1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 260 as follows:
1.2	Page 1, line 12, delete everything after "shall"
1.3	Page 1, line 13, delete everything before "administer" and after "program" insert "through
1.4	a grant to a nonprofit with demonstrated ability to manage benefit programs for child care
1.5	professionals"
1.6	Page 1, line 15, after "the" insert "REETAIN"
1.7	Page 2, line 1, delete "applicant's current position" and insert "early care and education
1.8	field"
1.9	Page 2, line 8, delete "their current position" and insert "the early care and education
1.10	field"
1.11	Page 2, line 11, delete " <u>\$3,500</u> " and insert " <u>an amount</u> " and after " <u>recipient</u> " insert
1.12	"determined by the commissioner"
1.13	Page 2, line 13, before "The commissioner" insert "By January 1 each year," and delete
1.14	"annually"
1.15	Page 2, line 14, delete " <u>on January 1, 2022,</u> "
1.16	Page 2, line 15, before the period, insert "since the last report"
1.17	Page 2, after line 15, insert:
1.18	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 136A.128, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.19	Subd. 2. <b>Program components.</b> (a) The nonprofit organization must use the grant for:
1.20	(1) tuition scholarships up to $\frac{5,000}{10,000}$ per year for courses leading to the nationally
1.21	recognized child development associate credential or college-level courses leading to an

1

02/24/21 09:39 am

- associate's <u>degree</u> or bachelor's degree in early childhood development and school-age care;
  and
- 2.3 (2) education incentives of a minimum of \$100 \$250 to participants in the tuition
  2.4 scholarship program if they complete a year of working in the early care and education
  2.5 field.
- (b) Applicants for the scholarship must be employed by a licensed early childhood or 2.6 child care program and working directly with children, a licensed family child care provider, 2.7 employed by a public prekindergarten program, or an employee in a school-age program 2.8 exempt from licensing under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (12). 2.9 Lower wage earners must be given priority in awarding the tuition scholarships. Scholarship 2.10 recipients must contribute at least ten percent of the total scholarship and must be sponsored 2.11 by their employers, who must also contribute ten at least five percent of the total scholarship. 2.12 Scholarship recipients who are self-employed must contribute 20 percent of the total 2.13
- 2.14 scholarship.
- 2.15 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 136A.128, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Administration. A nonprofit organization that receives a grant under this
  section may use five ten percent of the grant amount to administer the program."
- 2.18 Page 2, after line 21, insert:

## 2.19 "Sec. .... APPROPRIATION; TEACH GRANT PROGRAM.

- 2.20 \$500,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2023 are appropriated from the
- 2.21 general fund to the commissioner of human services for teacher education and compensation
- 2.22 helps (TEACH) program grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.128.
- 2.23 Sec. .... **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**
- 2.24 <u>The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.128, as a section</u>
   2.25 <u>in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B. The revisor shall also make necessary cross-reference</u>
   2.26 changes consistent with the renumbering."
- 2.27 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 2.28 Amend the title accordingly

2