
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4661 as follows:​

1.2 Page 2, after line 2, insert:​

1.3 "Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.011, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 18. Weekly wage. "Weekly wage" is arrived at by multiplying the daily wage by​

1.5 the number of days and fractional days normally worked in the business of the employer​

1.6 for the employment involved. If the employee normally works less than five days per week​

1.7 or works an irregular number of days per week, the number of days normally worked shall​

1.8 be computed by dividing the total number of days in which the employee actually performed​

1.9 any of the duties of employment in the last 26 weeks by the number of weeks in which the​

1.10 employee actually performed such duties, provided that the weekly wage for part time​

1.11 employment during a period of seasonal or temporary layoff shall be computed on the​

1.12 number of days and fractional days normally worked in the business of the employer for​

1.13 the employment involved. If, at the time of the injury, the employee was regularly employed​

1.14 by two or more employers, the employee's days of work for all such employments shall be​

1.15 included in the computation of weekly wage. An employee injured while engaged in​

1.16 agricultural employment fewer than 30 days in a calendar year, and who is regularly​

1.17 employed by two or more employers, shall have their average weekly wage calculated based​

1.18 on the agricultural wages at five times the employee's daily wage, or based only on the​

1.19 employee's other employment, whichever is higher. Occasional overtime is not to be​

1.20 considered in computing the weekly wage, but if overtime is regular or frequent throughout​

1.21 the year it shall be taken into consideration. The maximum weekly compensation payable​

1.22 to an employee, or to the employee's dependents in the event of death, shall not exceed​

1.23 66-2/3 percent of the product of the daily wage times the number of days normally worked,​

1.24 provided that the compensation payable for permanent partial disability under section​

1.25 176.101, subdivision 2a, and for permanent total disability under section 176.101, subdivision​
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2.1 4, or death under section 176.111, shall not be computed on less than the number of hours​

2.2 normally worked in the employment or industry in which the injury was sustained, subject​

2.3 also to such maximums as are specifically otherwise provided.​

2.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for dates of injury on or after October​

2.5 1, 2024."​

2.6 Page 2, line 6, strike "$130,000" and insert "$275,000"​

2.7 Page 2, lines 28 and 33, strike "$26,000" and insert "$55,000"​

2.8 Page 3, line 6, strike "$130,000" and insert "$275,000"​

2.9 Page 4, line 13, strike "$26,000" and insert "$55,000"​

2.10 Page 4, after line 22, insert:​

2.11 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for dates of injury on or after October​

2.12 1, 2024."​

2.13 Page 4, before line 23, insert:​

2.14 "Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

2.15 Subdivision 1. Temporary total disability. (a) For injury producing temporary total​

2.16 disability, the compensation is 66-2/3 percent of the weekly wage at the time of injury.​

2.17 (b)(1) Commencing on October 1, 2013 2024, and each October 1 thereafter, the​

2.18 maximum weekly compensation payable is 102 108 percent of the statewide average weekly​

2.19 wage for the period ending December 31 of the preceding year.​

2.20 (2) The Workers' Compensation Advisory Council may consider adjustment increases​

2.21 and make recommendations to the legislature.​

2.22 (c) The minimum weekly compensation payable is $130 per week or the injured​

2.23 employee's actual weekly wage, whichever is less. Beginning on October 1, 2021, and each​

2.24 October 1 thereafter, the minimum weekly compensation shall be 20 percent of the maximum​

2.25 weekly compensation payable or the employee's actual weekly wage, whichever is less.​

2.26 (d) Temporary total compensation shall be paid during the period of disability subject​

2.27 to the cessation and recommencement conditions in paragraphs (e) to (l).​

2.28 (e) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease when the employee returns to​

2.29 work. Except as otherwise provided in section 176.102, subdivision 11, temporary total​

2.30 disability compensation may only be recommenced following cessation under this paragraph,​
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3.1 paragraph (h), or paragraph (j) prior to payment of 130 weeks of temporary total disability​

3.2 compensation and only as follows:​

3.3 (1) if temporary total disability compensation ceased because the employee returned to​

3.4 work, it may be recommenced if the employee is laid off or terminated for reasons other​

3.5 than misconduct if the layoff or termination occurs prior to 90 days after the employee has​

3.6 reached maximum medical improvement. Recommenced temporary total disability​

3.7 compensation under this clause ceases when any of the cessation events in paragraphs (e)​

3.8 to (l) occurs; or​

3.9 (2) if temporary total disability compensation ceased because the employee returned to​

3.10 work or ceased under paragraph (h) or (j), it may be recommenced if the employee is​

3.11 medically unable to continue at a job due to the injury. Where the employee is medically​

3.12 unable to continue working due to the injury, temporary total disability compensation may​

3.13 continue until any of the cessation events in paragraphs (e) to (l) occurs following​

3.14 recommencement. If an employee who has not yet received temporary total disability​

3.15 compensation becomes medically unable to continue working due to the injury after reaching​

3.16 maximum medical improvement, temporary total disability compensation shall commence​

3.17 and shall continue until any of the events in paragraphs (e) to (l) occurs following​

3.18 commencement. For purposes of commencement or recommencement under this clause​

3.19 only, a new period of maximum medical improvement under paragraph (j) begins when the​

3.20 employee becomes medically unable to continue working due to the injury. Temporary total​

3.21 disability compensation may not be recommenced under this clause and a new period of​

3.22 maximum medical improvement does not begin if the employee is not actively employed​

3.23 when the employee becomes medically unable to work. All periods of initial and​

3.24 recommenced temporary total disability compensation are included in the 130-week limitation​

3.25 specified in paragraph (k).​

3.26 (f) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease if the employee withdraws from​

3.27 the labor market. Temporary total disability compensation may be recommenced following​

3.28 cessation under this paragraph only if the employee reenters the labor market prior to 90​

3.29 days after the employee reached maximum medical improvement and prior to payment of​

3.30 130 weeks of temporary total disability compensation. Once recommenced, temporary total​

3.31 disability ceases when any of the cessation events in paragraphs (e) to (l) occurs.​

3.32 (g) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease if the total disability ends and​

3.33 the employee fails to diligently search for appropriate work within the employee's physical​

3.34 restrictions. Temporary total disability compensation may be recommenced following​

3.35 cessation under this paragraph only if the employee begins diligently searching for​
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4.1 appropriate work within the employee's physical restrictions prior to 90 days after maximum​

4.2 medical improvement and prior to payment of 130 weeks of temporary total disability​

4.3 compensation. Once recommenced, temporary total disability compensation ceases when​

4.4 any of the cessation events in paragraphs (e) to (l) occurs.​

4.5 (h) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease if the employee has been released​

4.6 to work without any physical restrictions caused by the work injury.​

4.7 (i) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease if the employee refuses an offer​

4.8 of work that is consistent with a plan of rehabilitation filed with the commissioner which​

4.9 meets the requirements of section 176.102, subdivision 4, or, if no plan has been filed, the​

4.10 employee refuses an offer of gainful employment that the employee can do in the employee's​

4.11 physical condition. Once temporary total disability compensation has ceased under this​

4.12 paragraph, it may not be recommenced.​

4.13 (j) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease 90 days after the employee has​

4.14 reached maximum medical improvement, except as provided in section 176.102, subdivision​

4.15 11, paragraph (b). For purposes of this subdivision, the 90-day period after maximum medical​

4.16 improvement commences on the earlier of: (1) the date that the employee receives a written​

4.17 medical report indicating that the employee has reached maximum medical improvement;​

4.18 or (2) the date that the employer or insurer serves the report on the employee and the​

4.19 employee's attorney, if any. Once temporary total disability compensation has ceased under​

4.20 this paragraph, it may not be recommenced except if the employee returns to work and is​

4.21 subsequently medically unable to continue working as provided in paragraph (e), clause​

4.22 (2).​

4.23 (k) Temporary total disability compensation shall cease entirely when 130 weeks of​

4.24 temporary total disability compensation have been paid, except as provided in section​

4.25 176.102, subdivision 11, paragraph (b). Notwithstanding anything in this section to the​

4.26 contrary, initial and recommenced temporary total disability compensation combined shall​

4.27 not be paid for more than 130 weeks, regardless of the number of weeks that have elapsed​

4.28 since the injury, except that if the employee is in a retraining plan approved under section​

4.29 176.102, subdivision 11, the 130-week limitation shall not apply during the retraining, but​

4.30 is subject to the limitation before the plan begins and after the plan ends.​

4.31 (l) Paragraphs (e) to (k) do not limit other grounds under law to suspend or discontinue​

4.32 temporary total disability compensation provided under this chapter.​

4.33 (m) Once an employee has been paid 52 weeks of temporary total compensation, the​

4.34 employer or insurer must notify the employee in writing of the 130-week limitation on​
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5.1 payment of temporary total compensation. A copy of this notice must also be filed with the​

5.2 department.​

5.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for dates of injury on or after October​

5.4 1, 2024."​

5.5 Page 5, after line 33, insert:​

5.6 "Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.102, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

5.7 Subd. 13. Discontinuance. (a) All benefits payable under chapter 176 may, after a​

5.8 determination and order by the commissioner or compensation judge, be discontinued or​

5.9 forfeited for any time during which the employee refuses to submit to any reasonable​

5.10 examinations and evaluative procedures ordered by the commissioner or compensation​

5.11 judge to determine the need for and details of a plan of rehabilitation, or refuses to participate​

5.12 in rehabilitation evaluation as required by this section or does not make a good faith effort​

5.13 to participate in a rehabilitation plan. A discontinuance under this section is governed by​

5.14 sections 176.238 and 176.239.​

5.15 (b) Once the employer or insurer has accepted liability for a claim and a rehabilitation​

5.16 plan has been approved, the employer or insurer may not discontinue payment of​

5.17 rehabilitation services until notice has been filed with the commissioner and served on the​

5.18 qualified rehabilitation consultant, the employee, and the attorney representing the employee,​

5.19 if any. The notice shall state the date of intended discontinuance and set forth a statement​

5.20 of facts clearly indicating the reason for the action. Copies of whatever medical reports or​

5.21 other written reports in the employer's or insurer's possession which are relied on for the​

5.22 discontinuance shall be attached to the notice.​

5.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

5.24 Page 9, after line 24, insert:​

5.25 "Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 176.135, subdivision 7, is amended​

5.26 to read:​

5.27 Subd. 7. Medical bills and records. (a) Health care providers shall submit to the insurer​

5.28 an itemized statement of charges in the standard electronic transaction format when required​

5.29 by section 62J.536 or, if there is no prescribed standard electronic transaction format, on a​

5.30 billing form prescribed by the commissioner. Health care providers shall also submit copies​

5.31 of medical records or reports that substantiate the nature of the charge and its relationship​

5.32 to the work injury. Pursuant to Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0300, health care providers may​
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6.1 charge for copies of any records or reports that are in existence and directly relate to the​

6.2 items for which payment is sought under this chapter. The commissioner shall adopt, by​

6.3 rule, a schedule of reasonable charges that will apply to charges not covered by paragraphs​

6.4 (d) and (e).​

6.5 A health care provider shall not collect, attempt to collect, refer a bill for collection, or​

6.6 commence an action for collection against the employee, employer, or any other party until​

6.7 the information required by this section has been furnished.​

6.8 A United States government facility rendering health care services to veterans is not​

6.9 subject to the uniform billing form requirements of this subdivision.​

6.10 (b) For medical services provided under this section, the codes from the International​

6.11 Classification of Diseases, Tenth Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System​

6.12 (ICD-10), must be used to report medical diagnoses and hospital inpatient procedures when​

6.13 required by the United States Department of Health and Human Services for federal​

6.14 programs. The commissioner must replace the codes from the International Classification​

6.15 of Diseases, Ninth Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System (ICD-9), with​

6.16 equivalent ICD-10 codes wherever the ICD-9 codes appear in rules adopted under this​

6.17 chapter. The commissioner must use the General Equivalence Mappings established by the​

6.18 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to replace the ICD-9 diagnostic codes with​

6.19 ICD-10 codes in the rules.​

6.20 (c) The commissioner shall amend rules adopted under this chapter as necessary to​

6.21 implement the ICD-10 coding system in paragraph (b). The amendments shall be adopted​

6.22 by giving notice in the State Register according to the procedures in section 14.386, paragraph​

6.23 (a). The amended rules are not subject to expiration under section 14.386, paragraph (b).​

6.24 (d) The requirements in this paragraph and paragraph (e) apply to each request for copies​

6.25 of existing medical records fulfilled by a health care provider or the health care provider's​

6.26 agent that are required to be maintained in electronic format by state or federal law.​

6.27 (1) If an authorized requestor of copies of medical records submits a written request for​

6.28 advance notice of the cost of the copies requested, the health care provider must notify the​

6.29 requestor of the estimated cost before sending the copies. If the requestor approves the cost​

6.30 and copies of the records are provided, the payment is the applicable fee under paragraph​

6.31 (e). If the requestor does not pay for the records, the health care provider may charge a fee,​

6.32 which must not exceed $10.​

6.33 (2) A health care provider shall not require prepayment for the cost of copies of medical​

6.34 records under this paragraph or Minnesota Rules, chapter 5219, unless there is an outstanding​
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7.1 past-due invoice for the requestor concerning a previous request for records from the health​

7.2 care provider.​

7.3 (3) A health care provider shall provide copies of medical records in electronic format.​

7.4 (4) The charges under paragraph (e) include any fee for retrieval, download, or other​

7.5 delivery of records.​

7.6 (e) For any copies of electronic records provided under paragraph (d), a health care​

7.7 provider or the health care provider's agent may not charge more than a total of:​

7.8 (1) $10 if there are no records available;​

7.9 (2) $30 for copies of records of up to 25 pages;​

7.10 (3) $50 for copies of records of up to 100 pages;​

7.11 (4) $50, plus an additional 20 cents per page for pages 101 and above; or​

7.12 (5) $500 for any request.​

7.13 (f) The commissioner may assess a penalty against a health care provider for each​

7.14 violation of this section by the health care provider or the health care provider's agent of​

7.15 $500, payable to the assigned risk safety account.​

7.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

7.17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.137, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

7.18 Subd. 2. Cost. The pecuniary liability of an employer for remodeling or alteration​

7.19 required by this section is limited to prevailing costs in the community for remodeling or​

7.20 alteration of that type. The costs of obtaining the architectural certification and supervision​

7.21 required by this section, or the costs of obtaining approval by a certified building official​

7.22 or certified accessibility specialist under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clause (3), are included​

7.23 in the $75,000 $150,000 limit in subdivision 5.​

7.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for dates of injury on or after October​

7.25 1, 2024.​

7.26 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.137, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

7.27 Subd. 5. Limitation. An employee is limited to $75,000 $150,000 under this section for​

7.28 each personal injury.​

7.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for dates of injury on or after October​

7.30 1, 2024."​

7​Sec. 12.​

REVISOR SS/NH A24-0249​03/15/24  ​



8.1 Page 14, after line 7, insert:​

8.2 "Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.238, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

8.3 Subdivision 1. Necessity for notice and showing; contents. Except as provided in​

8.4 section 176.221, subdivision 1, once the employer or insurer has commenced payment of​

8.5 benefits, the employer may not discontinue payment of compensation until it provides the​

8.6 employee with notice in writing of intention to do so. A copy of the notice shall be filed​

8.7 with the division by the employer or insurer. The notice to the employee and the copy to​

8.8 the division shall state the date of intended discontinuance and set forth a statement of facts​

8.9 clearly indicating the reason for the action. Copies of whatever medical reports or other​

8.10 written reports in the employer's or insurer's possession which are relied on for the​

8.11 discontinuance shall be attached to the notice.​

8.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

8.13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.238, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.14 Subd. 2. Employer's Liability for compensation; discontinuance. (a) If the reason​

8.15 for discontinuance is that the employee has returned to work, temporary total compensation​

8.16 may be discontinued effective the day the employee returned to work. Written notice shall​

8.17 be served on the employee and filed with the division within 14 days of the date the insurer​

8.18 or self-insured employer or insurer has notice that the employee has returned to work.​

8.19 (b) If the reason for the discontinuance is for other than that the employee has returned​

8.20 to work, the liability of the employer or insurer to make payments of compensation continues​

8.21 until the copy of the notice and reports have been filed with the division. When the division​

8.22 has received a copy of the notice of discontinuance, the statement of facts and available​

8.23 medical reports, the duty of the employer or insurer to pay compensation is suspended,​

8.24 except as provided in the following subdivisions and in section 176.239.​

8.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

8.26 Page 14, after lines 12 and 22, insert:​

8.27 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

8.28 Page 14, line 14, after "employer" insert "and insurer"​

8.29 Page 14, lines 24, 26, and 30, after "employer" insert "or insurer"​

8.30 Page 15, lines 2 and 3, after "employer" insert "or insurer"​

8.31 Page 15, line 25, after "administrative" insert "law"​
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9.1 Page 15, line 27, after "circumstances" insert "that are"​

9.2 Page 16, line 1, after "employer" insert "or insurer"​

9.3 Page 16, after line 14, insert:​

9.4 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

9.5 Page 16, before line 15, insert:​

9.6 "Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.238, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

9.7 Subd. 7. Order of compensation judge. If the order of the compensation judge confirms​

9.8 a discontinuance of compensation, the service and filing of the order relieves the employer​

9.9 and insurer from further liability for compensation subject to the right of review provided​

9.10 by this chapter, and to the right of the compensation judge to set aside the order at any time​

9.11 prior to the review and to grant a new hearing pursuant to this chapter. Once an appeal to​

9.12 the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals is filed, a compensation judge may not set​

9.13 aside the order. In any appeal from the compensation judge's decision under this section,​

9.14 the court of appeals shall conclude any oral arguments by the parties within 60 days following​

9.15 certification of the record from the office.​

9.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

9.17 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.238, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

9.18 Subd. 10. Fines; violation. An employer or insurer who violates requirements set forth​

9.19 in this section or section 176.239 is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 $2,500 for each violation​

9.20 payable to the commissioner for deposit in the assigned risk safety account.​

9.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

9.22 Page 20, after line 8, insert:​

9.23 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

9.24 Page 22, after line 4, insert:​

9.25 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

9.26 Page 22, after line 32, insert:​
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10.1 "Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.321, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

10.2 Subdivision 1. Filing, service. Within 20 30 days after service of the petition, an adverse​

10.3 party shall serve and file an answer to the petition. The party shall serve a copy of the answer​

10.4 on the petitioner or the petitioner's attorney."​

10.5 Page 24, line 1, strike "20" and insert "30"​

10.6 Page 24, after line 23, insert:​

10.7 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024."​

10.8 Page 26, after line 16, insert:​

10.9 "EFFECTIVE DATE. Unless otherwise specified, this act is effective August 1, 2024."​

10.10 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

10.11 Amend the title as follows:​

10.12 Page 1, line 2, delete everything after "to" and insert "workers' compensation; making​

10.13 policy and technical changes to workers' compensation coverage and hearings; modifying​

10.14 provisions related to the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals;"​

10.15 Page 1, line 3, delete "workers' compensation hearing provisions;"​

10.16 Correct the title numbers accordingly​
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