## TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 24, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the February 22 minutes be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2992 (Baker) - Towing and recovery vehicles exempted from specified motor vehicle weight limitations.

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 2992 be laid over.

Chair Hornstein moved that the H2992DE1 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Baker gave an overview of HF 2992, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 2992, as amended

Lance Klatt, Executive Director of the MN Professional Towing Association (MPTA) Lance Burda, Vice President, MPTA

Laura Roads, Associate Legal Counsel, Office of Chief Counsel, MnDOT

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 2992, as amended.

HF3134 (Moller) – Towed vehicle and vehicle contents requirements modified.

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 3134 be referred to the committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Rep. Moller gave an overview of HF 3134.

Public Testimony on HF 3134

Ron Elwood, Legal Aid

Hannah Anderson, attorney, Faegre Drinker Lance Klatt, Executive Director of the MN Professional Towing Association (MPTA)

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion to refer HF 3134 to the committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law. The results were as follows:

## AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAIN:

BAHR, Cal

There being 16 AYES, 0 NAYS, and 1 ABSTAIN, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 1:51pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant