Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on February 20, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

Representative Sexton moved the minutes of February 18, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

H845 (Baker) Net energy metering provisions modification.

Representative Baker moved HF845 be referred to the General Register.

Representative Baker moved to adopt the A1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

The following individuals testified on HF845:

Justin Jahnz, East Central Energy

Ron Meier, McLeod Cooperative Power

Assistant Commissioner Lissa Pawlisch, Department of Commerce

George Damain, Clean Energy Economy MN

Paul Kreidermacher, MinnSolar Inc.

Jenny Warmuth, Rewiring America

Bill Black, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association

Buff Grace, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light

Gabe Chan, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

Sarah Mooradian, CURE Legislative Director

Bobby King, Solar United Neighbors MN State Director

Patty O'Keefe, Vote Solar

Bob Blake, Solar Bear

Kim Benjamin, MN Solar

Erick Sipila, Sisu Solar

Marty Morud, TruNorth Solar Owner

Micah Johnson, Solar Connection

Alex Gast, Cedar Creek Energy CEO

Cynthia Bennett, Wolf River Electric
Casey Creech, Everlight Solar Co-founder
Griffin Dooling, Blue Horizon Energy CEO
Logan O'Grady, MnSEIA
Doug Nopar, Member of an Energy Co-operative
Simon Eddy, Wolf Track Energy Sales Consultant
Michael Overend Solar Home, Owner
Kay Slama, Sierra Club, Volunteer North Star Chapter

Representative Baker renewed the motion that HF845 be referred to the General Register **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

NAYS:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 2:48 PM.

Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair
Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistar