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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2900 as follows:
Page 2, delete article 1

Page 31, delete article 2

Page 55, delete article 3

Page 82, delete article 4

Page 107, after line 2, insert:

"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."

Page 107, after line 25, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.44, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Special needs. (a) In addition to the state standards of assistance established
in subdivisions 1 to 4, payments are allowed for the following special needs of recipients
of Minnesota supplemental aid who are not residents of a nursing home, a regional treatment

center, or a setting authorized to receive housing support payments under chapter 2561.

(b) The county agency shall pay a monthly allowance for medically prescribed diets if
the cost of those additional dietary needs cannot be met through some other maintenance
benefit. The need for special diets or dietary items must be prescribed by a licensed physician,
advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant. Costs for special diets shall be
determined as percentages of the allotment for a one-person household under the thrifty
food plan as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture. The types of diets and

the percentages of the thrifty food plan that are covered are as follows:

(1) high protein diet, at least 80 grams daily, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
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(2) controlled protein diet, 40 to 60 grams and requires special products, 100 percent of

thrifty food plan;

(3) controlled protein diet, less than 40 grams and requires special products, 125 percent

of thrifty food plan;
(4) low cholesterol diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
(5) high residue diet, 20 percent of thrifty food plan;
(6) pregnancy and lactation diet, 35 percent of thrifty food plan;
(7) gluten-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
(8) lactose-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
(9) antidumping diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan;
(10) hypoglycemic diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; or
(11) ketogenic diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan.

(c) Payment for nonrecurring special needs must be allowed for necessary home repairs
or necessary repairs or replacement of household furniture and appliances using the payment
standard of the AFDC program in effect on July 16, 1996, for these expenses, as long as

other funding sources are not available.

(d) A fee for guardian or conservator service is allowed at a reasonable rate negotiated
by the county or approved by the court. This rate shall not exceed five percent of the
assistance unit's gross monthly income up to a maximum of $100 per month. If the guardian

or conservator is a member of the county agency staff, no fee is allowed.

(e) The county agency shall continue to pay a monthly allowance of $68 for restaurant
meals for a person who was receiving a restaurant meal allowance on June 1, 1990, and
who eats two or more meals in a restaurant daily. The allowance must continue until the
person has not received Minnesota supplemental aid for one full calendar month or until
the person's living arrangement changes and the person no longer meets the criteria for the

restaurant meal allowance, whichever occurs first.

(f) A fee eftenpercent-oftherecipient's-gross-income-or-$25,whicheveristess; equal

to the maximum monthly amount allowed by the Social Security Administration is allowed

for representative payee services provided by an agency that meets the requirements under
SSI regulations to charge a fee for representative payee services. This special need is available

to all recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid regardless of their living arrangement.
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(g)(1) Notwithstanding the language in this subdivision, an amount equal to one-half of
the maximum federal Supplemental Security Income payment amount for a single individual
which is in effect on the first day of July of each year will be added to the standards of
assistance established in subdivisions 1 to 4 for adults under the age of 65 who qualify as

in need of housing assistance and are:

(1) relocating from an institution, a setting authorized to receive housing support under
chapter 2561, or an adult mental health residential treatment program under section

256B.0622;
(11) eligible for personal care assistance under section 256B.0659; or

(ii1) home and community-based waiver recipients living in their own home or rented

or leased apartment.

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an individual eligible for the shelter
needy benefit under this paragraph is considered a household of one. An eligible individual
who receives this benefit prior to age 65 may continue to receive the benefit after the age

of 65.

(3) "Housing assistance" means that the assistance unit incurs monthly shelter costs that
exceed 40 percent of the assistance unit's gross income before the application of this special
needs standard. "Gross income" for the purposes of this section is the applicant's or recipient's
income as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 10, or the standard specified in subdivision
3, paragraph (a) or (b), whichever is greater. A recipient of a federal or state housing subsidy,
that limits shelter costs to a percentage of gross income, shall not be considered in need of

housing assistance for purposes of this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024."

Page 108, line 6, delete "medical assistance"

Page 108, line 14, delete "medical"
Page 108, line 15, delete "assistance" and delete everything after "in"

Page 108, line 16, delete everything before "does not" and insert "section 256B.35"

Page 108, line 19, after "SSI" insert "and the general assistance personal needs allowance"

Page 108, line 23, delete "medical assistance"

Page 108, line 24, delete everything after "in"

Page 108, line 25, delete everything before "does not" and insert "section 256B.35"

Sec. . 3
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4.1 Page 108, after line 25, insert:

4.2 "(e) For a recipient who lives in a setting as described in section 2561.04, subdivision
4.3 2a, paragraph (b), clause (2), and receives general assistance, the personal needs allowance
4.4 described in section 256B.35 is not countable unearned income."

4.5 Page 108, line 26, delete "January 1, 2025" and insert "October 1, 2024"

4.6 Page 110, after line 27, insert:

4.7 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."

4.8 Page 113, after line 18, insert:

4.9 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."

4.10 Page 113, after line 32, insert:

4.11 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."

4.12 Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"

4.13 Page 114, delete section 1

4.14 Page 115, delete section 3

4.15 Page 116, delete sections 4 and 5

4.16 Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma

4.17 Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma

4.18 Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma

4.19 Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"

4.20 Page 123, delete section 5

4.21 Page 123, after line 25, insert:

422 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1la, is amended to read:

4.23 Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective Janunary1,2000;

424  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:

4.25 (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals

426  while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;
4.27 (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;

4.28 (3) is not a jail or prison;
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(4) is not concurrently receiving funds under chapter 2561 for the recipient;
(5) admits individuals who are 18 years of age or older;

(6) is registered as a board and lodging or lodging establishment according to section

157.17;
(7) has awake staff on site 24 hours per day;

(8) has staff who are at least 18 years of age and meet the requirements of section

245G.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);
(9) has emergency behavioral procedures that meet the requirements of section 245G.16;

(10) meets the requirements of section 245@G.08, subdivision 5, if administering

medications to clients;

(11) meets the abuse prevention requirements of section 245A.65, including a policy on

fraternization and the mandatory reporting requirements of section 626.557;

(12) documents coordination with the treatment provider to ensure compliance with

section 254B.03, subdivision 2;

(13) protects client funds and ensures freedom from exploitation by meeting the

provisions of section 245A.04, subdivision 13;

(14) has a grievance procedure that meets the requirements of section 245G.15,

subdivision 2; and

(15) has sleeping and bathroom facilities for men and women separated by a door that

is locked, has an alarm, or is supervised by awake staff.

(b) Programs licensed according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, are exempt from

paragraph (a), clauses (5) to (15).

(c) Programs providing children's mental health crisis admissions and stabilization under

section 245.4882, subdivision 6, are eligible vendors of room and board.

(d) Programs providing children's residential services under section 245.4882, except

services for individuals who have a placement under chapter 260C or 260D, are eligible

vendors of room and board.

&) (e) Licensed programs providing intensive residential treatment services or residential
crisis stabilization services pursuant to section 256B.0622 or 256B.0624 are eligible vendors

of room and board and are exempt from paragraph (a), clauses (6) to (15).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.
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Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.478, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Eligibility. An individual is eligible for the transition to community initiative
if the individual does not meet eligibility criteria for the medical assistance program under

section 256B.056 or 256B.057, but who meets at least one of the following criteria:

(1) the person otherwise meets the criteria under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or

256B.49, subdivision 24;

(2) the person has met treatment objectives and no longer requires a hospital-level care
or a secure treatment setting, but the person's discharge from the Anoka Metro Regional

Treatment Center, the Minnesota Seeurity Hespital Forensic Mental Health Program, the

Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Hospital program, a psychiatric residential treatment

facility under section 256B.0941, intensive residential treatment services under section

256B.0622, children's residential services under section 245.4882, or a eemmuntty-behavioral

kealth hospital would be substantially delayed without additional resources available through

the transitions to community initiative; or

4 (3) the person (1) is receiving customized living services reimbursed under section
256B.4914, 24-hour customized living services reimbursed under section 256B.4914, or
community residential services reimbursed under section 256B.4914; (i1) the-persen expresses

a desire to move; and (iii) the-persen has received approval from the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023."

Page 124, delete section 6

Page 125, delete sections 7 and 8
Page 127, delete section 9

Page 130, delete section 10

Page 131, line 13, after "(a)" insert "The commissioner shall establish start-up and

capacity-building grants for psychiatric residential treatment facility sites."

Page 131, line 18, after "resources" insert a comma

Page 132, line 2, after "commissioner" insert "of human services"

Page 132, line 4, delete "will" and insert "must"
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Page 132, line 5, before "crisis" insert "a" and after "crisis" insert a comma

Page 132, line 7, delete "crisis" and insert "crises"

Page 132, line 15, delete "the"
Page 132, line 16, delete "evaluation"

Page 132, after line 21, insert:

"Sec. .... RATE INCREASE FOR MENTAL HEALTH ADULT DAY TREATMENT.

The commissioner of human services must increase the reimbursement rate for adult

day treatment under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0671, subdivision 3, by 50 percent

over the reimbursement rate in effect as of June 30, 2023.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval,

whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes

when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. .... ROOM AND BOARD COSTS IN CHILDREN'S RESIDENTIAL

FACILITIES.

The commissioner of human services must update the behavioral health fund room and

board rate schedule to include services provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4882,

for individuals who do not have a placement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260C or

260D. The commissioner must establish room and board rates commensurate with current

room and board rates for adolescent programs licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section

245G.18.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023."

Page 143, line 1, delete "July 1, 2023" and insert "the day following final enactment"

Page 143, after line 6, insert:

"(1) a child under 19 years of age who is determined eligible for medical assistance must

remain eligible for a period of 12 months;"

Renumber the clauses in sequence

Page 143, line 7, and after "child" insert "19 years of age or older and"

Page 143, line 23, after "approval” insert "and the implementation of required

administrative and systems changes"
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Page 143, line 25, after "obtained" insert "and the administrative and systems changes

are implemented"

Page 145, line 2, after the semicolon, insert "and"
Page 145, line 3, strike "; and" and insert a period
Page 145, delete line 4

Page 150, after line 11, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 22, is amended to read:

Subd. 22. Hospice care. Medical assistance covers hospice care services under Public
Law 99-272, section 9505, to the extent authorized by rule, except that a recipient age 21
or under who elects to receive hospice services does not waive coverage for services that
are related to the treatment of the condition for which a diagnosis of terminal illness has

been made. Hospice respite and end-of-life care under subdivision 22a are not hospice

services under this subdivision.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 22a. Residential hospice facility; hospice respite and end-of-life care for

children. (a) Medical assistance covers hospice respite and end-of-life care if the care is

for recipients age 21 or under who elect to receive hospice care delivered in a facility that

is licensed under sections 144A.75 to 144A.755 and that is a residential hospice facility

under section 144A.75, subdivision 13, paragraph (a). Hospice care services under

subdivision 22 are not hospice respite or end-of-life care under this subdivision.

(b) The payment rates for coverage under this subdivision must be 100 percent of the

Medicare rate for continuous home care hospice services as published in the Centers for

Medicare and Medicaid Services annual final rule updating payments and policies for hospice

care. The commissioner shall seek federal financial participation for payment for hospice

respite and end-of-life care under this subdivision. If federal financial participation is not

available, payment must be made from state-only funds. Payment for hospice respite and

end-of-life care must be paid to the residential hospice facility and is not included in any

limits or cap amounts applicable to hospice services payments to the elected hospice services

provider.
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(c) Certification of the residential hospice facility by the federal Medicare program must

not be a requirement of medical assistance payment for hospice respite and end-of-life care

under this subdivision."

Page 158, after line 4, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0631, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Collection. (a) The medical assistance reimbursement to the provider shall be
reduced by the amount of the co-payment or deductible, except that reimbursements shall

not be reduced:

(1) once a recipient has reached the $12 per month maximum for prescription drug

co-payments; or
(2) for a recipient who has met their monthly five percent cost-sharing limit.

(b) The provider collects the co-payment or deductible from the recipient. Providers

may not deny services to recipients who are unable to pay the co-payment or deductible.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024."

Page 167, delete lines 21 to 23

Page 170, line 5, delete "Medical" and insert "Medicare"

Page 172, line 19, delete everything after "2024" and insert a period
Page 172, delete lines 20 and 21

Page 172, before line 22, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.764, 1s amended to read:

256B.764 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.

(a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment rates for family
planning services shall be increased by 25 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2007,
when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268,

subdivision 1.
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(b) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2013, payment rates for family
planning services shall be increased by 20 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2013,
when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268,
subdivision 1. The commissioner shall adjust capitation rates to managed care and
county-based purchasing plans to reflect this increase, and shall require plans to pass on the
full amount of the rate increase to eligible community clinics, in the form of higher payment

rates for family planning services.

(c) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for family

planning and abortion services shall be increased by ten percent. This increase does not

apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, or Indian health services.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.766, is amended to read:

256B.766 REIMBURSEMENT FOR BASIC CARE SERVICES.

(a) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2009, total payments for basic care
services, shall be reduced by three percent, except that for the period July 1, 2009, through
June 30, 2011, total payments shall be reduced by 4.5 percent for the medical assistance
and general assistance medical care programs, prior to third-party liability and spenddown
calculation. Effective July 1, 2010, the commissioner shall classify physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services as basic
care services. The reduction in this paragraph shall apply to physical therapy services,
occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services provided

on or after July 1, 2010.

(b) Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall be
reduced for services provided on or after October 1, 2009, to reflect the reduction effective
July 1, 2009, and payments made to the plans shall be reduced effective October 1, 2010,

to reflect the reduction effective July 1, 2010.

(c) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be reduced by five percent from the

rates in effect on August 31, 2011.

(d) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013,
total payments for ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, medical supplies and durable
medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, prosthetics and orthotics,
renal dialysis services, laboratory services, public health nursing services, physical therapy

services, occupational therapy services, speech therapy services, eyeglasses not subject to

Sec. . 10
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a volume purchase contract, hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract, and
anesthesia services shall be reduced by three percent from the rates in effect on August 31,

2011.

(e) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2014, payments for
ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, hospice services, renal dialysis services, laboratory
services, public health nursing services, eyeglasses not subject to a volume purchase contract,
and hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract shall be increased by three percent
and payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be increased by three percent.
Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be

adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.

(f) Payments for medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume
purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics, provided on or after July 1, 2014, through
June 30, 2015, shall be decreased by .33 percent. Payments for medical supplies and durable
medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics,
provided on or after July 1, 2015, shall be increased by three percent from the rates as

determined under paragraphs (1) and (j).

(g) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, payments for outpatient
hospital facility fees, medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a
volume purchase contract, prosthetics, and orthotics to a hospital meeting the criteria specified
in section 62Q.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (4), shall be increased by 90 percent
from the rates in effect on June 30, 2015. Payments made to managed care plans and

county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.

(h) This section does not apply to physician and professional services, inpatient hospital
services, family planning services, mental health services, dental services, prescription
drugs, medical transportation, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, Indian

health services, and Medicare cost-sharing.

(1) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, the following categories of
medical supplies and durable medical equipment shall be individually priced items: enteral
nutrition and supplies, customized and other specialized tracheostomy tubes and supplies,
electric patient lifts, and durable medical equipment repair and service. This paragraph does
not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject to a volume purchase
contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply program, and items provided

to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer for the item. The

Sec. . 11
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commissioner shall not apply any medical assistance rate reductions to durable medical

equipment as a result of Medicare competitive bidding.

(j) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, medical assistance payment
rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies shall be increased

as follows:

(1) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies that
were subject to the Medicare competitive bid that took effect in January of 2009 shall be

increased by 9.5 percent; and

(2) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies on
the medical assistance fee schedule, whether or not subject to the Medicare competitive bid
that took effect in January of 2009, shall be increased by 2.94 percent, with this increase

being applied after calculation of any increased payment rate under clause (1).

This paragraph does not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject
to a volume purchase contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply
program, items provided to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer
for the item, and individually priced items identified in paragraph (i). Payments made to
managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect the

rate increases in this paragraph.

(k) Effective for nonpressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016,
the rate shall be the lower of the submitted charge or the Medicare fee schedule rate. Effective
for pressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016, the rate shall be the
lower of the submitted charge or 47 percent above the Medicare fee schedule rate. For
payments made in accordance with this paragraph, if, and to the extent that, the commissioner
identifies that the state has received federal financial participation for ventilators in excess
of the amount allowed effective January 1, 2018, under United States Code, title 42, section
1396b(i)(27), the state shall repay the excess amount to the Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services with state funds and maintain the full payment rate under this paragraph.

(1) Payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics or supplies, that
are subject to the upper payment limit in accordance with section 1903(i)(27) of the Social
Security Act, shall be paid the Medicare rate. Rate increases provided in this chapter shall

not be applied to the items listed in this paragraph.

(m) Beginning July 1, 2023, enteral nutrition and supplies must be paid according to the

applicable method in clauses (1) to (3). For methods based upon the 50th percentile, the

commissioner must determine the 50th percentile based on data that exists for that product
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or supply on the effective date of that rate. The commissioner must make the 50th percentile

determination based on at least 100 paid claim lines by at least ten different providers for

a given product or supply. If the commissioner does not have at least 100 paid claim lines

from ten different providers for a given product or supply, the commissioner must make

the 50th percentile determination based on at least 20 claim lines by at least five different

providers for a product or supply. If the commissioner does not have at least 20 claim lines

by five different providers for a product or supply, payment for enteral nutrition and supplies

must be made according to clause (3).

(1) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, through December 31, 2023, payment

must be based on the 50th percentile of the usual and customary charges per product code

submitted to the commissioner for the previous fiscal year, using only charges submitted

per unit. Rate increases must not exceed 50 percent of the previous rate per code and product

combination.

(2) For dates of service on or after January 1, 2024, payment must be based on the 50th

percentile of the usual and customary charges per product code submitted to the commissioner

for the previous calendar year, using only charges submitted per unit. The commissioner

must update the payment rates effective for each calendar year annually using the previous

calendar year's data, not to exceed an increase of 50 percent of the previous year's rate per

code and product combination.

(3) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, if data are not available to calculate the

50th percentile for enteral products or supplies under clause (1) or (2), the payment must

be based on the manufacturer's suggested retail price of that product or supply minus 20

percent. If the manufacturer's suggested retail price is not available, payment must be based

on the actual acquisition cost of that product or supply plus 20 percent."

Page 174, line 13, strike "256B.057, subdivision 9,"
Page 174, lines 15 to 18, reinstate the stricken language and delete the new language

Page 175, line 10, after "assistance" insert "and MinnesotaCare"

Page 175, line 17, after "recipient" insert ", and provide MinnesotaCare benefits, pending

the outcome of a fair hearing decision, to any MinnesotaCare recipient,"

Page 175, lines 20, 25, and 28, after "assistance" insert "or MinnesotaCare"

Page 176, after line 2, insert:
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"(g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.15, subdivision 2, the

commissioner shall make MinnesotaCare available with no premium payments required,

for coverage beginning June 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024.

(h) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, or any other

provision to the contrary, the commissioner shall not collect any unpaid premium for a

coverage month that occurred during the COVID-19 public health emergency declared by

the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services through the month after the

enrollee's first renewal is conducted, following the resumption of medical assistance renewals

after March 31, 2023.

(1) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner shall, as required

by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, suspend certain procedural terminations

for medical assistance enrollees."

Page 180, line 10, delete "who" and insert "that"

Page 182, after line 11, insert:

"Sec. .... [144.1913] CLINICAL DENTAL EDUCATION INNOVATION GRANTS.

(a) The commissioner shall award clinical dental education innovation grants to teaching

institutions and clinical training sites for projects that increase dental access for underserved

populations and promote innovative clinical training of dental professionals. In awarding

the grants, the commissioner shall consider the following:

(1) potential to successfully increase access to dental services for an underserved

population;

(2) the long-term viability of the project to improve access to dental services beyond

the period of initial funding;

(3) evidence of collaboration between the applicant and local communities;

(4) efficiency in the use of grant funding; and

(5) the priority level of the project in relation to state education, access, and workforce

goals.

(b) The commissioner shall periodically evaluate the priorities in awarding innovations

grants under this section to ensure that the priorities meet the changing workforce needs of

the state."

Page 186, delete lines 12 to 16
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Page 189, line 16, delete "with" and insert "who: (1) have"

Page 189, line 17, delete ", including those"

Page 189, line 18, delete "with" and insert "; (2) have"

Page 189, line 18, delete the second comma and insert "; or (3) are undocumented

noncitizens 19 years of age or older,"

Page 189, line 19, after "requirements" insert a comma

Page 195, after line 2, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.46, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Licensing data. (a) As used in this subdivision:

(1) "licensing data" are all data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the
welfare system pertaining to persons licensed or registered or who apply for licensure or
registration or who formerly were licensed or registered under the authority of the

commissioner of human services;

(2) "client" means a person who is receiving services from a licensee or from an applicant

for licensure; and

(3) "personal and personal financial data" are Social Security numbers, identity of and
letters of reference, insurance information, reports from the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension, health examination reports, and social/home studies.

(b)(1)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the following data on applicants, license
holders, and former licensees are public: name, address, telephone number of licensees,
date of receipt of a completed application, dates of licensure, licensed capacity, type of
client preferred, variances granted, record of training and education in child care and child
development, type of dwelling, name and relationship of other family members, previous
license history, class of license, the existence and status of complaints, and the number of
serious injuries to or deaths of individuals in the licensed program as reported to the
commissioner of human services, the local social services agency, or any other county
welfare agency. For purposes of this clause, a serious injury is one that is treated by a

physician.

(i1) Except as provided in item (v), when a correction order, an order to forfeit a fine,
an order of license suspension, an order of temporary immediate suspension, an order of
license revocation, an order of license denial, or an order of conditional license has been

issued, or a complaint is resolved, the following data on current and former licensees and

Sec. . 15



16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

applicants are public: the general nature of the complaint or allegations leading to the

temporary immediate suspension; the substance and investigative findings of the licensing
or maltreatment complaint, licensing violation, or substantiated maltreatment; the existence
of settlement negotiations; the record of informal resolution of a licensing violation; orders
of hearing; findings of fact; conclusions of law; specifications of the final correction order,
fine, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, revocation, denial, or conditional license
contained in the record of licensing action; whether a fine has been paid; and the status of

any appeal of these actions.

(ii1)) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07
1s based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is
responsible for maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, the identity of the
applicant, license holder, or controlling individual as the individual responsible for

maltreatment is public data at the time of the issuance of the license denial or sanction.

(iv) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07
is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is
disqualified under chapter 245C, the identity of the license holder, applicant, or controlling
individual as the disqualified individual and-thereasen-forthe-disqualifieation-are is public
data at the time of the issuance of the licensing sanction or denial. If the applicant, license
holder, or controlling individual requests reconsideration of the disqualification and the
disqualification is affirmed, the reason for the disqualification and the reason to not set aside

the disqualification are publie private data.

(v) A correction order or fine issued to a child care provider for a licensing violation is
private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under

section 13.02, subdivision 9, if the correction order or fine is seven years old or older.

(2) For applicants who withdraw their application prior to licensure or denial of a license,
the following data are public: the name of the applicant, the city and county in which the
applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial
application and completed application, the type of license sought, and the date of withdrawal

of the application.

(3) For applicants who are denied a license, the following data are public: the name and
address of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure,
the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application,
the type of license sought, the date of denial of the application, the nature of the basis for

the denial, the existence of settlement negotiations, the record of informal resolution of a

Sec. . 16



17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

17.32

17.33

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

denial, orders of hearings, findings of fact, conclusions of law, specifications of the final

order of denial, and the status of any appeal of the denial.

(4) When maltreatment is substantiated under section 626.557 or chapter 260E and the
victim and the substantiated perpetrator are affiliated with a program licensed under chapter
245A, the commissioner of human services, local social services agency, or county welfare
agency may inform the license holder where the maltreatment occurred of the identity of

the substantiated perpetrator and the victim.

(5) Notwithstanding clause (1), for child foster care, only the name of the license holder
and the status of the license are public if the county attorney has requested that data otherwise
classified as public data under clause (1) be considered private data based on the best interests

of a child in placement in a licensed program.

(c) The following are private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12,
or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9: personal and personal financial data
on family day care program and family foster care program applicants and licensees and

their family members who provide services under the license.

(d) The following are private data on individuals: the identity of persons who have made
reports concerning licensees or applicants that appear in inactive investigative data, and the
records of clients or employees of the licensee or applicant for licensure whose records are
received by the licensing agency for purposes of review or in anticipation of a contested
matter. The names of reporters of complaints or alleged violations of licensing standards
under chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, and 245D, and applicable rules and alleged maltreatment
under section 626.557 and chapter 260E, are confidential data and may be disclosed only
as provided in section 260E.21, subdivision 4; 260E.35; or 626.557, subdivision 12b.

(e) Data classified as private, confidential, nonpublic, or protected nonpublic under this
subdivision become public data if submitted to a court or administrative law judge as part
of a disciplinary proceeding in which there is a public hearing concerning a license which

has been suspended, immediately suspended, revoked, or denied.

(f) Data generated in the course of licensing investigations that relate to an alleged

violation of law are investigative data under subdivision 3.

(g) Data that are not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this
subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report as defined in section 260E.03, or
626.5572, subdivision 18, are subject to the destruction provisions of sections 260E.35,

subdivision 6, and 626.557, subdivision 12b.
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(h) Upon request, not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under
this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report of substantiated maltreatment as
defined in section 626.557 or chapter 260E may be exchanged with the Department of
Health for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 144.057 and with
the Department of Corrections for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to

section 241.021.

(1) Data on individuals collected according to licensing activities under chapters 245A
and 245C, data on individuals collected by the commissioner of human services according
to investigations under section 626.557 and chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, 245D, and 260E
may be shared with the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Health, the
Department of Corrections, the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities,
and the individual's professional regulatory board when there is reason to believe that laws
or standards under the jurisdiction of those agencies may have been violated or the
information may otherwise be relevant to the board's regulatory jurisdiction. Background
study data on an individual who is the subject of a background study under chapter 245C
for a licensed service for which the commissioner of human services is the license holder
may be shared with the commissioner and the commissioner's delegate by the licensing
division. Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, the identity of a reporter of alleged

maltreatment or licensing violations may not be disclosed.

() In addition to the notice of determinations required under sections 260E.24,
subdivisions 5 and 7, and 260E.30, subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), (¢), (d), (e), and (f), if the
commissioner or the local social services agency has determined that an individual is a
substantiated perpetrator of maltreatment of a child based on sexual abuse, as defined in
section 260E.03, and the commissioner or local social services agency knows that the
individual is a person responsible for a child's care in another facility, the commissioner or
local social services agency shall notify the head of that facility of this determination. The
notification must include an explanation of the individual's available appeal rights and the
status of any appeal. If a notice is given under this paragraph, the government entity making
the notification shall provide a copy of the notice to the individual who is the subject of the

notice.

(k) All not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision
and subdivision 3 may be exchanged between the Department of Human Services, Licensing
Division, and the Department of Corrections for purposes of regulating services for which
the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections have regulatory

authority.
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Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 7a. Conservator. "Conservator" has the meaning given under section 524.1-201,

clause (10), and includes proposed and current conservators.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 11f. Guardian. "Guardian" has the meaning given under section 524.1-201, clause

(27), and includes proposed and current guardians.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, subdivision 13e, is amended to read:

Subd. 13e. NETStudy 2.0. "NETStudy 2.0" means the commissioner's system that
replaces both NETStudy and the department's internal background study processing system.
NETStudy 2.0 is designed to enhance protection of children and vulnerable adults by
improving the accuracy of background studies through fingerprint-based criminal record
checks and expanding the background studies to include a review of information from the
Minnesota Court Information System and the national crime information database. NETStudy

2.0 is also designed to increase efficiencies in and the speed of the hiring process by:

(1) providing access to and updates from public web-based data related to employment
eligibility;

(2) decreasing the need for repeat studies through electronic updates of background

study subjects' criminal records;

(3) supporting identity verification using subjects' Social Security numbers and

photographs;
(4) using electronic employer notifications; and

(5) issuing immediate verification of subjects' eligibility to provide services as more

studies are completed under the NETStudy 2.0 system:; and

(6) providing electronic access to certain notices for entities and background study

subjects.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Licensed programs. (a) The commissioner shall conduct a background

study on:
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(1) the person or persons applying for a license;

(2) an individual age 13 and over living in the household where the licensed program

will be provided who is not receiving licensed services from the program;

(3) current or prospective employees or contractors of the applicant who will have direct

contact with persons served by the facility, agency, or program;

(4) volunteers or student volunteers who will have direct contact with persons served
by the program to provide program services if the contact is not under the continuous, direct

supervision by an individual listed in clause (1) or (3);

(5) an individual age ten to 12 living in the household where the licensed services will
be provided when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section 245C.02,

subdivision 15;

(6) an individual who, without providing direct contact services at a licensed program,
may have unsupervised access to children or vulnerable adults receiving services from a
program, when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section 245C.02,

subdivision 15;
(7) all controlling individuals as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a;

(8) notwithstanding the other requirements in this subdivision, child care background

study subjects as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 6a; and

(9) notwithstanding clause (3), for children's residential facilities and foster residence
settings, any adult working in the facility, whether or not the individual will have direct

contact with persons served by the facility.

(b) For child foster care when the license holder resides in the home where foster care
services are provided, a short-term substitute caregiver providing direct contact services for
a child for less than 72 hours of continuous care is not required to receive a background

study under this chapter.

(c) This subdivision applies to the following programs that must be licensed under

chapter 245A:
(1) adult foster care;
(2) child foster care;
(3) children's residential facilities;

(4) family child care;
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(5) licensed child care centers;

(6) licensed home and community-based services under chapter 245D;
(7) residential mental health programs for adults;

(8) substance use disorder treatment programs under chapter 245G;
(9) withdrawal management programs under chapter 245F;

(10) adult day care centers;

(11) family adult day services;

(12) independent living assistance for youth;

(13) detoxification programs;

(14) community residential settings; and

(15) intensive residential treatment services and residential crisis stabilization under

chapter 2451-; and

(16) treatment programs for persons with sexual psychopathic personality or sexually

dangerous persons, licensed under chapter 245A and according to Minnesota Rules, parts

9515.3000 to 9515.3110.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Procedure. (a) Individuals and organizations that are required under this
section to have or initiate background studies shall comply with the requirements of this

chapter.

(b) All studies conducted under this section shall be conducted according to sections
299C.60 to 299C.64. This requirement does not apply to subdivisions 1, paragraph (c),
clauses (2) to (5), and 6a.

(c) All data obtained by the commissioner for a background study completed under this

section shall be classified as private data.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Alternative background studies. (a) The commissioner shall conduct

an alternative background study of individuals listed in this section.
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(b) Notwithstanding other sections of this chapter, all alternative background studies
except subdivision 12 shall be conducted according to this section and with sections 299C.60

to 299C.64.
(c) All terms in this section shall have the definitions provided in section 245C.02.

(d) The entity that submits an alternative background study request under this section

shall submit the request to the commissioner according to section 245C.05.
(e) The commissioner shall comply with the destruction requirements in section 245C.051.

(f) Background studies conducted under this section are subject to the provisions of

section 245C.32.

(g) The commissioner shall forward all information that the commissioner receives under
section 245C.08 to the entity that submitted the alternative background study request under
subdivision 2. The commissioner shall not make any eligibility determinations regarding

background studies conducted under this section.

(h) All data obtained by the commissioner for a background study completed under this

section shall be classified as private data.

Sec. .... [245C.033] GUARDIANS AND CONSERVATORS; MALTREATMENT
AND STATE LICENSING AGENCY CHECKS.

Subdivision 1. Maltreatment data. Requests for maltreatment data and records checks

submitted pursuant to section 524.5-118 shall include information regarding whether the

guardian or conservator has been a perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable

adult under section 626.557 or a minor under chapter 260E. If the guardian or conservator

has been the perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or a minor, the

commissioner must include a copy of any available public portion of the investigation

memorandum under section 626.557, subdivision 12b, or any available public portion of

the investigation memorandum under section 260E.30.

Subd. 2. State licensing agency data. (a) Requests for state licensing agency data and

records checks submitted pursuant to section 524.5-118 shall include information from a

check of state licensing agency records.

(b) The commissioner shall provide the court with licensing agency data for licenses

directly related to the responsibilities of a guardian or conservator if the guardian or

conservator has a current or prior affiliation with the:

(1) Lawyers Responsibility Board;
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(2) State Board of Accountancy;

(3) Board of Social Work;

(4) Board of Psychology;

(5) Board of Nursing;

(6) Board of Medical Practice;

(7) Department of Education;

(8) Department of Commerce;

(9) Board of Chiropractic Examiners;

(10) Board of Dentistry;

(11) Board of Marriage and Family Therapy;

(12) Department of Human Services;

(13) Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board; and

(14) Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

HHS/MV

H2900A1

(c) The commissioner shall provide to the court the electronically available data

maintained in the agency's database, including whether the guardian or conservator is or

has been licensed by the agency and whether a disciplinary action or a sanction against the

individual's license, including a condition, suspension, revocation, or cancellation, is in the

licensing agency's database.

Subd. 3. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency data. Requests for

maltreatment and state licensing agency data checks shall be submitted by the guardian or

conservator to the commissioner on the form or in the manner prescribed by the

commissioner. Upon receipt of a signed informed consent, and payment under 245C.10,

the commissioner shall complete the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon

completion of the checks, the commissioner shall provide the requested information to the

courts on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Classification of maltreatment and state licensing agency data; access to

information. All data obtained by the commissioner for maltreatment and state licensing

agency checks completed under this section shall be classified as private data.
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Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Individual studied. (a) The individual who is the subject of the
background study must provide the applicant, license holder, or other entity under section

245C.04 with sufficient information to ensure an accurate study, including:

(1) the individual's first, middle, and last name and all other names by which the

individual has been known;
(2) current home address, city, and state of residence;
(3) current zip code;
(4) sex;
(5) date of birth;
(6) driver's license number or state identification number; and

(7) upon implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the home address, city, county, and state of

residence for the past five years.

(b) Every subject of a background study conducted or initiated by counties or private
agencies under this chapter must also provide the home address, city, county, and state of

residence for the past five years.

(c) Every subject of a background study related to private agency adoptions or related
to child foster care licensed through a private agency, who is 18 years of age or older, shall
also provide the commissioner a signed consent for the release of any information received
from national crime information databases to the private agency that initiated the background

study.

(d) The subject of a background study shall provide fingerprints and a photograph as

required in subdivision 5.

(e) The subject of a background study shall submit a completed criminal and maltreatment

history records check consent form for applicable national and state level record checks.

(f) A background study subject who has access to the NETStudy 2.0 applicant portal

must provide updated contact information to the commissioner via NETStudy 2.0 any time

their personal information changes for as long as they remain affiliated on any roster.

(g) An entity must update contact information in NETStudy 2.0 for a background study

subject on the entity's roster any time the entity receives new contact information from the

study subject.
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Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

Subd. 2c. Privacy notice to background study subject. (a) Prior to initiating each
background study, the entity initiating the study must provide the commissioner's privacy
notice to the background study subject required under section 13.04, subdivision 2. The
notice must be available through the commissioner's electronic NETStudy and NET Study

2.0 systems and shall include the information in paragraphs (b) and (c¢).

(b) The background study subject shall be informed that any previous background studies
that received a set-aside will be reviewed, and without further contact with the background
study subject, the commissioner may notify the agency that initiated the subsequent

background study:

B that the individual has a disqualification that has been set aside for the program or

agency that initiated the studys;.

(¢) The background study subject must also be informed that:

(1) the subject's fingerprints collected for purposes of completing the background study
under this chapter must not be retained by the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension, or by the commissioner. The Federal Bureau of Investigation will

not retain background study subjects' fingerprints;

(2) effective upon implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the subject's photographic image
will be retained by the commissioner, and if the subject has provided the subject's Social
Security number for purposes of the background study, the photographic image will be
available to prospective employers and agencies initiating background studies under this

chapter to verify the identity of the subject of the background study;

(3) the authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall, for purposes of verifying
the identity of the background study subject, be able to view the identifying information
entered into NETStudy 2.0 by the entity that initiated the background study, but shall not
retain the subject's fingerprints, photograph, or information from NETStudy 2.0. The
authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall retain no more than the subject's
name and the date and time the subject's fingerprints were recorded and sent, only as

necessary for auditing and billing activities;

Sec. . 25
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(4) the commissioner shall provide the subject notice, as required in section 245C.17,

subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when an entity initiates a background study on the individual;

(5) the subject may request in writing a report listing the entities that initiated a

background study on the individual as provided in section 245C.17, subdivision 1, paragraph
(b);

(6) the subject may request in writing that information used to complete the individual's
background study in NETStudy 2.0 be destroyed if the requirements of section 245C.051,

paragraph (a), are met; and
(7) notwithstanding clause (6), the commissioner shall destroy:

(1) the subject's photograph after a period of two years when the requirements of section

245C.051, paragraph (c), are met; and

(i1) any data collected on a subject under this chapter after a period of two years following

the individual's death as provided in section 245C.051, paragraph (d).

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Electronic transmission. (a) For background studies conducted by the
Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall implement a secure system for the

electronic transmission of:
(1) background study information to the commissioner;
(2) background study results to the license holder;

(3) background study information obtained under this section and section 245C.08 to
counties and private agencies for background studies conducted by the commissioner for
child foster care, including a summary of nondisqualifying results, except as prohibited by

law; and

(4) background study results to county agencies for background studies conducted by
the commissioner for adult foster care and family adult day services and, upon
implementation of NETStudy 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care

authorized under chapter 119B.

(b) Unless the commissioner has granted a hardship variance under paragraph (c), a
license holder or an applicant must use the electronic transmission system known as
NETStudy or NETStudy 2.0 to submit all requests for background studies to the

commissioner as required by this chapter.

Sec. . 26
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(c) A license holder or applicant whose program is located in an area in which high-speed
Internet is inaccessible may request the commissioner to grant a variance to the electronic

transmission requirement.

(d) Section 245C.08, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies to results transmitted under

this subdivision.

(e) The background study subject shall access background study-related documents

electronically in the applicant portal. A background study subject may request the

commissioner to grant a variance to the requirement to access documents electronically in

the NETStudy 2.0 applicant portal, and maintains the ability to request paper documentation

of their background studies.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services. (a)
For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner

shall review:

(1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of
vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section

626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);

(2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed
programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social

service information system;

(3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed

in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when there is reasonable cause;

(4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information
regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender

under section 243.166;

(5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of
fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02,
subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history
record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section

144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2);

(6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure,

foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and
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physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a
background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child
care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the

commissioner shall also review:

(1) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the

background study subject has resided for the past five years;

(i1) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under
section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission

of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and

(ii1) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under
section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified
license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care
authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data
including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which
the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national

crime information database and the national sex offender registry; and

(7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child
care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under
chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name

and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website-; and

(8) for a background study required for treatment programs for sexual psychopathic

personality or sexually dangerous persons, the background study shall only include a review

of the information required under paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), and (4).

(b) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information
obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless the commissioner received notice
of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically

to the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according
to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates
to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated

with the agency that initiated the background study.

(d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a

background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide
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a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check
with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph
shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of

the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.

(e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under

NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints."

Page 198, after line 8, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Guardians and conservators. The commissioner shall recover the cost of

conducting backgreund-stadies maltreatment and state licensing agency checks for guardians

and conservators under section 524-5-H-8 245C.033 through a fee of no more than $H6

$50 per study. The fees collected under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner
for the purpose of conducting baekgreund-stadies maltreatment and state licensing agency
checks. The fee

eases;the-fee-mustbepatd-asfollows: must be paid directly to and in the manner prescribed

by the commissioner before any maltreatment and state licensing agency checks under

section 245C.033 may be conducted.

Page 199, after line 11, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Disqualification notice sent to subject. (a) If the information in the study
indicates the individual is disqualified from direct contact with, or from access to, persons

served by the program, the commissioner shall disclose to the individual studied:
(1) the information causing disqualification;

(2) instructions on how to request a reconsideration of the disqualification;

Sec. . 29
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(3) an explanation of any restrictions on the commissioner's discretion to set aside the

disqualification under section 245C.24, when applicable to the individual;

6) (4) a statement that when a subsequent background study is initiated on the individual
following a set-aside of the individual's disqualification, and the commissioner makes a
determination under section 245C.22, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), that the previous set-aside
applies to the subsequent background study, the applicant, license holder, or other entity
that initiated the background study will be informed in the notice under section 245C.22,

subdivision 5, paragraph (c):

(1) of the reason for the individual's disqualification; and

D (5) the commissioner's determination of the individual's immediate risk of harm

under section 245C.16.

(b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual poses an
imminent risk of harm to persons served by the program where the individual will have
direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the commissioner's notice must

include an explanation of the basis of this determination.

(c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied
does not pose a risk of harm that requires immediate removal, the individual shall be informed

of the conditions under which the agency that initiated the background study may allow the

Sec. . 30
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individual to have direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, as provided

under subdivision 3.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Disqualification notification. (a) The commissioner shall notify an applicant,

license holder, or other entity as provided in this chapter who is not the subject of the study:

(1) that the commissioner has found information that disqualifies the individual studied
from being in a position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people served by the

program; and

(2) the commissioner's determination of the individual's risk of harm under section

245C.16.

(b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied
poses an imminent risk of harm to persons served by the program where the individual
studied will have direct contact with, or access to, people served by the program, the
commissioner shall order the license holder to immediately remove the individual studied

from any position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people served by the program.

(c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied
poses a risk of harm that requires continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall

order the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter to:

(1) immediately remove the individual studied from any position allowing direct contact

with, or access to, people receiving services; or

(2) before allowing the disqualified individual to be in a position allowing direct contact
with, or access to, people receiving services, the applicant, license holder, or other entity,

as provided in this chapter, must:

1) (1) ensure that the individual studied is under continuous, direct supervision when
in a position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services during the
period in which the individual may request a reconsideration of the disqualification under

section 245C.21; and

@it (11) ensure that the disqualified individual requests reconsideration within 30 days

of receipt of the notice of disqualification.

Sec. . 31
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(d) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied
does not pose a risk of harm that requires continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner

shall order the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter to:

(1) immediately remove the individual studied from any position allowing direct contact

with, or access to, people receiving services; or

(2) before allowing the disqualified individual to be in any position allowing direct
contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the applicant, license holder, or other

entity as provided in this chapter must:

@) ensure that the disqualified individual requests reconsideration within 15 days of

receipt of the notice of disqualification.

(e) The commissioner shall not notify the applicant, license holder, or other entity as
provided in this chapter of the information contained in the subject's background study

unless:

(1) the basis for the disqualification is failure to cooperate with the background study
or-substantiated-maltreatment-under-seetion626-557-orchapter 260E;
(2) the Data Practices Act under chapter 13 provides for release of the information; or

(3) the individual studied authorizes the release of the information.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Classification of certain data. (a) Notwithstanding section 13.46, except as

provided in paragraph (f) (e), upon setting aside a disqualification under this section, the

identity of the disqualified individual who received the set-aside and the individual's

disqualifying characteristics are publie private data ifthe-set-aside-was:.

(b) Notwithstanding section 13.46, upon granting a variance to a license holder under

section 245C.30, the identity of the disqualified individual who is the subject of the variance,

Sec. . 32
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the individual's disqualifying characteristics under section 245C.15, and the terms of the

variance are pubh

(c) The identity of a disqualified individual and the reason for disqualification remain

private data when:

(1) a disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, except as provided under

section 13.46, subdivision 4;
(2) the data are not public under paragraph (a) or (b);

(3) the disqualification is rescinded because the information relied upon to disqualify

the individual is incorrect;

(4) the disqualification relates to a license to provide relative child foster care. As used
in this clause, "relative" has the meaning given it under section 260C.007, subdivision 26b

or 27;

(5) the disqualified individual is a household member of a licensed foster care provider

and:

(1) the disqualified individual previously received foster care services from this licensed

foster care provider;

(11) the disqualified individual was subsequently adopted by this licensed foster care

provider; and
(111) the disqualifying act occurred before the adoption; or

(6) a variance is granted to a child care center or family child care license holder for an
individual's disqualification that is based on a felony-level conviction for a drug-related

offense that occurred within the past five years.

e) (d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the identity of household members who

are the subject of a disqualification related set-aside or variance is not public data if:

Sec. . 33
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(1) the household member resides in the residence where the family child care is provided;
(2) the subject of the set-aside or variance is under the age of 18 years; and

(3) the set-aside or variance only relates to a disqualification under section 245C.15,

subdivision 4, for a misdemeanor-level theft crime as defined in section 609.52.

D (e) When the commissioner has reason to know that a disqualified individual has
received an order for expungement for the disqualifying record that does not limit the
commissioner's access to the record, and the record was opened or exchanged with the
commissioner for purposes of a background study under this chapter, the data that would

otherwise become public under paragraph (a) or (b) remain private data.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.23, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Disqualification that is rescinded or set aside. (a) If the commissioner
rescinds or sets aside a disqualification, the commissioner shall notify the applicant, license

holder, or other entity in writing or by electronic transmission of the decision.

(b) In the notice from the commissioner that a disqualification has been rescinded, the

commissioner must inform the applicant, license holder, or other entity that the information

relied upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect.
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35.1

35.2

353

35.4 Page 199, delete section 21

35.5 Page 200, delete section 22

35.6 Page 204, delete sections 23 and 24
35.7 Page 207, delete section 25

35.8 Page 211, delete section 26

35.9 Page 212, delete section 27

35.10 Page 213, delete section 28

35.11 Page 215, delete sections 29 and 30
35.12 Page 216, delete section 31

35.13 Page 217, delete section 32

35.14 Page 218, delete section 33

35.15 Page 224, delete section 34

35.16 Page 225, delete section 35

35.17 Page 228, delete sections 36 to 38
35.18 Page 229, delete section 39

35.19 Page 231, delete section 40

35.20 Page 234, delete section 41

35.21 Page 235, delete sections 42 to 44
35.22 Page 236, delete section 45

35.23 Page 239, delete section 46

35.24 Page 240, delete section 47

35.25 Page 241, delete sections 48 and 49
35.26 Page 242, before line 27, insert:

Sec. . 35
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"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 524.5-118, is amended to read:

524.5-118 BACKGROUND-STUDY MALTREATMENT AND STATE LICENSING
AGENCY CHECKS; CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK.

Subdivision 1. When required; exception. (a) The court shall require a-backgreund

study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check under

this section:

(1) before the appointment of a guardian or conservator, unless a-backgreund-study-has

maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check have been

done on the person under this section within the previous five years; and

(2) once every five years after the appointment, if the person continues to serve as a

guardian or conservator.

(b) The-backgreund-stady maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal

history check under this section must include:

(1) criminal history data from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension;-ethereriminal

(2) criminal history data from a national criminal history record check as-defined-in

o1 245C.02 subdivisi 3e: and

(3) state licensing agency data if a search of the database or databases of the agencies
listed in subdivision 2a shows that the proposed guardian or conservator has ever held a
professional license directly related to the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary from

an agency listed in subdivision 2a that was conditioned, suspended, revoked, or canceled:;

and

(4) data regarding whether the person has been a perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment

of a vulnerable adult or minor.

(c) If the guardian or conservator is not an individual, the backgreund-study maltreatment

and state licensing agency checks and criminal history check must be done on all individuals

currently employed by the proposed guardian or conservator who will be responsible for

exercising powers and duties under the guardianship or conservatorship.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the court determines that it would be in the best

interests of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship to appoint a guardian or

conservator before the background-study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks

Sec. . 36
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and criminal history check can be completed, the court may make the appointment pending

the results of the stady checks, however, the backgreund-stady maltreatment and state

licensing agency checks and criminal history check must then be completed as soon as

reasonably possible after appointment;-ne-tater-than30-days-after-appointment.

(e) The fee fees for background-studies the maltreatment and state licensing agency

checks and the criminal history check conducted under this section is are specified in seetion
sections 245C.10, subdivision +4 15, and 299C.10, subdivisions 4 and 5. The fee fees for
conducting a-backgreund-study these checks for appointment of a professional guardian or

conservator must be paid by the guardian or conservator. In other cases, the fee must be

paid as follows:

(1) if the matter is proceeding in forma pauperis, the fee is an expense for purposes of

section 524.5-502, paragraph (a);

(2) if there is an estate of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship, the fee

must be paid from the estate; or

(3) in the case of a guardianship or conservatorship of the person that is not proceeding
in forma pauperis, the court may order that the fee be paid by the guardian or conservator

or by the court.
(f) The requirements of this subdivision do not apply if the guardian or conservator is:
(1) a state agency or county;

(2) a parent or guardian of a person proposed to be subject to guardianship or
conservatorship who has a developmental disability, if the parent or guardian has raised the
person proposed to be subject to guardianship or conservatorship in the family home until
the time the petition is filed, unless counsel appointed for the person proposed to be subject
to guardianship or conservatorship under section 524.5-205, paragraph (¢); 524.5-304,
paragraph (b); 524.5-405, paragraph (a); or 524.5-406, paragraph (b), recommends a
background study; or

(3) a bank with trust powers, bank and trust company, or trust company, organized under
the laws of any state or of the United States and which is regulated by the commissioner of

commerce or a federal regulator.

Subd. 2. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal

history and-maltreatmentreecords-baeckgroeund check. (a) The eourt guardian or
conservator shall request the eemmissioner-of-human-serviees Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension to complete a background-study-underseetion245C-32 criminal history
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check. The request must be accompanied by the applicable fee and acknowledgment that

the stady-subjeet guardian or conservator received a privacy notice required-undersubdiviston
3. The eemmissioner-ef-human-serviees Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall conduct a

national criminal history record check. The stady-subjeet guardian or conservator shall

submit a set of classifiable fingerprints. The fingerprints must be recorded on a fingerprint

card provided by the eemmissioner-efhuman-serviees Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(b) The eommisstoner-ofhuman-serviees Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall provide

the court with criminal history data as defined in section 13.87 from the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension in the Department of Public Safety;-ether-eriminal-histery-data-held-by-the

and criminal history information from other states or jurisdictions as indicated from a national

criminal history record check within 20 working days of receipt of a request. In accordance

with section 245C.033, the commissioner of human services shall provide the court with

data regarding substantiated maltreatment of vulnerable adults under section 626.557, and

substantiated maltreatment of minors under chapter 260E within 25 working days of receipt

of a request. If the subjeet-ofthe-study guardian or conservator has been the perpetrator of

substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor, the response must include a copy
of the any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under section 626.557,
subdivision 12b, or the any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under
section 260E.30.

(c) Notwithstanding section 260E.30 or 626.557, subdivision 12b, if the commissioner
of human services or a county lead agency or lead investigative agency has information that
a person en-whoem-a-background-stady-was-previeusly-dene under this section has been
determined to be a perpetrator of maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor, the
commissioner or the county may provide this information to the court that requested-the
baekgreund-study is determining eligibility for the guardian or conservator. Fhe-commissioner

Subd. 2a. Procedure; state licensing agency data. (a) In response to a request submitted

under section 245C.033, the eeurtshallrequestthe commissioner of human services te shall
provide the-eeurt-within25-werking-days-oefreceipt-ofthe request-with licensing agency

data for licenses directly related to the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary if the stady
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39.1  subjeetindieates guardian or conservator has a current or prior affiliation from the following

39.2  agencies in Minnesota:

39.3 (1) Lawyers Responsibility Board;

39.4 (2) State Board of Accountancy;

39.5 (3) Board of Social Work;

39.6 (4) Board of Psychology;

39.7 (5) Board of Nursing;

39.8 (6) Board of Medical Practice;

39.9 (7) Department of Education;

39.10 (8) Department of Commerce;

39.11 (9) Board of Chiropractic Examiners;

39.12 (10) Board of Dentistry;

39.13 (11) Board of Marriage and Family Therapy;
39.14 (12) Department of Human Services;

39.15 (13) Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board; and
39.16 (14) Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.
39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30
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Subd. 3. Forms and systems. Fhe-eeurt In accordance with section 245C.033, subdivision

3, the commissioner must provide the stady-subjeet guardian or conservator with a privacy

notice for the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks that complies with section

245€-05,subdiviston2e 13.04, subdivision 2. Fhe-commissionerof- human-services-shal

torr- The Bureau

of Criminal Apprehension must provide the guardian or conservator with a privacy notice

for the criminal history check.

Subd. 4. Rights. The court shall notify the subject-of-a-background-study guardian or
conservator that the-subjeethas they have the following rights:

(1) the right to be informed that the court will request a-background-stady-on-the-subjeet

maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check on the guardian

or conservator for the purpose of determining whether the person's appointment or continued

appointment is in the best interests of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship;

(2) the right to be informed of the results of the study and to obtain from the court a

copy of the results; and

(3) the right to challenge the accuracy and completeness of information contained in the
results under section 13.04, subdivision 4, except to the extent precluded by section 256.045,

subdivision 3."

Page 242, line 28, after the first semicolon, insert "245C.031, subdivisions 5, 6, and 7;"
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Page 246, line 18, delete "diagnosed with behavioral health disorders" and insert

"experiencing behavioral health concerns"

Page 246, delete subdivision 2

Page 246, line 25, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 247, line 8, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
Page 247, delete subdivisions 8 and 9

Page 248, delete subdivisions 12, 15, and 19

Page 248, delete lines 7 to 10

Page 248, line 24, delete everything after "that" and insert "is person-centered and

family-centered, and that is formulated to respond to a client's needs and goals. The integrated

treatment plan must integrate prevention, medical needs, and behavioral health needs and

service delivery. The CCBHC must develop the integrated treatment plan in collaboration

with and receive endorsement from the client, the adult client's family to the extent the client

wishes, and a child or youth client's family or caregivers, and coordinate with staff or

programs necessary to effectuate the plan.”

Page 248, delete line 25
Page 249, delete subdivision 24
Renumber the subdivisions in sequence

Page 249, lines 25 and 29, before "process" insert "or recertification"

Page 249, line 26, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 249, line 30, delete "certification process must:" and insert "commissioner shall

recertify a CCBHC provider entity every 36 months using the provider entity's certification

anniversary or the calendar year end. The commissioner may approve a recertification

extension in the interest of sustaining services when a certain date for recertification is

identified."
Page 249, delete lines 31 and 32 and insert:

"(c) The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of a CCBHC provider

entity and shall require corrective action, medical assistance repayment, or decertification

of a provider entity that no longer meets the requirements in sections 245.7351 to 245.7357

or that fails to meet the clinical quality standards or administrative standards provided by

the commissioner in the application and certification processes.
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(d) The commissioner shall provide the following to CCBHC provider entities for the

certification, recertification, and decertification processes:

(1) a structured listing of required provider entity certification criteria;

(2) a formal written letter with a determination of certification, recertification, or

decertification, signed by the commissioner or the appropriate division director; and

(3) a formal written communication outlining the process for necessary corrective action

and follow-up by the commissioner, if applicable, signed by the commissioner or the

appropriate division director."

Page 250, delete lines 1 to 5

Page 250, line 7, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 250, after line 7, insert:

"(1) comply with the standards issued by the commissioner relating to CCBHC screenings,

assessments, and evaluations;"

Renumber the clauses in sequence

Page 250, line 18, delete "and"

Page 250, line 20, delete the period and insert "; and"
Page 250, after line 20, insert:

"(10) directly employ or through a formal arrangement utilize a medically trained

behavioral health care provider with independent authority under state law to prescribe and

manage medications, including buprenorphine and other medications used to treat opioid

and alcohol use disorders."

Page 250, line 24, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
Page 250, delete subdivision 3

Page 251, line 12, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
Page 251, delete subdivision 8

Renumber the subdivisions in sequence

Page 252, delete section 5

Page 254, line 1, delete "[245.7355]" and insert "[245.7354]"

Page 254, line 6, after "including" insert "a medical director,"
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Page 254, delete subdivisions 1 to 5 and insert:

"(a) A CCBHC must meet minimum staffing requirements as identified in the certification

process.

(b) A CCBHC must employ or contract for clinic staff who have backgrounds in diverse

disciplines, including licensed mental health professionals, licensed alcohol and drug

counselors, staff who are culturally and linguistically trained to meet the needs of the

population the clinic serves, and staff who are trained to make accommodations to meet the

needs of clients with disabilities."

Page 255, delete sections 7 and 8
Page 258, line 1, delete "[245.7358]" and insert "[245.7355]"
Page 258, line 5, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 258, line 7, delete "levels" and insert "level" and delete "and 2.0"

Page 258, line 23, delete everything after the period
Page 258, delete lines 24 to 30
Page 259, delete lines 1 and 2

Page 259, line 8, delete everything after "and" and insert "must contain all data elements

listed in the commissioner's public clinical guidance."

Page 259, delete line 9

Page 259, line 12, delete everything after "must" and insert "follow the timelines

established in the CCBHC certification criteria published by the Substance Abuse and

Mental Health Services Administration and the commissioner's published clinical guidance."

Page 259, delete lines 13 to 15 and 19 to 30

Page 260, delete lines 1 to 3

Page 260, line 4, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
Page 260, line 5, delete the second "in" and insert "for"

"

Page 260, line 6, after "(1)" insert "a brief diagnostic assessment under

Page 260, delete lines 7 and 8

Renumber the clauses in sequence
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Page 260, line 9, before "section" insert "an individual family assessment summary

under"

Page 260, line 10, before "section" insert "an individual assessment summary under"
g ry

Page 260, line 11, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 260, line 12, before "Minnesota" insert "a local agency determination based on a

diagnostic assessment under"

Page 260, line 13, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support

plan and an individual community support plan under"

Page 260, line 14, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support

plan under"

Page 260, line 15, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual community support plan

under"

Page 260, line 21, delete everything after "and" and insert "must contain all data elements

listed in the commissioner's public clinical guidance."

Page 260, delete lines 22 to 28

Page 261, line 3, delete "as defined in section 245G.11, subdivision 5"

Page 261, line 5, delete "section 245G.05" and insert "chapter 245G" and after the comma

insert "if the comprehensive evaluation includes a diagnosis of a substance use disorder or

a finding that the client does not meet the criteria for a substance use disorder."

Page 261, delete lines 6 to 27
Reletter the paragraphs in sequence

Page 262, line 22, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357" and delete "initial" and insert

"comprehensive"

Page 262, line 23, delete the second "in" and insert "for"

Page 262, line 24, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment or crisis assessment

under" and delete "2a" and insert "2, paragraph (a)"

Page 262, line 25, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 262, line 26, before "section" insert "an initial services plan under"

Page 262, delete lines 27 and 28

Renumber the clauses in sequence
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Page 262, line 29, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 262, line 30, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 263, line 1, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 263, line 2, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"

Page 263, line 3, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support

plan and an individual community support plan under"

Page 263, line 9, delete everything after "use"

Page 263, delete line 10

Page 263, line 11, delete everything before "a"

Page 263, line 25, delete "in sections" and insert "for"
Page 263, delete line 26

Renumber the clauses in sequence

Page 263, line 27, before "2451.10" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"

Page 263, line 28, before "245G.06" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"

Page 263, line 29, before "245G.09" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"

Page 263, after line 29, insert:

"(h) The CCBHC functional assessment requirements replace the requirements for:

(1) a functional assessment under section 256B.0623, subdivision 9;

(2) a functional assessment under section 245.4711, subdivision 3; and

(3) functional assessments under Minnesota Rules, part 9520.0914, subpart 2, items A

and B."

Page 263, delete subdivision 9 and insert:

"Subd. 9. Licensing and certification requirements. The requirements for initial

evaluations under subdivision 6, comprehensive evaluations under subdivision 7, and

integrated treatment plans under subdivision 8 are part of the licensing requirements for

substance use disorder treatment programs licensed according to chapter 245G and

certification requirements for mental health clinics certified according to section 2451.20 if

the program or clinic is part of a CCBHC. The Department of Human Services licensing
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division will review, inspect, and investigate for compliance with the requirements in

subdivisions 6 to 8."

Page 264, delete lines 19 to 21

Page 264, line 22, delete "[245.7359]" and insert "[245.7356]"

Page 265, line 18, delete "[245.736]" and insert "[245.7357]"

Page 265, lines 20, 21, and 29, delete "245.7358" and insert "245.7355"

Page 266, line 20, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 267, delete section 12
Page 276, lines 9 to 11, delete the new language
Page 276, line 15, delete the new language

Page 276, line 16, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 277, line 22, delete everything after the period
Page 277, lines 23 and 24, delete the new language
Page 277, line 31, delete the new language

Page 278, line 1, delete the new language and after "order" insert ", or submitted in the

provider licensing and reporting hub within 20 calendar days from the date the commissioner

issued the order through the hub,"

Page 279, line 1, delete the new language

Page 279, line 2, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider hub,

the request must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date

the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 280, lines 28 to 30, delete the new language
Page 281, line 6, delete the new language

Page 281, line 7, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider hub,

the appeal must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date

the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 281, lines 18 and 19, delete the new language
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Page 281, line 20, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the

date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 283, after line 28, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, is amended to read:

245A.13 INVOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP FOR RESIDENTIAL OR
NONRESIDENTIAL PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. Application. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the
commissioner may petition the district court in Ramsey County for an order directing the
controlling individuals of a residential or nonresidential program licensed or certified by
the commissioner to show cause why the commissioner should not be appointed receiver

to operate the program. The petition to the district court must contain proof by affidavit that

one or more of the following exists: (P-thatthe-eommissionerhas-ettherbegunproeeedings

(1) the commissioner has commenced proceedings to suspend or revoke the state license,

or refused to renew a license;

(2) there is a threat of imminent abandonment by the provider or its controlling

individuals;

(3) there is a pattern of failure to meet ongoing financial obligations such as failing to

pay for food, pharmaceuticals, personnel, or required insurance;

(4) it appears to the commissioner that the health, safety, or rights of the residents or

person receiving care from the program may be in jeopardy because of the manner in which

the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations committed by the

program of federal or state laws or rules; or

(5) the commissioner has notified the provider or its controlling individuals that their

federal Medicare or Medicaid provider agreement will be terminated, revoked, canceled,

or not renewed.
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(b) If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one

program, the commissioner's petition must specify and be limited to the program for which

it seeks receivership. The-affidavitsubmitted-by-the-commissionermust setforth-alternatives

(c) The order to show cause shall be personally served on the provider through its

authorized agent or, in the event the authorized agent cannot be located, on any controlling

individual for the program.

Subd. 2. Appointment of receiver. (a) If the court finds that involuntary receivership
is necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served
by the program, the court shall appoint the commissioner as receiver to operate the program.
The commissioner as receiver may contract with another entity or group to act as the
managing agent during the receivership period. The managing agent will be responsible for
the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review and approval of

the commissioner. A managing agent cannot:

(1) be the license holder or controlling individual of the program;

(2) have a financial interest in the program at the time of the receivership;

(3) be otherwise affiliated with the program; or

(4) have had a licensed program that has been ordered into receivership.

(b) Notwithstanding state contracting requirements in chapter 16C, the commissioner

shall establish and maintain a list of qualified persons or entities with experience in delivering

services under chapters 245A, 245D, or 245G, or other service types licensed by the

commissioner, and experience winding down these programs. The list shall be a resource

for choosing a managing agent, and the commissioner may update the list at any time.

Subd. 3. Powers and duties of receiver. Within36-moenths-after-the recetvership-order;

receiver appointed pursuant to this section shall, within 18 months after the receivership

order, determine whether to close the program or to make other provisions intended to keep

it open. If the receiver determines that program closure is appropriate, the commissioner

shall provide for the orderly transfer of individuals served by the program to other programs
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or make other provisions to protect the health, safety, and rights of individuals served by

the program.

(b) During the receivership, the receiver or the managing agent shall correct or eliminate

deficiencies in the program that the commissioner determines endanger the health, safety,
or welfare of the persons being served by the program unless the correction or elimination
of deficiencies at a residential program involves major alteration in the structure of the
physical plant. If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies at a residential program
requires major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver shall take actions
designed to result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the residential program.
During the period of the receivership, the receiver and the managing agent shall operate the
residential or nonresidential program in a manner designed to preserve the health, safety,

rights, adequate care, and supervision of the persons served by the program.
(c) The receiver or the managing agent may make contracts and incur lawful expenses.

(d) The receiver or the managing agent shall use the building, fixtures, furnishings, and

any accompanying consumable goods in the provision of care and services to the clients

during the receivership period. The receiver shall take action as is reasonably necessary to

protect or conserve the tangible assets or property during receivership.

(e) The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources
and apply them to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership
including the fee set under subdivision 4. No security interest in any real or personal property
comprising the program or contained within it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall

be impaired or diminished in priority by the receiver or the managing agent.

(f) The receiver has authority to hire, direct, manage, and discharge any employees of

the program including management level staff for the program.

(g) The commissioner, as the receiver appointed by the court, may hire a managing agent

to work on the commissioner's behalf to operate the program during the receivership, and

the managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee. The receiver and managing agent shall

be liable only in an official capacity for injury to person and property by reason of the

conditions of the program. The receiver and managing agent shall not be personally liable,

except for gross negligence and intentional acts. The commissioner shall assist the managing

agent in carrying out the managing agent's duties.

Subd. 3a. Liability. The provisions contained in section 245A.12, subdivision 6, shall

also apply to receiverships ordered according to this section.
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Subd. 3b. Liability for financial obligations. The provisions contained in section

245A.12, subdivision 7, also apply to receiverships ordered according to this section.

Subd. 3c. Physical plant of the program. Occupation of the physical plant under an
involuntary receivership shall be governed by paragraphs (a) and (b).

(a) The physical plant owned by a controlling individual of the program or related party
must be made available for the use of the program throughout the receivership period. The
court shall determine a fair monthly rental for the physical plant, taking into account all
relevant factors necessary to meet required arm's-length obligations of controlling individuals
such as mortgage payments, real estate taxes, and special assessments. The rental fee must
be paid by the receiver to the appropriate controlling individuals or related parties for each
month that the receivership remains in effect. No payment made to a controlling individual
or related party by the receiver or the managing agent or any state agency during a period
of the receivership shall include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that

includes an allowance for profit.

(b) If the owner of the physical plant of a program is not a related party, the court shall
order the controlling individual to continue as the lessee of the property during the
receivership period. Rental payments during the receivership period shall be made to the
owner of the physical plant by the commissioner or the managing agent on behalf of the

controlling individual.

Subd. 4. Fee. A receiver appointed under an involuntary receivership or the managing

agent is entitled to a reasonable fee as determined by the court.

Subd. 5. Termination. An involuntary receivership terminates 3618 months after the
date on which it was ordered or at any other time designated by the court or when any of

the following events occurs:

(1) the commissioner determines that the program's license or certification application

should be granted or should not be suspended or revoked,
(2) a new license or certification is granted to the program,;

(3) the commissioner determines that all persons residing in a residential program have
been provided with alternative residential programs or that all persons receiving services

in a nonresidential program have been referred to other programs; or

(4) the court determines that the receivership is no longer necessary because the conditions

which gave rise to the receivership no longer exist.
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Subd. 6. Emergency procedure. (a) If it appears from the petition filed under subdivision
1, from an affidavit or affidavits filed with the petition, or from testimony of witnesses
under oath if the court determines it necessary, that there is probable cause to believe that
an emergency exists in a residential or nonresidential program, the court shall issue a
temporary order for appointment of a receiver within five two days after receipt of the

petition.

(b) Notice of the petition must be served on the program-administrator-and-on-the-persons

shatea-as-agentSoytnec-contromn g marviaud o-aceeptservice-onthetrbehalf authorized

agent, as defined by section 245A.02, of the program that is subject to the receivership

petition, or if service is not immediately available on the authorized agent on at least one

of the controlling individuals as defined by section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, for the program.

A hearing on the petition must be held within five days after notice is served unless the

administrater-er authorized agent or other controlling individual consents to a later date.

After the hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.

Subd. 7. Rate recommendation. For any program receiving Medicaid funds and ordered

into receivership, the commissioner of human services may review rates of a residential or

nonresidential program partieipating in the-medical assistanee program-which-is-in
recetvership-and that has needs or deficiencies documented by the Department of Health

or the Department of Human Services. If the commissioner of human services determines
that a review of the rate established under sections 256B.5012 and 256B.5013 is needed,

the commissioner shall:
(1) review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs; and

(2) determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee,
and additional consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary

to satisfy the needs or deficiencies.

Subd. 8. Adjustment to the rate. Upon review of rates under subdivision 7, the
commissioner may adjust the program's payment rate. The commissioner shall review the
circumstances, together with the program's most recent income and expense report, to
determine whether or not the deficiencies or needs can be corrected or met by reallocating
program staff, costs, revenues, or any other resources including investments. If the
commissioner determines that any deficiency cannot be corrected or the need cannot be met
with the payment rate currently being paid, the commissioner shall determine the payment
rate adjustment by dividing the additional annual costs established during the commissioner's

review by the program's actual client days from the most recent income and expense report
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or the estimated client days in the projected receivership period. The payment rate adjustment
remains in effect during the period of the receivership or until another date set by the
commissioner. Upon the subsequent sale, closure, or transfer of the program, the
commissioner may recover amounts that were paid as payment rate adjustments under this
subdivision. This recovery shall be determined through a review of actual costs and client
days in the receivership period. The costs the commissioner finds to be allowable shall be
divided by the actual client days for the receivership period. This rate shall be compared to
the rate paid throughout the receivership period, with the difference multiplied by client
days, being the amount to be repaid to the commissioner. Allowable costs shall be determined
by the commissioner as those ordinary, necessary, and related to client care by prudent and
cost-conscious management. The buyer or transferee shall repay this amount to the
commissioner within 60 days after the commissioner notifies the buyer or transferee of the
obligation to repay. This provision does not limit the liability of the seller to the commissioner

pursuant to section 256B.0641.

Subd. 9. Receivership accounting. The commissioner may use adjust Medicaid rates

and use Medicaid funds, including but not limited to waiver funds, and the medical assistance

account and funds for receivership cash flow, receivership administrative fees, and accounting

purposes, to the extent permitted by the state's approved Medicaid plan.

Subd. 10. Receivership costs. The commissioner may use the accounts and funds that
would have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons

in the program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership.

Subd. 11. Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure. No controlling individual
of a program placed into receivership under this section may apply for or receive a license
or certification to operate a residential or nonresidential program for five years from the
commencement of the receivership period. This subdivision does not apply to programs
that are owned or operated by controlling individuals that were in existence before the date

of the receivership agreement, and that have not been placed into receivership."
Page 284, delete sections 27 and 28
Page 285, delete section 29
Page 286, delete section 30
Page 287, delete section 31

Page 288 delete sections 32 and 33 and insert:
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53.1 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

532 Subdivision 1. License requirements. (a) An applicant for a license to provide substance
533 use disorder treatment must comply with the general requirements in section 626.557,

534  chapters 245A, 245C, and 260E; and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544.

53.5 (b) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements in this chapter that do
53.6  not affect the client's health or safety if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9,

53.7 are met.

53.8 (c) If a program is licensed according to this chapter and is part of a certified community

53.9  behavioral health clinic under sections 245.7351 to 245.7357, the license holder must comply

53.10  with the requirements in section 245.7355, subdivision 10, as part of the licensing

53.11  requirements under this chapter."

53.12 Page 289, lines 9 to 11, delete the new language
53.13 Page 289, line 19, delete the new language
53.14 Page 289, line 20, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

53.15  hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

53.16  date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

53.17 Page 290, line 3, delete everything after the period
53.18 Page 290, lines 4 and 5, delete the new language

53.19 Page 290, line 22, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

53.20  hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

5321  date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

53.22 Page 291, line 10, delete everything after the period

53.23 Page 291, lines 11 and 12, delete the new language

53.24 Page 291, line 20, delete the new language

53.25 Page 291, line 21, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

5326  hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

5327  date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

53.28 Page 291, after line 26, insert:
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"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.011, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Certification required. (a) An individual, organization, or government entity
that is exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause

(19), and chooses to be identified as a certified mental health clinic must:
(1) be a mental health clinic that is certified under section 2451.20;

(2) comply with all of the responsibilities assigned to a license holder by this chapter

except subdivision 1; and

(3) comply with all of the responsibilities assigned to a certification holder by chapter
245A.

(b) An individual, organization, or government entity described by this subdivision must
obtain a criminal background study for each staff person or volunteer who provides direct

contact services to clients.

(c) If a program is licensed according to this chapter and is part of a certified community

behavioral health clinic under sections 245.7351 to 245.7357, the license holder must comply

with the requirements in section 245.7355, subdivision 10, as part of the licensing

requirements under this chapter.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.04, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. Mental health rehabilitation worker qualifications. (a) A mental health

rehabilitation worker must:
(1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; and

(2) have the training required under section 2451.05, subdivision 3, paragraph (c); and

2) (3) meet one of the following qualification requirements:

(1) be fluent in the non-English language or competent in the culture of the ethnic group

to which at least 20 percent of the mental health rehabilitation worker's clients belong;
(11) have an associate of arts degree;

(ii1) have two years of full-time postsecondary education or a total of 15 semester hours

or 23 quarter hours in behavioral sciences or related fields;
(iv) be a registered nurse;

(v) have, within the previous ten years, three years of personal life experience with

mental illness;

Sec. . 54



55.1

55.2

553

55.4

555

55.6

55.7

55.8

55.9

55.10

55.11

55.12

55.13

55.14

55.15

55.16

55.17

55.18

55.19

55.20

55.21

55.22

55.23

55.24

55.25

55.26

55.27

55.28

55.29

55.30

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

(vi) have, within the previous ten years, three years of life experience as a primary
caregiver to an adult with a mental illness, traumatic brain injury, substance use disorder,

or developmental disability; or

(vii) have, within the previous ten years, 2,000 hours of work experience providing

health and human services to individuals.

(b) A mental health rehabilitation worker who is exclusively scheduled as an overnight

staff person and-werks-alene is exempt from the additional qualification requirements in
paragraph (a), clause 2) (3).

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.04, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. Mental health behavioral aide qualifications. (a) A level 1 mental health

behavioral aide must have the training required under section 2451.05, subdivision 3,

paragraph (¢), and: (1) a high school diploma or equivalent; or (2) two years of experience

as a primary caregiver to a child with mental illness within the previous ten years.

(b) A level 2 mental health behavioral aide must:H have the training required under

section 2451.05, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), and an associate or bachelor's degree:-er(2)

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Documentation standards. A license holder must ensure that all documentation

required by this chapter:
(1) 1s legible;

(2) 1dentifies the applicable client name on each page of the client file and staff person

name on each page of the personnel file; and

(3) is signed and dated by the staff persons who provided services to the client or

completed the documentation, including the staff persons' credentials.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Progress notes. A license holder must use a progress note to document each
occurrence of a mental health service that a staff person provides to a client. A progress

note must include the following:
(1) the type of service;

(2) the date of service;
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(3) the start and stop time of the service unless the license holder is licensed as a

residential program;
(4) the location of the service;

(5) the scope of the service, including: (i) the targeted goal and objective; (i) the
intervention that the staff person provided to the client and the methods that the staff person
used; (iii) the client's response to the intervention; and (iv) the staff person's plan to take

future actions, including changes in treatment that the staff person will implement if the

intervention was ineffective; and-(v)-the-serviee-medality;

(6) the signature and credentials of the staff person who provided the service to the

client;

(7) the mental health provider travel documentation required by section 256B.0625, if

applicable; and

(8) significant observations by the staff person, if applicable, including: (i) the client's
current risk factors; (i1) emergency interventions by staff persons; (iii) consultations with
or referrals to other professionals, family, or significant others; and (iv) changes in the

client's mental or physical symptoms.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Generally. (a) A license holder must use a client's diagnostic assessment or
crisis assessment to determine a client's eligibility for mental health services, except as

provided in this section.

(b) Prior to completing a client's initial diagnostic assessment, a license holder may

provide a client with the following services:
(1) an explanation of findings;

(2) neuropsychological testing, neuropsychological assessment, and psychological

testing;

(3) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and

family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed three sessions;
(4) crisis assessment services according to section 256B.0624; and

(5) ten days of intensive residential treatment services according to the assessment and

treatment planning standards in section 2451.23, subdivision 7.
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(c) Based on the client's needs that a crisis assessment identifies under section 256B.0624,

a license holder may provide a client with the following services:

(1) crisis intervention and stabilization services under section 2451.23 or 256B.0624;

and

(2) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy sessions, family
psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed ten sessions

within a 12-month period without prior authorization.

(d) Based on the client's needs in the client's brief diagnostic assessment, a license holder
may provide a client with any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy
sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed
ten sessions within a 12-month period without prior authorization for any new client or for
an existing client who the license holder projects will need fewer than ten sessions during

the next 12 months.

(e) Based on the client's needs that a hospital's medical history and presentation

examination identifies, a license holder may provide a client with:

(1) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy sessions, family
psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed ten sessions
within a 12-month period without prior authorization for any new client or for an existing
client who the license holder projects will need fewer than ten sessions during the next 12

months; and
(2) up to five days of day treatment services or partial hospitalization.

(f) A license holder must complete a new standard diagnostic assessment of a client or

an update to an assessment as permitted under paragraph (g):

(1) when the client requires services of a greater number or intensity than the services

that paragraphs (b) to (e) describe;

(2) at least annually following the client's initial diagnostic assessment if the client needs
additional mental health services and the client does not meet the criteria for a brief

assessment;

(3) when the client's mental health condition has changed markedly since the client's

most recent diagnostic assessment; or

(4) when the client's current mental health condition does not meet the criteria of the

client's current diagnosis.
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(g) For an-existing a client who is already engaged in services and has a prior assessment,

the license holder must ensure-thatanewstandard-diagnostic-assessmentineludes complete

a written update containing all significant new or changed information about the client,

removal of outdated or inaccurate information, and an update regarding what information

has not significantly changed, including a discussion with the client about changes in the
client's life situation, functioning, presenting problems, and progress with achieving treatment

goals since the client's last diagnostic assessment was completed.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Continuity of services. (a) For any client with a diagnostic assessment
completed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0370 to 9505.0372, before July 1, 2022, or
upon federal approval, whichever is later, the diagnostic assessment is valid for authorizing
the client's treatment and billing for one calendar year after the date that the assessment was

completed.

(b) For any client with an individual treatment plan completed under section 256B.0622,
256B.0623,256B.0943, 256B.0946, or 256B.0947 or Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0370 to
9505.0372, the client's treatment plan is valid for authorizing treatment and billing until the

treatment plan's expiration date.

(c) This subdivision expires Fuly+ October 17, 2023.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Standard diagnostic assessment; required elements. (a) Only a mental health
professional or a clinical trainee may complete a standard diagnostic assessment of a client.
A standard diagnostic assessment of a client must include a face-to-face interview with a
client and a written evaluation of the client. The assessor must complete a client's standard

diagnostic assessment within the client's cultural context.

(b) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must
gather and document information about the client's current life situation, including the

following information:
(1) the client's age;

(2) the client's current living situation, including the client's housing status and household

members;

(3) the status of the client's basic needs;
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(4) the client's education level and employment status;
(5) the client's current medications;

(6) any immediate risks to the client's health and safety;
(7) the client's perceptions of the client's condition;

(8) the client's description of the client's symptoms, including the reason for the client's

referral;
(9) the client's history of mental health treatment; and
(10) cultural influences on the client.

(c) If the assessor cannot obtain the information that this paragraph requires without
retraumatizing the client or harming the client's willingness to engage in treatment, the
assessor must identify which topics will require further assessment during the course of the
client's treatment. The assessor must gather and document information related to the following

topics:

(1) the client's relationship with the client's family and other significant personal

relationships, including the client's evaluation of the quality of each relationship;

(2) the client's strengths and resources, including the extent and quality of the client's

social networks;
(3) important developmental incidents in the client's life;
(4) maltreatment, trauma, potential brain injuries, and abuse that the client has suffered;
(5) the client's history of or exposure to alcohol and drug usage and treatment; and

(6) the client's health history and the client's family health history, including the client's

physical, chemical, and mental health history.

(d) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, an assessor must use

a recognized diagnostic framework.

(1) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of
age or younger, the assessor must use the current edition of the DC: 0-5 Diagnostic
Classification of Mental Health and Development Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood
published by Zero to Three.

(2) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six years of
age or older, the assessor must use the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical

Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.
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(3) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of
age or younger, an assessor must administer the Early Childhood Service Intensity Instrument

(ECSII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.

(4) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six to 17 years
of age, an assessor must administer the Child and Adolescent Service Intensity Instrument

(CASII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.

(5) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is 18 years of
age or older, an assessor must use either (i) the CAGE-AID Questionnaire or (ii) the criteria
in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
published by the American Psychiatric Association to screen and assess the client for a

substance use disorder.

(e) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must

include and document the following components of the assessment:
(1) the client's mental status examination;

(2) the client's baseline measurements; symptoms; behavior; skills; abilities; resources;
vulnerabilities; safety needs, including client information that supports the assessor's findings
after applying a recognized diagnostic framework from paragraph (d); and any differential

diagnosis of the client;

(3) an explanation of: (i) how the assessor diagnosed the client using the information
from the client's interview, assessment, psychological testing, and collateral information
about the client; (1) the client's needs; (ii1) the client's risk factors; (iv) the client's strengths;

and (v) the client's responsivity factors.

(f) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must
consult the client and the client's family about which services that the client and the family
prefer to treat the client. The assessor must make referrals for the client as to services required

by law.

(g) Information from other providers and prior assessments may be used to complete

the diagnostic assessment if the source of the information is documented in the diagnostic

assessment.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.10, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Individual treatment plan. A license holder must follow each client's written

individual treatment plan when providing services to the client with the following exceptions:
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(1) services that do not require that a license holder completes a standard diagnostic

assessment of a client before providing services to the client;
(2) when developing a treatment or service plan; and

(3) when a client re-engages in services under subdivision 8, paragraph (b).

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Individual treatment plan; required elements. (a) After completing a client's

diagnostic assessment or reviewing a client's diagnostic assessment received from a different

provider, and before providing services to the client beyond those permitted under subdivision

7, the license holder must complete the client's individual treatment plan. The license holder

must:

(1) base the client's individual treatment plan on the client's diagnostic assessment and

baseline measurements;

(2) for a child client, use a child-centered, family-driven, and culturally appropriate
planning process that allows the child's parents and guardians to observe and participate in

the child's individual and family treatment services, assessments, and treatment planning;

(3) for an adult client, use a person-centered, culturally appropriate planning process
that allows the client's family and other natural supports to observe and participate in the

client's treatment services, assessments, and treatment planning;

(4) 1dentify the client's treatment goals, measureable treatment objectives, a schedule
for accomplishing the client's treatment goals and objectives, a treatment strategy, and the
individuals responsible for providing treatment services and supports to the client. The

license holder must have a treatment strategy to engage the client in treatment if the client:
(1) has a history of not engaging in treatment; and

(i1) is ordered by a court to participate in treatment services or to take neuroleptic

medications;

(5) identify the participants involved in the client's treatment planning. The client must
be a participant in the client's treatment planning. If applicable, the license holder must
document the reasons that the license holder did not involve the client's family or other

natural supports in the client's treatment planning;

(6) review the client's individual treatment plan every 180 days and update the client's

individual treatment plan with the client's treatment progress, new treatment objectives and
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goals or, if the client has not made treatment progress, changes in the license holder's

approach to treatment; and

(7) ensure that the client approves of the client's individual treatment plan unless a court

orders the client's treatment plan under chapter 253B.

(b) If the client disagrees with the client's treatment plan, the license holder must
document in the client file the reasons why the client does not agree with the treatment plan.
If the license holder cannot obtain the client's approval of the treatment plan, a mental health
professional must make efforts to obtain approval from a person who is authorized to consent
on the client's behalf within 30 days after the client's previous individual treatment plan
expired. A license holder may not deny a client service during this time period solely because
the license holder could not obtain the client's approval of the client's individual treatment
plan. A license holder may continue to bill for the client's otherwise eligible services when

the client re-engages in services.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Storing and accounting for medications. (a) If a license holder stores client

medications, the license holder must:
(1) store client medications in original containers in a locked location;

(2) store refrigerated client medications in special trays or containers that are separate

from food,;

(3) store client medications marked "for external use only" in a compartment that is

separate from other client medications;

(4) store Schedule II teFV¥ drugs listed in section 152.02, subdivistens subdivision 3 te

5, in a compartment that is locked separately from other medications;
(5) ensure that only authorized staff persons have access to stored client medications;

(6) follow a documentation procedure en-eaech-shift to account for all seheduled Schedule

II to V drugs listed in section 152.02, subdivisions 3 to 6; and

(7) record each incident when a staff person accepts a supply of client medications and

destroy discontinued, outdated, or deteriorated client medications.

(b) If a license holder is licensed as a residential program, the license holder must allow
clients who self-administer medications to keep a private medication supply. The license
holder must ensure that the client stores all private medication in a locked container in the

client's private living area, unless the private medication supply poses a health and safety
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risk to any clients. A client must not maintain a private medication supply of a prescription
medication without a written medication order from a licensed prescriber and a prescription

label that includes the client's name.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.11, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Medication orders. (a) If a license holder stores, prescribes, or administers

medications or observes a client self-administer medications, the license holder must:

(1) ensure that a licensed prescriber writes all orders to accept, administer, or discontinue

client medications;

(2) accept nonwritten orders to administer client medications in emergency circumstances

only;

(3) establish a timeline and process for obtaining a written order with the licensed
prescriber's signature when the license holder accepts a nonwritten order to administer client

medications; and

5) (4) maintain the client's right to privacy and dignity.

(b) If a license holder employs a licensed prescriber, the license holder must inform the
client about potential medication effects and side effects and obtain and document the client's

informed consent before the licensed prescriber prescribes a medication.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 2451.20, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Additional policy and procedure requirements. (a) In addition to the policies
and procedures required by section 2451.03, the certification holder must establish, enforce,

and maintain the policies and procedures required by this subdivision.

(b) The certification holder must have a clinical evaluation procedure to identify and

document each treatment team member's areas of competence.

(c) The certification holder must have policies and procedures for client intake and case

assignment that:

(1) outline the client intake process;
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(2) describe how the mental health clinic determines the appropriateness of accepting a
client into treatment by reviewing the client's condition and need for treatment, the clinical

services that the mental health clinic offers to clients, and other available resources; and

(3) contain a process for assigning a client's case to a mental health professional who is

responsible for the client's case and other treatment team members.

(d) Notwithstanding the requirements under section 2451.10, subdivisions 5 to 10, for

the required elements of a diagnostic assessment and a treatment plan, psychiatry billed as

evaluation and management services must be documented in accordance with the most

recent current procedural terminology as published by the American Medical Association."

Page 292, lines 17 to 19, delete the new language
Page 292, line 26, delete the new language

Page 292, line 27, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 293, line 22, delete everything after the period and insert "If the order is issued

through the provider hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20

calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 293, delete lines 23 and 24

Page 294, line 10, delete everything after the period
Page 294, lines 11 and 12, delete the new language
Page 294, line 18, delete the new language

Page 294, line 19, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider

hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the

date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 295, after line 19, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0623, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:
(1) 1s age 18 or older;

(2) 1s diagnosed with a medical condition, such as mental illness or traumatic brain

injury, for which adult rehabilitative mental health services are needed;
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(3) has substantial disability and functional impairment in three or more of the areas
listed in section 2451.10, subdivision 9, clause (4), so that self-sufficiency is markedly

reduced; and

(4) has had a recent standard diagnostic assessment by a qualified professional or an

initial evaluation or comprehensive evaluation performed by a certified community behavioral

health center according to section 245.73535, subdivision 6, that documents adult rehabilitative

mental health services are medically necessary to address identified disability and functional

impairments and individual recipient goals."

Page 295, line 24, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 296, lines 7 and 12, delete "245.7358" and insert "245.7355"

Page 296, line 15, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"

Page 298, after line 28, insert:

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0671, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Generally. (a) An individual, organization, or government entity providing
mental health services to a client under this section must obtain a criminal background study

of each staff person or volunteer who is providing direct contact services to a client.

(b) An individual, organization, or government entity providing mental health services
to a client under this section must comply with all responsibilities that chapter 2451 assigns
to a license holder, except section 2451.011, subdivision 1, unless all of the individual's,
organization's, or government entity's treatment staff are qualified as mental health

professionals.

(c) An individual, organization, or government entity providing mental health services
to a client under this section must comply with the following requirements if all of the

license holder's treatment staff are qualified as mental health professionals:
(1) provider qualifications and scopes of practice under section 2451.04;
(2) maintaining and updating personnel files under section 2451.07;
(3) documenting under section 2451.08;
(4) maintaining and updating client files under section 2451.09;
(5) completing client assessments and treatment planning under section 2451.10;

(6) providing clients with health services and medications under section 2451.11; and
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(7) respecting and enforcing client rights under section 2451.12.

(d) The requirements of this section do not apply to evaluation and management services

reimbursed as physician services and professional services under section 256B.0625,

subdivisions 3, 4, 28, or 28a.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0943, subdivision 3, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 3. Determination of client eligibility. (a) A client's eligibility to receive children's
therapeutic services and supports under this section shall be determined based on a standard
diagnostic assessment by a mental health professional or a clinical trainee, or an initial

evaluation or comprehensive evaluation performed by a certified community behavioral

health center according to section 245.7355, subdivision 6, that is performed within one

year before the initial start of service. The standard-diagnestie assessment or evaluation

must:

(1) determine whether a child under age 18 has a diagnosis of emotional disturbance or,

if the person is between the ages of 18 and 21, whether the person has a mental illness;

(2) document children's therapeutic services and supports as medically necessary to
address an identified disability, functional impairment, and the individual client's needs and

goals; and
(3) be used in the development of the individual treatment plan.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a client may be determined to be eligible for up to
five days of day treatment under this section based on a hospital's medical history and

presentation examination of the client.

(c) Children's therapeutic services and supports include development and rehabilitative

services that support a child's developmental treatment needs."

Page 299, line 11, delete "required to report under section 260E.06, subdivision 1" and

insert "who has an account with the provider licensing and reporting hub and is required to

report suspected maltreatment as a licensed program under section 260E.06, subdivision 1"

Page 299, line 13, delete everything after the period and insert "A report submitted

through the provider licensing and reporting hub must be made immediately."

Page 299, delete line 14

Page 302, line 25, delete "(1,363,772,000)" and insert "(1,453,441,000)"

Page 302, line 28, delete "(1,156,872,000)" and insert "(1,228,684,000)"
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Page 302, line 29, delete "(196,098,000)" and insert "(203,530,000)"

Page 302, line 30, delete "(10,802,000)" and insert "(21,227,000)"
Page 303, line 5, delete "3,636,000" and insert "(99,000)"

Page 303, line 6, delete "(10,802,000)" and insert "(21,227,000)"
Page 303, line 8, delete "(521,000)" and insert "(1,632,000)"
Page 303, line 9, delete "(5,000)" and insert "783,000"

Page 303, line 10, delete "221,000" and insert "180,000"

Page 303, line 11, delete "(12,670,000)" and insert "(18,038,000)"

Page 303, line 12, delete "(196,098,000)" and insert "(203,530,000)"

Page 303, line 18, delete "(1,110,576,000)" and insert "(1,172,921,000)"

Page 304, line 7, delete "6,244,921,000" and insert "6,249,805,000" and delete
"6,489,006,000" and insert "6,479,601,000"

Page 304, line 10, delete "4,949,348,000" and insert "4,948,930,000" and delete

"4,597,204,000" and insert "4,592,728,000"

Page 304, line 13, delete "1,005,106,000" and insert "1,019,146,000" and delete
"1,617,914,000" and insert "1,617,894,000"

Page 304, line 14, delete "285,691,000" and insert "276,953,000" and delete
"286,604,000" and insert "281,694,000"

Page 306, line 21, delete "(d)" and insert "(c)"

Page 308, line 6, delete "297,580,000" and insert "307,843,000" and delete "258,240,000"
and insert "261,501,000"

Page 309, line 6, delete "$251,157,000" and insert "$254,181,000"
Page 309, line 7, delete "$248,981,000" and insert "252,062,000"

Page 309, line 13, delete "40,568,000" and insert "42,378,000" and delete "42,523,000"
and insert "43,022,000"

Page 309, line 21, delete "$41,848,000" and insert "42,272,000"
Page 309, line 22, delete "$40,452,000" and insert "41,061,000"

Page 309, line 25, delete "49,059,000" and insert "53,655,000" and delete "32,969,000"
and insert "33,935,000"
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Page 310, line 10, delete "$32,111,000" and insert "$33,035,000"
Page 310, line 11, delete "$35,798,000" and insert "$36,392,000"

Page 310, line 16, delete "1,098,000" and insert "3,773,000" and delete "1,277,000" and
insert "4,839,000"

Page 310, after line 16, insert:

"Base level adjustment. The general fund
base is $4,518,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
$4,353,000 in fiscal year 2027."

Page 312, line 20, delete "$120,000,000" and insert "$166,550,000"

Page 312, line 23, after "119B.27" insert ", and the transition grant program"

Page 312, after line 33, insert:

"(c) Child care one-stop shop. $2,920,000 in

fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to the statewide

child care resource and referral network to

administer the child care one-stop shop

regional assistance network under Minnesota

Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 7,

clause (9).

(d) Child care workforce development

grants administration. Beginning in fiscal

year 2025, the base shall include $1,300,000

for a grant to the statewide child care resource

and referral network to administer child care

workforce development grants under

Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19,

subdivision 7, clause (10).

(e) Shared services grants. $500,000 in fiscal
year 2024 and $500,000 in fiscal year 2025

are for shared services grants under Minnesota

Statutes, section 119B.28.

(f) Access to technology grants. $300,000 in

fiscal year 2024 and $300,000 in fiscal year
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2025 are for child care provider access to

technology grants under Minnesota Statutes,

section 119B.29.

(g) Business training and consultation.

$1,250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,500,000

in fiscal year 2025 are for business training

and consultation under Minnesota Statutes,

section 119B.25, subdivision 3, paragraph (a),
clause (6).

(h) Scholarship program. $695,000 in fiscal

year 2025 is for a scholarship program for

early childhood and school age educators

under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.251."

Page 313, line 1, delete "(c)" and insert "(i)"
Page 313, after line 10, insert:

"(a) Title IV-E adoption assistance. (1) The

commissioner shall allocate funds from the

state's savings from the Fostering Connections

to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act's

expanded eligibility for Title IV-E adoption

assistance as required in Minnesota Statutes,

section 256N.261, and as allowable under

federal law.

(2) Additional savings to the state as a result

of the Fostering Connections to Success and

Increasing Adoptions Act's expanded

eligibility for Title IV-E adoption assistance

is for postadoption, foster care, adoption, and

kinship services, including a parent-to-parent

support network and as allowable under

federal law."

Page 313, after line 31, insert:

Sec. . 69
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"(d) White Earth Nation American Indian

Child Welfare Initiative. $824,000 in fiscal
year 2024 and $824,000 in fiscal year 2025

are from the general fund for the White Earth

Nation to participate in the American Indian

child welfare initiative."

Reletter the paragraphs in sequence

Page 314, line 19, delete "under"

Page 314, line 20, delete "Minnesota Statutes, section 260.014"

H2900A1

Page 314, line 22, after the period, insert "Funds shall be transferred to the special

revenue fund."

Page 315, line 10, delete "256K.47" and insert "256K.48"

Page 315, line 24, after "(h)" insert ", and to expand the public-private adoption initiative

to similarly support permanency of children in foster care through transfer of permanent

legal and physical custody to a relative or equivalent permanency disposition in Tribal code"

Page 316, line 22, after "(c)" delete "Tribal food sovereignty grants." and insert

"American Indian food sovereignty funding."

Page 316, line 25, delete "for grants"

Page 316, line 31, delete "support grants" and insert "shelf program"

Page 318, lines 1, 2, and 10, delete "$1,000,000" and insert "$2,500,000"
Page 318, line 21, delete "$1,064,000" and insert "$1,936,000"
Page 318, after line 27, insert:

"(d) Lead agency allocations. $36,000,000

in fiscal year 2024 is from the health care

access fund for allocations to county and

Tribal processing entities to assist processing

entities with resuming medical assistance

renewals following the expiration of the

commissioner's CV17 waiver to human

services programs as described in Laws 2020,

First Special Session chapter 7, section 1,

subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2021, First
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Special Session chapter 7, article 2, section

71; Laws 2022, chapter 98, article 4, section

49, and this act. The commissioner must

distribute the entire amount of this

appropriation to county and Tribal processing

entities in proportion to each entity's March

2023 share of statewide enrollment in

Minnesota health care programs other than

MinnesotaCare. This is a onetime

appropriation."

Page 318, line 28, delete "(d)" and insert "(e)"
Page 319, after line 6, insert:

"Heading Home Corps. $1,100,000 in fiscal
year 2024 and $1,100,000 in fiscal year 2025

are for the AmeriCorps Heading Home Corps

program."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly
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