

admin.info@state.mn.us



50 Sherburne Ave. St. Paul, MN 55155



651-201-2555

May 16, 2021

The Honorable Mary Kiffmeyer, Chair Senate State Government Finance and Policy and Elections Committee 3103 Minnesota Senate Bldg. Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Jeff Howe, Vice Chair Senate State Government Finance and Policy and Elections Committee 3231 Minnesota Senate Bldg. Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Mark Koran, Chair Senate Technology and Reform Policy Committee 3101 Minnesota Senate Bldg. Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Andrew Lang, Chair Senate Veterans and Military Affairs Finance and Policy Committee 3205 Minnesota Senate Bldg. Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Jim Carlson, Ranking Member Senate State Government Finance and Policy and Elections Committee 2207 Minnesota Senate Bldg. Saint Paul, MN 55155

Dear Conferees,

The Honorable Mike Nelson, Chair House State Government Finance and Elections Committee 585 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Sandra Masin, Chair House Local Government Division 543 State Office Building Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Tou Xiong, Vice Chair House Labor, Industry, Veterans and Military Affairs Finance and Policy Committee 501 State Office Building Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Emma Greenman 415 State Office Building Saint Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Jim Nash, Ranking Member House State Government Finance and Elections Committee 349 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55155

In Friday morning's hearing on the State Government Omnibus Finance Bill, I had the opportunity to speak to provisions related to electric vehicle (EV) charging stations on the Minnesota State Capitol Complex. Given the robust discussion and interest in how the Department of Administration is meeting the growing demand to accommodate publicly and privately-owned EVs on the Capitol Complex, I am providing additional information to assist in your deliberations on HF1952.

The Commissioner of Administration is authorized and mandated to operate parking facilities on the Capitol Complex in Minnesota Statutes 16B.24 and 16B.58. The parking facilities accommodate both state employee parking as well as parking for state vehicles. In the past several years, the legislature has mandated more aggressive purchasing of EVs for the state motor fleet (M.S. 16C.137 and M.S. 16C.135). Additionally, in M.S. 216H.02, the legislature has set ambitious greenhouse reduction goals for the state and, in response, agencies are reducing vehicle emissions where possible.

With the mix of statutory requirements that the department is meeting regarding EVs, several funding sources have contributed to the installation of EV charging infrastructure within the Capitol Complex. Currently, all charging stations on the Capitol Complex are level 2 chargers. Initial charging stations installed in Fiscal Year 2013 were funded through a federal grant. Most of the charging stations have been funded by either Parking and Transit Services or Fleet and Surplus Services. The cost of the infrastructure is included in the division's business plans and rate structures that are approved by Minnesota Management and Budget and reported annually to the legislature. Others have been funded through state bonding. No funds from the "Volkswagen Settlement" have been used for Capitol Complex EV infrastructure.

In the 2020 legislative session, the legislature appropriated \$2 million for the Department of Administration to install 13 EV fast chargers and approximately 100 Level 2 EV charging stations throughout the state. The fast chargers will be available for use by state fleet vehicles and the public. The department's Office of Enterprise Sustainability is coordinating this statewide project with state agencies. As mentioned in the hearing, the type of infrastructure installed will differ in costs. Current charging stations are Level 2 and are factored in rates and business plans. Payment structures for future installations are still being determined including direct payment at site or factored into rates.

There are currently 73 Level 2 charging stations on the Capitol Complex. The locations are listed in the chart below:

<u>Facility</u>	<u>Current</u> <u>Stations</u>
14th St Ramp	13
Admin Level A	4
Admin Level C	4
Andersen	13
Centennial Purple	23
Lot C	2
MN Senate Garage	4
Ramp F	4
State Office Ramp	6
Total	73

In addition to the State-operated and maintained charging stations already installed or planned, there are partnerships that will also create greater capacity for EV infrastructure on the Capitol Complex.

The City of Saint Paul is planning implementation of an EV Spot Network in partnership with the City of Minneapolis, HOURCAR, Xcel Energy, and Department of Administration. This project will create a network of 70 electric vehicle charging hubs in the Twin Cities area with electric vehicle carshare. There will be two EV Spot Network hubs on the Capitol Complex adjacent to Lot AA and also Lot W. Parking in these two hubs will be limited to electric vehicles only. HOURCAR is a vehicle ridesharing service under contract with the City of Saint Paul. The city will be responsible for maintenance of the charging stations and snow removal in and around the stalls and equipment.

Also, in fall of 2021, the State of Minnesota will participate in an Xcel Energy EV fleet pilot program recently approved by the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission. Under this program, 20 EV charging stations will be installed in the 14th Street Ramp. The intention of this program is for state agencies to charge their fleet vehicles overnight when overall electrical demand is lower. Xcel Energy will install and maintain this equipment. Parking and Transit will pay Xcel the cost of the equipment and electric usage.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to provide greater detail on the Department of Administration's efforts to meet statutory requirement as well as public expectations on more sustainable operations. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have additional questions.

Sincerely,

Alice Roberts-Davis Commissioner

ARobuts Davis