Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee Agenda

March 15th, 2023 6:00 pm, Rm. 200 State Office Building

- I. Call to Order
- **II.** Approval of March 14th Meeting Minutes
- **III. HF 2465** (**Huot**) Retired police officers permitted to be eligible to participate in state insurance program, program established for college degree holders to complete peace officer education and training, and money appropriated.

Jeff Potts, MN Chiefs of Police Association
Tim Leslie, MN Sheriffs' Association

IV. HF 1415 (Curran) Funding provided for development of a curriculum to assist licensed therapists to gain skills to provide services to first responders, and money appropriated.

LeAnne Renteria, Mental Health Practitioner, St. Paul, MN
Scott Boerboom, Chief of Police, Minnetonka

V. HF 2290 (Curran) No-knock search warrants prohibited.

1. Mr. Andre Locke

VI. HF 1836 (Hollins) Prosecutorial and law enforcement training funding provided, and money appropriated.

1. Kristen Nelson, Mower County Attorney, Co-Chair of the MCCA Education Committee.

2. Michelle Zehnder Fischer, Nicollet County Attorney, President of the MN County Attorneys Association

VII. HF 2322 (Pinto) Children's cabinet modified; Department of Children, Youth, and Families established; responsibilities of Department of Education, Department of Human Services, and Department of Public Safety transferred to Department of Children, Youth, and Families; reports required; rulemaking authorized; and money appropriated.

 Bob Jacobson, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety
Erin Bailey, MMB Assistant Commissioner and Children's Cabinet Executive Director *Discussion of HF 2322 will be confined to the provisions in the bill related to the Department of Public Safety.

- VIII. HF 2173 (Becker-Finn) Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians law enforcement modified, and requirements for Tribes to exercise concurrent law enforcement jurisdictional authority modified.
 - 1. Caleb DogEagle, Solicitor General, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
 - 2. James West, Chief of Police, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
 - 3. Michael LaRoque, Secretary Treasurer, White Earth Nation
 - 4. Jon Priem, Police Chief, Prairie Island Indian Community
- IX. Adjournment

Items may be taken up in any order, items may be added or removed at the Chair's discretion.