03/13/25 10:20 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H1686A1

1.2	Page 2, delete section 2, and insert:
1.3	"Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.3361, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 2. Required contents. (a) The rules adopted by the board must require include
1.5	the requirements established in paragraphs (b) through (f).
1.6	(b) Personnel hired on a part-time basis to provide event security must complete:
1.7	(1) 12 hours of <u>in-person</u> preassignment or on-the-job certified training within the first
1.8	21 days of employment, or evidence that the employee has successfully completed equivalent
1.9	training before the start of employment; and
1.10	(2) six hours a year of in-person certified continuing training.
1.11	(c) Personnel hired to provide regularly scheduled security work must complete:
1.12	(1) 40 hours of in-person preassignment or on-the-job certified training within the first
1.13	21 days of employment, or evidence that the employee has successfully completed equivalent
1.14	training before the start of employment; and
1.15	(2) 24 hours a year of in-person certified continuing training.
1.16	(d) Individuals who are armed with firearms or armed with weapons must complete an
1.17	additional six hours a year of in-person training beyond what is required in paragraphs (a)
1.18	and (b), which must include annual certification of the individual.
1.19	(e) An individual may not carry or use a weapon while undergoing on-the-job training
1.20	under this subdivision.

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1686 as follows:

1.1

Sec. 2.

03/13/25 10:20 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H1686A1

(f) Board certification of completion of certified training is required for a license holder, qualified representative, Minnesota manager, partner, and employee to carry or use a firearm, a weapon other than a firearm, or an immobilizing or restraint technique.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

- (g) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, this clause is paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) are satisfied if the employee provides a prospective employer with a certificate or a copy of a certificate demonstrating that the employee successfully completed this the required training prior to employment with a different Minnesota licensee and completed this the required training within three previous calendar years, or successfully completed this the required training with a Minnesota licensee while previously employed with a Minnesota licensee. The
- (h) A certificate of completion of training that is required under this section, or a copy of the certificate, is the property of the employee who completed the training, regardless of who paid for the training or how training was provided. Upon a current or former employee's request, a current or former licensed employer must provide a copy of a certificate demonstrating the employee's successful completion of training to the current or former employee. The current or former licensed employer must not charge the employee a fee for a copy of the certificate. The employee who completed the training is entitled to access a copy of the certificate at no charge according to sections 181.960 to 181.966. A current or former employer must comply with sections 181.960 to 181.966.
- (i) For purposes of this section, "in-person" requires both the person receiving the training and the trainer to be in-person at the same location. Training offered by video, computer, self-study, or phone instruction does not satisfy the in-person requirement.
- (2) certification by the board of completion of certified training for a license holder, qualified representative, Minnesota manager, partner, and employee to carry or use a firearm, a weapon other than a firearm, or an immobilizing or restraint technique; and
- (3) six hours a year of certified continuing training for all license holders, qualified representatives, Minnesota managers, partners, and employees, and an additional six hours a year for individuals who are armed with firearms or armed with weapons, which must include annual certification of the individual.
- 2.30 An individual may not carry or use a weapon while undergoing on-the-job training under
 2.31 this subdivision."

Sec. 2. 2