## TAX COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Tax Committee meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on Wednesday, February 16, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

MARQUART, Paul CHAIR LISLEGARD, Dave VC DAVIDS, Greg Lead AGBAJE, Esther CARLSON, Andrew DETTMER, Bob GAROFALO, Pat GOMEZ, Aisha HER, Kaohly HERTAUS, Jerry HOWARD, Michael

MCDONALD, Joe MILLER, Tim MORAN, Rena ROBBINS, Kristin SANDELL, Steve SCHULTZ, Jennifer STEPHENSON, Zack SWEDZINSKI, Chris

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members excused:

MORTENSON, Erik

A quorum was present.

Representative Lislegard moved the approval of the February 9, 2022 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Marquart noted that a referral memo to the Property Tax Division was posted on February 15, 2022.

HF3072 (Her) Maximum student loan tax credit increased, student loan income credit threshold increased, and student loan credit made refundable.

Representative Her moved that HF3072 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Her presented the bill.

Providing testimony:

Megan Finegan, Advocate
Helen White, Advocate
Eric Bernstein, We Make Minnesota
Laura Gannon, Advocate
Sarah Jasa, Student Loan Borrower
Allyson Green, Advocate
Ali Tomashek, North Hennepin Community College Student
HaoPay Lee, Violence Free Minnesota
James McGhee, Student Loan Borrower
Anthony Maki, Advocate
Avonna Starck, Advocate

Representative Her renewed her motion that HF 3072 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

HF2900 (Frazier) COVID-19; frontline worker payments authorized, data classified, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Her moved that HF2900 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Her moved the H2900A5 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Frazier presented the bill as amended.

Representative Her renewed her motion that HF2900, as amended, be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

MEMBERS	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	EXCUSED
MARQUART, Paul CHAIR	X			
LISLEGARD, Dave VC	X			
DAVIDS, Greg Lead		X		
AGBAJE, Esther	X			
CARLSON, Andrew	X			
DETTMER, Bob		X		
GAROFALO, Pat		X		
GOMEZ, Aisha	X			
HER, Kaohly	X			
HERTAUS, Jerry		X		
HOWARD, Michael	X			
MCDONALD, Joe		X		
MILLER, Tim				X
MORAN, Rena	X			
MORTENSON, Erik				X
ROBBINS, Kristin		X		

SANDELL, Steve	X		
SCHULTZ, Jennifer	X		
STEPHENSON, Zack	X		
SWEDZINSKI, Chris		X	
YOUAKIM, Cheryl	X		
TOTAL	12	7	2

On a vote of 12 AYES, 7 NAYS and 2 EXCUSED THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:13 P.M.

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair	
Urszula Gryska,	Committee Legislative Assistant