
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1030, the first engrossment, as follows:​

1.2 Page 48, after line 27, insert:​

1.3 "Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 541.073, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 2. Limitations period. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), an action for​

1.5 damages based on sexual abuse: (1) must be commenced within six years of the alleged​

1.6 sexual abuse in the case of alleged sexual abuse of an individual 18 years or older; (2) may​

1.7 be commenced at any time in the case of alleged sexual abuse of an individual under the​

1.8 age of 18, except as provided for in subdivision 4; and (3) must be commenced before the​

1.9 plaintiff is 24 years of age in a claim against a natural person alleged to have sexually abused​

1.10 a minor when that natural person was under 14 years of age.​

1.11 (b) An action for damages based on sexual abuse may be commenced at any time in the​

1.12 case of alleged sexual abuse by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision​

1.13 1, paragraph (c).​

1.14 (b) (c) The plaintiff need not establish which act in a continuous series of sexual abuse​

1.15 acts by the defendant caused the injury.​

1.16 (c) (d) This section does not affect the suspension of the statute of limitations during a​

1.17 period of disability under section 541.15.​

1.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

1.19 Except as provided in paragraph (b), this section applies to actions that were not time-barred​

1.20 before the effective date.​

1.21 (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in the case of alleged sexual abuse of​

1.22 an individual by a peace officer, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision​

1.23 1, paragraph (c), if the action would otherwise be time-barred under a previous version of​

1.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 541.073, or other time limit, an action for damages against a​
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2.1 peace officer may be commenced no later than five years following the effective date of​

2.2 this section.​

2.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 573.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

2.4 Subdivision 1. Death action. (a) When death is caused by the wrongful act or omission​

2.5 of any person or corporation, the trustee appointed as provided in subdivision 3 may maintain​

2.6 an action therefor if the decedent might have maintained an action, had the decedent lived,​

2.7 for an injury caused by the wrongful act or omission. An action to recover damages for a​

2.8 death caused by the alleged professional negligence of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital​

2.9 or sanitarium, or an employee of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium shall​

2.10 be commenced within three years of the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced​

2.11 beyond the time set forth in section 541.076. An action to recover damages for a death​

2.12 caused by an intentional act constituting murder may be commenced at any time after the​

2.13 death of the decedent. An action to recover damages for a death caused by a peace officer,​

2.14 as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), may be commenced at any time​

2.15 after the death of the decedent. Any other action under this section may be commenced​

2.16 within three years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within​

2.17 six years after the act or omission. The recovery in the action is the amount the jury deems​

2.18 fair and just in reference to the pecuniary loss resulting from the death, and shall be for the​

2.19 exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary​

2.20 loss severally suffered by the death. The court then determines the proportionate pecuniary​

2.21 loss of the persons entitled to the recovery and orders distribution accordingly. Funeral​

2.22 expenses and any demand for the support of the decedent allowed by the court having​

2.23 jurisdiction of the action, are first deducted and paid. Punitive damages may be awarded as​

2.24 provided in section 549.20.​

2.25 (b) If an action for the injury was commenced by the decedent and not finally determined​

2.26 while living, it may be continued by the trustee for recovery of damages for the exclusive​

2.27 benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally​

2.28 suffered by the death. The court on motion shall make an order allowing the continuance​

2.29 and directing pleadings to be made and issues framed as in actions begun under this section.​

2.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

2.31 Except as provided in paragraph (b), this section applies to actions that were not time-barred​

2.32 before the effective date.​

2.33 (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in the case of a death caused by a peace​

2.34 officer, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), if​
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3.1 the action would otherwise be time-barred under a previous version of Minnesota Statutes,​

3.2 section 573.02, or other time limit, an action for damages against a peace officer may be​

3.3 commenced no later than five years following the effective date of this section."​

3.4 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

3.5 Amend the title accordingly​
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