
88.13 ARTICLE 6​

88.14 BUSINESS FILING FEES​

42.25 Section 1. [5.60] LATE RENEWAL PENALTY.​

42.26 Subdivision 1. Late penalty. The secretary of state may require a person to pay a late​
42.27 penalty of up to $25 when filing for renewal or reinstatement of a business entity that the​
42.28 secretary of state has dissolved, terminated, or revoked due to failure to file an annual​
42.29 renewal, or a business entity for which the secretary of state has canceled a certificate of​
42.30 authority. The secretary of state must deposit all late penalty revenue in the account created​
43.1 under subdivision 2. The late penalty is in addition to any other fee or assessment provided​
43.2 by law.​

43.3 Subd. 2. Account; appropriation. The secretary of state fraud prevention and data​
43.4 security account is created in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated​
43.5 to the secretary of state to:​

43.6 (1) fulfill statutory and constitutional duties regarding fraud prevention and data privacy​
43.7 and security, including but not limited to cyber security and the Minnesota Business Filing​
43.8 Fraud Prevention Act under sections 300.70 to 300.78;​

43.9 (2) ensure the accuracy and completeness of documents that are permitted or required​
43.10 under law to be filed with the secretary of state; and​

43.11 (3) enhance the secretary of state's information and telecommunications technology​
43.12 systems and services.​

43.13 Subd. 3. Annual report. By February 15 each year, the secretary of state must submit​
43.14 a report identifying the amount of revenue collected and outcomes achieved under this​
43.15 section to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​
43.16 jurisdiction over state government finance and policy.​

43.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025, and applies to renewal or​
43.18 reinstatement applications submitted on or after that date.​

88.15 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.153, is amended to read:​

88.16 302A.153 EFFECTIVE DATE OF ARTICLES.​

88.17 Articles of incorporation are effective and corporate existence begins when the articles​
88.18 of incorporation are filed with the secretary of state accompanied by a payment of $135​
88.19 $145, which includes a $100 $110 incorporation fee in addition to the $35 filing fee required​
88.20 by section 302A.011, subdivision 11. Articles of amendment are effective when filed with​
88.21 the secretary of state or at another time within 30 days after filing if the articles of amendment​
88.22 so provide. Articles of merger must be accompanied by a fee of $60, which includes a $25​
88.23 merger fee in addition to the $35 filing fee required by section 302A.011, subdivision 11.​
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88.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 303.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
88.25 read:​

88.26 Subd. 3. Fees. The fee for filing an application for a certificate of authority with the​
88.27 secretary of state is $60.​

89.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 303.21, is amended to read:​

89.2 303.21 FEES.​

89.3 Subd. 3. Other instruments. A fee of $50 shall be paid to the secretary of state for filing​
89.4 any instrument, other than the application for certificate of authority required by section​
89.5 303.06 and the annual report renewal required by section 303.14, required or permitted to​
89.6 be filed under the provisions of this chapter. The fees shall be paid at the time of the filing​
89.7 of the instrument.​

89.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 308A.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

89.9 Subd. 2. Filing articles. (a) The original articles must be filed with the secretary of state.​

89.10 (b) The fee for filing the articles with the secretary of state is $60 $65.​

89.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 308B.215, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

89.12 Subd. 2. Filing. The original articles shall be filed with the secretary of state. The fee​
89.13 for filing the articles with the secretary of state is $60 $65.​

89.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 317A.151, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

89.15 Subd. 2. Effective date. Articles of incorporation are effective and corporate existence​
89.16 begins when the articles of incorporation are filed with the secretary of state accompanied​
89.17 by a payment of $70 $75, which includes a $35 $40 incorporation fee in addition to the $35​
89.18 filing fee required by section 317A.011, subdivision 8. Articles of amendment are effective​
89.19 when filed with the secretary of state or at another time within 31 days after filing if the​
89.20 articles of amendment so provide.​

89.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 321.0206, is amended to read:​

89.22 321.0206 DELIVERY TO AND FILING OF RECORDS BY SECRETARY OF​
89.23 STATE; EFFECTIVE TIME AND DATE.​

89.24 (a) A record authorized or required to be delivered to the secretary of state for filing​
89.25 under this chapter must be captioned to describe the record's purpose, be in a medium​
89.26 permitted by the secretary of state, and be delivered to the secretary of state. Unless the​
89.27 secretary of state determines that a record does not comply with the filing requirements of​
89.28 this chapter, and if the appropriate filing fees have been paid, the secretary of state shall​
89.29 file the record and:​

89.30 (1) for a statement of dissociation, send:​
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90.1 (A) a copy of the filed statement to the person which the statement indicates has​
90.2 dissociated as a general partner; and​

90.3 (B) a copy of the filed statement to the limited partnership;​

90.4 (2) for a statement of withdrawal, send:​

90.5 (A) a copy of the filed statement to the person on whose behalf the record was filed; and​

90.6 (B) if the statement refers to an existing limited partnership, a copy of the filed statement​
90.7 to the limited partnership; and​

90.8 (3) for all other records, send a copy of the filed record to the person on whose behalf​
90.9 the record was filed.​

90.10 (b) Upon request and payment of a fee, the secretary of state shall send to the requester​
90.11 a certified copy of the requested record.​

90.12 (c) Except as otherwise provided in sections 321.0116 and 321.0207, a record delivered​
90.13 to the secretary of state for filing under this chapter may specify an effective time and a​
90.14 delayed effective date. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a record filed by the​
90.15 secretary of state is effective:​

90.16 (1) if the record does not specify an effective time and does not specify a delayed effective​
90.17 date, on the date and at the time the record is filed as evidenced by the secretary of state's​
90.18 endorsement of the date and time on the record;​

90.19 (2) if the record specifies an effective time but not a delayed effective date, on the date​
90.20 the record is filed at the time specified in the record;​

90.21 (3) if the record specifies a delayed effective date but not an effective time, at 12:01​
90.22 a.m. on the earlier of:​

90.23 (A) the specified date; or​

90.24 (B) the 30th day after the record is filed; or​

90.25 (4) if the record specifies an effective time and a delayed effective date, at the specified​
90.26 time on the earlier of:​

90.27 (A) the specified date; or​

90.28 (B) the 30th day after the record is filed.​

90.29 (d) The appropriate fees for filings under this chapter are:​

90.30 (1) for filing a certificate of limited partnership, $100 $110;​

91.1 (2) for filing an amended certificate of limited partnership, $50;​

91.2 (3) for filing a name reservation for a limited partnership name, $35;​
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91.3 (4) for filing any other record, other than the annual renewal required by section 321.0210,​
91.4 for which no fee must be charged, required or permitted to be delivered for filing, $50;​

91.5 (5) for filing a certificate requesting authority to transact business in Minnesota as a​
91.6 foreign limited partnership, $100 $110;​

91.7 (6) for filing an application of reinstatement, $25;​

91.8 (7) for filing a name reservation for a foreign limited partnership name, $35; and​

91.9 (8) for filing any other record, other than the annual renewal required by section 321.0210,​
91.10 for which no fee must be charged, required or permitted to be delivered for filing on a​
91.11 foreign limited partnership authorized to transact business in Minnesota, $50.​

91.12 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 322C.0201, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

91.13 Subd. 4. Formation. (a) A limited liability company is formed when articles of​
91.14 organization have been filed with the secretary of state accompanied by a payment of $135​
91.15 $145.​

91.16 (b) Except in a proceeding by this state to dissolve a limited liability company, the filing​
91.17 of the articles of organization by the secretary of state is conclusive proof that the organizer​
91.18 satisfied all conditions to the formation of a limited liability company.​

91.19 (c) The formation of a limited liability company does not by itself cause any person to​
91.20 become a member. However, this chapter does not preclude an agreement, made before or​
91.21 after formation of a limited liability company, which provides that one or more persons will​
91.22 become members, or acknowledging that one or more persons became members, upon or​
91.23 otherwise in connection with the formation of the limited liability company.​

91.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 322C.0802, is amended to read:​

91.25 322C.0802 APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY.​

91.26 Before transacting business in this state, a foreign limited liability company shall obtain​
91.27 a certificate of authority to transact business in this state by filing an application with the​
91.28 secretary of state together with a total fee of $185 $195. The application must state:​

91.29 (1) the name of the company and any alternate name adopted pursuant to section​
91.30 322C.0805, subdivision 1;​

92.1 (2) the name of the state or other jurisdiction under whose law the company is formed;​

92.2 (3) a statement that the foreign limited liability company has complied with the​
92.3 organizational laws in the jurisdiction under whose laws the company is formed;​

92.4 (4) the street address of the company's principal place of business and, if the law of the​
92.5 jurisdiction under which the company is formed requires the company to maintain an office​
92.6 in that jurisdiction, the street address of the required office; and​
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92.7 (5) the name and street address of the company's initial registered office and agent for​
92.8 service of process in this state.​

92.9 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 323A.0101, is amended to read:​

92.10 323A.0101 DEFINITIONS.​

92.11 In this chapter:​

92.12 (1) "Business" includes every trade, occupation, and profession.​

92.13 (2) "Debtor in bankruptcy" means a person who is the subject of:​

92.14 (i) an order for relief under title 11 of the United States Code or a comparable order​
92.15 under a successor statute of general application; or​

92.16 (ii) a comparable order under federal, state, or foreign law governing insolvency.​

92.17 (3) "Distribution" means a transfer of money or other property from a partnership to a​
92.18 partner in the partner's capacity as a partner or to the partner's transferee.​

92.19 (4) "Executed" means signed.​

92.20 (5) "Filed" or "filed with the secretary of state" means that a document meeting the​
92.21 applicable requirements of this chapter, signed, and accompanied by a filing fee of $135​
92.22 $145, has been delivered to the secretary of state. The secretary of state shall endorse on​
92.23 the document the word "Filed" and the month, day, and year of filing; record the document​
92.24 in the Office of the Secretary of State; and return a document to the person who delivered​
92.25 it for filing.​

92.26 (6) "Foreign limited liability partnership" means a partnership that:​

92.27 (i) is formed under laws other than the laws of this state; and​

92.28 (ii) has the status of a limited liability partnership under those laws.​

93.1 (7) "Limited liability partnership" means a partnership that has filed a statement of​
93.2 qualification under section 323A.1001 and does not have a similar statement in effect in​
93.3 any other jurisdiction.​

93.4 (8) "Partnership" means an association of two or more persons to carry on as co-owners​
93.5 a business for profit, including a limited liability partnership, formed under section​
93.6 323A.0202, predecessor law, or comparable law of another jurisdiction.​

93.7 (9) "Partnership agreement" means the agreement, whether written, oral, or implied,​
93.8 among the partners concerning the partnership, including amendments to the partnership​
93.9 agreement.​

93.10 (10) "Partnership at will" means a partnership in which the partners have not agreed to​
93.11 remain partners until the expiration of a definite term or the completion of a particular​
93.12 undertaking.​
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93.13 (11) "Partnership interest" or "partner's interest in the partnership" means all of a partner's​
93.14 interests in the partnership, including the partner's transferable interest and all management​
93.15 and other rights.​

93.16 (12) "Person" means an individual, corporation, business trust, estate, trust, partnership,​
93.17 association, joint venture, government, governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality,​
93.18 or any other legal or commercial entity.​

93.19 (13) "Property" means all property, real, personal, or mixed, tangible or intangible, or​
93.20 any interest in property.​

93.21 (14) "Record," "recorded," and "recording" mean that a certified copy of a statement​
93.22 meeting the applicable requirements of this chapter as filed with the secretary of state has​
93.23 been recorded in the office of the county recorder in the county in which the real property​
93.24 affected by the statement is located or, if the real property is registered under chapter 508​
93.25 or 508A, memorialized on the certificate of title for that property.​

93.26 (15) "Signed" means that:​

93.27 (i) the signature of a person has been written on a document, as provided in section​
93.28 645.44, subdivision 14; and​

93.29 (ii) with respect to a document that may be filed with the secretary of state, the document​
93.30 has been signed by a person authorized to do so by this chapter, by the partnership agreement,​
93.31 or by a resolution approved as provided in the partnership agreement.​

94.1 A signature on a document may be a facsimile affixed, engraved, printed, placed, stamped​
94.2 with indelible ink, transmitted by facsimile or electronically, or in any other manner​
94.3 reproduced on the document.​

94.4 (16) "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the​
94.5 Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any territory or insular possession subject to the​
94.6 jurisdiction of the United States.​

94.7 (17) "Statement" means a statement of partnership authority under section 323A.0303,​
94.8 a statement of denial under section 323A.0304, a statement of dissociation under section​
94.9 323A.0704, a statement of dissolution under section 323A.0805, a statement of merger​
94.10 under section 323A.0907, a statement of qualification under section 323A.1001, a statement​
94.11 of foreign qualification under section 323A.1102, or an amendment or cancellation of any​
94.12 of the foregoing.​

94.13 (18) "Transfer" includes an assignment, conveyance, lease, mortgage, deed, and​
94.14 encumbrance.​
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