
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 80 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 583.215, is amended to read:​

1.4 583.215 EXPIRATION.​

1.5 Sections 336.9-601, subsections (h) and (i); 550.365; 559.209; 582.039; and 583.20 to​

1.6 583.32, expire June 30, 2022 2027.​

1.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 583.26, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.8 Subd. 4. Mediation proceeding notice. (a) By ten days after receiving a mediation​

1.9 request, the director shall send: (1) a mediation proceeding notice to the debtor; (2) a​

1.10 mediation proceeding notice to all creditors listed by the debtor in the mediation request​

1.11 and any additional secured creditors identified by the director from the credit report obtained​

1.12 with the debtor's permission under subdivision 2; and (3) a claim form to all secured creditors​

1.13 stated by the debtor or identified by the director.​

1.14 (b) The mediation proceeding notice must state:​

1.15 (1) the name and address of the debtor;​

1.16 (2) that the debtor has requested mediation under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act;​

1.17 (3) the time and place for the orientation session;​

1.18 (4) the time and place for the initial mediation meeting;​

1.19 (5) a list of the names of three mediators that may be assigned to the proceeding, along​

1.20 with background information on those mediators including biographical information, a​

1.21 summary of previous mediation experience, and the number of agreements signed by parties​

1.22 to previous mediation;​
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2.1 (6) that the debtor and the initiating creditor may each request the director to exclude​

2.2 one mediator by notifying the director within three days after receiving the notice;​

2.3 (7) that in lieu of having a mediator assigned by the director, the debtor and any one or​

2.4 more of the creditors may agree to select and pay for a professional mediator that is approved​

2.5 by the director;​

2.6 (8) that the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act prohibits the creditor from beginning or​

2.7 continuing a proceeding to enforce the debt against agricultural property for 90 120 days​

2.8 after the debtor files a mediation request with the director unless otherwise allowed; and​

2.9 (9) that the creditor must provide the debtor by the initial mediation meeting with copies​

2.10 of notes and contracts for debts subject to the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act and provide a​

2.11 statement of interest rates on the debts, delinquent payments, unpaid principal and interest​

2.12 balances, the creditor's value of the collateral, and debt restructuring programs available by​

2.13 the creditor.​

2.14 (c) An initial mediation meeting must be held within 20 days of the notice.​

2.15 (d) The initiating creditor and the debtor may each request the director to exclude one​

2.16 mediator from the list by sending the director a notice to exclude the mediator within three​

2.17 days after receiving the mediation proceeding notice.​

2.18 (e) In lieu of the director assigning a mediator, the debtor and any one or more of the​

2.19 creditors may agree to select and pay for a professional mediator for the mediation​

2.20 proceeding. The director must approve the professional mediator before the professional​

2.21 mediator may be assigned to the mediation proceeding. The professional mediator may not​

2.22 be approved unless the professional mediator prepares and signs an affidavit:​

2.23 (1) disclosing any biases, relationships, or previous associations with the debtor or​

2.24 creditors subject to the mediation proceedings;​

2.25 (2) stating certifications, training, or qualifications as a professional mediator;​

2.26 (3) disclosing fees to be charged or a rate schedule of fees for the mediation proceeding;​

2.27 and​

2.28 (4) affirming to uphold the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act and faithfully discharge the​

2.29 duties of a mediator.​

2.30 (f) After receiving a mediation proceeding notice, a secured creditor must return a claim​

2.31 form if the debt is not subject to the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act and specify why the debt​

2.32 is not subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32.​
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3.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 583.26, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

3.2 Subd. 5. Effect of mediation proceeding notice. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs​

3.3 (b), (c), and (d), if a creditor receives a mediation proceeding notice under subdivision 4​

3.4 the creditor and the creditor's successors in interest may not begin or continue proceedings​

3.5 to enforce a debt subject to the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act against agricultural property​

3.6 of the debtor under chapter 580 or 581 or sections 336.9-501 to 336.9-508, to terminate a​

3.7 contract for deed to purchase agricultural property under section 559.21, or to garnish, levy​

3.8 on, execute on, seize, or attach agricultural property until 90 120 days after the date the​

3.9 debtor files a mediation request with the director.​

3.10 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), if a creditor is an agency of the United States​

3.11 and receives a mediation proceeding notice under subdivision 4, the creditor and the creditor's​

3.12 successors in interest may not begin or continue proceedings to enforce a debt against​

3.13 agricultural property of the debtor under chapter 580 or 581 or sections 336.9-501 to​

3.14 336.9-508, to terminate a contract for deed to purchase agricultural property under section​

3.15 559.21, or to garnish, levy on, execute on, seize, or attach agricultural property until 90 120​

3.16 days after the date the debtor files a mediation request with the director.​

3.17 (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b) or subdivision 1, a creditor receiving a​

3.18 mediation proceeding notice may begin proceedings to enforce a debt against agricultural​

3.19 property of the debtor:​

3.20 (1) at the time the creditor receives a mediator's affidavit of the debtor's lack of good​

3.21 faith under section 583.27; or​

3.22 (2) five days after the date the debtor and creditor sign an agreement allowing the creditor​

3.23 to proceed to enforce the debt against agricultural property if the debtor has not rescinded​

3.24 the agreement within the five days.​

3.25 (d) A creditor receiving a mediation proceeding notice must provide the debtor by the​

3.26 initial mediation meeting with copies of notes and contracts for debts subject to the​

3.27 Farmer-Lender Mediation Act and provide a statement of interest rates on the debts,​

3.28 delinquent payments, unpaid principal balance, a list of all collateral securing debts, a​

3.29 creditor's estimate of the value of the collateral, and debt restructuring programs available​

3.30 by the creditor.​

3.31 (e) The provisions of this subdivision are subject to section 583.27, relating to extension​

3.32 or reduction in the period before a creditor may begin to enforce a debt and court-supervised​

3.33 mediation.​
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4.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 583.26, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

4.2 Subd. 8. Mediation period. The mediator may call mediation meetings during the​

4.3 mediation period, which is up to 60 90 days after the initial mediation meeting.​

4.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 583.27, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

4.5 Subd. 3. Creditor's bad faith; court supervision. If the mediator finds the creditor has​

4.6 not participated in mediation in good faith, the debtor may require court supervised mandatory​

4.7 mediation by filing the affidavit with the district court of the county of the debtor's residence​

4.8 with a request for court supervision of mediation and serving a copy of the request on the​

4.9 creditor. Upon request the court shall require both parties to mediate under the supervision​

4.10 of the court in good faith for a period of not more than 60 90 days. All creditor remedies​

4.11 must be suspended during this period. The court may issue orders necessary to effect good​

4.12 faith mediation. Following the mediation period, if the court finds the creditor has not​

4.13 participated in mediation in good faith, the court shall by order suspend the creditor's​

4.14 remedies for an additional period of 180 days. A creditor found by the mediator not to have​

4.15 participated in good faith shall pay attorneys' fees and costs of the debtor requesting​

4.16 court-supervision of mediation or additional suspension of creditor's remedies.​

4.17 Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

4.18 This act is effective the day following final enactment and applies to mediation​

4.19 proceedings in progress on that date and mediation proceedings beginning after that date."​

4.20 Delete the title and insert:​

4.21 "A bill for an act​

4.22 relating to agriculture; extending the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act; increasing​
4.23 the period of time that creditors cannot enforce eligible debts; increasing the​
4.24 mediation period; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 583.215; 583.26,​
4.25 subdivisions 4, 5, 8; 583.27, subdivision 3."​

4​Sec. 6.​

HOUSE RESEARCH CS/JF H0080DE1​02/16/21 09:42 am ​


	Section 1
	Sec. 2
	Sec. 3
	Sec. 4
	Sec. 5
	Sec. 6

