#### WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE

#### **MINUTES**

Representative Rena Moran, Chair of the Committee, called the remote Ways and Means Committee meeting to order at 9:01 A.M. on Monday, February 28, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services and Facebook Live.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

MORAN, Rena (Chair) OLSON, Liz (Vice Chair) GAROFALO, Pat (GOP Lead) ALBRIGHT, Tony BECKER-FINN, Jamie BERNARDY, Connie ECKLUND, Rob

HANSEN, Rick

HASSAN, Hodan

HERTAUS, Jerry

HORNSTEIN, Frank

JOHNSON, Brian

KRESHA, Ron

LIEBLING, Tina

LILLIE, Leon

MARIANI, Carlos

MARQUART, Paul

MILLER, Tim

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

NOOR, Mohamud

O'NEILL, Marion

PELOWSKI, Gene Jr.

PETERSBURG, John

PINTO, Dave

SCHOMACKER, Joe

SCHULTZ, Jennifer

SCOTT, Peggy

SUNDIN, Mike

A quorum was present.

Representative Olson moved to adopt the minutes from Monday, February 21, 2022. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

**HF3420** (Sundin) Livestock farmers and crop producers impacted by drought provided funding for grants and financial assistance, and money appropriated to the Rural Finance Authority revolving loan account for drought relief

Representative Sundin moved that HF3420 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Hansen moved to adopt the H3420DE2 amendment and explained the amendment.

Following discussion, Representative Hansen renewed the motion to adopt the H3420DE2 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDEMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Following discussion, Representative Sundin renewed the motion that HF3420, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

### **AYES:**

**MORAN** 

**OLSON** 

**BECKER-FINN** 

**BERNARDY** 

**ECKLUND** 

HANSEN

HASSAN

**HORNSTEIN** 

LIEBLING

LILLIE

MARIANI

**MARQUART** 

NELSON

**NOOR** 

**PELOWSKI** 

**PINTO** 

**SCHULTZ** 

**SUNDIN** 

## NAYS:

GAROFALO

ALBRIGHT

**HERTAUS** 

JOHNSON

KRESHA

MILLER NASH

O'NEILL

PETERSBURG

**SCHOMACKER** 

SCOTT

By a vote of 18 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

**HF3598** (**Hansen**) Livestock farmers and specialty crop producers impacted by drought financial assistance provided; drought relief loans provided to farmers; financial assistance provided to municipalities, townships, and Tribal governments for increasing water efficiency in public water supplies; grants provided for planting shade trees and purchasing tree-watering equipment; financial assistance provided to replace drought-killed seedlings; and money appropriated

Representative Hansen moved that HF3598 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Sundin moved to adopt the H3598DE1 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Commissioner Sarah Strommen, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, and Commissioner Thom Petersen, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, and Paul Hugunin,

Director of Agriculture Marketing and & Development Division, provided testimony on HF3598.

Following discussion, Representative Hansen renewed the motion that HF3598, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

### AYES:

**MORAN** 

OLSON

**BECKER-FINN** 

**BERNARDY** 

ECKLUND

**HANSEN** 

**HASSAN** 

**HORNSTEIN** 

LIEBLING

LILLIE

MARIANI

**MARQUART** 

**NELSON** 

**NOOR** 

**PELOWSKI** 

**PINTO** 

**SCHULTZ** 

**SUNDIN** 

## NAYS:

GAROFALO

ALBRIGHT

**HERTAUS** 

**JOHNSON** 

KRESHA MILLER

NASH

O'NEILL

**PETERSBURG** 

**SCHOMACKER** 

**SCOTT** 

By a vote of 18 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

**HF3035** (**Hornstein**) Southwest light rail transit project special review or program evaluation required by legislative auditor, and money appropriated

Representative Hornstein moved that HF3035 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Judy Randall, Office of the Legislative Auditor, answered questions related to HF3035.

Following discussion, Representative Hornstein renewed the motion that HF3035 be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call vote was taken, and the results were as follows:

## AYES:

MORAN OLSON GAROFALO **ALBRIGHT** 

BECKER-FINN

**BERNARDY** 

**ECKLUND** 

**HANSEN** 

**HASSAN** 

**HERTAUS** 

**HORNSTEIN** 

**JOHNSON** 

**KRESHA** 

**LIEBLING** 

LILLIE

**MARIANI** 

**MARQUART** 

**MILLER** 

**NASH** 

**NELSON** 

NOOR

O'NEILL

**PELOWSKI** 

**PETERSBURG** 

**PINTO** 

**SCHOMACKER** 

**SCHULTZ** 

**SCOTT** 

**SUNDIN** 

By a vote of 29 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

**HF2746** (Youakim) Hometown Heroes Act assistance program eligibility clarified, and fund transfer provided

Chair Moran moved that HF2746 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Chair Moran moved to adopt the H2746A1 amendment, and Representative Youakim explained the amendment.

Following discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion to adopt the H2746A1 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Youakim presented HF2746 as amended.

Following discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion that HF2746, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

## AYES:

**MORAN** 

**OLSON** 

**GAROFALO** 

ALBRIGHT

**BECKER-FINN** 

BERNARDY

**ECKLUND** 

**HANSEN** 

HASSAN

**HERTAUS** 

HORNSTEIN

**JOHNSON** 

**KRESHA** 

**LIEBLING** 

LILLIE

MARIANI

**MARQUART** 

**MILLER** 

**NASH** 

**NELSON** 

**NOOR** 

O'NEILL

**PELOWSKI** 

**PETERSBURG** 

**PINTO** 

**SCHOMACKER** 

**SCHULTZ** 

**SCOTT** 

**SUNDIN** 

By a vote of 29 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2993 (Baker) John Schlegel Memorial Highway designated on U.S. Highway 71

Chair Moran moved that HF2993 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Petersburg presented HF2993.

Following discussion, Chair Moran renewed the motion that HF2993 be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call vote was taken, and the results were as follows:

# AYES:

**MORAN** 

**OLSON** 

**GAROFALO** 

ALBRIGHT

**BECKER-FINN** 

**BERNARDY** 

ECKLUND

**HANSEN** 

**HERTAUS** 

**HORNSTEIN** 

**JOHNSON** 

**KRESHA** 

**LIEBLING** 

LILLIE

**MARQUART** 

**MILLER** 

**NASH** 

**NELSON** 

**NOOR** 

O'NEILL

**PELOWSKI** 

**PETERSBURG** 

**PINTO** 

SCHOMACKER

**SCHULTZ** 

SCOTT

**SUNDIN** 

**EXCUSED:** 

H	A,	SS	A	N
M	Α	R	ſΑ	NI

By a vote of 27 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

_,	,
The meeting adjourned at 10:20 A.M.	Л.
	Representative Rena Moran, Chair
	Laura Sparkman, Committee Legislative Assistant