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Support SF 1101 to help stop drunk driving

The Honorable Julia Coleman
Minnesota State Senate

Dear Senator Coleman,

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) thanks you for your leadership to stop drunk driving and writes
in support of SF 1101 improving the DWI ignition interlock law. MADD supports the measure you authored
because it would drastically improve the implementation of the repeat offender ignition interlock law.

Since July 2011 in Minnesota, interlocks have been required for all repeat and first-time convicted
drunk drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16 or greater. However, repeat offenders can wait
out the ignition interlock restriction. First offenders with a BAC of .08 to .15 are eligible to go on an interlock
for a 90-day license revocation. SF 1101 would require repeat offenders to use an ignition interlock before
ever obtaining an unrestricted driver’s license.

What is an ignition interlock? An ignition interlock is a device about the size of a smart phone that is
wired into the ignition system of a vehicle. If an interlock user is drunk, the vehicle will not start or operate.
Interlocks cost around $3 a day to lease, but in Minnesota, drivers can obtain the device at a reduced rate
from an interlock vendor if they cannot afford it.

Over the past 13 years, ignition interlocks have prevented 551,068 attempts to drink and drive in
Minnesota, including 81,605 attempts to drive drunk with a BAC of .08 greater. Can you imagine how many
more attempts to drive drunk will be stopped by enacting SF 11017

Interlocks are more effective than license suspension. According to the CDC, interlocks reduce repeat
drunk driving offenses by 67 percent. An ignition interlock is more effective than license suspension alone, as
up to 75 percent of convicted drunk drivers continue to drive on a suspended license. License suspension with
the use of an interlock is our best hope for stopping repeat drunk driving.

MADD urges you to supports SF 1101 or any improvement to the ignition interlock law. If you have any
guestions, please do not hesitate to contact MADD Director of State Government Affairs Frank Harris at
frank.harris@madd.org or 202-688-1194. Enclosed is more information on ignition interlocks. Thank you in
advance for your prompt consideration of this important request.

Sincerely,
Alex Otte
MADD National President



Drinking and Driving Attempts Stopped by an Ignition Interlock in 2019

Total .08 BAC and over stops .02 to .79 BAC Stops
Alabama 15,934 1,847 14,087
Alaska 25,823 2,551 23,272
Arizona 142,911 12,332 130,579
Arkansas 131,154 14,699 116,455
California 264,717 25,072 239,645
Colorado 139,020 10,506 128,514
Connecticut 102,693 14,173 88,520
Delaware 7,184 918 6,266
D.C. 2,659 175 2,484
Florida 53,062 8,931 44,131
Georgia 42,142 4,610 37,532
Hawaii 16,526 1,061 15,465
Idaho 9,576 1,104 8,472
lllinois 72,036 6,944 65,092
Indiana 16,872 1,758 15,114
lowa 207,763 26,681 181,082
Kansas 101,751 9,873 91,878
Kentucky 13,795 1,734 12,061
Louisiana 103,194 15,522 87,672
Maine 8,319 1,302 7,017
Maryland 118,226 9,575 108,651
Massachusetts 36,664 3,806 32,858
Michigan 22,436 2,258 20,178
Minnesota 76,071 7,496 68,575
Mississippi 10,617 1,188 9,429
Missouri 86,021 11,194 74,827
Montana 3,091 314 2,777
Nebraska 44,036 4,178 39,858
Nevada 31,808 3,914 27,894
New Hampshire 8,827 1,175 7,652
New Jersey 73,649 15,759 57,890
New Mexico 46,414 3,862 42,552
New York 44,927 5,589 39,338
North Carolina 24,944 2,689 22,255
North Dakota 238 79 159
Ohio 25,321 3,001 22,320
Oklahoma 100,645 11,080 89,565
Oregon 63,740 5,639 58,101
Pennsylvania 59,564 6,820 52,744
Rhode Island 10,741 1,139 9,602
South Carolina 17,009 1,879 15,130
South Dakota 892 64 828
Tennessee 97,289 9,055 88,234
Texas 248,116 29,649 218,467
Utah 28,780 3,843 24,937
Vermont 14,193 1,267 12,926
Virginia 28,937 2,709 26,228
Washington 154,883 14,225 140,658
West Virginia 15,463 1,642 13,821
Wisconsin 250,743 29,795 220,948
Wyoming 14,331 3,222 11,109
Total 3,235,747 359,898 2,875,849

Data collected from interlock vendors. The time period is from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019




Drinking and Driving Attempts Stopped by an Ignition Interlock from 2006 to 2019

Total .08 BAC and over stops .02 to .79 BAC Stops

Alabama 49,498 6,038 43,460
Alaska 220,894 16,942 203,952
Arizona 1,249,701 110,166 1,139,535
Arkansas 802,352 95,604 106,748
California 2,265,139 271,114 1,994,025
Colorado 1,205,273 121,289 1,083,984
Connecticut 638,022 82,109 555,913
Delaware 73,643 6,907 66,736
D.C. 19,669 280 19,389
Florida 1,011,932 98,016 913,916
Georgia 299,811 40,106 259,705
Hawaii 166,636 10,886 155,750
Idaho 65,288 8,076 57,212
lllinois 618,329 121,168 497,161
Indiana 121,371 12,372 108,999
lowa 1,202,806 157,793 1,045,013
Kansas 1,026,396 116,480 909,916
Kentucky 69,140 6,951 62,189
Louisiana 833,008 118,559 714,449
Maine 67,300 15,896 51,404
Maryland 687,807 67,197 620,610
Massachusetts 296,385 43,288 253,097
Michigan 273,764 30,396 243,368
Minnesota 551,068 81,625 469,443
Mississippi 75,384 8,085 67,299
Missouri 932,526 117,703 814,823
Montana 34,592 6,258 28,334
Nebraska 387,785 38,684 349,101
Nevada 85,399 12,529 72,870
New Hampshire 66,297 12,794 53,503
New Jersey 534,800 103,684 431,116
New Mexico 487,570 83,139 404,431
New York 498,635 103,376 395,259
North Carolina 242,153 25,535 216,618
North Dakota 1,033 401 632
Ohio 210,489 30,679 179,810
Oklahoma 718,993 92,135 626,858
Oregon 375,376 53,723 321,653
Pennsylvania 419,804 84,087 335,717
Rhode Island 57,252 6,126 51,126
South Carolina 87,068 10,604 76,464
South Dakota 10,839 1,843 8,996
Tennessee 513,512 69,047 444,465
Texas 2,390,284 339,246 2,051,038
Utah 182,175 23,226 158,949
Vermont 83,578 10,361 73,217
Virginia 221,018 25,304 195,714
Washington 1,062,974 134,384 928,590
West Virginia 363,151 29,671 333,480
Wisconsin 2,069,523 331,976 1,737,547
Wyoming 104,668 20,115 84,553

Total 26,032,110 3,413,973 22,618,137

Data collected from interlock vendors. The time period is from December 1, 2006 to December 31, 2019




Ignition Interlock vs. License Suspension

After DUI

o

Ignition interlock
installed at a service
center at a one-time

estimated cost of
$70-$150.

Person blows into an
interlock device before
starting vehicle.

*—

!

If interlock

detects no

alcohol, car
starts.

:

Rolling Retest
Typically within 7-15
minutes, person is
prompted to blow
again into the device.
Rolling retest is less
frequent longer car is
in use.

?

If no alcohol
detected on
rolling retest.

b

Person gets to
destination safe and
sober.

Person applies to
court or driver’s
license agency for
unrestricted driving
privileges after license
suspension or
revocation period.

@—@ | opportunity to take test,

IF ALCOHOL IS DETECTED

Car will not start. Person
is given second chance to
blow into the device.

If interlock If person blows
detects no positive too
alcohol, car many times,
starts. car will enter
lockout mode.

IF ALCOHOL IS DETECTED
ON ROLLING RETEST

Person is given another

typically within 5 minutes.
Car will not shut off.

If no alcohol If person
detected on misses rolling
rolling retest, retest too
car remains in many times,
normal car will be in
operation. lockout. Car

will not shut

off but horn
may beep and

lights flash.

License suspension

h or without
time/route restricted
privileges (no ignition

interlock.

There is nothing
stor g a drunk
driver from driving
on suspended or
restricted licer
unless an interlo

is installed.

5 =75 f
convicted drunk
drivers continue to
drive on suspended
license, which e
ason one-third
first offenders repeat
the offense.

Florida: 17,000 in 2012
Wisconsin: 2,000 in 2014
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People who use an interlock are less likely to reoffend. Compared to license suspension alone, interlocks reduce

repeat offenses by 67% while the device is installed and 39% after the device is removed. Compliance Based
Removal could help decrease repeat offenses even more.

MADD supports ignition interlocks for ALL apprehended drunk drivers. Interlocks accomplish what license
suspension and other monitoring technologies do not — separate drinking from driving.

« Interlock Service Center: Person must get interlock serviced every 30 days.

* Lockout Mode: If person blows positive for alcohol too many times or misses a rolling test, device may need to be taken to get serviced sooner than 30 days.
« Extra time on interlock possible. The interlock service center may report any violations, too many positive blows or missed rolling retests to a monitoring agency which may

result in extra time on interlock if the state has a Compliance Based Removal aspect to the interlock law. Many states require offenders to show proof of installation and/or
compliance with the interlock order to the court/driver’s license agency in order to have device removed.
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Teoh et al, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, “State Ignition Interlock Laws and Fatal Crashes,” March

2018.

The number of impaired driving crashes falls 16 percent when states enact all-offender ignition
interlock laws.

If all states mandated interlocks for all DUI offenders, more than 500 of those deaths would have been
avoided.

McGinty, Emma E. American Journal of Preventative Medicine, “Ignition Interlock Laws: Effects on Fatal
Motor Vehicle Crashes, 1982-2013,” January, 2017

Ignition interlock laws reduce alcohol-involved fatal crashes. Increasing the spread of interlock laws
that are mandatory for all offenders would have significant public health benefit.

Laws requiring interlocks for all drunk driving offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08
or greater were associated with a seven percent decrease in the rate of drunk driving fatal crashes.
Laws requiring interlocks for first-time offenders with a BAC of .15 or greater were associated with an
eight percent decrease in the rate of drunk driving fatal crashes.

Laws requiring interlocks for segments of high-risk drunk driving offenders, such as repeat offenders,
may reduce alcohol-involved fatal crashes after two years of implementation.

California DMV Study of Four-County Ignition Interlock Pilot Program, June 2016

Ignition interlocks are 74% more effective in reducing DUI recidivism than license suspension alone for
first offenders during the first 182 days after conviction.

Interlocks are 45% more effective in preventing a repeat DUl incidence when compared to license
suspension alone during days 183 to 365 after conviction. (Many first-time offenders have the device
removed after 182 days of use.)

Ignition interlocks are 70% more effective than license suspension alone in preventing repeat offenses
for second-time offenders, compared to license suspension alone, for the first 364 days of use.
Interlocks are 58% more effective in preventing a repeat DUI incidence during days 365 to 730 days of
use for second-time offenders.

Third-time offenders who only had a suspended license were 3.4 times more likely to have a fourth
DUI conviction or incidence compared to the interlocked offender group.

Because interlocked offenders are able to be a part of society and provide for their family by driving to
work, grocery stores, restaurants and any anywhere else, their crash risk is most likely similar to the
general driving population in California, but higher than offenders whose licenses were suspended or
revoked and not permitted to drive.

Kaufman, University of Pennsylvania, “"Impact of State Ignition Interlock Laws on Alcohol-Involved
Crash Deaths in the United States,” March 2016

DUI deaths decreased by 15% in states that enacted all-offender interlock laws.

States with mandatory interlock laws saw a 0.8 decrease in deaths for every 100,000 people each year
— which is comparable to lives shown to have been saved from mandatory airbag laws (0.9 lives saved
per 100,000 people.
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Ignition interlocks are
effective in reducing repeat
drunk driving offenses by 67
percent while the device is
installed compared to license
suspension alone. (CDC)

Interlocks help reduce repeat
offenses even after the
device is removed by 39
percent compared to
offenders who never installed
an interlock. (Marques, 2010)

First-time offenders are
serious offenders. Research
from the CDC indicates that
first time offenders have
driven drunk at least 80 times
before they are arrested.

The FACTS

Ignition Interlocks Save Lives

12 oz. 5 oz. 1.5 oz.
5% alcohol 12% alcohol 40% alcohol

Trouble controlling speed
Difficulty processing information and reasoning
Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects

Difficulty steering
11 times more likely to cause a crash compared to a sober driver

TO GET TO THE ILLEGAL .08 BAC LEVEL, A 160-POUND MALE MUST
DRINK FOUR DRINKS IN AN HOUR.

All-offender ignition interlock laws stop drunk drivers
with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) .08 or
greater from reoffending.

e Aninterlock is more effective than license suspension alone, as 50 to 75 percent of convicted drunk drivers
continue to drive on a suspended license.

e All-offender interlock laws are widespread. Thirty-four states plus DC have laws requiring ignition interlocks for
all first-time convicted drunk drivers.

e Asof December 2017, there are approximately 349,030 interlocks in use in the United States.

Ignition interlock laws saves lives. Due in part to laws requiring interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers, drunk
driving deaths have declined dramatically and at a better pace compared to the national average decline:

v' West Virginia: 60 percent
v' Louisiana: 41 percent
v' Delaware: 40 percent

v" Vermont: 40 percent v" Oklahoma: 29 percent
v" Arizona: 34 percent v"  Arkansas: 25 percent
v" Kansas: 32 percent v' Mississippi: 19 percent

Public supports Interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers. Three surveys indicate strong public support of
ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers.

> 88 percent (Center for Excellence in Rural Safety, 2010)

> 84 percent (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 2009)

> 76 percent (American Automobile Association, 2012)



