STATE OF MINNESOTA FIFTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on January 26th, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. A quorum was present.

Rep. Theis moved that the minutes from January, 21st, 2021 be approved. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF219 (ECKLUND) Farmed Cervidae provisions modified, muzzleloader provisions modified, portable stands in wildlife management areas permanently allowed, and Cervidae carcass transportation restrictions modified.

Rep. Ecklund motioned that HF219 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Rep. Ecklund presented HF219.

Rep. Ecklund moved that HF219 be amended by H0219A1 and a roll call was taken:

Ayes:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 19 Ayes and 0 Nays, the motion prevailed and amendment was ADOPTED.

Rep. Lueck motioned that HF219, as amended, be re-referred to the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee and a roll call was taken.

Ayes:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

Nays:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 8 ayes and 11 nays, the motion did NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Ecklund renewed the motion that HF219, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register and a roll call was taken.

Ayes:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
IGO, Spencer
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly
THEIS, Tama

Nays:

AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan By a vote of 14 Ayes to 5 Nays, the motion PREVAILED.

Testifiers:	
Steve Cook	
Tony Kwilas, Minnesota Elk Breeders Association	
Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner DNR	
Greg Kvale, Back Country Hunters and Anglers	
Tim Spreck, MN Deer Farmers	
Craig Engwall, MDHA	
Amy Cordry	
Rob Doar, MN Gun Owners Caucus	
Col. Rodmen Smith, Director of Enforcement DNR	
An overview of the Minnesota Zoo was presented.	
Presenters:	
John Frawley, Executive Director of the MN Zoo	
Rep. Hansen adjourned the meeting at 2:30 P.M.	
	Rick Hansen
	Chair of Environment Finance and Policy

Adam Kopel

Committee Legislative Assistant