Senator Torrey Westrom Chair, Agriculture and Rural Development Finance and Policy Minnesota Senate Building, Room 1150 Saint Paul, MN 55155

Representative Mike Sundin Chair, Agriculture Finance and Policy 417 State Office Building Saint Paul, MN 55155



April 30, 2021

Dear Chairs Westrom and Sundin,

On behalf of our more than 70 members, the Minnesota Rural Broadband Coalition asks that you fully fund the Border-to-Border Broadband Grant Program with \$120 million over the next two years. Our state grant program has a 7-year history of investing in Minnesota communities with no access to broadband. The Office of Broadband Development receives more applicants than it has available funds every year. However, the program has no funding for the upcoming biennium.

Federal investments in Minnesota are not certain and should not deter the Legislature from investing in our own grant program. The FCC's Rural Digital Opportunity Fund (RDOF) program will not likely complete its review of applications before the end of the 2021 legislative session. Additionally, several Minnesota ISPs and organizations have raised concerns about the FCC's process and preliminary awards. If the state does not invest in the grant program in this budget, rural Minnesotans could wait up to six years to receive service through the RDOF program.

The Coalition remains concerned about the policy provisions in the omnibus bill, specifically adding the term "fixed wireless" to the statutory broadband definitions. Coverage areas for fixed wireless could be overreported to the state. Homes, farms, and businesses within range of a fixed wireless tower but without a line-of-sight connection could be incorrectly considered served or underserved. These communities would then be ineligible to receive a grant from the state grant program.

The state's broadband grant program works, and it has a track record of success. The Coalition strongly believes that removing policy provisions and fully funding \$120 million is the best path forward to meeting our statutory speed goals.

Respectfully yours,

Jay Trusty Chair Minnesota Rural Broadband Coalition

## **Minnesota Rural Broadband Coalition Members**

Arrowhead Health Arrowhead Regional Development Commission Association of Minnesota Counties Barbara Dröher Chisago County HRA/EDA Citizens Utility Board of Minnesota City of Winthrop **Clay County Cloquet Valley Internet Initiative** Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities CoBank Community of Minnesota Resorts Community Technology Advisors Corp **Consolidated Telephone Company Cooperative Lights Cooperative Network Cooperative Network Services** Development Services, Inc. East Central MN Educational Cable Cooperative East Central Regional Development Commission Economic Development Association of Minnesota EssentiaHealth Federated Rural Electric **Finley Engineering** Fond du Lac Tribal Communications



GPS 45:93 Great River Energy Greater Minnesota Partnership Growth and Justice Hay Creek Township Headwaters Regional Development Commission Hiawatha Broadband Communications **IMPACT 20/20** Institute for Local SelfReliance Iron Range Economic Alliance Isanti County ISD 317 Deer River Jody Kramer, CPA Kanabec County EDA Kandiyohi County Economic Development League of Minnesota Cities Leech Lake Tribal Telecommunications Le Sueur County Broadband Coalition Lincoln County EDC Meeker Cooperative Meeker County EDA MidMinnesota Development Commission MiEnergy Cooperative Mille Lacs Energy Cooperative Minnesota Association of **Professional County Economic** 

> Developers Center *for* Rural Affairs

Minnesota Association of Small Cities Minnesota Association of Townships Minnesota Corn Growers Association Minnesota Farm Bureau Minnesota Farmers Union Minnesota Library Association **Minnesota Municipal Utilities** Association Minnesota Public Broadband Alliance Minnesota Rural Education Association Minnesota Rural Electric Association Minnesota Soybean Growers Association MN Association of Community Telecommunications and Administrators **MN River Valley Education District MN Rural Counties Caucus MN** Telecom Alliance MVTV Wireless Neighborhood National Bank Nemadji Research Corporation Nobles County Economic Opportunity Network North Region Health Alliance North Star Township Northeast Service Cooperative

Northland Foundation Northwest Minnesota Foundation NW Regional Development Commission PCs for People Project FINE Range Association of Municipalities and Schools **Redwing Ignite** Redwood County **Region 5 Regional Development** Commission **Region Nine Development** Commission Schools for Equity in Education Sherburne County EDA Sourcewell Southern Minnesota Beet Sugar Cooperative Southern Minnesota Initiative Foundation Southwest Initiative Foundation Southwest Regional Development Commission SPIRE Credit Union **Treacy Information Services Turtle Island Communications** Upper Minnesota Valley Regional **Development Commission** West Central Initiative Winthrop EDA



CHISAGO COUNTY HRA-EDA

Coonerative Net