregular inspection</u> is required or an additional inspection is needed or requested, a fee <u>must may</u> be assessed based on mileage and inspection time as follows:

20.5 (1) mileage must be charged at the current United States Internal Revenue Service

reimbursement rate; and 20.6

19.11 19.12

19.14

19.15

19.16 19.17 19.18

19.19 19.20 19.21

19.22 19.23

19.24 19.25

19.26 19.27 19.28

20.1 20.2 20.3

20.4

(2) inspection time must be charged at a rate sufficient to recover all inspection costs, 20.7 including the driving time to and from the location in addition to the time spent conducting 20.8 the inspection.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 20.10

Subdivision 1. Services and fees. The commissioner may make small lot inspections 20.11 or perform other necessary services for which another charge is not specified. For these services, the commissioner shall may set a fee plus expenses that will recover the cost of performing this service. The commissioner may set an additional acreage fee for inspection April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

22.12 22.13	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
22.14 22.15 22.16	Subd. 3a. Waiver of fees. (a) A nonprofit organization or an individual may offer for sale certified nursery stock and be exempt from the requirement to pay certificate fees if the nonprofit organization or individual:
22.17	(1) sells or distributes certified nursery stock on ten or fewer days in a calendar year;
22.18 22.19	(2) uses the proceeds from certified nursery stock sales or distributions for nonprofit purposes; and
22.20	(3) obtains a nursery stock certificate.
22.21 22.22	(b) A municipality may offer for sale certified nursery stock and be exempt from the requirement to pay certificate fees if:
22.23 22.24	(1) all nursery stock offered for sale or distributed is intended for planting by residents of the municipality on public property or public easements in the municipality;
22.25 22.26	(2) all nursery stock purchased or procured for resale or distribution is grown in Minnesota and has been certified by the commissioner; and
22.27	(3) the municipality obtains a live plant dealer certificate.
22.28 22.29	(c) The commissioner may prescribe the conditions of nursery fee waivers and may conduct routine inspections of nursery stock offered for sale.
22.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
23.1	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
23.2 23.3 23.4	Subd. 4. Reinspection; additional or optional inspection fees. If a reinspection an irregular inspection is required or an additional inspection is needed or requested, a fee must may be assessed based on mileage and inspection time as follows:
23.5 23.6	(1) mileage must be charged at the current United States Internal Revenue Service reimbursement rate; and
23.7 23.8 23.9	(2) inspection time must be charged at a rate sufficient to recover all inspection costs, including the driving time to and from the location in addition to the time spent conducting the inspection.
23.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
23.11	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
23.12 23.13 23.14 23.15	Subdivision 1. Services and fees. The commissioner may make small lot inspections or perform other necessary services for which another charge is not specified. For these services, the commissioner shall may set a fee plus expenses that will recover the cost of performing this service. The commissioner may set an additional acreage fee for inspection

20.15 20.16	of seed production fields for exporters in order to meet domestic and foreign plant quarantine requirements.	23.16 23.17	of seed production fields for exporters in order to meet domestic and foreign plant quarantine requirements.
		23.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
20.17	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.09, is amended to read:	23.19	Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.09, is amended to read:
20.18	18H.09 NURSERY STOCK CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.	23.20	18H.09 NURSERY STOCK CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.
20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23	(a) All nursery stock growing at sites identified by nursery stock dealers or nursery stock growers and submitted for inspection must be inspected by the commissioner within the previous 12 months prior to sale and found apparently free from quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. The commissioner may waive a site inspection under the following conditions:	23.21 23.22 23.23 23.24 23.25	(a) All nursery stock growing at sites identified by nursery stock dealers or nursery stock growers and submitted for inspection must be inspected by the commissioner within the previous 12 months prior to sale and found apparently free from quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. The commissioner may waive a site inspection under the following conditions:
20.24	(1) the nursery stock is not going to be sold within 12 months;	23.26	(1) the nursery stock is not going to be sold within 12 months;
20.25	(2) the nursery stock will not be moved out of Minnesota; and	23.27	(2) the nursery stock will not be moved out of Minnesota; and
20.26 20.27	(3) the nursery site or stock is not subject to certification requirements associated with a state or federally regulated or quarantined plant pest.	23.28 23.29	(3) the nursery site or stock is not subject to certification requirements associated with a state or federally regulated or quarantined plant pest.
20.28 20.29 20.30 21.1 21.2	All nursery stock originating from out of state and offered for sale in Minnesota must have been inspected by the appropriate state or federal agency during the previous 12 months and found free from quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. A nursery stock certificate is valid from January 1 to December 31.	24.1 24.2 24.3 24.4 24.5	All nursery stock originating from out of state and offered for sale in Minnesota must have been inspected by the appropriate state or federal agency during the previous 12 months and found free from quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. A nursery stock certificate is valid from January 1 to December 31.
21.3 21.4 21.5	(b) Nursery stock must be accessible to the commissioner for inspection during regular business hours. Weeds or other growth that hinder a proper inspection are grounds to suspend or withhold a certificate or require a reinspection for which a fee may be charged.	24.6 24.7 24.8	(b) Nursery stock must be accessible to the commissioner for inspection during regular business hours. Weeds or other growth that hinder a proper inspection are grounds to suspend or withhold a certificate or require a reinspection for which a fee may be charged.
21.6 21.7 21.8 21.9	(c) Inspection reports issued to growers must contain a list of the plant pests found at the time of inspection. Withdrawal-from-distribution or other orders are considered part of the inspection reports. A withdrawal-from-distribution or other order must contain a list of plants withdrawn from distribution and the location of the plants.	24.9 24.10 24.11 24.12	(c) Inspection reports issued to growers must contain a list of the plant pests found at the time of inspection. Withdrawal-from-distribution or other orders are considered part of the inspection reports. A withdrawal-from-distribution or other order must contain a list of plants withdrawn from distribution and the location of the plants.
21.10 21.11 21.12 21.13	(d) The commissioner may post signs to delineate <u>mark</u> sections withdrawn from distribution or subject to other special circumstances. These signs <u>marks</u> must remain in place until the commissioner removes them the marks or grants written permission to the grower to remove the signs <u>marks</u> .	24.13 24.14 24.15 24.16	(d) The commissioner may post signs to delineate mark sections withdrawn from distribution or subject to other special circumstances. These signs marks must remain in place until the commissioner removes them the marks or grants written permission to the grower to remove the signs marks.
21.14 21.15 21.16	(e) Inspection reports issued to dealers must outline the violations involved and corrective actions to be taken including withdrawal-from-distribution orders which would specify nursery stock that could not be distributed from a certain area.	24.17 24.18 24.19	(e) Inspection reports issued to dealers must outline the violations involved and correctiv actions to be taken including withdrawal-from-distribution orders which would specify nursery stock that could not be distributed from a certain area.
21.17 21.18 21.19	(f) Optional inspections of plants may be conducted by the commissioner upon request by any persons entity desiring an inspection. A fee as provided in section 18H.07 must be charged for such an inspection.	24.20 24.21 24.22	(f) Optional inspections of plants may be conducted by the commissioner upon request by any persons entity desiring an inspection. A fee as provided in section 18H.07 must be charged for such an inspection.

25.25 existence of the plant pests.

existence of the plant pests.

		24.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
21.20	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.10, is amended to read:	24.24	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.10, is amended to read:
21.21	18H.10 STORAGE OF NURSERY STOCK.	24.25	18H.10 STORAGE OF NURSERY STOCK.
21.22 21.23	(a) All nursery stock must be kept and displayed under conditions of temperature, light, and moisture sufficient to maintain the viability and vigor of the nursery stock.	24.26 24.27	
21.24 21.25	(b) Packaged dormant nursery stock must be stored under conditions that retard growth, prevent etiolated growth, and protect its viability.	24.28 24.29	
21.26 21.27 21.28 21.29 21.30	(c) Balled and burlapped nursery stock being held for sale to the public must be kept in a moisture-holding material approved by the commissioner and not toxic to plants. The moisture-holding material must adequately cover and protect the ball of earth and must be kept moist at all times. The commissioner may approve alternative nursery stock management practices to maintain the viability of balled and burlapped stock.	24.30 24.31 24.32 25.1 25.2	a moisture-holding material approved by the commissioner and not toxic to plants. The
		25.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
22.1	Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.12, is amended to read:	25.4	Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.12, is amended to read:
22.2	18H.12 DAMAGED, DISEASED, INFESTED, OR MISREPRESENTED STOCK.	25.5	18H.12 DAMAGED, DISEASED, INFESTED, OR MISREPRESENTED STOCK.
22.3 22.4 22.5 22.6 22.7	(a) No person entity may knowingly offer to distribute, advertise, or display nursery stock that is infested or infected with quarantine or regulated nonquarantine pests or significant dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests; including noxious weeds or nursery stock that is in a dying condition, desiccated, frozen or damaged by freezing, or materially damaged in any way.	25.6 25.7 25.8 25.9 25.10	(a) No person entity may knowingly offer to distribute, advertise, or display nursery stock that is infested or infected with quarantine or regulated nonquarantine pests or significant dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests, including noxious weeds or nursery stock that is in a dying condition, desiccated, frozen or damaged by freezing, or materially damaged in any way.
22.8 22.9 22.10 22.11 22.12 22.13	(b) No person entity may knowingly offer to distribute, advertise, or display nursery stock that may result in the capacity and tendency or effect of deceiving any purchaser or prospective purchaser as to the quantity, size, grade, kind, species name, age, variety, maturity, condition, vigor, hardiness, number of times transplanted, growth ability, growth characteristics, rate of growth, time required before flowering or fruiting, price, origin, place where grown, or any other material respect.	25.11 25.12 25.13 25.14 25.15 25.16	prospective purchaser as to the quantity, size, grade, kind, species name, age, variety, maturity, condition, vigor, hardiness, number of times transplanted, growth ability, growth characteristics, rate of growth, time required before flowering or fruiting, price, origin, place
22.14 22.15 22.16 22.17	(c) Upon discovery or notification of damaged, diseased, infested, or misrepresented stock, the commissioner may place a stop sale and a withdrawal from distribution order on the material. The order makes it an illegal action to distribute, give away, destroy, alter, or tamper with the plants.	25.17 25.18 25.19 25.20	stock, the commissioner may place a stop-sale stop sale and a withdrawal from distribution order on the material. The order makes it an illegal action to distribute, give away, destroy,
22.18 22.19 22.20 22.21	(d) The commissioner may conspicuously mark all plants, materials, and articles known or suspected to be infected or infested with quarantine or regulated nonquarantine pests or significant dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. The commissioner shall notify the persons, owners, or the tenants in possession of the premises or area in question of the	25.21 25.22 25.23 25.24	significant dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. The commissioner shall notify

House Language H1587-2

2.23 2.24 2.25 2.26	(e) If the commissioner determines that this chapter has been violated, the commissioner may order that the nuisance, infestation, infection, or plant pest be abated by whatever means necessary, including, but not limited to, destruction, confiscation, treatment, return shipment, or quarantine.
2.27 2.28 2.29 2.30 2.31	(f) The plant owner is liable for all costs associated with a stop order or a quarantine, treatment, or destruction of plants. The commissioner is not liable for any actual or incidental costs incurred by a person an entity due to authorized actions of the commissioner. The commissioner must be reimbursed by the owner of plants for actual expenses incurred by the commissioner in carrying out a stop order.
3.1	Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.13, is amended to read:
3.2	18H.13 SHIPMENT OF NURSERY STOCK INTO MINNESOTA.
3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7	Subdivision 1. Identification of origin. Proof of valid nursery certification and origin of all nursery stock must accompany the any shipment. It is the shared responsibility of both the consignee and consignor to examine all shipments for the presence of current and applicable nursery stock certifications for all plant material from all sources of stock in each shipment.
3.8 3.9	Subd. 2. Reciprocity. A person An entity residing outside the state may distribute nursery stock in Minnesota if:
3.10 3.11 3.12	(1) the <u>person entity</u> is duly certified under the nursery laws of the state where the nursery stock originates and the laws of that state are essentially equivalent to the laws of Minnesota as determined by the commissioner; and
3.13 3.14	(2) the <u>person entity</u> complies with this chapter and the rules governing nursery stock distributed in Minnesota.
3.15 3.16 3.17 3.18 3.19 3.20 3.21	Subd. 3. Reciprocal agreements. The commissioner may cooperate with and enter into reciprocal agreements with other states regarding licensing and movement of nursery stock. Reciprocal agreements with other states do not prevent the commissioner from prohibiting the distribution in Minnesota of any nursery stock that fails to meet minimum criteria for nursery stock of Minnesota certified growers, dealers, or both. An official directory of certified nurseries and related nursery industry businesses from other states is acceptable in lieu of individual nursery certificates.
3.22 3.23 3.24 3.25	Subd. 4. Foreign nursery stock. A person An entity receiving a shipment of nursery stock from a foreign country that has not been inspected and released by the United States Department of Agriculture at the port of entry must notify the commissioner of the arrival of the shipment, its contents, and the name of the consignor. The person entity must hold

the shipment unopened until inspected or released by the commissioner.

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

25.26 25.27 25.28 25.29	(e) If the commissioner determines that this chapter has been violated, the commissioner may order that the nuisance, infestation, infection, or plant pest be abated by whatever means necessary, including, but not limited to, destruction, confiscation, treatment, return shipment, or quarantine.
25.30 25.31 25.32 26.1 26.2	(f) The plant owner is liable for all costs associated with a stop order or a quarantine, treatment, or destruction of plants. The commissioner is not liable for any actual or incidental costs incurred by a person an entity due to authorized actions of the commissioner. The commissioner must be reimbursed by the owner of plants for actual expenses incurred by the commissioner in carrying out a stop order.
26.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
26.4	Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.13, is amended to read:
26.5	18H.13 SHIPMENT OF NURSERY STOCK INTO MINNESOTA.
26.6 26.7 26.8 26.9 26.10	Subdivision 1. Identification of origin. Proof of valid nursery certification and origin of all nursery stock must accompany the any shipment. It is the shared responsibility of both the consignee and consignor to examine all shipments for the presence of current and applicable nursery stock certifications for all plant material from all sources of stock in each shipment.
26.11 26.12	Subd. 2. Reciprocity. A person An entity residing outside the state may distribute nursery stock in Minnesota if:
26.13 26.14 26.15	(1) the <u>person entity</u> is duly certified under the nursery laws of the state where the nursery stock originates and the laws of that state are essentially equivalent to the laws of Minnesota as determined by the commissioner; and
26.16 26.17	(2) the <u>person entity</u> complies with this chapter and the rules governing nursery stock distributed in Minnesota.
26.18 26.19 26.20 26.21 26.22 26.23 26.24	Subd. 3. Reciprocal agreements. The commissioner may cooperate with and enter into reciprocal agreements with other states regarding licensing and movement of nursery stock. Reciprocal agreements with other states do not prevent the commissioner from prohibiting the distribution in Minnesota of any nursery stock that fails to meet minimum criteria for nursery stock of Minnesota certified growers, dealers, or both. An official directory of certified nurseries and related nursery industry businesses from other states is acceptable in lieu of individual nursery certificates.
26.25 26.26 26.27 26.28 26.29	Subd. 4. Foreign nursery stock. A person An entity receiving a shipment of nursery stock from a foreign country that has not been inspected and released by the United States Department of Agriculture at the port of entry must notify the commissioner of the arrival of the shipment, its contents, and the name of the consignor. The person entity must hold the shipment unopened until inspected or released by the commissioner.

23.27 23.28 23.29 23.30 23.31 23.32	Subd. 5. Transportation companies. A person An entity who acts as the representative of a transportation company, private carrier, commercial shipper, common carrier, express parcel carrier, or other transportation entity, and receives, ships, or otherwise distributes a carload, box, container, or any package of plants, plant materials, or nursery stock, that does not have all required certificates attached as required or fails to immediately notify the commissioner is in violation of this chapter.
24.1	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.14, is amended to read:
24.2	18H.14 LABELING AND ADVERTISING OF NURSERY STOCK.
24.3 24.4 24.5 24.6	(a) Plants, plant materials, or nursery stock must not be labeled or advertised with false or misleading information including, but not limited to, the scientific name, variety, place of origin, and hardiness zone as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture, and growth habit.
24.7 24.8	(b) All nonhardy nursery stock as designated by the commissioner must be labeled correctly for hardiness or be labeled "nonhardy" in Minnesota.
24.9 24.10 24.11 24.12 24.13	(c) A person An entity may not offer for distribution plants, plant materials, or nursery stock, represented by some specific or special form of notation, including, but not limited to, "free from" or "grown free of," unless the plants are produced under a specific program approved by the commissioner to address the specific plant properties addressed in the special notation claim.
24.14 24.15 24.16 24.17 24.18	(d) Nursery stock collected from the wild state must be inspected and certified prior to sale and at the time of sale must be labeled "Collected from the Wild." The label must remain on each plant or clump of plants while it is offered for sale and during the distribution process. The collected stock may be grown in nursery rows at least two years, after which the plants may be sold without the labeling required by this paragraph.
24.19 24.20 24.21 24.22	(e) A person selling at retail or providing to an end user An entity may not label or advertise an annual plant, bedding plant, or other plant, plant material, or nursery stock as beneficial to pollinators if the annual plant, bedding plant, plant material, or nursery stock has:
24.23	(1) been treated with a systemic insecticide that:
24.24	(i) has a pollinator protection box on the label; or
24.25 24.26	(ii) has a pollinator, bee, or honey bee precautionary statement in the environmental hazards section of the insecticide product label; and
24.27 24.28	(2) a concentration in its flowers <u>or leaves</u> greater than the no observed adverse effect <u>level of a systemic insecticide</u> <u>reference value</u> .
24.29	The commissioner shall enforce this paragraph as provided in chapter 18J.

26.30 26.31 26.32 27.1 27.2 27.3	Subd. 5. Transportation companies. A person An entity who acts as the representative of a transportation company, private carrier, commercial shipper, common carrier, express parcel carrier, or other transportation entity, and receives, ships, or otherwise distributes a carload, box, container, or any package of plants, plant materials, or nursery stock, that does not have all required certificates attached as required or fails to immediately notify the commissioner is in violation of this chapter.
27.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
27.5	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.14, is amended to read:
27.6	18H.14 LABELING AND ADVERTISING OF NURSERY STOCK.
27.7 27.8 27.9 27.10	(a) Plants, plant materials, or nursery stock must not be labeled or advertised with false or misleading information including, but not limited to, the scientific name, variety, place of origin, and hardiness zone as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture, and growth habit.
27.11 27.12	(b) All nonhardy nursery stock as designated by the commissioner must be labeled correctly for hardiness or be labeled "nonhardy" in Minnesota.
27.13 27.14 27.15 27.16 27.17	(c) A person An entity may not offer for distribution plants, plant materials, or nursery stock, represented by some specific or special form of notation, including, but not limited to, "free from" or "grown free of," unless the plants are produced under a specific program approved by the commissioner to address the specific plant properties addressed in the special notation claim.
27.18 27.19 27.20 27.21 27.22	(d) Nursery stock collected from the wild state must be inspected and certified prior to sale and at the time of sale must be labeled "Collected from the Wild." The label must remain on each plant or clump of plants while it is offered for sale and during the distribution process. The collected stock may be grown in nursery rows at least two years, after which the plants may be sold without the labeling required by this paragraph.
27.23 27.24 27.25 27.26	(e) A person An entity selling at retail or providing to an end user may not label or advertise an annual plant, bedding plant, or other plant, plant material, or nursery stock as beneficial to pollinators if the annual plant, bedding plant, plant material, or nursery stock has:
27.27	(1) been treated with a systemic insecticide that:

(ii) has a pollinator, bee, or honey bee precautionary statement in the environmental

(2) a concentration in its flowers greater than the no observed adverse effect level of a

(i) has a pollinator protection box on the label; or

The commissioner shall enforce this paragraph as provided in chapter 18J.

27.30 hazards section of the insecticide product label; and

systemic insecticide.

27.28

27.29

27.31

House Language H1587-2

24.30	(f) For the purposes of paragraph (e):
24.31 24.32	(1) "systemic insecticide" means an insecticide that is both absorbed by the plant and translocated through the plant's vascular system; and
25.1 25.2 25.3 25.4 25.5 25.6 25.7 25.8 25.9	(2) "no observed adverse effect level" means the level established by the United States Environmental Protection Agency for acute oral toxicity for adult honeybees "reference value" means the most appropriate value determined by the commissioner of agriculture based on the commissioner's review of pollinator protective reference values published or approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. If a United States Environmental Protection Agency reference value is not available for a specific systemic insecticide or is not appropriate for use in Minnesota or for a specific type of plant, plant material, or nursery stock, the commissioner may consider reference values from other states, peer-reviewed literature, or other appropriate sources.
25.10 25.11	Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.15, is amended to read: 18H.15 VIOLATIONS.
25.12 25.13 25.14 25.15 25.16 25.17	(a) A person An entity who offers to distribute nursery stock that is uncertified, uninspected, or falsely labeled or advertised possesses an illegal regulated commodity that is considered infested or infected with harmful plant pests and subject to regulatory action and control. If the commissioner determines that the provisions of this section have been violated, the commissioner may order the destruction of all of the plants unless the person entity:
25.18 25.19	(1) provides proper phytosanitary preclearance, phytosanitary certification, or nursery stock certification;
25.20 25.21	(2) agrees to have the plants, plant materials, or nursery stock returned to the consignor; and
25.22 25.23	(3) provides proper documentation, certification, or compliance to support advertising claims.
25.24 25.25 25.26 25.27 25.28 25.29 25.30	(b) The plant owner is liable for all costs associated with a withdrawal-from-distribution order or the quarantine, treatment, or destruction of plants. The commissioner is not liable for actual or incidental costs incurred by a person an entity due to the commissioner's actions. The commissioner must be reimbursed by the owner of the plants for the actual expenses incurred in carrying out a withdrawal-from-distribution order or the quarantine, treatment, or destruction of any plants.
23.30	(c) It is unlawful for a person an entity to:

25.31 (1) misrepresent, falsify, or knowingly distribute, sell, advertise, or display damaged, 25.32 mislabeled, misrepresented, infested, or infected nursery stock;

April	28.	2023	05:53	PM

28.2

28.3

Senate Language S2128-1

(f) For the purposes of paragraph (e):

28.3 28.4	(1) "systemic insecticide" means an insecticide that is both absorbed by the plant and translocated through the plant's vascular system; and
28.5 28.6	(2) "no observed adverse effect level" means the level established by the United States Environmental Protection Agency for acute oral toxicity for adult honeybees.
28.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
28.8	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.15, is amended to read:
28.9	18H.15 VIOLATIONS.
28.10 28.11 28.12 28.13 28.14 28.15	(a) A person An entity who offers to distribute nursery stock that is uncertified, uninspected, or falsely labeled or advertised possesses an illegal regulated commodity that is considered infested or infected with harmful plant pests and subject to regulatory action and control. If the commissioner determines that the provisions of this section have been violated, the commissioner may order the destruction of all of the plants unless the person entity:
28.16 28.17	(1) provides proper phytosanitary preclearance, phytosanitary certification, or nursery stock certification;
28.18 28.19	(2) agrees to have the plants, plant materials, or nursery stock returned to the consignor; and
28.20 28.21	(3) provides proper documentation, certification, or compliance to support advertising claims.
28.22 28.23 28.24 28.25 28.26 28.27	(b) The plant owner is liable for all costs associated with a withdrawal-from-distribution order or the quarantine, treatment, or destruction of plants. The commissioner is not liable for actual or incidental costs incurred by a person an entity due to the commissioner's actions. The commissioner must be reimbursed by the owner of the plants for the actual expenses incurred in carrying out a withdrawal-from-distribution order or the quarantine, treatment, or destruction of any plants.
28.28	(c) It is unlawful for a person an entity to:
28.29 28.30	(1) misrepresent, falsify, or knowingly distribute, sell, advertise, or display damaged, mislabeled, misrepresented, infested, or infected nursery stock;

House Language H1587-2

26.1	(2) fail to obtain a nursery certificate as required by the commissioner;
26.2	(3) fail to renew a nursery certificate, but continue business operations;
26.3	(4) fail to display a nursery certificate;
26.4	(5) (4) misrepresent or falsify a nursery certificate;
26.5	(6) (5) refuse to submit to a nursery inspection;
26.6 26.7	$\frac{(7)}{(6)}$ fail to provide the cooperation necessary to conduct a successful nursery inspection;
26.8	(8) (7) offer for sale uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock;
26.9	(9) (8) possess an illegal regulated commodity;
26.10	(10) (9) violate or disobey a commissioner's order;
26.11	(11) (10) violate a quarantine issued by the commissioner;
26.12 26.13	$\frac{(12)}{(11)}$ fail to obtain phytosanitary certification for plant material or nursery stock brought into Minnesota;
26.14 26.15	(13) (12) deface, mutilate, or destroy a nursery stock certificate, phytosanitary certificate or phytosanitary preclearance certificate, or other commissioner mark, permit, or certificate;
26.16 26.17	(14) (13) fail to notify the commissioner of an uncertified shipment of plants, plant materials, or nursery stock;
26.18	(15) (14) transport uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock in Minnesota; or
26.19 26.20	$\frac{(16)}{(15)}$ sell nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock dealer who is required to be certified.
26.21	Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.18, is amended to read:
26.22	18H.18 CONSERVATION OF CERTAIN WILDFLOWERS.
26.23 26.24 26.25 26.26 26.27 26.28	Subdivision 1. Restrictions on collecting. No person entity shall distribute any species of orchids (<i>Orchidaceae</i>), any gentian (<i>Gentiana</i>), arbutus (<i>Epigaea repens</i>), lilies (<i>Lilium</i> species), coneflowers (<i>Echinacea</i> species), bloodroot (<i>Sanguinaria canadensis</i>), mayapple (<i>Podophyllum peltatutum</i>), any species of trillium (<i>Trillium</i> species), or lotus (<i>Nelumbo lutea</i>), which that have been collected in any manner from any public or private property without the written permission of the property owner and. Plants listed in this subdivision
26.28 26.29 26.30	that are intended to be offered for sale must have written authorization from the commissioner.

28.31	(2) fail to obtain a nursery certificate as required by the commissioner;
29.1	(3) fail to renew a nursery certificate, but continue business operations;
29.2	(4) fail to display a nursery certificate;
29.3	(5) (4) misrepresent or falsify a nursery certificate;
29.4	$\frac{(6)}{(5)}$ refuse to submit to a nursery inspection;
29.5 29.6	$\frac{(7)}{(6)}$ fail to provide the cooperation necessary to conduct a successful nursery inspection;
29.7	(8) (7) offer for sale uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock;
29.8	(9) (8) possess an illegal regulated commodity;
29.9	(10) (9) violate or disobey a commissioner's order;
29.10	$\frac{(11)}{(10)}$ violate a quarantine issued by the commissioner;
29.11 29.12	(12) (11) fail to obtain phytosanitary certification for plant material or nursery stock brought into Minnesota;
29.13 29.14	(13) (12) deface, mutilate, or destroy a nursery stock certificate, phytosanitary certificate or phytosanitary preclearance certificate, or other commissioner mark, permit, or certificate;
29.15 29.16	(14) (13) fail to notify the commissioner of an uncertified shipment of plants, plant materials, or nursery stock;
29.17	(15) (14) transport uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock in Minnesota; or
29.18 29.19	$\frac{(16)}{(15)}$ sell nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock dealer who is required to be certified.
29.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
29.21	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.18, is amended to read:
29.22	18H.18 CONSERVATION OF CERTAIN WILDFLOWERS.
29.23 29.24 29.25 29.26 29.27 29.28	Subdivision 1. Restrictions on collecting. No person entity shall distribute any species of orchids (<i>Orchidaceae</i>), any gentian (<i>Gentiana</i>), arbutus (<i>Epigaea repens</i>), lilies (<i>Lilium</i> species), coneflowers (<i>Echinacea</i> species), bloodroot (<i>Sanguinaria canadensis</i>), mayapple (<i>Podophyllum peltatutum</i>), any species of trillium (<i>Trillium</i> species), or lotus (<i>Nelumbo lutea</i>), which that have been collected in any manner from any public or private property without the written permission of the property owner and. Plants intended to be offered for

29.29 <u>sale must have the written authorization from the commissioner.</u>

House Language H1587-2

27.1 27.2 27.3 27.4	Subd. 2. Collection without sale. Wildflower collection from public or private land for the purpose of transplanting the plants to a person's an entity's private property and not offering for immediate sale, requires the written permission from the property owner of the land on which the wildflowers are growing.
27.5 27.6 27.7	Subd. 3. Collection with intent to sell or distribute wildflowers. (a) The wildflowers listed in this section may be offered for immediate sale only if the plants are to be used for scientific or herbarium purposes.
27.8 27.9	(b) The wildflowers listed in this section must not be collected and sold commercially unless the plants are:
27.10	(1) growing naturally, collected, and cultivated on the collector's property; or
27.11 27.12	(2) collected through the process described in subdivision 2 and transplanted and cultivated on the collector's property for at least one growing season before the sale.
27.13 27.14	(c) The collector must obtain a written permit from the commissioner before the plants may be offered for commercial sale.
27.15 27.16	(d) A wildflower listed under this section that is sold commercially must be individually labeled with a department permit number.
27.17	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 32D.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
27.18 27.19 27.20	Subd. 2. Power and authority. For the purpose of enforcing this chapter, the commissioner and the commissioner's assistants, agents, and employees have the power and authority granted under <u>chapter 34A and sections 31.02</u> to 31.171.
27.21	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 32D.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Permitting. No person shall operate a dairy plant in this state unless the dairy

plant, equipment, and water supply and plumbing system have been first approved by the

27.22

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

30.1 30.2 30.3 30.4	Subd. 2. Collection without sale. Wildflower collection from public or private land for the purpose of transplanting the plants to a person's an entity's private property and not offering for immediate sale, requires the written permission from the property owner of the land on which the wildflowers are growing.
30.5 30.6 30.7	Subd. 3. Collection with intent to sell or distribute wildflowers. (a) The wildflowers listed in this section may be offered for immediate sale only if the plants are to be used for scientific or herbarium purposes.
30.8 30.9	(b) The wildflowers listed in this section must not be collected and sold commercially unless the plants are:
30.10	(1) growing naturally, collected, and cultivated on the collector's property; or
30.11 30.12	(2) collected through the process described in subdivision 2 and transplanted and cultivated on the collector's property for at least one growing season before the sale.
30.13 30.14	(c) The collector must obtain a written permit from the commissioner before the plants may be offered for commercial sale.
30.15 30.16	(d) A plant sold commercially must be individually labeled with a department permit number.
30.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
30.18	Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18J.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
30.19 30.20 30.21	Subdivision 1. Notice of appeal. (a) After service of an order, a person has 45 20 days from receipt of the order to notify the commissioner in writing that the person intends to contest the order.
30.22 30.23 30.24	(b) If the person fails to notify the commissioner that the person intends to contest the order, the order is a final order of the commissioner and not subject to further judicial or administrative review.
30.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
30.26	Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 32D.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
30.27 30.28 30.29	Subd. 2. Power and authority. For the purpose of enforcing this chapter, the commissioner and the commissioner's assistants, agents, and employees have the power and authority granted under <u>chapter 34A and</u> sections 31.02 to 31.171.
30.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
31.1	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 32D.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
31.2	Subd. 2. Permitting. No person shall operate a dairy plant in this state unless the dairy plant, equipment, and water supply and plumbing system have been first approved by the

House Language H1587-2

27.25	commissioner for due cause pursuant to section 34A.06.
27.26	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 34A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
27.27	Subdivision 1. Enforcement required. (a) The commissioner shall enforce this chapter
27.28	and chapters 28, 28A, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D, and 34. To carry out the enforcement duties
27.29	under these chapters, the commissioner may, upon presenting appropriate credentials, during
27.30	regular working hours and at other reasonable times, inspect premises subject to the
27.31	commissioner's enforcement and licensing authority; require information from persons with
28.1	information relevant to an inspection; and inspect and copy relevant papers and records,
28.2	including business records.
28.3	(b) The commissioner may administer oaths, take and cause to be taken depositions of
28.4	witnesses, and issue subpoenas, and may petition the district court in the county in which
28.5	the premises is located to compel compliance with subpoenas or to permit an inspection.

27.24 commissioner and a permit issued to operate the same. A permit may be revoked by the

28.8 (d) Upon the request of the commissioner, county attorneys, sheriffs, and other officers
28.9 having authority in the enforcement of the general criminal laws shall take action to the
28.10 extent of their authority necessary or proper for the enforcement of this chapter or standards,
28.11 stipulations, and agreements of the commissioner.

chapters 28, 28A, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D, and 34, are a violation of this chapter.

28.6

28.7

(c) Violations of chapters 28, 28A, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D, and 34, or rules adopted under

April 28, 2023 05:53 PM

31.4 31.5	commissioner and a permit issued to operate the same. A permit may be revoked by the commissioner for due cause pursuant to section 34A.06.
31.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
31.7	Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 34A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
31.8 31.9 31.10 31.11 31.12 31.13 31.14	Subdivision 1. Enforcement required. (a) The commissioner shall enforce this chapter and chapters 28, 28A, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D, and 34. To carry out the enforcement duties under these chapters, the commissioner may, upon presenting appropriate credentials, during regular working hours and at other reasonable times, inspect premises subject to the commissioner's enforcement and licensing authority; require information from persons with information relevant to an inspection; and inspect and copy relevant papers and records, including business records.
31.15 31.16 31.17	(b) The commissioner may administer oaths, take and cause to be taken depositions of witnesses, and issue subpoenas, and may petition the district court in the county in which the premises is located to compel compliance with subpoenas or to permit an inspection.
31.18 31.19	(c) Violations of chapters 28 , $28A$, 29 , 30 , 31 , $31A$, $\underline{32D}$, and 34 , or rules adopted under chapters 28 , $28A$, 29 , 30 , 31 , $31A$, $\underline{32D}$, and 34 , are a violation of this chapter.
31.20 31.21 31.22 31.23	(d) Upon the request of the commissioner, county attorneys, sheriffs, and other officers having authority in the enforcement of the general criminal laws shall take action to the extent of their authority necessary or proper for the enforcement of this chapter or standards, stipulations, and agreements of the commissioner.
31.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
31.25	Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.16, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
31.26 31.27 31.28 31.29 31.30	Subd. 7. Eligibility for participants after April 1, 2023. (a) A facility eligible for payment under this section must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent raw materials from Minnesota of the biomass used to produce an advanced biofuel. If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, raw materials biomass that the facility uses to produce an advanced biofuel may be sourced from out of state when at least 80 percent of the biomas
31.31 31.32	is sourced within a 100-mile radius of the facility or from Minnesota. Raw materials must be from agricultural or forestry sources or from solid waste. The facility must be located in
32.1 32.2 32.3	Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location after April 1, 2023, and before June 30, 2025, and must not begin operating above 23,750 MMbtu of quarterly advanced biofuel production before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities
32.4 32.5 32.6	that are adding advanced biofuel production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities. Production of conventional corn ethanol and conventional biodiesel is not eligible. Eligible advanced biofuel facilities must produce at least 22,750.1,500 MMbbs of advanced his first westerly.
32.7 32.8	least 23,750 1,500 MMbtu of advanced biofuel quarterly. (b) No payments shall be made for advanced biofuel production that occurs after June
32.9	30, 2035, for those eligible biofuel producers under paragraph (a).

32.10 32.11	(c) An eligible producer of advanced biofuel shall not transfer the producer's eligibility for payments under this section to an advanced biofuel facility at a different location.
32.12 32.13	(d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
32.14 32.15 32.16	(e) Renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section 41A.17, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.
32.17	(f) Biobutanol is eligible under this section.
32.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
32.19	Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.17, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
32.20 32.21 32.22 32.23 32.24 32.25 32.26 32.27 32.28 32.30 32.31 32.32 32.33 33.1 33.2 33.3 33.4 33.5	Subd. 6. Eligibility for participants after April 1, 2023. (a) A facility eligible for payment under this program must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent biobased content from Minnesota. For the purposes of this subdivision, "biobased content" means a chemical, polymer, monomer, or plastic that is not sold primarily for use as food, feed, or fuel and that has a biobased percentage of at least 51 percent as determined by testing representative samples using American Society for Testing and Materials specification D6866 of the biomass used to produce a renewable chemical. If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, biobased content must biomass that the facility uses to produce a renewable chemical may be sourced from out of state when at least 80 percent of the biomass is sourced from within a 100-mile radius of the facility or from Minnesota. Biobased content must be from agricultural or forestry sources or from solid waste. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location after April 1, 2023, and before June 30, 2025, and must not begin production of 750,000 250,000 pounds or more of chemicals quarterly before January 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are adding production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities. Eligible renewable chemical facilities must produce at least 750,000 250,000 pounds of renewable chemicals quarterly. Renewable chemicals produced through processes that are fully commercial before January 1, 2000, are not eligible.
33.6 33.7	(b) No payments shall be made for renewable chemical production that occurs after June 30, 2035, for those eligible renewable chemical producers under paragraph (a).
33.8 33.9	(c) An eligible producer of renewable chemicals shall not transfer the producer's eligibility for payments under this section to a renewable chemical facility at a different location.
33.10 33.11	(d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
33.12 33.13 33.14	(e) Advanced biofuel production for which payment has been received under section 41A.16, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.

33.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
33.16	Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.18, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
33.17	Subd. 6. Eligibility for participants after April 1, 2023. (a) A facility eligible for
33.18	payment under this section must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent raw materials
33.19	from Minnesota of the biomass used for biomass thermal production. If a facility is sited
33.20	50 miles or less from the state border, raw materials should biomass that the facility uses
33.21	for biomass thermal production may be sourced from out of state when at least 80 percent
33.22	of the biomass is sourced from within a 100-mile radius of the facility or from Minnesota.
33.23	Raw materials Biomass must be from agricultural or forestry sources. The facility must be
33.24	located in Minnesota, must have begun production at a specific location after April 1, 2023,
33.25	and before June 30, 2025, and must not begin before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include
33.26	existing companies and facilities that are adding production capacity, or retrofitting existing
33.27	capacity, as well as new companies and facilities. Eligible biomass thermal production
33.28	facilities must produce at least 250 MMbtu of biomass thermal quarterly.
33.29	(b) No payments shall be made for biomass thermal production that occurs after June
33.30	30, 2035, for those eligible biomass thermal producers under paragraph (a).
33.31	(c) An eligible producer of biomass thermal production shall not transfer the producer's
33.32	eligibility for payments under this section to a biomass thermal production facility at a
33.33	different location.
34.1	(d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments under this section until the producer resumes production.
34.2	under this section until the producer resumes production.
34.3	(e) Biofuel production for which payment has been received under section 41A.16, and
34.4	renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section 41A.17,
34.5	are not eligible for payment under this section.
34.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
34.7	Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.001, is amended by adding a subdivision
34.8	to read:
34.9	Subd. 5a. Direct supervision. "Direct supervision" means:
34.10	(1) when a supervising veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician is in the immediate
34.11	area and within audible or visual range of an animal and the unlicensed veterinary employee
34.12	treating the animal;
34.13	(2) the supervising veterinarian has met the requirements of a veterinarian-client-patient
34.13	relationship under section 156.16, subdivision 12; and
34.14	relationship under seedon 150.10, subdivision 12, and
34.15	(3) the supervising veterinarian assumes responsibility for the professional care given
34.16	to an animal by a person working under the veterinarian's direction.

House Language H1587-2

34.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
34.18 34.19	Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.001, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
34.20 34.21	Subd. 7a. Licensed veterinary technician. "Licensed veterinary technician" means a person licensed by the board under section 156.077.
34.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
34.23 34.24	Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.001, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
34.25	Subd. 10b. Remote supervision. "Remote supervision" means:
34.26 34.27 34.28	(1) a veterinarian is not on the premises but is acquainted with the keeping and care of an animal by virtue of an examination of the animal or medically appropriate and timely visits to the premises where the animal is kept;
35.1 35.2 35.3	(2) the veterinarian has given written or oral instructions to a licensed veterinary technician for ongoing care of an animal and is available by telephone or other form of immediate communication; and
35.4 35.5 35.6	(3) the employee treating the animal timely enters into the animal's medical record documentation of the treatment provided, and the documentation is reviewed by the veterinarian.
35.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
35.8 35.9	Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.001, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
35.10 35.11 35.12 35.13	Subd. 12. Veterinary technology. "Veterinary technology" means the science and practice of providing professional support to veterinarians, including the direct supervision of unlicensed veterinary employees. Veterinary technology does not include veterinary diagnosis, prognosis, surgery, or medication prescription.
35.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
35.15	Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.07, is amended to read:
35.16	156.07 LICENSE RENEWAL.
35.17 35.18	Persons licensed under this chapter shall conspicuously display their license in their principal place of business.
35.19 35.20 35.21 35.22	Persons now qualified to practice veterinary medicine licensed in this state, or who shall hereafter be licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine to engage in the practice as veterinarians or veterinary technicians, shall periodically renew their license in a manner prescribed by the board. The board shall establish license renewal fees and continuing

House Language H1587-2

5.23	education requirements. The board may establish, by rule, an inactive license category, at
5.24	a lower fee, for licensees not actively engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine or
5.25	veterinary technology within the state of Minnesota. The board may assess a charge for
5.26	delinquent payment of a renewal fee.
5.27	Any person who is licensed to practice veterinary medicine or veterinary technology in
5.28	this state pursuant to this chapter, shall be entitled to receive a license to continue to practice
5.29	upon making application to the board and complying with the terms of this section and rules
5.30	of the board.
5.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
6.1	Sec. 79. [156.0721] INSTITUTIONAL LICENSURE.
6.2	Subdivision 1. Application and eligibility. (a) Any person who seeks to practice
6.3	veterinary medicine while employed by the University of Minnesota and who is not eligible
6.4	for a regular license shall make a written application to the board for an institutional license
6.5	using forms provided for that purpose or in a format accepted by the board. The board shall
6.6	issue an institutional license to practice veterinary medicine to an applicant who:
6.7	(1) has obtained the degree of doctor of veterinary medicine or its equivalent from a
6.8	nonaccredited college of veterinary medicine. A graduate from an accredited college and
6.9	an applicant who has earned ECFVG or PAVE certificates should apply for a regular license
6.10	to practice veterinary medicine;
6.11	(2) has passed the Minnesota Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination;
6.12	(3) is a person of good moral character, as attested by five notarized reference letters
6.13	from adults not related to the applicant, at least two of whom are licensed veterinarians in
6.14	the jurisdiction where the applicant is currently practicing or familiar with the applicant's
6.15	clinical abilities as evidenced in clinical rotations;
6.16	(4) has paid the license application fee;
6.17	(5) provides proof of employment by the University of Minnesota;
6.18	(6) certifies that the applicant understands and agrees that the institutional license is
6.19	valid only for the practice of veterinary medicine associated with the applicant's employment
6.20	as a faculty member, intern, resident, or locum of the University of Minnesota College of
6.21	Veterinary Medicine or other unit of the University of Minnesota;
6.22	(7) provides proof of graduation from a veterinary college;
6.23	(8) completed a criminal background check as defined in section 214.075; and
6.24	(9) provides other information and proof as the board may require by rules and
6.25	regulations.

36.26	(b) The University of Minnesota may submit the applications of its employees who seek
36.27	an institutional license in a compiled format acceptable to the board, with any license
36.28	application fees in a single form of payment.
36.29	(c) The fee for a license issued under this subdivision is the same as for a regular license
36.30	to practice veterinary medicine in the state. License payment and renewal deadlines, late
36.31	payment fees, and other license requirements are also the same as for a regular license to
36.32	practice veterinary medicine.
37.1	(d) The University of Minnesota may be responsible for timely payment of renewal fees
37.2	and submission of renewal forms.
37.3	Subd. 2. Scope of practice. (a) An institutional license holder may practice veterinary
37.4	medicine only as related to the license holder's regular function at the University of
37.5	Minnesota. A person holding only an institutional license in this state must be remunerated
37.6	for the practice of veterinary medicine in the state solely from state, federal, or institutional
37.7	funds and not from the patient-owner beneficiary of the license holder's practice efforts.
37.8	(b) A license issued under this section must be canceled by the board upon receipt of
37.9	information from the University of Minnesota that the holder of the license has left or is
37.10	otherwise no longer employed at the University of Minnesota in this state.
37.11	(c) An institutional license holder must abide by all laws governing the practice of
37.12	veterinary medicine in the state and is subject to the same disciplinary action as any other
37.13	veterinarian licensed in the state.
37.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
37.15	Sec. 80. [156.076] DIRECT SUPERVISION; UNLICENSED VETERINARY
37.16	EMPLOYEES.
37.17	(a) An unlicensed veterinary employee may only administer medication or render
37.18	auxiliary or supporting assistance under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian or
37.19	licensed veterinary technician.
37.20	(b) This section does not prohibit:
37.21	(1) the performance of generalized nursing tasks ordered by the veterinarian and
37.22	performed by an unlicensed employee on inpatient animals during the hours when a
37.23	veterinarian is not on the premises; or
37.24	(2) under emergency conditions, an unlicensed employee from rendering lifesaving aid
37.25	and treatment to an animal in the absence of a veterinarian if the animal is in a life-threatening
37.26	condition and requires immediate treatment to sustain life or prevent further injury.
37 27	EFFECTIVE DATE This section is effective July 1, 2025

37.28	Sec. 81. [156.077] LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS.
37.29 37.30 37.31 38.1 38.2	Subdivision 1. Licensure; practice. (a) The board shall issue a license to practice as a veterinary technician to an applicant who satisfies the requirements in this section and those imposed by the board in rule. A licensed veterinary technician may practice veterinary technology. A person may not use the title "veterinary technician" or the abbreviation "LVT" unless licensed by the board.
38.3 38.4	(b) The board may adopt by rule additional licensure requirements or definitions for veterinary technician titles.
38.5 38.6 38.7 38.8	Subd. 2. Applicants; qualifications. Application for a license to practice veterinary technology in this state shall be made to the board on a form furnished by the board and accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, is of good moral character, and has met the following requirements:
38.9 38.10	(1) graduated from a veterinary technology program accredited or approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association or Canadian Veterinary Medical Association;
38.11	(2) received a passing score for the Veterinary Technician National Examination;
38.12 38.13	(3) received a passing score for the Minnesota Veterinary Technician Jurisprudence Examination; and
38.14	(4) completed a criminal background check.
38.15 38.16	<u>Subd. 3.</u> Required with application. A completed application must contain the following information and material:
38.17 38.18	(1) the application fee set by the board, which is not refundable if permission to take the jurisprudence examination is denied for good cause;
38.19 38.20 38.21	(2) proof of graduation from a veterinary technology program accredited or approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association or Canadian Veterinary Medical Association;
38.22 38.23 38.24 38.25	(3) affidavits from at least two licensed veterinarians and three adults who are not related to the applicant that establish how long, when, and under what circumstances the references have known the applicant and any other facts that may enable the board to determine the applicant's qualifications; and
38.26 38.27	(4) if the applicant has served in the armed forces, a copy of the applicant's discharge papers.
38.28 38.29	<u>Subd. 4.</u> Temporary alternative qualifications. (a) The board shall consider an application for licensure submitted by a person before July 1, 2030, if the person provides evidence satisfactory to the board that the person:

38.31	(1) is a certified veterinary technician in good standing with the Minnesota Veterinary
38.32	Medical Association; or
	<u> </u>
39.1	(2) has at least 4,160 hours actively engaged in the practice of veterinary technology
39.2	within the previous five years.
39.3	(b) Each applicant under this subdivision must also submit to the board affidavits from
39.4	at least two licensed veterinarians and three adults who are not related to the applicant that
39.5	establish how long, when, and under what circumstances the references have known the
39.6	applicant and any other facts that may enable the board to determine the applicant's
39.7	qualifications.
39.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
39.9	Sec. 82. [156.078] NONRESIDENTS; LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS.
39.10	A credentialed veterinary technician duly admitted to practice in any state,
39.11	commonwealth, territory, or district of the United States or province of Canada that desires
39.12	permission to practice veterinary technology in this state shall submit an application to the
39.13	board on a form furnished by the board. The board shall review an application for transfer
39.14	if the applicant submits:
39.15	(1) a copy of a diploma from an accredited or approved college of veterinary technology
39.16	or certification from the dean, registrar, or secretary of an accredited or approved college
39.17	of veterinary technology or a certificate of satisfactory completion of the PAVE program;
39.18	(2) if requesting waiver of examination, evidence of meeting licensure requirements in
39.19	the state of the applicant's original licensure;
39.20	(3) affidavits of two licensed practicing doctors of veterinary medicine or veterinary
39.21	technicians residing in the United States or Canadian licensing jurisdiction in which the
39.22	applicant is or was most recently practicing, attesting that they are well acquainted with the
39.23	applicant, that the applicant is a person of good moral character, and that the applicant has
39.24	been actively engaged in practicing or teaching in such jurisdiction;
39.25	(4) a certificate from the agency that regulates the conduct of practice of veterinary
39.26	technology in the jurisdiction in which the applicant is or was most recently practicing,
39.27	stating that the applicant is in good standing and is not the subject of disciplinary action or
39.28	pending disciplinary action;
39.29	(5) a certificate from all other jurisdictions in which the applicant holds a currently active
39.30	license or held a license within the past ten years, stating that the applicant is and was in
39.31	good standing and has not been subject to disciplinary action;
40.1	(6) in lieu of the certificates in clauses (4) and (5), certification from the Veterinary
40.2	Information Verification Agency that the applicant's licensure is in good standing;

40.3	(7) a fee as set by the board in form of check or money order payable to the board, no
40.4	part of which shall be refunded should the application be denied;
40.5	(8) score reports on previously taken national examinations in veterinary technology,
40.6	certified by the Veterinary Information Verification Agency or evidence of employment as
40.7	a veterinary technician for at least three years;
40.8	(9) proof that the applicant received a passing score for the Minnesota Veterinary
40.9	Technician Jurisprudence Examination; and
40.10	(10) proof of a completed criminal background check.
40.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
40.12	Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
40.13	Subd. 2. Authorized activities. No provision of this chapter shall be construed to prohibi
40.14	(a) a person from rendering necessary gratuitous assistance in the treatment of any animal
40.15	when the assistance does not amount to prescribing, testing for, or diagnosing, operating,
40.16	or vaccinating and when the attendance of a licensed veterinarian cannot be procured;
40.17	(b) a person who is a regular student in an accredited or approved college of veterinary
40.18	medicine from performing duties or actions assigned by instructors or preceptors or working
40.19	under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian;
40.20	(c) a veterinarian regularly licensed in another jurisdiction from consulting with a licensed
40.21	veterinarian in this state;
40.22	(d) the owner of an animal and the owner's regular employee from caring for and
40.23	administering to the animal belonging to the owner, except where the ownership of the
40.24	animal was transferred for purposes of circumventing this chapter;
40.25	(e) veterinarians who are in compliance with subdivision 6 section 156.0721 and who
40.26	are employed by the University of Minnesota from performing their duties with the College
40.27	of Veterinary Medicine, College of Agriculture,; Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory;
40.28	Agricultural Experiment Station, Agricultural Extension Service; Medical School, School
40.29	of Public Health; School of Nursing; or other unit within the university; or a person from
40.30	lecturing or giving instructions or demonstrations at the university or in connection with a
40.31	continuing education course or seminar to veterinarians or pathologists at the University of
40.32	Minnesota Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory;
41.1	(f) any person from selling or applying any pesticide, insecticide or herbicide;
41.2	(g) any person from engaging in bona fide scientific research or investigations which
11.3	reasonably requires experimentation involving animals.

28.12	Sec. 67. REPEALER.
28.13 28.14	Subdivision 1. Genetically engineered organisms. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 18F.02, subdivisions 2 and 9; and 18F.12, are repealed.
28.15 28.16 28.17	Subd. 2. Plant protection and nurseries. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 18G.02, subdivisions 12, 17, 21, 25, and 29; 18H.02, subdivisions 10, 12a, 29, 31, 32a, and 34; and 18H.06, subdivision 1, are repealed.
28.18 28.19	Subd. 3. Dairy law. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 17.984; and 32D.03, subdivision 5, are repealed.

41.4 41.5	(h) any employee of a licensed veterinarian from performing duties other than diagnosis,
+1.5 41.6	prescription or surgical correction under the direction and supervision of the veterinarian, who shall be responsible for the performance of the employee;
11.7	(i) a graduate of a foreign college of veterinary medicine from working under the direct
41.8	personal instruction, control, or supervision of a veterinarian faculty member of the College
41.9 41.10	of Veterinary Medicine, University of Minnesota in order to complete the requirements necessary to obtain an ECFVG or PAVE certificate;
41.11 41.12	(j) a licensed chiropractor registered under section 148.01, subdivision 1a, from practicing animal chiropractic; or
41.13	(k) a person certified by the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board under
11.14	chapter 144E from providing emergency medical care to a police dog wounded in the line
41.15	of duty.
41.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
11.17	Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.12, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
41.18	Subd. 4. Titles. It is unlawful for a person who has not received a professional degree
41.19	from an accredited or approved college of veterinary medicine, or ECFVG or PAVE
11.20	certification, or an institutional license under section 156.0721 to use any of the following
11.21	titles or designations: Veterinary, veterinarian, animal doctor, animal surgeon, animal dentist,
11.22	animal chiropractor, animal acupuncturist, or any other title, designation, word, letter,
11.23	abbreviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the person is qualified to practice
11.24	veterinary medicine.
41.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
11.26	Sec. 85. <u>REPEALER.</u>
11.27	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 156.12, subdivision 6, is repealed.
11.28	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 32D.24; 32D.25; 32D.26; 32D.27; and 32D.28,
11.29	are repealed.
41.30	(c) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 17.984; and 32D.03, subdivision 5, are repealed.
12.1	(d) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 18G.02, subdivisions 12, 17, 21, 25, and 29;
12.2	18H.02, subdivisions 10, 12a, 29, 31, 32a, and 34; and 18H.06, subdivision 1, are repealed.
12.3 12.4	(e) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 18F.02, subdivisions 2 and 9; and 18F.12, are repealed.