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ARTICLE 1

APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies

and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,

or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.

The figures "2026" and "2027" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under

them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, or June 30, 2027, respectively.

"The first year" is fiscal year 2026. "The second year" is fiscal year 2027. "The biennium"

is fiscal years 2026 and 2027.

Sec. 2. MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER
EDUCATION

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. State Grants

(a) If the appropriation in this subdivision for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

(c) The base for this appropriation is
$242,707,000 in fiscal year 2028 and
thereafter.

(b) For purposes of Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.121, subdivision 6, a tuition and
fee maximum is established for four-year

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year

Ending June 30
2026 2027

312,749,000 $

312,968,000

241,790,000 241,790,000
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ARTICLE 1

APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies
and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,
or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.
The figures "2026" and "2027" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under
them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, or June 30, 2027, respectively.
"The first year" is fiscal year 2026. "The second year" is fiscal year 2027. "The biennium"
is fiscal years 2026 and 2027.

APPROPRIATIONS
Available for the Year

Ending June 30
2026 2027

Sec. 2. OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 356,954,000 $

357,173,000

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions. The base for this appropriation
is $319,590,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each

year thereafter.

Subd. 2. State Grants 277,326,000 277,326,000

If the appropriation in this subdivision for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it. These
appropriations are available until June 30,
2029. The base for this appropriation is
$239,743,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each

year thereafter.
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programs that is the lesser of: (1) the average
tuition and fees charged by the institution; or
(2) an amount equal to the highest tuition and
fees charged at a public university in the
2024-2025 academic year plus one percent for
fiscal year 2026, plus an additional one percent
for fiscal year 2027.

Subd. 3. Child Care Grants

Subd. 4. State Work-Study

Subd. 5. Interstate Tuition Reciprocity

If the appropriation in this subdivision for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available to meet
reciprocity contract obligations.

Subd. 6. Safety Officer's Survivors

This appropriation is to provide educational
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.45, to eligible dependent children and
to the spouses of public safety officers killed

in the line of duty.
If the appropriation in this subdivision for

either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

Subd. 7. Indian Scholarships

The commissioner must contract with or
employ at least one person with demonstrated
competence in American Indian culture and
residing in or near the city of Bemidji to assist
students with the scholarships under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.126, and
with other information about financial aid for
which the students may be eligible. This

6,694,000 6,694,000
11,752,000 11,752,000
8,500,000 8,500,000
100,000 100,000
3,500,000 3,500,000
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Subd. 3. Child Care Grants

Subd. 4. State Work-Study

Subd. 5. Interstate Tuition Reciprocity

If the appropriation in this subdivision for
either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available to meet
reciprocity contract obligations.

Subd. 6. Safety Officer's Survivors

This appropriation is to provide educational
benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section
299A.45, to eligible dependent children and
to the spouses of public safety officers killed

in the line of duty.
If the appropriation in this subdivision for

either year is insufficient, the appropriation
for the other year is available for it.

Subd. 7. Indian Scholarships

The commissioner must contract with or
employ at least one person with demonstrated
competence in American Indian culture and
residing in or near the city of Bemidji to assist
students with the scholarships under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.126, and
with other information about financial aid for
which the students may be eligible.

7.694,000
13,852,000

8,500,000

100,000

3,500,000

7.694.000

13,852,000

8,500,000

100,000

3,500,000
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appropriation includes funding to administer
the American Indian scholarship program.

Subd. 8. Tribal College Supplemental Assistance
Grants

For Tribal college assistance grants under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1796.

Each eligible Tribal college may receive a
minimum grant in an amount no less than
$1,000,000, subject to available

appropriations.

The commissioner may use no more than three
percent of this appropriation to administer the

program grants.

Subd. 9. Intervention for College Attendance
Program Grants

For the intervention for college attendance
program under Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.861.

The commissioner may use no more than three
percent of this appropriation to administer the
intervention for college attendance program

grants.

Subd. 10. Information for Students and Parents

Subd. 11. Get Ready!

Subd. 12. Minnesota Education Equity
Partnership

Subd. 13. Midwest Higher Education Compact

3,650,000

1,142,000

122,000

150,000

45,000

115,000

3,650,000

1,142,000

122,000

150,000

45,000

115,000
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Subd. 8. Tribal College Supplemental Assistance
Grants

(a) For Tribal college assistance grants under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1796.

(b) A Tribal college must use grant funds
received under this section to supplement, not
supplant, any existing funding. Each eligible
Tribal college may receive a grant in an
amount no less than $1,000,000 and no more
than $1,050,000, subject to available

appropriations.

Subd. 9. Intervention for College Attendance
Program Grants

For the intervention for college attendance
program under Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.861.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than three percent of this
appropriation to administer the program.

Subd. 10. Student-Parent Information

Subd. 11. Get Ready!

Subd. 12. Midwest Higher Education Compact

3,150,000

1,142,000

122,000

180,000

115,000

3,150,000

1,142,000

122,000

180,000

115,000
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Subd. 14. United Family Medicine Residency
Program

For a grant to United Family Medicine
residency program. This appropriation shall
be used to support up to 21 resident physicians
each year in family practice at United Family
Medicine residency programs and shall
prepare doctors to practice family care
medicine in underserved rural and urban areas
of the state. It is intended that this program
will improve health care in underserved
communities, provide affordable access to
appropriate medical care, and manage the
treatment of patients in a cost-effective
manner.

Subd. 15. MnLINK Gateway and Minitex

Subd. 16. Statewide Longitudinal Education
Data System

Subd. 17. Hennepin Healthcare

For transfer to Hennepin Healthcare for
graduate family medical education programs
at Hennepin Healthcare.

Subd. 18. Campus Sexual Assault Reporting

For the sexual assault reporting required under
Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.15.

501,000 501,000
6,655,000 6,708,000
2,550,000 2,550,000

645,000 645,000

25,000 25,000
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Subd. 13. MnLINK Gateway and Minitex

Subd. 14. Statewide Longitudinal Education
Data System

Subd. 15. Summer Academic Enrichment
Program

For summer academic enrichment grants under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.091.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner

7,155,000 7,208,000
2,550,000 2,550,000
250,000 250,000
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Subd. 19. Campus Sexual Violence Prevention
and Response Coordinator 150,000

For the Office of Higher Education to staff a
campus sexual violence prevention and
response coordinator to serve as a statewide
resource providing professional development
and guidance on best practices for
postsecondary institutions. $50,000 each year
is for administrative funding to conduct
trainings and provide materials to
postsecondary institutions.
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may use no more than three percent of this
appropriation to administer the program.

Subd. 16. Campus Sexual Violence Prevention 150,000
and Response Coordinator

For the Office of Higher Education to staff a
campus sexual violence prevention and
response coordinator to serve as a statewide
resource providing professional development
and guidance on best practices for
postsecondary institutions. $50,000 each year
is for administrative funding to conduct
trainings and provide materials to
postsecondary institutions.

Subd. 17. Emergency Assistance for 550,000
Postsecondary Students

(a) For the Office of Higher Education to
allocate to nonprofit private postsecondary
institutions and Tribal colleges that are eligible
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.103,
for emergency assistance grants to students.
The commissioner must establish processes
for soliciting applications from institutions,
selecting applicants to receive an allocation,
and determining the funding amount allocated
and issue guidance regarding how institutions
must award emergency assistance grants to
students. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.01, subdivision 4, the
commissioner may use no more than $50,000
of the annual appropriation to administer the

program.

(b) Postsecondary institutions must use the
funding allocated to them under this
subdivision to award emergency assistance
grants directly to students to meet immediate
needs that could interfere with the student
completing the term or their program,
including but not limited to emergency
housing, food, and transportation. Institutions

150,000

550,000
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5.23
5.24

Subd. 20. Grants to Student Teachers in
Shortage Areas

For grants to student teachers in shortage areas
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1275.
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500,000

500,000
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must minimize any negative impact on student
financial aid resulting from the receipt of

emergency moncey.

(c) Money under this subdivision must not be
distributed to selected applicants until the
Office of Higher Education has approved their
plans to award grants to students.

(d) By February 1 each year, the commissioner
must submit a report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over higher
education on emergency assistance grants
awarded to students using the money
appropriated in this subdivision. The report
must detail:

(1) how money was distributed among
institutions;

(2) the process by which students apply for
emergency assistance grants and institutions
make a determination about whether money
will be awarded,;

(3) how many students received emergency
assistance grants and the average award
amount;

(4) the most common student needs that grants
were awarded to meet; and

(5) the average length of time between grant
application and disbursement to students.

(e) At the end of each biennium, institutions
must return any unused portion of the funding
allocated to them under this subdivision to the
Office of Higher Education.

Subd. 18. Grants to Student Teachers in 500,000
Shortage Areas

For grants to student teachers in shortage areas
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1275.

500,000
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The commissioner may use no more than three
percent of the appropriation for administration

of the program.

Subd. 21. Grants to Underrepresented Student
Teachers

1,125,000

For grants to underrepresented student teachers
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1274.

The commissioner may use no more than three
percent of the appropriation for administration

of the program.

Subd. 22. Grants for Students with Intellectual
and Developmental Disabilities

200,000

For grants for students with intellectual and
developmental disabilities under Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1215.

Subd. 23. Loan Repayment Assistance Program 55,000

For a grant to the Loan Repayment Assistance
Program of Minnesota to provide education
debt relief to attorneys with full-time
employment providing legal advice or
representation to low-income clients or support
services for this work.

Subd. 24. Hunger-Free Campus Grants 1,000,000

1,125,000

200,000

55,000

1,000,000
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Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than three percent of the
appropriation to administer the program.

Subd. 19. Grants to Underrepresented Student
Teachers

For grants to underrepresented student teachers
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1274.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than three percent of the
appropriation to administer the program.

Subd. 20. Grants for Students with Intellectual
and Developmental Disabilities

For grants for students with intellectual and
developmental disabilities under Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1215.

Subd. 21. Loan Repayment Assistance Program

For a grant to the Loan Repayment Assistance
Program of Minnesota to provide education
debt relief to attorneys with full-time
employment providing legal advice or
representation to low-income clients or support
services for this work.

Subd. 22. Student Loan Debt Counseling

For student loan debt counseling under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1788.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than three percent of the
appropriation to administer the program.

Subd. 23. Hunger-Free Campus Grants

625000 625000
200000 200,000
55.000 55.000
250000 250,000
200000 200,000
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Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.137.
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(a) For the Office of Higher Education to
award grants to nonprofit private
postsecondary institutions and Tribal colleges
registered with the Office of Higher Education
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.63,
for hunger-free campus activities. The
commissioner must establish a competitive
grant program to distribute the money
appropriated in this subdivision, which must:

(1) have an application process and selection
criteria established by the commissioner in
collaboration with student associations
representing eligible institutions;

(2) provide a maximum annual grant award
of $25,000 per institution;

(3) give preference to applications from
institutions with the highest number of federal
Pell Grant eligible students enrolled; and

(4) require grant recipients to match at least
50 percent of the amount awarded with either
in-kind contributions or other resources.

(b) Postsecondary institutions must use the
grant money awarded to them under this
subdivision to meet the following hunger-free
campus requirements:

(1) maintain an on-campus food pantry or
partnership with a local food bank to provide
regular, on-campus food distributions;

(2) provide information to students on the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP), the Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP), and other programs that
reduce food insecurity;

(3) notify students in work-study employment
of their potential eligibility for SNAP benefits
and provide information to those students
about eligibility criteria and how to apply for
benefits;
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Subd. 25. Fostering Independence Higher
Education Grants

For grants to eligible students under Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1241. The Office of
Higher Education may use no more than three
percent of the appropriation to administer

grants.

Subd. 26. Student Parent Support Initiative

For grants to support student parents under

Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1251. Of
this amount, up to $338,000 each year is for
administrative and promotional costs.

4,416,000

1,000,000

4,416,000

1,000,000
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(4) hold or participate in one hunger awareness
event per academic year;

(5) provide emergency assistance grants to
students; and

(6) establish a hunger task force that meets a
minimum of three times per academic year
and that includes at least two students
currently enrolled at the institution.

(c) By February 1 each year, the commissioner
must submit a report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over higher
education on hunger-free campus activities
performed using the money appropriated in
this subdivision. The report must detail:

(1) how money was distributed among
institutions;

(2) how hunger-free campus requirements
were met at those institutions; and

(3) how many students were served.

Subd. 24. Fostering Independence Higher 8,416,000
Education Grants

For grants to eligible students under Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1241. Notwithstanding
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.01,
subdivision 4, the commissioner may use no
more than three percent of the appropriation

to administer the grants.

Subd. 25. Student-Parent Support Initiative 3,000,000

For grants to support student parents under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1251.
Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than $338,000 of the annual

8,416,000

3,000,000
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The base for this appropriation is $0 in fiscal
year 2028 and thereafter.

Subd. 27. Director of Tribal Relations 143,000

Subd. 28. Direct Admissions Program 650,000

For the direct admissions program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.84.

Subd. 29. American Indian Scholars 8,500,000

To support implementation of Minnesota
Statutes, section 135A.121.

$4,032,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $4,032,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for transfer to the Board
of Regents of the University of Minnesota.

$4,468,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $4,468,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for transfer to the Board
of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities.

Subd. 30. Inclusive Higher Education 250,000

To enter into a contract establishing the
Inclusive Higher Education Technical
Assistance Center under Minnesota Statutes,
section 135A.161.

Subd. 31. Addiction Medicine Graduate Medical
Education Fellowship

270,000

(a) For a grant to Hennepin County Medical
Center to support up to six physicians enrolled
in an addiction medicine fellowship program.
If the appropriation for either year is
insufficient, the appropriation for the other
year is available for it.

(b) Each year, in order to receive funds under
this subdivision, Hennepin County Medical
Center must certify to the commissioner the

143,000

650,000

8,500,000

250,000

270,000
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appropriation for administrative and
promotional costs.

Subd. 26. Director of Tribal Relations

Subd. 27. Direct Admissions Program

For the direct admissions program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.84.

Subd. 28. American Indian Scholars

(a) To support implementation of Minnesota
Statutes, section 135A.121.

(b) $4,032,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,032,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for transfer
to the Board of Regents of the University of
Minnesota.

(c) $4,468,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,468,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for transfer
to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota
State Colleges and Universities.

Subd. 29. Inclusive Higher Education

To enter into a contract establishing the
Inclusive Higher Education Technical
Assistance Center under Minnesota Statutes,
section 135A.161.

143,000 143,000
900,000 900,000
8,500,000 8,500,000
250,000 250,000
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number of physicians actually enrolled in an
addiction medicine fellowship for that year.
The commissioner shall transfer to Hennepin
County Medical Center $90,000 for each
physician enrolled in an addiction medicine
fellowship subject to the total funds
appropriated by this subdivision.

(c) This appropriation shall be used to prepare
fellows to practice addiction medicine in rural
and underserved areas of the state, and to train
fellows in: diagnostic interviewing;
motivational interviewing; addiction
counseling; recognition and care of common
acute withdrawal syndromes and
complications; pharmacotherapies of addictive
disorders; epidemiology and pathophysiology
of addiction; identification and treatment of
addictive disorders in special populations;
secondary interventions; the use of screening
and diagnostic instruments; inpatient care; and
working within a multidisciplinary team.

Subd. 32. Unemployment Insurance Aid

For unemployment insurance aid to Tribal
colleges under Minnesota Statutes, section
268.193. Of the amount appropriated, $24,000
each year is for administration of the
unemployment insurance aid.
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158,000

158,000
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Subd. 30. Paramedic Scholarship Program

For the paramedic scholarship program under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1278.
Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.01, subdivision 4, the commissioner
may use no more than $50,000 of the annual
appropriation for administrative and

promotional costs.

Subd. 31. Unemployment Insurance Aid

For unemployment insurance aid to Tribal
colleges under Minnesota Statutes, section

268.193. Of the amount appropriated, $24,000

each year is for administration of
unemployment insurance aid.

1,000,000 1,000,000

158,000 158,000
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Subd. 33. North Star Promise; Administrative
Costs 202,000

For administrative and promotion expenses to
implement and direct the scholarship awards
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465.

Subd. 34. Agency Administration 6,194,000

Subd. 35. Balances Forward

A balance in the first year under this section
does not cancel, but is available for the second

year.

Subd. 36. Transfer Authority

The commissioner of the Office of Higher
Education may transfer unencumbered
balances from the appropriations in this
section to the state grant appropriation, the
interstate tuition reciprocity appropriation, the
child care grant appropriation, the Indian
scholarship appropriation, the state work-study
appropriation, the get ready appropriation, the
intervention for college attendance
appropriation, the student-parent information
appropriation, the public safety officers'
survivors appropriation, and the fostering
independence higher education grant program.
The commissioner may transfer unencumbered
balances from the Hunger-Free Campus
appropriations to the emergency assistance for
postsecondary students grant. To the extent
there is a projected surplus in the appropriation
for either the student teachers in shortage areas
grant program or the underrepresented student
teacher grant program, the commissioner may
transfer unencumbered balances between the
two programs as needed to meet demand.
Transfers from the child care, state
work-study, or Hunger-Free Campus
appropriations may only be made to the extent

202,000

6,360,000
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Subd. 32. North Star Promise; Administrative
Costs

202,000

For administrative and promotion expenses to
implement and direct the scholarship awards
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465.

Subd. 33. Agency Administration 6,219,000

Subd. 34. Balances Forward

A balance in the first year under this section
does not cancel, but is available for the second

year.

Subd. 35. Transfers

The commissioner of the Office of Higher
Education may transfer unencumbered
balances from the appropriations in this
section to the state grant appropriation, the
interstate tuition reciprocity appropriation, the
child care grant appropriation, the Indian
scholarship appropriation, the state work-study
appropriation, the get ready appropriation, the
intervention for college attendance
appropriation, the student-parent information
appropriation, the summer academic
enrichment program appropriation, the public
safety officers' survivors appropriation, and
the fostering independence higher education
grant program. The commissioner may transfer
unencumbered balances from the hunger-free
campus appropriations to the emergency
assistance for postsecondary students grant.

To the extent there is a projected surplus in

the appropriation for either the student
teachers in shortage areas grant program or

the underrepresented student teacher grant
program, the commissioner may transfer
unencumbered balances between the two
programs as needed to meet demand. Transfers
from the child care, state work-study, or the

202,000

6,385,000
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there is a projected surplus in the
appropriation. A transfer may be made only
with prior written notice to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the senate and
house of representatives committees with
jurisdiction over higher education finance.

Sec. 3. BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE
MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND
UNIVERSITIES

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Central Office and Shared Services
Unit

For the Office of the Chancellor and the
Shared Services Division.

Subd. 3. Operations and Maintenance

(a) This appropriation includes $37,500,000
in fiscal year 2026 and $37,500,000 in fiscal
year 2027 for student tuition relief.

(b) $5,700,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$5,700,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to provide
supplemental aid for operations and
maintenance to the president of each two-year
institution in the system with at least one
campus that is not located in a metropolitan
county, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 473.121, subdivision 4. The board
shall transfer at least $158,000 for each
campus not located in a metropolitan county
in each year to the president of each institution
that includes such a campus.

Higher Education Finance and Policy
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$

877,939,000 $

36,401,000

836,923,000

877,950,000

36,401,000

836,934,000
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hunger-free campus appropriations may only
be made to the extent there is a projected
surplus in the appropriation. A transfer may
be made only with prior written notice to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the
senate and house of representatives
committees with jurisdiction over higher
education finance.

Sec. 3. BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE
MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND
UNIVERSITIES

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Central Office and Shared Services
Unit

For the Office of the Chancellor and the
Shared Services Division.

Subd. 3. Operations and Maintenance

(a) $5,700,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$5,700,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to provide
supplemental aid for operations and
maintenance to the president of each two-year
institution in the system with at least one
campus that is not located in a metropolitan
county, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 473.121, subdivision 4. The board
shall transfer at least $158,000 for each
campus not located in a metropolitan county
in each year to the president of each institution
that includes such a campus.

880,039,000 $ 879,050,000
36,401,000 36,401,000
831,873,000 830,884,000
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(c) The Board of Trustees is requested to help
Minnesota close the attainment gap by funding
activities which improve retention and
completion for students of color.

(d) $4,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
workforce development scholarships under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136F.38.

(e) $300,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $300,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for transfer to the Cook
County Higher Education Board to provide
educational programming, workforce
development, and academic support services
to remote regions in northeastern Minnesota.
The Cook County Higher Education Board
shall continue to provide information to the
Board of Trustees on the number of students
served, credit hours delivered, and services
provided to students.

(f) $40,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $40,000 in
fiscal year 2027 are to implement the sexual
assault policies required under Minnesota
Statutes, section 135A.15.

(g) $9,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$9,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
enterprise-wide technology, including
upgrading the Integrated Statewide Record
System and maintaining enterprise-wide
technology services.

(h) $50,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $50,000
in fiscal year 2027 are to reduce students'
out-of-pocket costs by expanding free
offerings in course materials and resources,
including through open educational resources,
open textbooks, and implementation of
Z-Degrees under Minnesota Statutes, section
136F.305.

(i) $3,158,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$3,158,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to expand
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(b) The Board of Trustees is requested to help
Minnesota close the attainment gap by funding
activities which improve retention and
completion for students of color.

(a) $4,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
workforce development scholarships under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136F.38.

Subd. 5. Cook County Higher Education Board 300,000

For a grant to the Cook County Higher
Education Board to provide educational
programming, workforce development, and
academic support services to remote regions
in northeastern Minnesota. The Cook County
Higher Education Board shall continue to
provide information to the Board of Trustees
on the number of students served, credit hours
delivered, and services provided to students.

(c) $9,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$9,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
enterprise-wide technology, including
upgrading the Integrated Statewide Record
System and maintaining enterprise-wide
technology services.

(d) $550,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $550,000
in fiscal year 2027 are to reduce students'
out-of-pocket costs by expanding free
offerings in course materials and resources,
including through open educational resources,
open textbooks, and implementation of
Z-Degrees under Minnesota Statutes, section
136F.305.

(e) $3,158,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$3,158,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to expand

300,000
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student support services. This appropriation
provides funding to campuses to address basic
needs insecurity, mental health, and other
high-need student support services by
increasing the amount of available resources
to students. In addition, this funding provides
systemwide resources and coordination,
including electronic connections for peer
support and professional clinical support for
mental health. These systemwide resources
must be available online 24 hours a day, seven

days a week.

(j) $883,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $894,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for costs associated
with the increased employer contribution rates
for the higher education individual retirement
account plan under Minnesota Statutes, section
354B.23, subdivision 3.

(k) $282,000 the first year and $282,000 the
second year are to pay the cost of supplies and
equipment necessary to provide access to
menstrual products under Minnesota Statutes,
section 135A.1365.

(1) $809,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $809,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for unemployment
insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,
section 268.193, to institutions within the

system.
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student support services. This appropriation
provides funding to campuses to address basic
needs insecurity, mental health, and other
high-need student support services by
increasing the amount of available resources
to students. In addition, this funding provides
systemwide resources and coordination,
including electronic connections for peer
support and professional clinical support for
mental health. These systemwide resources
must be available online 24 hours a day, seven

days a week.

(f) $883,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $894,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for costs associated
with the increased employer contribution rates
for the higher education individual retirement
account plan under Minnesota Statutes, section
354B.23, subdivision 3.

(g) $809,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $809,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for unemployment
insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,
section 268.193, to institutions within the

system.

(i) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 is to address
contamination of PFAS, as defined in
Minnesota Statutes, section 116.943, arising
from or associated with the use of firefighting
foam at the Lake Superior College Emergency
Response Training Center (ERTC) prior to
January 1, 2015. Money may be used to
conduct environmental investigation and
response activities, including ERTC program
accommodations, and reimburse past expenses
incurred for these activities. This is a onetime

appropriation.
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(m) $2,250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,250,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for direct
emergency grants to students. This
appropriation must be used for emergency
grants to students to meet immediate student
needs that could result in a student not
completing the term or the program, including
but not limited to emergency housing, food,
and transportation. Institutions shall minimize
any negative impact on student financial aid
resulting from the receipt of emergency funds.

Subd. 4. Learning Network of Minnesota
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4,115,000

4,115,000
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(b) $2,250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,250,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
emergency assistance grants to Minnesota
State Colleges and Universities students. The
Board of Trustees must:

(1) award emergency assistance grants directly
to students to meet immediate needs that could
interfere with the student completing the term
or their program, including but not limited to
emergency housing, food, and transportation;

(2) minimize any negative impact on student
financial aid resulting from the receipt of
emergency money; and

(3) by February 1 of each year, submit a report
to the chairs and ranking minority members

of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education on emergency assistance
grants awarded to students using the money
appropriated in this paragraph. The report must
detail:

(i) how money was distributed among
institutions;

(ii) the process by which students apply for

emergency assistance grants and institutions
make a determination about whether money
will be awarded;

(iii) how many students received emergency
assistance grants and the average award
amount;

(iv) the most common student needs that
grants were awarded to meet; and

(v) the average length of time between grant
application and disbursement to students.

Subd. 6. Learning Network of Minnesota

4,115,000 4,115,000
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Subd. 5. Juvenile Detention Alternatives
Initiative

For transfer to Metropolitan State University.
Of this amount: $280,000 each year is to
provide juvenile justice services and resources,
including the Juvenile Detention Alternatives
Initiative, to Minnesota counties and federally
recognized Tribes; and $220,000 each year is
for funding to local units of government,
federally recognized Tribes, and agencies to
support local Juvenile Detention Alternative
Initiatives, including but not limited to
alternatives to detention. Any unencumbered
balance remaining in the first year does not
cancel and is available in the second year.

500,000

500,000
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(h) $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $500,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for the Juvenile
Detention Alternatives Initiative at
Metropolitan State University. Of this amount,
$280,000 each year is to provide juvenile
justice services and resources, including the
Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative, to
Minnesota counties and federally recognized
Tribes; and $220,000 each year is for funding
to local units of government, federally
recognized Tribes, and agencies to support
local Juvenile Detention Alternative
Initiatives, including but not limited to
alternatives to detention. Any unencumbered
balance remaining in the first year does not
cancel and is available in the second year.

Subd. 4. Direct Student Support 7,350,000

(c) $600,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $600,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for hunger-free campus
activities. The Board of Trustees must:

(1) meet the following hunger-free campus
requirements on Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities campuses:

(i) maintain an on-campus food pantry or
partnership with a local food bank to provide
regular, on-campus food distributions;

(ii) provide information to students on the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP), the Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP), and other programs that
reduce food insecurity;

(iii) notify students in work-study employment
of their potential eligibility for SNAP benefits
and provide information to those students
about eligibility criteria and how to apply for
benefits;

7,350,000
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Sec. 4. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund

2026

General 754,503,000
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$ 756,660,000 $ 741,398,000

2027
739,241,000

Health Care Access 2,157,000

2,157,000
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(iv) hold or participate in one hunger
awareness event per academic year;

(v) provide emergency assistance grants to
students; and

(vi) establish a hunger task force that meets a
minimum of three times per academic year
and that includes at least two students
currently enrolled at the institution;

(2) match at least 50 percent of the amount
appropriated in this paragraph with either
in-kind contributions or other resources; and

(3) by February 1 each year, submit a report

to the chairs and ranking minority members

of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education on hunger-free campus
activities performed using the money
appropriated in this paragraph. The report must
detail:

(i) how money was distributed among
institutions;

(ii) how hunger-free campus requirements
were met at those institutions; and

(iii) how many students were served.

Sec. 4. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund
2026 2027
General 742,106,000 742,106,000
Health Care Access 2,157,000 2,157,000

744,263,000 $

744,263,000
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The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance

(a) $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$15,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to: (1)
increase the medical school's research
capacity; (2) improve the medical school's
ranking in National Institutes of Health
funding; (3) ensure the medical school's
national prominence by attracting and
retaining world-class faculty, staff, and
students; (4) invest in physician training
programs in rural and underserved
communities; and (5) translate the medical
school's research discoveries into new
treatments and cures to improve the health of
Minnesotans.

(b) $7,800,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$7,800,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for health
training restoration. This appropriation must
be used to support all of the following: (1)
faculty physicians who teach at eight residency
program sites, including medical resident and
student training programs in the Department
of Family Medicine; (2) the Mobile Dental
Clinic; and (3) expansion of geriatric
education and family programs.

693,056,000

677,794,000

PAGE R19

17.28
17.29
17.30

17.31

18.1
18.2
18.3
18.4
18.5
18.6
18.7

18.8
18.9
18.10

18.11
18.12
18.13
18.14
18.15

19.19
19.20
19.21
19.22
19.23

19.24
19.25
19.26
19.27
19.28
19.29
19.30

20.15
20.16
20.17

20.22
20.23

Senate Language UEH2431-1

The amounts that may be spent for each
purpose are specified in the following
subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance 644,128,000

(a) $12,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$12,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
Medical Discovery Teams on Addiction, the
Biology of Aging, Optical Imaging and Brain
Science, Rural and American Indian Health
Disparities, Incretin Mimetics, and other
critical, complex health issues.

(b) $2,150,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,150,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Clinical and Translational Science Institute.

(c) The Board of Regents may transfer
unencumbered balances between the
appropriations for the Medical Discovery
Teams and the Clinical and Translational
Science Institute as needed.

(a) $1,043,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,043,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Rural Physician Associate Program (RPAP)
and Metropolitan Physician Associate Program

(MetroPAP).

(b) $6,247,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$6,247,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to support
faculty physicians teaching at eight clinical
residency program sites, including medical
resident and student training programs in the
Department of Family Medicine and

Community Health.

(e) $993,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $993,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for the Mobile Dental
Clinic.

(g) $660,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $660,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for geriatrics education.

644,128,000
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(c) $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Minnesota Discovery, Research, and
InnoVation Economy funding program for
cancer care research.

(d) $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $500,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for the University of
Minnesota, Morris branch, to cover the costs
of tuition waivers under Minnesota Statutes,
section 137.16.

(e) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
systemwide safety and security measures on
University of Minnesota campuses.

(f) $366,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $366,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for unemployment
insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,
section 268.193.

(g) $110,000 the first year and $110,000 the
second year are to pay the cost of supplies and
equipment necessary to provide access to
menstrual products under Minnesota Statutes,
section 135A.1365.

(h) $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for a
partnership between the University of
Minnesota Medical School and CentraCare to
establish and operate new residency programs
and maintain existing residency programs
based in CentraCare hospitals and clinics in
the cities of St. Cloud and Willmar. Eligible
uses of this appropriation include but are not
limited to program administration, curriculum
development, resident recruitment, training,
and resident stipends.

(i) $750,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $750,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for direct emergency
grants to students. This appropriation must be
used for emergency grants to students to meet
immediate student needs that could result in

Higher Education Finance and Policy
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(d) $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Minnesota Cancer Clinical Trials Network.

(a) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for campus
safety and security measures.

(b) $366,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $366,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for unemployment
insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,
section 268.193.

(d) $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for a
partnership between the University of
Minnesota Medical School and CentraCare to
establish and operate new residency programs
and maintain existing residency programs
based in CentraCare hospitals and clinics in
St. Cloud and Willmar. Eligible uses of this
appropriation include but are not limited to
program administration, curriculum
development, resident recruitment, training,
and resident stipends.

(c) $779,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $779,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for emergency
assistance grants to University of Minnesota
students. The Board of Regents must:

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE
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a student not completing the term or the
program, including but not limited to
emergency housing, food, and transportation.
Institutions shall minimize any negative
impact on student financial aid resulting from
the receipt of emergency funds.

(j) $15,262,000 in fiscal year 2026 is for a
collaborative partnership with the Mayo Clinic
to engage in ongoing research into
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), with the
goal of bettering the lives of individuals with
ALS and finding a cure for the disease. This

is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,
unencumbered balances under this paragraph
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(1) award emergency assistance grants directly
to students to meet immediate needs that could
interfere with the student completing the term
or their program, including but not limited to
emergency housing, food, and transportation;

(2) minimize any negative impact on student
financial aid resulting from the receipt of
emergency money; and

(3) by February 1 each year, submit a report

to the chairs and ranking minority members

of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education on emergency assistance
grants awarded to students using the money
appropriated in this paragraph. The report must
detail:

(i) how money was distributed among
institutions;

(ii) the process by which students apply for

emergency assistance grants and institutions
make a determination about whether money
will be awarded;

(iii) how many students received emergency
assistance grants and the average award
amount;

(iv) the most common student needs that
grants were awarded to meet; and

(v) the average length of time between grant
application and disbursement to students.
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do not cancel until June 30, 2029. Beginning
January 15, 2026, and annually thereafter until
January 15, 2030, or until the money is fully
expended, whichever occurs first, the Board
of Regents must submit a report to the
legislature specifying how the collaborative
partnership has used money under this

paragraph.

Subd. 3. Primary Care Education Initiatives

This appropriation is from the health care
access fund.

Subd. 4. Special Appropriations

(a) Agriculture and Extension Service

For the Agricultural Experiment Station and
the Minnesota Extension Service:

(1) the agricultural experiment stations and
Minnesota Extension Service must convene
agricultural advisory groups to focus research,
education, and extension activities on producer
needs and implement an outreach strategy that
more effectively and rapidly transfers research
results and best practices to producers
throughout the state;

(2) this appropriation includes funding for
research and outreach on the production of
renewable energy from Minnesota biomass
resources, including agronomic crops, plant
and animal wastes, and native plants or trees.
The following areas should be prioritized and
carried out in consultation with Minnesota
producers, renewable energy, and bioenergy

organizations:

(i) biofuel and other energy production from
perennial crops, small grains, row crops, and

2,157,000

42,922,000

2,157,000

42,922,000
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(f) $2,157,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,157,000 in fiscal year 2027 are from the
health care access fund for primary care
education initiatives.

Subd. 6. Special Appropriations; Natural
Resources Management and Education

50,009,000

(a) $27,086,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$27,086,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Minnesota Agricultural Experiment Station.

(b) $15,836,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$15,836,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
University of Minnesota Extension.

(c) The amounts appropriated in paragraphs
(a) and (b) must be used for the following:

(1) the Minnesota Agricultural Experiment
Station and University of Minnesota Extension
must convene agricultural advisory groups to
focus research, education, and Extension
activities on producer needs and implement

an outreach strategy that more effectively and
rapidly transfers research results and best
practices to producers throughout the state;

(2) this appropriation includes funding for
research and outreach on the production of
renewable energy from Minnesota biomass
resources, including agronomic crops, plant
and animal wastes, and native plants or trees.
The following areas should be prioritized and
carried out in consultation with Minnesota

50,009,000
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forestry products in conjunction with the
Natural Resources Research Institute (NRRI);

(ii) alternative bioenergy crops and cropping
systems; and

(iii) biofuel coproducts used for livestock feed;

(3) this appropriation includes funding for the
College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural
Resources Sciences to establish and provide
leadership for organic agronomic,
horticultural, livestock, and food systems
research, education, and outreach and for the
purchase of state-of-the-art laboratory,
planting, tilling, harvesting, and processing
equipment necessary for this project;

(4) this appropriation includes funding for
research efforts that demonstrate a renewed
emphasis on the needs of the state's agriculture
community. The following areas should be
prioritized and carried out in consultation with
Minnesota farm organizations:

(i) vegetable crop research with priority for
extending the Minnesota vegetable growing
season;

(ii) fertilizer and soil fertility research and
development;

(iii) soil, groundwater, and surface water
conservation practices and contaminant
reduction research;

(iv) discovering and developing plant varieties
that use nutrients more efficiently;

(v) breeding and development of turf seed and
other biomass resources in all three Minnesota
biomes;

(vi) development of new disease-resistant and
pest-resistant varieties of turf and agronomic

crops;
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producers, renewable energy, and bioenergy
organizations:

(i) biofuel and other energy production from
perennial crops, small grains, row crops, and
forestry products in conjunction with the
Natural Resources Research Institute (NRRI);

(ii) alternative bioenergy crops and cropping
systems; and

(iii) biofuel coproducts used for livestock feed;

(3) this appropriation includes funding for the
College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural
Resource Sciences to establish and provide
leadership for organic agronomic,
horticultural, livestock, and food systems
research, education, and outreach and for the
purchase of state-of-the-art laboratory,
planting, tilling, harvesting, and processing
equipment necessary for this project;

(4) this appropriation includes funding for
research efforts that demonstrate a renewed
emphasis on the needs of the state's agriculture
community. The following areas should be
prioritized and carried out in consultation with
Minnesota farm organizations:

(i) vegetable crop research with priority for
extending the Minnesota vegetable growing
season;

(ii) fertilizer and soil fertility research and
development;

(iii) soil, groundwater, and surface water
conservation practices and contaminant
reduction research;

(iv) discovering and developing plant varieties
that use nutrients more efficiently;
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(vii) utilizing plant and livestock cells to treat
and cure human diseases;

(viii) the development of dairy coproducts;

(ix) a rapid agricultural response fund for
current or emerging animal, plant, and insect
problems affecting production or food safety;

(x) crop pest and animal disease research;

(xi) developing animal agriculture that is
capable of sustainably feeding the world,

(xii) consumer food safety education and
outreach;

(xiii) programs to meet the research and
outreach needs of organic livestock and crop
farmers; and

(xiv) alternative bioenergy crops and cropping
systems; and growing, harvesting, and
transporting biomass plant material; and

(5) by February 1, 2027, the Board of Regents
must submit a report to the legislative
committees and divisions with jurisdiction
over agriculture and higher education finance
on the status and outcomes of research and
initiatives funded in this paragraph.

(b) Health Sciences

$346,000 each year is to support up to 12
resident physicians in the St. Cloud Hospital
family practice residency program. The
program must prepare doctors to practice
primary care medicine in rural areas of the
state. The legislature intends this program to

Higher Education Finance and Policy

House Language H2431-2

9,204,000

9,204,000
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(v) breeding and development of turf seed and
other biomass resources in all three Minnesota
biomes;

(vi) development of new disease-resistant and
pest-resistant varieties of turf and agronomic

crops;

(vii) utilizing plant and livestock cells to treat
and cure human diseases;

(viii) the development of dairy coproducts;

(ix) a rapid agricultural response fund for
current or emerging animal, plant, and insect
problems affecting production or food safety;

(x) crop pest and animal disease research;

(xi) developing animal agriculture that is
capable of sustainably feeding the world,

(xii) consumer food safety education and
outreach;

(xiii) programs to meet the research and
outreach needs of organic livestock and crop
farmers; and

(xiv) alternative bioenergy crops and cropping
systems and growing, harvesting, and
transporting biomass plant material; and

(5) by February 1, 2027, the Board of Regents
must submit a report to the legislative
committees and divisions with jurisdiction
over agriculture and higher education finance
on the status and outcomes of research and
initiatives funded in paragraphs (a) and (b).

(c) $346,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $346,000
in fiscal year 2027 are to support up to 12
resident physicians in the St. Cloud Hospital
family medicine residency program, which
must prepare doctors to practice primary care
medicine in rural areas of Minnesota.
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improve health care in rural communities,
provide affordable access to appropriate
medical care, and manage the treatment of
patients in a more cost-effective manner. The
remainder of this appropriation is for the rural
physicians associates program; the Veterinary
Diagnostic Laboratory; health sciences
research; dental care; the Biomedical
Engineering Center; and the collaborative
partnership between the University of
Minnesota and Mayo Clinic for regenerative
medicine, research, clinical translation, and
commercialization.

(c) College of Science and Engineering

For the geological survey and the talented
youth mathematics program.

(d) System Special

(1) For general research, the Labor Education
Service, Natural Resources Research Institute,

Center for Urban and Regional Affairs, Bell
Museum of Natural History, and the

Humphrey exhibit.

(2) $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Natural Resources Research Institute to invest
in applied research in natural resource
stewardship and economic development to
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PAGE R25

23.30
23.31
23.32

18.19
18.20
18.21
18.22
18.23

19.1
19.2
19.3
19.4

19.10
19.11
19.12

20.25
20.26
20.27

20.28
20.29
20.30
20.31

20.32
20.33
21.1
21.2

23.27
23.28
23.29

Senate Language UEH2431-1

(e) $1,673,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,673,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory.

(e) $2,465,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$2,465,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for health
sciences research at the Office of Academic
Clinical Affairs and the School of Public
Health.

(g) $4,350,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,350,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
competitive grants for regenerative medicine
research and commercialization.

(i) $77,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $77,000 in
fiscal year 2027 are for biomedical

engineering.

(a) $985,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $985,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for the Center for Urban

and Regional Affairs.

(b) $39,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $39,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for the Bureau of
Business and Economic Research at the
University of Minnesota Duluth.

(c) $778,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $778,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for industrial relations
education at the Carlson School of

Management.

(d) $4,414,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,414,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the
Natural Resources Research Institute.
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attract and retain top talent; provide matching
funds for federal grants; upgrade facilities,
equipment, and training; and expand
entrepreneurial support and outreach efforts.

Subd. 5. Academic Health Center

The appropriation for Academic Health Center
funding under Minnesota Statutes, section
297F.10, is estimated to be $22,250,000 each

year.

Subd. 6. Agriculture Sector; Extreme Weather 1,000,000

For a program in the University of Minnesota
Extension Service that enhances the capacity
of the state's agriculture sector, land and
resource managers, and communities to plan
for and adapt to weather extremes, including
but not limited to droughts and floods. The
base for this appropriation in fiscal year 2028
and later is $1,000,000. The appropriation
under this section must be used to support
existing extension service staff members and
to hire additional staff members for a program
with broad geographic reach throughout the
state. The program must:

(1) identify, develop, implement, and evaluate
educational programs that increase the
capacity of Minnesota's agriculture sector,
land and resource managers, and communities
to be prepared for and adapt to projected
physical changes in temperature, precipitation,
and other weather parameters that affect crops,
land, horticulture, pests, and wildlife in ways
that present challenges to the state's agriculture
sector and the communities that depend on the
agriculture sector; and

(2) communicate and interpret the latest
research on critical weather trends and the
scientific basis for critical weather trends to
further prepare extension service staff

1,000,000

PAGE R26

24.1
24.2
243
24.4
24.5
24.6
24.7
24.8
24.9
24.10
24.11
24.12
24.13

24.14
24.15
24.16
24.17
24.18
24.19
24.20
24.21
24.22
24.23
24.24

24.25
24.26
24.27
24.28
24.29
24.30

Senate Language UEH2431-1

(f) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for a
University of Minnesota Extension program
that enhances the capacity of the state's
agriculture sector, land and resource managers,
and communities to plan for and adapt to
weather extremes, including but not limited
to droughts and floods. The money
appropriated in this paragraph must be used
to support existing Extension staff members
and to hire additional staff members for a
program with broad geographic reach
throughout the state. The program must:

(1) identify, develop, implement, and evaluate
educational programs that increase the
capacity of Minnesota's agriculture sector,
land and resource managers, and communities
to be prepared for and adapt to projected
physical changes in temperature, precipitation,
and other weather parameters that affect crops,
lands, horticulture, pests, and wildlife in ways
that present challenges to the state's agriculture
sector and the communities that depend on the
agriculture sector; and

(2) communicate and interpret the latest
research on critical weather trends and the
scientific basis for critical weather trends to
further prepare Extension staff throughout the
state to educate and provide technical
assistance to the agriculture sector, land and
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20.34 throughout the state to educate and provide
20.35 technical assistance to the agriculture sector,
21.1  land and resource managers, and community
21.2  members at the local level regarding technical
21.3  information on water resource management,
214  agriculture and forestry, engineering and

21.5  infrastructure design, and emergency

21.6  management that is necessary to develop

21.7  strategies to mitigate the effects of extreme

21.8  weather change.
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resource managers, and community members
at the local level regarding technical
information on water resource management,
agriculture and forestry, engineering and
infrastructure design, and emergency
management that is necessary to develop
strategies to mitigate the effects of extreme

weather change.

Subd. 3. Special Appropriations; Research and
Innovation 33,033,000

(f) $7,491,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$7,491,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for
competitive grants for biotechnology and
medical genomics research at the University
of Minnesota and Mayo Foundation. By June
30 of each year, the Board of Regents must
submit a report on the expenditure of this
money to the governor and the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over higher
education.

(h) $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $500,000
in fiscal year 2027 are for competitive grants
for research into the prevention, treatment,
causes, and cures of Alzheimer's disease and
other dementias.

Subd. 4. Special Appropriations; Medical

Training and Care $ 12,946,000 $
Appropriations by Fund
2026 2027
General 10,789,000 10,789,000
Health Care Access 2,157,000 2,157,000

33,033,000

12,946,000

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Higher Education Finance and Policy
House Language H2431-2 Senate Language UEH2431-1

20.24 Subd. 5. Special Appropriations; Social Sciences 1,802,000 1,802,000

25.4  Subd. 7. Special Appropriations; Campus
25.5 Management and Student Support 2,345,000 2,345,000

26.12  (d) $200,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $200,000
26.13 in fiscal year 2027 are for hunger-free campus
26.14  activities. The Board of Regents must:

26.15 (1) meet the following hunger-free campus
26.16 requirements on University of Minnesota

26.17 campuses:
26.18 (i) maintain an on-campus food pantry or

26.19  partnership with a local food bank to provide
26.20 regular, on-campus food distributions;

26.21  (ii) provide information to students on the
26.22  Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
26.23 (SNAP), the Minnesota Family Investment
26.24 Program (MFIP), and other programs that
26.25 reduce food insecurity;

26.26  (iii) notify students in work-study employment
26.27  of their potential eligibility for SNAP benefits
26.28 and provide information to those students
26.29 about eligibility criteria and how to apply for
26.30 benefits;

26.31  (iv) hold or participate in one hunger
26.32 awareness event per academic year;

27.1  (v) provide emergency assistance grants to
27.2  students; and

27.3  (vi) establish a hunger task force that meets a
27.4  minimum of three times per academic year
27.5  and that includes at least two students

27.6  currently enrolled at the institution;

27.7  (2) match at least 50 percent of the amount
27.8  appropriated in this paragraph with either
27.9  in-kind contributions or other resources; and

27.10  (3) by February 1 of each year, submit a report
27.11  to the chairs and ranking minority members
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Sec. 5. TRANSFERS.

(a) $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the spinal cord and traumatic brain injury grant account in the special
revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.901, subdivision 1. The commissioner
may use up to three percent of the amounts transferred under this paragraph to administer
the program. For fiscal years 2028 through 2031, the commissioner of management and
budget must include a transfer of $500,000 each year from the general fund to the spinal
cord and traumatic brain injury grant account in the special revenue fund under Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.901, subdivision 1, when preparing each forecast from the effective
date of this section through the February 2027 forecast, under Minnesota Statutes, section
16A.103.

(b) $3,882,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $3,882,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred
from the general fund to the dual training account in the special revenue fund under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.246, subdivision 10. Of the amounts transferred under

this paragraph:

(1) $132,000 each year is for transfer to the Department of Labor and Industry to support
identification of competency standards and development of dual training programs in the
transportation and child care industries as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 175.45;
and

(2) $750,000 each year is for grants to employers in the legal cannabis industry. The
commissioner may use up to six percent of the amounts transferred under this clause to
administer the program. The commissioner must give priority to applications from employers
who are, or who are training employees who are, eligible as social equity applicants under
Minnesota Statutes, section 342.17. After June 30, 2027, any unencumbered balance from
this transfer may be used for grants to any eligible employer under Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.246.

This transfer is $3,882,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each year thereafter. For fiscal years
2028 through 2031, the commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer
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of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education on hunger-free campus
activities performed using the money
appropriated in this paragraph. The report must
detail:

(i) how funding was distributed among
institutions;

(ii) how hunger-free campus requirements
were met at those institutions; and

(iii) how many students were served.
Sec. 5. TRANSFERS.

(a) $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred
from the general fund to the spinal cord and traumatic brain injury grant account in the
special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.901, subdivision 1. The
commissioner may use up to three percent of the amounts transferred under this paragraph
to administer the program. The commissioner of management and budget must include a
transfer of $3,000,000 each year from the general fund to the spinal cord and traumatic
brain injury grant account in the special revenue fund in each forecast prepared under
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103, from the effective date of this section through the
February 2027 forecast.

(b) $3,132,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $3,132,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred
from the general fund to the dual training account in the special revenue fund under
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.246, subdivision 10. Of the amounts transferred under
this paragraph, $132,000 each year is for transfer to the Department of Labor and Industry
to support identification of competency standards and development of dual training programs
in the transportation and child care industries as required under Minnesota Statutes, section
175.45. The commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer of $3,132,000
each year from the general fund to the dual training account in the special revenue fund in
each forecast prepared under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103, from the effective date
of this section through the February 2027 forecast.
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of $3,882,000 each year from the general fund to the dual training account in the special
revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.246, subdivision 10, when preparing
each forecast from the effective date of this section through the February 2027 forecast,
under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103.

(c) $325,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $325,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the large animal veterinarian loan forgiveness program account in the
special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1795, subdivision 2. For fiscal
years 2028 through 2031, the commissioner of management and budget must include a
transfer of $325,000 each year from the general fund to the large animal veterinarian loan
forgiveness program account in the special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.1795, subdivision 2, when preparing each forecast from the effective date of this
section through the February 2027 forecast, under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103.

(d) $45,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $45,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from the
general fund to the agricultural education loan forgiveness account in the special revenue
fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1794, subdivision 2. For fiscal years 2028
through 2031, the commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer of
$45,000 each year from the general fund to the agricultural education loan forgiveness
account in the special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1794, subdivision
2, when preparing each forecast from the effective date of this section through the February
2027 forecast, under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103.

(e) $750,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $750,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the inclusive higher education grant account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.162, subdivision 4. The commissioner may use up
to five percent of the amounts transferred under this paragraph to administer the program.
For fiscal years 2028 through 2031, the commissioner of management and budget must
include a transfer of $750,000 each year from the general fund to the inclusive higher
education grant account in the special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section
135A.162, subdivision 4, when preparing each forecast from the effective date of this section
through the February 2027 forecast, under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103.

(f) $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred
from the general fund to the account in the special revenue fund for North Star Promise
scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465, subdivision 8. For fiscal years
2028 through 2031, the commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer
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(c) $250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $250,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the large animal veterinarian loan forgiveness program account in the
special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1795, subdivision 2. The
commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer of $250,000 each year
from the general fund to the large animal veterinarian loan forgiveness program account in
the special revenue fund in each forecast prepared under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103,
from the effective date of this section through the February 2027 forecast.

(d) $200,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $200,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the teacher shortage loan repayment account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1791, subdivision 8. The commissioner may use
up to three percent of the amounts transferred under this paragraph to administer the program.
The commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer of $200,000 each
year from the general fund to the teacher shortage loan repayment account in the special
revenue fund in each forecast prepared under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103, from
the effective date of this section through the February 2027 forecast.

(e) $750,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $750,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from
the general fund to the inclusive higher education grant account in the special revenue fund
under Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.162, subdivision 4. The commissioner may use up
to five percent of the amounts transferred under this paragraph to administer the program.
The commissioner of management and budget must include a transfer of $750,000 each
year from the general fund to the inclusive higher education grant account in the special
revenue fund in each forecast prepared under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103, from
the effective date of this section through the February 2027 forecast.

(f) $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred
from the general fund to the account in the special revenue fund for North Star Promise
scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465, subdivision 8. The commissioner
of management and budget must include a transfer of $49,500,000 each year from the general
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of $49,500,000 each year from the general fund to the account in the special revenue fund
for North Star Promise scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465,
subdivision 8, when preparing each forecast from the effective date of this section through
the February 2027 forecast, under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103.

Sec. 6. CANCELLATION; ALS RESEARCH.

Of the amount appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of the Office of
Higher Education pursuant to Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, paragraph (b), as amended
by Laws 2024, chapter 124, article 1, section 1, and Laws 2024, chapter 127, article 34,
section 1, $15,262,263 is canceled.

ARTICLE 2
HIGHER EDUCATION PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.052, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Statement of missions. (a) The legislature recognizes each type of public
postsecondary institution to have a distinctive mission within the overall provision of public
higher education in the state and a responsibility to cooperate with each other. These missions
are as follows:

(1) the technical colleges shall offer vocational training and education to prepare students
for skilled occupations that do not require a baccalaureate degree;

(2) the community colleges shall offer lower division instruction in academic programs,
occupational programs in which all credits earned will be accepted for transfer to a
baccalaureate degree in the same field of study, and remedial studies, for students transferring
to baccalaureate institutions and for those seeking associate degrees;

(3) consolidated community technical colleges shall offer the same types of instruction,
programs, certificates, diplomas, and degrees as the technical colleges and community
colleges offer;

(4) the state universities shall offer undergraduate and graduate instruction through the
master's degree, including specialist certificates, in the liberal arts and sciences and
professional education, and may offer applied doctoral degrees in education, business,
psychology, physical therapy, audiology, cybersecurity, and nursing; and
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fund to the account in the special revenue fund for North Star Promise scholarships in each
forecast prepared under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.103, from the effective date of this
section through the February 2027 forecast.

Sec. 6. CANCELLATIONS.

(a) The $500,000 fiscal year 2025 appropriation from the general fund for the Kids on
Campus initiative under Laws 2024, chapter 124, article 1, section 6, is canceled.

(b) $500,000 from the dual training account in the special revenue fund is canceled to
the general fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
ARTICLE 2

HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY
Section 1. [120B.1251] PARTICIPATION IN DIRECT ADMISSIONS PROGRAM.

Starting in the 2029-2030 school year, a district or charter school high school must
participate in the direct admissions program under section 136A.84.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.052, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Statement of missions. (a) The legislature recognizes each type of public
postsecondary institution to have a distinctive mission within the overall provision of public
higher education in the state and a responsibility to cooperate with each other. These missions
are as follows:

(1) the technical colleges shall offer vocational training and education to prepare students
for skilled occupations that do not require a baccalaureate degree;

(2) the community colleges shall offer lower division instruction in academic programs,
occupational programs in which all credits earned will be accepted for transfer to a
baccalaureate degree in the same field of study, and remedial studies, for students transferring
to baccalaureate institutions and for those seeking associate degrees;

(3) consolidated community technical colleges shall offer the same types of instruction,
programs, certificates, diplomas, and degrees as the technical colleges and community
colleges offer;

(4) the state universities shall offer undergraduate and graduate instruction through the
master's degree, including specialist certificates, in the liberal arts and sciences and
professional education, and may offer applied doctoral degrees in education, business,
psychology, physical therapy, audiology, cybersecurity, and nursing; and
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(5) the University of Minnesota shall offer undergraduate, graduate, and professional
instruction through the doctoral degree, and shall be the primary state supported academic
agency for research and extension services.

(b) It is part of the mission of each system that within the system's resources the system's
governing board and chancellor or president shall endeavor to:

(1) prevent the waste or unnecessary spending of public money;

(2) use innovative fiscal and human resource practices to manage the state's resources
and operate the system as efficiently as possible;

(3) coordinate the system's activities wherever appropriate with the activities of the other
system and governmental agencies;

(4) use technology where appropriate to increase system productivity, improve customer
service, increase public access to information about the system, and increase public
participation in the business of the system;

(5) utilize constructive and cooperative labor-management practices to the extent
otherwise required by chapters 43A and 179A; and

(6) recommend to the legislature appropriate changes in law necessary to carry out the
mission of the system.
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(5) the University of Minnesota shall offer undergraduate, graduate, and professional
instruction through the doctoral degree, and shall be the primary state supported academic
agency for research and extension services.

(b) It is part of the mission of each system that within the system's resources the system's
governing board and chancellor or president shall endeavor to:

(1) prevent the waste or unnecessary spending of public money;

(2) use innovative fiscal and human resource practices to manage the state's resources
and operate the system as efficiently as possible;

(3) coordinate the system's activities wherever appropriate with the activities of the other
system and governmental agencies;

(4) use technology where appropriate to increase system productivity, improve customer
service, increase public access to information about the system, and increase public
participation in the business of the system;

(5) utilize constructive and cooperative labor-management practices to the extent
otherwise required by chapters 43A and 179A; and

(6) recommend to the legislature appropriate changes in law necessary to carry out the
mission of the system.

Sec. 3. [135A.1367] OPIATE ANTAGONIST.

(a) The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must, and
the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to:

(1) maintain a supply of opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision
1, at each campus site to be administered in compliance with section 151.37, subdivision
12; and

(2) have at least two doses of a nasal opiate antagonist available on site at each campus
residential building.

(b) The commissioner of health shall identify resources, including at least one training
video, to help postsecondary institutions implement an opiate antagonist emergency response
and make the resources available for institutions.

(c) The Board of Trustees and the Board of Regents may adopt a model plan for use,
storage, and administration of opiate antagonists on system campuses.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning in the 2025-2026 academic
ear.
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.137, is amended to read:
135A.137 HUNGER-FREE CAMPUS DESIGNATION.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. (a) A Hunger-Free Campus designation is established
for public postsecondary institutions and-fer, nonprofit degree-granting institutions physically
located in Minnesota and registered with the Office of Higher Education under section
136A.63, and Tribal colleges. In order to be awarded the designation, an institution must
meet the following minimum criteria:

(1) have an established on-campus food pantry or partnership with a local food bank to
provide regular, on-campus food distributions;

(2) provide information to students on SNAP, MFIP, and other programs that reduce
food insecurity. The institution shall notify students in work-study employment of their
potential eligibility for SNAP benefits and provide information to those students that includes
eligibility criteria and how to apply for benefits;

(3) hold or participate in one hunger awareness event per academic year;
(4) have an established emergency assistance grant that is available to students; and

(5) establish a hunger task force that meets a minimum of three times per academic year.
The task force must include at least two students currently enrolled at the institution.

(b) Each institution must reapply at least every four years to maintain the designation.

Subd. 2. Designation approval. The commissioner, in collaboration with the student
advisory council under section 136A.031, shall create an application process for institutions
applying for grantfunds the designation. The commissioner, in collaboratlon with the student
advisory council, shall review applications & ons-to 6
The student adVlsory council may provide recommendatlons to the commissioner, but the
commissioner shall have final approval for the designation and-the-avward-ameunt.

Subd 3 Competltlve grant (a}—lﬂs&mtieﬁs—ehgﬂa}e—fer—a—gf&m—uﬂdeﬁhis—s&bdiﬂsteﬂ

) (a) The commissioner shall establish a competitive grant program to distribute grants

to eligible-institations public postsecondary institutions, nonprofit postsecondary institutions,
and Tribal colleges to meet and maintain the requirements for the Hunger-Free Campus

designation under subdivisiont;paragraph-(a) this section. Initial grants shall be made to
institutions that have not earned the designation and demonstrate a need for funding to meet
the Hunger-Free Campus designation requirements. Sustaining grants shall be made to
institutions that have earned the designation and demonstrate both a partnership with a local
food bank or organization that provides regular, on-campus food distributions and a need
for funds to maintain the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
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must consider, among othr factors:
(1) the number of federal Pell Grant eligible students enrolled in the last academic year
at the institution; and

(2) the total number of students enrolled at the institution.

& (c) The commissioner, in collaboration with
institations the Student Advisory Council under section 136A.031, shall create an application
process and establish selection criteria for awarding the grants.

Subd. 3a. Grant amounts. (a) The maximum grant amount for an initial grant is $25,000
per fiscal year.

(b) The maximum grant amount for a sustaining grant is $15,000 per fiscal year.

(c) Eligible institutions may only receive one initial grant.

(d) If grant requests exceed the amount of available money, no more than 20 percent of
the total grant awards shall be for grants to nonprofit private postsecondary institutions.

Subd. 4. Grantrequirements Match required. (&) An eligible institution that receives
a grant under subdivision 3 must: match at least 50 percent of the grant amount awarded

with money or in-kind resources.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.15, subdivision 1la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given.
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31.8 (b) "Advisor" means a person who is selected by a responding or reporting party to serve
31.9  as asupport during a campus investigation and disciplinary process. This person may be
31.10 an attorney. An advisor serves as a support to a party by offering comfort or attending

31.11 meetings.

31.12 (c) "Domestic violence" has the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.

31.13 (d) "Incident" means one report of sexual misconduct to a postsecondary institution,
31.14 regardless of the number of complainants included in the report, the number of respondents
31.15 included in the report, and whether or not the identity of any party is known by the reporting
31.16 postsecondary institution. Incident encompasses all nonconsensual events included within
31.17 one report if multiple events have been identified.

31.18 (e) "Intimate partner violence" means any physical or sexual harm or a pattern of any
31.19  other coercive behavior committed, enabled, or solicited to gain or maintain power and

31.20 control over a victim, including verbal, psychological, economic, or technological abuse
31.21 that may or may not constitute criminal behavior against an individual, that may be classified
31.22 as a sexual misconduct, dating violence, or domestic violence caused by:

31.23 (1) a current or former spouse of the individual; or
31.24 (2) a person in a sexual or romantic relationship with the individual.
31.25 (f) "Nonconsensual dissemination of sexual images" has the meaning given in section

31.26  617.261.

31.27 (g) "Reporting party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has reported
31.28 Dbeing subjected to conduct or communication that could constitute sexual misconduct.

31.29 (h) "Responding party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has been
31.30 reported to be the perpetrator of conduct or communication that could constitute sexual
31.31 misconduct.

32.1 (i) "Retaliation" means intimidation, threats, coercion, or discrimination against a
32.2  reporting party, responding party, or witness for the purpose of interfering with any right
323 or privilege or because the person has reported information, made a complaint, testified,
32.4  assisted, or participated or refused to participate in any manner in an investigation,

32.5  proceeding, or hearing under this section, including in nondisciplinary restorative justice
32.6  services.

32.7 (j) "Sexual assault" means rape, sex offenses - fondling, sex offenses - incest, or sex
32.8  offenses - statutory rape as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, part 668, subpart
329 D, appendix A, as amended.

32.10 (k) "Sexual extortion" has the meaning given in section 609.3458.
32.11 o (1) "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.
32.12 ) (m) "Sexual harassment" has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 43.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.15, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Campus investigation-and-diseiplinary-hearing procedures sexual

misconduct grievance procedures. (a) A postsecondary institution must provide a reporting
party an opportunity for an impartial, timely, and thorough investigation of a report of sexual
misconduct against a student. If an investigation reveals that sexual misconduct has occurred,
the institution must take prompt and effective steps reasonably calculated to end the sexual
misconduct, prevent its recurrence, and, as appropriate, remedy its effects.

(b) An institution must offer and coordinate academic and residential supportive measures
as needed and equitably to both the reporting and responding parties participating in a
campus sexual misconduct grievance process, including but not limited to exam or assignment
extensions, permitted class absence, a change in on-campus residence, and schedule changes.

(c) An institution must allow the reporting and responding parties to present and review
relevant evidence. Testimony by the parties and witnesses must be compiled in an

investigative report.

(d) Throughout any investigation or disciplinary proceeding, a-pestseeondary an
institution must treat the reporting parties, responding parties, witnesses, and other

participants in the proceeding with dignity and respect.

te) (e) If a-postseeondary an institution conducts a hearing, an-adviser the reporting and
responding parties may provide opening and closing remarks, or a party's advisor may

provide opening or closing remarks on behalf of & the party or assist with formulating
questions to the other party or witnesses about related relevant evidence or credibility.

(f) An institution must allow equal opportunity during the hearing for the reporting and
responding parties to consult an additional support person other than the party's advisor,
such as an advocate, if requested and deemed appropriate by the Title IX coordinator or

designee.

(g) The reporting and responding parties must be given equal opportunity to question
the credibility of the other party and witnesses through a live hearing or questioning by a
decision-maker, pursuant to paragraph (i).
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{m) (n) "Sexual misconduct" means an incident of sexual violence, intimate partner
violence, domestic violence, sexual assault, sexual harassment, nonconsensual distribution
of sexual images, sexual extortion, nonconsensual dissemination of a deepfake depicting
intimate parts or sexual acts, sex trafficking, or stalking.

t®) (o) "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.15, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Campus investigation-and-diseiplinary-hearing procedures sexual

misconduct grievance process. (a) A postsecondary institution must establish a sexual
misconduct grievance process as outlined in this section. The postsecondary institution must
provide a reporting party an opportunity for an impartial, timely, and thorough investigation
of a report of sexual misconduct against-a-stadent. [f an investigation reveals that sexual
misconduct has occurred, the postsecondary institution must take prompt and effective steps
reasonably calculated to end the sexual misconduct, prevent its recurrence, and, as
appropriate, remedy its effects. Remedial action may include any or all of the following:

(1) disciplinary action against the responding party;

(2) with the consent of the parties, alternative resolution options; and

(3) academic or residential supportive measures, as requested by the reporting party.

(b) Throughout any investigation or disciplinary proceeding, a postsecondary institution
must treat the reporting parties, responding parties, witnesses, and other participants in the
proceeding with dignity and respect.

; v 4 ideneeore ity= A postsecondary institution must
provide due process protections before imposing disciplinary action against a responding
party who is a student. The responding party must be informed in writing of the allegations
with sufficient details related to the allegations, including the alleged misconduct; the identity
of the reporting party; and to the extent possible, the date, time, and location of the alleged
sexual misconduct. The responding party must be provided with the campus code of conduct
guidelines listing possible sanctions.

(d) A postsecondary institution must offer and coordinate, as needed, academic and
residential supportive measures equitably to both reporting and responding parties
participating in a campus sexual misconduct grievance process. Supportive measures must
be determined on a case-by-case basis and may include but are not limited to exam or
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(h) If an institution allows for cross-examination of witnesses and parties, the reporting
party and the responding party are not permitted to personally cross-examine each other or
any witnesses. Any cross-examination must be performed by the party's advisor or an
adjudicator of the campus disciplinary proceeding.

(1) An institution must appoint a decision-maker or panel of decision-makers who are
not the investigator to assess the credibility of the reporting party, the responding party, and
any other witnesses through a live hearing or direct questioning.

(j) If the facts and circumstances rise to a policy violation, an institution must proceed
with the campus sexual misconduct grievance process concurrently with a criminal
investigation if requested by the reporting party.

(k) Personal information of the reporting party such as character witness or sexual
behavior of the reporting party is allowable if the information is deemed relevant by the
decision-maker and if the information substantiates that the misconduct may have occurred.
Mental health and medical information of the reporting party may be considered if: (1) a
release is signed by the reporting party; and (2) nonrelevant information is redacted. If a
responding party is found responsible, medical and mental health information of the reporting
party may be considered to determine sanctions.

(1) Questions and evidence about the reporting party's sexual predisposition or prior
sexual behavior are not considered relevant unless such questions and evidence: (1) are
offered to prove that someone other than the responding party committed the alleged conduct;
or (2) concern specific incidents of the reporting party's prior sexual behavior with respect
to the responding party and are offered to prove consent.

(m) The responding and reporting parties may discuss the investigation and disciplinary
proceedings with an advisor of choice, the party's parents, or an authorized legal guardian.

(n) An institution must deliver the outcome of the grievance process simultaneously to
the reporting and responding parties.

(o) An institution must inform the reporting and responding parties no later than 24
hours before a decision is rendered regarding the timeline of the outcome's release. Alongside
the notice of the outcome, an institution must offer community mental health and, if
applicable, on-campus resources equitably to a reporting and responding party. The outcome
must not be delivered to a reporting or responding party at the end of the day or on a weekend
or holiday to ensure that the reporting and responding parties may access supportive services.

(p) Institutions must have a policy prohibiting retaliation that specifies what constitutes
retaliation and possible actions for students and employees if retaliation occurs. Retaliation
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assignment extensions, excused class absence, change in on-campus residence, or schedule

changes.
(e) A postsecondary institution must allow the reporting and responding parties to present

and review relevant testimony by parties and witnesses and relevant evidence compiled in
an investigative report.

() A postsecondary institution must hold a hearing related to disciplinary action under
this section if requested by either the reporting or responding party.

(g) A hearing or other proceeding related to disciplinary action under this section is
subject to the following requirements:

(1) the reporting and responding party must be given equal opportunity to:

(i) present relevant evidence and witnesses;

(ii) retain an advisor to serve as support to a reporting or responding party in any meeting,
interview, or investigative, or disciplinary process, and any restriction of an advisor's role
must be applied equally to the reporting and responding parties;

(iii) inspect, review, and respond to relevant evidence and testimony provided by either
party and witnesses collected through an investigative report written by the postsecondary
institution or designee; and

(iv) discuss the investigation and disciplinary proceedings with their advisor and parents
or guardians;

(2) the postsecondary institution must:

(i) allow for the opportunity for both parties to question the credibility of the other party
and witnesses through written remarks or by cross-examination if a postsecondary institution
conducts a live hearing;

(ii) appoint a decision-maker or a panel of decision-makers who is not the investigator
to assess credibility of the parties and witnesses;

(iii) allow an advisor to assist with formulating questions to the other party or witnesses
about related evidence or credibility, if a postsecondary institution conducts a hearing;

(iv) if a postsecondary institution conducts a hearing, provide the reporting and responding
parties with the equal opportunity to provide testimony without encountering the other party
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28.28 against the reporting party, responding party, or witnesses resulting from a person's
28.29 participation in a campus sexual misconduct investigation is prohibited.
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in person, and to review testimony provided by the other party in a similar manner. This
may be done through video conference or closed-circuit television;

(v) proceed with the campus sexual misconduct grievance process, if requested by the
reporting party, concurrently with a criminal investigation, except that a postsecondary
institution may temporarily delay a campus proceeding if requested by law enforcement
and if the campus proceeding may impede a criminal investigation; and

(vi) deliver the outcome of the grievance process simultaneously to the reporting and
responding parties;

(3) if a postsecondary institution allows for cross-examination of witnesses and parties,
neither the reporting party nor responding party may be permitted to personally cross-examine
one another or other witnesses. Any cross-examination must be performed by an advisor.

An adjudicator of the campus disciplinary proceeding may ask questions of any party or
witness;

(4) information related to character, including character witnesses, questions or evidence
about the sexual behavior or sexual preferences of the reporting party, or mental health
records, must not be considered, except:

(i) information related to the sexual behavior of the reporting party may be considered
if it substantiates that the misconduct may have occurred, and is deemed relevant by the
decision maker;

(ii) mental health and medical information of the reporting party may be considered if
a release is signed by the reporting party and nonrelevant information is redacted;

(iii) if a responding party is found responsible, a postsecondary institution may consider
medical and mental health information of the reporting party to determine sanctions; and

(iv) questions and evidence regarding the sexual preferences or past sexual behavior of
the reporting party may be considered if such evidence is offered to prove that someone
other than the responding party committed the conduct alleged by the reporting party, or
the evidence concerns specific incidents of the reporting party's prior sexual behavior with
respect to the responding party and is offered to prove consent;

(5) to the extent possible, the postsecondary institution must:

(i) inform parties no later than 24 hours before a decision is rendered, and provide the
timeline of the outcome's release;

(ii) offer community mental health resources and, if applicable, on-campus resources
with the notice of outcome equitably to parties; and

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



28.30
29.1
29.2

293
294

29.5
29.6

29.7
29.8

299

29.10
29.11
29.12
29.13

29.14
29.15
29.16
29.17

29.18
29.19
29.20

Higher Education Finance and Policy
House Language H2431-2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.1582, is amended to read:
135A.1582 PROTECTIONS FOR PREGNANT AND PARENTING STUDENTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitien Definitions. (a) For the-purpese purposes of this section, the
following term-has terms have the meaning meanings given.

(b) "Parenting student” means a student enrolled at a public college or university who
is the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of 18.

(c) "Pregnancy or related conditions" has the meaning given in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 34, section 106.2.

(d) "Postsecondary institution" means an institution governed by the Board of Trustees
of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or a private postsecondary institution that
offers in-person courses on a campus located in Minnesota and is an eligible institution as
defined in section 136A.103. Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University
of Minnesota are requested to comply with this section.

Subd. 2. Rights and protections. (a) A Minnesota-state-college-oruniversity

postsecondary institution may not require and the University of Minnesota is requested not
to require a pregnant or parenting student, solely because of the student's status as a pregnant
or parenting student or due to issues related to the student's pregnancy or parenting, to:

(1) take a leave of absence or withdraw from the student's degree or certificate program;
(2) limit the student's studies;

(3) participate in an alternative program;
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35.11 (iii) not deliver the decision to the parties at the end of the day or during a weekend or
35.12  holiday to ensure parties have the opportunity to arrange supportive services;

35.13 (6) in any grievance process arising from an alleged incident of sexual misconduct
35.14 against a student, a postsecondary institution must apply, at a minimum, a preponderance

35.15 of the evidence standard of proof; and

35.16 (7) a postsecondary institution must have a policy prohibiting retaliation, including what
35.17 constitutes retaliation and possible actions for students and employees if retaliation is found
35.18 to have occurred against a reporting party, responding party, or witness due to a person's
35.19 participation in a campus sexual misconduct process.

35.20 (h) Notwithstanding any other applicable grievance process, including an employee
3521 grievance process, if a reporting party is a student at the postsecondary institution, the
3522 institution must use the grievance process provided in this subdivision.

35.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 135A.1582, is amended to read:

35.24 135A.1582 PROTECTIONS FOR PREGNANT AND PARENTING STUDENTS.
35.25 Subdivision 1. Definitien Definitions. (a) For the purpose of this section, the following
3526 term-has terms have the meaning meanings given.

35.27 (b) "Parenting student" means a student enrolled at a public college or university who

35.28 s the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of 18.

35.29 (c) "Pregnancy or related conditions" means: (1) pregnancy, childbirth, termination of
35.30 pregnancy, or lactation; (2) medical conditions related to pregnancy, childbirth, termination
3531 of pregnancy, or lactation; or (3) recovery from pregnancy, childbirth, termination of

3532 pregnancy, lactation, or related medical conditions.

36.1 (d) "Postsecondary institution" means an institution governed by the Board of Trustees
36.2  of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or a private postsecondary institution that
36.3  offers in-person courses on a campus located in Minnesota and that is an eligible institution
36.4  as defined in section 136A.103. Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the

36.5  University of Minnesota are requested to comply with this section.

36.6 Subd. 2. Rights and protections. (a) A Minnesotastate-college-oruniversity

36.7  postsecondary institution may not require and the University of Minnesota is requested not
36.8  to require a pregnant or parenting student, solely because of the student's status as a pregnant
36.9  or parenting student or due to issues related to the student's pregnancy or parenting, to:

36.10 (1) take a leave of absence or withdraw from the student's degree or certificate program;
36.11 (2) limit the student's studies;
36.12 (3) participate in an alternative program;
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(4) change the student's major, degree, or certificate program; or

(5) refrain from joining or cease participating in any course, activity, or program at the
college or university.

(b) A Minneseta-state-ecolege-oruniversity postsecondary institution shall provide and

the University of Minnesota is requested to provide reasonable modifications to a pregnant
student, including modifications that:

(1) would be provided to a student with a temporary medical condition; or

(2) are related to the health and safety of the student and the student's unborn child, such
as allowing the student to maintain a safe distance from substances, areas, and activities
known to be hazardous to pregnant women or unborn children.

(c) A Minnesetastate-ecollege-oruniversity postsecondary institution must and the

University of Minnesota is requested to, for reasons related to a student's pregnancy,
childbirth, or any resulting medical status or condition:

(1) excuse the student's absence;
(2) allow the student to make up missed assignments or assessments;

(3) allow the student additional time to complete assignments in the same manner as the
institution allows for a student with a temporary medical condition; and

(4) provide the student with access to instructional materials and video recordings of
lectures for classes for which the student has an excused absence under this section to the
same extent that instructional materials and video recordings of lectures are made available
to any other student with an excused absence.

(d) A Minneseta-state-college-oruniversity postsecondary institution must and the

University of Minnesota is requested to allow a pregnant or parenting student to:

(1) take a leave of absence; and

(2) if in good academic standing at the time the student takes a leave of absence, return
to the student's degree or certificate program in good academic standing without being
required to reapply for admission.

(e) If a publie-eellege-eruniversity postsecondary institution provides early registration
for courses or programs at the institution for any group of students, the Minneseta-state

eollege-oruntversity institution must provide and the University of Minnesota is requested
to provide early registration for those courses or programs for pregnant or parenting students
in the same manner.

Subd. 3. Policy on discrimination. Each Minneseta-state-college-or-university

postsecondary institution must adopt and the University of Minnesota is requested to adopt
a policy for students on pregnancy and parenting discrimination. The policy must:
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(4) change the student's major, degree, or certificate program; or

(5) refrain from joining or cease participating in any course, activity, or program at the
college or university.

(b) A Minneseta-state-ecolege-oruniversity postsecondary institution shall provide and

the University of Minnesota is requested to provide reasonable modifications to a pregnant
student, including modifications that:

(1) would be provided to a student with a temporary medical condition; or

(2) are related to the health and safety of the student and the student's unborn child, such
as allowing the student to maintain a safe distance from substances, areas, and activities
known to be hazardous to pregnant women or unborn children.

(c) A Minnesetastate-ecollege-oruniversity postsecondary institution must and the

University of Minnesota is requested to, for reasons related to a student's pregnancy,
childbirth, or any resulting medical status or condition:

(1) excuse the student's absence;
(2) allow the student to make up missed assignments or assessments;

(3) allow the student additional time to complete assignments in the same manner as the
institution allows for a student with a temporary medical condition; and

(4) provide the student with access to instructional materials and video recordings of
lectures for classes for which the student has an excused absence under this section to the
same extent that instructional materials and video recordings of lectures are made available
to any other student with an excused absence.

(d) A Minneseta-state-college-oruniversity postsecondary institution must and the

University of Minnesota is requested to allow a pregnant or parenting student to:

(1) take a leave of absence; and

(2) if in good academic standing at the time the student takes a leave of absence, return
to the student's degree or certificate program in good academic standing without being
required to reapply for admission.

(e) If a publie-eellege-eruniversity postsecondary institution provides early registration
for courses or programs at the institution for any group of students, the Minneseta-state

eollege-oruniversity postsecondary institution must provide and the University of Minnesota
is requested to provide early registration for those courses or programs for pregnant or
parenting students in the same manner.

Subd. 3. Policy on discrimination. Each Minneseta-state-college-or-university

postsecondary institution must adopt and the University of Minnesota is requested to adopt
a policy for students on pregnancy and parenting discrimination. The policy must:
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(1) include the contact information of the Title IX coordinator who is the designated
point of contact for a student requesting each protection or modification under this section.
Contact information must include the Title IX coordinator's name, phone number, email,
and office;

(2) be posted in an easily accessible, straightforward format on the college or university's
website; and

(3) be made available annually to faculty, staff, and employees of the college or
university.

Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education must,
in consultation with the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
and, the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, and other relevant stakeholders,
establish guidelines, as necessary, to administer this section. The guidelines must establish
minimum periods for which a pregnant or parenting student must be given a leave of absence
under subdivision 2, paragraph (d). In establishing the minimum periods, the Office of
Higher Education shall consider the maximum amount of time a student may be absent
without significantly interfering with the student's ability to complete the student's degree
or certificate program.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4. Treatment of appropriations. (a) The office may retain up to ten percent of
competitively awarded grants if another amount is not already designated as administrative
funding in the appropriation.

(b) Notwithstanding section 16A.28, beginning in fiscal year 2025, the office may carry
forward unexpended and unencumbered nongrant operating appropriations from the second
year of a biennium into the next biennium.

Sec. 6. [136A.054] CONSOLIDATED COMPETITIVE GRANT AND STUDENT
LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM REPORTING.

(a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education must report annually by February
15, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education, on the details of programs administered under sections 135A.137,
136A.1251, 136A.1794, 136A.1795, 136A.246, 136A.861, and 136A.901, including the
following, where applicable:

(1) organizations receiving grant awards;

(2) grant award amounts and utilization rates;

(3) grant program activities, goals, and outcomes;
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(1) include the contact information of the Title IX coordinator who is the designated
point of contact for a student requesting each protection or modification under this section.
Contact information must include the Title IX coordinator's name, phone number, email,
and office;

(2) be posted in an easily accessible, straightforward format on the college or university's
website; and

(3) be made available annually to faculty, staff, and employees of the college or
university.

Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education must,
in consultation with the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
and, the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, and other relevant stakeholders,
establish guidelines, as necessary, to administer this section. The guidelines must establish
minimum periods for which a pregnant or parenting student must be given a leave of absence
under subdivision 2, paragraph (d). In establishing the minimum periods, the Office of
Higher Education shall consider the maximum amount of time a student may be absent
without significantly interfering with the student's ability to complete the student's degree
or certificate program.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4. Treatment of appropriations. Notwithstanding section 16B.98, subdivision
14, the office may retain up to five percent of competitively awarded grants if another
amount is not already designated as administrative funding in the appropriation.

Sec. 8. [136A.054] CONSOLIDATED COMPETITIVE GRANT AND STUDENT
LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM REPORTING.

(a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall report annually by February
15 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over higher education on the details of programs administered under sections 136A.1251,
136A.1788, 136A.1789, 136A.1791, 136A.1794, 136A.1795, 136A.861, and 136A.91
including the following, where applicable:

(1) organizations receiving grant awards;

(2) grant award amounts and utilization rates;

(3) grant program activities, goals, and outcomes;
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(4) grant matching sources and funding levels;

(5) number and amount of loan repayment awards disbursed; and

(6) demographic data of loan repayment program participants.

(b) The commissioner must report any additional data and outcomes relevant to the
evaluation of programs administered under sections 135A.137, 136A.1251, 136A.1794,
136A.1795, 136A.246, 136A.861, and 136A.901, and as evidenced by activities funded
under each program.
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(4) grant matching sources and funding levels;

(5) number and amount of loan repayment awards disbursed; and

(6) demographic data of loan repayment program participants.

(b) The commissioner must report any additional data and outcomes relevant to the
evaluation of programs administered under sections 136A.1251, 136A.1788, 136A.1789,
136A.1791, 136A.1794, 136A.1795, 136A.861, and 136A.91 as evidenced by activities
funded under each program.

Sec. 9. [136A.0901] STANDARD FINANCIAL AID OFFER FORM FOR HIGHER
EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Citation. Sections 136A.0901 to 136A.0905 may be cited as the "College
Financing Literacy Act."

Subd. 2. Standard format and terminology. The commissioner must develop standard
terminology and financial aid offer forms. The commissioner may develop separate financial
aid offer forms for:

(1) undergraduate students;

(2) graduate students;

(3) first-time students; and

(4) returning students.

Subd. 3. Consultation with stakeholders. In developing the financial aid offer form,
the commissioner must consult with and consider the recommendations of stakeholders,
including the student loan advocate in the Department of Commerce, representatives of
students, institutions of higher education, financial aid administrators and counselors, school
counselors, and any other relevant stakeholders as determined by the commissioner. The
commissioner must begin consulting with and soliciting recommendations from stakeholders
by September 1, 2025. By September 1, 2026, the commissioner must publish on the
department's website a draft of the form created under subdivision 2 and solicit feedback
from stakeholders regarding the form.

Subd. 4. Final form. The commissioner must publish on the department's website the
final financial aid offer form with sufficient time for institutions to implement use of the
form for the 2028-2029 academic year.

Subd. 5. Authority to modify. The commissioner may update and modify the definitions,
terms, formatting, and design of the financial aid offer form based on changes in laws, in
process, or for purposes of clarity.

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Higher Education Finance and Policy
House Language H2431-2 Senate Language UEH2431-1

39.19 Subd. 6. Use of standard financial aid offer forms and terms. Beginning with the
39.20 2028-2029 academic year, institutions of higher education that receive state grant aid must:

39.21 (1) use the financial aid offer form developed under this section in providing official
39.22  and unofficial offers, including paper, mobile-optimized, or other electronic offers to all
39.23 students who are accepted at the institution and apply for aid; and

39.24 (2) use the standard terminology and definitions developed by the commissioner for all
39.25 communications from the institution related to financial aid offers.

39.26 Sec. 10. [136A.0902] REQUIRED CONTENTS FOR FINANCIAL AID OFFER
39.27 FORM.

39.28 Subdivision 1. General. The financial aid offer form developed under section 136A.0901
39.29 must be a form titled "Financial Aid Offer" which includes the required information under
39.30 this section with costs listed first, followed by grants and scholarships clearly separated

39.31 with separate headings, and the additional information under section 136A.0903 included
39.32 last. The form must be in a consumer-friendly format that is simple to understand and must
40.1  allow for each institution to customize the form with the institution's own logo, branding,

40.2  or other identifiers.

40.3 Subd. 2. Cost information. The financial aid offer form must contain information on
40.4  the student's estimated cost of attendance including:

40.5 (1) total direct costs, including the totals for estimated tuition and fees charged by an
40.6  institution, including differential tuition if applicable, college or university-sponsored
40.7  housing, and food costs;

40.8 (2) total estimated other expenses, including estimated housing and food costs for students
40.9  who reside off-campus, and for all students, costs for books, materials, supplies,
40.10 transportation, and miscellaneous personal expenses;

40.11 (3) the academic period covered by the financial aid offer and an explanation that the
40.12  financial aid offered may change for academic periods not covered by the aid offer or by
40.13  program;

40.14 (4) whether cost and aid estimates are based on full-time or part-time enrollment;
40.15 (5) whether tuition and fees cover a set range of credits or are per credit hour; and
40.16 (6) whether the tuition and fees are estimated based on the previous year or are set for

40.17  the academic period indicated in accordance with clause (3).

PAGE R43 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Higher Education Finance and Policy
House Language H2431-2 Senate Language UEH2431-1

40.18 Subd. 3. Grants and scholarships. The financial aid offer form must include the
40.19  aggregate amount of grants and scholarships itemized by source and type that the student
40.20 does not have to repay, including grant aid:

40.21 (1) offered under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title
40.22 20, section 1070, et seq.;

40.23 (2) offered through other federal programs;

40.24 (3) offered by the institution;

40.25 (4) offered by the state; and

40.26 (5) from an outside source to the student for the academic period, if known, including

40.27  a disclosure that the grants and scholarships do not have to be repaid. If institutional aid is
40.28 included, the form must also note:

40.29 (i) the conditions under which the student can expect to receive similar amounts of
40.30 financial aid for each academic period the student is enrolled at the institution; and

41.1 (ii) whether the institutional aid offer may change if grants or scholarships from outside
41.2  sources are applied after the student receives the financial aid offer form and how the
413  institutional aid will change, if applicable.

414 Subd. 4. Net price. The financial aid offer form must include:

41.5 (1) the estimated net price that the student, or the student's family on behalf of the student,
41.6  is estimated to have to pay for the student to attend the institution for the academic period,

41.7  equal to the cost of attendance as described in subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (2), for the

41.8  student for the period indicated in subdivision 2, clause (3), minus the amount of grant and
419  scholarship aid described in subdivision 3 that is included in the financial aid offer form;

41.10 and

41.11 (2) a disclosure that the estimated net price is an estimate of the total expenses for the
41.12  year and not equivalent to the amount the student will owe directly to the institution.

41.13 Subd. 5. Loans. (a) The financial aid offer form must include:

41.14 (1) information on loans that are available to the student under part D or E of title IV of
41.15 the Higher Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, sections 1087a, et seq., and
41.16  1087aa, et seq., except a Federal Direct PLUS Loan under part D of that act;

41.17 (2) information on other loans under this chapter for the academic period covered by
41.18 the offer;
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41.19 (3) a disclosure that the loans have to be repaid and a disclosure that the student can
41.20 borrow a lesser or, if applicable, greater amount than the recommended loan amount;

41.21 (4) a disclosure that the interest rates and fees on the loans are set annually and affect
4122 total cost over time and a link to the Department of Education's and the Office of Higher
41.23 Education's websites that includes current information on interest rates and fees; and

41.24 (5) a link to the Department of Education's repayment calculator website for students
41.25 with instruction that the website contains customizable estimates of expected repayment
41.26  costs under different loan repayment plans.

41.27 (b) The offer must clearly use the word "loan" to describe the recommended loan amounts
41.28 and must clearly label subsidized and unsubsidized loans with a plain language explanation
41.29 of the difference between the two.

41.30 Subd. 6. Supplemental information on cost of attendance. The financial aid offer
41.31 form must contain information on how a student may request an adjustment to increase the
42.1  cost of attendance to accommodate the student's special circumstances or higher costs of

422 housing, food, or other eligible expenses.

423 Subd. 7. Supplemental information for students with dependents. The financial aid
424  offer form must contain information on resources available to students with dependents

42.5  including:

42.6 (1) the dependent care allowance, including a disclosure that a student with a dependent
42.7  child in paid child care may request a dependent care allowance as part of the student's
42.8  financial aid calculation, which may result in a higher grant or loan amount; and

429 (2) information on the Minnesota child care grant program provided in section 136A.125
42,10 and instructions on how to apply.

42.11 Subd. 8. Process for accepting or declining aid. The financial aid offer form must
42.12  include:

42.13 (1) deadlines and a summary of the process for accepting the financial aid offered in the
42.14  financial aid offer form, requesting higher loan amounts if recommended loan amounts
42.15 were included, and declining aid offered in the form;

42.16 (2) information on when and how direct costs to the institution must be paid, including
42.17 information on payment plans if available;

42.18 (3) a disclosure that verification of financial circumstances may require the student to
42.19  submit further documentation; and

42.20 (4) information about where a student or the student's family can seek additional
4221 information regarding the financial aid offered, including contact information for the
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institution's financial aid office, the Department of Education's website on financial aid,
and the Office of Higher Education's website.

Sec. 11. [136A.0903] ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FINANCIAL
AID OFFER FORM.

Subdivision 1. Repayment resources; private student loans; work study. In addition
to the information described in section 136A.0902, the financial aid offer form must, in a
concise format determined by the commissioner, include:

(1) at the institution's discretion, additional options and potential resources for paying
the amount listed in section 136A.0902, subdivision 4, such as tuition payment plans;

(2) the following information relating to private student loans:

(i) a statement that students considering borrowing to cover the cost of attendance should
consider available federal and state student loans prior to applying for private student loans,
including an explanation that federal and state student loans offer generally more favorable
terms and beneficial repayment options than private student loans;

(ii) the impact of a proposed private student loan on the student's potential eligibility for
other financial assistance, including federal financial assistance under title IV of the Higher
Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070, et seq.; and

(iii) a statement explaining the student's ability to select a private educational lender of
the student's choice; and

(3) information on work-study employment opportunities under section 136A.233, and
work-study offered in accordance with part C of title IV of the Higher Education Act of
1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1087-51, et seq., including a disclosure that the
work-study aid offered is subject to the availability of qualified employment opportunities
and is disbursed over time as earned by the student. Work-study employment opportunities
must not be included in the category of financial aid described under section 136A.0902,

Subd. 2. Additional requirements. The financial aid offer form must meet the
requirements of this section and section 136A.0902 by:

(1) including, in addition to the requirements described in subdivision 1 and section
136A.0902, a concise summary in plain language of:

(i) the terms and conditions of financial aid under subdivision 1, clause (3), and section
136A.0902, subdivisions 3 and 5, and a method to provide students with additional
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information about the terms and conditions, such as links to the supplementary information;
and

(ii) federal, state, or institutional conditions required to receive and renew financial aid
and a method to provide students with additional information about these conditions, such
as links to the supplementary information;

(2) clearly distinguishing between aid offered under subdivision 1, clause (3), and section
136A.0902, subdivisions 3 and 5, by including a subtotal for the aid offered and by refraining
from commingling the different types of aid described;

(3) using standard terminology and definitions, as determined by the commissioner, and
using plain language where possible;

(4) providing additional information on federal student loans, including the types and
amounts for which the student is eligible in an attached document or web page, if an
institution's recommended federal student loan aid offered under section 136A.0902,
subdivision 3, is less than the federal maximum available to the student;

(5) including a delivery confirmation for electronic financial aid offer forms, except that
receipt of the financial aid offer form shall not be considered an acceptance or rejection of
aid by the student; and

(6) accompanying any reference to private education loans, with respect to dependent
students, with:

(i) information about the availability of and terms and conditions associated with Federal
Direct PLUS Loans under section 455 of the Higher Education Act of 1965, United States
Code, title 20, section 1087¢, for the student's parents regardless of family income; and

(ii) a notification of the student's increased eligibility for unsubsidized federal student
loans under title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20,
section 1070, et seq., if the student's parents are rejected under the Federal Direct PLUS

Loan program.

Sec. 12. [136A.0904] SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION; REMOVAL OF
INFORMATION.

(a) Nothing in sections 136A.0901 to 136A.0903 precludes an institution from
supplementing the financial aid offer form with additional information if the additional
information supplements the financial aid offer form and is not located on the financial aid
offer form and if the information utilizes the same standard terminology developed by the
commissioner under this act.
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Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.101, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

Subd. 5a. Assigned family responsibility. (a) "Assigned family responsibility" means
the amount of a family's contribution to a student's cost of attendance, as determined by a
federal need analysis. For dependent students the as51gned famlly respons1b111ty is 79 percent
of the parental contribution. H-h A A s 38 iy
fespeﬂﬂbﬂtty—rs%é—pefeeﬂt—e#&xe—pafefﬁal—eeﬁtﬂbﬁﬂeﬂ— For mdependent students w1th
dependents other than a spouse, the assigned family responsibility is 71 percent of the student
contribution. For independent students without dependents other than a spouse, the assigned
family responsibility is 35 percent of the student contribution.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the parental contribution for dependent students
or the student contribution for independent students is less than $0, the assigned family

responsibility is 106-pereent-ofthe-student-eontribution §0.

(c) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the assigned
family responsibility using the ratio of the number of credits the student is enrolled in to
the number of credits for full-time enrollment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.103, is amended to read:
136A.103 INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A postsecondary institution is eligible for state student
aid and to receive state student aid on behalf of students under this chapter +36A and sections
197.791 and 299A .45, if the institution is located in this state and:

(1) is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or

(2) is operated privately and;-as-determined-by-the-offiee; meets the requirements of
paragraph (b).

(b) A private institution must:
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(b) Nothing in sections 136A.0901 to 136A.0903 precludes an institution from omitting
a required item in an individual offer form if that item is inapplicable to the student receiving
the offer.

Sec. 13. [136A.0905] SUPERSEDING FEDERAL LAW.

Sections 136A.0901 to 136A.0904 are null and void upon the effective date of a federal
law or regulation establishing a uniform financial aid offer form and requiring institutions
of higher education to adopt it.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.101, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

Subd. 5a. Assigned family responsibility. "Assigned family responsibility" means the
amount of a family's contribution to a student's cost of attendance, as determined by a federal
need analysis. For dependent students, the assigned family responsibility is 79 100 percent
of the parental contribution. If the parental contribution is fess-than between $0 and negative
$1,500, the assigned family responsibility is 100 percent of the parental contribution. If the
parental contribution is less than negative $1,500, the assigned family responsibility is
negative $1,500. For independent students with dependents other than a spouse, the assigned
family responsibility is 71 percent of the student contribution. For independent students
without dependents other than a spouse, the assigned family responsibility is 35 percent of
the student contribution. If the student contribution is less-than between $0 and negative
$1,500, the assigned family responsibility is 100 percent of the student contribution. If the
student contribution is less than negative $1,500, the assigned family responsibility is
negative $1,500. For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the
assigned family responsibility using the ratio of the number of credits the student is enrolled
in to the number of credits for full-time enrollment.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.103, is amended to read:
136A.103 INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Eligibility. (a) A postsecondary institution is eligible for state student
aid and to receive state student aid on behalf of students under this chapter +36A and sections
197.791 and 299A .45, if the institution is located in this state and:

(1) is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or

(2) is operated privately and;-as-determined-by-the-offiee; meets the requirements of
paragraph (b).

(b) A private institution must:
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33.1 2) (1) be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; and 45.28 2) (1) be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; and
33.2 i tet i i 45.29 i tet i i
333 45.30
334 (2) meet one of the following criteria: 4531 (2) meet one of the following criteria:
33.5 (i) the institution participates in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the 46.1 (i) the institution participates in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the
33.6  Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended; 46.2  Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended;
33.7 (ii) #fan the institution: 46.3 (ii) #fan the institution was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30,

o ) o 46.4 2010 aﬂd—ﬂ&e—mstttutten—d—td but does not partlclpate in the federal Pell Grant program by
33.8 (A) was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30, 2010, and-the-institation 465 ER ]
33.9  did but does but does not partlcrpate in the federal Pell Grant program by%uﬂe%@—%@-l—@—t-he—mﬂﬂtuﬁoﬂ 46.6 5 ati inctitution s sarticinatine o
33.10 > ey Stuaent ; AONS O SIEN € i PrOVIEes 46.7 PeH—Grant—pregram— under Tltle I\Y% ofthe ngher Educatron Act of 1965 Pubhc Law 89 329,
33.11 pating e grath: under Trtle 46.8  as amended; and
33.12 IV of the Hrgher Educatlon Act of 1965, Publrc Law 89 329 as amended
33.13 (B) requires every student who enrolls to sign a disclosure form, provided by the office, 46.9 (A) the institution requires every student who enrolls to sign a disclosure form, provided
33.14 stating that the institution is not participating in the federal Pell Grant program; and 46.10 by the office, stating that the institution is not participating in the federal Pell Grant program;

46.11 and
33.15 (C) has not had a change in ownership as defined in section 136A.63, subdivision 2; or 46.12 (B) the institution has not had a change in ownership as defined in section 136A.63,
46.13  subdivision 2; or

33.16 te)-Amn (iii) the 1nst1tut10n t-h&t offers only graduate level degrees or graduate level 46.14 fe)-Amn (iii) the 1nst1tut10n t-h&t offers only graduate level degrees or graduate level
33.17 nondegree programs is-an-elig giste 3 46.15 nondegree programs is-an-elig giste 3
33.18 pestseeeﬂdaﬁ—ms&tu&eﬂ—by—the—efﬁee and participates in federal ﬁnan01al aid under T1t1e 46.16 pestseeeﬂdaﬁ—ms&tu&eﬂ—by—the—efﬁee and participates in federal ﬁnan01al aid under T1t1e
33.19 IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended. 46.17 1V of the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended.
33.20 &) (c) An eligible institution under paragraph (b), clause (3);-item-it) (2), that changes 46.18 &) (c) An eligible institution under paragraph (b), clause (3);-item-(it) (2), that changes
33.21 ownershlp as defmed in section 136A. 63 subd1v151on 2, nwst—pamemate—m—ﬂae—federal—]leﬂ 46.19 ownershlp as defmed in section 136A. 63 subd1v151on 2, nwst—pamemate—m—ﬂae—federal—]leﬂ
33.22 W S y 46.20 W S y
33.23 46.21
33.24 46.22
33.25 46.23
33.26 46.24
33.27 46.25
33.28 46.26
33.29 46.27
33.30 46.28
33.31 46.29
33.32 46.30
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Subd. 2. Ineligibility. A postsecondary institution otherwise eligible for state student
aid under this chapter and sections 197.791 and 299A.45 becomes ineligible if the institution:

(1) fails to maintain adequate compliance with administrative and financial standards
and compliance with all state statutes, rules, and administrative policies related to state
financial aid programs; or

(2) has been terminated from participating in federal financial aid programs by the United
States Department of Education for a violation of laws, regulations, or participation
agreements governing federal financial aid programs.
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Subd. 2. Ineligibility. A postsecondary institution’ otherwise eligible for state student
aid under this chapter and sections 197.791 and 299A.45 becomes ineligible if the institution:

(1) fails to maintain adequate compliance with administrative and financial standards
and compliance with all state statutes, rules, and administrative policies related to state
financial aid programs; or

(2) has been terminated from participating in federal financial aid programs by the United
States Department of Education for a violation of laws, regulations, or participation
agreements governing federal financial aid programs.

Subd. 3. Additional requirements. An eligible postsecondary institution under this
section must prominently display information in its catalog and on its website that will assist
prospective students in making informed decisions. If the institution is required by an
institutional accreditor to calculate and publish placement rates, it shall publish the data on
its website and report it to the office on an annual basis. Alternatively, if the institution
participates in the Census Bureau Post Secondary Employment Outcomes, it shall publish
this information instead.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Cost of attendance. (a) The recognized cost of attendance consists of: (1) an
allowance specified in law for living and miscellaneous expenses, and (2) an allowance for
tuition and fees equal to the lesser of the average tuition and fees charged by the institution,
or a tuition and fee maximum if one is established in law. If no living and miscellaneous
expense allowance is established in law, the allowance is equal to ++5 110 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines for a one person household in Minnesota for nine months. If no
tuition and fee maximum is established in law, the allowance for tuition and fees is equal
to the lesser of: (1) the average tuition and fees charged by the institution, and (2) for
two-year programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged at a public
two-year institution, or for four-year programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and
fees charged at a public university.

(b) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the cost of
attendance using the ratio of the number of credits the student is enrolled in to the number
of credits for full-time enrollment.

(c) The recognized cost of attendance for a student who is confined to a Minnesota
correctional institution shall consist of the tuition and fee component in paragraph (a), with
no allowance for living and miscellaneous expenses.

(d) For the purpose of this subdivision, "fees" include only those fees that are mandatory
and charged to full-time resident students attending the institution. Fees do not include
charges for tools, equipment, computers, or other similar materials where the student retains
ownership. Fees include charges for these materials if the institution retains ownership. Fees
do not include optional or punitive fees.
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Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Insufficient appropriation. (a) If the amount appropriated is determined by
the office to be insufficient to make full awards to applicants under subdivision 5, awards
must be reduced by:

(1) adding a surcharge to the applicant's assigned family responsibility, as defined in
section 136A.101, subdivision 5a; and

(2) a percentage increase in the applicant's assigned student responsibility, as defined
in subdivision 5.

(b) The reduction under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be equal dollar amounts.
The total assigned family responsibility after the addition of the surcharge may exceed 100
percent of the parental or student contribution, as applicable, assigned by the federal needs
analysis. The commissioner must not adjust the surcharge under paragraph (a), clause (1),
according to the student's status as a dependent student, an independent student with
dependents other than a spouse, or an independent student without dependents other than
a spouse. The commissioner must not use any methods other than those provided in this
subdivision to reduce awards.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Surplus appropriation. (a) If the amount appropriated is determined by the
office to be more than sufficient to fund projected grant demand in the second year of the
biennium, the office may:

(1) increase the living and miscellaneous expense allowance in the second year of the
biennium by up to an amount that retains sufficient appropriations to fund the projected
grant demand; or

(2) assess the assigned family responsibility for students with a student or parent
contribution that is less than negative $1,500 at 100 percent of the parent or student
contribution to a lower limit that is equal to the lowest student contribution provided under
the federal needs analysis.

(b) The adjustment adjustments in paragraph (a) may be made one or more times. Each
time the commissioner makes an adjustment under this subdivision, the commissioner must
use any surplus to fully reassess assigned family responsibility under paragraph (a), clause
(2), before increasing the living and miscellaneous expense allowance under paragraph (a),
clause (1). In making the determination that there are more than sufficient funds, the office
shall balance the need for sufficient resources to meet the projected demand for grants with
the goal of fully allocating the appropriation for state grants. An increase in the living and
miscellaneous expense allowance or a modified assessment of assigned family responsibility
under this subdivision does not carry forward into a subsequent biennium.
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Awards. An undergraduate student who meets the office's requirements is
eligible to apply for and receive a grant in any year of undergraduate study unless the student
has obtained a baccalaureate degree or previously has received a state grant award for 180
120 credits or the equivalent, excluding (1) courses taken from a Minnesota school or
postsecondary institution which is not participating in the state grant program and from
which a student transferred no credit, and (2) courses taken that qualify as developmental
education or below college-level. A student enrolled in a two-year program at a four-year
institution is only eligible for the tuition and fee maximums established by law for two-year
institutions.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Definitions. The following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "eligible student" means a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8,
who is enrolled in any public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college and
who meets the eligibility requirements in subdivision 2;

(2) "gift aid" includes:
(i) all federal financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program;

(ii) state financial aid, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant
to a work-study program;

(iii) institutional financial aid, including a grant, scholarship, tuition waiver, fellowship
stipend, or other payment, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant
to a work-study program; and

(iv) all private financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program.

Financial aid from the state, public postsecondary educational institutions, and Tribal colleges
that is specifically designated for other expenses is not gift aid for purposes of the North
Star Promise scholarship.

(3) "other expenses" includes books, required supplies, child care, emergency assistance,
food, and housing;

(4) "public postsecondary educational institution" means an institution operated by this
state, or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota;
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Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Awards. An undergraduate student who meets the office's requirements is
eligible to apply for and receive a grant in any year of undergraduate study unless the student
has obtained a baccalaureate degree or previously has received a state grant award for +80
120 credits or the equivalent, excluding (1) courses taken from a Minnesota school or
postsecondary institution which is not participating in the state grant program and from
which a student transferred no credit, and (2) courses taken that qualify as developmental
education or below college-level. A student enrolled in a two-year program at a four-year
institution is only eligible for the tuition and fee maximums established by law for two-year
institutions.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.121, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Deadline. The deadline for the office to accept applications for state grants
for a term is Jun efisedlyes whteh nt-appliesforagrant 30 days after
the start of that term.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Definitions. The following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "eligible student" means a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8,
who is enrolled in any public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college and
who meets the eligibility requirements in subdivision 2;

(2) "gift aid" includes:
(i) all federal financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program;

(ii) state financial aid, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant
to a work-study program;

(iii) institutional financial aid, including a grant, scholarship, tuition waiver, fellowship
stipend, or other payment, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant
to a work-study program; and

(iv) all private financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program.

Financial aid from the state, public postsecondary educational institutions, and Tribal colleges
that is specifically designated for other expenses is not gift aid for purposes of the North
Star Promise scholarship.

(3) "other expenses" includes books, required supplies, child care, emergency assistance,
food, and housing;

(4) "public postsecondary educational institution" means an institution operated by this
state, or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota;
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(5) "recognized cost of attendance" has the meaning given in United States Code, title
20, chapter 28, subchapter IV, part F, section 108711;

(6) "Tribal college" means a college defined in section 136A.1796, subdivision 1,
paragraph ¢e} (d); and

(7) "tuition and fees" means the aetual eligible resident tuition and mandatory fees
charged by an institution.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 1a. Resident tuition. (a) The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is
requested to adopt a policy to charge resident tuition rates for all students eligible for North
Star Promise.

(b) The Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must adopt a
policy to charge resident tuition rates for all students eligible for North Star Promise.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Conditions for eligibility. A scholarship may be awarded to an eligible student
who:

(1) has completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the state
aid application;

(2) has a family adjusted gross income below $80,000;

(3) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over
and has met all requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or university;

(4) has not earned-a completed the degree requirements for the first baccalaureate degree
at the time the scholarship is awarded;

(5) is enrolled in at least one credit per fall, spring, or summer semester;

(6) is enrolled in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or
certificate;

(7) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational
loan;

(8) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or
enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant
is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced
by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, but is complying with a
written payment agreement under section 5S18A.69 or order for arrearages;
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50.12 (5) "recognized cost of attendance" has the meaning given in United States Code, title
50.13 20, chapter 28, subchapter IV, part F, section 108711,

50.14 (6) "Tribal college" means a college defined in section 136A.1796, subdivision 1,
50.15  paragraph te) (d); and
50.16 (7) "tuition and fees" means the aetual eligible resident tuition and mandatory fees

50.17 charged by an institution.

50.18 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, is amended by adding a subdivision
50.19 to read:

50.20 Subd. 1a. Resident tuition. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota and
50.21 the Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must adopt a policy to
50.22  charge resident tuition rates for all students eligible for North Star Promise.

50.23 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1465, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

50.24 Subd. 2. Conditions for eligibility. A scholarship may be awarded to an eligible student
50.25 who:

50.26 (1) has completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the state
50.27 aid application;

50.28 (2) has a family adjusted gross income below $80,000;

50.29 (3) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over

50.30 and has met all requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or university;

51.1 (4) has not earned-a completed the degree requirements for the first baccalaureate degree
51.2  at the time the scholarship is awarded;

51.3 (5) is enrolled in at least one credit per fall, spring, or summer semester;

51.4 (6) is enrolled in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or

51.5  certificate;

51.6 (7) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational
51.7  loan;
51.8 (8) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or

51.9  enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant
51.10 is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced
51.11 by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, but is complying with a
51.12  written payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages;
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(9) has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving
fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations,
subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C; and

(10) is meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined in section 136A.101, subdivision
10.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.155, is amended to read:
136A.155 ADDITIONAL INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

A postsecondary institution is an eligible institution for purposes of sections 136A.15
to 136A.1702, if the institution:

(1) meets the eligibility requirements under section 136A.103; or

(2) is operated pubhcly or prrvately in another state; and and is approved by the United States
Secretary of Education;-and A A

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.162, is amended to read:
136A.162 CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.

(a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), data on applicants for financial assistance
collected and used by the office for student financial aid programs administered by that
office are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

(b) Data on applicants may be disclosed to the commissioner of children, youth, and
families to the extent necessary to determine eligibility under section 136A.121, subdivision
2, clause (5).

(c) The following data collected in the Minnesota supplemental loan program under
sections 136A.1701 and 136A.1704 may be disclosed to a consumer credit reporting agency
only if the borrower and the cosigner give informed consent, according to section 13.05,
subdivision 4, at the time of application for a loan:

(1) the lender-assigned borrower identification number;
(2) the name and address of borrower;

(3) the name and address of cosigner;

(4) the date the account is opened;

(5) the outstanding account balance;

(6) the dollar amount past due;

(7) the number of payments past due;

PAGE R54

51.13
51.14
S51.15

51.16
51.17

51.18
51.19

51.20
51.21

51.22

51.23
51.24
51.25

51.26
51.27

51.28
51.29
51.30

52.1
522
52.3

52.4
52.5
52.6
52.7

52.8

529

52.10
52.11
52.12
52.13
52.14

Senate Language UEH2431-1

(9) has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving
fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations,
subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C; and

(10) is meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined in section 136A.101, subdivision
10.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.155, is amended to read:
136A.155 ADDITIONAL INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

A postsecondary institution is an eligible institution for purposes of sections 136A.15
to 136A.1702, if the institution:

(1) meets the eligibility requirements under section 136A.103; or

(2) is operated pubhcly or prrvately in another state; and and is approved by the United States
Secretary of Education;-and A A

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.162, is amended to read:
136A.162 CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.

(a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), data on applicants for financial assistance
collected and used by the office for student financial aid programs administered by that
office are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

(b) Data on applicants may be disclosed to the commissioner of children, youth, and
families to the extent necessary to determine eligibility under section 136A.121, subdivision
2, clause (5).

(c) The following data collected in the Minnesota supplemental loan program under
sections 136A.1701 and 136A.1704 may be disclosed to a consumer credit reporting agency
only if the borrower and the cosigner give informed consent, according to section 13.05,
subdivision 4, at the time of application for a loan:

(1) the lender-assigned borrower identification number;
(2) the name and address of borrower;

(3) the name and address of cosigner;

(4) the date the account is opened;

(5) the outstanding account balance;

(6) the dollar amount past due;

(7) the number of payments past due;
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8)-the-numberof fate-paymentsinprevioust2-months;
%) (8) the type of account;
40) (9) the responsibility for the account; and
) (10) the status or remarks code.
Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1701, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Terms and conditions of loans. (&) The office may loan money upon such
terms and conditions as the office may prescribe. Annually, the office must determine the
minimum loan amount, the maximum loan amount based on program type, the maximum
cumulative amount for each program type, and the maximum lifetime limit for an individual.
The annual amount of the loan must not exceed the cost of attendance as determined by the

eligible institution less all other financial aid.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1796, is amended to read:
136A.1796 TRIBAL COLLEGE SUPPLEMENTAL GRANT ASSISTANCE.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
meanings given them.

(b) "Beneficiary student" means a resident of Minnesota who is enrolled in a certificate,
diploma, or degree program in a Tribally controlled college and is an enrolled member of
a federally recognized Indian Tribe.

) (c) "Nonbeneficiary student" means a resident of Minnesota who is enrolled in a
certificate, diploma, or degree program in a Tribally controlled college but is not an enrolled
member of a federally recognized Indian Tribe.
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%) (8) the type of account;
40} (9) the responsibility for the account; and
) (10) the status or remarks code.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1796, is amended to read:
136A.1796 TRIBAL COLLEGE SUPPLEMENTAL GRANT ASSISTANCE.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the
meanings given the.

(b) "Beneficiary student" means a resident of Minnesota who is enrolled in a certificate,
diploma, or degree program in a Tribally controlled college and is an enrolled member of
a federally recognized Indian Tribe.

) (c) "Nonbeneficiary student" means a resident of Minnesota who is enrolled in a
certificate, diploma, or degree program in a Tribally controlled college but is not an enrolled
member of a federally recognized Indian Tribe.
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te) (d) "Tribally controlled college" means an accredited institution of higher education
located in this state that is formally controlled by or has been formally sanctioned or chartered
by the governing body of a federally recognized Indian Tribe, or a combination of federally
recognized Indian Tribes. Tribally controlled college does not include any institution or
campus subject to the jurisdiction of the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota.

Subd. 2. Eligibility; grant assistance. (a) A Tribally controlled college is eligible to
receive supplemental grant assistance from the office, as provided in this section, for

eneﬁmagz and nonbeneﬁmary student enrollment i#theeeﬂege—ts—ne%etheﬁﬁs&ehgrb%e

(b) The office shall make grants to Tribally controlled colleges to defray the costs of
education associated with the enrollment of beneficiary and nonbeneficiary students. Grants
made pursuant to this section must be provided directly to the recipient college.

Subd. 3. Grant application. To receive a grant under this section, a Tribally controlled
college must submit an application in the manner required by the office. Upon submission
of'a completed application indicating that the Tribally controlled college is eligible, the
office shall distribute to the college, during each year of the biennium, a grant of $5,300
for each beneficiary and nonbeneficiary student on a full-time equivalent basis. If the amount
appropriated for grants under this section is insufficient to cover the total amount of grant
eligibility, the office shall distribute a prorated amount per beneficiary and nonbeneficiary
student on a full-time equivalent basis.

Subd. 4. Reporting by recipient institutions. Each Tribally controlled college receiving
a grant under this section shall provide to the office, on an annual basis, an accurate and
detailed account of the expenditures of the grant funds received by the college, and a copy
of the college's most recent audit report and documentation of the enrollment status and
ethnic status of each beneficiary and nonbeneficiary student for which grant assistance is
sought under this section.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision la, is amended to read:
Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) The terms defined in this subdivision apply to this section.
(b) "Competency standard" has the meaning given in section 175.45, subdivision 2.
(c) "Eligible training" means training provided by an eligible training provider that:
(1) includes training to meet one or more identified competency standards;

(2) is instructor-led for a majority of the training; and
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te) (d) "Tribally controlled college" means an accredited institution of higher education
located in this state that is formally controlled by or has been formally sanctioned or chartered
by the governing body of a federally recognized Indian Tribe, or a combination of federally
recognized Indian Tribes. Tribally controlled college does not include any institution or
campus subject to the jurisdiction of the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges
and Universities or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota.

Subd. 2. Eligibility; grant assistance. (a) A Tribally controlled college is eligible to
receive supplemental grant assistance from the office, as provided in this section, for

eneﬁmagz and nonbeneﬁmary student enrollment i#theeeﬂege—ts—ne%etheﬁﬁs&ehgrb%e

+898 in the fall sprlng, and summer terms

(b) The office shall make grants to Tribally controlled colleges to defray the costs of
education associated with the enrollment of beneficiary and nonbeneficiary students. Grants
made pursuant to this section must be provided directly to the recipient college.

(c) The minimum annual grant amount for each eligible Tribally controlled college is
$1,000,000. The maximum annual grant amount for each eligible Tribally controlled college
is $1,050,000.

Subd. 3. Grant application. To receive a grant under this section, a Tribally controlled
college must submit an application in the manner required by the office. Upon submission
of'a completed application indicating that the Tribally controlled college is eligible, the
office shall distribute to the college, during each year of the biennium, a grant of $5,300
for each beneficiary and nonbeneficiary student on a full-time equivalent basis. If the amount
appropriated for grants under this section is insufficient to cover the total amount of grant
eligibility, the office shall distribute a prorated amount per beneficiary and nonbeneficiary
student on a full-time equivalent basis.

Subd. 4. Reporting by recipient institutions. Each Tribally controlled college receiving
a grant under this section shall provide to the office, on an annual basis, an accurate and
detailed account of the expenditures of the grant funds received by the college, and a copy
of the college's most recent audit report and documentation of the enrollment status and
ethnic status of each beneficiary and nonbeneficiary student for which grant assistance is
sought under this section.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision la, is amended to read:
Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) The terms defined in this subdivision apply to this section.
(b) "Competency standard" has the meaning given in section 175.45, subdivision 2.
(c) "Eligible training" means training provided by an eligible training provider that:
(1) includes training to meet one or more identified competency standards;

(2) is instructor-led for a majority of the training; and
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(3) results in the employee receiving an industry-recognized accredited degree, certificate,
or credential.

(d) "Eligible training provider" means an institution:

(1) operated by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota;

(2) licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; or

(3) exempt from the provisions of section 136A.822 to 136A.834 or 136A.61 to 136A.71
as approved by the office.

(e) "Industry-recognized accredited degrees, certificates, or credentials" means:
(1) certificates, diplomas, or degrees issued by & an accredited postsecondary institution;
(2) registered apprenticeship certifications or certificates;
(3) occupational licenses or registrations;
(4) certifications issued by, or recognized by, industry or professional associations; and
(5) other certifications as approved by the commissioner.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Eligible training provider. The Office of Higher Education and the Department
of Labor and Industry must cooperate in maintaining an inventory of accredited degree,
certificate, and credential programs that provide training to meet competency standards.

The inventory must be posted on each agency's website with contact information for each
program. The postings must be updated periodically.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Employer match. A large employer must pay for at least 25 50 percent of the
cost of training. For the purpose of this subdivision, a "large employer" means a business
with more than $25,000,000 in annual gross revenue in the previous calendar year.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Grant amounts. (a) The maximum grant for an application for the cost of
training is $356;060 $300,000. The maximum grant for an application for trainee support
is ten percent of the grant amount for the cost of training. The maximum total grant per
application is $+65;000 $330,000. A grant may not exceed $6;060 $12,000 per year for a
maximum of $24:609 $48,000 per employee.

(b) An employee who is attending an eligible training provider that is an institution under
section 136A.103 must apply for Pell and state grants as a condition of payment for training
that employee under this section.
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54.3 (3) results in the employee receiving an industry-recognized accredited degree, certificate,
54.4  or credential.

54.5 (d) "Eligible training provider" means an institution:

54.6 (1) operated by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
54.7  or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota;

54.8 (2) licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; or

54.9 (3) exempt from the provisions of section 136A.822 to 136A.834 or 136A.61 to 136A.71
54.10 as approved by the office.

54.11 (e) "Industry-recognized accredited degrees, certificates, or credentials" means:

54.12 (1) certificates, diplomas, or degrees issued by & an accredited postsecondary institution;
54.13 (2) registered apprenticeship certifications or certificates;

54.14 (3) occupational licenses or registrations;

54.15 (4) certifications issued by, or recognized by, industry or professional associations; and
54.16 (5) other certifications as approved by the commissioner.

54.17 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

54.18 Subd. 3. Eligible training provider. The Office of Higher Education and the Department
54.19  of Labor and Industry must cooperate in maintaining an inventory of accredited degree,

54.20 certificate, and credential programs that provide training to meet competency standards.

5421 The inventory must be posted on each agency's website with contact information for each
54.22 program. The postings must be updated periodically.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.65, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Criteria for approval. (a) A school applying to be registered and to have its
degree or degrees and name approved must substantially meet the following criteria:

(1) the school has an organizational framework with administrative and teaching personnel
to provide the educational programs offered;

(2) the school has financial resources sufficient to meet the school's financial obligations,
including refunding tuition and other charges consistent with its stated policy if the institution
is dissolved, or if claims for refunds are made, to provide service to the students as promised,
and to provide educational programs leading to degrees as offered;

(3) the school operates in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles
according to the type of school;

(4) the school provides an educational program leading to the degree it offers;

(5) the school provides appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, and other physical
facilities to support the educational program offered;

(6) the school has a policy on freedom or limitation of expression and inquiry for faculty
and students which is published or available on request;

(7) the school uses only publications and advertisements which are truthful and do not
give any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading impressions about the school,
its personnel, programs, services, or occupational opportunities for its graduates for promotion
and student recruitment;

(8) the school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify
themselves as agents of the school when talking to or corresponding with students and
prospective students;

(9) the school provides information to students and prospective students concerning:

(i) comprehensive and accurate policies relating to student admission, evaluation,
suspension, and dismissal;

(ii) clear and accurate policies relating to granting credit for prior education, training,
and experience and for courses offered by the school;

(iii) current schedules of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, student activities,
housing, and all other standard charges;

(iv) policies regarding refunds and adjustments for withdrawal or modification of
enrollment status; and

(v) procedures and standards used for selection of recipients and the terms of payment
and repayment for any financial aid program;
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.65, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Criteria for approval. (a) A school applying to be registered and to have its
degree or degrees and name approved must substantially meet the following criteria:

(1) the school has an organizational framework with administrative and teaching personnel
to provide the educational programs offered;

(2) the school has financial resources sufficient to meet the school's financial obligations,
including refunding tuition and other charges consistent with its stated policy if the institution
is dissolved, or if claims for refunds are made, to provide service to the students as promised,
and to provide educational programs leading to degrees as offered;

(3) the school operates in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles
according to the type of school;

(4) the school provides an educational program leading to the degree it offers;

(5) the school provides appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, and other physical
facilities to support the educational program offered;

(6) the school has a policy on freedom or limitation of expression and inquiry for faculty
and students which is published or available on request;

(7) the school uses only publications and advertisements which are truthful and do not
give any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading impressions about the school,
its personnel, programs, services, or occupational opportunities for its graduates for promotion
and student recruitment;

(8) the school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify
themselves as agents of the school when talking to or corresponding with students and
prospective students;

(9) the school provides information to students and prospective students concerning:

(i) comprehensive and accurate policies relating to student admission, evaluation,
suspension, and dismissal;

(ii) clear and accurate policies relating to granting credit for prior education, training,
and experience and for courses offered by the school;

(iii) current schedules of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, student activities,
housing, and all other standard charges;

(iv) policies regarding refunds and adjustments for withdrawal or modification of
enrollment status; and

(v) procedures and standards used for selection of recipients and the terms of payment
and repayment for any financial aid program;
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(10) the school must not withhold a student's official transcript because the student is
in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the school to the student if the loan qualifies
as an institutional loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b);

(11) the school has a process to receive and act on student complaints;

(12) if the school is unaccredited, the school includes a joint and several liability provision
for torts and compliance with the requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71 in any
contract effective after July 1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school
located in another state for the purpose of providing educational or training programs or
awarding postsecondary credits or continuing education credits to Minnesota residents that
may be applied to a degree program; and

(13) the school must not use nondisclosure agreements or other contracts restricting a
student's ability to disclose information in connection with school actions or conduct that
would be covered under section 136A.672.

(b) An application for degree approval must also include:

(i) title of degree and formal recognition awarded;

(ii) location where such degree will be offered;

(iii) proposed implementation date of the degree;

(iv) admissions requirements for the degree;

(v) length of the degree;

(vi) projected enrollment for a period of five years;

(vii) the curriculum required for the degree, including course syllabi or outlines;

(viii) statement of academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the
quality of the proposed degree;

(ix) statement of satisfaction of professional licensure criteria, if applicable;

(x) documentation of the availability of clinical, internship, externship, or practicum
sites, if applicable; and

(xi) statement of how the degree fulfills the institution's mission and goals, complements
existing degrees, and contributes to the school's viability.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.653, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Higher Learning Commission accredited institutions in Minnesota. (a) A
postsecondary institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission or its successor
with its primary physical location in Minnesota is exempt from the provisions of sections
136A.61 to 136A.71, including related fees, when it creates new or modifies existing:
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(10) the school must not withhold a student's official transcript because the student is
in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the school to the student if the loan qualifies
as an institutional loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b);

(11) the school has a process to receive and act on student complaints;

(12) if the school is unaccredited, the school includes a joint and several liability provision
for torts and compliance with the requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71 in any
contract effective after July 1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school
located in another state for the purpose of providing educational or training programs or
awarding postsecondary credits or continuing education credits to Minnesota residents that
may be applied to a degree program; and

(13) the school must not use nondisclosure agreements or other contracts restricting a
student's ability to disclose information in connection with school actions or conduct that
would be covered under section 136A.672.

(b) An application for degree approval must also include:

(i) title of degree and formal recognition awarded;

(ii) location where such degree will be offered;

(iii) proposed implementation date of the degree;

(iv) admissions requirements for the degree;

(v) length of the degree;

(vi) projected enrollment for a period of five years;

(vii) the curriculum required for the degree, including course syllabi or outlines;

(viii) statement of academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the
quality of the proposed degree;

(ix) statement of satisfaction of professional licensure criteria, if applicable;

(x) documentation of the availability of clinical, internship, externship, or practicum
sites, if applicable; and

(xi) statement of how the degree fulfills the institution's mission and goals, complements
existing degrees, and contributes to the school's viability.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.653, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Higher Learning Commission accredited institutions in Minnesota. (a) A
postsecondary institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission or its successor
with its primary physical location in Minnesota is exempt from the provisions of sections
136A.61 to 136A.71, including related fees, when it creates new or modifies existing:
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(1) program degree levels, program degree types, majors, minors, concentrations,
specializations, and areas of emphasis within approved degrees;

(2) nondegree programs within-appreved-degrees;
(3) underlying curriculum or courses;

(4) modes of delivery; and

(5) locations; and

(6) course or term changes that do not impact the number of instructional hours.

(b) The institution must annually notify the commissioner of the exempt actions listed
in paragraph (a) and, upon the commissioner's request, must provide additional information
about the action.

(c) The institution must notify the commissioner within 60 days of a program closing.

(d) Nothing in this subdivision exempts an institution from the annual registration and
degree approval requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71.

(e) An institution exempt under this subdivision may advertise, recruit, and enroll students
while the program is evaluated for an exemption. In the event the program is determined
not to be exempt, the institution must submit the full review application to the office within
60 days of notification or cease advertisement, recruitment, and enrollment of students and
may be subject to the provisions of sections 136A.65, subdivision 8, 136A.705, and 136A.71.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.658, is amended to read:

136A.658 EXEMPTION; STATE AUTHORIZATION RECIPROCITY
AGREEMENT SCHOOLS.

(a) The office may participate in an interstate reciprocity agreement regarding
postsecondary distance education if it determines that participation is in the best interest of
Minnesota postsecondary students.

(b) If the office decides to participate in an interstate reciprocity agreement, an institution
that meets the following requirements is exempt from the provisions of sections 136A.61
to 136A.71:

(1) the institution is situated in a state which is also participating in the interstate
reciprocity agreement;

(2) the institution has been approved to participate in the interstate reciprocity agreement
by the institution's home state and other entities with oversight of the interstate reciprocity
agreement; and

(3) the institution has elected to participate in and operate in compliance with the terms
of the interstate reciprocity agreement.
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(1) program degree levels, program degree types, majors, minors, concentrations,
specializations, and areas of emphasis within approved degrees;

(2) nondegree programs within-appreved-degrees;
(3) underlying curriculum or courses;

(4) modes of delivery; and

(5) locations; and

(6) course or term changes that do not impact the number of instructional hours.

(b) The institution must annually notify the commissioner of the exempt actions listed
in paragraph (a) and, upon the commissioner's request, must provide additional information
about the action.

(c) The institution must notify the commissioner within 60 days of a program closing.

(d) Nothing in this subdivision exempts an institution from the annual registration and
degree approval requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71.

(e) Institutions under this provision may advertise, recruit, and enroll students while the
program is evaluated for an exemption. In the event the program is determined not to be
exempt, institutions must complete the full review application to the office within 60 days
of notification or cease advertisement, recruitment, and enrollment of students and will be
subject to the penalty provisions of sections 136A.65, subdivision 8; 136A.705; and 136A.71.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.658, is amended to read:

136A.658 EXEMPTION; STATE AUTHORIZATION RECIPROCITY
AGREEMENT SCHOOLS.

(a) The office may participate in an interstate reciprocity agreement regarding
postsecondary distance education if it determines that participation is in the best interest of
Minnesota postsecondary students.

(b) If the office decides to participate in an interstate reciprocity agreement, an institution
that meets the following requirements is exempt from the provisions of sections 136A.61
to 136A.71:

(1) the institution is situated in a state which is also participating in the interstate
reciprocity agreement;

(2) the institution has been approved to participate in the interstate reciprocity agreement
by the institution's home state and other entities with oversight of the interstate reciprocity
agreement; and

(3) the institution has elected to participate in and operate in compliance with the terms
of the interstate reciprocity agreement.
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(c) If the office participates in an interstate reciprocity agreement and the office is
responsible for the administration of that interstate reciprocity agreement, which may include
the approval of applications for membership of in-state institutions to participate in the
interstate reciprocity agreement, the office shall collect reasonable fees sufficient to recover,
but not exceed, its costs to administer the interstate reciprocity agreement. The office
processing fees for approving an in-state institution application shall be as follows:

(1) $750 $1,500 for institutions with fewerthan 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent
enrollment;

(2) $3;600 $5,000 for institutions with 2,501 to 20,608 12,500 full-time equivalent
enrollment; and

(3) $7,500 for institutions with greater than 26,66+ 12,500 full-time equivalent enrollment.

Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees
that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration
program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) to (d) for new registrations.

(b) A new school effering ; during y
must pay registration fees fer—eaeh—appheab-}e—leve} based on the institution's total full-time
equivalent enrollment in the following amounts:

assoetate-degree $2;000
baeealaurente-degree $2;560
master's-degree $3;000
doetorate-degree $3;500

(1) $5,000 for institutions with 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent enrollment;

(2) $7,500 for institutions with 2,501 to 5,000 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(3) $10,000 for institutions with 5,001 to 7,500 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(4) $15,000 for institutions with 7,501 to 10,000 full-time equivalent enrollment; and

(5) $20,000 for institutions with 10,001 or greater full-time equivalent enrollment, and
for institutions with no data on the previous year's full-time equivalent enrollment.
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(c) If the office participates in an interstate reciprocity agreement and the office is
responsible for the administration of that interstate reciprocity agreement, which may include
the approval of applications for membership of in-state institutions to participate in the
interstate reciprocity agreement, the office shall collect reasonable fees sufficient to recover,
but not exceed, its costs to administer the interstate reciprocity agreement. The office
processing fees for approving an in-state institution application shall be as follows:

(1) $750 $1,500 for institutions with fewerthan 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent
enrollment;

(2) $3;600 $5,000 for institutions with 2,501 to 20;608 12,500 full-time equivalent
enrollment; and

(3) $7,500 for institutions with greater than 26,66+ 12,500 full-time equivalent enrollment.

Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees
that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration
program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) to (d) for new registrations.

(b) A new school effering ; during y
must pay registration fees fer—eaeh—appheab-}e—leve} based on the institution's total full-time
equivalent enrollment in the following amounts:

assoeiate-degree $2;000
baeealaurente-degree $2;560
master's-degree $3;000
doetorate-degree $3;500

(1) $5,000 for institutions with 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent enrollment;

(2) $7,500 for institutions with 2,501 to 5,000 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(3) $10,000 for institutions with 5,001 to 7,500 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(4) $15,000 for institutions with 7,501 to 10,000 full-time equivalent enrollment; and

(5) $20,000 for institutions with 10,001 or greater full-time equivalent enrollment, and
for institutions with no data on the previous year's full-time equivalent enrollment.
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Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

(c) A new school tha ar must

pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee fer—t-he—ﬁfst—degfee—&t—eaeh—degfee—}eve}
under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additienal nondegree program or degree as follows:

nondegree program $250
ditional ted 5250
additional-bacealaureate-degree $506
additienal-master's degree program $750
additional-dectorate-degree $1060

(d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of $600 must be paid for
an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or
application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively
has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the
same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final
application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65,
subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications
initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions
or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the
office for verification or validation of a completed application.

(e) The annual renewal registration fee is $3;506- based on an institution's total full-time
equivalent enrollment in the following amounts:

(1) $1,500 for institutions with 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent enrollment;

(2) $3,000 for institutions with 2,501 to 5,000 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(3) $5,000 for institutions with 5,001 to 10,000 full-time equivalent enrollment; and

(4) $7,500 for institutions with 10,001 or greater full-time equivalent enrollment, and
for institutions with no data on the previous year's full-time equivalent enrollment.

Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

(f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
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Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

(c) A new school tha ar must

pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee fer—t-he—ﬁfst—degfee—&t—eaeh—degfee—}eve}
under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additienal nondegree program or degree as follows:

nondegree program $250
ditional ted 5250
additional-bacealaureate-degree $506
additienal-master's degree program $750
additional-dectorate-degree $1060

(d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of $600 must be paid for
an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or
application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively
has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the
same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final
application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65,
subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications
initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions
or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the
office for verification or validation of a completed application.

(e) The annual renewal registration fee is $3;506- based on an institution's total full-time
equivalent enrollment in the following amounts:

(1) $1,500 for institutions with 2,500 or fewer full-time equivalent enrollment;

(2) $3,000 for institutions with 2,501 to 5,000 full-time equivalent enrollment;

(3) $5,000 for institutions with 5,001 to 10,000 full-time equivalent enrollment; and

(4) $7,500 for institutions with 10,001 or greater full-time equivalent enrollment, and
for institutions with no data on the previous year's full-time equivalent enrollment.

Full-time equivalent enrollment is established using the previous year's full-time equivalent
enrollment as established in the United States Department of Education Integrated
Postsecondary Education Data System.

(f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
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reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional
application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application
submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8.

This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by
the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries
from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for
verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.82, is amended to read:
136A.82 POLICY; CITATION.

Subdivision 1. Policy. The legislature has found and hereby declares that the availability
of legitimate vocational programs offered by responsible nonprofit and for-profit private
career schools are in the best interests of the people of this state. The legislature has found
and declares that the state can provide assistance and protection for persons choosing
vocational programs by establishing policies and procedures to ensure the authenticity and
legitimacy of vocational programs offered by nonprofit and for-profit private career schools.
The legislature has found and declares that this same policy applies to any nonprofit and
for-profit private career schools located in another state or country that offers or makes
available to a Minnesota resident any vocational program which does not require leaving
the state for its completion.

Subd. 2. Citation. Sections 136A.82 to 136A.834 may be cited as the "Private Career
School Act."

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Person. "Person" means any individual, partnership, company, firm, society,
trust, association, or corporation or any combination thereof. Person does not extend to:

(1) a government body;

(2) a public school as defined in section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, 13, and 17; or

(3) a nonpublic school, religious organization, or home school as defined in section
120A.22, subdivision 4.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Private career school. "Private career school" means a person who maintains
a physwal presence for any program at less than an associate degree level:is-netregistered
: and is not specifically exempted
by section 136A.833. Private career school does not extend to:
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reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional
application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application
submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8.

This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by
the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries
from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for
verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Person. "Person" means any individual, partnership, company, firm, society,
trust, association, or corporation or any combination thereof. Person does not extend to:

(1) a government body;

(2) a public school as defined in section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, 13, and 17; or

(3) a nonpublic school, religious organization, or home school as defined in section
120A.22, subdivision 4.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Private career school. "Private career school" means a person who maintains
a physwal presence for any program at less than an associate degree level:is-netregistered
= and is not specifically exempted
by section 136A.833. Private career school does not extend to:
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(1) public postsecondary institutions with a physical presence in Minnesota;

(2) postsecondary institutions registered under sections 136A.61 to 136A.71;

(3) postsecondary institutions exempt from registration under section 136A.653,
subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, and 3a; 136A.657; or 136A.658 due to the nature of the institution's

programs;

(4) schools exclusively engaged in training physically or mentally disabled persons;

(5) courses taught to students in an apprenticeship program registered by the United
States Department of Labor or Minnesota Department of Labor and taught by or required
by a trade union in which students are not responsible for tuition, fees, or any other charges,
regardless of payment or reimbursement method,

(6) programs contracted by persons or government agencies for the training of their own
employees for which no fee is charged to the employee, regardless of whether that fee is
reimbursed by the employer or a third party after the employee successfully completes the
training, except for institutions or programs required to obtain a limited license exclusively
to receive the dual training grant;

(7) schools with no physical presence in Minnesota engaged exclusively in offering
distance programs that are located in and approved by other states or jurisdictions if the
distance education program does not include internships, externships, field placements, or
clinical placements for residents of Minnesota;

(8) schools licensed or approved by other state boards or agencies authorized under
Minnesota law to issue licenses for institutions or programs, except for institutions or
programs required to be licensed exclusively to participate in state financial aid or be listed
on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training

grant;

(9) review classes, courses, or programs intended to prepare students to sit for
undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, or occupational licensing, certification, or entrance
examinations;

(10) classes, courses, or programs conducted by a bona fide trade, professional, or
fraternal organization, solely for that organization's membership and not available to the
public. In making the determination that the organization is bona fide, the office may request
the school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section
136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (1), that the organization is recognized in Minnesota;

(11) programs in the fine arts provided by organizations exempt from taxation under
section 290.05 and registered with the attorney general under chapter 309. For purposes of
this clause, "fine arts" means activities resulting in artistic creation or artistic performance
of works of the imagination which are engaged in for the primary purpose of creative
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(1) public postsecondary institutions with a physical presence in Minnesota;

(2) postsecondary institutions registered under sections 136A.61 to 136A.71;

(3) postsecondary institutions exempt from registration under sections 136A.653,
subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, and 3a; 136A.657; or 136A.658 due to the nature of the institution's

programs;

(4) schools exclusively engaged in training physically or mentally disabled persons;

(5) courses taught to students in an apprenticeship program registered by the United
States Department of Labor or Minnesota Department of Labor and taught by or required
by a trade union in which students are not responsible for tuition, fees, or any other charges,
regardless of payment or reimbursement method,

(6) programs contracted by persons or government agencies for the training of their own
employees for which no fee is charged to the employee, regardless of whether that fee is
reimbursed by the employer or a third party after the employee successfully completes the
training, except institutions or programs required to obtain a limited license exclusively to
receive the dual training grant;

(7) schools with no physical presence in Minnesota engaged exclusively in offering
distance programs that are located in and approved by other states or jurisdictions if the
distance education program does not include internships, externships, field placements, or
clinical placements for residents of Minnesota;

(8) schools licensed or approved by other state boards or agencies authorized under
Minnesota law to issue licenses for institutions or programs, except for institutions or
programs required to be licensed exclusively to participate in state financial aid, be listed
on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training

grant;
(9) review classes, courses, or programs intended to prepare students to sit for

undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, or occupational licensing, certification, or entrance
examinations;

(10) classes, courses, or programs conducted by a bona fide trade, professional, or
fraternal organization, solely for that organization's membership and not available to the
public. In making the determination that the organization is bona fide, the office may request
the school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section
136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (1), that the organization is recognized in Minnesota;

(11) programs in the fine arts provided by organizations exempt from taxation under
section 290.05 and registered with the attorney general under chapter 309. For purposes of
this clause, "fine arts" means activities resulting in artistic creation or artistic performance
of works of the imagination which are engaged in for the primary purpose of creative

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



48.7
48.8

48.9

48.10
48.11
48.12
48.13

48.14
48.15

48.16
48.17

48.18
48.19

48.20
48.21
48.22

48.23
48.24

48.25
48.26

48.27
48.28

48.29
48.30
48.31

49.1
49.2

493
49.4
49.5

49.6
49.7

49.8
49.9
49.10

Higher Education Finance and Policy
House Language H2431-2

expression rather than commercial sale, vocational or career advancement, or employment;
or

(12) classes, courses, or programs intended to fulfill the continuing education
requirements for a bona fide licensure or certification in a profession that have been approved
by a legislatively or judicially established board or agency responsible for regulating the
practice of the profession or by an industry-specific certification entity and that are offered
exclusively to individuals with the professional licensure or certification.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 21. Vocational. "Vocational" means education or training for skills used in the
labor market.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 22. Trade union. "Trade union" means an organization of workers in a skilled
occupation who act together to secure all members favorable wages, hours, or other working
conditions.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 23. Eligible training provider. "Eligible training provider" has the meaning given
in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 680.410.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 24. Eligible training provider list. "Eligible training provider list" means the list
of eligible training providers that the state must maintain under Code of Federal Regulations,
title 20, section 680.430.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 25. State financial aid. For purposes of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834, "state
financial aid" includes all financial aid that may be awarded under chapter 136A, with the
exception of the dual training grant.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 26. WIOA funding. "WIOA funding" means any funding available through the
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act under Code of Federal Regulations, title 20,
section 680.
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expression rather than commercial sale, vocational or career advancement, or employment;
or

(12) classes, courses, or programs intended to fulfill the continuing education
requirements for a bona fide licensure or certification in a profession that have been approved
by a legislatively or judicially established board or agency responsible for regulating the
practice of the profession or by an industry-specific certification entity and that are offered
exclusively to individuals with the professional licensure or certification.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 21. Vocational. "Vocational" means education or training for skills used in the
labor market.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 22. Trade union. "Trade union" means an organization of workers in a skilled
occupation who act together to secure all members favorable wages, hours, or other working
conditions.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 23. Eligible training provider. "Eligible training provider" has the meaning given
in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 680.410.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 24. Eligible training provider list. "Eligible training provider list" means the list
of eligible training providers that the state must maintain under Code of Federal Regulations,
title 20, section 680.430.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 25. State financial aid For the purposes of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834, "state
financial aid" includes all financial aid that may be awarded under chapter 136A, with the
exception of the dual training grant under section 136A.246.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 26. WIOA funding. "WIOA funding" means any money available through the
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act under Code of Federal Regulations, title 20,
section 680.
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Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 27. Dual training grant. "Dual training grant" means any money awarded under
section 136A.246.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Refunds. If a contract is deemed determined by the office to be unenforceable
under subdivision 2, a private career school must refund tuition, fees, and other charges
received from a student or on behalf of a student within 30 days of receiving written
notification and demand for refund from the office.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Bond. (a) No license shall be issued to any private career school with a physical
presence within the state of Minnesota for any program, unless the applicant files with the
office a continuous corporate surety bond written by a company authorized to do business
in Minnesota conditioned upon the faithful performance of all contracts and agreements
with students made by the applicant.

(b)) The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net
revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected, but in
no event less than $10,000, except that a private career school may deposit a greater amount
at its own discretion. A private career school in each annual application for licensure must
compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies
with this subdivision. A private career school that operates at two or more locations may
combine net revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges
collected for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement.
The net revenue from tuition and fees used to determine the amount of the surety bond
required for a private career school having a license for the sole purpose of recruiting students
in Minnesota shall be only that paid to the private career school by the students recruited
from Minnesota.

(c) The bond shall run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a cause
of action against the applicant arising at any time after the bond is filed and before it is
canceled for breach of any contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student.

The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall not
exceed the principal sum deposited by the private career school under paragraph (b). The
surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and

PAGE R66

Senate Language UEH2431-1

63.6 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision
63.7  toread:
63.8 Subd. 27. Dual training grant. "Dual training grant" means any money awarded under

63.9  section 136A.246.

63.10 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
63.11 Subd. 3. Refunds. If a contract is deemed determined by the office to be unenforceable
63.12  under subdivision 2, a private career school must refund tuition, fees, and other charges

63.13 received from a student or on behalf of a student within 30 days of receiving written
63.14 notification and demand for refund from the office.

63.15 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

63.16 Subd. 6. Bond. (a) No license shall be issued to any private career school with a physical
63.17 presence within the state of Minnesota for any program, unless the applicant files with the
63.18 office a continuous corporate surety bond written by a company authorized to do business

63.19 in Minnesota conditioned upon the faithful performance of all contracts and agreements
63.20 with students made by the applicant.

63.21 (b)) The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net
63.22 revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected, but in

63.23 no event less than $10,000, except that a private career school may deposit a greater amount
63.24  at its own discretion. A private career school in each annual application for licensure must
63.25 compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies
63.26  with this subdivision. A private career school that operates at two or more locations may

63.27 combine net revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges

63.28 collected for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement.
63.29 The net revenue from tuition and fees used to determine the amount of the surety bond

63.30 required for a private career school having a license for the sole purpose of recruiting students

63.31 in Minnesota shall be only that paid to the private career school by the students recruited
from Minnesota.

63.32

64.1
64.2
64.3
64.4
64.5

64.6 (c) The bond shall run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a cause
64.7  of action against the applicant arising at any time after the bond is filed and before it is

64.8  canceled for breach of any contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student.

64.9  The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall not
64.10 exceed the principal sum deposited by the private career school under paragraph (b). The
64.11 surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and
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shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date
of cancellation.

(d) In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management
and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable
letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety
bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an
aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond.

(e) Failure of a private career school to post and maintain the required surety bond or
deposit under paragraph (d) may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the school's
license.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
Subd. 8. Minimum standards. A license shall be issued if the office first determines:

(1) that the applicant has a sound financial condition with sufficient resources available
to:

(i) meet the private career school's financial obligations;

(ii) refund all tuition and other charges, within a-reasenable-period-oftime 60 days, in
the event of dissolution of the private career school or in the event of any justifiable claims

for refund against the private career school by the student body;
(iii) provide adequate service to its students and prospective students; and
(iv) maintain and support the private career school;

(2) that the applicant has satisfactory facilities with sufficient tools and equipment and
the necessary number of work stations to prepare adequately the students currently enrolled,
and those proposed to be enrolled,

(3) that the applicant employs a sufficient number of qualified teaching personnel to
provide the educational programs contemplated;

(4) that the private career school has an organizational framework with administrative
and instructional personnel to provide the programs and services it intends to offer;

(5) that the quality and content of each occupational course or program of study provides
education and adequate preparation to enrolled students for entry level positions in the
occupation for which prepared;

(6) that the premises and conditions where the students work and study and the student
living quarters which are owned, maintained, recommended, or approved by the applicant
are sanitary, healthful, and safe, as evidenced by certificate of occupancy issued by the
municipality or county where the private career school is physically situated, a fire inspection
by the local or state fire marshal, or another verification deemed acceptable by the office;
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shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date
of cancellation.

(d) In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management
and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable
letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety
bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an
aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond.

(e) Failure of a private career school to post and maintain the required surety bond or
deposit under paragraph (d) may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the school's
license.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
Subd. 8. Minimum standards. A license shall be issued if the office first determines:

(1) that the applicant has a sound financial condition with sufficient resources available
to:

(i) meet the private career school's financial obligations;

(ii) refund all tuition and other charges, within a-reasenable-period-oftime 60 days, in
the event of dissolution of the private career school or in the event of any justifiable claims

for refund against the private career school by the student body;
(iii) provide adequate service to its students and prospective students; and
(iv) maintain and support the private career school;

(2) that the applicant has satisfactory facilities with sufficient tools and equipment and
the necessary number of work stations to prepare adequately the students currently enrolled,
and those proposed to be enrolled;

(3) that the applicant employs a sufficient number of qualified teaching personnel to
provide the educational programs contemplated;

(4) that the private career school has an organizational framework with administrative
and instructional personnel to provide the programs and services it intends to offer;

(5) that the quality and content of each occupational course or program of study provides
education and adequate preparation to enrolled students for entry level positions in the
occupation for which prepared;

(6) that the premises and conditions where the students work and study and the student
living quarters which are owned, maintained, recommended, or approved by the applicant
are sanitary, healthful, and safe, as evidenced by certificate of occupancy issued by the
municipality or county where the private career school is physically situated, a fire inspection
by the local or state fire marshal, or another verification deemed acceptable by the office;
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(7) that the contract or enrollment agreement used by the private career school complies
with the provisions in section 136A.826;

(8) that contracts and agreements do not contain a wage assignment provision or a
confession of judgment clause;

(9) that there has been no adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation in any criminal,
civil, or administrative proceeding in any jurisdiction against the private career school or
its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization;

(10) that the private career school or its owners, officers, agents, or sponsoring
organization has not had a license revoked under section 136A.829 or its equivalent in other
states or has closed the institution prior to all students, enrolled at the time of the closure,
completing their program within two years of the effective date of the revocation; and

(11) that the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance
with the requirements of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834 in any contract effective after July
1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the
purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits
to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a program.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. ate ; i : er-5ta i
license. (a) Unless otherw1se exempt under sectlons 136A 82 to 136A 834:

d Limited

(1) a private career school licensed by another state agency or board must be required

to obtaln a pfw&te—e&feer—sehee} limited hcense due to " ATRIK

in state ﬁnanc1al ald
ot-board; and

(2) a private career school exclusively seeking to be listed on the eligible training provider
list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training grant shall be required to obtain a
limited license.

(b) A private career school seeking a limited license under this subdivision shall be
required to satisfy only the requirements of subdivisions 4, clauses (1), (2), (3), &) (7), (8),
(9), and (10); 5; 65-paragraph-tb)-elause(2); 8, clauses (1), (4), (7), (8), and (9), and (10);

9; 10; 11; and 12. If a school is licensed to participate in state financial aid under this chapter,
the school must follow the refund policy in section 136A.827, even if that section conflicts
with the refund policy of the licensing agency or board. A distance education private career
school located in another state, or a school licensed to recruit Minnesota residents for
attendance at a school outside of this state, or a school licensed by another state agency as

its primary licensing body, may continue to use the school's name as permitted by its home
state or its primary licensing body.
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(7) that the contract or enrollment agreement used by the private career school complies
with the provisions in section 136A.826;

(8) that contracts and agreements do not contain a wage assignment provision or a
confession of judgment clause;

(9) that there has been no adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation in any criminal,
civil, or administrative proceeding in any jurisdiction against the private career school or
its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization;

(10) that the private career school or its owners, officers, agents, or sponsoring
organization has not had a license revoked under section 136A.829 or its equivalent in other
states or has closed the institution prior to all students, enrolled at the time of the closure,
completing their program within two years of the effective date of the revocation; and

(11) that the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance
with the requirements of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834 in any contract effective after July
1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the
purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits
to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a program.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.822, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. ate-earee chee concad
license. Unless otherwise exempt under this act:

d Limited

(1) a private career school, which is licensed by another state agency or board is requlred

to obtaln a pfw&te—e&feer—sehee} limited hcense due to T

in state ﬁnanc1al ald
or-board;

(2) a private career school seeking exclusively to be listed on the eligible training provider
list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training grant shall be required to obtain a
limited license; and

(3) a private career school seeking a limited license under this subdivision is shat-be
required to satisfy only the requirements of subdivisions 4, clauses (1), (2), (3), &) (7), (8),
(9), and (10); 5; 65-paragraph-tb)-elause(2); 8, clauses (1), (4), (7), (8), and (9), and (10);

9; 10; 11; and 12. If a school is licensed to participate in state financial aid under this chapter,
the school must follow the refund policy in section 136A.827, even if that section conflicts
with the refund policy of the licensing agency or board. A distance education private career
school located in another state, or a school licensed to recruit Minnesota residents for
attendance at a school outside of this state, or a school licensed by another state agency as

its primary licensing body, may continue to use the school's name as permitted by its home
state or its primary licensing body.
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Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure
application is:

(1) $2;560 $3,730 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program
during its first year of operation;

(2) $—7§9 $1, 500 for a prlvate career school hcensed excluswely due—te—t-he—use—ef—t-he

in order to pamc1pate in state gf&nt—er—SEI:F—}e&ﬂ ﬁnanc1a1 ald pfegfafﬁs be llsted on the
cligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training grant; and

(3) $25500 $3,730, plus $500 for each additional program offered by the private career
school, for a private career school during its first year of licensed operation.

(b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for an initial
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit
two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section
136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive
questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,
initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,
and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal
licensure application is:

(1) for a private career school that-effers-ene-pregram, the license renewal fee is $4:150
$3,160; and

t4) (2) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed
with the office exclusively in order to participate in state stadent financial aid pregrams, be
listed on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training
grant, the license renewal fee is $756 $1,500.
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Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure
application is:

(1) $2;560 $3,730 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program
during its first year of operation;

(2) $—7§9 $1, 500 for a prlvate career school hcensed excluswely due—te—t-he—use—ef—t-he

i-ﬂ-efdef to pamclpate in state gf&ﬁt—er—SEI:F—}e&ﬂ ﬁnanc1a1 ald pfegfafﬁs be llsted on the
cligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training grant; and

(3) $25500 $3,730, plus $500 for each additional program offered by the private career
school, for a private career school during its first year of licensed operation.

(b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for an initial
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit
two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section
136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive
questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,
initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,
and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal
licensure application is:

(1) for a private career school that-effers-ene-pregram, the license renewal fee is $:150
$3,160; and

t4) (2) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed
with the office exclusively in order to participate in state stadent financial aid pregrams, be
listed on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual training
grant, the license renewal fee is $756 $1,500.
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(b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the-elose-efbusiness
atleast-60-daysbefore the expiration of the current license, a late fee of $100 per business
day, not to exceed $3,000, shall be assessed.

(c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit
two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section
136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive
questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,
initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,
and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Solicitor permit fee. The solicitor permit fee is $350 $500 and must be paid
annually.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Multiple location fee. Private career schools wishing to operate at multiple
locations must pay the greater of:

(1) $250 $500 per locations-fer-leeations-tweo-to-fiverand; or
(2) an-additional-$100-foreach-loeation-overfive: the actual cost of travel expenses,

lodging, and customary meals incurred for an in-person site visit, should the office determine
one is necessary.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.833, is amended to read:
136A.833 EXEMPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Application for exemptions. (a) A school that seeks an exemption from
the provisions of sections 136A.822 to 136A.834 for the school and all of its programs or
some of its programs must apply to the office to establish that the school or program meets
the requirements of an exemption. An exemption for the school or program expires two
years from the date of approval or when a school adds a new program or makes a
modification equal to or greater than 25 percent to an existing educational program. If a
school is reapplying for an exemption, the application must be submitted to the office 90
days before the current exemption expires. If a school fails to apply within 90 days of
expiration, the school is subject to fees and penalties under sections 136A.831 and 136A.832.
This exemption shall not extend to any school that uses any publication or advertisement
that is not truthful and gives any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading
impressions about the school or its personnel, programs, services, or occupational
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(b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the-elose-efbusiness
atleast-60-daysbefore the expiration of the current license, a late fee of $100 per business
day, not to exceed $3,000, shall be assessed.

(c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal
application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with
additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit
two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section
136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive
questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application,
initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,
and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Solicitor permit fee. The solicitor permit fee is $350 $500 and must be paid
annually.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.824, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Multiple location fee. Private career schools wishing to operate at multiple
locations must pay the greater of:

(1) $250 $500 per locations-fer-leeations-tweo-to-fiverand; or
(2) an-additional-$100-foreach-loeation-overfive: the actual cost of travel expenses,

lodging, and customary meals incurred for an in-person site visit, should the office determine
one is necessary.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.833, is amended to read:
136A.833 EXEMPTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Application for exemptions. (a) A school that seeks an exemption from
the provisions of sections 136A.822 to 136A.834 for the school and all of its programs or
some of its programs must apply to the office to establish that the school or program meets
the requirements of an exemption. An exemption for the school or program expires two
years from the date of approval or when a school adds a new program or makes a
modification equal to or greater than 25 percent to an existing educational program. If a
school is reapplying for an exemption, the application must be submitted to the office 90
days before the current exemption expires. If a school fails to apply within 90 days of
expiration, the school is subject to fees and penalties under sections 136A.831 and 136A.832.
This exemption shall not extend to any school that uses any publication or advertisement
that is not truthful and gives any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading
impressions about the school or its personnel, programs, services, or occupational
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55.8  opportunities for its graduates for promotion and student recruitment. Exemptions denied
55.9  under this section are subject to appeal under section 136A.829. If an appeal is initiated,
55.10 the denial of the exemption is not effective until the final determination of the appeal, unless
55.11 immediate effect is ordered by the court.

55.12 (b) A school that meets any of the exemptions in this section and exclusively seeks to
55.13  be listed on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual
55.14  training grant, is exempt from sections 136A.822 to 136A.834, except the school must
55.15 satisfy the requirements of section 136A.822, subdivisions 4, clauses (1), (2), and (3); 8,
55.16 clauses (9) and (10); 10, clause (8); and 12.

55.17 Subd. 2. Exemption reasons. Sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 shall not apply to the
55.18 following:

55.19
55.20

55.21
55.22

55.23

55.24
55.25
55.26
55.27
55.28

55.29
55.30

55.31
55.32
56.1
56.2

56.3
56.4
56.5
56.6
56.7

56.8 9 (1) private career schools engaged exclusively in the teaching of purely avocational
56.9  programs that are engaged primarily for personal development, reereational recreation, or
56.10 remedial subjeets-that education, and are not advertised-ermaintained generallx intended
56.11 for vocational or career advancement, including adult basic education, exercise or fitness
56.12 teacher programs, modeling, or acting, as determined by the office exeeptprivate-eareer
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opportunities for its graduates for promotion and student recruitment. Exemptions denied
under this section are subject to appeal under section 136A.829. If an appeal is initiated,

the denial of the exemption is not effective until the final determination of the appeal, unless
immediate effect is ordered by the court.

(b) A school that meets any of the exemptions in this section and exclusively seeks to
be listed on the eligible training provider list, access WIOA funding, or receive the dual
training grant is exempt from sections 136A.822 to 136A.834, except that the school must
satisfy the requirements of section 136A.822, subdivisions 4, clauses (1), (2), and (3); 8,
clauses (9) and (10); 10, clause (8); and 12.

Subd. 2. Exemption reasons. Sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 shall not apply to the
following:

9 (1) private career schools engaged exclusively in the teaching of purely avocational
programs that are engaged primarily for personal development, reereational recreation, or

remedial subjeets-that education, and are not advertised-or-maintained generallx intended
for vocational or career advancement, including adult basic education, exercise or fitness
teacher programs, modeling, or acting, as determined by the office exeeptprivate-eareer
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5 (3) private career schools providing exetustvely training, instructional programs,

or courses where tuition, fees, and any other charges;regardless-efpayment-orreimbursement
methed; for a student to participate do not exceed $+60 $500.
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5 (3) private career schools providing exetustvely training, instructional programs,

or courses where tuition, fees, and any other charges;regardless-efpayment-orreimbursement
methed; for a student to participate do not exceed $+60 $500.
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Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.834, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Exemption. (a) A program is exempt from the provisions of sections
136A.821 to 136A.832 if it is:

(1) offered by a private-eareer school or any department or branch of a private-eareer
school that is substantially owned, operated, or supported by a bona fide church or religious

organization;

(2) primarily designed for, aimed at, and attended by persons who sincerely hold or seek
to learn the particular religious faith or beliefs of that church or religious organization; and

(3) primarily intended to prepare its students to become ministers of, to enter into some
other vocation closely related to, or to conduct their lives in consonance with the particular
faith of that church or religious organization.

(b) Any private-eareer school or any department or branch of a private-eareer school is
exempt from the provisions of sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 if all of its programs are

exempt under paragraph (a).
Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.834, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Application. A school that seeks an exemption from the provisions of sections
136A.82 to 136A.834 must apply to the office to establish that the school meets the
requirements of an exemption. An exemption expires two years from the date of approval
or when a school adds a new program or makes a modification equal to or greater than 25
percent to an existing educational program. If a school is reapplying for an exemption, the
application must be submitted to the office 90 days before the current exemption expires.

If a school fails to apply within 90 days of expiration, the school is subject to the fees and
penalties under sections 136A.831 and 136A.832.
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Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.834, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Exemption. (a) A program is exempt from the provisions of sections
136A.821 to 136A.832 if it is:

(1) offered by a private-eareer school or any department or branch of a private-eareer
school that is substantially owned, operated, or supported by a bona fide church or religious

organization;

(2) primarily designed for, aimed at, and attended by persons who sincerely hold or seek
to learn the particular religious faith or beliefs of that church or religious organization; and

(3) primarily intended to prepare its students to become ministers of, to enter into some
other vocation closely related to, or to conduct their lives in consonance with the particular
faith of that church or religious organization.

(b) Any private-eareer school or any department or branch of a private-eareer school is
exempt from the provisions of sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 if all of its programs are

exempt under paragraph (a).
Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.834, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Application. A school that seeks an exemption from the provisions of sections
136A.82 to 136A.834 must apply to the office to establish that the school meets the
requirements of an exemption. An exemption expires two years from the date of approval
or when a school adds a new program or makes a modification equal to or greater than 25
percent to an existing educational program. If a school is reapplying for an exemption, the
application must be submitted to the office 90 days before the current exemption expires.

If a school fails to apply within 90 days of expiration, the school is subject to the fees and
penalties under sections 136A.831 and 136A.832.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.87, is amended to read:
136A.87 PLANNING INFORMATION FOR POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION.

(a) The office shall make available to all residents beginning in 7th grade through
adulthood information about planning and preparing for postsecondary opportunities.
Information must be provided to all 7th grade students and their parents annually by
September 30 about planning for their postsecondary education. The office may also provide
information to high school students and their parents, to adults, and to out-of-school youth.
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Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.901, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish a grant program
to award grants to institutions in Minnesota for research into spinal cord injuries and traumatic
brain injuries. Grants shall be awarded to conduct research into new and innovative treatments
and rehabilitative efforts for the functional improvement of people with spinal cord and
traumatic brain injuries. Research topics may include, but are not limited to, pharmaceutical,
medical device, brain stimulus, and rehabilitative approaches and techniques. The
commissioner, in consultation with the advisory council established under section 136A.902,
shall award 50 percent of the grant funds for research involving spinal cord injuries and 50
percent to research involving traumatic brain injuries. In addition to the amounts appropriated
by law, the commissioner may accept additional funds from private and public sources.
Amounts received from these sources are appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes
of issuing grants under this section.
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te) (b) The information provided under paragraph (a) may include the following:
(1) the need to start planning early;

(2) the availability of assistance in educational planning from educational institutions
and other organizations;

(3) suggestions for studying effectively during high school;
(4) high school courses necessary to be adequately prepared for postsecondary education;
(5) encouragement to involve parents actively in planning for all phases of education;

(6) information about postsecondary education and training opportunities existing in the
state, their respective missions and expectations for students, their preparation requirements,
admission requirements, and student placement;

(7) ways to evaluate and select postsecondary institutions;

(8) the process of transferring credits among Minnesota postsecondary institutions and
systems;

(9) the costs of postsecondary education and the availability of financial assistance in
meeting these costs, including specific information about the Minnesota Promise;

(10) the interrelationship of assistance from student financial aid, public assistance, and
job training programs;

(11) financial planning for postsecondary education; and

(12) postsecondary education options for students with intellectual and developmental
disabilities.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.901, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Grant program. (a) The commissioner shall establish a grant program
to award grants to institutions in Minnesota for research into spinal cord injuries and traumatic
brain injuries. Grants shall be awarded to conduct research into new and innovative treatments
and rehabilitative efforts for the functional improvement of people with spinal cord and
traumatic brain injuries. Research topics may include, but are not limited to, pharmaceutical,
medical device, brain stimulus, and rehabilitative approaches and techniques. The
commissioner, in consultation with the advisory council established under section 136A.902,
shall award 50 percent of the grant funds for research involving spinal cord injuries and 50
percent to research involving traumatic brain injuries. In addition to the amounts appropriated
by law, the commissioner may accept additional funds from private and public sources.
Amounts received from these sources are appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes
of issuing grants under this section.
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(b) Institutions that are eligible to apply for a grant under this section include
postsecondary institutions and nonprofit organizations.

(c) A spinal cord and traumatic brain injury grant account is established in the special
revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to make grants
and to administer the grant program under this section. Appropriations to the commissioner
for the program are for transfer to the account. Appropriations from the account do not
cancel and are available until expended.

PAGE R75

73.16
73.17

73.18
73.19
73.20
73.21
73.22

73.23

73.24
73.25
73.26
73.27
73.28
73.29
73.30
73.31
73.32
73.33
74.1

74.2

74.3

74.4

74.5
74.6
74.7
74.8

74.9

74.10
74.11
74.12

74.13
74.14

74.15
74.16
74.17
74.18
74.19

Senate Language UEH2431-1

(b) Institutions that are eligible to apply for a grant under this section include
postsecondary institutions, nonprofit organizations, and for-profit organizations.

) (c) A spinal cord and traumatic brain injury grant account is established in the special
revenue fund. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to make grants
and to administer the grant program under this section. Appropriations to the commissioner
for the program are for transfer to the account. Appropriations from the account do not
cancel and are available until expended.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 137.022, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Endowed chair account. (a) For purposes of this section, the permanent
university fund has three accounts. The sources of the money in the endowed mineral
research and endowed scholarship accounts are set out in paragraph (b) and subdivision 4.
All money in the fund that is not otherwise allocated is in the endowed chair account. The
income from the endowed chair account must be used, and capital gains allocated to that
account may be used, to provide endowment support for professorial chairs in academic
disciplines. The endowment support for the chairs from the income and the capital gains
must not total more than six percent per year of the 36-month trailing average market value
of the endowed chair account of the fund, as computed quarterly or otherwise as directed
by the regents. The endowment support from the income and the capital gains must not
provide more than half the sum of the endowment support for all university chairs and
professorships endowed, with nonstate sources providing the remainder. The endowment
support from the income and the capital gains may provide more than half the endowment
support of an individual chair.

(b) If any portion of the annual appropriation of the income is not used for the purposes
specified in paragraph (a) or subdivision 4, that portion lapses and must be added to the
principal of the three accounts of the permanent university fund in proportion to the market
value of each account.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 137.022, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Mineral research; scholarships. (a) All income credited after July 1, 1992,
to the permanent university fund from royalties for mining under state mineral leases from
and after July 1, 1991, must be allocated as provided in this subdivision.

(b)) Beginning January 1, 2643 2026, 58-pereent-of the income must be allocated
according to this paragraph.

One-half (1) One-fourth of the income under this paragraph, up to $50;600;600
$100,000,000, must be credited to the endowed mineral research account of the fund te-be
arrocatea atara a Hite -an eraine '“,fOI‘
mineral and mineral-related research, including mineral-related environmental research, at
the Natural Resources Research Institute-Duluth and Coleraine facilities.
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74.20 TFhe-otherone-half (2) One-fourth of the income under this paragraph, up to $25,000,000,
74.21 s must be credited to an endowment for the-eests-ef operating mining, mineral, and

74.22  mineral-related; degree programs or science, technology, engineering, and mathematics

7423 (STEM) degree programs offered through the University of Minnesota at Minnesota North
74.24  College and the University of Minnesota Duluth Swenson College of Science and Engineering
74.25 atDuluth to support workforce development and collaborations benefiting regional

74.26  academics, industry, and natural resources on the Iron Range in northeast Minnesota, and
74.27  for providing scholarships for Minnesota students, prioritizing students in the Minnesota

74.28 Economic Development Region 3, to attend the mining, mineral, mineral-related, or STEM
74.29  degree programs. The maximum scholarship awarded to attend the degree programs funded
7430 under this paragraph cannot exceed 75 percent of current resident tuition rates per academic
7431 year and may be awarded a maximum of four academic years.

74.32 (3) One-fourth of the income under this paragraph must be credited to the Natural
74.33  Resources Research Institute for general operating and research costs.
75.1 &) Theremainderof the income under paragraph(a) (4) One-fourth of the income under

75.2  this paragraph, plus the ameunt-ef-any remainder of the income allocated under clause (1)
753 after $56;600;900 $100,000,000 has been credited to the endowed mineral research account
75.4 ~ a Ng s} Resou tifita an 0 nt L oaavs CUNIPCTPN s

755  $25;000,000-forthe programmingin-elause(H and the remainder of the income allocated

75.6  under clause (2) after $25,000,000 has been credited to an endowment for mining, mineral,
75.7  mineral-related, or STEM degree programs and scholarships, must be credited to the endowed
75.8  scholarship account of the fund for distribution annually for scholastic achievement as

75.9  provided by the Board of Regents to undergraduates enrolled at the University of Minnesota
75.10  who are resident students as defined in section 136A.101, subdivision 8.

75.11 (c) The annual distribution from the endowed scholarship account must be allocated to
75.12  the various campuses of the University of Minnesota in proportion to the number of
75.13  undergraduate resident students enrolled on each campus.

75.14 (d) The Board of Regents must report to the education committees of the legislature
75.15 Dbiennially at the time of the submission of its budget request on the disbursement of money
75.16  from the endowed scholarship account and to the environment and natural resources

75.17 committees on the use of the mineral research account.

75.18 (e) Capital gains and losses and portfolio income of the permanent university fund must
75.19  be credited to its three accounts in proportion to the market value of each account.

75.20 (f) The endowment support from the income and capital gains of the endowed mineral
75.21 research and endowed scholarship accounts of the fund must not total more than six percent
75.22  per year of the 36-month trailing average market value of the account from which the support
75.23 s derived.
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75.24 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 137.375, is amended to read:

75.25 137.375 DISABLED VETERANS; UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA LANDSCAPE
7526 ARBORETUM.

75.27 (a) For purposes of this section, "disabled veteran" means a veteran as defined in section
75.28 197.447 who is certified as disabled. "Certified as disabled" means certified in writing by
75.29  the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans

75.30  affairs as having a permanent service-connected disability.

75.31 (b) The University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum is requested to provide a disabled
75.32  veteran and one guest unlimited access to the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
75.33  located in the city of Chaska free of charge. The disabled veteran must provide a veteran

76.1  photo identification card with the term "service-connected" on the identification card,

76.2  verifying that the disabled veteran has a service-connected disability.

76.3 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 151.37, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

76.4 Subd. 12. Administration of opiate antagonists for drug overdose. (a) A licensed
76.5  physician, a licensed advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe drugs

76.6  pursuant to section 148.235, or a licensed physician assistant may authorize the following
76.7  individuals to administer opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1:

76.8 (1) an emergency medical responder registered pursuant to section 144E.27;

76.9 (2) a peace officer as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraphs (c) and (d);
76.10 (3) correctional employees of a state or local political subdivision;

76.11 (4) staff of community-based health disease prevention or social service programs;
76.12 (5) a volunteer firefighter;

76.13 (6) a nurse or any other personnel employed by, or under contract with, a postsecondary
76.14  institution or a charter, public, or private school; and

76.15 (7) transit rider investment program personnel authorized under section 473.4075.

76.16 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, opiate antagonists may be administered by one
76.17  of these individuals only if:

76.18 (1) the licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or licensed advanced practice
76.19  registered nurse has issued a standing order to, or entered into a protocol with, the individual;
76.20 and

76.21 (2) the individual has training in the recognition of signs of opiate overdose and the use

76.22  of opiate antagonists as part of the emergency response to opiate overdose.

76.23 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits the possession and administration of naloxone
76.24  pursuant to section 604A.04.
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76.25 (d) Notwithstanding section 148.235, subdivisions 8 and 9, a licensed practical nurse is
76.26  authorized to possess and administer according to this subdivision an opiate antagonist in
76.27 aschool setting.

76.28 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 474A.061, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

76.29 Subd. 2b. Small issue pool allocation. Commencing on the second Tuesday in January
76.30 and continuing on each Monday through the last Monday in June, the commissioner shall
77.1  allocate available bonding authority from the small issue pool to applications received on
77.2  or before the Monday of the preceding week for manufacturing projects and enterprise zone
77.3  facility projects. From the second Tuesday in January through the last Monday in June, the
77.4  commissioner shall reserve $5,000,000 of the available bonding authority from the small
77.5  issue pool for applications for agricultural development bond loan projects of the Minnesota
77.6  Rural Finance Authority.

77.7 Beginning in calendar year 2662 2026, on the second Tuesday in January through the
77.8  last Monday in June, the commissioner shall reserve $16;666;600 $25,000,000 of available
77.9  bonding authority in the small issue pool for applications for student loan bonds of or on
77.10  behalf of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. The total amount of allocations for
77.11  student loan bonds from the small issue pool may not exceed $16;606,600 $25,000,000 per
77.12  year.

77.13 The commissioner shall reserve $10,000,000 until the day after the last Monday in

77.14  February, $10,000,000 until the day after the last Monday in April, and $10,000,000 until
77.15  the day after the last Monday in June in the small issue pool for enterprise zone facility

77.16  projects and manufacturing projects. The amount of allocation provided to an issuer for a
77.17  specific enterprise zone facility project or manufacturing project will be based on the number
77.18  of points received for the proposed project under the scoring system under section 474A.045.

77.19 If there are two or more applications for manufacturing and enterprise zone facility
77.20  projects from the small issue pool and there is insufficient bonding authority to provide

77.21  allocations for all projects in any one week, the available bonding authority shall be awarded
7722 based on the number of points awarded a project under section 474A.045, with those projects
77.23  receiving the greatest number of points receiving allocation first. If two or more applications
77.24  receive an equal number of points, available bonding authority shall be awarded by lot

77.25 unless otherwise agreed to by the respective issuers.

77.26 Sec. 60. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 2, section 31, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

71.27 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education
77.28 shall establish a program to provide #p-te-689 scholarships to students entering paramedic

7729 programs by2026.

77.30 Sec. 61. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 2, section 31, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

77.31 Subd. 4. Reporting. By February 1;-2025;-and-again-byFebruary 12026 each year, the

77.32 commissioner must submit a report on the program to the chairs and ranking minority
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members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher education finance and
policy. The report must include the following information and any other information the
commissioner considers relevant:

(1) information about all postsecondary programs giving rise to eligibility for a
scholarship under this section, including the programs' locations, costs, enrollment capacities,
acceptance rates, and other relevant information;

(2) available data on the current and forecasted demand for paramedics in Minnesota;
and

(3) the total number of scholarships issued, disaggregated by:

(i) year of award;

(ii) postsecondary institution attended; and

(iii) relevant and available demographic data about award recipients.

Sec. 62. SURPLUS APPROPRIATION UNAVAILABLE.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 7a, the commissioner
of the Office of Higher Education must not apply the adjustments to grant awards provided
in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 7a, in the fiscal years 2026 through
2028.

Sec. 63. MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES ENROLLMENT
FRAUD WORKING GROUP.

The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must convene
a working group to develop policies and procedures to prevent fraudulent enrollment in
online courses for the purpose of gaining access to financial aid, campus information
technology systems, and student support services. The board must submit a report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
higher education by January 15, 2026. No additional compensation will be provided for
participation in this working group. The working group must include representatives from:

(1) the Minnesota State University Student Association;

(2) the Minnesota State College Student Association;

(3) the Minnesota State College Faculty;

(4) the Inter Faculty Organization;

(5) the Minnesota Association of Professional Employees;

(6) the Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty;
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Sec. 7. REPEALER.

(a) Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 124, article 1,
section 1, and Laws 2024, chapter 127, article 34, section 1, is repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 136A.091; 136A.1788; 136A.1789; 136A.1791,
subdivisions 1, 2, 3a,4, 5,6, 7, 8, 9, and 10; and 136A.91, are repealed.

(c) Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 136A.1251, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (b) are effective July 1, 2025. Money for
programs under Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 136A.1789 and 136A.1791, may remain
in their respective special revenue fund accounts to facilitate a close out of the programs.
Paragraph (c) is effective July 1, 2027.

Sec. 48. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 5.41, subdivision 2; 136A.057; 136A.1251,
subdivision 5; 136A.246, subdivision 9; 136A.69, subdivisions 3 and 5; 136A.824,
subdivisions 3 and 5; 136A.861, subdivision 7; and 136A.901, subdivision 2, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Rules, part 4850.0014, subparts 1 and 2, are repealed.
Sec. 47. REVISOR INSTRUCTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Student parent support. The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1251, as Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.915. The revisor must
also make cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering.

Subd. 2. Inclusive higher education. The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota
Statutes, section 135A.161, as Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.921. The revisor of statutes
must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.162, as Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.922. The revisor must also make cross-reference changes consistent with the

renumbering.

Subd. 3. Hunger-Free Campus designation. The revisor of statutes must renumber
Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.137, as Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.912. The revisor
must also make cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering.
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(7) others as deemed necessary by the working group.

Sec. 66. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 135A.137; 136A.69, subdivisions 3 and 5; and
136A.824, subdivisions 3 and 5, are repealed.

(b) Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 2, section 31, subdivision 5, is repealed.

(c) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 5.41, subdivision 2; 136A.057; 136A.1251,
subdivision 5; 136A.1788, subdivision 5; 136A.1791, subdivision 9; 136A.861, subdivision
7; and 136A.91, subdivision 3, are repealed.

(d) Minnesota Rules, part 4850.0014, subparts 1 and 2, are repealed.

Sec. 65. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

Subdivision 1. Student parent support. The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota
Statutes, section 136A.1251, as Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.915. The revisor must
also make cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering.

Subd. 2. Inclusive higher education. The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota
Statutes, section 135A.161, as Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.921. The revisor of statutes
must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.162, as Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.922. The revisor must also make cross-reference changes consistent with the

renumbering.

Sec. 64. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall codify Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 2, section 31, as
amended by this act, as a new section in Minnesota Statutes numbered section 136A.1278.
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