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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1030, the delete everything amendment

(H1030DE3), as follows:

Page 44, after line 17, insert:

"Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 514.977, is amended to read:

514.977 PEFAULET ADDITIONAL REMEDIES.

Subdivision 1. Default; breach of rental agreement. If an occupant defaults in the

payment of rent for the storage space or otherwise breaches the rental agreement, the owner

may commence an evietion action under-chapter504B to terminate the rental agreement,

recover possession of the storage space, remove the occupant, and dispose of the stored

personal property.The action shall be conducted in accordance with the Minnesota Rules

of Civil Procedure except as provided in this section.

Subd. 2. Service of summons. The summons must be served at least seven days before

the date of the court appearance as provided in subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Appearance. Except as provided in subdivision 4, in an action filed under this

section, the appearance shall be not less than seven or more than 14 days from the day of

issuing the summons.

Subd. 4. Expedited hearing. If the owner files a motion and affidavit stating specific

facts and instances in support of an allegation that the occupant is causing a nuisance or

engaging in illegal or other behavior that seriously endangers the safety of others, their

property, or the storage facility's property, the appearance shall be not less than three days

nor more than seven days from the date the summons is issued. The summons in an expedited

hearing shall be served upon the occupant within 24 hours of issuance unless the court

orders otherwise for good cause shown.
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Subd. 5. Answer; trial; continuance. At the court appearance specified in the summons,

the defendant may answer the complaint, and the court shall hear and decide the action,

unless it grants a continuance of the trial, which may be for no longer than six days, unless

all parties consent to longer continuance.

Subd. 6. Counterclaims. The occupant is prohibited from bringing counterclaims in the

action that are unrelated to the possession of the storage space. Nothing in this section

prevents the occupant from bringing the claim in a separate action.

Subd. 7. Judgment; writ. Judgment in matters adjudicated under this section shall be

in accordance with section 504B.345, paragraph (a). Execution of a writ issued under this

section shall be in accordance with section 504B.365, paragraph (a)."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly
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