## CAPITAL INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Fue Lee, Chair of the Capital Investment Committee, called the remote meeting to order at 8:30 A.M. on February 25, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

LEE, Fue (Chair)

MURPHY, Mary (Vice Chair)

URDAHL, Dean (Lead)

AGBAJE, Esther

BERG, Kaela

FRANKE, Keith

FREIBERG, Mike

HANSEN, Rick

HUOT, John

LILLIE, Leon

LUCERO, Eric

MORAN, Rena

PIERSON, Nels

RALEIGH, Donald

RASMUSSON, Jordan

REYER, Liz

WEST, Nolan

XIONG, Jay

Members excused:

DAVIDS, Greg

A quorum was present.

Representative Murphy moved to approve the minutes from February 23, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Bills not introduced at the time of the meeting are indicated by the House Research or Revisor code.

Metropolitan Council presented an overview of bus rapid transit.

Presenters from Metropolitan Council:

- -Charles Carlson, Director of Bus Rapid Transit Projects
- -Judd Schetnan, Government Affairs Director

MB032 (Hornstein); Minneapolis to Southdale Transit Center; E line bus rapid transit line funding provided, bonds issued, and money appropriated.

Representative Hornstein presented his bill.

Testifying on the bill:

- -Grace Waltz, Director of Public Policy and Advocacy, Minneapolis Regional Chamber
- -Marcus Mills, Minneapolis resident and member of the public

HF1381 (Koegel); Columbia Heights; Central Avenue NE arterial bus rapid transit line funding provided, bonds issued, and money appropriated.

Representative Lee moved that HF1381 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Koegel presented her bill.

Testifying on the bill:

- Amáda Márquez Simula, Mayor, Columbia Heights

Representative Lee laid over HF1381 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

The committee heard additional testimony on bus rapid transit.

## Testifying:

- -William Schroeer, Executive Director, East Metro Strong
- -B Kyle, President and CEO, St. Paul Area Chamber
- -Sam Rockwell, Executive Director, Move Minnesota

Dave Cowan, Safe Routes to School Coordinator at the Office of Transit and Active Transportation, Minnesota Department of Transportation, presented on the Safe Routes to School Grant Program.

HF1108 (Murphy); Safe routes to school grant program funding provided, bonds issued, and money appropriated.

Representative Murphy moved that HF1108 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Murphy presented her bill.

Testifying on the bill:

- -Dorian Grilley, Executive Director, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- -Shawna Mullin, Duluth resident and member of the public

Representative Lee laid over HF1108 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:57 A.M.

Representative Fue Lee, Chair
Joe Lenczewski, Committee Legislative Assistant