CAPITAL INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Fue Lee, Chair of the Capital Investment Committee, called the remote meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on April 14, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

LEE, Fue (Chair)

MURPHY, Mary (Vice Chair)

URDAHL, Dean (Lead)

AGBAJE, Esther

BERG, Kaela

DAVIDS, Greg

FRANKE, Keith

FREIBERG, Mike

HANSEN, Rick

HUOT, John

LUCERO, Eric

PIERSON, Nels

RALEIGH, Donald

RASMUSSON, Jordan

REYER, Liz

WEST, Nolan

XIONG, Jay

Members excused:

LILLIE, Leon

MORAN, Rena

A quorum was present.

Representative Murphy moved to approve the minutes from April 12, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF337 (Lee); Capital improvement projects prior appropriations amended, and housing pool bonding authority 2020 allocation application deposits refunded to bond issuers.

Testifying on the A21-0158 amendment:

- -John Jaschke, Executive Director, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
- -Steve Horsfield, Executive Director, Simpson Housing Services
- -Steve Grove, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
- -Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget
- -Sarah Strommen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- -Brian Yolitz, Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities, Minnesota State
- -Diane Larson, Executive Director, Itasca County and Grand Rapids Housing and Redevelopment Authority
- -Holly Henning, Residential Director, Ain Dah Yung Center
- -Rhonda Otteson, Executive Director, Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless
- -Alan Arthur, President and CEO, Aeon
- -Margaret Donahoe, Executive Director, Minnesota Transportation Alliance
- -Richard Biske, Freshwater Program Director, The Nature Conservancy
- -Charlie Vander Aarde, Government Relations Specialist, Metro Cities
- -Larry Herke, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs
- -Paul Schnell, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Corrections
- -Jennifer Ho, Commissioner, Minnesota Housing Finance Agency -Chuck Johnson, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services
- -Derrick James, Midwest Senior Manager of Government Affairs, Amtrak
- -Dorian Grilley, Executive Director, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota
- -Elizabeth Wefel, Senior Attorney and Lobbyist, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities
- -Mike Berthelsen, Vice President for University Services, University of Minnesota

- -Emma Nelson, Student, University of Minnesota Duluth
- -Pete Aube, Chair, Minnesota Forest Resources Council

Vice Chair Murphy assumed the gavel at 2:00 P.M.

Testifying on the A21-0158 amendment:

- -Adam Duininck, Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- -Swopnil Shrestha, Minnesota Council of Nonprofits and the Racial Equity & Joy Coalition
- -Chris Conry, Campaign Director, 100% Campaign
- -John Thorson, Legislative Director and Political Coordinator, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota
- -Suzanne Sobotka, Policy and Research Director, Move Minnesota
- -Jeff Stollenwerk, Director of Government and Environmental Affairs, Duluth Seaway Port Authority
- -Trista MatasCastillo, District 3 Commissioner, Ramsey County

Tl

he meeting was adjourned at 2:19 P.M.	
	Representative Fue Lee, Chair
	Joe Lenczewski, Committee Legislative Assistant