Taxes Committee

MINUTES

Representative Davids, Chair of the Taxes Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:15AM on March 6, 2025, in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

DAVIDS, Greg Chair

JOY, Jim Vice Chair

GOMEZ, Aisha

ANDERSON, Patti

ELKINS, Steve

FREIBERG, Mike

HANSON, Jessica

HARDER, Bobbie

HER, Kaohly

HUOT, John

JOHNSON, Wayne

LEE, Liz

ROACH, Drew

ROBBINS, Kristin

SCHWARTZ, Erica

SMITH, Andy

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

WARWAS, Cal

WIENER, Mike

WITTE, Jeff

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Non-Voting member present:

NORRIS, Matt

Members Excused:

KOZLOWSKI, Liish

STEPHENSON, Zack

Members Absent:

Representative Her moved the minutes from March 5, 2025 be approved. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1066 (Reyer) Appropriation for soil and water conservation district aid increased.

Representative Reyer moved the 1066A1 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifying:

Sheila Vanney, Assistant Director, Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (MASWCD)

Chairman Davids laid over HF1066, as amended, for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

HF1126 (Sencer-Mura) Property tax exemption established for certain property owned by an Indian Tribe.

Testifying:

Leonard Fineday, Secretary/Treasurer, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Chairman Davids laid over HF1126 for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

HF967 (Davids) Property tax exemption established for certain property owned by an Indian Tribe.

Testifying:

Reid LeBeau, Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Chairman Davids laid over HF967 for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

HF1669 (Davids) Income and corporate franchise taxes; allocation for the credit for sustainable aviation fuel increased.

Chairman Davids moved the 1669DE1 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED

Testifying:

Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Revenue Jeff Davidman, Vice President of State and Local Government, Delta Airlines Julia Silvis, Managing Director, Minnesota SAF Hub/Greater MSP Rick King, Chair, Metropolitan Airports Commission Amanda Bilek, Senior Public Policy Director, MN Corn Growers Anne Schwagerl, Vice President, Minnesota Farmers Union Mitch Hunter, Co-Director, University of Minnesota Forever Green Initiative Hunter Pederson, Public Policy Specialist, Minnesota Farm Bureau Joe Smentek, Executive Director, Minnesota Soybean Growers Brian Werner, Executive Director, Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association Rick Horton, Executive Vice President, Minnesota Forest Industries

Chris DeLaForest, Minnesota Building & Construction Trades Darin Borton, Executive Director, Agrigrowth

Carolyn Berninger, Transportation and Fuels Public Policy Manager, Great Plains Institute George Damian, Director of Government Affairs, Clean Energy Economy MN (CEEM) Peter Wagenius, Legislative & Political Director, Sierra Club North Star Chapter (Virtual)

Anne Schwagerl – Vice President, Minnesota Farmers Union (Virtual)

Chairman Davids laid over HF1669, as amended, for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:53 AM.	
	Representative Greg Davids, Chair
	Jennifer H, Goblirsch, Committee Legislative Assistant