PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

MINUTES

Representative Youakim, Chair of the Property Tax Division, called the remote meeting to order at 3:01 P.M. on February 3, 2021, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair)
GOMEZ, Aisha (Vice-Chair)
HERTAUS, Jerry (GOP-Lead)
ANDERSON, Paul
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
FISCHER, Peter
HASSAN, Hodan
MARQUART, Paul
MORTENSEN, Erik
PELOWSKI, Gene
TORKELSON, Paul

Members Excused: GREEN, Steve

A quorum was present.

Vice-Chair Gomez moved the approval of the January 27, 2021 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 195 (Dettmer) Homestead related deadlines modified

Representative Anderson moved that HF 195 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Property Tax Division Report.

Representative Dettmer presented the bill.

Public Testimony:

Neil Doyle, Hennepin County Director of Veterans Services Leah Hart, Hennepin County Assessor's Office

Representative Anderson renewed his motion that HF 195 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Property Tax Division Report.

HF 180 (Sundin) Carlton and Pine Counties; soil and water conservation district levy authority authorized

Representative Gomez moved that HF 180 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Property Tax Division Report.

Representative Sundin presented the bill.

Public Testimony:

Russell Kurhajetz, Carlton County Soil and Water Conservation District Pierre Willette, Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Representative Gomez renewed her motion that HF 180 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Property Tax Division Report.

Overview of Property Assessment in Minnesota

Mark Peterson, Minnesota Association of Assessing Officers

The committee adjourned at 4:26 P.M

Represer	Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair		
Eric Doto	ersen Committe	e Legislative Ass	