## STATE OF MINNESOTA ELEVENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

## EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on February 22, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK.

Rep. Mueller moved that the minutes from February 17, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

The following people gave a presentation on FFA:
Commissioner Thom Petersen, Department of Agriculture
Sarah Kuschel, Regional Specialist, Minnesota Agriculture in the Classroom
Sarah Dornink, Executive Director, Minnesota Agriculture Education Leadership Council
Keith Olander, Executive Director, AgCentric

Rep. Urdahl moved that HF 562 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Rep. Urdahl presented HF 562.

## Testifiers:

Darrin Anderson, Litchfield School Board Chair Judge Michael Thompson, 8<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Lisa Larson, Minnesota League of Women Voters Justin Wittrock, Litchfield High School teacher

Chair Richardson laid over HF 562 for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

The committee was adjourned at 2:25 PM.