## TAX COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Tax Committee meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on Friday, April 9, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

MARQUART, Paul CHAIR LISLEGARD, Dave VC

DAVIDS, Greg Lead

AGBAJE, Esther

CARLSON, Andrew

DETTMER, Bob

GAROFALO, Pat

GOMEZ, Aisha

HER, Kaohly

HERTAUS, Jerry

HOWARD, Michael

MCDONALD, Joe

MILLER, Tim

MORAN, Rena

MORTENSON, Erik

ROBBINS, Kristin

SANDELL, Steve

SCHULTZ, Jennifer

STEPHENSON, Zack

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Representative Lislegard moved the approval of the April 8, 2021 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1065 (Davnie) Omnibus education finance bill

Representative Moran moved that HF 1065 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Presenting the bill:

Representative Jim Davnie

Emily Adriaens, House Fiscal Staff

Representative Moran renewed her motion that HF 1065 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY	EXCUSED
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X		
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X		
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X	
AGBAJE, Esther	X		
CARLSON, Andrew	X		
DETTMER, Bob		X	
GAROFALO, Pat		X	
GOMEZ, Aisha	X		
HER, Kaohly	X		
HERTAUS, Jerry		X	
HOWARD, Michael	X		
MCDONALD, Joe			X
MILLER, Tim		X	
MORAN, Rena	X		
MORTENSON, Erik		X	
ROBBINS, Kristin		X	
SANDELL, Steve	X		
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X		
STEPHENSON, Zack	X		
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X	
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X		
TOTAL	12	8	1

On a vote of 12 AYES, 8 NAYS and 1 EXCUSED THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1312 (Davnie)General education aid clarified

Representative Marquart moved that HF 1312 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Davnie presented the bill.

Representative Marquart renewed his motion that HF 1312 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X
AGBAJE, Esther	X	
CARLSON, Andrew	X	
DETTMER, Bob		X
GAROFALO, Pat		X
GOMEZ, Aisha	X	
HER, Kaohly	X	
HERTAUS, Jerry		X
HOWARD, Michael	X	
MCDONALD, Joe		X
MILLER, Tim		X
MORAN, Rena	X	
MORTENSON, Erik		X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X
SANDELL, Steve	X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X	
STEPHENSON, Zack	X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X	
TOTAL	12	9

On a vote of 12 AYES and 9 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1313 (Davnie) Local optional revenue clarified, and obsolete language removed

Representative Marquart moved that HF 1313 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Davnie presented the bill.

Representative Marquart renewed his motion that HF 1313 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X
AGBAJE, Esther	X	
CARLSON, Andrew	X	
DETTMER, Bob		X
GAROFALO, Pat		X
GOMEZ, Aisha	X	
HER, Kaohly	X	
HERTAUS, Jerry		X
HOWARD, Michael	X	
MCDONALD, Joe		X
MILLER, Tim		X
MORAN, Rena	X	
MORTENSON, Erik		X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X
SANDELL, Steve	X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X	
STEPHENSON, Zack	X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X	
TOTAL	12	9

On a vote of 12 AYES and 9 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1684 (Hornstein) Transportation omnibus policy and finance bill

Representative Lislegard moved that HF 1684 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Presenting the bill:

Representative Frank Hornstein Andy Lee, House Fiscal Staff Jared Swanson, House Research

Providing testimony:

Amber Backhaus, Minnesota Automobile Dealers Association

Representative Lislegard renewed his motion that HF 1684 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X
AGBAJE, Esther	X	
CARLSON, Andrew	X	
DETTMER, Bob		X
GAROFALO, Pat		X
GOMEZ, Aisha	X	
HER, Kaohly	X	
HERTAUS, Jerry		X
HOWARD, Michael	X	
MCDONALD, Joe		X
MILLER, Tim		X
MORAN, Rena	X	
MORTENSON, Erik		X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X
SANDELL, Steve	X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X	
STEPHENSON, Zack	X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X	
TOTAL	12	9

On a vote of 12 AYES and 9 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 9 (Greenman) Political contribution refund repealed and democracy dollar coupon program established

Representative Youakim moved that HF 9 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Greenman presented the bill.

Representative Youakim moved the H0009A16 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Youakim renewed her motion that HF 9, as amended, be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X
AGBAJE, Esther	X	
CARLSON, Andrew	X	
DETTMER, Bob		X
GAROFALO, Pat		X
GOMEZ, Aisha	X	
HER, Kaohly	X	
HERTAUS, Jerry		X
HOWARD, Michael	X	
MCDONALD, Joe		X
MILLER, Tim		X
MORAN, Rena	X	
MORTENSON, Erik		X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X
SANDELL, Steve	X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X	
STEPHENSON, Zack	X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X	
TOTAL	12	9

On a vote of 12 AYES and 9 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 500 (Marquart) Local government debt financing modified

Representative Marquart moved that HF 500 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Marquart moved the H0500A3 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Marquart presented the bill.

Representative Marquart renewed his motion that HF 500, as amended, be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

The clerk took the vote.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X	
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X	
DAVIDS, Greg Lead	X	
AGBAJE, Esther	X	
CARLSON, Andrew	X	
DETTMER, Bob	X	
GAROFALO, Pat		X
GOMEZ, Aisha	X	
HER, Kaohly	X	
HERTAUS, Jerry		X
HOWARD, Michael	X	
MCDONALD, Joe	X	
MILLER, Tim	X	
MORAN, Rena	X	
MORTENSON, Erik		X
ROBBINS, Kristin	X	
SANDELL, Steve	X	
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X	
STEPHENSON, Zack	X	
SWEDZINSKI, Chris	X	
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X	
TOTAL	18	3

On a vote of 18 AYES and 3 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:33 P.M.	
Representative Paul Marquart, Chair	
_	
Urszula Gryska,	Committee Legislative Assistant
	Committee Degisiative Assistant