
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1670 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. LABOR AND INDUSTRY AND BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​
1.6 APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.7 (a) The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the​

1.8 agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the​

1.9 general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for​

1.10 each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations​

1.11 listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023,​

1.12 respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The​

1.13 biennium" is fiscal years 2022 and 2023.​

1.14 (b) If an appropriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2021 regular or​

1.15 special legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once.​

1.16 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.17 Available for the Year​

1.18 Ending June 30​

2023​1.19 2022​

1.20 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND​
1.21 INDUSTRY​

33,442,000​$​33,158,000​$​1.22 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.23 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​1.24 2022​

6,604,000​6,320,000​1.25 General​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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23,691,000​23,691,000​
2.1 Workers'​
2.2 Compensation​

3,147,000​3,147,000​
2.3 Workforce​
2.4 Development​

2.5 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.6 purpose are specified in the following​

2.7 subdivisions.​

6,515,000​6,515,000​2.8 Subd. 2. General Support​

2.9 Appropriations by Fund​

476,000​476,000​2.10 General​

6,039,000​6,039,000​
2.11 Workers'​
2.12 Compensation​

2.13 $476,000 each year is for system upgrades.​

2.14 This appropriation is available until June 30,​

2.15 2023. The base amount in fiscal year 2024 is​

2.16 zero. This appropriation includes funds for​

2.17 information technology project services and​

2.18 support subject to Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.19 16E.0466. Any ongoing information​

2.20 technology costs must be incorporated into​

2.21 the service level agreement and must be paid​

2.22 to the Office of MN.IT Services by the​

2.23 commissioner of labor and industry under the​

2.24 rates and mechanism specified in that​

2.25 agreement.​

7,675,000​7,391,000​2.26 Subd. 3. Labor Standards and Apprenticeship​

2.27 Appropriations by Fund​

5,928,000​5,644,000​2.28 General​

1,747,000​1,747,000​
2.29 Workforce​
2.30 Development​

2.31 (a) $2,046,000 each year is for wage theft​

2.32 prevention.​

2.33 (b) $151,000 each year is from the workforce​

2.34 development fund for prevailing wage​

2.35 enforcement.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (c) $1,271,000 each year is from the workforce​

3.2 development fund for the apprenticeship​

3.3 program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

3.4 178.​

3.5 (d) $100,000 each year is from the workforce​

3.6 development fund for labor education and​

3.7 advancement program grants under Minnesota​

3.8 Statutes, section 178.11, to expand and​

3.9 promote registered apprenticeship training for​

3.10 minorities and women.​

3.11 (e) $225,000 each year is from the workforce​

3.12 development fund for grants to the​

3.13 Construction Careers Foundation for the​

3.14 Helmets to Hard Hats Minnesota initiative.​

3.15 Grant funds must be used to recruit, retain,​

3.16 assist, and support National Guard, reserve,​

3.17 and active duty military members' and​

3.18 veterans' participation into apprenticeship​

3.19 programs registered with the Department of​

3.20 Labor and Industry and connect them with​

3.21 career training and employment in the building​

3.22 and construction industry. The recruitment,​

3.23 selection, employment, and training must be​

3.24 without discrimination due to race, color,​

3.25 creed, religion, national origin, sex, sexual​

3.26 orientation, marital status, physical or mental​

3.27 disability, receipt of public assistance, or age.​

3.28 This is a onetime appropriation.​

3.29 (f) $84,000 the first year and $34,000 the​

3.30 second year are for outreach and enforcement​

3.31 efforts related to changes to the parenting​

3.32 leave and accommodation law.​

3.33 (g) $84,000 the first year and $34,000 the​

3.34 second year are for outreach and enforcement​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 efforts related to changes to the Women's​

4.2 Economic Security Act.​

4.3 (h) $1,306,000 the first year and $1,941,000​

4.4 the second year are for earned sick and safe​

4.5 time compliance and enforcement efforts​

4.6 under Minnesota Statutes, sections 181.9445​

4.7 to 181.9448, and chapter 177. The base​

4.8 amount in fiscal years 2024 and 2025 is​

4.9 $1,631,000.​

4.10 (i) $300,000 each year is for earned sick and​

4.11 safe time grants to community organizations​

4.12 under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.50,​

4.13 subdivision 4.​

4.14 (j) $131,000 the first year and $27,000 the​

4.15 second year are for purposes of implementing​

4.16 the Emergency Rehire and Retention Law.​

4.17 The base amount in fiscal year 2024 and after​

4.18 is zero.​

4.19 (k) $344,000 the first year and $147,000 the​

4.20 second year are for the purposes of the Safe​

4.21 Workplaces for Meat and Poultry Processing​

4.22 Workers Act under Minnesota Statutes,​

4.23 sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

12,582,000​12,582,000​4.24 Subd. 4. Workers' Compensation​

4.25 (a) This appropriation is from the workers'​

4.26 compensation fund.​

4.27 (b) $700,000 each year is from the workers'​

4.28 compensation fund for the workers'​

4.29 compensation Claims Access and Management​

4.30 Platform User System (CAMPUS)​

4.31 modernization. This appropriation is available​

4.32 until June 30, 2023. The base amount in fiscal​

4.33 year 2024 is zero.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5,070,000​5,070,000​5.1 Subd. 5. Workplace Safety​

5.2 This appropriation is from the workers'​

5.3 compensation fund.​

1,600,000​1,600,000​5.4 Subd. 6. Workforce Development Initiatives​

5.5 Appropriations by Fund​

200,000​200,000​5.6 General​

1,400,000​1,400,000​
5.7 Workforce​
5.8 Development​

5.9 (a) $200,000 each year is for identification of​

5.10 competency standards under Minnesota​

5.11 Statutes, section 175.46.​

5.12 (b) $1,100,000 each year is from the​

5.13 workforce development fund for the youth​

5.14 skills training grants under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.15 section 175.46. Of this amount, $100,000 each​

5.16 year is for administration of the program.​

5.17 (c) $300,000 each year is from the workforce​

5.18 development fund for the pipeline program.​

2,283,000​$​2,283,000​$​
5.19 Sec. 3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT​
5.20 OF APPEALS​

5.21 This appropriation is from the workers'​

5.22 compensation fund.​

2,850,000​$​2,805,000​$​5.23 Sec. 4. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​

5.24 (a) $68,000 each year is for grants to area​

5.25 labor management committees. Grants may​

5.26 be awarded for a 12-month period beginning​

5.27 July 1 each year. Any unencumbered balance​

5.28 remaining at the end of the first year does not​

5.29 cancel but is available for the second year.​

5.30 (b) $560,000 each year is for purposes of the​

5.31 Public Employment Relations Board under​

5.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.​

5​Article 1 Sec. 4.​
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6.1 (c) $47,000 each year is for rulemaking,​

6.2 staffing, and other costs associated with peace​

6.3 officer grievance procedures.​

$​3,000​$​
6.4 Sec. 5. MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND​
6.5 BUDGET​

6.6 $3,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for printing costs​

6.7 associated with earned sick and safe time. This​

6.8 is a onetime appropriation.​

222,000​$​222,000​$​6.9 Sec. 6. ATTORNEY GENERAL​

6.10 $222,000 each year is for enforcement of the​

6.11 Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry​

6.12 Processing Workers Act under Minnesota​

6.13 Statutes, sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

6.14 Sec. 7. CANCELLATION; FISCAL YEAR 2021​

6.15 (a) $203,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund appropriation under Laws 2019, First​

6.16 Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 3, subdivision 2, is canceled.​

6.17 (b) $102,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund appropriation under Laws 2019, First​

6.18 Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 5 is canceled.​

6.19 ARTICLE 2​

6.20 LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY​

6.21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7905, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

6.22 Subd. 6. Occupational safety and health. (a) Certain data gathered or prepared by the​

6.23 commissioner of labor and industry as part of occupational safety and health inspections or​

6.24 reports are classified under sections 182.659, subdivision 8, 182.663, subdivision 4, and​

6.25 182.668, subdivision 2.​

6.26 (b) Certain data gathered or prepared by the commissioner of labor and industry as part​

6.27 of occupational safety and health citations are classified under section 182.66, subdivision​

6.28 4.​

6​Article 2 Section 1.​
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7.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7905, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.2 read:​

7.3 Subd. 8. Data on individuals who are minors. Disclosure of data on minors is governed​

7.4 by section 181A.112.​

7.5 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.24, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.6 read:​

7.7 Subd. 3a. Gratuities; credit cards or charges. (a) Gratuities received by an employee​

7.8 through a debit, charge, or credit card payment shall be credited to that pay period in which​

7.9 they are received by the employee.​

7.10 (b) Where a gratuity is received by an employee through a debit, charge, or credit card​

7.11 payment, the full amount of gratuity indicated in the payment must be distributed to the​

7.12 employee for the pay period in which it is received and no later than the next scheduled pay​

7.13 period.​

7.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

7.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

7.16 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

7.17 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

7.18 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275,​

7.19 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.987, or with any rule​

7.20 promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an​

7.21 employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 if the violation is repeated.​

7.22 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​

7.23 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​

7.24 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 and the order is final or the​

7.25 commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the​

7.26 employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

7.27 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

7.28 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

7.29 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

7.30 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

7.31 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15​

7.32 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice​

7.33 of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

7​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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8.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 15, 2021.​

8.2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.012, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

8.3 Subdivision 1. Apprenticeship rules. Federal regulations governing apprenticeship in​

8.4 effect on July 1, 2013 January 18, 2017, as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title​

8.5 29, part parts 29, sections 29.1 to 29.6 and 29.11, and 30 are the apprenticeship rules in this​

8.6 state, subject to amendment by this chapter or by rule under section 178.041.​

8.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.8 Subd. 2. State employees. Unclassified employees, unless otherwise excluded, are​

8.9 included within the units which include the classifications to which they are assigned for​

8.10 purposes of compensation. Supervisory employees shall only be assigned to units 12 and,​

8.11 16, and 18. The following are the appropriate units of executive branch state employees:​

8.12 (1) law enforcement unit;​

8.13 (2) craft, maintenance, and labor unit;​

8.14 (3) service unit;​

8.15 (4) health care nonprofessional unit;​

8.16 (5) health care professional unit;​

8.17 (6) clerical and office unit;​

8.18 (7) technical unit;​

8.19 (8) correctional guards unit;​

8.20 (9) state university instructional unit;​

8.21 (10) state college instructional unit;​

8.22 (11) state university administrative unit;​

8.23 (12) professional engineering unit;​

8.24 (13) health treatment unit;​

8.25 (14) general professional unit;​

8.26 (15) professional state residential instructional unit;​

8.27 (16) supervisory employees unit; and​

8.28 (17) public safety radio communications operator unit.; and​

8​Article 2 Sec. 6.​

HOUSE RESEARCH MJ/JF H1670DE3​04/01/21 11:42 am ​



9.1 (18) law enforcement supervisors unit.​

9.2 Each unit consists of the classifications or positions assigned to it in the schedule of​

9.3 state employee job classification and positions maintained by the commissioner. The​

9.4 commissioner may only make changes in the schedule in existence on the day prior to​

9.5 August 1, 1984, as required by law or as provided in subdivision 4.​

9.6 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

9.7 Subd. 3. State employee severance. Each of the following groups of employees has the​

9.8 right, as specified in this subdivision, to separate from the general professional, health​

9.9 treatment, or general supervisory units provided for in subdivision 2: attorneys, physicians,​

9.10 and professional employees of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education who are​

9.11 compensated under section 43A.18, subdivision 4, State Patrol-supervisors, enforcement​

9.12 supervisors employed by the Department of Natural Resources, and criminal apprehension​

9.13 investigative-supervisors. This right must be exercised by petition during the 60-day period​

9.14 commencing 270 days prior to the termination of a contract covering the units. If one of​

9.15 these groups of employees exercises the right to separate from the units they have no right​

9.16 to meet and negotiate, but retain the right to meet and confer with the commissioner of​

9.17 management and budget and with the appropriate appointing authority on any matter of​

9.18 concern to them. The right to separate must be exercised as follows: An employee​

9.19 organization or group of employees claiming that a majority of any one of these groups of​

9.20 employees on a statewide basis wish to separate from their units may petition the​

9.21 commissioner for an election during the petitioning period. If the petition is supported by​

9.22 a showing of at least 30 percent support for the petitioner from the employees, the​

9.23 commissioner shall hold an election to ascertain the wishes of the majority with respect to​

9.24 the issue of remaining within or severing from the units provided in subdivision 2. This​

9.25 election must be conducted within 30 days of the close of the petition period. If a majority​

9.26 of votes cast endorse severance from the unit in favor of separate meet and confer status​

9.27 for any one of these groups of employees, the commissioner shall certify that result. This​

9.28 election, where not inconsistent with other provisions of this section, is governed by section​

9.29 179A.12. If a group of employees elects to sever, the group may rejoin that unit by following​

9.30 the same procedures specified above for severance, but may only do so during the periods​

9.31 provided for severance.​

9​Article 2 Sec. 7.​
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10.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.53, is amended to read:​

10.2 181.53 CONDITIONS PRECEDENT TO EMPLOYMENT NOT REQUIRED.​

10.3 (a) No person, whether acting directly or through an agent, or as the agent or employee​

10.4 of another, shall require as a condition precedent to employment any written statement as​

10.5 to the participation of the applicant in a strike, or as to a personal record, for more than one​

10.6 year immediately preceding the date of application; nor shall any person, acting in any of​

10.7 these capacities, use or require blanks or forms of application for employment in​

10.8 contravention of this section. Nothing in this section precludes an employer from requesting​

10.9 or considering an applicant's criminal history pursuant to section 364.021 or other applicable​

10.10 law.​

10.11 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), no person or employer, whether acting directly​

10.12 or through an agent, shall seek to obtain; require consent to a request for; or use an employee​

10.13 or prospective employee's credit information, including the employee or prospective​

10.14 employee's credit score, credit history, credit account balances, payment history, savings​

10.15 or checking account balances, or savings or checking account numbers:​

10.16 (1) as a condition precedent to employment;​

10.17 (2) as a basis for hiring, compensation, or any other term, privilege, or condition of​

10.18 employment; or​

10.19 (3) as a basis for discharge or any other adverse employment action.​

10.20 (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply if:​

10.21 (1) the information sought is required by a state or federal law or regulation;​

10.22 (2) the employer or prospective employer is a financial institution or a credit union;​

10.23 (3) the employer or prospective employer has a bona fide business purpose for requesting​

10.24 the information that is substantially related to the employee or prospective employee's​

10.25 position; or​

10.26 (4) the employee or prospective employee's position:​

10.27 (i) is a managerial position that involves setting the financial direction or control of the​

10.28 employer or prospective employer;​

10.29 (ii) involves routine access to confidential financial and personal information, other than​

10.30 information customarily provided in a routine retail transaction;​

10​Article 2 Sec. 8.​
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11.1 (iii) involves regular access to cash totaling $10,000 or more of the employer, prospective​

11.2 employer, a customer, or a client;​

11.3 (iv) is a peace officer; or​

11.4 (v) requires a financial fiduciary responsibility to the employer, prospective employer,​

11.5 a customer, or a client, including the authority to issue payments, collect debts, transfer​

11.6 money, or enter into contracts.​

11.7 (d) In addition to any remedies otherwise provided by law, an employee or prospective​

11.8 employee injured by a violation of paragraph (b) may bring a civil action to recover any​

11.9 and all damages recoverable at law, together with costs and disbursements, including​

11.10 reasonable attorney fees, and may receive such injunctive and other equitable relief as​

11.11 determined by the court. If the district court determines that a violation of paragraph (b)​

11.12 occurred, the court may order any appropriate relief, including but not limited to​

11.13 reinstatement, back pay, restoration of lost service credit, if appropriate, compensatory​

11.14 damages, and the expungement of any adverse records of an employee or prospective​

11.15 employee who was the subject of the alleged acts of misconduct.​

11.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.939, is amended to read:​

11.17 181.939 NURSING MOTHERS, LACTATING EMPLOYEES, AND PREGNANCY​

11.18 ACCOMMODATIONS.​

11.19 Subdivision 1. Nursing mothers. (a) An employer must provide reasonable unpaid​

11.20 break time times each day to an employee who needs to express breast milk for her infant​

11.21 child. The break time must, if possible, times may run concurrently with any break time​

11.22 times already provided to the employee. An employer is not required to provide break time​

11.23 under this section if to do so would unduly disrupt the operations of the employer. An​

11.24 employer shall not reduce an employee's compensation for time used for the purpose of​

11.25 expressing milk.​

11.26 (b) The employer must make reasonable efforts to provide a room or other location, in​

11.27 close proximity to the work area, other than a bathroom or a toilet stall, that is shielded from​

11.28 view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public and that includes access to an​

11.29 electrical outlet, where the employee can express her milk in privacy. The employer would​

11.30 be held harmless if reasonable effort has been made.​

11.31 Subd. 2. Pregnancy accommodations. (a) An employer must provide reasonable​

11.32 accommodations to an employee for health conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth​

11.33 upon request, with the advice of a licensed health care provider or certified doula, unless​

11​Article 2 Sec. 9.​
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12.1 the employer demonstrates that the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on​

12.2 the operation of the employer's business. A pregnant employee shall not be required to​

12.3 obtain the advice of a licensed health care provider or certified doula, nor may an employer​

12.4 claim undue hardship for the following accommodations: (1) more frequent restroom, food,​

12.5 and water breaks; (2) seating; and (3) limits on lifting over 20 pounds. The employee and​

12.6 employer shall engage in an interactive process with respect to an employee's request for a​

12.7 reasonable accommodation. "Reasonable accommodation" may include but is not limited​

12.8 to temporary transfer to a less strenuous or hazardous position, seating, frequent restroom​

12.9 breaks, and limits to heavy lifting. Notwithstanding any other provision of this subdivision,​

12.10 an employer shall not be required to create a new or additional position in order to​

12.11 accommodate an employee pursuant to this subdivision and shall not be required to discharge​

12.12 an employee, transfer another employee with greater seniority, or promote an employee.​

12.13 (b) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to affect any other provision of law​

12.14 relating to sex discrimination or pregnancy or in any way diminish the coverage of pregnancy,​

12.15 childbirth, or health conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth under any other provisions​

12.16 of any other law.​

12.17 (c) An employer shall not require an employee to take a leave or accept an​

12.18 accommodation.​

12.19 Subd. 3. Employer. (c) For the purposes of this section, "employer" means a person or​

12.20 entity that employs one or more employees and includes the state and its political​

12.21 subdivisions.​

12.22 Subd. 4. No employer retribution. (d) An employer may shall not retaliate against an​

12.23 employee for asserting rights or remedies under this section.​

12.24 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.940, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

12.25 Subd. 2. Employee. "Employee" means a person who performs services for hire for an​

12.26 employer from whom a leave is requested under sections 181.940 to 181.944 for:​

12.27 (1) at least 12 months 90 days preceding the request; and​

12.28 (2) for an average number of hours per week equal to one-half the full-time equivalent​

12.29 position in the employee's job classification as defined by the employer's personnel policies​

12.30 or practices or pursuant to the provisions of a collective bargaining agreement, during the​

12.31 12-month 90-day period immediately preceding the leave.​

12.32 Employee includes all individuals employed at any site owned or operated by the​

12.33 employer but does not include an independent contractor.​
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13.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.940, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

13.2 Subd. 3. Employer. "Employer" means a person or entity that employs 21 one or more​

13.3 employees at at least one site, except that, for purposes of the school leave allowed under​

13.4 section 181.9412, employer means a person or entity that employs one or more employees​

13.5 in Minnesota. The term and includes an individual, corporation, partnership, association,​

13.6 nonprofit organization, group of persons, state, county, town, city, school district, or other​

13.7 governmental subdivision.​

13.8 Sec. 12. [181.987] USE OF SKILLED AND TRAINED CONTRACTOR​

13.9 WORKFORCES AT OIL REFINERIES.​

13.10 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

13.11 the meanings given.​

13.12 (b) "Contractor" means a vendor that enters into or seeks to enter into a contract with​

13.13 an owner or operator of an oil refinery to perform construction, alteration, demolition,​

13.14 installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling work at the site of the oil​

13.15 refinery. Contractor includes all contractors or subcontractors of any tier performing work​

13.16 as described in this paragraph at the site of the oil refinery. Contractor does not include​

13.17 employees of the owner or operator of an oil refinery.​

13.18 (c) "Registered apprenticeship program" means an apprenticeship program registered​

13.19 with the Department of Labor and Industry under chapter 178 or with the United States​

13.20 Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship or a recognized state apprenticeship agency​

13.21 under Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, parts 29 and 30.​

13.22 (d) "Skilled and trained workforce" means a workforce in which a minimum of 85 percent​

13.23 of the employees of the contractor or subcontractor of any tier working at the site of the oil​

13.24 refinery meet one of the following criteria:​

13.25 (1) are currently registered as apprentices in a registered apprenticeship program in the​

13.26 applicable trade;​

13.27 (2) have graduated from a registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade; or​

13.28 (3) have completed all of the classroom training and work hour requirements needed to​

13.29 graduate from the registered apprenticeship program their employer participates in.​

13.30 Subd. 2. Use of contractors by owner, operator; requirement. (a) An owner or operator​

13.31 of an oil refinery shall, when contracting with contractors for the performance of construction,​

13.32 alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling​
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14.1 work at the site of the oil refinery, require that the contractors performing that work, and​

14.2 any subcontractors of any tier, use a skilled and trained workforce when performing all​

14.3 work at the site of the oil refinery.​

14.4 (b) The requirement under this subdivision applies only when each contractor and​

14.5 subcontractor of any tier is performing work at the site of the oil refinery.​

14.6 Subd. 3. Penalties. The Division of Labor Standards shall receive complaints of violations​

14.7 of this section. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an owner, operator,​

14.8 contractor, or subcontractor of any tier not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000 for each​

14.9 violation of the requirements in this section. Each shift on which a violation of this section​

14.10 occurs shall be considered a separate violation. This penalty is in addition to any penalties​

14.11 provided under section 177.27, subdivision 7. In determining the amount of a civil penalty​

14.12 under this subdivision, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of the violator's business​

14.13 and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.​

14.14 Subd. 4. Civil actions. A person injured by a violation of this section may bring a civil​

14.15 action for damages against an owner or operator of an oil refinery. The court may award to​

14.16 a prevailing plaintiff under this subdivision damages, attorney fees, costs, disbursements,​

14.17 and any other appropriate relief as otherwise provided by law.​

14.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 15, 2021.​

14.19 Sec. 13. [181A.112] DATA ON INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MINORS.​

14.20 (a) When the commissioner collects, creates, receives, maintains, or disseminates the​

14.21 following data on individuals who the commissioner knows are minors, the data are​

14.22 considered private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, except​

14.23 for data classified as public data according to section 13.43:​

14.24 (1) name;​

14.25 (2) date of birth;​

14.26 (3) Social Security number;​

14.27 (4) telephone number;​

14.28 (5) e-mail address;​

14.29 (6) physical or mailing address;​

14.30 (7) location data;​

14.31 (8) online account access information; and​
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15.1 (9) other data that would identify participants who have registered for events, programs,​

15.2 or classes sponsored by the Department of Labor and Industry.​

15.3 (b) Data about minors classified under this section maintain their classification as private​

15.4 data on individuals after the individual is no longer a minor.​

15.5 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.66, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

15.6 read:​

15.7 Subd. 4. Classification of citation data. Notwithstanding section 13.39, subdivision 2,​

15.8 the data in a written citation is classified as public as soon as the commissioner has received​

15.9 confirmation that the employer has received the citation. All data in the citation is public,​

15.10 including but not limited to the employer's name; the employer's address; the address of the​

15.11 worksite; the date or dates of inspection; the date the citation was issued; the provision of​

15.12 the act, standard, rule, or order alleged to have been violated; the severity level of the citation;​

15.13 the description of the nature of the violation; the proposed abatement date; the proposed​

15.14 penalty; and any abatement guidelines.​

15.15 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

15.16 Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employer who willfully or repeatedly​

15.17 violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under​

15.18 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to​

15.19 exceed $70,000 $136,532 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is​

15.20 $5,000 $9,753.​

15.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

15.22 Subd. 2. Serious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a serious​

15.23 violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under​

15.24 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not​

15.25 to exceed $7,000 $13,653 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653,​

15.26 subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be​

15.27 assessed a fine of up to $25,000 for each violation.​

15.28 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

15.29 Subd. 3. Nonserious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a violation​

15.30 of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically​
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16.1 determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12,​

16.2 may be assessed a fine of up to $7,000 $13,653 for each violation.​

16.3 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

16.4 Subd. 4. Failure to correct a violation. Any employer who fails to correct a violation​

16.5 for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for​

16.6 its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the​

16.7 commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the​

16.8 employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed​

16.9 a fine of not more than $7,000 $13,653 for each day during which the failure or violation​

16.10 continues.​

16.11 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

16.12 Subd. 5. Posting violations. Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,​

16.13 as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision​

16.14 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to $7,000 $13,653 for each violation.​

16.15 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision​

16.16 to read:​

16.17 Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) Each year, beginning in 2022, the commissioner​

16.18 shall determine the percentage change in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI,​

16.19 Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from the month of October in the​

16.20 preceding calendar year to the month of October in the current calendar year.​

16.21 (b) The commissioner shall increase the fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, except​

16.22 for the fine for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or​

16.23 contributes to the death of an employee, by the percentage change determined by the​

16.24 commissioner under paragraph (a), if the percentage change is greater than zero. The fines​

16.25 shall be increased to the nearest one dollar.​

16.26 (c) If the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is not​

16.27 greater than zero, the commissioner shall not change any of the fines in subdivisions 1, 2,​

16.28 3, 4, and 5.​

16.29 (d) A fine increase under this subdivision takes effect on the next January 1 after the​

16.30 commissioner determines the percentage change under paragraph (a) and the increase applies​

16.31 to all fines assessed on or after the next January 1.​
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17.1 (e) No later than December 1 of each year, the commissioner shall give notice in the​

17.2 State Register of any increase to the fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.​

17.3 Sec. 21. [299F.48] AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER SYSTEMS IN EXISTING​

17.4 HIGH-RISE BUILDINGS.​

17.5 Subdivision 1. Requirements. This section applies to an existing building in which at​

17.6 least one story used for human occupancy is 75 feet or more above the lowest level of fire​

17.7 department vehicle access. An automatic sprinkler system must be installed in those portions​

17.8 of the entire existing building in which an automatic sprinkler system would be required if​

17.9 the building were constructed on the effective date of this section. The automatic sprinkler​

17.10 system must comply with standards in the State Fire Code and the State Building Code and​

17.11 must be fully operational by August 1, 2033.​

17.12 Subd. 2. Exemptions. (a) Subdivision 1 does not apply to:​

17.13 (1) a monument or war memorial that is included in the National Register of Historic​

17.14 Places or the state register of historic places;​

17.15 (2) an airport control tower or control room;​

17.16 (3) an open parking structure;​

17.17 (4) a building used for agricultural purposes;​

17.18 (5) a residential building in which at least 70 percent of the dwelling units are owner​

17.19 occupied;​

17.20 (6) elevator equipment rooms and elevator shafts;​

17.21 (7) electric generation and distribution facilities operated by a public utility, a municipal​

17.22 utility, or a cooperative electric association;​

17.23 (8) areas utilized for surgery, surgical recovery, emergency backup power systems, and​

17.24 electrical closets within facilities licensed by the Department of Health; or​

17.25 (9) a manufacturing facility that is required to meet the fire safety standards adopted by​

17.26 the Occupational Safety and Health Administration in Code of Federal Regulations, title​

17.27 29, part 1910, subpart L.​

17.28 (b) Subdivision 1 does not apply to an area used exclusively for telecommunications​

17.29 equipment and associated generator and power equipment and under exclusive control of​

17.30 a telecommunications provider if:​
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18.1 (1) the area is separated from the remainder of the building by construction equivalent​

18.2 to a one-hour fire resistant wall and two-hour floor and ceiling assemblies; and​

18.3 (2) the area has an automatic fire detection and alarm system that complies with standards​

18.4 in the State Fire Code and State Building Code.​

18.5 Subd. 3. Reporting. By August 1, 2023, the owner of a building subject to subdivision​

18.6 1 shall submit to the state fire marshal a letter stating the owner's intent to comply with this​

18.7 section and a plan for achieving compliance by the deadline in subdivision 1.​

18.8 Subd. 4. Extensions. The commissioner, or the state fire marshal as the commissioner's​

18.9 designee, may grant extensions to the deadline for reporting under subdivision 3 or the​

18.10 deadline for compliance under subdivision 1. Any extension must observe the spirit and​

18.11 intent of this section and be tailored to ensure public welfare and safety. To be eligible for​

18.12 an extension, the building owner must apply to the commissioner and demonstrate a genuine​

18.13 inability to comply within the time prescribed despite appropriate effort to do so.​

18.14 Subd. 5. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section.​

18.15 Subd. 6. Working group. The commissioner may appoint a working group to advise​

18.16 the commissioner on the implementation of this section, including the adoption of rules,​

18.17 and to advise the commissioner on applications for extensions. If appointed, a working​

18.18 group must include a representative from: the state fire marshal's office, the Department of​

18.19 Administration, the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association, a chapter of the Minnesota​

18.20 Building Owners and Managers Association, the Minneapolis Public Housing Authority,​

18.21 the Minnesota Multi Housing Association, the Minnesota Hotel and Motel Association, the​

18.22 Fire Marshals Association of Minnesota, professional engineers or licensed architects, a​

18.23 municipal water authority of a city of the first class, a national association of fire sprinkler​

18.24 contractors, and a resident of a building subject to subdivision 1.​

18.25 Subd. 7. Effect on other laws. This section does not supersede the State Building Code​

18.26 or State Fire Code.​

18.27 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

18.28 Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The Construction Codes Advisory Council consists of​

18.29 the following members:​

18.30 (1) the commissioner or the commissioner's designee representing the department's​

18.31 Construction Codes and Licensing Division;​
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19.1 (2) the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner of public safety's designee​

19.2 representing the Department of Public Safety's State Fire Marshal Division;​

19.3 (3) one member, appointed by the commissioner, engaged in each of the following​

19.4 occupations or industries:​

19.5 (i) certified building officials;​

19.6 (ii) fire chiefs or fire marshals;​

19.7 (iii) licensed architects;​

19.8 (iv) licensed professional engineers;​

19.9 (v) commercial building owners and managers;​

19.10 (vi) the licensed residential building industry;​

19.11 (vii) the commercial building industry;​

19.12 (viii) the heating and ventilation industry;​

19.13 (ix) a member of the Plumbing Board;​

19.14 (x) a member of the Board of Electricity;​

19.15 (xi) a member of the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems;​

19.16 (xii) the boiler industry;​

19.17 (xiii) the manufactured housing industry;​

19.18 (xiv) public utility suppliers;​

19.19 (xv) the Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council; and​

19.20 (xvi) local units of government.;​

19.21 (xvii) the energy conservation industry; and​

19.22 (xviii) a building accessibility advocate.​

19.23 (b) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee representing the department's​

19.24 Construction Codes and Licensing Division shall serve as chair of the advisory council. For​

19.25 members who are not state officials or employees, compensation and removal of members​

19.26 of the advisory council are governed by section 15.059. The terms of the members of the​

19.27 advisory council shall be four years. The terms of eight of the appointed members shall be​

19.28 coterminous with the governor and the terms of the remaining nine appointed members​

19.29 shall end on the first Monday in January one year after the terms of the other appointed​
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20.1 members expire. An appointed member may be reappointed. Each council member shall​

20.2 appoint an alternate to serve in their absence.​

20.3 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.092, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

20.4 Subd. 7. License fees and license renewal fees. (a) The license fee for each license is​

20.5 the base license fee plus any applicable board fee, continuing education fee, and contractor​

20.6 recovery fund fee and additional assessment, as set forth in this subdivision.​

20.7 (b) For purposes of this section, "license duration" means the number of years for which​

20.8 the license is issued except that if the initial license is not issued for a whole number of​

20.9 years, the license duration shall be rounded up to the next whole number.​

20.10 (c) If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a​

20.11 continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing​

20.12 education fee for all license classifications shall be $5.​

20.13 (c) (d) The base license fee shall depend on whether the license is classified as an entry​

20.14 level, master, journeyworker, or business license, and on the license duration. The base​

20.15 license fee shall be:​

License Duration​20.16 License Classification​

2 years​20.17 1 year​

$20​$10​20.18 Entry level​

$40​$20​20.19 Journeyworker​

$80​$40​20.20 Master​

$180​20.21 Business​

20.22 (d) If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a​

20.23 continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing​

20.24 education fee for all license classifications shall be: $10 if the renewal license duration is​

20.25 one year; and $20 if the renewal license duration is two years.​

20.26 (e) If the license is issued under sections 326B.31 to 326B.59 or 326B.90 to 326B.925,​

20.27 then a board fee must be included in the license fee and the renewal license fee. The board​

20.28 fee for all license classifications shall be: $4 if the license duration is one year; and $8 if​

20.29 the license duration is two years.​

20.30 (f) If the application is for the renewal of a license issued under sections 326B.802 to​

20.31 326B.885, then the contractor recovery fund fee required under section 326B.89, subdivision​

20.32 3, and any additional assessment required under section 326B.89, subdivision 16, must be​

20.33 included in the license renewal fee.​
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21.1 (g) Notwithstanding the fee amounts described in paragraphs (c) (d) to (f), for the period​

21.2 July 1, 2017 October 1, 2021, through September 30, 2021 2023, the following fees apply:​

License Duration​21.3 License Classification​

2 years​21.4 1 year​

$20​$10​21.5 Entry level​

$30​$15​21.6 Journeyworker​

$60​$30​21.7 Master​

$120​21.8 Business​

21.9 If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a continuing​

21.10 education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing education fee for​

21.11 all license classifications shall be $5.​

21.12 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.0981, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

21.13 Subd. 4. Internet continuing education. (a) The design and delivery of an Internet​

21.14 continuing education course must be approved by the International Distance Education​

21.15 Certification Center (IDECC) or the International Association for Continuing Education​

21.16 and Training (IACET) before the course is submitted for the commissioner's approval. The​

21.17 approval must accompany the course submitted.​

21.18 (b) Paragraphs (a) and (c) do not apply to approval of an Internet continuing education​

21.19 course for manufactured home installers. An Internet continuing education course for​

21.20 manufactured home installers must be approved by the United States Department of Housing​

21.21 and Urban Development or by the commissioner of labor and industry. The approval must​

21.22 accompany the course completion certificate issued to each student by the course sponsor.​

21.23 (c) An Internet continuing education course must:​

21.24 (1) specify the minimum computer system requirements;​

21.25 (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's​

21.26 name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;​

21.27 (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;​

21.28 (4) include a high level of interactivity;​

21.29 (5) include graphics that reinforce the content;​

21.30 (6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor or course sponsor within​

21.31 a reasonable amount of time;​
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22.1 (7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount​

22.2 of time;​

22.3 (8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to​

22.4 any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not​

22.5 constitute consent;​

22.6 (9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal downtime for​

22.7 updating and administration, except that this provision does not apply to live courses taught​

22.8 by an actual instructor and delivered over the Internet;​

22.9 (10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner,​

22.10 excluding minimal downtime for updating and administration;​

22.11 (11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;​

22.12 (12) inform the student and the commissioner how long after its purchase a course will​

22.13 be accessible;​

22.14 (13) inform the student that license education credit will not be awarded for taking the​

22.15 course after it loses its status as an approved course;​

22.16 (14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;​

22.17 (15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;​

22.18 (16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student​

22.19 can proceed to the next unit or chapter;​

22.20 (17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;​

22.21 (18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;​

22.22 (19) include a final examination in which the student must correctly answer 70 percent​

22.23 of the questions;​

22.24 (20) allow the student to go back and review any unit at any time, except during the final​

22.25 examination;​

22.26 (21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation​

22.27 must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery​

22.28 method;​

22.29 (22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed​

22.30 and the provider has verified the completion. Electronic certificates are sufficient and shall​

22.31 include the name of the provider, date and location of the course, educational program​
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23.1 identification that was provided by the department, hours of instruction or continuing​

23.2 education hours, and licensee's or attendee's name and license, certification, or registration​

23.3 number or the last four digits of the licensee's or attendee's Social Security number; and​

23.4 (23) allow the commissioner the ability to electronically review the class to determine​

23.5 if credit can be approved.​

23.6 (c) (d) The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper​

23.7 examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the student took the examination.​

23.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

23.9 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

23.10 Subdivision 1. Adoption of code. (a) Subject to paragraphs (c) and (d) and sections​

23.11 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall by rule and in consultation with the​

23.12 Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction,​

23.13 reconstruction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials,​

23.14 design and construction, fire protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and​

23.15 construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate control. The​

23.16 code must also include duties and responsibilities for code administration, including​

23.17 procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification.​

23.18 The code must conform insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted​

23.19 and in use throughout the United States, including a code for building conservation. In the​

23.20 preparation of the code, consideration must be given to the existing statewide specialty​

23.21 codes presently in use in the state. Model codes with necessary modifications and statewide​

23.22 specialty codes may be adopted by reference. The code must be based on the application​

23.23 of scientific principles, approved tests, and professional judgment. To the extent possible,​

23.24 the code must be adopted in terms of desired results instead of the means of achieving those​

23.25 results, avoiding wherever possible the incorporation of specifications of particular methods​

23.26 or materials. To that end the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials.​

23.27 Except as otherwise provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall​

23.28 administer and enforce the provisions of those sections.​

23.29 (b) The commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to​

23.30 similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building​

23.31 systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194.​

23.32 Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs​

23.33 commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service.​
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24.1 (c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years​

24.2 thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model​

24.3 codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The​

24.4 commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the​

24.5 new building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where​

24.6 necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency​

24.7 or the use of a building.​

24.8 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model​

24.9 residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with​

24.10 federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative​

24.11 determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. Beginning in​

24.12 2022, the commissioner shall act on the new model commercial energy code by adopting​

24.13 each new published edition of ASHRAE 90.1 or a more efficient standard, and amending​

24.14 it as necessary to achieve a minimum of eight percent energy efficiency with each edition,​

24.15 as measured against energy consumption by an average building in each applicable building​

24.16 sector in 2003. These amendments must achieve a net zero energy standard for new​

24.17 commercial buildings by 2036 and thereafter. The commissioner may adopt amendments​

24.18 prior to adoption of the new energy codes, as amended for use in Minnesota, to advance​

24.19 construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health,​

24.20 safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or use of a building.​

24.21 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

24.22 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

24.23 the meanings given them.​

24.24 (b) "Gross annual receipts" means the total amount derived from residential contracting​

24.25 or residential remodeling activities, regardless of where the activities are performed, and​

24.26 must not be reduced by costs of goods sold, expenses, losses, or any other amount.​

24.27 (c) "Licensee" means a person licensed as a residential contractor or residential remodeler.​

24.28 (d) "Residential real estate" means a new or existing building constructed for habitation​

24.29 by one to four families, and includes detached garages intended for storage of vehicles​

24.30 associated with the residential real estate.​

24.31 (e) "Fund" means the contractor recovery fund.​

24.32 (f) "Owner" when used in connection with real property, means a person who has any​

24.33 legal or equitable interest in real property and includes a condominium or townhome​
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25.1 association that owns common property located in a condominium building or townhome​

25.2 building or an associated detached garage. Owner does not include any real estate developer​

25.3 or any owner using, or intending to use, the property for a business purpose and not as​

25.4 owner-occupied residential real estate.​

25.5 (g) "Cycle One" means the time period between July 1 and December 31.​

25.6 (h) "Cycle Two" means the time period between January 1 and June 30.​

25.7 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

25.8 Subd. 5. Payment limitations. The commissioner shall not pay compensation from the​

25.9 fund to an owner or a lessee in an amount greater than $75,000 per licensee. The​

25.10 commissioner shall not pay compensation from the fund to owners and lessees in an amount​

25.11 that totals more than $300,000 $800,000 per licensee. The commissioner shall only pay​

25.12 compensation from the fund for a final judgment that is based on a contract directly between​

25.13 the licensee and the homeowner or lessee that was entered into prior to the cause of action​

25.14 and that requires licensure as a residential building contractor or residential remodeler.​

25.15 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

25.16 Subd. 9. Satisfaction of applications for compensation. The commissioner shall pay​

25.17 compensation from the fund to an owner or a lessee pursuant to the terms of an agreement​

25.18 that has been entered into under subdivision 7, clause (1), or pursuant to a final order that​

25.19 has been issued under subdivision 7, clause (2), or subdivision 8 by December 1 of the fiscal​

25.20 year following the fiscal year during which the agreement was entered into or during which​

25.21 the order became final, subject to the limitations of this section. At the end of each fiscal​

25.22 year the commissioner shall calculate the amount of compensation to be paid from the fund​

25.23 pursuant to agreements that have been entered into under subdivision 7, clause (1), and final​

25.24 orders that have been issued under subdivision 7, clause (2), or subdivision 8. If the calculated​

25.25 amount exceeds the amount available for payment, then the commissioner shall allocate the​

25.26 amount available among the owners and the lessees in the ratio that the amount agreed to​

25.27 or ordered to be paid to each owner or lessee bears to the amount calculated. The​

25.28 commissioner shall mail notice of the allocation to all owners and lessees not less than 45​

25.29 days following the end of the fiscal year. 31 for applications submitted by July 1 or June​

25.30 30 for applications submitted by January 1 of the fiscal year. The commissioner shall not​

25.31 pay compensation to owners or lessees that totals more than $400,000 per licensee during​

25.32 Cycle One of a fiscal year nor shall the commissioner pay out during Cycle One if the payout​

25.33 will result in the exhaustion of a licensee's fund. If compensation paid to owners or lessees​
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26.1 in Cycle One would total more than $400,000 or would result in exhaustion of a licensee's​

26.2 fund in Cycle One, the commissioner shall not make a final determination of compensation​

26.3 for claims against the licensee until the completion of Cycle Two. If the claims against a​

26.4 licensee for the fiscal year result in the exhaustion of a licensee's fund or the fund as a whole,​

26.5 the commissioner must prorate the amount available among the owners and lessees based​

26.6 on the amount agreed to or ordered to be paid to each owner or lessee. The commissioner​

26.7 shall mail notice of the proration to all owners and lessees no later than March 31 of the​

26.8 current fiscal year. Any compensation paid by the commissioner in accordance with this​

26.9 subdivision shall be deemed to satisfy and extinguish any right to compensation from the​

26.10 fund based upon the verified application of the owner or lessee.​

26.11 Sec. 29. LAW ENFORCEMENT SUPERVISORS TRANSITION.​

26.12 (a) Until a negotiated collective bargaining agreement with an exclusive representative​

26.13 of the law enforcement supervisors unit established under Minnesota Statutes, section​

26.14 179A.10, subdivision 2, clause (18), is approved under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.855:​

26.15 (1) state patrol supervisors and enforcement supervisors employed by the Department​

26.16 of Natural Resources shall remain in the commissioner's plan;​

26.17 (2) criminal apprehension investigative supervisors and other law enforcement supervisor​

26.18 positions currently in the general supervisory employees unit shall remain in the general​

26.19 supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association; and​

26.20 (3) employees in positions to be included in the law enforcement supervisors unit shall​

26.21 be authorized to participate in certification elections for the law enforcement supervisors​

26.22 unit and any negotiation and collective bargaining activities of the law enforcement​

26.23 supervisors unit.​

26.24 (b) In assigning positions included in the law enforcement supervisors unit, employees​

26.25 in positions under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall have the right to remain in the general​

26.26 supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association. If a group​

26.27 of employees exercises this right, the appropriate unit for such employees shall be the general​

26.28 supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association, and the​

26.29 commissioner shall assign them to such unit.​

26.30 Sec. 30. REPEALER.​

26.31 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9414, is repealed.​

26.32 (b) Minnesota Rules, part 5200.0080, subpart 7, is repealed effective August 1, 2021.​

26​Article 2 Sec. 30.​
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27.1 ARTICLE 3​

27.2 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME​

27.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.942, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.4 Subdivision 1. Comparable position. (a) An employee returning from a leave of absence​

27.5 under section 181.941 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position​

27.6 or in a position of comparable duties, number of hours, and pay. An employee returning​

27.7 from a leave of absence longer than one month must notify a supervisor at least two weeks​

27.8 prior to return from leave. An employee returning from a leave under section 181.9412 or​

27.9 181.9413 sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's​

27.10 former position.​

27.11 (b) If, during a leave under sections 181.940 to 181.944, the employer experiences a​

27.12 layoff and the employee would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave,​

27.13 pursuant to the good faith operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a​

27.14 system under a collective bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement​

27.15 in the former or comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights​

27.16 under the layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining​

27.17 agreement, as if the employee had not taken the leave.​

27.18 Sec. 2. [181.9445] DEFINITIONS.​

27.19 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of section 177.50 and sections 181.9445​

27.20 to 181.9447, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.​

27.21 Subd. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry​

27.22 or authorized designee or representative.​

27.23 Subd. 3. Domestic abuse. "Domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01.​

27.24 Subd. 4. Earned sick and safe time. "Earned sick and safe time" means leave, including​

27.25 paid time off and other paid leave systems, that is paid at the same hourly rate as an employee​

27.26 earns from employment that may be used for the same purposes and under the same​

27.27 conditions as provided under section 181.9447.​

27.28 Subd. 5. Employee. "Employee" means any person who is employed by an employer,​

27.29 including temporary and part-time employees, who performs work for at least 80 hours in​

27.30 a year for that employer in Minnesota. Employee does not include:​

27.31 (1) an independent contractor; or​
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28.1 (2) an individual employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew member who​

28.2 is subject to United States Code, title 45, sections 181 to 188, and who is provided with​

28.3 paid leave equal to or exceeding the amounts in section 181.9446.​

28.4 Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means a person who has one or more employees.​

28.5 Employer includes an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a business​

28.6 trust, a nonprofit organization, a group of persons, a state, county, town, city, school district,​

28.7 or other governmental subdivision. In the event that a temporary employee is supplied by​

28.8 a staffing agency, absent a contractual agreement stating otherwise, that individual shall be​

28.9 an employee of the staffing agency for all purposes of section 177.50 and sections 181.9445​

28.10 to 181.9448.​

28.11 Subd. 7. Family member. "Family member" means:​

28.12 (1) an employee's:​

28.13 (i) child, foster child, adult child, legal ward, or child for whom the employee is legal​

28.14 guardian;​

28.15 (ii) spouse or registered domestic partner;​

28.16 (iii) sibling, stepsibling, or foster sibling;​

28.17 (iv) parent or stepparent;​

28.18 (v) grandchild, foster grandchild, or stepgrandchild; or​

28.19 (vi) grandparent or stepgrandparent;​

28.20 (2) any of the family members listed in clause (1) of a spouse or registered domestic​

28.21 partner;​

28.22 (3) any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee​

28.23 is the equivalent of a family relationship; and​

28.24 (4) up to one individual annually designated by the employee.​

28.25 Subd. 8. Health care professional. "Health care professional" means any person licensed​

28.26 under federal or state law to provide medical or emergency services, including doctors,​

28.27 physician assistants, nurses, and emergency room personnel.​

28.28 Subd. 9. Prevailing wage rate. "Prevailing wage rate" has the meaning given in section​

28.29 177.42 and as calculated by the Department of Labor and Industry.​

28.30 Subd. 10. Retaliatory personnel action. "Retaliatory personnel action" means:​

28​Article 3 Sec. 2.​
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29.1 (1) any form of intimidation, threat, reprisal, harassment, discrimination, or adverse​

29.2 employment action, including discipline, discharge, suspension, transfer, or reassignment​

29.3 to a lesser position in terms of job classification, job security, or other condition of​

29.4 employment; reduction in pay or hours or denial of additional hours; the accumulation of​

29.5 points under an attendance point system; informing another employer that the person has​

29.6 engaged in activities protected by this chapter; or reporting or threatening to report the actual​

29.7 or suspected citizenship or immigration status of an employee, former employee, or family​

29.8 member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency; and​

29.9 (2) interference with or punishment for participating in any manner in an investigation,​

29.10 proceeding, or hearing under this chapter.​

29.11 Subd. 11. Sexual assault. "Sexual assault" means an act that constitutes a violation​

29.12 under sections 609.342 to 609.3453 or 609.352.​

29.13 Subd. 12. Stalking. "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.​

29.14 Subd. 13. Year. "Year" means a regular and consecutive 12-month period, as determined​

29.15 by an employer and clearly communicated to each employee of that employer.​

29.16 Sec. 3. [181.9446] ACCRUAL OF EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.​

29.17 (a) An employee accrues a minimum of one hour of earned sick and safe time for every​

29.18 30 hours worked up to a maximum of 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year.​

29.19 Employees may not accrue more than 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year unless​

29.20 the employer agrees to a higher amount.​

29.21 (b) Employers must permit an employee to carry over accrued but unused sick and safe​

29.22 time into the following year. The total amount of accrued but unused earned sick and safe​

29.23 time for an employee must not exceed 80 hours at any time, unless an employer agrees to​

29.24 a higher amount.​

29.25 (c) Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under United States Code,​

29.26 title 29, section 213(a)(1), as amended through the effective date of this section, are deemed​

29.27 to work 40 hours in each workweek for purposes of accruing earned sick and safe time,​

29.28 except that an employee whose normal workweek is less than 40 hours will accrue earned​

29.29 sick and safe time based on the normal workweek.​

29.30 (d) Earned sick and safe time under this section begins to accrue at the commencement​

29.31 of employment of the employee.​
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30.1 (e) Employees may use accrued earned sick and safe time beginning 90 calendar days​

30.2 after the day their employment commenced. After 90 days from the day employment​

30.3 commenced, employees may use earned sick and safe time as it is accrued. The​

30.4 90-calendar-day period under this paragraph includes both days worked and days not worked.​

30.5 Sec. 4. [181.9447] USE OF EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.​

30.6 Subdivision 1. Eligible use. An employee may use accrued earned sick and safe time​

30.7 for:​

30.8 (1) an employee's:​

30.9 (i) mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

30.10 (ii) need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury,​

30.11 or health condition; or​

30.12 (iii) need for preventive medical or health care;​

30.13 (2) care of a family member:​

30.14 (i) with a mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

30.15 (ii) who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness,​

30.16 injury, or other health condition; or​

30.17 (iii) who needs preventive medical or health care;​

30.18 (3) absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or​

30.19 employee's family member, provided the absence is to:​

30.20 (i) seek medical attention related to physical or psychological injury or disability caused​

30.21 by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​

30.22 (ii) obtain services from a victim services organization;​

30.23 (iii) obtain psychological or other counseling;​

30.24 (iv) seek relocation due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or​

30.25 (v) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any​

30.26 civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or resulting from domestic abuse, sexual assault,​

30.27 or stalking;​

30.28 (4) closure of the employee's place of business due to weather or other public emergency​

30.29 or an employee's need to care for a family member whose school or place of care has been​

30.30 closed due to weather or other public emergency; and​
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31.1 (5) when it has been determined by the health authorities having jurisdiction or by a​

31.2 health care professional that the presence of the employee or family member of the employee​

31.3 in the community would jeopardize the health of others because of the exposure of the​

31.4 employee or family member of the employee to a communicable disease, whether or not​

31.5 the employee or family member has actually contracted the communicable disease.​

31.6 Subd. 2. Notice. An employer may require notice of the need for use of earned sick and​

31.7 safe time as provided in this paragraph. If the need for use is foreseeable, an employer may​

31.8 require advance notice of the intention to use earned sick and safe time but must not require​

31.9 more than seven days' advance notice. If the need is unforeseeable, an employer may require​

31.10 an employee to give notice of the need for earned sick and safe time as soon as practicable.​

31.11 Subd. 3. Documentation. When an employee uses earned sick and safe time for more​

31.12 than three consecutive days, an employer may require reasonable documentation that the​

31.13 earned sick and safe time is covered by subdivision 1. For earned sick and safe time under​

31.14 subdivision 1, clauses (1) and (2), reasonable documentation may include a signed statement​

31.15 by a health care professional indicating the need for use of earned sick and safe time. For​

31.16 earned sick and safe time under subdivision 1, clause (3), an employer must accept a court​

31.17 record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victims services organization,​

31.18 an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor as reasonable documentation. An​

31.19 employer must not require disclosure of details relating to domestic abuse, sexual assault,​

31.20 or stalking or the details of an employee's or an employee's family member's medical​

31.21 condition as related to an employee's request to use earned sick and safe time under this​

31.22 section.​

31.23 Subd. 4. Replacement worker. An employer may not require, as a condition of an​

31.24 employee using earned sick and safe time, that the employee seek or find a replacement​

31.25 worker to cover the hours the employee uses as earned sick and safe time.​

31.26 Subd. 5. Increment of time used. Earned sick and safe time may be used in the smallest​

31.27 increment of time tracked by the employer's payroll system, provided such increment is not​

31.28 more than four hours.​

31.29 Subd. 6. Retaliation prohibited. An employer shall not take retaliatory personnel action​

31.30 against an employee because the employee has requested earned sick and safe time, used​

31.31 earned sick and safe time, requested a statement of accrued sick and safe time, or made a​

31.32 complaint or filed an action to enforce a right to earned sick and safe time under this section.​

31.33 Subd. 7. Reinstatement to comparable position after leave. An employee returning​

31.34 from a leave under this section is entitled to return to employment in a comparable position.​
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32.1 If, during a leave under this section, the employer experiences a layoff and the employee​

32.2 would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave, pursuant to the good faith​

32.3 operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective​

32.4 bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement in the former or​

32.5 comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights under the layoff​

32.6 and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining agreement, as if the​

32.7 employee had not taken the leave.​

32.8 Subd. 8. Pay and benefits after leave. An employee returning from a leave under this​

32.9 section is entitled to return to employment at the same rate of pay the employee had been​

32.10 receiving when the leave commenced, plus any automatic adjustments in the employee's​

32.11 pay scale that occurred during leave period. The employee returning from a leave is entitled​

32.12 to retain all accrued preleave benefits of employment and seniority as if there had been no​

32.13 interruption in service, provided that nothing under this section prevents the accrual of​

32.14 benefits or seniority during the leave pursuant to a collective bargaining or other agreement​

32.15 between the employer and employees.​

32.16 Subd. 9. Part-time return from leave. An employee, by agreement with the employer,​

32.17 may return to work part time during the leave period without forfeiting the right to return​

32.18 to employment at the end of the leave, as provided under this section.​

32.19 Subd. 10. Notice and posting by employer. (a) Employers must give notice to all​

32.20 employees that they are entitled to earned sick and safe time, including the amount of earned​

32.21 sick and safe time, the accrual year for the employee, and the terms of its use under this​

32.22 section; that retaliation against employees who request or use earned sick and safe time is​

32.23 prohibited; and that each employee has the right to file a complaint or bring a civil action​

32.24 if earned sick and safe time is denied by the employer or the employee is retaliated against​

32.25 for requesting or using earned sick and safe time.​

32.26 (b) Employers must supply employees with a notice in English and other appropriate​

32.27 languages that contains the information required in paragraph (a) at commencement of​

32.28 employment or the effective date of this section, whichever is later.​

32.29 (c) The means used by the employer must be at least as effective as the following options​

32.30 for providing notice:​

32.31 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each location where employees perform work and​

32.32 where the notice must be readily observed and easily reviewed by all employees performing​

32.33 work; or​

32.34 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to employees.​
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33.1 The notice must contain all information required under paragraph (a). The commissioner​

33.2 shall create and make available to employers a poster and a model notice that contains the​

33.3 information required under paragraph (a) for their use in complying with this section.​

33.4 (d) An employer that provides an employee handbook to its employees must include in​

33.5 the handbook notice of employee rights and remedies under this section.​

33.6 Subd. 11. Required statement to employee. (a) Upon request of the employee, the​

33.7 employer must provide, in writing or electronically, current information stating the​

33.8 employee's amount of:​

33.9 (1) earned sick and safe time available to the employee; and​

33.10 (2) used earned sick and safe time.​

33.11 (b) Employers may choose a reasonable system for providing the information in paragraph​

33.12 (a), including but not limited to listing information on each pay stub or developing an online​

33.13 system where employees can access their own information.​

33.14 Subd. 12. Employer records. (a) Employers shall retain accurate records documenting​

33.15 hours worked by employees and earned sick and safe time taken and comply with all​

33.16 requirements under section 177.30.​

33.17 (b) An employer must allow an employee to inspect records required by this section and​

33.18 relating to that employee at a reasonable time and place.​

33.19 Subd. 13. Confidentiality and nondisclosure. (a) If, in conjunction with this section,​

33.20 an employer possesses:​

33.21 (1) health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's family​

33.22 member;​

33.23 (2) information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​

33.24 (3) information that the employee has requested or obtained leave under this section; or​

33.25 (4) any written or oral statement, documentation, record, or corroborating evidence​

33.26 provided by the employee or an employee's family member, the employer must treat such​

33.27 information as confidential.​

33.28 Information given by an employee may only be disclosed by an employer if the disclosure​

33.29 is requested or consented to by the employee, when ordered by a court or administrative​

33.30 agency, or when otherwise required by federal or state law.​
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34.1 (b) Records and documents relating to medical certifications, recertifications, or medical​

34.2 histories of employees or family members of employees created for purposes of section​

34.3 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 must be maintained as confidential medical records​

34.4 separate from the usual personnel files. At the request of the employee, the employer must​

34.5 destroy or return the records required by sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 that are older than​

34.6 three years prior to the current calendar year.​

34.7 (c) Employers may not discriminate against any employee based on records created for​

34.8 the purposes of section 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448.​

34.9 Sec. 5. [181.9448] EFFECT ON OTHER LAW OR POLICY.​

34.10 Subdivision 1. No effect on more generous sick and safe time policies. (a) Nothing​

34.11 in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed to discourage employers from adopting​

34.12 or retaining earned sick and safe time policies that meet or exceed, and do not otherwise​

34.13 conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections 181.9445 to​

34.14 181.9447.​

34.15 (b) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9447 shall be construed to limit the right of​

34.16 parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree with respect to earned sick​

34.17 and safe time policies or to diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with any​

34.18 contract, collective bargaining agreement, or any employment benefit program or plan that​

34.19 meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and​

34.20 requirements provided in this section.​

34.21 (c) Employers who provide earned sick and safe time to their employees under a paid​

34.22 time off policy or other paid leave policy that meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise​

34.23 conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections 181.9445 to​

34.24 181.9448 are not required to provide additional earned sick and safe time.​

34.25 (d) An employer may opt to satisfy the requirements of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448​

34.26 for construction industry employees by:​

34.27 (1) paying at least the prevailing wage rate as defined by section 177.42 and as calculated​

34.28 by the Department of Labor and Industry; or​

34.29 (2) paying at least the required rate established in a registered apprenticeship agreement​

34.30 for apprentices registered with the Department of Labor and Industry.​

34.31 An employer electing this option is deemed to be in compliance with sections 181.9445 to​

34.32 181.9448 for construction industry employees who receive either at least the prevailing​
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35.1 wage rate or the rate required in the applicable apprenticeship agreement regardless of​

35.2 whether the employees are working on private or public projects.​

35.3 (e) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from establishing a policy​

35.4 whereby employees may donate unused accrued sick and safe time to another employee.​

35.5 (f) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from advancing sick and​

35.6 safe time to an employee before accrual by the employee.​

35.7 Subd. 2. Termination; separation; transfer. Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not​

35.8 require financial or other reimbursement to an employee from an employer upon the​

35.9 employee's termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment for​

35.10 accrued earned sick and safe time that has not been used. If an employee is transferred to​

35.11 a separate division, entity, or location, but remains employed by the same employer, the​

35.12 employee is entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued at the prior division, entity, or​

35.13 location and is entitled to use all earned sick and safe time as provided in sections 181.9445​

35.14 to 181.9448. When there is a separation from employment and the employee is rehired​

35.15 within 180 days of separation by the same employer, previously accrued earned sick and​

35.16 safe time that had not been used must be reinstated. An employee is entitled to use accrued​

35.17 earned sick and safe time and accrue additional earned sick and safe time at the​

35.18 commencement of reemployment.​

35.19 Subd. 3. Employer succession. (a) When a different employer succeeds or takes the​

35.20 place of an existing employer, all employees of the original employer who remain employed​

35.21 by the successor employer are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used​

35.22 when employed by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe​

35.23 time previously accrued but not used.​

35.24 (b) If, at the time of transfer of the business, employees are terminated by the original​

35.25 employer and hired within 30 days by the successor employer following the transfer, those​

35.26 employees are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used when employed​

35.27 by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe time previously​

35.28 accrued but not used.​

35.29 Sec. 6. REPEALER.​

35.30 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9413, is repealed.​

35.31 Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

35.32 This article is effective 180 days following final enactment.​
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36.1 ARTICLE 4​

36.2 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT​

36.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

36.4 Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the employer​

36.5 of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified​

36.6 copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which the commissioner deems​

36.7 necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct​

36.8 statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employer, containing information​

36.9 relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the​

36.10 employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems​

36.11 necessary or appropriate.​

36.12 The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail delivery​

36.13 or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employer,​

36.14 as authorized by the employer in writing.​

36.15 The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 $10,000 for each failure to submit​

36.16 or deliver records as required by this section, and up to $5,000 for each repeated failure.​

36.17 This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1.​

36.18 In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of​

36.19 such penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be​

36.20 considered.​

36.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

36.22 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

36.23 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

36.24 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275,​

36.25 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.9445 to 181.9448, or​

36.26 with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order​

36.27 requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated.​

36.28 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​

36.29 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​

36.30 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and​

36.31 the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay​

36.32 back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve​

36.33 the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by​
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37.1 certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the​

37.2 order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15​

37.3 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be​

37.4 held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being​

37.5 served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the​

37.6 commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

37.7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

37.8 Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have​

37.9 violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28, and​

37.10 the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to​

37.11 cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such affirmative steps​

37.12 that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of the section or rule​

37.13 violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved parties back​

37.14 pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee​

37.15 by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer​

37.16 who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or​

37.17 sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000  $10,000​

37.18 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under​

37.19 this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business​

37.20 and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order​

37.21 the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate​

37.22 litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested​

37.23 case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial hardship on the​

37.24 employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship, then the​

37.25 commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that will not​

37.26 cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services​

37.27 rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department,​

37.28 administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of​

37.29 transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's​

37.30 order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate​

37.31 provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish​

37.32 escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.​

37.33 Sec. 4. [177.50] EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT.​

37.34 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section 181.9445 apply to this section.​
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38.1 Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the​

38.2 purposes of this section and sections 181.9445 to 181.9448.​

38.3 Subd. 3. Individual remedies. In addition to any other remedies provided by law, a​

38.4 person injured by a violation of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 may bring a civil action to​

38.5 recover general and special damages, along with costs, fees, and reasonable attorney fees,​

38.6 and may receive injunctive and other equitable relief as determined by a court. An action​

38.7 to recover damages under this subdivision must be commenced within three years of the​

38.8 violation of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 that caused the injury to the employee.​

38.9 Subd. 4. Grants to community organizations. The commissioner may make grants to​

38.10 community organizations for the purpose of outreach to and education for employees​

38.11 regarding their rights under sections 181.9445 to 181.9448. The community-based​

38.12 organizations must be selected based on their experience, capacity, and relationships in​

38.13 high-violation industries. The work under such a grant may include the creation and​

38.14 administration of a statewide worker hotline.​

38.15 Subd. 5. Report to legislature. (a) The commissioner must submit an annual report to​

38.16 the legislature, including to the chairs and ranking minority members of any relevant​

38.17 legislative committee. The report must include, but is not limited to:​

38.18 (1) a list of all violations of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, including the employer​

38.19 involved, and the nature of any violations; and​

38.20 (2) an analysis of noncompliance with sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, including any​

38.21 patterns by employer, industry, or county.​

38.22 (b) A report under this section must not include an employee's name or other identifying​

38.23 information, any health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's​

38.24 family member, or any information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking​

38.25 of an employee or an employee's family member.​

38.26 Subd. 6. Contract for labor or services. It is the responsibility of all employers to not​

38.27 enter into any contract or agreement for labor or services where the employer has any actual​

38.28 knowledge or knowledge arising from familiarity with the normal facts and circumstances​

38.29 of the business activity engaged in, or has any additional facts or information that, taken​

38.30 together, would make a reasonably prudent person undertake to inquire whether, taken​

38.31 together, the contractor is not complying or has failed to comply with this section. For​

38.32 purposes of this subdivision, "actual knowledge" means information obtained by the employer​

38.33 that the contractor has violated this section within the past two years and has failed to present​

38.34 the employer with credible evidence that such noncompliance has been cured going forward.​
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39.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment.​

39.2 ARTICLE 5​

39.3 EMERGENCY REHIRE AND RETENTION​

39.4 Section 1. DEFINITIONS.​

39.5 Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of sections 1 to 4, the following terms​

39.6 have the meanings given in this section.​

39.7 Subd. 2. Air carrier. "Air carrier" means a person undertaking by any means, directly​

39.8 or indirectly, to provide air transportation of persons, property, or mail.​

39.9 Subd. 3. Aircraft. "Aircraft" means any contrivance invented, used, or designed for​

39.10 navigation of or flight in the air, but excluding parachutes.​

39.11 Subd. 4. Airport. "Airport" means any area of land or water, except a restricted landing​

39.12 area, which is designed for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, whether or not facilities are​

39.13 provided for the shelter, surfacing, or repair of aircraft, or for receiving or discharging​

39.14 passengers or cargo, and all appurtenant areas used or suitable for airport buildings or other​

39.15 airport facilities, and all appurtenant rights-of-way, whether heretofore or hereafter​

39.16 established.​

39.17 Subd. 5. Airport authority. "Airport authority" means an authority created pursuant to​

39.18 Minnesota Statutes, section 360.0426.​

39.19 Subd. 6. Airport facility management. "Airport facility management" means a person​

39.20 directing or supervising airport management activities, including but not limited to:​

39.21 (1) information management;​

39.22 (2) building and property management;​

39.23 (3) civil services;​

39.24 (4) procurement and logistics management; and​

39.25 (5) legal services.​

39.26 Subd. 7. Airport hospitality operation. (a) "Airport hospitality operation" means a​

39.27 business that:​

39.28 (1) prepares, delivers, inspects, or provides any other service in connection with the​

39.29 preparation of food or beverage for aircraft crew or passengers at an airport; or​
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40.1 (2) provides food and beverage, retail, or other consumer goods or services to the public​

40.2 at an airport.​

40.3 (b) Airport hospitality operation does not include an air carrier certified by the Federal​

40.4 Aviation Administration.​

40.5 Subd. 8. Airport service provider. (a) "Airport service provider" means a business that​

40.6 performs, under contract with a passenger air carrier, airport facility management, or airport​

40.7 authority, functions on the property of the airport that are directly related to the air​

40.8 transportation of persons, property, or mail, including but not limited to:​

40.9 (1) the loading and unloading of property on aircraft;​

40.10 (2) assistance to passengers under Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, part 382;​

40.11 (3) security;​

40.12 (4) airport ticketing and check-in functions;​

40.13 (5) ground-handling of aircraft;​

40.14 (6) aircraft cleaning and sanitization functions; or​

40.15 (7) airport authority.​

40.16 (b) Airport service provider does not include an air carrier certificated by the Federal​

40.17 Aviation Administration.​

40.18 Subd. 9. Building service. "Building service" means janitorial, building maintenance,​

40.19 or security services.​

40.20 Subd. 10. Business day. "Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding any​

40.21 holidays as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 645.44.​

40.22 Subd. 11. Change in control. "Change in control" means any sale, assignment, transfer,​

40.23 contribution, or other disposition of all or substantially all of the assets used in the operation​

40.24 of an enterprise or a discrete portion of the enterprise that continues in operation as an​

40.25 enterprise, or a controlling interest, including by consolidation, merger, or reorganization,​

40.26 of the incumbent employer or any person who controls the incumbent employer.​

40.27 Subd. 12. Declared emergency. "Declared emergency" means a national security or​

40.28 peacetime emergency declared by the governor under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, a​

40.29 local emergency declared by the mayor of a municipality or the chair of a county board of​

40.30 commissioners under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.29, a federal public health emergency​
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41.1 declared by the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, or a major​

41.2 disaster or national emergency declared by the president.​

41.3 Subd. 13. Eligible employee. (a) "Eligible employee" means an individual:​

41.4 (1) whose primary place of employment is at an enterprise subject to a change in control;​

41.5 (2) who is employed directly by the incumbent employer, or by an employer who has​

41.6 contracted with the incumbent employer to provide services at the enterprise subject to a​

41.7 change in control; and​

41.8 (3) who has worked for the incumbent employer for at least one month prior to the​

41.9 execution of the transfer document.​

41.10 (b) Eligible employee does not include a managerial, supervisory, or confidential​

41.11 employee.​

41.12 Subd. 14. Employee. "Employee" means an individual who performs services for hire​

41.13 for at least two hours in a particular week for an employer.​

41.14 Subd. 15. Employer. "Employer" means any person who directly, indirectly, or through​

41.15 an agent or any other person, including through the services of a temporary service or staffing​

41.16 agency or similar entity, owns or operates an enterprise and employs one or more employees.​

41.17 Subd. 16. Enterprise. "Enterprise" means a hotel, event center, airport hospitality​

41.18 operation, airport service provider, or the provision of building service to office, retail, or​

41.19 other commercial buildings.​

41.20 Subd. 17. Event center. (a) "Event center" means a publicly or privately owned structure​

41.21 of more than 50,000 square feet or 2,000 seats that is used for the purposes of public​

41.22 performances, sporting events, business meetings, or similar events, and includes concert​

41.23 halls, stadiums, sports arenas, racetracks, coliseums, and convention centers.​

41.24 (b) Event center also includes any contracted, leased, or sublet premises connected to​

41.25 or operated in conjunction with the event center's purpose, including food preparation​

41.26 facilities, concessions, retail stores, restaurants, bars, and structured parking facilities.​

41.27 Subd. 18. Hotel. (a) "Hotel" means a building, structure, enclosure, or any part thereof:​

41.28 (1) used as, maintained as, advertised as, or held out to be a place where sleeping​

41.29 accommodations, lodging, and other related services are furnished to the public; and​

41.30 (2) containing 75 or more guest rooms, or suites of rooms, except adjoining rooms do​

41.31 not constitute a suite of rooms. The number of guest rooms, or suites of rooms, shall be​
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42.1 calculated based on the room count on the opening of the hotel or on December 31, 2019,​

42.2 whichever is greater.​

42.3 (b) Hotel also includes any contracted, leased, or sublet premises connected to or operated​

42.4 in conjunction with the hotel's purpose, or providing services thereat.​

42.5 Subd. 19. Incumbent employer. "Incumbent employer" means a person who owns or​

42.6 operates an enterprise subject to a change in control prior to the change in control.​

42.7 Subd. 20. Laid-off employee. "Laid-off employee" means any employee who was​

42.8 employed by the employer for six months or more in the 12 months preceding January 31,​

42.9 2020, and whose most recent separation from actively performing services for hire occurred​

42.10 after January 31, 2020, and was due to a public health directive, government shutdown​

42.11 order, lack of business, a reduction in force, or other economic, nondisciplinary reason​

42.12 related to the declared emergency.​

42.13 Subd. 21. Length of service. "Length of service" means the total of all periods of time​

42.14 during which an employee has actively been performing services for hire with the employer,​

42.15 including periods of time when the employee was on leave or on vacation.​

42.16 Subd. 22. Person. "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, limited​

42.17 partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability company, business trust, estate,​

42.18 trust, association, joint venture, agency, instrumentality, or any other legal or commercial​

42.19 entity, whether domestic or foreign.​

42.20 Subd. 23. Successor employer. "Successor employer" means a person that owns or​

42.21 operates an enterprise subject to a change in control after the change in control.​

42.22 Subd. 24. Transfer document. "Transfer document" means the purchase agreement or​

42.23 other documents creating a binding agreement to effect the change in control.​

42.24 Sec. 2. EMERGENCY REHIRE AND RETENTION OF LAID-OFF EMPLOYEES.​

42.25 Subdivision 1. Rehire and recall requirements. (a) An employer shall offer its laid-off​

42.26 employees in writing, to their last known physical address, and by e-mail and text message​

42.27 to the extent the employer possesses such information, all job positions that become available​

42.28 after the effective date of this section for which the laid-off employees are qualified. A​

42.29 laid-off employee is qualified for a position if the employee either:​

42.30 (1) held the same or similar position at the enterprise at the time of the employee's most​

42.31 recent separation from actively performing services for hire with the employer; or​
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43.1 (2) is or can be qualified for the position with the same training that would be provided​

43.2 to a new employee hired into that position.​

43.3 (b) The employer shall offer positions to laid-off employees in an order of preference​

43.4 corresponding to paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2). If more than one employee is entitled​

43.5 to preference for a position, the employer shall offer the position to the laid-off employee​

43.6 with the greatest length of service for the enterprise.​

43.7 (c) A laid-off employee who is offered a position pursuant to this section shall be given​

43.8 at least five business days in which to accept or decline the offer. An employer may make​

43.9 simultaneous conditional offers of employment to laid-off employees, with a final offer of​

43.10 employment conditioned on application of the priority system in paragraph (b).​

43.11 (d) An employer that declines to recall a laid-off employee on the grounds of lack of​

43.12 qualifications and instead hires someone other than a laid-off employee shall provide the​

43.13 laid-off employee a written notice within 30 days identifying those hired in lieu of that​

43.14 recall, along with all reasons for the decision.​

43.15 (e) This section also applies in any of the following circumstances:​

43.16 (1) the ownership of the employer changed after the separation from employment of a​

43.17 laid-off employee but the enterprise is conducting the same or similar operations as before​

43.18 the declared emergency;​

43.19 (2) the form of organization of the employer changed after the declared emergency;​

43.20 (3) substantially all of the assets of the employer were acquired by another entity which​

43.21 conducts the same or similar operations using substantially the same assets; or​

43.22 (4) the employer relocates the operations at which a laid-off employee was employed​

43.23 before the declared emergency to a different location.​

43.24 Subd. 2. Successor employer and retention requirements (a)(1) The incumbent​

43.25 employer shall, within 15 days after the execution of a transfer document, provide to the​

43.26 successor employer the name, address, date of hire, and employment occupation classification​

43.27 of each eligible employee.​

43.28 (2) The successor employer shall maintain a preferential hiring list of eligible employees​

43.29 identified by the incumbent employer under clause (1), and shall be required to hire from​

43.30 that list for a period beginning upon the execution of the transfer document and continuing​

43.31 for six months after the enterprise is open to the public under the successor employer.​
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44.1 (3) If the successor employer extends an offer of employment to an eligible employee,​

44.2 the successor employer shall retain written verification of that offer for at least three years​

44.3 from the date the offer was made. The verification shall include the name, address, date of​

44.4 hire, and employment occupation classification of each eligible employee.​

44.5 (b)(1) A successor employer shall retain each eligible employee hired pursuant to this​

44.6 subdivision for no fewer than 90 days following the eligible employee's employment​

44.7 commencement date. During this 90-day transition employment period, eligible employees​

44.8 shall be employed under the terms and conditions established by the successor employer​

44.9 or as required by law. The successor employer shall provide eligible employees with a​

44.10 written offer of employment. This offer shall remain open for at least five business days​

44.11 from the date of the offer. A successor employer may make simultaneous conditional offers​

44.12 of employment to eligible employees, with a final offer of employment conditioned on​

44.13 application of the priority system set forth in clause (2).​

44.14 (2) If, within the period established in paragraph (a), clause (2), the successor employer​

44.15 determines that it requires fewer eligible employees than were required by the incumbent​

44.16 employer, the successor employer shall retain eligible employees by seniority within each​

44.17 job classification to the extent that comparable job classifications exist.​

44.18 (3) During the 90-day transition employment period, the successor employer shall not​

44.19 discharge without cause an eligible employee retained pursuant to this subdivision.​

44.20 (4) At the end of the 90-day transition employment period, the successor employer shall​

44.21 perform a written performance evaluation for each eligible employee retained pursuant to​

44.22 this section. If the eligible employee's performance during the 90-day transition employment​

44.23 period is satisfactory, the successor employer shall consider offering the eligible employee​

44.24 continued employment under the terms and conditions established by the successor employer​

44.25 or as required by law. The successor employer shall retain a record of the written performance​

44.26 evaluation for a period of no fewer than three years.​

44.27 (c)(1) The incumbent employer shall post written notice of the change in control at the​

44.28 location of the affected enterprise within five business days following the execution of the​

44.29 transfer document. Notice shall remain posted during any closure of the enterprise and for​

44.30 six months after the enterprise is open to the public under the successor employer.​

44.31 (2) Notice shall include but not be limited to the name of the incumbent employer and​

44.32 its contact information, the name of the successor employer and its contact information,​

44.33 and the effective date of the change in control.​
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45.1 (3) Notice shall be posted in a conspicuous place at the enterprise so as to be readily​

45.2 viewed by eligible employees, other employees, and applicants for employment.​

45.3 Subd. 3. Employment protections. No employer shall refuse to employ, terminate,​

45.4 reduce in compensation, or otherwise take any adverse action against any employee for​

45.5 seeking to enforce their rights under sections 1 to 4, by any lawful means, for participating​

45.6 in proceedings related to these sections, opposing any practice prescribed by these sections,​

45.7 or otherwise asserting rights under these sections. This subdivision shall also apply to any​

45.8 employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges noncompliance with these sections.​

45.9 Subd. 4. Collective bargaining rights. (a) All of the provisions in sections 1 to 4 may​

45.10 be waived in a valid collective bargaining agreement, but only if the waiver is explicitly set​

45.11 forth in that agreement in clear and unambiguous terms. Unilateral implementation of terms​

45.12 and conditions of employment by either party to a collective bargaining relationship shall​

45.13 not constitute or be permitted as a waiver of all or any part of the provisions of sections 1​

45.14 to 4.​

45.15 (b) Nothing in sections 1 to 4 limits the right of employees to bargain collectively with​

45.16 their employers through representatives of their own choosing to establish retention or​

45.17 rehiring conditions more favorable to the employees than those required by these sections.​

45.18 Sec. 3. ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.​

45.19 Subdivision 1. Enforcement. (a) An employee, including any eligible employee, may​

45.20 file an action in the Minnesota District Court, or may file a complaint with the Department​

45.21 of Labor and Industry, Labor Standards and Apprenticeship Division, against the employer,​

45.22 or in the case of a violation of section 2, subdivision 2, incumbent employer or the successor​

45.23 employer, for violations of section 2, and may be awarded any or all of the following, as​

45.24 appropriate:​

45.25 (1) hiring and reinstatement rights pursuant to section 2, with the 90-day transition​

45.26 employment period not commencing until the eligible employee's employment​

45.27 commencement date with the successor employer;​

45.28 (2) front pay or back pay for each day during which the violation continues, which shall​

45.29 be calculated at a rate of compensation not less than the highest of any of the following​

45.30 rates:​

45.31 (i) the average regular rate of pay received by the employee or eligible employee during​

45.32 the last three years of that employee's employment in the same occupation classification;​
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46.1 (ii) the most recent regular rate received by the employee or eligible employee while​

46.2 employed by the employer, incumbent employer, or successor employer; or​

46.3 (iii) the regular rate received by the individual in the position during the time that the​

46.4 employee or eligible employee should have been employed;​

46.5 (3) value of the benefits the employee or eligible employee would have received under​

46.6 the employer or successor employer's benefit plan; or​

46.7 (4) in an action brought in the district court, a prevailing employee shall be awarded​

46.8 reasonable attorneys' fees and costs.​

46.9 (b) The Labor Standards and Apprenticeship Division shall investigate complaints filed​

46.10 under this section, and if an employer, incumbent employer, or successor employer is found​

46.11 to have violated section 2, the division shall determine and issue an award to an employee​

46.12 pursuant to paragraph (a).​

46.13 (c) No criminal penalties shall be imposed for a violation of section 2.​

46.14 (d) This subdivision shall not be construed to limit a discharged employee or eligible​

46.15 employee's right to pursue any other remedies available to an employee in law or equity.​

46.16 Subd. 2. Compliance. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a compliance​

46.17 order under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to​

46.18 comply with section 2.​

46.19 Subd. 3. Interaction with local law. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a local​

46.20 government agency from enacting ordinances that impose greater standards than, or establish​

46.21 additional enforcement provisions to, those prescribed by this section.​

46.22 Sec. 4. CITATION.​

46.23 Sections 1 to 4 may be cited as the "Emergency Rehire and Retention Law."​

46.24 Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES.​

46.25 Sections 1 to 4 are effective the day following final enactment and expire December 31,​

46.26 2022.​
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47.1 ARTICLE 6​

47.2 ESSENTIAL WORKERS EMERGENCY LEAVE​

47.3 Section 1. ESSENTIAL WORKERS EMERGENCY LEAVE ACT.​

47.4 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

47.5 the meanings given.​

47.6 (b) "Airport service provider" means a business other than an air carrier certificated by​

47.7 the Federal Aviation Administration, that performs, under contract with a passenger air​

47.8 carrier, airport facility management, or airport authority, functions on the property of the​

47.9 airport that are directly related to the air transportation of persons, property, or mail, including​

47.10 but not limited to:​

47.11 (1) the loading and unloading of property on aircraft;​

47.12 (2) assistance to passengers under Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, part 382;​

47.13 (3) security;​

47.14 (4) airport ticketing and check-in functions;​

47.15 (5) ground-handling of aircraft;​

47.16 (6) aircraft cleaning and sanitization functions; or​

47.17 (7) airport authority.​

47.18 (c) "Child" means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or child​

47.19 for whom the essential worker is a legal guardian.​

47.20 (d) "Emergency paid sick leave" means paid leave time provided under this section for​

47.21 a reason provided in subdivision 2 that is not:​

47.22 (1) fully compensated through workers' compensation benefits or unemployment​

47.23 insurance benefits; or​

47.24 (2) guaranteed to essential workers through other paid sick leave benefits under state​

47.25 law or federal law or an executive order related to COVID-19.​

47.26 (e) "Essential worker" means a person who performs services for hire for an employer​

47.27 for one day or more, and who:​

47.28 (1) is an emergency responder or health care provider as defined in Code of Federal​

47.29 Regulations, title 29, section 826.30(c), including but not limited to nurses, peace officers,​

47.30 firefighters, correctional institution personnel, emergency medical services personnel, and​

47.31 social workers;​
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48.1 (2) is a licensed or unlicensed personnel employed by or under contract with:​

48.2 (i) a hospital, boarding care home, or outpatient surgical center licensed under Minnesota​

48.3 Statutes, sections 144.50 to 144.56;​

48.4 (ii) a nursing home licensed under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.01 to 144A.162;​

48.5 (iii) a housing with services establishment registered under Minnesota Statutes, section​

48.6 144D.02, and operating under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.01 to 144G.07;​

48.7 (iv) the arranged home care provider of an establishment specified in item (iii);​

48.8 (v) an unlicensed health care clinic; or​

48.9 (vi) an unlicensed office of a physician or advanced practice registered nurse;​

48.10 (3) is a public school employee;​

48.11 (4) works for an airport service provider; or​

48.12 (5) works for a private employer performing work in the following sectors:​

48.13 (i) building service, including janitorial, building maintenance, and security services;​

48.14 (ii) child care;​

48.15 (iii) food service, including food manufacture, production, processing, preparation, sale,​

48.16 and delivery;​

48.17 (iv) hotel accommodations;​

48.18 (v) manufacturing; or​

48.19 (vi) retail, including but not limited to sales, fulfillment, distribution, and delivery.​

48.20 (f) "Employer" means a person who employs one or more essential workers, including​

48.21 but not limited to a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, association, group​

48.22 of persons, hospital, state, county, town, city, school district, or governmental subdivision,​

48.23 excluding the federal government.​

48.24 (g) "Retaliatory personnel action" means any form of intimidation, threat, reprisal,​

48.25 harassment, discrimination, or adverse employment action, including discipline, discharge,​

48.26 suspension, transfer, or reassignment to a lesser position in terms of job classification, job​

48.27 security, or other condition of employment; reduction in pay or hours or denial of additional​

48.28 hours; the accumulation of points under an attendance point system; informing another​

48.29 employer that the person has engaged in activities protected by this section; or reporting or​
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49.1 threatening to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration status of an employee,​

49.2 former employee, or family member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency.​

49.3 Subd. 2. Emergency paid sick leave. An employer shall provide emergency paid sick​

49.4 leave to an essential worker who is unable to work or telework due to any of the following​

49.5 reasons:​

49.6 (1) the essential worker is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order​

49.7 related to COVID-19;​

49.8 (2) the essential worker has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine​

49.9 due to concerns related to COVID-19;​

49.10 (3) the essential worker is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical​

49.11 diagnosis;​

49.12 (4) the essential worker is seeking or awaiting the results of a diagnostic test for, or a​

49.13 medical diagnosis of, COVID-19 and the essential worker has been exposed to COVID-19​

49.14 or the essential worker's employer has requested a test or diagnosis;​

49.15 (5) the essential worker is obtaining an immunization related to COVID-19 or recovering​

49.16 from an injury, disability, illness, or condition related to the immunization;​

49.17 (6) the essential worker is caring for an individual who is subject to an order as described​

49.18 in clause (1) or has been advised as described in clause (2); or​

49.19 (7) the essential worker is caring for a child of the essential worker if the school or place​

49.20 of care of the child has been closed, or the child care provider of the child is unavailable​

49.21 due to COVID-19 precautions.​

49.22 Subd. 3. Duration and use of leave. (a) An essential worker shall be entitled to​

49.23 emergency paid sick leave as provided under this section for the following number of hours​

49.24 through March 31, 2021, and an equal number of hours for the period beginning April 1,​

49.25 2021:​

49.26 (1) up to 80 hours for an essential worker who:​

49.27 (i) the employer considers to work full time;​

49.28 (ii) works or was scheduled to work on average what are considered full-time hours by​

49.29 the employer, including pursuant to any applicable collective bargaining agreement; or​

49.30 (iii) works or was scheduled to work at least 40 hours per week for the employer on​

49.31 average over a two-week period;​
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50.1 (2) a number of hours equal to the number of hours that an essential worker works for​

50.2 the employer on average over a two-week period for any essential worker who:​

50.3 (i) the employer considers to work part time;​

50.4 (ii) works or was scheduled to work on average what are considered part-time hours by​

50.5 the employer, including pursuant to any applicable collective bargaining agreement; or​

50.6 (iii) works or was scheduled to work fewer than 40 hours per week for the employer on​

50.7 average over a two-week period; or​

50.8 (3) 14 times the average number of hours an essential worker worked per day for the​

50.9 employer for the previous six months, or for the entire period the essential worker has​

50.10 worked for the employer, whichever is shorter, for an essential worker who works variable​

50.11 hours and who is not covered by clause (1) or (2).​

50.12 (b) Leave under this section shall be available for use by an essential worker for a reason​

50.13 listed in subdivision 2 beginning the day following final enactment and may be used​

50.14 intermittently, provided that any amount of leave taken under this section shall end with​

50.15 the essential worker's next scheduled work shift immediately following the termination of​

50.16 the essential worker's need for leave under a reason provided in subdivision 2.​

50.17 (c) After the first workday or portion thereof that an essential worker receives leave​

50.18 under this section, an employer may require the essential worker to follow reasonable notice​

50.19 procedures to continue receiving leave.​

50.20 (d) Leave under this section expires 30 days after a peacetime emergency declared by​

50.21 the governor in an executive order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19​

50.22 is terminated or rescinded.​

50.23 Subd. 4. Amount of compensation. (a) An essential worker shall receive compensation​

50.24 for each hour of emergency paid sick leave received under this section in an amount that​

50.25 shall be the greater of:​

50.26 (1) the essential worker's regular rate of pay for the essential worker's last pay period,​

50.27 including pursuant to any collective bargaining agreement that applies;​

50.28 (2) the state minimum wage in effect under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.24; or​

50.29 (3) the local minimum wage to which the essential worker is entitled.​

50.30 (b) In no event shall emergency paid sick time provided under this section exceed $511​

50.31 per day, nor shall emergency paid sick time provided under this section exceed $5,110 in​
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51.1 the aggregate for the period ending March 31, 2021, or $5,110 in the aggregate for the period​

51.2 beginning April 1, 2021.​

51.3 (c) Unused or remaining leave under this section shall not carry over past the expiration​

51.4 of this section.​

51.5 (d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require financial or other reimbursement​

51.6 to an essential worker from an employer upon the essential worker's termination, resignation,​

51.7 retirement, or other separation from employment for emergency paid sick time under this​

51.8 section that has not been used by the essential worker.​

51.9 Subd. 5. Relationship to other leave. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), emergency​

51.10 paid sick leave under this section shall be in addition to any paid or unpaid leave provided​

51.11 to an essential worker by an employer under a collective bargaining agreement, negotiated​

51.12 agreement, contract, or any other employment policy.​

51.13 (b) An essential worker may use leave provided under this section first, and except as​

51.14 provided in paragraph (c), an employer shall not require an essential worker to use other​

51.15 paid or unpaid leave provided by the employer before the essential worker uses the leave​

51.16 provided under this section or in lieu of the leave provided under this section.​

51.17 (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), if an employer has already provided an​

51.18 essential worker with additional paid leave for any reason provided in subdivision 2, and​

51.19 the leave was in addition to the regular amount of paid leave provided by the employer and​

51.20 compensated the essential worker in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of​

51.21 compensation provided under this section, the employer may credit the other additional​

51.22 paid leave toward the total number of hours of emergency paid sick leave required under​

51.23 this section; provided, however, that if the other paid leave compensated the essential worker​

51.24 at an amount less than the amount of compensation provided under this section, the employer​

51.25 is required to comply with this section to the extent of the deficiency to receive the credit​

51.26 under this paragraph.​

51.27 (d) An employer shall provide notice to essential workers of the requirements for​

51.28 emergency paid sick leave provided under this section.​

51.29 (e) Nothing in this section shall be deemed:​

51.30 (1) to limit the rights of an essential worker or employer under any law, rule, regulation,​

51.31 or collectively negotiated agreement, or the rights and benefits that accrue to essential​

51.32 workers through collective bargaining agreements, or the rights of essential workers with​

51.33 respect to any other employment benefits; or​
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52.1 (2) to prohibit any personnel action that otherwise would have been taken regardless of​

52.2 a request to use, or use of, any leave provided by this section.​

52.3 (f) Nothing in this section shall prevent an employer from providing, or the parties to a​

52.4 collective bargaining agreement from agreeing to, leave benefits that meet or exceed and​

52.5 do not otherwise conflict with the requirements for emergency paid sick leave under this​

52.6 section.​

52.7 Subd. 6. Requirements and enforcement. (a) An employer shall not take any retaliatory​

52.8 personnel action against an essential worker for requesting or obtaining emergency paid​

52.9 sick leave under this section or for bringing a complaint related to this section, including a​

52.10 proceeding that seeks enforcement of this section.​

52.11 (b) The Department of Labor and Industry shall enforce this section. The commissioner​

52.12 has the authority provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.27, subdivision 4, including​

52.13 the authority to issue an order requiring an employer to comply with this section. The​

52.14 commissioner may investigate complaints of violations of this section as necessary to​

52.15 determine whether a violation has occurred. If the commissioner finds that an employer has​

52.16 violated this section, the commissioner shall fine the employer up to $1,000 for each willful​

52.17 violation for each essential worker.​

52.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment for​

52.19 essential workers hired by an employer on or after the day following final enactment. This​

52.20 section applies retroactively from March 13, 2020, for essential workers who were employed​

52.21 on or after March 13, 2020, and are currently employed as of the day following final​

52.22 enactment or May 17, 2021, whichever is earlier. Subdivisions 1 to 5 sunset on September​

52.23 30, 2021, or 30 days after a peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive​

52.24 order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 is terminated or rescinded,​

52.25 whichever is later. Subdivision 6 sunsets June 30, 2023.​

52.26 ARTICLE 7​

52.27 SAFE WORKPLACES FOR MEAT AND POULTRY PROCESSING WORKERS​

52.28 Section 1. [179.87] TITLE.​

52.29 Sections 179.87 to 179.8757 may be titled the Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry​

52.30 Processing Workers Act.​
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53.1 Sec. 2. [179.871] DEFINITIONS.​

53.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the terms in​

53.3 this section have the meanings given.​

53.4 Subd. 2. Authorized employee representative. "Authorized employee representative"​

53.5 has the meaning given in section 182.651, subdivision 22.​

53.6 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry​

53.7 or the commissioner's designee.​

53.8 Subd. 4. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means the meatpacking industry worker rights​

53.9 coordinator or the coordinator's designee.​

53.10 Subd. 5. Meat-processing worker. "Meat-processing worker" or "worker" means any​

53.11 individual who a meat-processing employer suffers or permits to work directly in contact​

53.12 with raw meatpacking products in a meatpacking operation, including independent contractors​

53.13 and persons performing work for an employer through a temporary service or staffing​

53.14 agency.​

53.15 Subd. 6. Meatpacking operation. "Meatpacking operation" or "meat-processing​

53.16 employer" means a business in which slaughtering, butchering, meat canning, meatpacking,​

53.17 meat manufacturing, poultry canning, poultry packing, poultry manufacturing, pet food​

53.18 manufacturing, egg production, processing of meatpacking products, or rendering occurs.​

53.19 Meatpacking operation or meat-processing employer does not mean a grocery store, deli,​

53.20 restaurant, or other business preparing meat or poultry products for immediate consumption.​

53.21 Subd. 7. Meatpacking products. "Meatpacking products" means meat food products​

53.22 and poultry food products as defined in section 31A.02, subdivision 10.​

53.23 Subd. 8. Public health emergency. "Public health emergency" means a peacetime​

53.24 emergency declared by the governor under section 12.31, a federal public health emergency​

53.25 declared by the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, or a national​

53.26 emergency declared by the president due to infectious disease or another significant threat​

53.27 to public health.​

53.28 Sec. 3. [179.8715] WORKER RIGHTS COORDINATOR.​

53.29 (a) The commissioner must appoint a meatpacking industry worker rights coordinator​

53.30 in the Department of Labor and Industry and provide the coordinator with necessary office​

53.31 space, furniture, equipment, supplies, and assistance.​
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54.1 (b) The coordinator must enforce sections 179.87 to 179.8757, including inspecting,​

54.2 reviewing, and recommending improvements to the practices and procedures of meatpacking​

54.3 operations in Minnesota. A meat-processing employer must grant the coordinator full access​

54.4 to all meatpacking operations in this state at any time that meatpacking products are being​

54.5 processed or meat-processing workers are on the job.​

54.6 (c) No later than December 1 each year, the coordinator must submit a report to the​

54.7 governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

54.8 jurisdiction over labor. The report must include recommendations to promote better treatment​

54.9 of meat-processing workers. The coordinator shall also post the report on the Department​

54.10 of Labor and Industry's website.​

54.11 Sec. 4. [179.872] REFUSAL TO WORK UNDER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS.​

54.12 (a) A meat-processing worker has a right to refuse to work under conditions that the​

54.13 worker reasonably believes would expose the worker, other workers, or the public to an​

54.14 unreasonable risk of illness or injury, or exposure to illness or injury, including the infectious​

54.15 disease known as COVID-19.​

54.16 (b) A meat-processing employer must not discriminate or take adverse action against​

54.17 any worker for a good faith refusal to work if the worker has requested that the employer​

54.18 correct a hazardous condition and that condition remains uncorrected.​

54.19 (c) A meat-processing worker who has refused in good faith to work under paragraph​

54.20 (a) or (b) and who has not been reassigned to other work by the meat-processing employer​

54.21 must, in addition to retaining a right to continued employment, continue to be paid by the​

54.22 employer for the hours that would have been worked until such time as the meat-processing​

54.23 employer can demonstrate that the condition has been remedied.​

54.24 Sec. 5. [179.874] UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE; DANGEROUS MEAT​

54.25 PACKING CONDITIONS.​

54.26 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the provisions of this section govern​

54.27 unemployment insurance claims for meat-processing workers.​

54.28 (b) An individual who left employment because a meat-processing employer failed to​

54.29 cure a working condition that made the work environment unsuitable for health or safety​

54.30 reasons has good cause for leaving employment.​
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55.1 (c) During a public health emergency, an individual must not be required to prove that​

55.2 a working condition that made the environment unsuitable for health or safety reasons was​

55.3 unique to the worker or that the risk was not customary to the worker's occupation.​

55.4 (d) An individual must be deemed to have exhausted reasonable alternatives to leaving​

55.5 if the individual, authorized employee representative, or another employee notified the​

55.6 meat-processing employer of the unsafe or unhealthy working condition and the employer​

55.7 did not cure it or if the employer knew or should have had reason to know that the condition​

55.8 made the work environment unsuitable and did not cure it.​

55.9 (e) During a public health emergency, an individual has good cause to leave employment​

55.10 if the individual leaves to care for a seriously ill or quarantined family or household member.​

55.11 (f) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment if​

55.12 the meat-processing employer has not cured a working condition that makes the work​

55.13 environment unsuitable for health or safety reasons, including any condition that required​

55.14 the workplace to close or reduce operations pursuant to a state or federal executive order​

55.15 issued during a public health emergency.​

55.16 (g) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment​

55.17 from a meat-processing employer if the conditions of work would require the individual to​

55.18 violate government public health guidance or to assume an unreasonable health risk.​

55.19 (h) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment​

55.20 from a meat-processing employer if the individual is required to care for a child whose​

55.21 school is closed due to a public health emergency or if the individual is required to otherwise​

55.22 care for a family or household member during a public health emergency.​

55.23 Sec. 6. [179.875] ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.​

55.24 Subdivision 1. Administrative enforcement. The coordinator, either on the coordinator's​

55.25 initiative or in response to a complaint, may inspect a meatpacking operation and subpoena​

55.26 records and witnesses. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with the coordinator's​

55.27 inspection, the coordinator may seek relief as provided in this section.​

55.28 Subd. 2. Compliance authority. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a​

55.29 compliance order under section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to comply​

55.30 with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

55.31 Subd. 3. Private civil action. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with a​

55.32 provision in sections 179.87 to 179.8757, an aggrieved worker, authorized employee​

55.33 representative, or other person may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction​
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56.1 within three years of an alleged violation and, upon prevailing, must be awarded the relief​

56.2 provided in this section. Pursuing administrative relief is not a prerequisite for bringing a​

56.3 civil action.​

56.4 Subd. 4. Other government enforcement. The attorney general may enforce sections​

56.5 179.87 to 179.8757 under section 8.31. A city or county attorney may also enforce these​

56.6 sections. Such law enforcement agencies may inspect meatpacking operations and subpoena​

56.7 records and witnesses and, where such agencies determine that a violation has occurred,​

56.8 may bring a civil action as provided in this section.​

56.9 Subd. 5. Relief. (a) In a civil action or administrative proceeding brought to enforce​

56.10 sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the court or coordinator must order relief as provided in this​

56.11 subdivision.​

56.12 (b) For any violation of sections 179.87 to 179.8757:​

56.13 (1) an injunction to order compliance and restrain continued violations, including through​

56.14 a stop work order or business closure;​

56.15 (2) payment to a prevailing worker by a meat-processing employer of reasonable costs,​

56.16 disbursements, and attorney fees; and​

56.17 (3) a civil penalty payable to the state of not less than $100 per day per worker affected​

56.18 by the meat-processing employer's noncompliance with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

56.19 (c) For any violation of section 179.872:​

56.20 (1) reinstatement of the worker to the same position held before any adverse personnel​

56.21 action or to an equivalent position, reinstatement of full fringe benefits and seniority rights,​

56.22 and compensation for unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, or front pay in lieu​

56.23 of reinstatement; and​

56.24 (2) compensatory damages payable to the aggrieved worker equal to the greater of $5,000​

56.25 or twice the actual damages, including unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, and​

56.26 punitive damages.​

56.27 Subd. 6. Whistleblower enforcement; penalty distribution. (a) The relief provided in​

56.28 this section may be recovered through a private civil action brought on behalf of the​

56.29 commissioner in a court of competent jurisdiction by another individual, including an​

56.30 authorized employee representative, pursuant to this subdivision.​

56.31 (b) The individual must give written notice to the coordinator of the specific provision​

56.32 or provisions of sections 179.87 to 179.8757 alleged to have been violated. The individual​
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57.1 or representative organization may commence a civil action under this subdivision if no​

57.2 enforcement action is taken by the coordinator within 30 days.​

57.3 (c) Civil penalties recovered pursuant to this subdivision must be distributed as follows:​

57.4 (1) 70 percent to the commissioner for enforcement of sections 179.87 to 179.8757; and​

57.5 (2) 30 percent to the individual or authorized employee representative.​

57.6 (d) The right to bring an action under this subdivision shall not be impaired by private​

57.7 contract. A public enforcement action must be tried promptly, without regard to concurrent​

57.8 adjudication of a private claim for the same alleged violation.​

57.9 Sec. 7. [179.8755] RETALIATION AGAINST EMPLOYEES AND​

57.10 WHISTLEBLOWERS PROHIBITED.​

57.11 (a) No meat-processing employer or other person may discriminate or take adverse​

57.12 action against any worker or other person who raises a concern about meatpacking operation​

57.13 health and safety practices or hazards to the employer, the employer's agent, other workers,​

57.14 a government agency, or to the public, including through print, online, social, or any other​

57.15 media.​

57.16 (b) If an employer or other person takes adverse action against a worker or other person​

57.17 within 90 days of the worker's or person's engagement or attempt to engage in activities​

57.18 protected by sections 179.87 to 179.8757, such conduct raises a presumption that the action​

57.19 is retaliatory. The presumption may be rebutted by clear and convincing evidence that the​

57.20 action was taken for other permissible reasons.​

57.21 (c) No meat-processing employer or other person may attempt to require any worker to​

57.22 sign a contract or other agreement that would limit or prevent the worker from disclosing​

57.23 information about workplace health and safety practices or hazards, or to otherwise abide​

57.24 by a workplace policy that would limit or prevent such disclosures. Any such agreements​

57.25 or policies are hereby void and unenforceable as contrary to the public policy of this state.​

57.26 An employer's attempt to impose such a contract, agreement, or policy shall constitute an​

57.27 adverse action enforceable under sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

57.28 (d) Reporting or threatening to report a meat-processing worker's suspected citizenship​

57.29 or immigration status, or the suspected citizenship or immigration status of a family member​

57.30 of the worker, to a federal, state, or local agency because the worker exercises a right under​

57.31 sections 179.87 to 179.8757 constitutes an adverse action for purposes of establishing a​

57.32 violation of that worker's rights. For purposes of this paragraph, "family member" means a​
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58.1 spouse, parent, sibling, child, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, cousin, grandparent, or grandchild​

58.2 related by blood, adoption, marriage, or domestic partnership.​

58.3 (e) Any worker who brings a complaint under sections 179.87 to 179.8757 and suffers​

58.4 retaliation is entitled to treble damages in addition to lost pay and recovery of attorney fees​

58.5 and costs.​

58.6 (f) Any company who is found to have retaliated against a food processing worker must​

58.7 pay a fine of up to $5,000 to the commissioner.​

58.8 Sec. 8. [179.8756] MEATPACKING WORKER CHRONIC INJURIES AND​

58.9 WORKPLACE SAFETY.​

58.10 Subdivision 1. Safe worker program required; facility committee. (a) Meat-processing​

58.11 employers must adopt a safe worker program as part of the employer's work accident and​

58.12 injury reduction program to minimize and prevent musculoskeletal disorders. For purposes​

58.13 of this section, "musculoskeletal disorders" includes carpal tunnel syndrome, tendinitis,​

58.14 rotator cuff injuries, trigger finger, epicondylitis, muscle strains, and lower back injuries.​

58.15 (b) The meat-processing employer's safe worker program must be developed and​

58.16 implemented by a committee of individuals who are knowledgeable of the tasks and work​

58.17 processes performed by workers at the employer's facility. The committee must include:​

58.18 (1) a certified professional ergonomist;​

58.19 (2) a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference given to a physician who has​

58.20 specialized experience and training in occupational medicine, or if it is not practicable for​

58.21 a physician to be a member of the committee, the employer must ensure that its safe worker​

58.22 program is reviewed and approved by a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference​

58.23 given to a physician who has specialized experience and training in occupational medicine;​

58.24 and​

58.25 (3) at least three workers employed in the employer's facility who have completed a​

58.26 general industry outreach course approved by the commissioner, one of whom must be an​

58.27 authorized employee representative if the employer is party to a collective bargaining​

58.28 agreement.​

58.29 Subd. 2. Program elements. (a) The committee must establish written procedures to​

58.30 identify ergonomic hazards and contributing risk factors, which must include:​

58.31 (1) the ergonomic assessment tools used to measure ergonomic hazards;​
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59.1 (2) all jobs where the committee has an indication or knowledge that ergonomic hazards​

59.2 may exist; and​

59.3 (3) workers who perform the same job or a sample of workers in that job who have the​

59.4 greatest exposure to the ergonomic hazard.​

59.5 (b) The committee must conduct ergonomic assessments to identify hazards and​

59.6 contributing risk factors; review all surveillance data at least quarterly to identify ergonomic​

59.7 hazards and contributing risk factors; and maintain records of the hazard identification​

59.8 process, which, at a minimum, must include the completed ergonomic assessment tools,​

59.9 the results of the ergonomic assessments including the jobs and workers evaluated, and the​

59.10 assessment dates.​

59.11 (c) The committee must implement a written ergonomic hazard prevention and control​

59.12 plan to identify and select methods to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic hazards​

59.13 and contributing risk factors. The plan must:​

59.14 (1) set goals, priorities, and a timeline to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic​

59.15 hazards and contributing risk factors identified;​

59.16 (2) identify the person or persons responsible for ergonomic hazard assessments and​

59.17 implementation of controls;​

59.18 (3) rely upon the surveillance data and the ergonomic risk assessment results; and​

59.19 (4) take into consideration the severity of the risk, the numbers of workers at risk, and​

59.20 the likelihood that the intervention will reduce the risk.​

59.21 (d) A meat-processing employer must control, reduce, or eliminate ergonomic hazards​

59.22 which lead to musculoskeletal disorders to the extent feasible by using engineering, work​

59.23 practice, and administrative controls.​

59.24 (e) The committee must monitor at least annually the implementation of the plan including​

59.25 the effectiveness of controls and evaluate progress in meeting program goals.​

59.26 Subd. 3. New employee training. (a) A meat-processing employer must work with the​

59.27 committee to provide each new employee with information regarding:​

59.28 (1) the committee and its members;​

59.29 (2) the facility's hazard prevention and control plan;​

59.30 (3) early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for reporting​

59.31 them;​
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60.1 (4) procedures for reporting other injuries and hazards;​

60.2 (5) engineering and administrative hazard controls implemented in the workplace,​

60.3 including ergonomic hazard controls; and​

60.4 (6) the availability and use of personal protective equipment.​

60.5 (b) A meat-processing employer must work with the committee and ensure that new​

60.6 workers receive safety training prior to staring a job that the worker has not performed​

60.7 before. The employer must provide the safety training during working hours and compensate​

60.8 the new employee at the employee's standard rate of pay. The employer also must give a​

60.9 new employee an opportunity within 30 days of the employee's hire date to receive a refresher​

60.10 training on the topics covered in the new worker safety training. The employer must provide​

60.11 new employee training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

60.12 Subd. 4. New task and annual safety training. (a) Meat-processing employers must​

60.13 provide every worker who is assigned a new task if the worker has no previous work​

60.14 experience with training on how to safely perform the task, the ergonomic and other hazards​

60.15 associated with the task, and training on the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal​

60.16 injuries and the procedures for reporting them. The employer must give a worker an​

60.17 opportunity within 30 days of receiving the new task training to receive refresher training​

60.18 on the topics covered in the new task training. The employer must provide this training in​

60.19 a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.​

60.20 (b) Meat-processing employers must provide each worker with no less than eight hours​

60.21 of safety training each year. This annual training must address health and safety topics that​

60.22 are relevant to the establishment, such as cuts, lacerations, amputations, machine guarding,​

60.23 biological hazards, lockout/tagout, hazard communication, ergonomic hazards, and personal​

60.24 protective equipment. At least two of the eight hours of annual training must be on topics​

60.25 related to the facility's ergonomic injury prevention program, including the assessment of​

60.26 surveillance data, the ergonomic hazard prevention and control plan, and the early signs​

60.27 and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders and the procedures for reporting them. The​

60.28 employer must provide this training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee​

60.29 can understand.​

60.30 Subd. 5. Attestation and record keeping. Meat-processing employers must maintain​

60.31 a written attestation dated and signed by each person who provides training and each​

60.32 employee who receives training pursuant to this section. This attestation must certify that​

60.33 the employer has provided training consistent with the requirements of this section. The​
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61.1 employer must ensure that these records are up to date and available to the commissioner,​

61.2 the coordinator, and the authorized employee representative upon request.​

61.3 Subd. 6. Medical services and qualifications. (a) Meat-processing employers must​

61.4 ensure that:​

61.5 (1) all first-aid providers, medical assistants, nurses, and physicians engaged by the​

61.6 employer are licensed and perform their duties within the scope of their licensed practice;​

61.7 (2) medical management of musculoskeletal disorders is under direct supervision of a​

61.8 licensed physician specializing in occupational medicine who will advise on best practices​

61.9 for management and prevention of work-related musculoskeletal disorders; and​

61.10 (3) medical management of musculoskeletal injuries follows the most current version​

61.11 of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine practice guidelines.​

61.12 (b) Meat-processing employers must make a record of all worker visits to medical or​

61.13 first aid personnel, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury, and make these records​

61.14 available to the coordinator and the authorized employee representative.​

61.15 (c) Meat-processing employers must maintain records of all ergonomic injuries suffered​

61.16 by workers for at least five years.​

61.17 (d) The coordinator may compile, analyze, and publish annually, either in summary or​

61.18 detailed form, all reports or information obtained under sections 179.87 to 179.8757,​

61.19 including information about safe worker programs, and may cooperate with the United​

61.20 States Department of Labor in obtaining national summaries of occupational deaths, injuries,​

61.21 and illnesses. The coordinator must preserve the anonymity of each employee with respect​

61.22 to whom medical reports or information is obtained.​

61.23 (e) Meat-processing employers must not institute or maintain any program, policy, or​

61.24 practice that discourages employees from reporting injuries, hazards, or safety standard​

61.25 violations.​

61.26 Subd. 7. Rulemaking required. The commissioner must adopt rules requiring employers​

61.27 to maintain accurate records of meat-processing worker exposure to ergonomic hazards.​

61.28 Subd. 8. Pandemic protections. (a) This subdivision applies during a peacetime public​

61.29 health emergency declared under section 12.31, subdivision 2.​

61.30 (b) Meat-processing employers must maintain at least a six-foot radius of space around​

61.31 and between each worker. An employer may accomplish such distancing by increasing​

61.32 physical space between workstations, slowing production speeds, staggering shifts and​
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62.1 breaks, adjusting shift size, or a combination thereof. The employer must reconfigure​

62.2 common or congregate spaces to allow for such distancing, including lunch rooms, break​

62.3 rooms, and locker rooms. The coordinator must reinforce social distancing by allowing​

62.4 workers to maintain six feet of distance along with the use of plastic barriers.​

62.5 (c) Meat-processing employers must provide employees with face masks and must make​

62.6 face shields available on request. Face masks, including replacement face masks, and face​

62.7 shields must be provided at no cost to the employee. All persons present at the meatpacking​

62.8 operation must wear face masks in the facility except in those parts of the facility where​

62.9 infection risk is low because workers work in isolation.​

62.10 (d) Meat-processing employers must provide all meat-processing workers with the ability​

62.11 to frequently and routinely sanitize their hands with either hand-washing or hand-sanitizing​

62.12 stations. The employer must ensure that restrooms have running hot and cold water and​

62.13 paper towels and are in sanitary condition. The employer must provide gloves to those who​

62.14 request them.​

62.15 (e) Meat-processing employers must clean and regularly disinfect all frequently touched​

62.16 surfaces in the workplace, such as workstations, training rooms, machinery controls, tools,​

62.17 protective garments, eating surfaces, bathrooms, showers, and other similar areas. Employers​

62.18 must install and maintain ventilation systems that ensure unidirectional air flow, outdoor​

62.19 air, and filtration in both production areas and common areas such as cafeterias and locker​

62.20 rooms.​

62.21 (f) Meat-processing employers must disseminate all required communications, notices,​

62.22 and any published materials regarding these protections in English, Spanish, and other​

62.23 languages as required for employees to understand the communication.​

62.24 (g) Meat-processing employers must provide adequate break time for workers to use​

62.25 the bathroom, wash their hands, and don and doff protective equipment.​

62.26 (h) Meat-processing employers must provide sufficient personal protective equipment​

62.27 for each employee for each shift, plus replacements, at no cost to the employee.​

62.28 Meat-processing employers must provide training in proper use of personal protective​

62.29 equipment, safety procedures, and sanitation.​

62.30 (i) As part of the meat-processing employer's accident, injury, and illness reduction​

62.31 program, the employer must create a health and safety committee consisting of equal parts​

62.32 company management, employees, and authorized employee representatives. The health​

62.33 and safety committee must meet at least twice a year and present results to the commissioner.​
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63.1 If the meatpacking operation has no collective bargaining agreement, a local labor​

63.2 representative must be appointed.​

63.3 (j) Meat-processing employers must record all injuries and illnesses in the facility and​

63.4 make these records available upon request to the health and safety committee. The employer​

63.5 also must make its records available to the commissioner, and where there is a collective​

63.6 bargaining agreement, to the authorized bargaining representative.​

63.7 (k) Meat-processing employers must provide paid sick time for workers to recuperate​

63.8 from illness or injury or to care for ill family members. For purposes of this paragraph,​

63.9 "family member" includes:​

63.10 (1) biological, adopted, or foster children, stepchildren, children of domestic partners​

63.11 or spouses, and legal wards of workers;​

63.12 (2) biological parents, stepparents, foster parents, adoptive parents, or legal guardians​

63.13 of a worker or a worker's spouse or domestic partner;​

63.14 (3) a worker's legally married spouse or domestic partner as registered under the laws​

63.15 of any state or political subdivision;​

63.16 (4) a worker's grandparent, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive​

63.17 relationship;​

63.18 (5) a worker's grandchild, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive​

63.19 relationship;​

63.20 (6) a worker's sibling, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive relationship;​

63.21 and​

63.22 (7) any other individual related by blood or affinity to the worker whose association​

63.23 with the worker is the equal of a family relationship.​

63.24 (l) All meat-processing workers must accrue at least one hour of paid sick time for every​

63.25 30 hours worked. For purposes of this paragraph, paid sick time means time that is​

63.26 compensated at the same hourly rate, including the same benefits, as is normally earned by​

63.27 the worker.​

63.28 (m) Meat-processing employers may provide all paid sick time a worker is expected to​

63.29 accrue at the beginning of the year or at the start of the worker's employment.​

63.30 (n) Meat-processing employers must carry an employee's earned paid sick time over​

63.31 into the following calendar year. If a worker does not wish to carry over sick time, the​

63.32 meat-processing employer must pay the worker for accrued sick time. If a worker chooses​
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64.1 to receive pay in lieu of carried-over sick time, the employer must provide the worker with​

64.2 an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the requirements of sections 179.87 to​

64.3 179.8757, to be available for the worker's immediate use at the start of the following calendar​

64.4 year.​

64.5 (o) Meat-processing employers must maintain records for at least three years showing​

64.6 hours worked and paid sick time accrued and used by workers. Employers must allow the​

64.7 commissioner and coordinator access to these records in order to ensure compliance with​

64.8 the requirements of sections 179.87 to 179.8757.​

64.9 (p) If a meat-processing employer transfers a worker to another division or location of​

64.10 the same meat-processing employer, the worker is entitled to all earned paid sick time​

64.11 accrued in the worker's previous position. If a worker is separated from employment and​

64.12 rehired within one year by the same meat-processing employer, the meat-processing employer​

64.13 must reinstate the worker's earned sick time to the level accrued by the worker as of the​

64.14 date of separation.​

64.15 (q) If a meat-processing employer is succeeded by a different employer, all workers of​

64.16 the original employer are entitled to all earned paid sick time they accrued when employed​

64.17 by the original employer.​

64.18 (r) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to find or search for a​

64.19 replacement worker to take the place of the worker as a condition of the worker using paid​

64.20 sick time.​

64.21 (s) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to disclose details of private​

64.22 matters as a condition of using paid sick time, including details of a worker or family​

64.23 member's illness, domestic violence, sexual abuse or assault, or stalking and harassment.​

64.24 If the employer does possess such information, it must be treated as confidential and not​

64.25 disclosed without the express permission of the worker.​

64.26 (t) Meat-processing employers must provide workers written notice of their rights and​

64.27 the employer's requirements under this section at the time the worker begins employment.​

64.28 This notice must be provided in English, Spanish, or the employee's language of fluency.​

64.29 The amount of paid sick time a worker has accrued, the amount of paid sick time a worker​

64.30 has used during the current year, and the amount of pay the worker has received as paid​

64.31 sick time must be recorded on or attached to the worker's paycheck. Meat-processing​

64.32 employers must display a poster in a conspicuous location in each facility where workers​

64.33 are employed that displays the information required under this paragraph. The poster must​
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65.1 be displayed in English and any language of fluency that is read or spoken by at least five​

65.2 percent of the employer's workers.​

65.3 (u) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to:​

65.4 (1) prohibit or discourage an employer from adopting or retaining a paid sick time policy​

65.5 that is more generous than the one provided in this subdivision;​

65.6 (2) diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with a collective bargaining​

65.7 agreement, or any other contract that provides more generous paid sick time to a worker​

65.8 than provided for in this subdivision; or​

65.9 (3) override any provision of local law that provides greater rights for paid sick time​

65.10 than is provided for in this subdivision.​

65.11 Subd. 9. Small Processor Exemption. Meat-processing operations having gross sales​

65.12 or service of $1,000,000 or less for the immediately previous license or fiscal year are​

65.13 exempt from the requirements of this section.​

65.14 Sec. 9. [179.8757] NOTIFICATION REQUIRED.​

65.15 (a) Meat-processing employers must provide written information and notifications about​

65.16 employee rights under section 179.86 and sections 179.87 to 179.8757 to workers in their​

65.17 language of fluency at least annually. If a worker is unable to understand written information​

65.18 and notifications, the employer must provide such information and notices orally in the​

65.19 worker's language of fluency.​

65.20 (b) The coordinator must notify covered employers of the provisions of sections 179.87​

65.21 to 179.8757 and any recent updates at least annually.​

65.22 (c) The coordinator must place information explaining sections 179.87 to 179.8757 on​

65.23 the Department of Labor and Industry's website in at least English, Spanish, and any other​

65.24 language that at least ten percent of meat-processing workers communicate in fluently. The​

65.25 coordinator must also make the information accessible to persons with impaired visual​

65.26 acuity."​

65.27 Amend the title accordingly​

65​Article 7 Sec. 9.​

HOUSE RESEARCH MJ/JF H1670DE3​04/01/21 11:42 am ​


	Article 1
	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Subdivision 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6

	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5
	Sec. 6
	Sec. 7

	Article 2
	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5
	Sec. 6
	Sec. 7
	Sec. 8
	Sec. 9
	Sec. 10
	Sec. 11
	Sec. 12
	Sec. 13
	Sec. 14
	Sec. 15
	Sec. 16
	Sec. 17
	Sec. 18
	Sec. 19
	Sec. 20
	Sec. 21
	Sec. 22
	Sec. 23
	Sec. 24
	Sec. 25
	Sec. 26
	Sec. 27
	Sec. 28
	Sec. 29
	Sec. 30

	Article 3
	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5
	Sec. 6
	Sec. 7

	Article 4
	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4

	Article 5
	Section 1
	Subdivision 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6
	Subd. 7
	Subd. 8
	Subd. 9
	Subd. 10
	Subd. 11
	Subd. 12
	Subd. 13
	Subd. 14
	Subd. 15
	Subd. 16
	Subd. 17
	Subd. 18
	Subd. 19
	Subd. 20
	Subd. 21
	Subd. 22
	Subd. 23
	Subd. 24

	Sec. 2
	Subdivision 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4

	Sec. 3
	Subdivision 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3

	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5

	Article 6
	Section 1
	Subdivision 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5
	Subd. 6


	Article 7
	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5
	Sec. 6
	Sec. 7
	Sec. 8
	Sec. 9


