



March 9, 2021

Representative Zack Stephenson Minnesota House of Representatives 509 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55155

RE: Support for regional impact of funding the Coon Creek Regional Trail pedestrian bridge in over Coon Rapids Boulevard in Coon Rapids.

Dear Representative Stephenson,

Thank you for authoring HF106 which provides funding for construction of a Coon Creek Regional Trail pedestrian bridge over Anoka County State-Aid Highway 1 (Coon Rapids Boulevard) in Coon Rapids. This funding will enhance the regional trail system by providing a safe route across a very busy highway.

The North Metro Mayors Association (NMMA) supports this needed pedestrian safety project and views the trail system as a valuable regional asset.

Funding for the pedestrian bridge will safely connect the Bunker Hills Regional Park with the Coon Rapids Dam Regional Park, the Mississippi River Regional Trail, the Mississippi Gateway Regional Park in Brooklyn Park, the Mississippi Point Park in Champlin, as well as the Elm Creek Greenway Corridor in Champlin, and one day the Elm Creek Park Reserve in Maple Grove.

As Minnesotans continue to rediscover the Mississippi River and the many outdoor opportunities available in the north metro region, this pedestrian bridge safety/access enhancement will encourage not just residents of the north metro to continue to get outside and enjoy our region and will further entice residents from the entire metro and state to visit the area. This project is good for outdoor recreation, good for mental and physical health, and good for the economy of the region.

Representing cities with a combined population of more than 450,000 Minnesota residents, NMMA is a collaboration of 15 north metro cities plus community partners working together to encourage private and public investments in the northern suburbs. NMMA member cities include Andover, Anoka, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Circle Pines, Coon Rapids, Dayton, Fridley, Maple Grove, Mounds View, New Brighton, New Hope, Ramsey, and Spring Lake Park.

Sincerely,

Mayor Jerry Koch City of Coon Rapids

Gery Loch

City of Champlin NMMA President NMMA Vice-President

Mayor Ryan Karasek

Mayor Kathi Hemken City of New Hope Former President

Karasek fathi Homkin