Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee

MINUTES

Representative Quam, Chair of the Elections Finance and Government Operations Committee, began the meeting at 12:59 PM, on March 17, 2025, in Room G23 of the State Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

QUAM, Duane, Chair
ALTENDORF, Pam, Vice Chair
ACOMB, Patty
COULTER, Nathan
DAVIS, Ben
GORDON, Jimmy (virtual)
GREENMAN, Emma
LEE, Liz
McDONALD, Joe
ROACH, Drew
VIRNIG, Bianca

Non-Voting member present:

FREIBERG, Mike

Chair Quam read the expectations and rules of the audience and committee.

Representative Altendorf moved the minutes of March 12, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF 1051 (ROBBINS) SACRED COMMUNITY REQUIREMENTS AMENDED, MUNICIPALITIES AUTHORIZED TO REGULATE AND ESTABLISH APPROVAL PROCESSES FOR SACRED COMMUNITIES, AND REMEDY ESTABLISHED FOR NONCOMPLIANCE.

Chair Quam moved HF1051 before the committee.

Representative Davis moved the A3 amendment. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**Representative Robbins noted that the amendment was not fully in the order she desired. Chair Quam wanted this on the record.

Testifiers:

Heidi Nelson, City Administrator, Maple Grove
Daniel Lightfoot, League of Minnesota Cities
Mickey Elfenbein, Chapel Wood HOA
Leah Patton, Executive Director, Joint Religious Legislative Coalition
Ricky Cambell, Settled
Michael Stetzler, Prince of Peace Lutheran Church
Meredith Campbell, Mosaic Christian Community
Laura Smith, Mossic
David Doren, Mossic
Mark McNeely, Mossic

Representative Freiberg objected to today's process of the committee and asked that it be noted in the minutes. Representative Freiberg asked to recess the committee and asked for a roll call. The results were:

AYES

Acomb, Patty Coulter, Nathan Greenman, Emma Lee, Liz Virnig, Bianca

NAYES

Quam, Duane Altendorf, Patty Davis, Ben Gordon, Jimmy McDonald, Joe Roach, Drew

With 5 AYES and 6 NAYES, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Representative Freiberg asked to adjourn the meeting and asked for a roll call. The results were:

AYES

Acomb, Patty Coulter, Nathan Greenman, Emma Lee, Liz Virnig, Bianca

NAYES

Quam, Duane Altendorf, Patty Davis, Ben Gordon, Jimmy McDonald, Joe Roach, Drew

With 5 AYES and 6 NAYES, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Chair Quam laid HF1051, as amended, over for possible inclusion in omnibus bill.

HF 16 (RYMER) IMMIGRATION LAW ENFORCEMENT NONCOOPERATION ORDINANCES AND POLICIES PROHIBITED, USE OF IMMIGRATION-RELATED DATA PROVIDED, AND COUNTY ATTORNEYS REQUIRED TO NOTIFY FEDERAL IMMIGRATION AUTHORITIES WHEN AN UNDOCUMENTED PERSON IS ARRESTED FOR A CRIME OF VIOLENCE.

Chair Quam moved HF 16 before the committee.

Chair Quam moved the A1 amendment.

Chair Quam requested a roll call on the amendment. The results were:

AYES

Quam, Duane Altendorf, Patty Davis, Ben Gordon, Jimmy McDonald, Joe Roach, Drew

NAYES

With 6 AYES, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifiers:

David Zimmer, Center of the American Experiment Mary Niedermeyer, North Star Alliance Kevin Huynh, MN8

_
_