REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Mary Murphy, Chair of the Committee on Redistricting, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on September 13th, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Murphy, Mary, CHAIR Klevorn, Ginny, VC Torkelson, Paul, Lead Bahner, Kristin Garofalo, Pat Greenman, Emma Igo, Spencer Long, Jamie Munson, Jeremy Nash, Jim Neu Brindley, Anne O'Driscoll, Tim Olson, Liz Sandstede, Julie Schultz, Jennifer

Member excused:

Stephenson, Zack Vang, Samantha West, Nolan

Lee. Fue

A quorum was present.

Redistricting listening session for Congressional District 3

Presentation on population trends and shift analysis by State Demographer, Dr. Susan Brower

Overview of redistricting timelines by Matt Gehring, House Research

Public testimony from residents of Congressional District 3

- -Catherine Kurdziel, Coon Rapids
- -Richard Jennis, Community Organizer for African Career Education and Resource
- -Kayli Schaaf, Coon Rapids
- -Gregg Peppin, Rogers
- -Brett Ortler, Coon Rapids
- -Peter Wattson, Shorewood
- -Christopher Geisler, Coon Rapids
- -Patrick Bryant, Bloomington
- -Vince Beaudette, Victoria
- -Kevin Anderson, Hennepin County Commissioner
- -Elizabeth Levang, Plymouth
- -Hollies J. Winston, Brooklyn Park
- -Ron Matz, Bloomington
- -Duff Watson, Plymouth

Congressional District 3 listening session concluded at 4:32 PM and the committee recessed.

Committee reconvened at 7:00 PM

Redistricting listening session for Congressional District 6

Presentation on population trends and shift analysis by State Demographer, Dr. Susan Brower

Overview of redistricting timelines by Matt Gehring, House Research

Public testimony from residents of 6th Congressional District

- -Chris Kauffman, Mayor, Hanover
- -Shannon Haws, St. Cloud
- -Joe Melcher, St. Cloud
- -Britt Mikkelsen, St. Cloud
- -Christine Husom, Wright County Commissioner

Congressional District 6 listening session concluded at 7:53 PM and the committee adjourned.

Representative Mary Murphy, Chair

Mick Borsari, Committee Legislative Assistant