STATE OF MINNESOTA FOURTEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on February 25th, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter **GREEN**, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan

EXCUSED:

THEIS, Tama

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. A quorum was present.

Rep. Ecklund moved that the minutes from February 23rd, 2021 be approved. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF990 (MARQUART) Soil and water district supervisor compensation increased.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF990 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill

Rep. Marquart presented the bill.

Rep. Hansen renewed the motion that HF990 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill, and the bill was laid over.

Testifiers: Sheila Vanney, Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Rep. Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 1:07 P.M.

HF1255 (HANSEN) Electric cogeneration activity power purchase agreement authorized.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF1255 be recommended to be re-referred to the Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee.

Rep. Hansen presented the bill.

Rep. Hansen renewed his motion that HF1255 be recommended to be re-referred to the Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter **GREEN**, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan

EXCUSED:

JORDAN, Sydney LEE, Fue THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 16 Ayes and 3 Excused the MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifiers: Ken Smith, President/CEO Evergreen Energy Rick Evans, Xcel Energy Forrest Cyr, MN Landscape Association

HF1237 (HANSEN) Environmental priority qualified facility provisions modified, property interest acquisition authority modified, contaminant information request authorized, perfluorochemicals designated as hazardous substance, and electronic waste provisions modified.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF1237 be recommended to be re-referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Rep. Hanson moved H1237A1 to amend HF1237, and the amendment was ADOPTED.

Rep. Hansen presented the bill.

Rep. Hansen renewed his motion that HF1237, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) ACOMB, Patty BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)

AKLAND, Susan BACKER,Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan

EXCUSED:

THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 11 Ayes, 7 Nays, and 1 excused the MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifiers: Greta Gauthier, Assistant Commissioner MN Pollution Control Agency Tony Kwilas, MN Chamber of Commerce Brian Martinson, Association of MN Counties Craig Johnson, League of MN Cities Kirk Koudelka, MPCA Katrina Kessler, MPCA

Rep. Hansen resumed the gavel at 2:19 P.M.

HF1426 (JORDAN) Carpet stewardship program established.

Rep. Jordan moved that HF1426 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Jordan moved A21-0042 to amend HF1426, and the MOTION PREVAILED

Rep. Jordan renewed the motion that HF1426, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill, and the bill was laid over.

Testifiers:

Doug Mancosh, CEO RISE Technology Mankato Steve Thomas, Better Futures MN Jenn Stowe, Carpet and Rug Institute Brian Martinson, Association of MN Counties Victoria Reinhardt, Commissioner Ramsey County

Rep. Hansen adjourned the meeting at 2:34 P.M.

Rick Hansen Chair of Environment Finance and Policy

> Adam Kopel Committee Legislative Assistant