..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2292 as follows:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 120A.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Age limitations; pupils.** (a) All schools supported in whole or in part by state funds are public schools. Admission to a public school is free to any person who: (1) resides within the district that operates the school; (2) is under 21 years of age or who meets the requirements of paragraph (c); and (3) satisfies the minimum age requirements imposed by this section. Notwithstanding the provisions of any law to the contrary, the conduct of all students under 21 years of age attending a public secondary school is governed by a single set of reasonable rules and regulations promulgated by the school board.

- (b) A person shall not be admitted to a public school: (1) as a public prekindergarten pupil, unless the pupil is at least four years of age as of September 1 of the calendar year in which the school year for which the pupil seeks admission commences; (2) as a kindergarten pupil, unless the pupil is at least five years of age on September 1 of the calendar year in which the school year for which the pupil seeks admission commences; or (2) (3) as a 1st grade student, unless the pupil is at least six years of age on September 1 of the calendar year in which the school year for which the pupil seeks admission commences or has completed kindergarten; except that any school board may establish a policy for admission of selected pupils at an earlier age under section 124D.02.
- (c) A pupil who becomes age 21 after enrollment is eligible for continued free public school enrollment until at least one of the following occurs: (1) the first September 1 after the pupil's 21st birthday; (2) the pupil's completion of the graduation requirements; (3) the pupil's withdrawal with no subsequent enrollment within 21 calendar days; or (4) the end of the school year.

Section 1.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025.

2.1

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.24

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 120A.41, is amended to read:

<b>120A.41 LENGTH</b>	OF SCHOOL	YEAR: HOURS	OF INSTRUCTION.

- (a) A school board's annual school calendar must include at least 425 hours of instruction for a kindergarten student without a disability, 935 hours of instruction for a student in grades 1 through 6, and 1,020 hours of instruction for a student in grades 7 through 12, not including summer school. The school calendar for all-day kindergarten must include at least 850 hours of instruction for the school year. The school calendar for a prekindergarten student under section 124D.151, if offered by the district, must include at least 350 between 425 and 850 hours of instruction for the school year. A school board's annual calendar must include at least 165 days of instruction for a student in grades 1 through 11 unless a four-day week schedule has been approved by the commissioner under section 124D.126.
- (b) A school board's annual school calendar may include plans for up to five days of instruction provided through online instruction due to inclement weather. The inclement weather plans must be developed according to section 120A.414.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025.

- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Establishment; purpose.** A district, a charter school, a group of districts, a group of charter schools, or a group of districts and charter schools school district, charter school, center-based, or family child care provider licensed under section 245A.03, or Head

  Start agency licensed under section 245A.03 that meets program requirements under subdivision 2 may establish a voluntary public prekindergarten program for eligible four-year-old children. The purpose of a voluntary public prekindergarten program is to

## 2.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

prepare children for success as they enter kindergarten in the following year.

- Subd. 2. **Program requirements.** (a) A voluntary <u>public prekindergarten program</u> provider must:
- 2.29 (1) provide instruction through play-based learning to foster children's social and emotional development, cognitive development, physical and motor development, and

Sec. 4. 2

language and literacy skills, including the native language and literacy skills of English learners, to the extent practicable;

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

- (2) measure each child's cognitive and social skills assess each child's progress toward the state's early learning standards at program entrance and exit using a commissioner-approved formative measure aligned to the state's early learning standards when the child enters and again before the child leaves the program, screening and progress monitoring measures, and other age-appropriate versions from the state-approved menu of kindergarten entry profile measures age-appropriate assessment unless otherwise indicated by the child's individualized educational program. The results of the assessment data must be submitted to the department in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner;
- (3) provide comprehensive program content <u>aligned with the state early learning</u> <u>standards</u>, including the implementation of curriculum, assessment, and <u>intentional</u> instructional strategies <del>aligned with the state early learning standards</del>, and <u>kindergarten</u> through grade 3 academic standards that meet the needs of all learners;
- (4) provide instructional content and activities that are of sufficient length and intensity to address learning needs including offering a program with at least 350 between 425 and 850 hours of instruction per school year for a prekindergarten student;
- (5) provide voluntary <u>public</u> prekindergarten <u>instructional</u> staff salaries <u>comparable</u> and <u>set salary schedules equivalent</u> to the salaries of <u>local kindergarten through grade 12</u> <u>instructional staff public school district elementary school staff with similar credentials and experience for school district and charter public prekindergarten program sites, and to the extent practicable, for Head Start and licensed center and family child care sites;</u>
- (6) employ a lead teacher for each voluntary public prekindergarten classroom who has at least a bachelor's degree in early education or a related field no later than July 1, 2031. Teachers employed by an eligible provider for at least three of the last five years immediately preceding July 1, 2025, who meet the necessary content knowledge and teaching skills for early childhood educators, as demonstrated through measures determined by the state, may be employed as a lead teacher. "Lead teacher" means an individual with primary responsibility for the instruction and care of eligible children in a classroom;
- (6) (7) coordinate appropriate kindergarten transition with families, community-based prekindergarten programs, and school district kindergarten programs;
- (7) (8) involve parents in program planning decision-making and transition planning by implementing parent engagement strategies that include culturally and linguistically

Sec. 4. 3

responsive activities in prekindergarten through third grade that are aligned with early 4.1 childhood family education under section 124D.13; 4.2 (8) (9) coordinate with relevant community-based services, including health and social 4.3 service agencies, to ensure children have access to comprehensive services; 4.4 4.5 (9) (10) coordinate with all relevant school district programs and services including early childhood special education, homeless students, and English learners; 4.6 (10) (11) ensure staff-to-child ratios of one-to-ten and a maximum group size of 20 4.7 children in school-based programs, staff-to-child ratio and group size as required for center 4.8 and family child care licensing for center-based and family-based child care sites, and 4.9 staff-to-child ratio and group size as determined by Head Start standards for Head Start 4.10 sites; and 4.11 (11) (12) provide high-quality coordinated professional development, training, and 4.12 coaching for both school district, Head Start, and community-based early learning licensed 4.13 center and family-based providers that is informed by a measure of adult-child interactions 4.14 and enables teachers to be highly knowledgeable in early childhood curriculum content, 4.15 assessment, native and English language development programs, and instruction; and. 4.16 (12) implement strategies that support the alignment of professional development, 4.17 instruction, assessments, and prekindergarten through grade 3 curricula. 4.18 (b) A voluntary prekindergarten program must have teachers knowledgeable in early 4.19 childhood curriculum content, assessment, native and English language programs, and 4.20 instruction. 4.21 (c) Districts and charter schools must include their strategy for implementing and 4.22 measuring the impact of their voluntary prekindergarten program under section 120B.11 4.23 and provide results in their world's best workforce annual summary to the commissioner of 4.24 4.25 education. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025. 4.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 4.27 Subd. 3. Mixed delivery of services program plan. A district or charter school may 4.28 contract with a charter school, Head Start or child care centers, family child care programs 4.29 licensed under section 245A.03, or a community-based organization to provide eligible 4.30 children with developmentally appropriate services that meet the program requirements in 4.31 subdivision 2. Components of a mixed-delivery plan include strategies for recruitment, 4.32

Sec. 5. 4

03/21/23 04:16 p	m HOUSE RESEARC	H AM/MV H2292DE1

5.1	contracting, and monitoring of fiscal compliance and program quality. All public
5.2	prekindergarten programs within each school district boundary that receive funding for
5.3	voluntary public prekindergarten programs must develop and submit a mixed delivery
5.4	program plan to the Department of Education by July 1, 2025, and every other year thereafter,
5.5	in a manner and format prescribed by the commissioner. The plan must ensure alignment
5.6	of all public prekindergarten program providers within the school district boundary in
5.7	meeting the program requirements in subdivision 2 and must include:
5.8	(1) a description of the process used to convene and get group agreement among all
5.9	public prekindergarten program providers within the district boundaries in order to coordinate
5.10	efforts regarding the requirements in subdivision 2;
5.11	(2) a description of the public prekindergarten program providers within the school
5.12	district boundaries, including but not limited to the name and location of partners, and the
5.13	number of hours and days per week the program will be offered at each program site;
5.14	(3) an estimate of the number of eligible children to be served in the program at each
5.15	school site or mixed-delivery location;
5.16	(4) a plan for recruitment, outreach, and communication regarding the availability of
5.17	public prekindergarten programming within the community;
5.18	(5) coordination and offering of professional development opportunities, as needed;
5.19	(6) coordination of the required child assessments, as needed, and continuous quality
5.20	improvement efforts to ensure quality instruction;
5.21	(7) a plan for providing the services and supports included in the individualized education
5.22	program for any child in the voluntary public prekindergarten program;
5.23	(8) a plan to get to salaries equivalent to school staff with comparable credentials and
5.24	experience;
5.25	(9) a detailed plan for transitioning children and families to kindergarten; and
5.26	(10) a statement of assurances signed by the superintendent, charter school director,
5.27	Head Start director, and child care program director or owner that the proposed program
5.28	meets the requirements of subdivision 2. A statement of assurances must be submitted in
5.29	the mixed delivery program plan and must be signed by an individual from each public
5.30	prekindergarten program provider with authority to enter into the agreement.
5.31	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective July 1, 2025.

Sec. 5. 5

03/21/23 04:16 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/MV	H2292DE1
U3//1//3 U4:16 nm	HUUNERESEARUH	A  VI/ VI V	H / / 9 / DE I

5.1	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.2	to read:
5.3	Subd. 3a. Funding. (a) School district and charter school voluntary public prekindergarten
5.4	programs are funded based on the number of eligible pupils enrolled as authorized under
5.5	chapters 124D, 124E, and 126C.
5.6	(b) Head Start, center, and family child care providers that are licensed under section
5.7	245A.03 are funded in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner of education at
5.8	a maximum per pupil allowance as established in paragraph (c). The commissioner must
5.9	prorate the allowance if the number of instructional hours is less than the maximum.
.10	(c) The Head Start, center, and family child care maximum allowance for fiscal years
11	2026 and 2027 is \$11,200. The Head Start, center, and family child care maximum allowance
2	for fiscal year 2028 and later equals the product of \$11,200 times the ratio of the formula
3	allowance under section 126C.10, subdivision 2, for the current fiscal year to the formula
4	allowance under section 126C.10, subdivision 2, for fiscal year 2027.
5	(d) Up to \$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 and thereafter
6	may be used by the commissioner for distribution of funds to Head Start, center, and family
7	child care providers, including via a third party administrator.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
)	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
)	Subd. 4. Eligibility. A (a) An eligible child means a child who:
	(1) is four years of age as of September 1 in the calendar year in which the school year
2	commences is; and
3	(2) meets at least one of the following criteria:
4	(i) qualifies for free or reduced-price meals;
5	(ii) is an English language learner as defined by section 124D.59, subdivision 2;
26	(iii) is American Indian;
7	(iv) is experiencing homelessness;
8	(v) has an individualized education plan under section 125A.08;
9	(vi) was identified as having a potential risk factor that may influence learning through
0	health and developmental screening under sections 121.19 to 121A.16;

Sec. 7. 6

7.1	(vii) is in foster care; kinship care, including children receiving Northstar kinship
7.2	assistance under chapter 256N; or is in need of child protection services;
7.3	(viii) has a parent who is a migrant or seasonal agriculture laborer under section 181.85;
7.4	<u>or</u>
7.5	(ix) has a parent who is incarcerated.
7.6	(b) An eligible to child is eligible to participate in a voluntary public prekindergarten
7.7	program free of charge. An eligible four-year-old child served in a mixed-delivery system
7.8	by a child care center, family child care program licensed under section 245A.03, or
7.9	community-based organization Programs may charge a sliding fee for the instructional hours
7.10	that exceed 850 during the school year, any hours that provide before or after school child
7.11	care during the school year, or any hours that provide child care during the summer. A child
7.12	that does not meet the eligibility requirements in paragraph (a), clause (2), may participate
7.13	in the same classroom as eligible children and may be charged a sliding fee as long as the
7.14	mixed-delivery partner state funding was not awarded a seat for that child.
7.15	(c) Each eligible child must complete a health and developmental screening within 90
7.16	days of program enrollment under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, and provide documentation
7.17	of required immunizations under section 121A.15.
7.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
7.19	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
7.20	Subd. 6. Participation limits. (a) Notwithstanding section 126C.05, subdivision 1,
7.21	paragraph (d), the pupil units for a voluntary prekindergarten program for an eligible school
7.22	district or charter school must not exceed 60 percent of the kindergarten pupil units for that
7.23	school district or charter school under section 126C.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (e).
7.24	(b) In reviewing applications under subdivision 5, the commissioner must limit the total
7.25	number of participants in the voluntary prekindergarten and school readiness plus programs
7.26	under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 5, article 8, section 9, to not more than 7,160
7.27	participants for fiscal years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, and 2023, and 3,160 participants for
7.28	fiscal years 2024 and later.
7.29	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective for revenue for fiscal years 2024 and
7.30	2025.
,.50	<del></del>

7 Sec. 8.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Financial accounting.** An eligible school district or charter school must record expenditures attributable to voluntary <u>public</u> prekindergarten pupils according to guidelines prepared by the commissioner under section 127A.17. <u>Center-based and family child care providers and Head Start agencies must record expenditures attributable to voluntary public prekindergarten pupils according to guidelines developed and approved by the commissioner of education.</u>

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.33

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 126C.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Pupil unit.** Pupil units for each Minnesota resident pupil under the age of 21 or who meets the requirements of section 120A.20, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), in average daily membership enrolled in the district of residence, in another district under sections 123A.05 to 123A.08, 124D.03, 124D.08, or 124D.68; in a charter school under chapter 124E; or for whom the resident district pays tuition under section 123A.18, 123A.22, 123A.30, 123A.32, 123A.44, 123A.488, 123B.88, subdivision 4, 124D.04, 124D.05, 125A.03 to 125A.24, 125A.51, or 125A.65, shall be counted according to this subdivision.

- (a) A prekindergarten pupil with a disability who is enrolled in a program approved by the commissioner and has an individualized education program is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of assessment and education service to 825 times 1.0 with a minimum average daily membership of 0.28, but not more than 1.0 pupil unit.
- (b) A prekindergarten pupil who is assessed but determined not to be disabled is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of assessment service to 825 times 1.0.
- (c) A kindergarten pupil with a disability who is enrolled in a program approved by the commissioner is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of assessment and education services required in the fiscal year by the pupil's individualized education program to 875, but not more than one.
- (d) (c) For fiscal years 2024 and 2025, a prekindergarten pupil who is not included in paragraph (a) or (b) and is enrolled in an approved a voluntary <u>public</u> prekindergarten program under section 124D.151 is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of instruction to 850 times 1.0, but not more than 0.6 pupil units. For fiscal year 2026 and later, a prekindergarten pupil who is not included in paragraph (a) or (b) and is enrolled in a voluntary public prekindergarten program under section 124D.151 is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of instruction to 850 times 1.0, but not less than 0.6 or more than 1.0 pupil units.

Sec. 10. 8

(e) (d) A kindergarten pupil who is not included in paragraph (e) is counted as 1.0 pupil unit if the pupil is enrolled in a free all-day, every day kindergarten program available to all kindergarten pupils at the pupil's school that meets the minimum hours requirement in section 120A.41, or is counted as .55 pupil unit, if the pupil is not enrolled in a free all-day, every day kindergarten program available to all kindergarten pupils at the pupil's school.

(f) (e) A pupil who is in any of grades 1 to 6 is counted as 1.0 pupil unit.

- 9.7 (g) (f) A pupil who is in any of grades 7 to 12 is counted as 1.2 pupil units.
- 9.8 (h) (g) A pupil who is in the postsecondary enrollment options program is counted as 9.9 1.2 pupil units.
- 9.10 (i) (h) For fiscal years 2018 through 2023 2025, a prekindergarten pupil who:
- 9.11 (1) is not included in paragraph (a), (b), or (d);

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

- 9.12 (2) is enrolled in a school readiness plus program under Laws 2017, First Special Session 9.13 chapter 5, article 8, section 9; and
- 9.14 (3) has one or more of the risk factors specified by the eligibility requirements for a 9.15 school readiness plus program,
- is counted as the ratio of the number of hours of instruction to 850 times 1.0, but not more than 0.6 pupil units. A pupil qualifying under this paragraph must be counted in the same manner as a voluntary prekindergarten student for all general education and other school funding formulas. This paragraph expires July 1, 2025.
- 9.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later.
- 9.21 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 126C.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 9.22 Subd. 3. **Compensation revenue pupil units.** Compensation revenue pupil units must be computed according to this subdivision.
- 9.24 (a) The compensation revenue concentration percentage for each building in a district equals the product of 100 times the ratio of:
- 9.26 (1) the sum of the number of pupils enrolled in the building eligible to receive free lunch 9.27 plus one-half of the pupils eligible to receive reduced priced lunch on October 1 of the 9.28 previous fiscal year; to
- 9.29 (2) the number of pupils enrolled in the building on October 1 of the previous fiscal year.

Sec. 11. 9

(b) The compensation revenue pupil weighting factor for a building equals the lesser of one or the quotient obtained by dividing the building's compensation revenue concentration percentage by 80.0.

- (c) The compensation revenue pupil units for a building equals the product of:
- (1) the sum of the number of pupils enrolled in the building eligible to receive free lunch and one-half of the pupils eligible to receive reduced priced lunch on October 1 of the previous fiscal year; times
  - (2) the compensation revenue pupil weighting factor for the building; times
- 10.9 (3) .60.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

- (d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), for voluntary prekindergarten programs under section 124D.151, charter schools, and contracted alternative programs in the first year of operation, compensation revenue pupil units shall be computed using data for the current fiscal year. If the voluntary prekindergarten program, charter school, or contracted alternative program begins operation after October 1, compensatory revenue pupil units shall be computed based on pupils enrolled on an alternate date determined by the commissioner, and the compensation revenue pupil units shall be prorated based on the ratio of the number of days of student instruction to 170 days.
- (e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), for voluntary prekindergarten seats discontinued in fiscal year 2024 due to the reduction in the participation limit under section 124D.151, subdivision 6, those discontinued seats must not be used to calculate compensation revenue pupil units for fiscal year 2024.
- 10.22 (f) (e) The percentages in this subdivision must be based on the count of individual pupils and not on a building average or minimum.
- 10.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 126C.10, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2d. **Declining enrollment revenue.** (a) A school district's declining enrollment revenue equals the greater of zero or the product of: (1) 28 percent of the formula allowance for that year and (2) the difference between the adjusted pupil units for the preceding year and the adjusted pupil units for the current year.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), <u>for public prekindergarten programs</u> for fiscal year 2024 2026 only, prekindergarten pupil units under section 126C.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (d) (c), must be excluded from the calculation of declining enrollment revenue.

Sec. 12. 10

0.0 (0.1 (0.0 0.1 1.5			*******
03/21/23 04:16 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	AM/MV	H2292DE1

11.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later.
11.2	Sec. 13. APPROPRIATIONS; DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION.
11.3	Subdivision 1. Department of Education. The sums indicated in this section are
11.4	appropriated from the general fund to the Department of Education for the fiscal years
11.5	designated.
11.6	Subd. 2. Head Start, center, and family child care prekindergarten funding and
11.7	administration. For Head Start, center, and family child care public prekindergarten
11.8	programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151, subdivision 3a:
11.9	<u>\$</u>
11.10	\$ <u>0</u> <u>2024</u> \$ <u>0</u> <u>2025</u>
11.11	(b) Any balance in the first year does not cancel and is available in the second year.
11.12	(c) The base for this forecast program in fiscal year 2026 is \$99,551,000 and the base
11.13	for fiscal year 2027 is \$118,812,000.
11.14	Subd. 3. <b>Prekindergarten planning.</b> (a) For planning and implementation of public
11.15	prekindergarten under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151, including contracts with third
11.16	parties with expertise in early childhood development, assessment, facilitation, project
11.17	management, human centered design, coaching, and training:
11.18	<u>\$ 5,233,000 2024</u>
11.19	\$ 5,233,000 2025
11.20	(b) The base for fiscal year 2026 is \$4,394,000 and the base for fiscal year 2027 is
11.21	\$4,544,000.
11.22	Sec. 14. REPEALER.
11.23	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 124D.151, subdivisions 5 and 6, are repealed.
11.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025."
11.25	Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 14.