1.1 moves to amend H.F. No. 1683, the first engrossment, as follows:

- 1.2 Page 2, line 21, delete "435,090,000" and insert "430,534,000"
- 1.3 Page 2, line 26, delete "239,875,000" and insert "235,319,000"
- 1.4 Page 5, line 21, delete "<u>216,019,000</u>" and insert "<u>211,463,000</u>"
- 1.5 Page 11, line 10, delete "<u>8,102,000</u>" and insert "<u>8,182,000</u>"
- 1.6 Page 11, line 14, delete "<u>2,397,000</u>" and insert "<u>2,477,000</u>"
- 1.7 Page 12, line 13, delete "2,206,000" and insert "2,286,000"
- 1.8 Page 13, after line 24, insert:
- 1.9 "\$80,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for card vendor
- 1.10 costs to implement the requirements under
- 1.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 171.301. This is
- 1.12 <u>a onetime appropriation.</u>"
- 1.13 Page 15, after line 2, insert:

1.14 "Sec. 5. <u>TRANSFERS; REINSTATEMENT FEE AND SURCHARGE FOREGONE</u> 1.15 REVENUE.

- 1.16 (a) Each of the following are transferred in fiscal year 2023 from the vehicle services
- 1.17 operating account in the special revenue fund to the commissioner of public safety:
- 1.18 (1) \$303,000 for deposit in the general fund;
- 1.19 (2) \$36,000 for deposit in the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension account under Minnesota
- 1.20 Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b);
- 1.21 (3) \$23,000 for deposit in the vehicle forfeiture account in the special revenue fund
- 1.22 under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b);

04/19/22 03:47 pm

2.1	(4) \$90,000 for deposit in the traumatic brain injury and spinal cord injury account under
2.2	Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (c); and
2.3	(5) \$684,000 for deposit in the remote electronic alcohol-monitoring program account
2.4	under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (d).
2.5	(b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (d),
2.6	until July 1, 2025, the amount deposited under paragraph (a), clause (5), is not subject to
2.7	transfer to the general fund."
2.8	Page 45, after line 24, insert:
2.9	"Sec. 37. [171.301] REINTEGRATION LICENSE.
2.10	Subdivision 1. Conditions of issuance. (a) The commissioner may issue a reintegration
2.11	driver's license to any person:
2.12	(1) who is age 18 or older;
2.13	(2) who has been released from a period of at least 180 consecutive days of confinement
2.14	or incarceration in:
2.15	(i) an adult correctional facility under the control of the commissioner of corrections or
2.16	licensed by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021;
2.17	(ii) a federal correctional facility for adults; or
2.18	(iii) an adult correctional facility operated under the control or supervision of any other
2.19	state; and
2.20	(3) whose license has been suspended or revoked under the circumstances listed in
2.21	section 171.30, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), for a violation that occurred
2.22	before the individual was incarcerated for the period described in clause (1).
2.23	(b) If the person's driver's license or permit to drive has been revoked under section
2.24	169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner may only issue a reintegration driver's license to the
2.25	person after the person has presented an insurance identification card, policy, or written
2.26	statement indicating that the driver or owner has insurance coverage satisfactory to the
2.27	commissioner.
2.28	(c) If the person's driver's license or permit to drive has been suspended under section
2.29	171.186, the commissioner may only issue a reintegration driver's license to the person after
2.30	the commissioner receives notice or a court order provided pursuant to section 518A.65,

2

04/19/22 03:47 pm

3.1	paragraph (e), showing that the person's driver's license or operating privileges should no
3.2	longer be suspended.
3.3	(d) If the person's driver's license has been revoked under section 171.17, subdivision
3.4	1, paragraph (a), clause (1), the commissioner may only issue a reintegration driver's license
3.5	to the person after the person has completed the applicable revocation period.
3.6	(e) The commissioner must not issue a reintegration driver's license:
3.7	(1) to any person described in section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (7), (8), (10), or
3.8	<u>(11);</u>
3.9	(2) to any person described in section 169A.55, subdivision 5;
3.10	(3) if the person has committed a violation after the person was released from custody
3.11	that results in the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of a driver's license, including
3.12	suspension for nonpayment of child support or maintenance payments as described in section
3.13	<u>171.186, subdivision 1; or</u>
3.14	(4) if the issuance would conflict with the requirements of the nonresident violator
3.15	compact.
3.16	(f) The commissioner must not issue a class A, class B, or class C reintegration driver's
3.17	license.
3.18	Subd. 2. Application. (a) Application for a reintegration driver's license must be made
3.19	in the form and manner approved by the commissioner.
3.20	(b) A person seeking a reintegration driver's license who was released from confinement
3.21	or incarceration on or after April 1, 2023, must apply for the license within one year of
3.22	release. A person seeking a reintegration driver's license who was released from confinement
3.23	or incarceration before April 1, 2023, must apply for the license by April 1, 2024.
3.24	Subd. 3. Fees prohibited. (a) For a reintegration driver's license under this section:
3.25	(1) the commissioner must not impose:
3.26	(i) a fee, surcharge, or filing fee under section 171.06, subdivision 2; and
3.27	(ii) an endorsement fee under section 171.06, subdivision 2a; and
3.28	(2) a driver's license agent must not impose a filing fee under section 171.061, subdivision
3.29	<u>4.</u>
3.30	(b) Issuance of a reintegration driver's license does not forgive or otherwise discharge
3.31	any unpaid fees or fines.

Sec. 37.

3

04/19/22 03:47 pm

4.1	Subd. 4. Cancellation of license. (a) The commissioner must cancel the reintegration
4.2	driver's license of any person who commits a violation that would result in the suspension,
4.3	revocation, or cancellation of a driver's license, including suspension for nonpayment of
4.4	child support or maintenance payments as described in section 171.186, subdivision 1. The
4.5	commissioner must not cancel a reintegration driver's license for payment of a fine or
4.6	resolution of a criminal charge if the underlying incident occurred before the reintegration
4.7	driver's license was issued, unless the conviction would have made the person ineligible to
4.8	receive a reintegration driver's license. Except as described in paragraph (b), a person whose
4.9	reintegration driver's license is canceled under this subdivision may not be issued another
4.10	reintegration driver's license and may not operate a motor vehicle for the remainder of the
4.11	period of suspension or revocation, or 30 days, whichever is longer.
4.12	(b) A person whose reintegration driver's license is canceled under paragraph (a) may
4.13	apply for a new reintegration driver's license if the person is incarcerated or confined for a
4.14	period of at least 180 consecutive days after the cancellation and the person meets the
4.15	conditions described in subdivision 1.
4.16	(c) Nothing in this section prohibits cancellation and reinstatement of a reintegration
4.17	driver's license for any other reason described in section 171.14 provided any factor making
4.18	the person not eligible for a driver's license under section 171.04 occurred or became known
4.19	to the commissioner after issuance of the reintegration driver's license.
4.20	Subd. 5. Expiration. A reintegration driver's license expires 15 months from the date
4.21	of issuance of the license. A reintegration driver's license may not be renewed.
4.22	Subd. 6. Issuance of regular driver's license. (a) Notwithstanding any statute or rule
4.23	to the contrary, the commissioner must issue a REAL ID compliant or noncompliant license
4.24	to a person who possesses a reintegration driver's license if:
4.25	(1) the person has possessed the reintegration driver's license for at least one full year;
4.26	(2) the reintegration driver's license has not been canceled under subdivision 4 and has
4.27	not expired under subdivision 5;
4.28	(3) the person meets the application requirements under section 171.06, including payment
4.29	of the applicable fees, surcharge, and filing fee under sections 171.06, subdivisions 2 and
4.30	2a, and 171.061, subdivision 4; and
4.31	(4) issuance of the license does not conflict with the requirements of the nonresident
4.32	violator compact.

4

5.1	(b) The commissioner must forgive any outstanding balance due on a fee or surcharge
5.2	under section 171.29, subdivision 2, for a person who is eligible and applies for a license
5.3	under paragraph (a).
5.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April 1, 2023."
5.5	Page 46, line 7, reinstate the stricken language and insert a comma and after "revoked"
5.6	insert a comma
5.7	Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

5.8 Amend the title accordingly