



Subject Radon Testing in Rental Housing

Authors Reyer and others

Analyst Mary Mullen

Date February 28, 2022

## Summary

Section Description

## 1 Radon testing; disclosure; mitigation.

Provides definitions for elevated radon concentration and radon testing and mitigation using existing definitions from chapter 144. This section requires a landlord to:

- complete radon testing every five years in buildings where they lease units to tenants;
- provide the results to all current tenants and the local government inspector;
- provide a copy of the Department of Health publication on radon in rental properties to all prospective tenants along with the most recent radon test and any mitigation or remediation for the rental unit; and
- mitigate elevated radon levels within 120 days of the test.

A tenant is allowed to bring an action under this section or existing housing remedies in chapter 504B, and a tenant can require treble damages or a \$500 penalty and attorney's fees for certain violations. The attorney general's office can also seek penalties for violations under this section.

**Effective date.** This section applies to residential tenancies on or after December 1, 2022.

## 2 Department of Health.

Requires the commissioner of health to produce a publication on radon in rental properties for distribution by landlords to tenants on the health effects of radon and the landlord's duties to mitigate radon in residential tenancies.

Effective date. This section is effective December 1, 2022.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155