



May 3, 2021

Via Email to Omnibus Tax Conference Committee

Sen. Bakk – <u>sen.tom.bakk@senate.mn</u> Rep. Davids – <u>rep.greg.davids@house.mn</u> Rep. Her – <u>rep.kaohly.her@house.mn</u> Rep. Lislegard – <u>rep.david.lislegard@house.mn</u> Rep. Marquart – <u>rep.paul.marquart@house.mn</u> Sen. Miller – <u>sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn</u> Sen. Nelson – <u>sen.carla.nelson@senate.mn</u> Sen. Rest – <u>sen.ann.rest@senate.mn</u> Sen. Weber – <u>sen.bill.weber@senate.mn</u> Rep. Youakim – rep.cheryl.youakim@house.mn

Dear Conferees,

On behalf of the Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) and Minnesota School Business Officials (MASBO) we write to express our appreciation to both Chair Marquart and Chair Nelson for including the provision below in their respective Omnibus Tax bill.

Article 4, Section 2 (House) and Article 4 Section 3 (Senate) Exempts the fundraising sales made by school-associated student groups even when the money is recorded as part of school district revenues provided that the sales are funding extracurricular activities and the school district reserves the revenue raised for extracurricular activities and the money raised for a specific activity is spent on that activity.

This provision restores the sales tax exemption that was in place prior to a change in law made in the 2019 omnibus education bill. The unintended consequence to this change in law made the sales tax exemption no longer available for fundraising sales made by schools and school-run groups for extracurricular activities. As a result, all schools and school organizations must collect sales tax and all applicable local taxes for all fundraising activities on taxable sales unless another exemption applies.

We respectfully ask you to correct this error and restore the sales tax exemption fundraising sales by the school districts.

Sincerely,

enise Dittrick

Denise Dittrich Minnesota School Boards Association

cc: Legislative Assistants: jennifer.goblirsch@house.mn urszula.gryska@house.mn katie.hirsch@house.mn madeline.hoy@senate.mn tyler.kline@senate.mn eric.petersen@house.mn lamont.pyykkonen@senate.mn robin.schmidt@house.mn kalyn.schroeder@senate.mn larissa.shea@senate.mn

Hui Cink

Julie Cink Minnesota Association of School Business Officials