Early Childhood Finance and Policy Division

Representative Dave Pinto, Chair of the Early Childhood Finance and Policy Division, called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 AM on March 3, 2022 pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:
PINTO, Dave, Chair
PRYOR, Laurie, Vice Chair
FRANSON, Mary, Minority Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOLDON, Liz
DANIELS, Brian
DAVNIE, Jim
DEMUTH, Lisa
JURGENS, Tony
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie
MORRISON, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami
WOLGAMOTT, Dan

A quorum was present.

Vice-Chair Pryor moved the minutes of the committee meeting on March 1, 2022 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3701 (Pryor); Child care regulations update provided.

Vice Chair Pryor moved HF3701 to be before the committee.

The following testified on HF3701:

 Chris Zempel, Director of Legislative and External Affairs, Minnesota Department of Human Services

Chair Pinto laid HF3701 over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill

HF3485 (Pryor); Increasing the age range of children served by school-age care programs; increasing funding for school-age care programs; appropriating money.

Vice-Chair Pryor moved HF3485 to be before the committee.

The following testified on HF3485:

• Shawn Hoffman-Bram, Senior Director of Community Education, Eden Prairie Schools Community Education

Chair Pinto laid HF3485 over for further consideration.

HF3622 (Wolgamott); Early childhood family education revenue calculation modified, and administrative cost money transferred.

Rep. Wolgamott moved HF3622 to be before the committee.

Rep. Wolgamott offered the following oral amendment to HF3622: To strike everything after the word "family education" on Line 1.18. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE ORAL AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following presented on HF3622, as amended:

• Sara McKeever, Parent Educator

Rep. Wolgamott renewed his motion to refer HF3622, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES
PINTO, Dave, Chair
PRYOR, Laurie, Vice Chair
BOLDON, Liz
DAVNIE, Jim
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie
MORRISON, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami
WOLGAMOTT, Dan

NAYS BENNETT, Peggy DANIELS, Brian DEMUTH, Lisa JURGENS, Tony

ABSTAINS FRANSON, Mary

With a vote of 8 AYES, 4 NAYS, and 1 ABSTAIN, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 9:52am.

Representative Dave Pinto, Chair

Hans Dosland, Committee Legislative Assistant