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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 5242, in conference, as follows:
Page ..., after line..., insert:
"ARTICLE 18
TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANIES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.472, is amended to read:

65B.472 TRANSPORTATION NETWORK FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) Unless a different meaning is expressly made applicable,

the terms defined in paragraphs (b) through ¢g) (p) have the meanings given them for the
purposes of this ehapter section.

(b) A "Digital network" means any online-enabled application, software, website, or
system offered or utilized by a transportation network company that enables the

prearrangement of rides with transportation network company drivers.

(c) "Disability and income loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,

subdivision 3, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period

of 130 weeks after the injury.

(d) "P1," "P2," and "P3" have the meanings given in section 181C.01, subdivision 4.

(e) "Funeral and burial expenses" has the meaning given in section 65B.44, subdivision

4.

(f) "Medical expense benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44, subdivision 2,

except that payment for rehabilitative services is only required when the services are

medically necessary.

(g) "Personal injury" means a physical injury or mental impairment arising out of a

physical injury in the course of a prearranged ride. A personal injury is only covered if the

Article 18 Section 1. 1
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injury occurs to a driver during P2 or P3, except as provided under subdivision 2, paragraph

(d). A personal injury claimant is subject to the requirements of section 65B.56.

te)A (h) "Personal vehicle" means a vehicle that is used by a transpertation-network

eempany TNC driver in connection with providing a prearranged ride and is:

(1) owned, leased, or otherwise authorized for use by the transpertationnetwork-company

driver; and

(2) not a taxicab, limousine, for-hire vehicle, or a private passenger vehicle driven by a

volunteer driver.

t)-A (i) "Prearranged ride" means the provision of transportation by a driver to a rider,
beginning when a driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital network
controlled by a transportation network company, continuing while the driver transports a
requesting rider, and ending when the last requesting rider departs from the personal vehicle.
A prearranged ride does not include transportation provided using a taxicab, limousine, or

other for-hire vehicle.

(j) "Replacement services loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,

subdivision 5, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period

of 130 weeks after the injury.

(k) "Survivors economic loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,

subdivision 6, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period

of 130 weeks after death.

() "Survivors replacement services loss benefits" has the meaning given in section

65B.44, subdivision 7, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time

period of 130 weeks after death.

{e)A (m) "Transportation network company" or "TNC" means a corporation, partnership,
sole proprietorship, or other entity that is operating in Minnesota that uses a digital network
to connect transportation network company riders to transportation network company drivers

who provide prearranged rides.

D4 (n) "Transportation network company driver," "TNC driver," or "driver" means

an individual who:

(1) receives connections to potential riders and related services from a transportation
network company in exchange for payment of a fee to the transportation network company;

and

Article 18 Section 1. 2
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(2) uses a personal vehicle to provide a prearranged ride to riders upon connection
through a digital network controlled by a transportation network company in return for

compensation or payment of a fee.

t8)A (o) "Transportation network company rider," "TNC rider," or "rider" means an
individual or persons who use a transportation network company's digital network to connect
with a transportation network driver who provides prearranged rides to the rider in the

driver's personal vehicle between points chosen by the rider.

A (p) "Volunteer driver" means an individual who transports persons or goods on
behalf of a nonprofit entity or governmental unit in a private passenger vehicle and receives

no compensation for services provided other than the reimbursement of actual expenses.

Subd. 2. Maintenance of transportation network financial responsibility. (a) A
transportation network company driver or transportation network company on the driver's
behalf shall maintain primary automobile insurance that recognizes that the driver is a
transportation network company driver or otherwise uses a vehicle to transport passengers

for compensation and covers the driver: during P1, P2, and P3.

(b) During P1, the following automobile insurance requirements apply while-a

(1) primary coverage insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for

injury and property damage, including the requirements of section 65B.49, subdivision 3,
in the amount of not less than $50,000 because of death or bodily injury to one person in
any accident, $100,000 because of death or bodily injury to two or more persons in any

accident, and $30,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident;

(2) security for the payment of basic economic loss benefits where required by section
65B.44 pursuant to the priority requirements of section 65B.47. A transportation network
company and a transpertationnetwork-eempany driver, during the period set forth in this
paragraph, are deemed to be in the business of transporting persons for purposes of section
65B.47, subdivision 1, and the insurance required under this subdivision shall be deemed

to cover the vehicle during the period set forth in this paragraph;

Article 18 Section 1. 3
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(3) primary uninsured motorist coverage and primary underinsured motorist coverage

where required by section 65B.49, subdivisions 3a and 4a; and
(4) the coverage requirements of this subdivision may be satisfied by any of the following:
(1) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company driver;
(i1) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company; or
(111) any combination of items (i) and (ii).

(c) During P2 and P3, the following automobile insurance requirements apply while-a

(1) primary coverage insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for
injury and property damage, including the requirements of section 65B.49, in the amount

of not less than $1,500,000 for death, injury, or destruction of property of others;

(2) security for the payment of basic economic loss benefits where required by section
65B.44 pursuant to the priority requirements of section 65B.47. A transportation network
company and a transportation network company driver, during the period set forth in this
paragraph, are deemed to be in the business of transporting persons for purposes of section
65B.47, subdivision 1, and the insurance required under this subdivision shall be deemed

to cover the vehicle during the period set forth in this paragraph;

(3) primary uninsured motorist coverage and primary underinsured motorist coverage

where required by section 65B.49, subdivisions 3a and 4a; and
(4) the coverage requirements of this subdivision may be satisfied by any of the following:
(1) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company driver;
(i1) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company; or
(111) any combination of items (i) and (ii).

(d) During P2 and P3, a TNC must maintain insurance on behalf of, and at no cost to,

the driver that provides reimbursement for all loss suffered through personal injury arising

from the driver's work for the TNC that is not otherwise covered by the insurance required

under paragraphs (b) and (c¢). The TNC may purchase the insurance coverage using a portion

of the fare or fee paid by the rider or riders. A driver shall not be charged by the TNC or

have their compensation lowered because of the insurance. The insurance coverage must

be in the amount of not less than $1,000,000 per incident due to personal injury and include

the following types of coverage: medical expense benefits, disability and income loss

benefits, funeral and burial expenses, replacement services loss benefits, survivors economic

Article 18 Section 1. 4
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loss benefits, and survivors replacement services loss benefits. Insurance coverage under

this paragraph includes personal injury sustained while at the drop-off location immediately

following the conclusion of a prearranged ride.

(e) Any insurer authorized to write accident and sickness insurance in this state have

the power to issue the blanket accident and sickness policy described in paragraph (d).

(f) A policy of blanket accident and sickness insurance as described in paragraph (d)

must include in substance the provisions required for individual policies that are applicable

to blanket accident and sickness insurance and the following provisions:

(1) a provision that the policy and the application of the policyholder constitutes the

entire contract between the parties, and that, in the absence of fraud, all statements made

by the policyholder are deemed representations and not warranties, and that a statement

made for the purpose of affecting insurance does not avoid insurance or reduce benefits

unless the statement is contained in a written instrument signed by the policyholder, a copy

of which has been furnished to such policyholder; and

(2) a provision that to the group or class originally insured be added from time to time

all new persons eligible for coverage.

(g) If an injury is covered by blanket accident and sickness insurance maintained by

more than one TNC, the insurer of the TNC against whom a claim is filed is entitled to

contribution for the pro rata share of coverage attributable to one or more other TNCs up

to the coverages and limits in paragraph (d).

(h) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, amounts paid or payable under the coverages

required by section 65B.49, subdivisions 3a and 4a, shall be reduced by the total amount

of benefits paid or payable under insurance provided pursuant to paragraph (d).

&) (1) If insurance maintained by the driver in paragraph (b) or (c) has lapsed or does
not provide the required coverage, insurance maintained by a transportation network company
shall provide the coverage required by this subdivision beginning with the first dollar of a

claim and have the duty to defend the claim.

te) (j) Coverage under an automobile insurance policy maintained by the transportation
network company shall not be dependent on a personal automobile insurer first denying a

claim nor shall a personal automobile insurance policy be required to first deny a claim.

D (k) Insurance required by this subdivision must satisfy the requirements of chapter

60A.

Article 18 Section 1. 5
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&) (D) Insurance satisfying the requirements of this subdivision shall be deemed to satisfy
the financial responsibility requirements under the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance

Act, sections 65B.41 to 65B.71.

k) (m) A transportation network company driver shall carry proof of coverage satisfying
paragraphs (b) and (c) at all times during the driver's use of a vehicle in connection with a
transportation network company's digital network. In the event of an accident, a transportation
network company driver shall provide this insurance coverage information to the directly
interested parties, automobile insurers, and investigating police officers upon request pursuant
to section 65B.482, subdivision 1. Upon such request, a transportation network company
driver shall also disclose to directly interested parties, automobile insurers, and investigating
police officers whether the driver was logged on to the transportation network company's

digital network or on a prearranged ride at the time of an accident.

Subd. 3. Disclosure to transportation network company drivers. The transportation
network company shall disclose in writing to transportation network company drivers the
following before they are allowed to accept a request for a prearranged ride on the

transportation network company's digital network:

(1) the insurance coverage, including the types of coverage and the limits for each

coverage under subdivision 2, paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), that the transportation network

company provides while the transportation network company driver uses a personal vehicle

in connection with a transportation network company's digital network;

(2) that the transportation network company driver's own automobile insurance policy
might not provide any coverage while the driver is logged on to the transportation network
company's digital network and is available to receive transportation requests or is engaged

in a prearranged ride depending on its terms; and

(3) that using a vehicle with a lien against the vehicle to provide transpertationnetwork

serviees prearranged rides may violate the transportation network driver's contract with the

lienholder.

Subd. 4. Automobile insurance provisions. (a) Insurers that write automobile insurance
in Minnesota may exclude any and all coverage afforded under the owner's insurance policy
for any loss or injury that occurs while-a-driverislogged-onto-a-transportationnetwork

s's-digd i i i d-ride during P1, P2, and

P3. This right to exclude all coverage may apply to any coverage included in an automobile

insurance policy including, but not limited to:

(1) liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage;

Article 18 Section 1. 6
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(2) uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage;

(3) basic economic loss benefits as defined under section 65B.44;
(4) medical payments coverage;

(5) comprehensive physical damage coverage; and

(6) collision physical damage coverage.

These exclusions apply notwithstanding any requirement under the Minnesota No-Fault
Automobile Insurance Act, sections 65B.41 to 65B.71. Nothing in this section implies or

requires that a personal automobile insurance policy provide coverage while-the-driveris

passengersfor-eompensation during P1, P2, or P3, or while the driver otherwise uses a

vehicle to transport passengers for compensation.

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to preclude an insurer from providing coverage
for the transportation network company driver's vehicle, if it so chooses to do so by contract

or endorsement.

(b) Automobile insurers that exclude coverage as permitted in paragraph (a) shall have
no duty to defend or indemnify any claim expressly excluded thereunder. Nothing in this
section shall be deemed to invalidate or limit an exclusion contained in a policy, including
any policy in use or approved for use in Minnesota prior to May 19, 2015, that excludes
coverage for vehicles used to carry persons or property for a charge or available for hire by

the public.

(c) An automobile insurer that defends or indemnifies a claim against a driver that is
excluded under the terms of its policy as permitted in paragraph (a) shall have a right of
contribution against other insurers that provide automobile insurance to the same driver in

satisfaction of the coverage requirements of subdivision 2 at the time of loss.

(d) In a claims coverage investigation, transportation network companies and any insurer
potentially providing coverage under subdivision 2 shall cooperate to facilitate the exchange
of relevant information with directly involved parties and any insurer of the transportation
network company driver if applicable, including the precise times that a transportation
network company driver logged on and off of the transportation network company's digital
network in the 12-hour period immediately preceding and in the 12-hour period immediately

following the accident and disclose to one another a clear description of the coverage,

Article 18 Section 1. 7
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exclusions, and limits provided under any automobile insurance maintained under subdivision

2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 2. [181C.01] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section

have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Deactivation. "Deactivation" means a TNC blocking a driver's access to a

digital network, suspending a driver, or changing a driver's status from eligible to ineligible

to provide prearranged rides for a TNC for more than 24 hours, or more than 72 hours when

the TNC must investigate a claim against a driver. Deactivation does not include a driver's

loss of access to the digital network that is contingent on a driver's compliance with licensing,

insurance, or regulatory requirements or that can be resolved through unilateral action by

the driver. For the purposes of this chapter, "prearranged ride" has the meaning given in

section 65B.472, subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Digital network. "Digital network" has the meaning given in section 65B.472,

subdivision 1.

Subd. 4. Driver time periods. "Driver time periods" are divided into three exclusive

segments which have the following meanings:

(1) "period 1" or "P1" means the time when a driver is logged into a TNC application,

but has not accepted a ride offer;

(2) "period 2" or "P2" means the time when a driver is proceeding to pick up a rider

after choosing to accept a ride offer; and

(3) "period 3" or "P3" means the time when a driver is transporting a rider from a pickup

location to a drop-off location.

Subd. 5. Personal vehicle. "Personal vehicle" has the meaning given in section 65B.472,

subdivision 1.

Subd. 6. Transportation network company. "Transportation network company" or

"TNC" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision 1.

Subd. 7. Transportation network company driver. "Transportation network company

driver," "TNC driver," or "driver" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision

1.

Article 18 Sec. 2. 8
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Subd. 8. Transportation network company rider. "Transportation network company

rider," "TNC rider," or "rider" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision 1.

Sec. 3. [181C.02] NOTICE AND PAY TRANSPARENCY.

Subdivision 1. Compensation notice. (a) Upon initial or subsequent account activation,

and annually each year while a driver continues to maintain an account with the TNC, a

TNC must provide written notice of compensation, or a compensation policy, if any, to each

driver containing the following information:

(1) the right to legally required minimum compensation under section 181C.03;

(2) the frequency and manner of a driver's pay;

(3) the rights and remedies available to a driver for a TNC's failure to comply with legal

obligations related to minimum compensation; and

(4) the driver's right to elect coverage of paid family and medical leave benefits, as

provided under chapter 268B.

(b) Notice under this subdivision must be provided in written plain language and made

available in English, Amharic, Arabic, Hmong, Oromo, Somali, and Spanish. TNCs operating

in Minnesota must consider updating the languages in which they offer the notice each year.

(c) The TNC must provide notice to a driver in writing or electronically of any changes

to the driver's compensation policy at least 48 hours before the date the changes take effect.

Subd. 2. Assignment notice. When a TNC alerts a driver of a possible assignment to

transport a rider, the ride offer must be available for sufficient time for the driver to review,

and the TNC must indicate:

(1) the estimated travel time and number of miles from the driver's current location to

the pickup location for P2;

(2) the estimated travel time and number of miles for the trip for P3; and

(3) the estimated total compensation, before any gratuity.

Subd. 3. Daily trip receipt. Within 24 hours of each trip completion, the TNC must

transmit a detailed electronic receipt to the driver containing the following information for

each unique trip or portion of a unique trip:

(1) the date, pickup, and drop-off locations. In describing the pickup and drop-off

locations, the TNC shall describe the location by indicating the specific block in which the

pick-up and drop-off occurred;

Article 18 Sec. 3. 9
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(2) the time and total mileage traveled from pick up to drop off of a rider or riders for

P3;

(3) the time and total mileage traveled from acceptance of the assignment to completion

for P2 and P3;

(4) total fare or fee paid by the rider or riders; and

(5) total compensation to the driver, specifying:

(1) any applicable rate or rates of pay, any applicable price multiplier, or variable pricing

policy in effect;

(1) any gratuity; and

(ii1) an itemized list of all tolls, fees, or other pass-throughs from the rider charged to

the driver.

Subd. 4. Weekly summary. Each week, a TNC must transmit a weekly summary to a

driver in writing or electronically containing the following information for the preceding

calendar week:

(1) total time the driver logged into the TNC application;

(2) total time and mileage for P2 and P3 segments;

(3) total fares or fees paid by riders; and

(4) total compensation to the driver, including any gratuities.

Subd. 5. Record keeping. TNCs must maintain the trip receipts and weekly summaries

required under this section for at least three years.

Sec. 4. [181C.03] MINIMUM COMPENSATION.

(a) Minimum compensation of a TNC driver under this paragraph must be adjusted

annually as provided under paragraph (f), and must be paid in a per minute, per mile format,

as follows:

(1) $1.28 per mile and $0.31 per minute for any transportation of a rider by a driver;

(2) if applicable, an additional $0.91 per mile for any transportation of a rider by a driver

in a vehicle that is subject to the requirements in sections 299A.11 to 299A.17, regardless

of whether a wheelchair securement device is used;

(3) if a trip request is canceled by a rider or a TNC after the driver has already departed

to pick up a rider, 80 percent of any cancellation fee paid by the rider; and

Article 18 Sec. 4. 10
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(4) at minimum, compensation of $5.00 for any transportation of a rider by a driver.

(b) A TNC must pay a driver the minimum compensation required under this section

over a reasonable earnings period not to exceed 14 calendar days. The minimum

compensation required under this section guarantees a driver a certain level of compensation

in an earnings period that cannot be reduced. Nothing in this section prevents a driver from

earning, or a TNC from paying, a higher level of compensation.

(c) Any gratuities received by a driver from a rider or riders are the property of the driver

and are not included as part of the minimum compensation required by this section. A TNC

must pay the applicable driver all gratuities received by the driver in an earnings period no

later than the driver's next scheduled payment.

(d) For each earnings period, a TNC must compare a driver's earnings, excluding

gratuities, against the required minimum compensation for that driver during the earnings

period. If the driver's earnings, excluding gratuities, in the earnings period are less than the

required minimum compensation for that earnings period, the TNC must include an additional

sum accounting for the difference in the driver's earnings and the minimum compensation

no later than during the next earnings period.

(e) A TNC that uses software or collection technology to collect fees or fares must pay

a driver the compensation earned by the driver, regardless of whether the fees or fares are

actually collected.

(f) Beginning January 1, 2027, and each January 1 thereafter, the minimum compensation

required under paragraph (a) must be adjusted annually by the same process as the statewide

minimum wage under section 177.24, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 5. [181C.04] DEACTIVATION.

Subdivision 1. Deactivation policy; requirements. (a) A TNC must maintain a written

plain-language deactivation policy that provides the policies and procedures for deactivation.

The TNC must make the deactivation policy available online, through the TNC's digital

platform. Updates or changes to the policy must be provided to drivers at least 48 hours

before they go into effect.

(b) The deactivation policy must be provided in English, Amharic, Arabic, Hmong,

Oromo, Somali, and Spanish. TNCs operating in Minnesota must consider updating the

languages in which they offer the deactivation policy each year.

Article 18 Sec. 5. 11
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(c) The deactivation policy must:

(1) state that the deactivation policy is enforceable as a term of the TNC's contract with

a driver;

(2) provide drivers with a reasonable understanding of the circumstances that constitute

a violation that may warrant deactivation under the deactivation policy and indicate the

consequences known, including the specific number of days or range of days for a

deactivation if applicable;

(3) describe fair and reasonable procedures for notifying a driver of a deactivation and

the reason for the deactivation;

(4) describe fair, objective, and reasonable procedures and eligibility criteria for the

reconsideration of a deactivation decision and the process by which a driver may request a

deactivation appeal with the TNC, consistent with subdivision 5; and

(5) be specific enough for a driver to understand what constitutes a violation of the policy

and how to avoid violating the policy.

(d) Serious misconduct must be clearly defined in the TNC deactivation policy.

Subd. 2. Prohibitions for deactivation. A TNC must not deactivate a driver for:

(1) a violation not reasonably understood as part of a TNC's written deactivation policy;

(2) a driver's ability to work a minimum number of hours;

(3) a driver's acceptance or rejection of a ride, as long as the acceptance or rejection is

not for a discriminatory purpose;

(4) a driver's good faith statement regarding compensation or working conditions made

publicly or privately; or

(5) a driver asserting their legal rights under any local, state, or federal law.

Subd. 3. Written notice and warning. (a) The TNC must provide notice at the time of

the deactivation or, for deactivations based on serious misconduct, notice within three days

of the deactivation. A written notice must include:

(1) the reason for deactivation;

(2) anticipated length of the deactivation, if known;

(3) what day the deactivation started on;
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(4) an explanation of whether or not the deactivation can be reversed and clear steps for

the driver to take to reverse a deactivation,;

(5) instructions for a driver to challenge the deactivation and information on their rights

under the appeals process provided under subdivision 5; and

(6) a notice that the driver has a right to assistance and information on how to contact a

driver advocacy group as provided in subdivision 4 to assist in the deactivation appeal

process, including the telephone number and website information for one or more driver

advocacy groups.

(b) The TNC must provide a warning to a driver if the driver's behavior could result in

a future deactivation. A TNC does not need to provide a warning for behavior that constitutes

serious misconduct.

Subd. 4. Driver advocacy organizations. (a) A TNC must contract with a driver's

advocacy organization to provide services to drivers under this section. A driver advocacy

group identified in the notice must be an independent, not-for-profit organization operating

without excessive influence from the TNC. The TNC must not have any control or influence

over the day-to-day operations of the advocacy organization or the organization's staff or

management or have control or influence over who receives assistance on specific cases or

how assistance is provided in a case. The organization must have been established and

operating in Minnesota continuously for at least two years and be capable of providing

culturally competent driver representation services, outreach, and education.

(b) The driver advocacy groups must provide, at no cost to the drivers, assistance with:

(1) deactivation appeals;

(2) education and outreach to drivers regarding the drivers' rights and remedies available

to them under the law; and

(3) other technical or legal assistance on issues related to providing services for the TNC

and riders.

Subd. 5. Request for appeal. (a) The deactivation policy must provide the driver with

an opportunity to appeal the deactivation upon receipt of the notice and an opportunity to

provide information to support the request. An appeal process must provide the driver with

no less than 30 days from the date the notice was provided to the driver to appeal the

deactivation and allow the driver to have the support of an advocate or attorney.

(b) Unless the TNC or the driver requests an additional 15 days, a TNC must review

and make a final decision on the appeal within 15 days from the receipt of the requested
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appeal and information to support the request. A TNC may use a third party to assist with

appeals.

(c) The TNC must consider any information presented by the driver under the appeal

process. For a deactivation to be upheld, there must be evidence under the totality of the

circumstances to find that it is more likely than not that a rule violation subjecting the driver

to deactivation has occurred.

(d) This section does not apply to deactivations for economic reasons or during a public

state of emergency that are not targeted at a particular driver or drivers.

(e) When an unintentional deactivation of an individual driver occurs due to a purely

technical issue and is not caused by any action or fault of the driver, the driver, upon request,

must be provided reasonable compensation for the period of time the driver was not able

to accept rides through the TNC capped at a maximum of 21 days. For the purposes of this

paragraph, "reasonable compensation" means compensation for each day the driver was

deactivated using the driver's daily average in earnings from the TNC for the 90 days prior

to the deactivation.

Subd. 6. Prior deactivations. Consistent with the deactivation policy created under this

section, a driver who was deactivated after January 1, 2021, but before November 1, 2024,

and who has not been reinstated may request an appeal of the deactivation under this section,

if the driver provides notice of the appeal within 90 days of the date of enactment. The TNC

may take up to 90 days to issue a final decision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective November 1, 2024, and applies to

deactivations that occur on or after that date except as provided in subdivision 6.

Sec. 6. [181C.05] ENFORCEMENT.

(a) Except as provided under section 181C.06, the commissioner of labor and industry

has exclusive enforcement authority and may issue an order under section 177.27, subdivision

4, requiring a TNC to comply with sections 181C.02 and 181C.03 under section 177.27,

subdivision 4.

(b) A provision in a contract between a TNC and a driver that violates this chapter is

void and unenforceable. Unless a valid arbitration agreement exists under section 181C.08,

a driver may bring an action in district court seeking injunctive relief and any applicable

remedies available under the contract if a provision of a contract between a TNC and a

driver violates this chapter.
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(c) A TNC must not retaliate against or discipline a driver for (1) raising a complaint

under this chapter, or (2) pursuing enactment or enforcement of this chapter. A TNC must

not give less favorable or more favorable rides to a driver for making public or private

comments supporting or opposing working conditions or compensation at a TNC.

Sec. 7. [181C.06] DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED.

(a) A TNC must not discriminate against a TNC driver or a qualified applicant to become

a driver, due to race, national origin, color, creed, religion, sex, disability, sexual orientation,

marital status, or gender identity as provided under section 363A.11. Nothing in this section

prohibits providing a reasonable accommodation to a person with a disability, for religious

reasons, due to pregnancy, or to remedy previous discriminatory behavior.

(b) A TNC driver injured by a violation of this section is entitled to the remedies under

sections 363A.28 to 363A.35.

Sec. 8. [181C.07] COLLECTIVE BARGAINING; EMPLOYMENT STATUS.

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, nothing in this chapter prohibits collective

bargaining or shall be construed to determine whether a TNC driver is an employee.

Sec. 9. [181C.08] ARBITRATION; REQUIREMENTS.

(a) A TNC must provide a driver with the option to opt out of arbitration. Upon a driver's

written election to pursue remedies through arbitration, the driver must not seek remedies

through district court based on the same alleged violation.

(b) The rights and remedies established in this chapter must be the governing law in an

arbitration between a driver operating in Minnesota and a TNC. The application of the rights

and remedies available under chapter 181C cannot be waived by a driver prior to or at the

initiation of an arbitration between a driver and a TNC. To the extent possible, a TNC shall

use Minnesota as the venue for arbitration with a Minnesota driver. If an arbitration cannot

take place in the state of Minnesota, the driver must be allowed to appear via phone or other

electronic means and apply the rights and remedies available under chapter 181C. Arbitrators

must be jointly selected by the TNC and the driver using the roster of qualified neutrals

provided by the Minnesota supreme court for alternative dispute resolution. Consistent with

the rules and guidelines provided by the American Arbitrators Association, if the parties

are unable to agree on an arbitrator through the joint selection process, the case manager

may administratively appoint the arbitrator or arbitrators.
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(c) Contracts that have already been executed must have an addendum provided to each

driver that includes a copy of this chapter and notice that a driver may elect to pursue the

remedies provided in this chapter.

Sec. 10. [181C.09] REVOCATION OF LICENSE.

A local unit of government may refuse to issue a license or may revoke a license and

right to operate issued to a TNC by the local unit of government for a TNC's failure to

comply with the requirements of this chapter. Notwithstanding section 13.39, the

commissioner of labor and industry may provide data collected related to a compliance

order issued under section 177.27, subdivision 4, to a local unit of government for purposes

of a revocation under this section.

Sec. 11. [181C.10] STATEWIDE REGULATIONS.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law and except as provided in section 181C.09

no local governmental unit of this state may enact or enforce any ordinance, local law, or

regulation that: (1) regulates any matter relating to transportation network companies or

transportation network company drivers addressed in section 65B.472 or chapter 181C; or

(2) requires the provision of data related to section 65B.472 or chapter 181C.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. An

ordinance, local law, or regulation existing on that date is prohibited under this section and

1s void and unenforceable as of that date.

Sec. 12. APPROPRIATION.

$173,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner

of labor and industry for the purposes of enforcement, education, and outreach of Minnesota

Statutes, sections 181C.02 and 181C.03. Beginning in fiscal year 2026, the base amount is

$123,000 each fiscal year. "
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