EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Hodan Hassan, Vice Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 14, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused:

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

A quorum was present.

Representative Feist moved that the minutes from the committee meeting on February 9, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Feist moved HF2750 be referred to Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Feist moved Amendment H2750A1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF3079, as amended:

Elif Ozturk, Sophomore, Hopkins High School
Taubie Sanders, Senior, Hopkins High School
Karlynn D'Averill, RN, PHN, LSN, School Nurse, District 196
Thomas Stinson, RN, Ed.D, Licensed School Nurse, St. Paul Harding High School
Sharon Stein McNamara, Ed.D, L.P., President-elect for Minnesota Psychological Association
Beth Gendler, M.Ed, Executive Director, National Council of Jewish Women Minnesota
Tori Robarge, Student, Eagan High School
Evelyn Gore, Student, Eagan High School

Representative Feist renewed the motion to refer HF2750, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Christensen requested a roll call.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

BOE, Greg

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

SCOTT, Peggy

EXCUSED

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

ABSTAINED

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

With a vote of 12 AYES, 4 NAYS, 1 EXCUSED, and 2 ABSTAINED. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Vice Chair Hassan moved HF1883 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Vice Chair Hassan moved Amendment H1883A1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF1883, as amended:

Colleen Ronnei, Executive Director and Founder, Change the Outcome. Jolie Holland, RN BA BSN, Licensed School Nurse, Legislative Chair for the School Nurse Organization of Minnesota (SNOM)

Vice Chair Hassan renewed the motion to refer HF1883, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
MUELLER, Patricia
POSTON, John
SCOTT, Peggy
URDAHL, Dean
WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

EXCUSED

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

With a vote of 17 AYES, 1 NAY, and 1 EXCUSED. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice Chair Hassan moved HF224 be laid over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

The following testified on HF224:

Jolie Holland, RN BA BSN, Licensed School Nurse, Legislative Chair for the School Nurse Organization of Minnesota (SNOM)

Vice Chair Hassan laid over HF224 for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus Bill.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:28pm.

Representative Hodan Hassan, Vice Chair
Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant