
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 9 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 290.0131, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 21. Dependent flexible spending accounts. For a taxpayer who claims the credit​

1.6 under section 290.067, or for a married taxpayer filing a separate return whose spouse claims​

1.7 the credit under that section, the amount of dependent care assistance that is excluded from​

1.8 gross income under section 129 of the Internal Revenue Code is an addition.​

1.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December​

1.10 31, 2022.​

1.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 290.067, is amended to read:​

1.12 290.067 DEPENDENT GREAT START CHILD CARE AND DEPENDENT CARE​

1.13 CREDIT.​

1.14 Subdivision 1. Amount of credit. (a) A taxpayer may take as a credit against the tax​

1.15 due from the taxpayer and a spouse, if any, under this chapter an amount equal to the​

1.16 dependent care credit for which the taxpayer is eligible pursuant to the provisions of section​

1.17 21 of the Internal Revenue Code except that in determining whether the child qualified as​

1.18 a dependent, income received as a Minnesota family investment program grant or allowance​

1.19 to or on behalf of the child must not be taken into account in determining whether the child​

1.20 received more than half of the child's support from the taxpayer the taxpayer's eligible​

1.21 dependent care expenses, as determined under subdivisions 1a and 1b, multiplied by the​

1.22 taxpayer's credit percentage, as determined under subdivision 1c.​
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2.1 (b) If a child who has not attained the age of six years at the close of the taxable year is​

2.2 cared for at a licensed family day care home operated by the child's parent, the taxpayer is​

2.3 deemed to have paid employment-related expenses. If the child is 16 months old or younger​

2.4 at the close of the taxable year, the amount of expenses deemed to have been paid equals​

2.5 the maximum limit for one qualified individual under section 21(c) and (d) of the Internal​

2.6 Revenue Code. If the child is older than 16 months of age but has not attained the age of​

2.7 six years at the close of the taxable year, the amount of expenses deemed to have been paid​

2.8 equals the amount the licensee would charge for the care of a child of the same age for the​

2.9 same number of hours of care.​

2.10 (c) If a married couple:​

2.11 (1) has a child who has not attained the age of one year at the close of the taxable year;​

2.12 (2) files a joint tax return for the taxable year; and​

2.13 (3) does not participate in a dependent care assistance program as defined in section 129​

2.14 of the Internal Revenue Code, in lieu of the actual employment related expenses paid for​

2.15 that child under paragraph (a) or the deemed amount under paragraph (b), the lesser of (i)​

2.16 the combined earned income of the couple or (ii) the amount of the maximum limit for one​

2.17 qualified individual under section 21(c) and (d) of the Internal Revenue Code will be deemed​

2.18 to be the employment related expense paid for that child. The earned income limitation of​

2.19 section 21(d) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply to this deemed amount. These​

2.20 deemed amounts apply regardless of whether any employment-related expenses have been​

2.21 paid.​

2.22 (d) If the taxpayer is not required and does not file a federal individual income tax return​

2.23 for the tax year, no credit is allowed for any amount paid to any person unless:​

2.24 (1) the name, address, and taxpayer identification number of the person are included on​

2.25 the return claiming the credit; or​

2.26 (2) if the person is an organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue​

2.27 Code and exempt from tax under section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, the name​

2.28 and address of the person are included on the return claiming the credit.​

2.29 In the case of a failure to provide the information required under the preceding sentence,​

2.30 the preceding sentence does not apply if it is shown that the taxpayer exercised due diligence​

2.31 in attempting to provide the information required.​

2.32 (e) (b) In the case of a nonresident, part-year resident, or a person who has earned income​

2.33 not subject to tax under this chapter including earned income excluded pursuant to section​
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3.1 290.0132, subdivision 10, the credit determined under section 21 of the Internal Revenue​

3.2 Code this section must be allocated based on the ratio by which the earned income of the​

3.3 claimant and the claimant's spouse from Minnesota sources bears to the total earned income​

3.4 of the claimant and the claimant's spouse using the percentage calculated in section 290.06,​

3.5 subdivision 2c, paragraph (e).​

3.6 (c) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:​

3.7 (1) "Employment-related expenses" has the meaning given in section 21(b)(2) of the​

3.8 Internal Revenue Code;​

3.9 (2) "Qualifying individual" has the meaning given in section 21(b)(1) of the Internal​

3.10 Revenue Code, except that in determining whether the child qualified as a dependent, income​

3.11 received as a Minnesota family investment program grant or allowance to or on behalf of​

3.12 the child must not be taken into account in determining whether the child received more​

3.13 than half of the child's support from the taxpayer; and​

3.14 (3) "Young child" means a qualifying individual who had not attained the age of five​

3.15 by December 31 of the taxable year.​

3.16 (f) For residents of Minnesota, the subtractions for military pay under section 290.0132,​

3.17 subdivisions 11 and 12, are not considered "earned income not subject to tax under this​

3.18 chapter."​

3.19 (g) For residents of Minnesota, the exclusion of combat pay under section 112 of the​

3.20 Internal Revenue Code is not considered "earned income not subject to tax under this​

3.21 chapter."​

3.22 (h) For taxpayers with federal adjusted gross income in excess of $52,230, the credit is​

3.23 equal to the lesser of the credit otherwise calculated under this subdivision, or the amount​

3.24 equal to $600 minus five percent of federal adjusted gross income in excess of $52,230 for​

3.25 taxpayers with one qualified individual, or $1,200 minus five percent of federal adjusted​

3.26 gross income in excess of $52,230 for taxpayers with two or more qualified individuals,​

3.27 but in no case is the credit less than zero.​

3.28 Subd. 1a. Eligible dependent care expenses. (a) A taxpayer's eligible dependent care​

3.29 expenses equals the amount of employment-related expenses incurred by the taxable year,​

3.30 subject to the limitations in paragraphs (b) and (c).​

3.31 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 1b, a taxpayer's eligible dependent care expenses​

3.32 are limited to:​

3.33 (1) $3,000 if there was one qualifying individual with respect to the taxpayer; or​
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4.1 (2) $6,000 if there were two or more qualifying individuals with respect to the taxpayer.​

4.2 Subd. 1b. Eligible expenses for taxpayers with young children. For a taxpayer with​

4.3 a young child, the limit in paragraph (b) is increased as follows:​

4.4 (1) for a taxpayer with one young child with respect to the taxpayer, the limit is increased​

4.5 by $7,000;​

4.6 (2) for a taxpayer with two young children with respect to the taxpayer, the limit is​

4.7 increased by $14,000; and​

4.8 (3) for a taxpayer with three or more young children with respect to the taxpayer, the​

4.9 limit is increased by $19,000.​

4.10 Subd. 1c. Credit percentage. (a) The credit percentage equals 50 percent, subject to​

4.11 the reductions in paragraphs (b) and (c).​

4.12 (b) A taxpayer's credit percentage is reduced by two percentage points for each $2,000,​

4.13 or fraction thereof, by which the taxpayer's adjusted gross income exceeds $125,000, until​

4.14 the credit percentage equals 20 percent.​

4.15 (c) For a taxpayer with adjusted gross income in excess of $400,000, the credit percentage​

4.16 equals 20 percent, reduced by one percentage point for each $2,000, or fraction thereof, by​

4.17 which the taxpayer's adjusted gross income exceeds $400,000.​

4.18 (d) For a married taxpayer filing a separate return, the credit percentage must be calculated​

4.19 under paragraphs (a), (b), and (c), except the adjusted gross income thresholds are one-half​

4.20 the amounts for other filers, as adjusted for inflation under subdivision 2b.​

4.21 Subd. 2b. Inflation adjustment. The commissioner shall annually adjust the dollar​

4.22 amount of the income threshold at which the maximum credit percentage begins to be​

4.23 reduced under subdivision 1 1c as provided in section 270C.22. The statutory year is taxable​

4.24 year 2019 2023.​

4.25 Subd. 2c. Deemed expenses. (a) If a child who has not attained the age of six years at​

4.26 the close of the taxable year is cared for at a licensed family day care home operated by the​

4.27 child's parent, the taxpayer is deemed to have paid employment-related expenses. The​

4.28 amount of expenses deemed to have been paid equals the amount the licensee would charge​

4.29 for the care of a child of the same age for the same number of hours of care.​

4.30 (b) If a married couple:​

4.31 (1) has a child who has not attained the age of one year at the close of the taxable year;​

4.32 and​
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5.1 (2) does not participate in a dependent care assistance program as defined in section 129​

5.2 of the Internal Revenue Code; then in lieu of the actual employment-related expenses paid​

5.3 for that child under or the deemed amount under paragraph (a), the amount deemed to be​

5.4 the employment-related expense paid for that child equals the lesser of:​

5.5 (i) the combined earned income of the couple; or​

5.6 (ii) the amount of the maximum limit for one qualified individual under subdivision 1a,​

5.7 as increased by subdivision 1b.​

5.8 The earned income limitation of section 21(d) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply​

5.9 to this deemed amount. These deemed amounts apply regardless of whether any​

5.10 employment-related expenses have been paid.​

5.11 Subd. 2d. Identifying information required. (a) No credit is allowed for any amount​

5.12 paid to any person unless:​

5.13 (1) the name, address, and taxpayer identification number of the person are included on​

5.14 the return claiming the credit; or​

5.15 (2) if the person is an organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue​

5.16 Code and exempt from tax under section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, the name​

5.17 and address of the person are included on the return claiming the credit.​

5.18 (b) The rule in section 21(e)(10) of the Internal Revenue Code applies for the credit​

5.19 under this section.​

5.20 Subd. 3. Credit to be refundable. If the amount of credit which a claimant would be​

5.21 eligible to receive pursuant to this subdivision exceeds the claimant's tax liability under​

5.22 chapter 290, the excess amount of the credit shall be refunded to the claimant by the​

5.23 commissioner of revenue. An amount sufficient to pay the refunds required by this section​

5.24 is appropriated to the commissioner from the general fund.​

5.25 Subd. 4. Right to file claim. The right to file a claim under this section shall be personal​

5.26 to the claimant and shall not survive death, but such right may be exercised on behalf of a​

5.27 claimant by the claimant's legal guardian or attorney-in-fact. When a claimant dies after​

5.28 having filed a timely claim the amount thereof shall be disbursed to another member of the​

5.29 household as determined by the commissioner of revenue. If the claimant was the only​

5.30 member of a household, the claim may be paid to the claimant's personal representative,​

5.31 but if neither is appointed and qualified within two years of the filing of the claim, the​

5.32 amount of the claim shall escheat to the state.​
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6.1 Subd. 5. Employment-related expenses. For the purposes of determining​

6.2 employment-related expenses, the provisions of sections 21(d) and 21(e)(6) of the Internal​

6.3 Revenue Code apply.​

6.4 Subd. 6. Rules for married couples filing separate returns. A married taxpayer filing​

6.5 a separate return may claim the credit under this section, but only one spouse may claim​

6.6 the credit.​

6.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December​

6.8 31, 2022."​

6.9 Amend the title accordingly​
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